You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
DO YOU EVER read our 9 at 9 news roundup, and think about how handy it would be to get your morning bulletin while making breakfast? Or brushing your teeth? Or in the car?
TheJournal.ie aims to deliver news in the most useful way possible. When we published our first 9 at 9 back in 2010, it was Ireland’s first news roundup designed to be read on a smartphone.
Eight years on, it is the go-to place for thousands of Irish people every day to get a concise and accurate summary of the biggest news stories of the day.
Now, as more of us around Ireland consume media using voice recognition technology and virtual assistants, we have released a dedicated 9 at 9 News audio bulletin. It’s the nine things you need to know as you start your day, read to you on demand each weekday.
TheJournal.ie’s9 at 9 News, supported by our technology partner Volkswagen, is available via audio on any device that supports Google Assistant or Apple’s Siri. If you’ve got a compatible Android or iOS device, you can sign up. Here’s how.
PHONES AND TABLETS
1. On any Android phone or tablet, using Google Assistant
You’re done! Just say ‘Hey Siri, play the 9 at 9 News’
HOME SPEAKERS
3. Using a Google Home speaker
Open the Google Home app on the iOS or Android device that you used to set up the speaker
Go to Settings >> More settings >> News (in the ‘Services’ list)
Hit ‘Add news sources’
Select 9at9 News*
Make sure 9at9 News is at the top of your list of news sources
You’re done! Just say ‘Hey Google, listen to the news’
(You’ll need to set up Google Assistant before doing this, if you haven’t already.)
*If you can’t see 9at9 News, check that the language at the top of the ‘Add news sources’ list is set to English: Ireland.
IN-CAR AUDIO
4. In your car using Android Auto
Make sure Google Assistant is set up with 9at9 News on your Android device, by following the steps in (1) above
You’re done! Just say ‘Hey Google, listen to the news’
Always make sure you’re in a safe situation before using Google Assistant in the car
5. In your car using Apple CarPlay
Make sure Siri is set up with 9at9 News on your iOS device, by following the steps in (2) above
You’re done! Just say ‘Hey Siri, play the 9 at 9 News’
Always make sure you’re in a safe situation before using Siri in the car
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
9 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
A morally unjust tax from a morally bankrupt government following foreign orders. Labour should collapse this sham before they condemn themselves to political oblivion.
Tootrue! I’m in complete agreement, however Labour are in complete oblivion already! I’m still a bit bemused by a FF nobody having the brass neck to complain about a government being incompetent though. The country just ambles on plunging from one crisis To another. It’s at the stage when it’s every man for himself. So much for That clown Kenny spouting about us getting a better deal after Spain refused to take on bank bailout money as sovereign debt. I’m well aware that our deficit is still way too high, but this crowd are obsessed by trying to get it under control far too quickly. It’s complete madness to be taking more money out of an economy that on the brink of collapse. We are heading for complete anarchy.
If they were ‘obsessed by trying to get it (the defecit) under control” they would be using the billions being handed to bondholders needlessly to bridge the gap. Under those circumstances they might have some moral authority to look for us to be crucified even more than we are already. This governments obsession is with pleasing foreign entities and not upsetting party donors/rich folk.
Lifetime Labour voter by the way. Thats all gone now unless they do the decent thing.
Jesus they should cut the comment threads on some of these things. I get sick of looking at clowns blurting the same old bullshit hyperbolae. “morally bankrupt”, “foreign orders”, “political oblivion”?
It’s a comment that a senator made not an episode of Political Star Wars.
If something of worth happens you’ll literally have run out of words for describing it.
The concept of left wing supporters opposing property taxes is amusing beyond belief as most left wing parties wanted such taxes for years. It also flys in the face of numerous all-party and external taxation commissions which for years have called on various government to widen the tax base so that it is not all taken from income.
And the suggestion from anybody in Fianna Fail, who were the ones who signed us up to a document that REQUIRED us to introduce such a tax, now opposing it just shows that nothing has changed in Fianna Fail. Opportunists to the last man and woman.
Jim: the property tax system should have been reformed when we were “rich”. Things have changed. Now is not the time.
