You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The poster before it was removed Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Abercrombie & Fitch banner taken down from Dublin city centre

Dublin City Council had initiated legal proceedings to have the banner removed because it had not received planning permission.

A CONTROVERSIAL ADVERT for clothing store Abercrombie and Fitch has been removed from Dublin’s city centre.

Dublin City Council had initiated legal proceedings over the giant Dame Street banner which had not received the required planning permission. The case was due to be heard before Dublin’s District Court next month.

The banner, which was three stories high and covered the entire front of the building, had been in in place since the start of the summer.

Dublin City Council had issued a warning letter to Abercrombie and Fitch over the banner which showed a male torso.

“Dublin City Council has initiated legal proceedings to have the banner removed. We note that the banner has been removed,” a spokesperson told TheJournal.ie.

Abercrombie and Fitch is due to open a shop on the premises in November of this year. The US-based clothing store is believed to have signed a 10-year lease worth around €750,000 a year for the site.

Abercrombie and Fitch did not respond to a request for a comment.

Previously: This is one way to spice up your financial earnings report >

Previously: Clothing chain willing to pay Jersey Shore stars NOT to wear its clothing >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

85 Comments
    Mute Scott Mcgarry
    Favourite Scott Mcgarry
    Feb 6th 2017, 8:10 PM

I bought 1 for the wife recently ..to be honest worth every penny

Mute Trisha Tully
    Favourite Trisha Tully
    Feb 6th 2017, 10:39 PM

So funny Scott :-)

Mute Trisha Tully
    Favourite Trisha Tully
    Feb 6th 2017, 10:52 PM

I hope you didn’t have to cane her.

Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins
    Feb 6th 2017, 7:41 PM

Black trousers/skirt, white shirt, jumper with no crest, done €40, easy peasy (uniform should also be worn for all school events, communions and conformations included)

Mute Marcus Bale
    Favourite Marcus Bale
    Feb 6th 2017, 7:48 PM

Why should they . 40 euro doing well

Mute Bennythekid
    Favourite Bennythekid
    Feb 6th 2017, 8:06 PM

It’s a pure racket this uniform lark- a pure money making operation.there too expensive.government should impose some form of price control.

Feb 6th 2017, 8:33 PM

Wait until secondary school!!

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Feb 6th 2017, 9:31 PM

In fairness our school use generic uniforms. But you gotta sew on the crest which costs €3.. You could easy kit out a kid 2 times for €20 in Aldi. Or €30/€40 in Dunnes/Tesco. I am happy with that.

Mute Mantis Toboggan
    Favourite Mantis Toboggan
    Feb 7th 2017, 3:34 AM

It’s a lot less hassle in the morning for parents and kids to wear a uniform. Once generic jumpers etc. were allowed then everyone would be happy.

Mute Alan Ball
    Favourite Alan Ball
    Feb 6th 2017, 8:05 PM

My parents sent five of us to school in uniforms.That was 40 years ago plus.My mother had a very simple method of paying for the uniforms when the time came to go to school.It was part of an overall strategy she employed to manage the house budget …It was called saving.Just thought I would put it out there..It still works for many families who do not go down the hand out route.

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Feb 6th 2017, 11:37 PM

Agree. A kids uniform about the same cost as a few months Netflix or 1 month Sky or a couple of takeaways or few packets of fags. Amazing value really.

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Feb 6th 2017, 7:46 PM

It’s a joke you have to buy the crested uniform from the one shop only. No crest uniforms would solve alot of problems

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Feb 6th 2017, 7:58 PM

@prop joe: Then buy the crest separately and stich it on cloths yourself

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Feb 6th 2017, 8:44 PM

@Chria. Not all schools allow that. Anyway why have the crest on the uniform. It’s not like you have to look at the crest to know what school you go to.

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Feb 6th 2017, 8:44 PM

My daughters school does that but the skirt is blue check which can only be bought from the 1 shop

Mute Thomas McGilly
    Favourite Thomas McGilly
    Feb 6th 2017, 9:14 PM

The crest is intrinsic to the identity of the school. Should be worn and promoted as a way of instilling pride in the school.

