You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A small group of Pro Choice protestors picket Pro-Life Campaigners at a recent protest in Dublin. Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

Poll shows strong support for abortion in cases of rape, fatal foetal abnormality

A Behaviour & Attitudes poll finds that nearly 60 per cent of people favour abortion where the “mother displays suicidal feelings”.

A NEW POLL has found strong support for abortion to be available to women in Ireland in cases where they have become pregnant as a result of rape or where there is a fatal foetal abnormality that means the baby cannot survive.

Neither of these possibilities is currently proposed to be legislated for by the government as it drafts a bill to implement the Supreme Court ruling in the X Case which provides for abortion in circumstances where there is a risk to the life of the woman, including the risk of suicide.

The Behaviour & Attitudes Poll of 916 eligible voters is published in today’s Sunday Times and finds that 59 per cent of people favour abortion where “the mother displays suicidal feelings”.

Seventy-four per cent of those polled said that where pregnancy results from rape abortion should be permissible with a fifth of those polled opposed to this.

Even more, 80 per cent, believe that a fatal foetal abnormality situation should mean that a woman has access to an abortion while 87 per cent are in favour of abortion where the mother’s life is in danger – but not from the risk of suicide.

The suicide risk issue has become a key sticking point for some in the abortion debate particularly backbench Fine Gael TDs who have expressed concerns that it will “open the floodgates” and make abortion on demand available in Ireland.

The 1992 Supreme Court ruling in the X Case means that abortion is legal in Ireland where the woman’s life is a risk, including from the risk of suicide.

The government has said that it plans to introduce legislation for this court decision later this year.

This table breaks down support for abortion among males and females, age groups, social classes and location:

If you are having trouble viewing this image, click here

Read: Creighton has ‘grave reservations’ about suicide risk in any X Case law

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

223 Comments
    Mute David Thomas
    Favourite David Thomas
    Mar 4th 2014, 11:08 PM

I’m sure they hear much worse in the playground

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Favourite Richard Rodgers
    Mar 4th 2014, 11:18 PM

Thomas
    So your position is that we need no standards as a means of protecting children? What sort of behaviour is that?

Mute Seamus Ryan
    Favourite Seamus Ryan
    Mar 4th 2014, 11:28 PM

What standards are the present government setting by constantly lying about the so called recovery?

Mute Lm group
    Favourite Lm group
    Mar 4th 2014, 11:31 PM

And your position is to cut their children’s allowance, cut teachers, cut everything, go away Sebastian

Mar 4th 2014, 11:41 PM

Better then removing mobility allowances from those who have a mental or physical disabilities Mr. Rodgers your pals in government have had no problem doing that….

Mute Conor McGuinness
    Favourite Conor McGuinness
    Mar 5th 2014, 7:55 AM

Richard I like most right-thinking people would prefer my children to hear the word ‘bullshit’ uttered every now and then than to have their access to education and healthcare curtailed, and an unfair and unpayable debt put upon them for the rest of their days.

In fact bullshit, whether you like how it sounds or not, is a perfect legitimate English word that has its own specific meaning and connotations. And it’s the perfect word to describe the governments delusional narrative about success.

Mute TalkingSence
    Favourite TalkingSence
    Mar 5th 2014, 8:02 AM

Conor…zzzz zzzz zzzz zzzz

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Mar 5th 2014, 8:18 AM

Truthful open transparent government would be a lot more beneficial for these children. Watching Enda at his usual stuttering blundering stonewalling in Dail is a more worrying educational field trip for any child.

Mute OGGIE3rd
    Favourite OGGIE3rd
    Mar 5th 2014, 12:29 PM

Richard ..lol lol lol TalkingS?nce lol lol lol blah blah blah mumble mumble ..lol lol lol whiter than white youse lot are .lol lol lol Zzzzzz zzzz zzzz lol lol lol

Mute Irish Names
    Favourite Irish Names
    Mar 4th 2014, 11:13 PM

Dear god won’t someone, anyone, think of the children

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    Mar 5th 2014, 9:10 AM

am i having a wet dream or is my phone tapped in this state

Mar 4th 2014, 11:09 PM

Shock horror I’m sure the kids hear worse at home or on the streets. What about ministers of the government telling porkies or misleading the Dail is that not a problem?

Mute Sam Aritan
    Favourite Sam Aritan
    Mar 4th 2014, 11:23 PM

No. Lies are fine. Stealing those very same children that were in the Dail’s future is fine too it seems. But, a four letter word is clearly going to kill them outright.

This is what we have.

This is the mentality. I suspect Sean Barrett files it under “Respect”.

Personally I can’t stand the man.

Mute Matthew Donoghue
    Favourite Matthew Donoghue
    Mar 4th 2014, 11:46 PM

not to mention all the cuts to the children’s hospital, sure what does it matter if a few die as long as we pay back on those unsecured bonds

Mute patrick
    Favourite patrick
    Mar 4th 2014, 11:14 PM

F@#ks sake that’s a load of b##@ox

Mute Dylan
    Favourite Dylan
    Mar 4th 2014, 11:48 PM

nee naw nee naw nee naw hands in the air everybody its the fun police

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    Mar 5th 2014, 1:10 AM

You can’t swear when kids are present but you will pay millions of euros worth of tax income to silence all who dare seek recompense for being abused and neglected.. as kids.

