You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
AA GILL, THE well-known Sunday Times restaurant critic has died, the paper’s editor has announced.
He was 62.
Gill revealed just weeks ago that he had been diagnosed with the “full English” of cancer.
He was diagnosed during the summer after noticing that he had lost weight, was having difficulties completing physical activities and suffering with a pain in his neck.
He told the Sunday Times that he had plans to marry his partner of 23 years, Nicola Formby.
AA Gill, the writer who first made me buy the Sunday Times, the best of us for thirty years has died. Very sombre mood in the office.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
@Baldy Boo Bolingoli: It’s bonkers. Results in current scenario of everyone clock watching for fear of going over allocated time by a few minutes in case they appear on Primetime. Great enjoyment for an evening out.
A pub can be closed down for NOT serving food?
Who ever came up with the idea that if you had food it would result in more social distancing and less chance of infection?
This is becoming a farce!
The rest of Europe has opened up, more places open would mean less crowds in one place, certainly in my locality that would be the case, as everyone is flicking to the one establishment which is abiding by current guidelines but has had a huge increase in footfall since opening in June.
@Martin: What a load of tosh. More places open would mean more crowds. Crap. It would just mean that more people would go out filling up the extra places that have opened. But I agree with you that serving food in pubs would result in more social distancing. So I assume you agree that all pubs, regardless of whether or not they serve food should be closed immediately.
@Martin: they dont want pubs open, they simply dont want people to gather socially, for fear they may all realise they are being duped
they have every citizen now watching each other, not talking to each other
@Martin: That makes perfect sense..Reminds me of 2010 when they said that all clubs must cose at 3am and it became impossible to get a taxi home, city centre was an absolute mess, never seen so many fights since that rule came in
Ireland are one of the few countries in Europe where our Medical experts NPHET seem to be of Nobel prize quality, in that they seem to know something that no other county does. They seem to know better than thr medical guidance from WHO, the ECDC, the EU and EASA from the Aviation industry.
We are one of the few countries in Europe where bars are not open. I’m not a big bar person but you have to laugh when a €9 bowl of soup allows a premises to open and those that don’t serve it not to.
Even the most vigilant lockdown supporters must at this stage be questioning are we being taken for a bunch of eejits.
6 in ICU,
28/9 in hospital
600,000 on hospital waiting lists.
An economy that requires ICU attention.
@Paul Potts: you have to laugh at pubs who can’t adapt their business to include a €9 bowl of soup to get them back up and running. Every other business has adapted. What makes pubs so different? Most countries in europe don’t have the same booze culture that we have here. Open the pubs here and it’ll be a like a queue on the opening day of Krispy Kreme. I think that’s the difference.
@aidanshaw: Alcohol consumed and a pub culture aren’t the same thing. The difference is you can get plastered at home with a litre of vodka by yourself or go out to the pub for 5 or 6 pints and be surrounded by people you don’t even know. That’s a big difference when the virus is concerned
@aidanshaw: I would think that there’s a lot of home drinking in some of these countries, never heard much about the pubs in Belarus. I think if the pubs were allowed to open half them would be closed again within a month due to no business. I definitely think they should have a chance to open like every other business.
@Darren McEneaney: what pub culture pal.. The town i live had once over 50 bars, now under 15. 6 nights a week there empty. I dont know what people consume behind closed doors only what i see in pubs.. Tumbleweed.. Lol. This notion the irish pub being packed is well gone.
@Anne Marie Devlin: yes it does, plus, how many were admitted due to covid?, highly likely none!!
the testing will show every coronavirus, so a any patient with a cold or a flu will show it, and someone morbidly ill with the flu is added to covid deaths
look, this is the reality
March:
LOCKDOWN
in April, confirmed cases per day 559
confirmed in hospital 865
deaths per day 33
NO LOCKDOWn
August 120
<1
and we are on the verge of another lockdown according to Stephen Donnelly
@Kavsie: surely your stats show that lockdown got this under control. People move not the virus. Cases are on the rise at the moment without the pubs and schools open. The figures are hardly going to get better when they do open.
@Da_Dell: most pubs around me are open and local schools opened today. I think pubs will be open in a couple of weeks but probably under restricted hours initially.