Mute Daisy Chai NSaw
    Favourite Daisy Chai NSaw
    Feb 6th 2017, 9:28 PM

@Thomas McGilly: And as a little bit of profiteering and profit sharing between the shop and the school while they gouge the parents.

Mute Marie McDevitt
    Favourite Marie McDevitt
    Feb 6th 2017, 9:26 PM

The cost of a uniform is much less than dressing your son/daughter in the latest big label fashions and although I encourage individuality in this case I find a uniform less of a distraction than having the pressure of having to choose an appropriate outfit every day, it also prevents an element of bullying where an individual cannot afford the latest trends. I

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Feb 6th 2017, 9:37 PM

@Marie McDevitt: That’s fine, but not when the uniform is just one more rip off.

Mute Keith Moore
    Favourite Keith Moore
    Feb 6th 2017, 7:40 PM

How many bloody times will this a proposed and guess what nothing ever happens. Government at its best. Lots of press releases and full of SH#TE

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Feb 6th 2017, 10:09 PM

@Keith Moore: What about the parents, they have votes and power to demand change. A petition/protest march, they can do something about it and the book racket is a complete mafia stitch up.

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Feb 6th 2017, 10:28 PM

@Stephen murphy: Yeah in the same way they can do something about the ‘voluntary contribution’ racket, but choose not to because they’re afraid of the school.

Mute Alex Falcone
    Favourite Alex Falcone

They are expensive but school uniforms are important. Can’t have kids coming to school looking like Goths.

Mute Archie McLoughlin
    Favourite Archie McLoughlin
    Feb 6th 2017, 7:51 PM

Would you rather see everyone wear the country colours with jeans and brown shoes instead? At least goths have some personality compared to the holister and Co gang

Mute Alex Falcone
    Favourite Alex Falcone
    Feb 6th 2017, 7:54 PM

@Archie McLoughlin:
    ‘Personality’
    There’s more personality in a valium.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Feb 7th 2017, 12:09 AM

At least they are in school Alex, shouldn’t matter a damn how they look.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 7th 2017, 3:10 AM

@molly coddled: That is what some of their boyfriend think as well, bad joke Molly lol.

Mute Nellie Oneill
    Favourite Nellie Oneill

Two daughter’s in school about a ton for 2 sets of uniforms for both including tracksuits. Cheap as chips

Mute Thommo's Big Nose
    Favourite Thommo's Big Nose
    Feb 6th 2017, 8:26 PM

That’s some expensive chips. Eddie Rockets?

Mute Kevin50
    Favourite Kevin50
    Feb 6th 2017, 8:19 PM

As a former school board member we attempted to offer 2 uniforms, one uniform was lesser quality and half the price but was identical in look to the higher quality. Unless you looked very closely you would not have noticed the difference. The higher quality outsold the lower quality by 4 to 1.

Mute Trisha Tully
    Favourite Trisha Tully
    Feb 6th 2017, 10:46 PM

Why did the board members attempt to offer 2 uniforms at different prices Kevin50 instead of having the cheaper option as the only option when it was that hard to tell the difference. I doubt anyone would be looking that closely at the uniform.

Mute Charlene Vaughan
    Favourite Charlene Vaughan
    Feb 6th 2017, 9:21 PM

If you could remove the whole ” you can only get the jumper and track suit in xx shop” it would be ok. Made good savings on shirts/pinafore by shopping around but had to fork out 35 euro for a crested jumper and 45 for a tracksuit due to being school specific and only available in 1 shop! My daughter is only 4 and in baby infants so no doubt price for these will increase as she grows! The tracksuit thing drives me mad what happened to wearing normal clothes for pe like we did!

Mute Emma Collins
    Favourite Emma Collins
    Feb 6th 2017, 7:33 PM

If a school wants a uniform the school/state should pay for it.

Mute David Dickenson
    Favourite David Dickenson
    Feb 6th 2017, 7:37 PM

@Emma Collins:and who pays for the schools? How would that work?

