You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
SCATTERED AROUND IRELAND are the ruins of former big houses, lying in overgrown fields and out of the sight of locals, slowly crumbling as the years progress.
A reminder of Ireland’s colonial past, many of these houses lie in ruins, the story of their former owners gone untold for decades.
Author and photographer Tarquin Blake is fascinated by these mansions, and has been photographing them for years. With the release of his second book, Abandoned Mansions of Ireland II, he captures more of Ireland’s big houses, and the decrepit state in which they lie.
The book displays the ruins of buildings such as Elsinore in County Sligo, where William and Jack Butler Yeats spent many childhood summers, and Gortnamona House in County Offaly, built by the ‘heir to the principality of Ofelia’ in 1803. It also features Auburn House in County Westmeath, which was named after the ‘deserted village’ immortalised by the poet Oliver Goldsmith, whose father was a tenant on the estate.
“It all started out with the photography,” explained Blake. “I was just looking for interesting photos of ruined houses.” As he started exploring these places, he began “having the most amazing adventures”. When people ask him what it’s like, Blake can only compare it to one thing: Indiana Jones.
When you look at the condition many of these buildings are now left in, with vines and crumbling bricks where heavy curtains and ornate living rooms used to be, you can see that the comparison isn’t far off:
New book
For this project, it really was like an adventure film, with Blake looking at old topographical surveys to find locations of mansions, and then setting out with maps and GPS to find them himself. With ruins like these, he compares his search to Alice in Wonderland.
Blake says that it’s “really amazing what you can find out there”, when you go looking.
As I started researching and writing about these places, I found out there’s this whole area of heritage that is really undocumented. It seemed worthwhile to try and get my discoveries published. I started off with website and my first book came out a couple of years ago.
Abandoned Mansions of Ireland II focuses on 47 more lost ‘big houses’ and country estates which were built in the 18th and 19th century. “At that time, something like 95 per cent of the farm land was owned by about 5000 wealthy landowners,” said Blake, and the majority of the land was let to tenant farmers, who were dependent on the Anglo-Irish protestant landowners’ land for their livelihood, and had to pay rent to them for the land.
“The rent payments provided the staple income of the landowner. That’s why you got the huge houses,” said Blake. “These landowners were getting such a vast amount of money.”
In the 19th century, the Great Famine struck Ireland, and the penniless and starving tenants could not afford to pay their rent. This was the beginning of the end for the ‘big houses’, as incomes declined and landowners locked up and left the country. The Land War, agitation against this system, began in the 1870s, while the first Irish Land Act was brought in 1870, beginning the transfer of land back into the hands of the tenants (the final acts were brought in in 1922).
Then, during the War of Independence and Civil War, such houses became targets of the Irish Republican Army, with hundreds burnt out.
Documented
“There are hundreds of these ruins around Ireland,” outlined Blake. “But they’re not well documented.” His book seeks to address this, while also exploring the many eccentric characters that populated these homes.
In his research, he discovered information about landowners who were hated – like the Ballysaggart man whose tenants hired a hit man to kill him – and those who were respected, like the landowner who spent all his money importing food to feed his tenants during the famine.
The mansions he documents are not in State care or looked after by the Office of Public Works, and in some cases lie virtually unnoticed, a far cry from their position in society 200 years ago.
“I’d look at old maps comparing those to Google satellite images and if I saw something interesting there, I would just head off,” said Blake.
I’d just explore, put on walking boots and go on through the fields. Most of them are in the back of beyond, in the middle of nowhere.
He scours libraries for information and has started collecting books and 18th – 19th century topographical guides to pick up more information.
“I love the detective work that goes into it,” said the history enthusiast, who spent two years researching his latest book. He believes his books appeal to people precisely because he’s not a historian or professional photographer (though the quality of his images would certainly make one doubt that).
It’s something I’ve fallen into – it’s presented to normal people, it’s not a boring history book.
As he has such a passion for the physical remnants of Ireland’s past, it’s no surprise to hear that Blake is working on a third book, which is on general heritage sites. With so many locations out there to explore – “people just don’t know what’s out there” - it’s clear it won’t be his last foray into uncovering more of Ireland’s hidden history.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Budget day is going to be a day of election bribery, everyone dont get fooled by this, remember how disgracefully our government have treated us all in past ! Especially dont forget we are still fighting to abolish the new water tax, a tax that we are all paying for already through general taxation !