This is just an excuse to keep their snouts at the trough. They didn’t reform it back then because the indirect windfall property taxes were paying their wages. They want to install it now so they can avoid reform.
@censored – Yes it would have been better if it had been introduced way back when it was called for. But better late than never. Our tax base is way too narrow and it has to be widened. It may take years but our economy will eventually recover and you can be sure that if we wait until it does there will be people at the point saying we can’t risk introducing new taxes at that point because it will ruin the recovery. We have to start the process of reform at some point.
Jim, understand what you mean and I theoretically agree with the property tax/widening the tax base argument … but only if there is public sector reform and cuts to income tax. Ireland raises 39 billion euros a year in taxes. That should be enough. Where does all the money actually go?
so, the household charge which was ostensibly in the common good and related to local services has now morphed into a property tax collected centrally to benefit a central government paying the bills for failed private banks. not fooling anyone. …
The property tax is not needed ‘asap’. Between now and the budget 10 years worth of the household charge will be shovelled out to bondholders that we don’t have to pay. While the government is acting in such a way, the narrative that they must impose more crippling austerity is a myth and laughable as well.
Personally I could not care less what any politician says but the fact is that this tax is the final straw. How much more has the average paye worker in this country got to pay before all our earnings are paid directly in to this governments bank account? Labour are doomed & should be utterly ashamed of themselves. FG are as bad as they ever were. How as a country are we meant to create employment & economic growth when our hard earned cash is all going to pay bond holders gambling debts leaving no cash to spend on anything except the next hair brained tax scheme dream of the ruling hypocritical class?
Yep when ever FF is mentioned I tune out also, we are bankrupt that crowd is morally bankrupt and should disband.
we all know what is going to happen here value based tax with no link to ability to pay,, FG are joke if you are poor, your best friend if you are rich!!
SITE tax is the way to go,, in conjunction with base point tax and linked to ability to pay.
We do need this tax though, most to the WEALTH in this country is linked to property (75%) so if you have more you pay more (provided FG make no waivers for friends/contributors)
I refused to pay last home charge, but will pay this if it is fair and transparent.
Fair play to Darragh, his party set international records for the most expensive bank bailout in history, the greatest property crash, made global headlines due to the wholesale culture of corruption between then and property developers, knocked 25% of the size of the economy but this has to be the ultimate global record setting statement for sheer brass neck and shamelessness. All in less than a decade. Wow.
O’Brien is one of the most popular TD’s if donations are a measure, (5th biggest take in the country a few years back). Among his donors in 2008 were such property developers as Gannon Homes, Newpark Holdings, Albany Homes, Sanar Properties, Flynn and O’Flaherty… (Donations disclosed by TDs, Senators and MEPs for 2008, Standards in Public Office
I think I might have a go at writing a plug-n for Google Chrome that replaces the words “Fianna Fail” with “those fcuking w*nkers” or a pre-defined phrase of your choice.
FG have along woth Lab just announced they are craven liars.This tax was mooted as being for local services,therefore it should have been collected locally with transperancy as to where it is spent.Collected by revenue into a central fund yeah instills confidence that it will be spent locally.Have to say this but various bondholders around Europe and the World must be pi##ing themselves with laughter at the Irish taxpayer.Where else in the world can you make a bet and Heads you win/Tails you win.
Sorry Tony posted twice lost first response had to retype,then it showed up.Well if you can please reference them i’m curious to see how you arrived at your insightful comment.
Tony i didn’t make any personnel comment to your intelectual abilities or lack thereof so either backup your comment without insult or put away the keypad like a good boy.
It’s approx €1.52 a week! How people cannot afford that? In all countries people are paying property taxes, ground taxes etc. if I can afford one pint of Guinness a week I can afford this charge – so I paid it.
Joanna the 1.52 is irrelevent its what comes after.The tax will not be spent locally it will go into the central fund.Since you brought up other countries,i have family living in the north and uk they pay between 1000 and 1300 pa.But they get a bill and services linked to payment,bin collection school transport to name but two.Other countries it is the same,we already pay for every service we get water at the moment being an exception.
