You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Pictures: Incredible photos of a ruined Dublin after the 1916 Easter Rising

The photos show the city’s many famous buildings as photographed in the weeks following the end of hostilities.

A COLLECTION OF fascinating photographs of a Dublin bombarded by artillery fire in the 1916 rising has been posted online.

The pictures were taken by contemporary photographer Thomas Westropp (who died in 1922) in May 1916, just weeks after the fateful rising.

The Digital Repository Ireland (DRI) has shared the 40 photos on their site with the permission of the Royal Irish Academy (RIA), who themselves received the images from Westropp himself in June 1916.

gpo13 O'Connell Street (then Sackville Street) with the GPO in the background Royal Irish Academy Royal Irish Academy

gpoint12 The interior of the GPO Royal Irish Academy Royal Irish Academy

hs10 Henry Street, as viewed from Nelson's Pillar (destroyed in 1966) Royal Irish Academy Royal Irish Academy

“We’re delighted at how much these photographs capture the public imagination, and bring to life in vivid detail a seminal moment in Irish history,” DRI Director Dr Natalie Harrower told TheJournal.ie.

We just launched the Repository to the public six weeks ago, and this is a great example of the kinds of digital content we will continue to preserve and share with the public.
The Westropp photos are indicative of our entire purpose really – when you see the ruins in the pictures it reminds us of how quickly things can be destroyed and lost.

4c1 A dishevelled looking Four Courts building in May 1916 Royal Irish Academy Royal Irish Academy

lh2 Liberty Hall Royal Irish Academy Royal Irish Academy

ocb3 O'Connell Bridge Royal Irish Academy Royal Irish Academy

“When we look beyond the buildings, the rubble, the dust, we get a sense of what it might have been like to stand amongst the chaotic aftermath (of the rising),” said Dr Sharon Webb of DRI, who together with Rebecca Grant (also DRI) and Siobhan Fitzpatrick of the RIA worked to make the photographs available.

One particular poignant image (see below) shows a small boy looking directly at the camera. What did he think of Dublin’s new landscape? Of the Rising, of the fighting? Indeed, what did he think of Westropp’s camera?
Taking a step back from the camera, what did Westropp think standing at his many vantage points, climbing Nelson’s Pillar to take shots of the GPO, of Henry Street? What did he think, surrounded by the rubble of the GPO, light filtering through the steel girders and the Rising’s dust still settling?

gpo9 A young boy stares at the camera with the ruined GPO in the background Royal Irish Academy Royal Irish Academy

elvery7 O'Connell Street Royal Irish Academy Royal Irish Academy

clerys11 Imperial Hotel and Clerys, from Nelson's Pillar Royal Irish Academy Royal Irish Academy

Read: The government, Sinn Féin and the battle for 2016 … It starts today

Read: Funeral of ‘iconic’ O’Donovan Rossa’s remembered 100 years on

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

68 Comments
    Mute Annette
    Favourite Annette
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:08 PM

You did Ireland proud. 4th in the world, nothing to sniff at.

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:09 PM

Well done to her, she’ll be disappointed, but she’ll come again, faster and stronger.

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:14 PM

Of course she will, she’s young yet and only starting her career. Amazing runner.

Mute Ian McDonald
    Favourite Ian McDonald
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:10 PM

Bravo, Bravo, Bravo. 4th in the world, at her age. Her time for gold will come !

Mute Means Of Escape
    Favourite Means Of Escape
    Aug 10th 2024, 6:37 AM

@Ian McDonald: judging by the power and speed of first and second place in the final it’s difficult to see a gold medal in 2028 going her way

Mute Ronan McGrath
    Favourite Ronan McGrath

She’ll be a real force in LA 2028. Multiple medals incoming for this girl

Mute Robert Clifford
    Favourite Robert Clifford
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:26 PM

@Andrew Clavin: Oaf

Mute Peter Connaughton
    Favourite Peter Connaughton
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:31 PM

@Andrew Clavin: nobhead

Mute Michael o connor
    Favourite Michael o connor
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:40 PM

@Andrew Clavin: poor troll is poor!

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:41 PM

@Andrew Clavin: yep..! what odds are you offering loud mouth ?

Mute Ronan McGrath
    Favourite Ronan McGrath
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:49 PM

@Andrew Clavin: Of course, what price are you offering on her winning two+ medals in LA ’28

Mute Ronan McGrath
    Favourite Ronan McGrath
    Aug 9th 2024, 9:45 PM

@Andrew Clavin: I’ll have 500euro at that price so, I’m gonna screenshot this, see you in four years, it’s curtains for you

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Aug 9th 2024, 10:35 PM

@Andrew Clavin: ill have one with ya ?