Noonan and Kenny or Nooenny are too old to worrie about consequences its the historical aspect, always remember for the wrong reasons but remember all the same. Their mark on the world when their gone…let’s hope they go soon……
Happy with the budget overall very pro business which is great. What suspect is that it’s very similar to the give away budgets of FF. DL and SF must be disappointed with the welfare increases which will play into Labours hands and increase their vote.
After all that I’m not even up €30 per month. And my water charges will cost me more than that, so still, nett result is I have even less than last year.
Kenny has bought out journal and set up a team of red tumbing dopes. Are you frightened of social networking Enda. Will you just ends it. Red tumb me to confirm.
I’m not any coloured shirt, I find the continual silly irrelevant comments irritating. Is my comment a stupid irrelevant comment….yes, but it’s in keeping with the comment I was replying to.
Do I support the Government ? in some things yes & in others no. But no matter who is in power I’m never going agree with all their policy but that’s what democracy is, a compromise. I do detest opposition parties that knock for the sake of knocking.
Labour were every bit as bad during the last governments term as Sinn Fein are this term.
I never in my life voted Labour but I intend giving Ged Nash a vote next time.
Simply because although it hurted their support base they were mature enough to make the tough choices.
Probably change again after that, The only party I will never vote for are FF, but I am a floating voter
You lost when you starting comparing the current labour party to the shinners. No one will ever be compared to the lying treacherous animals. You are voting for Ged Nash, you deserve everything you get. Oh and before you call me a shinner, i was a card carrying member of labour from 1997 to 2012
Well there you go thetruth, I never give them a vote 1997-2012, however they are having to live a little more in reality these days, but that grating/condescending voice of Burton is hard to listen to.
The only thing I want to hear today from noonan is how he plans to dissolve irish water and clean up the mess fg has made everything else is irrelevant
If the finance minister knows what’s good for him he would abolish the USC, HOUSE HOLD TAX AND THE WATER CHARGES THAT WAY, The people of Ireland wouldn’t feel the pinch as much. And maybe we would spend again. Who knows.
1. The govt acting like they’re doing you a favor giving you tax cuts hoping you won’t notice that with all the taxes they’ve newly introduced and charges they’ve hiked you’re actually at a major MAJOR NET LOSS.
2. FF are going to pretend that the govt is somehow doing something other than following the policies they started in office, they will be trying to square an impossible circle of saying that those policies are the reason for recovery but are also terrible bold policies that hurt the needy that they’d never have done.
3. The fragmented left, will come into the dail looking disheveled and shabby and make bellicose over the top speeches about how they’d have free chocolate ice cream and Swedish hookers for all and would manage to do this without anyone other than cartoon rich people with monocles paying taxes. The highlight of this will be two upper middle class brats who came from privilege acting as crusaders for the working class.
4. SF will try to square their own circle of trying to make the press see how mainstream and moderate they are while trying to send the exact opposite message to their constituents.
5. Labour ministers will stand up and try to make a highly regressive conservative reactionary agenda sound like something Hugo Chavez came up with, while at the same time leaking to the press that FG wanted 20euro a week dole and would have got it but for the valiant red crusaders in Labour standing up for the little guy
6. The tiny number of people in the house actually qualified in economics will get very little attention and will continue to say ”hey that’s another iceberg were heading for there…see it?” as smug ministers laugh thinking were in a recovery.
I’m really looking forward to this budget. Good things are beginning to happen again. Workers will be rewarded for their hard work/sacrafices over the last few years.
True..if we get any reprieves it will be ‘THEY’RE BUYING THE ELECTION’ and if they take anything else it’ll be ‘CAN’T PAY WON’T PAY’.
Gets tiring after a while…
“The Intern will gain valuable experience in wearing an outfit resembling a takeaway product, dealing with the public and being chased by hungry stoners”
Camel Lights are still €8.60 that means they’ll go up to 9 quid? might hafta start buying rolling tobacco to mix with my joints . would like to just smoke blunts but at €500 an ounce I simply can’t afford it . of coarse tens of millions of euro are being lost to the exchequer due to cannabis being illegal
Absolutely sick of all the government bashing. We all played a part in this economic mess. The government has brought us back from the brink. Have some respect and educate yourselves.
I’ll tell you what shouldn’t exist … Ministers !! Especially out of touch ones with scary smiles and big fat salaries and pensions . ( which basically covers the lot of them )
The proposed/suspected cut in the private pension levy will have no effect on workers pockets – scheme providers will just tell you it will reduce the burden/pressure on the scheme. So nothing really there for workers in that respect.