@Kavsie: Are you sure that’s the case? It was a genuine question as it was not clear whether those in ICU were counted separately or not. I doubt there was no one admitted for Covid, but it would be insightful to know how many tested positive after being admitted for something else.
@GrumpyAulFella: it’s not that simple just to include even a bowl of soup, health and safety regulations are pretty strict that’s why a lot of pubs don’t bother. The whole rule is beyond ridiculous!!!
@S K: but don’t get them on the radio, don’t get anyone that recovered, only interview the people that suffered worst from it, to make sure everyone is scared, we have to get on with life, this virus is hear with us and that is it,
Back in March, the sole purpose of lockdown was to reduce the pressure on the hospitals to ensure the health service would not be over run, never to stop the virus because that’s impossible!
Now the agenda has changed to stopping every possible spread of the virus. The only way to do that is a mass cull, look at foot and mouth or swine flu in animals, that is the facts and the only possible way to stop the spread! Maybe someone should suggest that to NPHET!
@Martin: The agenda isnt now stopping every possible spread. It’s to minimise them, that’s why it’s not a total lockdown. The Government is greedy, they want your money, they want you working so they arent trying to keep people home or on welfare. They are trying to save lives. You might not agree with everything they are doing, I def dont, but it’s not a conspiracy.
@Martin: What’s your solution, Mouthin’? “Let the sick stay at home while the rest of us get on with it” I presume? What’s this “agenda” by the way? Ya sound like Trump.
@Lee Galiezitte: I never said it was a conspiracy or even think it is,
it’s a fact of life a virus can spread easily in any species that is overpopulated but the constant threat by the government and differing guidelines than the rest of Europe is what is getting at people.
@JusticeForJoe: Jesus Christ joe!
When I said agenda, I meant plan/motive or current reasoning behind the guidelines we have at the minute, try reading the comment a bit better and less name calling and picking buzz words, no one mentioned that clown trump only yourself
“For a lesson in how complacency around coronavirus can have terrible consequences, one needs to look no further than Florida. The state reopened from lockdown in early June, when it was experiencing 2,000 cases a day but few deaths, as the disease was mostly confined to the young. Within a month, it was experiencing 15,000 cases and more than 250 deaths a day. It became an epicentre of the pandemic in the United States.”
@Martin: the point is the spike due to complacency and need for caution. Opening all pubs for a free for all at the same time as all schools reopen and flu season begins, doesn’t seem like a great idea. Meanwhile in the UK Boris is asking everyone to hop on trains and buses and head into the office so that Starbucks can get your sandwich a day custom back.
They should open up the pubs and leave it up to the citizen to decide whether he/she wants to take the risk. This is getting farcical at this stage, scarcely any deaths and also the govt would love to have the gardai break into our homes to make sure we’re not enjoying ourselves
@Derek Goulding: I think that’s a bit unfair. Their role is to provide advice. It’s the government you should blame if you are not happy with the laws/regulations/guidelines- not the doctors and scientists.
@Jonnie Marre: Would you give over
Go lock yourself inside until 2021 where no one has to hear you run down perfectly good people’s livelihoods in the interest of a virus which has only 4 people in ICU as we speak
@Luke: why not? We’re in the middle of a global health pandemic with a virus on the loose that has killed more than 23m people so far with no vaccine available. The old norm isn’t coming back any time soon. We have to adapt.
@GrumpyAulFella: It has not killed 23m it’s infected 23m
What difference does serving a bowl of soup make ? If thats your idea of adaptation you’ve a long way to go
There no reason they cant open with strict protocols for a safe reopening
We need to protect jobs
@barry moore: oh come on that’s just not what I’m saying here
This is clearly a step backwards for society
Limiting social interaction is not a step forward
How do you think we came to be the most intelligent species on earth
Hurry up and make us the new North Korea where asking a question is fifty lashes and a feed of pints without chicken wings is a stoning to death. Sure we’re already about 70 percent there anyway. Though our government makes Kim Jong-un look intelligent.
@Kavsie: yeah but they close the doors at 11pm. People in the pub can stay there until 2am but nobody can enter. Their R rate was 1.4 a couple of weeks ago, higher than ours, so it will be interesting to see what happens there over the next couple of weeks.
@GrumpyAulFella: OMG! 1.4! PANIC! How many people ended up in hospital? Isn’t that the important thing, protecting health systems? Or has that changed?