Mute Emma Collins
    Favourite Emma Collins
    Feb 6th 2017, 7:44 PM

If you’re not willing to pay for schools then don’t have uniforms! Not sure I entirely understand your comment! It’s like people who have no children saying they won’t pay for childcare!!!! Those children pay for your pensions. So the argument is moot!

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Feb 6th 2017, 7:49 PM

Maybe some form of sponsorship on the uniform might be an idea e.g Supermacs, Tayto, Denny’s etc

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Feb 6th 2017, 7:56 PM

@Emma Collins:
    I want everything!
    I want it now!

And I want someone else to pay for it.

Mute darrell fahy
    Favourite darrell fahy
    Feb 6th 2017, 8:43 PM

Moot means open for debate so crack on there emma

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Feb 6th 2017, 9:13 PM

Gubbermint should pay for everyting.

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly
    Feb 6th 2017, 9:35 PM

@Emma Collins: Sorry to burst your bubble but nobody`s children pay my pension I worked for 50 odd years and payed for my pension through PRSI and tax`s for which I am now made to feel like pariah with people of your persuasion….

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Feb 6th 2017, 10:31 PM

@darrell fahy: Also means “having little or no practical relevance”, I suggest she goes down this route.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 7th 2017, 3:14 AM

@Emma Collins: If you want a HSE trolly then you should, hay???

Mute Andrew Giles
    Favourite Andrew Giles
    Feb 6th 2017, 10:03 PM

You don’t need to wear a uniform to learn, you just need to turn up and listen

Mute liam hayes
    Favourite liam hayes
    Feb 6th 2017, 9:18 PM

School uniform ha ha
    both of my children are in the local educate together school,
    School uniform €0.00

Mute Cathal S Byrne
    Favourite Cathal S Byrne
    Feb 6th 2017, 9:38 PM

But they still have to wear clothes so there is a cost

Mute Trisha Tully
    Favourite Trisha Tully
    Feb 6th 2017, 10:49 PM

Do you send your children to school in their birthday suits liam hayes?

Mute Theresa O'Donohoe
    Favourite Theresa O'Donohoe
    Feb 6th 2017, 10:04 PM

When crests are involved – yes! Otherwise they’re very cheap

Mute Marcus Bale
    Favourite Marcus Bale
    Feb 6th 2017, 7:37 PM

@The Journal: A wee bit early for April fool jokes .

Mute Jlocoroco
    Favourite Jlocoroco
    Feb 6th 2017, 8:32 PM

Who to feck said no

Mute Catherine
    Favourite Catherine
    Feb 7th 2017, 8:29 AM

My little fella started primary this year, generic uniform, got 2 jumpers, 4 shirts, 2 trousers and 2 polos in M&S for €51. That was grand, but the tracksuits are school specific and cost about €60 which is too pricey considering they’ll only get the year out of them. That’s nothing compared to the secondary schools in the area though. My nephew started in September and his uniform was the better part of 800 and that was with his mum buying generic for anything she could get away with. The bloody tie was 50!! People can harp on about saving during the year all they want, but if your income is stretched thin as it is, coming up with almost 1000 over the course of the year could be next to impossible and that’s assuming you’ve only got one kid to buy for. That’s before you start having to get the books!

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Feb 6th 2017, 10:32 PM

The uniform can be sourced at a reasonable enough price, it’s the tracksuit and runners are expensive. And, let’s face it, PE in Irish schools is rubbish.

Mute Dingleberrycity
    Favourite Dingleberrycity
    Feb 7th 2017, 3:32 AM

Why should any child be required to wear a special type of clothing just so they can receive an education?

Mute Jlocoroco
    Favourite Jlocoroco
    Feb 6th 2017, 10:55 PM

Uniforms are a pointless idea and the only reason people don’t like educate together schools is because they’re too liberal

Mute Kieran W
    Favourite Kieran W
    Feb 7th 2017, 12:20 AM

YES!!!!!!!