Joanne, I think people’s problem is that at present people who earn a million euro a year are paying the same as people who are on minimum wage. Not even taking account of the quality of the house. This is not a fair tax system and clearly benefits the rich.
A fair property tax is one thing but in ireland no matter how it’s calculated some people will bare the brunt of it.
If the tax is based on value, Dublin people will be hammered and if it’s based on site measurements rural homes will be.
Either way somebody will be hit hard and in these economic times many homeowners simple won’t be able to afford this.
Lack of disposable income is what kills economies isn’t it??
I go to work to earn money ,I pay tax to the government so they can supply services .What little is left I can do with what I want burn it ,drink it or give it away and it’s none of Tony’s business ,can I suggest you move to North Korea where there is no private property (or food).As for this tax ,anyone who believes this won’t be increased massively year on year, until it becomes a heinous burden on property owners is delusional .
Start with university professors,td’s,an Taoiseach,the president and then heads of semi state company’s then rte presenters and management . After that hospital consultants and abolish all the quangos they promised. Cut all their pay by 50 per cent and then introduce property tax I wouldn’t have any complaints
So they can charge us whatever they like and cal, it sum “tax” or another. If they actualli spent as much time thinking about how to get people back to work, and this country working again and getting rid of banks than they do about how next to scrape nearli every penny off of people to pay for their lavish lifestyles we might actualli get somewhere. Maybe if the government actually thought about projects that would initiate jobs then people would actually get up and look for work but as it stands the rich get richer and the poor are made poorer and have to suffer on…this country went down the toilet after the Celtic tiger years when Bertie ahern wasted over €10 BILLION on building motorways alone, yet now we are the one.s that have to pay the TROIKA €3.5 BILLION for what exactly?? We the people aren’t the ones who went and asked them for the loans and we certainly didn’t see that money so why the hell should we be the ones to pay it back. We have a load of money grabbing hypocrites running this country since 1997 and not once have they thought about the people all they are trying to do is please Germany . Why doesnt every single member of the government take a pay cut , ENDA Kenny did but that was of €14,000 yet 3 months later he raised it back up by €11,000 now I’m sorry but he gets €214,000 a year + expenses etc. for what???
So your telling me spending. €10 BILLION on building motorways wasn’t a mistake…this country didn’t need a motorway…there was plans. For the primary and secondary roads to be fixed which would have cost a lot less but instead Bertie took the high ground nd tried making a name for himselve by bringing the motorways into Ireland…sorry but €10 BILLION is a waste on. Roads that to this day aren’t even finished yet. I mean why have motorways when it’s the primary and secondary roads. That people drive on to get to work etc and most of them are in unbelievable conditions!
@Joanna, where did you get €1.52 a week,? the €100 is only a first registration fee, you could end up forking out
up to €450 to €1000 per year when this shower make their minds up as to how to calculate the final charge.
And remember they have NO REGULATION on valuation of land or property it has always been in the hands of the demand and estate agents upping the price by saying a higher offer has just being offered
On the actual content of this, I have to agree. We have seen that large sections of the population had a problem getting the cash together for the existing €100 charge. This will put families into even more hardship. If this government want to raise their tax take may I suggest that they focus on creating the conditions for private business to expand and hire on new employees thereby raising the PAYE and PRSI intake while cutting the social welfare bill. The capital investment program of the last governmental re-announced last month isn’t sustainable long term. Real measures needed for SME’s including a cut to corporation rates. Household charge should be used to replace that revenue to local government along with additional cuts to waste in civil service management class.
Same heads appearing with the “disband” comments as per usual. Must be a busy day at HQ in Parnell Square. Fact of the matter folks is that Ireland is a democracy which ever way you look at it and as democrats we may differ as hell with other people’s opinion but I for one will fight ’til the death for anyone right to air said opinion. 400,000 people voted for Fianna Fáil to be their voice in this Dáil. Those getting offended when they do just that should really tone down the bile.
i say get rid of the senate and put all that money towards the property tax. could we not do that. may be one r two councils as well. were we not to get real change when Enda and the lads got in
FG & Lab ran the councils that gave much of the mad planning permissions. This tax is one that will mean many young people who bought apartments will never be able to sell when they need to trade up. Will have massive social affect on young people settling down and hoping to raise a family. Just like bin charges it will double within 3 years. Get acceptance at a low amount and then ramp it up. The media talk of this in such black and white terms, but it’s not. For example many new homes built after 2000 have had management companies imposed by the local authority as part of the planning permission. They are not getting the same level of service supplied by the local authority as other older estates. For every euro spend in the economy generates another, so the government will pull 1 billion out of the economy in real terms and not just the 500 mill this tax will raise before it double and triples in the next few years.