@Monster Munch: protecting people I guess. If you don’t have a health system then you can’t protect the health and wellbeing of the people. Ain’t that so?
At last night’s NPHET briefing, the team outlined a “significant number of outbreaks” – a total of 392 active outbreaks in the state currently being managed by public health officials. Of those, 252 were due to social gatherings in private houses.
whats a social gathering in a private house?
392 outbreaks, is that individuals, clusters, etc, if 252 were in homes then why not tell us where the other 140 werre?..
The government also wanted the gardaí to be given powers to interrupt and prevent house parties…what does this mean?, they wanted?, wanted from who?, they are the Gov after all?, so who did they want approval from?
they are slowly removing rights and giving more to the state….perfect for when they drive people on to the streets in anger
There is absolutely no reason to keep the pubs closed. Considering the guards are already checking pubs/restaurants for compliance why can they not do the same for “wet” pubs now that they have powers to close offending premises.
I was all for keeping the pubs closed but it is gone beyond silly now. Open them, if it gets worse close them. Open them to sensible drinkers, Anyone caught drunk and disorderly can be issue hefty fines. Any pub in breach of not controlling social distancing shut them down. Simply as.
A lot of pubs open using outside catering nothing against law or guidelines concerning this. Yet the vintiners , especially in urban areas preach that they are staving , but will not adopt the use of outside catering. The fact they now want a restriction on Supermarkets and off licences to sell alcohol. Do the vintiners think they have a monopoly on the sale of alcohol. Hypocrisy.
It’s a disgrace pubs are not allowed open at this stage and for publicans to man their premises properly. It’s great to get out at the moment for a bit of food and a few pints but the social interaction is gone. An awful lot of people go out to meet people and socialise. Thats not there any more or for the time being anyway. This will mean alot wont stir and puts to bed the notion pubs will be packed.
@seamus toomey: 19 workplace outbreaks in the last 16 days. They should really give case numbers here as well as we’d soon see they account for a high percentage of the cases in August. Meat factories & food and vegetable
So … of these 252 outbreaks in most social gatherings means : cohabiting. Colour me shocked.
( in the last 16 days there were 120 outbreaks in private houses – mostly coming from cohabiting I dare say- the others are cases that are still active from the past).
As for the pubs / restaurant he mentions as an outbreak he should mention that clusters in pubs, retail, supermarkets, chemists : there was only a total of 20 clusters in the last 16 days.
The number he gives for restaurant is rather high which is unusual , I do wonder is it a hotel and is it the staff who are infected or an event party? Unusual and more specifics would be useful.
There are also 93 healthcare staff infected on this period of time so maybe the proper procedures are not yet put in place to avoid it.
@Isabel Oliveira: as for Garda powers to close pubs : draconian and I sincerely hope this doesn’t give way to all types of abuse .
And a question for NPHET & the government , if they’re so very worried and considering the time we have them to prepare , how has the number of critical beds decreased from 500 in April to 427 now?
Thank god I moved away from Ireland in the last month. In the Middle East where distancing, masks, sanitising etc are taken very seriously but pubs, clubs, tourist attractions, sport are all sensibly opened up. Cases ~200 a day and hardly any deaths. No big noise about it in the media. It was miserable at home.
They want everyone to stay inside and never go outside again. Talking about kicking the can down the road. This virus is not going away and we need to learn to live with it. Shutting down everytime there is a smell of the virus wont work. They shut down for 2 weeks and hope it will go away. Learn to deal with it properly. I can guarantee you, no garda will enter my home and tell me i have one too many visitors. FFS what have we become
Why bother will these regulations for wet pubs as they call them. Give it another month there won’t be any “wet pubs” left to police which I believe is the gov main objective to rid the country of the drinking culture. If they were serious about sorting it out and stopping the illegal gathering and house parties close all the off licences and stop supermarkets selling alcohol for 2 months. Then open the pubs at least then all the drinking is policed its tgat simple
@Michael Fleming: Why on earth would they want to get rid of the “drinking culture” by shutting all pubs? People drinking less is good public health idea, but that’s going a bit far. If politicians hate drinking so much, why would they have a Dáil bar?