An increase in child benefits – FFS, could we not scrap this social welfare payment an introduce a proper children’s tax credit and/or at least try to means test it. Sick of contributing to the costs of bringing up other people’s children.
Top tax rate to be cut – middle to low income earners are not really going to benefit as much as high earners.
I have no kids and don’t earn enough to be effected by the 1% top rate cut. I’m in the verge of insolvency, if the USC bands aren’t widened far enough to give me 10-20euro at least a week extra take home I’m screwed. But sure, I’m not in the select demographics (lab for the social welfare and FG for the top layers) so I don’t matter.
They were elected on the campaign of lies we were subject to at the time. They then screwed us over at every turn. A reversal is the least they should do.
But as with every “vote buying budget” for every five euro joe soap benefits, higher earners benefit by twenty.
You will have. Heard of the Boston tea party ? Well in protest ye should have the Dublin Nespresso party and feck all the Nespresso in to the Liffey . In protest against notions, the budget , taxes and fog .
They should give us back €30 euro that they already took from us for child benefit. €5 is nothing to what they took from us (€30).give us back the amount you took from the child benefit.
The sense of entitlement is strong in this one. Just be grateful you get any payment at all for them. There are those of us who don’t have kids, that don’t have the luxury of state payments every month and have had a lot more than €30 taken from us.
Here’s another one. Typical moaner. Moan when there’s tax hikes. Moan when you get a little back. When deciding if you could afford to have children did you honestly take into account the monthly child benefit?
For the record for most the 30 euro was taken away with a hell of a lot more as no one just has kids in isolation. Most have had cuts or charges to deal with alongside child benefit cuts . That is unless you are super rich . For the record we are very much entitled to moan . Especially about our elected representatives . Child benefit has been factored into the household income and it is missed when cuts are made . its not our fault other havent produced children. Also I paid taxes for 30 years paying taxes that no doubt covered a lot of the child benefit paid for a lot iof the people on here who havent had kids themselves . They were kids themselves once. Also child benefit should not be a tax credit as not everyone can work outside the home. Some of us ( carers) work very hard for our benefits and can’t take outside work as much as we would like to.
One of the parents should be working Tax credit can go to them. No need to be married to transfer it I personally think it would be more beneficial as a tax credit those who really need it can claim it would make doing something like means tested much easier etc as well. Also means that it can’t be “taken out of country” so to speak foreign parents would have to be working in Ireland to claim it.
The double payment should be an illegal in EU. Also making you pay for something you are not using. First you have to pay the annual charges (even if your house is empty an you use 0 liters of water) and then you pay 4.66 per m3 (1000 liters) what is over the yearly allowance.
Ha ha ha Joan thinks by giving people €5 extra on childs allowance they can go onto the doorsteps with confidence…….LABOUR party are going the way of the greens….lying to the people…..screwing us with all your taxes……I hope you come to my door in person…
Also if you have aspirations of joining An Garda Siochana the Communications Clinic can offer you the skills to ace the test. And it will only cost you €200.
So all comments about Terry Prone / Communications Clinic / Irish Times Apology / Karagh Fox / Govt advisory payments to Savage/ Prone are acceptable on this blog?
Very good speech by Mary Lou McDonald. I’m not a member of Sinn Fein, never even voted for them (mainly because of their IRA connections) but she made some very very good clear points. It was totally unnecessary for Sean Barrett to interrupt her for simply looking at Enda Kenny, surely anyone speaking about the budget today would do that at least every now and then. Mary-Lou was right to comment this was biased on his part. And then for him to say: withdraw the remark or leave?? Would have loved to hear the rest of her speech. Sean Barrett’s should resign and be replaced with a truely impartial Ceann Comhairle!
That’s not accurate, you’ve misread how it all works.
There is no standing charge, and a free allowance for a household of 30 kL. If you use less than this, you pay nothing.
The €176 figure is an assessed charge for people with no meters, and is based in an average consumption of 66 kL. If you have a meter you pay €4.88 per kL over 30kL used.
In the event of your unoccupied house with 0L usage, there’ll be no charges.
'Ireland was very smart': Trump namechecks Ireland as he pledges tariffs on pharma imports
Keith Kelly
9 hrs ago
votail
Opposition to consider 'all options' to counter official Dáil record due to conflicting claims
3 mins ago
As it happened
Verona Murphy 'fully intends' to continue as Ceann Comhairle as opposition parties draft no confidence motion
12 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say