Mute King Funk
    Favourite King Funk
    Aug 10th 2024, 7:48 PM

@Ronan McGrath: “I’m gonna screenshot this” what a melt!

Mute Peter Connaughton
    Favourite Peter Connaughton
    Aug 10th 2024, 8:00 PM

@Andrew Clavin: Your ma.

Mute Colman Nolan
    Favourite Colman Nolan

Fantastic run from Rhasidat.
    We are so proud of you.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth

Well done lass Ireland island rooting for you safe home.

Mute Colin Howard
    Favourite Colin Howard
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:12 PM

There’s no shame in coming in after those top 3 ladies. Some serious talent in that race. Rhasidat’s time will come, she’s a super athlete.

Mute Cian Nolan
    Favourite Cian Nolan

Gave it everything.

Mute Seamus McLaughlin
    Favourite Seamus McLaughlin

Well done Rhasidat, absolutely fantastic as ever and did Ireland proud.

Mute Damien O'Sullivan
    Favourite Damien O'Sullivan
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:17 PM

Gutted for her, she’s so disappointed.
    Not her time on this occasion but she’ll be a force in L.A. ’28.
    Her time will come. Star in the making.
    Ireland is so proud of you!!

Mute Fergus O'Connor
    Favourite Fergus O'Connor

Los Angeles 2028 will be her time

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:16 PM

Her 3rd fastest time ever in an Olympic final and only 21. She was fab!! Watch her in 4 years. Her final 100m was ragged so she will be disappointed but she did us all proud.

Mute noel donohue
    Favourite noel donohue

Brilliant she done the country proud still more olympics left in her

Mute John Hetherton
    Favourite John Hetherton
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:26 PM

So proud of this lady. She was really upset, but surely there are better times ahead. Look forward Rashida not backwards. Your our girl. Head up be proud.

Mute mcleixlip
    Favourite mcleixlip
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:22 PM

Up another 2 positions on the qualifying time (6th fastest). Constantly improving. Here’s to continued success.

Mute sean bourke
    Favourite sean bourke

This was a stepping stone to LA Olympics. Irish media built her up for a fall in this one.

Mute Sean Parker
    Favourite Sean Parker
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:19 PM

@sean bourke: not seeing the fall but yeah there was a hype machine alright.

Mute Spanner
    Favourite Spanner
    Aug 9th 2024, 8:28 PM

@Sean Parker: years ago we disliked the way the English/ British media hyped their athletes. Our media are heading the same way creating the hype, increasing the pressure on young athletes and footballers. It was an impress performance by Rashidat Adeleke to be sure and I hope she remains the modest young woman she appears to be and dosent believe the hype or let it influence her development. If she runs the 4×100 relay it will be great to see Irish athletes in another final. L.A. awaits our olympians.

Mute Sean Parker
    Favourite Sean Parker
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:21 PM

Gave it everything. Will be hard for her now but will get easier when she has time to look back on it. The three medals were better times than her PB, it’s more difficult when you know you have been fast enough before. She’s 21. It’s incredible. Her time will come.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy

At least she bet the brits!

Mute Johnny B
    Favourite Johnny B
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:37 PM

Amazing run. You did Ireland proud!

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:25 PM

All this hype for a 4th place. Not bad, not good either.

Mute Annette
    Favourite Annette
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:34 PM

@Alex: The girl did good. She was up against the best in the world. Her time will come in LA. She is only 21 years old, and she is the future.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:42 PM

@Alex:
    Shame we can not get you in to the 100 meters bar stool sprint, Ireland would be so proud.

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:42 PM

@Alex: sad comment

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:43 PM

@Alex: Totally new territory for Irish athletics, first athlete in an Olympic sprint final ever, so I disagree with you, I say it is good.

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:45 PM

@Alex: 4th in the world of that particular sport, thats not good or bad, it’s brilliant. I suppose you’re comparing her to yourself of being No1 t.w.a.t in the world

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:46 PM

@Alex: far better than anything you’ve ever done

Mute sean whelan
    Favourite sean whelan
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:50 PM

@Alex: if you think about all the good runners who never made it past the heats, it’s quite an achievement to finish 4th out of 24 odd entrants!

Mute dermot Berry
    Favourite dermot Berry
    Aug 9th 2024, 8:00 PM

@Alex: pales into insignificance when compared with your achievements I’m sure.