Rich coming from a FF senator whose party destroyed the Irish economy. We wouldn’t need a property tax if it wasn’t for the demands of the IMF et al which FF foisted on Ireland because of their greed and avarice
Vote SF into power! There’ll be no more taxes ( except for the stinking rich, those w**kers we know exist but are never us, oh no ), there’ll be no more unemployment ( unless you don’t want to work, if that’s the case, then we’ll double your benefits! ), we’ll give the two fingers to this Germans just like we did the Brits ( except in the North, where we’re more than apply to have cordial relations ), they’ll be no more nasty austerity ( except in the North ), we’ll dump the Euro and print enough money for everybody! Spend and spend to boost the economy and when you run out we’ll print more! ( we’re forgetting the fact that we’re left wing ). Happiness all round and smile if you’re Irish! Then we’ll quietly deal with the troublesome situation if all those “non-Irish” types hanging around. Nasty foreigners, dirty foreigners……
It’s not an entirely unfair assessment.
While it’s not populist tripe (apparently, you CAN be a Socialist & oppose a household tax… Who knew?) it is pointing out the obvious; while financing is needed, the way in which this tax was hastily rolled out was a complete shambles. This is not to say that new sources of funding shouldn’t be found, but that, for now, this particular disaster should be shelved, until all the kinks have been worked out.
Olive has a fair point actually. Bin charges are included in the property tax in the UK. And yes everyone pays, regardless as to whether you own your house or not. Rebates are applied to those who can least afford to pay. In Ireland, it seems homeowners are being made to subsidise the so called services provided to those who rent their homes. That does t seem very fair to me, especially when you take into account the massive stamp duty a high percentage of homeowners have already contributed. Therefore it’s not a property tax at all. It’s a homeowners tax. And even if that homeowner has a huge mortgage, he or she can barely service ( not to mention the value of home having plummeted ) said homeowner still has to pay this tax. If as is claimed by government, that this tax is needed to ensure services such as libraries and basic street lighting can be maintained , then does this mean only homeowners can avail of such services? Why should someone who bought their house and paid a lot of tax in the process have to subsidise someone ( who might be in a far stronger financial position) just because he or she bought their home?
I find it interesting people using the “all the other countries have one” excuse. Well in England for example they have services to go with it. Not to mention EVERYONE pays – not just home owners. Also the cost of living in regards to VAT is higher here. If we are matching other countries lets match them on all issues – not just the ones where they can get money out of us.
Actually it’s 3 or 4 separate taxes that are required. (1) A tax on all land by square meter (The more land someone owns the more they pay). Different bands could be used to distinguish between prime farm land, urban and bog etc. (2) A tax on all buildings by cubed meter (The bigger the building the bigger the tax). (3) A Council tax for services (The better serviced areas would pay more than those with little or no services).
Therefore someone with a huge house on a huge plot of land in a desirable well serviced area would pay more tax than someone with a small house on a small plot of land in an area with no services.
While the mention of extra taxes may upset some people, I believe what really pisses people off is how those taxes are being spent.
Majority of councils miss farm inspection targets vital for water protection
Conor O'Carroll
2 hrs ago
United States
US suspends student visa processing as Trump administration ramps up social media vetting
3 hrs ago
Further Education
The government has announced the free college courses on offer for the next academic year
Updated
9 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 197 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 137 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 177 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 139 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 101 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 102 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 47 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 43 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 161 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 73 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 96 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 102 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 45 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 60 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 29 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 112 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 115 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 84 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 63 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 107 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 90 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say