I have no issue with this once its proven and not based on anecdotal curtain twitching gossip. But this should also apply to all businesses that are allowed to open, and not just pubs. The narrative been spun is that its all down to pubs and house parties which is disingenuous at best, especially when Glynn is quoted in same article saying “having clusters in households in an entirely normal part of dealing with an infectious disease”
@Da_Dell: I’m not so sure. People have to live in households, there’s no choice, you can say with great certainty that you are going to be in your house for xx% of days per year xx hours per day on average. Unless you’re George Best you probably can’t be similarly accurate about the amount of time you can spend in a boozer. The threat of pubs shouldn’t have be backed up with stats although I’m sure that this will come post open up. There aren’t that many other businesses where people congregate together for hours, with complete strangers, get locked, all share the same toilet and wear the face off each other. It’s a virus’ dream.
I’m in a small but popular bar in Italy that doesn’t serve food and has been open for the last 2 months. Masks if you leave your table. Outdoor serving area if you want. Only 2 seats per table. Not a hint of covid here. Shaking hands, hugging and kissing to greet people is a thing of the past. Staff constantly wear a mask. Seems to be going just fine. Every cafe and bar nearby has the same procedures. People are perfectly OK with the masks and out of courtesy, put them on a soon as a conversation starts and you aren’t drinking.
Seems to be an intense focus on pubs in comparison to others in retail & service sectors. 2m distancing, restrictions on time allowed, closing times, no standing, food consumption rules. I understand the want to restrict crowding & mingling but seems other retailers (shops, centres, garden centres, etc) aren’t policed with same scrutiny where people mingle in aisles without 2m restrictions except for at tills.
The targeting is assisted by RTE sending their cameras into dublin pubs a few wks ago to try & catch them out yet not in eg meat factories nor building sites,where there’s a covid issue.
Seems to be an easy sector to target where blame shouldn’t really lie. Maybe focus of pubs deflects attention from those in authority that may have mishandled parts of covid suppression attempts.
Remember the time our so called Irish experts dished out iodine tabs for everyone in the country.
Iodine tablets might be in the post for everyone next week!
Contact, contact, contact. Reduce contact to a minimum. That is the only way to reverse out covid19 cases. What are we doing to reduce contact. People need to avoid meeting other people. Be a patriot by avoiding people contact as much as possible. Obey the 2 metre rule and wear a mask. All of the reopening plans increased people contacts. Now schools are opening which equals a lot more people contacts. I only see it going one way until we start reducing people contact again.
Well I’m in create and bar have to be clear @ 12PM sharp! If not closed for 3 days and a €10,000 fine and 3 weeks to pay also staff on duty fined between €150./500. 3 weeks to pay! Now that’s a fine and a half! So pubs in Ireland have it cosy get shut for one day and make it back the next! The fine is pittance
Give the local chief super power to suspend the licences of all pubs in his district who weren’t food serving before Covid. Then when the greedy do try to open through the back door as they are right now, they commit a criminal offence and are dealt with in the courts. As they are convicted they become unfit presons to hold such a licence.
@Niall Sheridan: I recently watched a Garda Sgt enter a pub that serves food and try and dictate to the owner who was trying to keep within the rules as he understood them..the same Garda had to walk from Store St. past many many people openly dealing drugs which is also a huge public health issue ..the point is that pubs seem to be the whipping boy at the moment and it’s become a national sport in how who can cry the loudest CLOSE THE PUBS..CLOSE THE RESTURANTS..CLOSE THE HOTELS..CLOSE THE GOLF CLUBS ..CLOSE THE DAIL (OOPS IT’S CLOSED ALREADY)
Never heard the term “wet pubs” until now but if they were given half a chance, they would prove their ability to adapt and put the proper controls in place to allow for acceptable social interaction within the NEPHT guidelines. Opening all pubs (IMHO) would improve social distancing and reduce the appetite for house parties. But it seems that the strategy of keeping wet pubs closed is encouraging larger numbers into fewer venues – bad for social distancing !! But big Phil is gone …. so who de phuk cares …. we got our man !!! Cheeses !!
How worried is Ireland's pharma industry about Trump's tariffs?
Eoghan Dalton
4 hrs ago
trump administration
Top Trump advisor used Gmail for official business, adding to security pressures
5 hrs ago
Speaking rights row
Verona Murphy wins first-ever Dáil vote of confidence in a Ceann Comhairle by 96 votes to 71
8 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say