Mute Sean Parker
    Favourite Sean Parker
    Aug 9th 2024, 9:46 PM

@Alex: don’t even know what to say to that.

Mute ben o hara
    Favourite ben o hara
    Aug 9th 2024, 9:55 PM

@Alex: 4th in THE WORLD

Mute Áine G
    Favourite Áine G
    Aug 9th 2024, 8:14 PM

Hyped up by social media, the only true star is Kellie Harrington.

Mute Áine G
    Favourite Áine G
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:55 PM

Not up to it, if you don’t have it at 21 you certainly won’t have at 25. Hype doesn’t win medals. Your sponsors leave

Mute Hibernicus
    Favourite Hibernicus
    Aug 9th 2024, 8:00 PM

@Áine G: What would you know?

Mute Paul Beggan
    Favourite Paul Beggan
    Aug 9th 2024, 8:02 PM

@Áine G: Your peak as a sprint athlete is between 24.3 years and 25.6 years. Right in the window. But 4th in the world is an UNBELIEVABLE achievement at 21…. But of course you know best!

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Aug 9th 2024, 8:07 PM

@Áine G: you would know this because you never competed at anything in your failure of a life

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Aug 9th 2024, 8:49 PM

@Áine G: :-) I’m literally in tears laughing at your ignorance Aine.. Sure keep applying you’re flawed logic downwards .. what age are you at now ?? 400m runners usually peek around 25 +/- 2 years.. but rarely.. in fact never.. did an Olympic 400m runner reach their peak at 21.. put the kettle on and have a sit down for yourself..

Mute Tom L
    Favourite Tom L
    Aug 10th 2024, 12:29 AM

@Paul Beggan: ‘In aerobic events, such as marathons, the muscles get enough oxygen to use fats and carbohydrates as their primary fuel. In anaerobic events, like the 110-m hurdle, there’s a lack of oxygen and the body instead burns glucose stored locally in muscles. This supply is exhausted quickly.

The researchers used data from the Olympics spanning 1960 to 2016. They defined anaerobic events as those lasting less than two minutes and aerobic events as over five minutes, while events in-between were “mixed.” The average age for peak anaerobic performance was around 23, compared with 26 for aerobic events, the study found.’

Source:https://www.livescience.com/health/exercise/at-what-age-does-athleticism-peak-in-different-sports

Áine is correct, you are wrong Paul.

Mute Niall Murphy
    Favourite Niall Murphy
    Aug 10th 2024, 5:54 AM

@Áine G: she definitely is up to it, she’s just raced in an Olypmic final against the best in the world where the winner set a new Olympic record.

She never ran sub 49 for 400m so this will be her target going forward and she will do it. She’s having an amazing career at the very highest level and will be looking at sub 49 times going forward and much success thru the years ahead.

Mute Robert Hill
    Favourite Robert Hill
    Aug 10th 2024, 9:04 AM

@Tom L: The girl that won it is 27. She got silver four years ago…

Mute Tom L
    Favourite Tom L
    Aug 10th 2024, 9:35 AM

@Robert Hill: Doping is real.

Mute Robert Hill
    Favourite Robert Hill
    Aug 10th 2024, 10:33 AM

@Tom L: It’s funny how you’ve gone from quoting scientific papers to pure speculation.

Maybe she did, maybe she didn’t, but I’m going to presume she would have been tested at some point over the course of the past three Olympics and has passed those tests.

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:52 PM

Just watched this. She’s young and very talented. You could see how disappointed she was. Which is good. Not like the usual. Athletes who think coming fourth is somehow good. An athelete wants to win. And Adeleke is a winner. She’ll do better next time.

Mute Áine G
    Favourite Áine G
    Aug 9th 2024, 8:09 PM

Not good enough. Is that a fair thing to say.

Mute Annette
    Favourite Annette
    Aug 9th 2024, 8:25 PM

@Áine G:
    Go back to your unproductive life.

Mute Hibernicus
    Favourite Hibernicus
    Aug 9th 2024, 8:31 PM

@Áine G: No, but you had to say it anyway, ya eejit!

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Aug 9th 2024, 8:03 PM

Awesome, at so many levels, Sonia lost one before she got one, but let’s be proud 4 golds and 3 bronze, and a future…..who thought

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Aug 9th 2024, 8:13 PM

Great effort, never mind the begrudgers.

Aug 9th 2024, 9:12 PM

No good, fourth is a loss, but in typical misguided fashion, Ireland celebrates losing

Mute Annette
    Favourite Annette
    Aug 9th 2024, 9:27 PM

@John: hahaha like to see what you could do. Might just make it to the kitchen.

Mute Annette
    Favourite Annette
    Aug 10th 2024, 8:01 AM

@John: we don’t celebrate losing. We appreciate effort and talent. That’s the difference.

Mute Tom L
    Favourite Tom L
    Aug 10th 2024, 9:37 AM

@John: Bingo

Mute Andrew
    Favourite Andrew
    Aug 9th 2024, 8:37 PM

Fantastic run by Rhasidat today. It’s looking like she will achieve the sub 49 seconds also which will be amazing. So much to look forward to over the next couple of years.

Mute greenlane collins
    Favourite greenlane collins
    Aug 9th 2024, 8:13 PM

Rock Star

Mute Fidelma Clarke
    Favourite Fidelma Clarke

Shes 21 she hasnt reached her peak. LA 2028 watch out

Mute Niall Murphy
    Favourite Niall Murphy
    Aug 10th 2024, 6:01 AM

@Fidelma Clarke: exactly. She will run sub 49 in the near future and being so young will most likely make that her regular race pace.

She has LA to look forward to but so much in between now and then too. She’s enjoying a great career with so much more to.come.

Mute Shane Kinsella (Kinsey)
    Favourite Shane Kinsella (Kinsey)
    Aug 9th 2024, 9:15 PM

She did amazing. Stand tall and proud .

Mute Áine G
    Favourite Áine G
    Aug 9th 2024, 8:08 PM

Just no Gabby Thomas.

Mute Annette
    Favourite Annette
    Aug 9th 2024, 8:24 PM

@Áine G:
    says the armchair critic. Sad.

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Aug 9th 2024, 8:29 PM

@Áine G: You’ve come first in the trolling this thread competition, you’ve earned yourself a brown medal.

Mute Michael Whyte
    Favourite Michael Whyte

@Áine G: 4 comments on the same post denigrating a phenomenal athlete who is doing much more for her country than you are. Take a break and immerse yourself in reality as you’re clearly terminally online.

Mute Michael Carty
    Favourite Michael Carty
    Aug 9th 2024, 9:26 PM

Was just wondering if the length of her hair is a factor surely a little bit of drag?

Mute D White
    Favourite D White
    Aug 9th 2024, 9:26 PM

Well done Rhasidat .
    History made.

Mute Tom L
    Favourite Tom L
    Aug 10th 2024, 9:38 AM

@D White: Huh? History? History never remembers the losers, never.

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Aug 10th 2024, 2:46 PM

@Tom L: what a sad life you must have to be coming on here talking down a very good young athlete.

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Aug 9th 2024, 7:28 PM

Said she had a pizza a 4 Guinness beforehand. Imagine what she would have done if she hadn’t had the munchies. Gwan Rhasidat, youre the bizzo

Mute Sandra Lysaght
    Favourite Sandra Lysaght
    Aug 9th 2024, 10:10 PM

Congratulations you are fantastic

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Aug 9th 2024, 8:12 PM

The warp speeds are in with their 2 penny worth comments.

Mute Ivan Counihan
    Favourite Ivan Counihan
    Aug 10th 2024, 4:21 AM

Fourth is fourth
    (how long will this post last this time before it is deleted ?

Mute Annette
    Favourite Annette
    Aug 10th 2024, 7:58 AM

@Ivan Counihan: Yes, fourth in the world.

Mute Tom L
    Favourite Tom L
    Aug 10th 2024, 9:41 AM

@Annette: No, 4th in Olympics, the world championships are more important bread and butter to athletes. Ya think an Olympic gold boxer is as good as a seasoned pro? sure they can transcend from amateur (Olympics) to pro and become greats in their own right i.e. Katie Taylor.

Mute Annette
    Favourite Annette
    Aug 10th 2024, 12:01 PM

@Tom L: All I know is Katie worked hard to achieve her medals, but you are talking about a different sport altogether. Didn’t know Katie and Rashida were in competition. Athletics is different, and for a 21 year old in the 400 meter category, she has done wonders.

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Aug 10th 2024, 8:21 AM

No pressure then … This is presented as she would be the one winning or losing… What about the 3 others?

Mute mark cuffe
    Favourite mark cuffe
    Aug 10th 2024, 4:22 PM

Smashing young one, will grow from first olympic experience, bravo!!!