Mute Sam Aritan
    Favourite Sam Aritan
    Mar 4th 2014, 11:13 PM

Sean Barrett as Ceann Comhairle is stuck in the 1950′s. If we want the promised Dail reform we should start with him. At a time when a huge amount of people are struggling and the country in unsustainable debt and bankrupt – this guy is more concerned with the clothes Ming and Wallace are wearing and the bad language!!!!

We don’t need petty small mindedness from him of all people. No, he needs to go.

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Favourite Richard Rodgers
    Mar 4th 2014, 11:21 PM

Sam
    If you were intelligent enough to read the story before you commented you would realise that the Ceann Comhairle was absent from the Chair at the time. However intelligence is clearly something of which you cannot be accused.

Mute Birch Barlow
    Favourite Birch Barlow
    Mar 5th 2014, 8:12 AM

Boom Richie!!!!!

Mute TalkingSence
    Favourite TalkingSence
    Mar 5th 2014, 9:00 AM

Well done Sam you spoofer… Think before you comment please

Mute Alan Reardon
    Favourite Alan Reardon
    Mar 5th 2014, 8:29 AM

But it was OK for a TD to grope a female TD in the Dail Chamber. I think this was ten thousand times more serious than a bit of bad language. Let’s get our priorities right.

Mute Clive Sutton
    Favourite Clive Sutton
    Mar 5th 2014, 9:06 AM

Yeah, but he was wearing a suit so it’s grand

Mute Colin Foley
    Favourite Colin Foley
    Mar 5th 2014, 1:42 AM

Well done Boyd Barrett , not a socialist supporter but this talk is on the ball.

Mute Amphroaí Ó hAipilbí
    Favourite Amphroaí Ó hAipilbí
    Mar 5th 2014, 12:30 AM

I wouldn’t worry. By the time Rich Boy got up to speak, I’d imagine the chamber and gallery were mostly empty.

Mute PaoloFreire
    Favourite PaoloFreire
    Mar 5th 2014, 7:11 AM

Can The Journal at least name the Party/ Group that he campaigned for and was elected for People Before Profit. Like him or loathe him- he is not an Independent.

Mute Mr L.Jay
    Favourite Mr L.Jay
    Mar 5th 2014, 9:07 AM

Paolo
    Who was he with?

Mute Donald Cameron
    Favourite Donald Cameron
    Mar 5th 2014, 9:34 AM

Socialist Workers party I think?

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Mar 5th 2014, 11:07 AM

Are they the crowd that plaster posters about meetings discussing the teachings of Karl Marx on light posts in Dublin?

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Mar 5th 2014, 11:11 AM

No but some of their members are speakers at such events.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Mar 4th 2014, 11:15 PM

Ide be more worried with them seeing adults acting worse than kids in a playground! !

Mute AlanHarte
    Favourite AlanHarte
    Mar 5th 2014, 1:11 AM

The like of Boyd Barrett, Wallace, Flanagan let the Irish parliament down very badly. They will say that people should be more worried with the state of the country than their appearance etc. but what does their contempt for the dignity of our parliament do to advance the county?

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Mar 5th 2014, 5:33 AM

They could be a leading tourist attraction.
    ‘Look at Paddy trying to govern themselves’ says Mr Chomondely Warner from the visitors gallery in the Dail.
    ‘That one isn’t even wearing shoes’
    ‘That one appears to be defecating on his desk’
    ‘I say, they are a wild bunch these Irish!’

Mute James Joseph Superior Power
    Favourite James Joseph Superior Power
    Mar 5th 2014, 5:40 AM

You can put a suit on a monkey and he will still be a monkey.

Mar 5th 2014, 6:46 AM

unless he’s a bouncer; then he’d be a gorilla…

Mute Chris Williams
    Favourite Chris Williams
    Mar 5th 2014, 7:11 AM

Alan you’re dead right. I’ll bet all the red thumbs are from people that think wearing suits isn’t progressive (have to laugh every time the lefties wheel that one out) enough.

Mute Daniel.
    Favourite Daniel.
    Mar 5th 2014, 9:05 AM

Just as Fine Gael members grope women in the chamber.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Mar 5th 2014, 9:31 AM

“You can put a suit on a monkey and he will still be a monkey.”

Sounds like you’re speaking from personal experience there, James.

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Mar 4th 2014, 11:09 PM

He is too much in love with the sound of his own voice to have noticed them.

Mute John Mcloughlin
    Favourite John Mcloughlin
    Mar 4th 2014, 11:16 PM

Ha ha

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Mar 5th 2014, 12:21 AM

Total spoofer this guy – populist to the point of being hilarious especially on anything economic. Even Mad Dog Browne has given up tearing him asunder cos it was far too easy.

Mute potatoman
    Favourite potatoman
    Mar 5th 2014, 12:38 AM

F%ckin hell

Mute Mikey ️
    Favourite Mikey ️
    Mar 5th 2014, 7:28 AM

I hate any article which criticises Barrett or the two goons sitting across from him because it’s just giving them the attention they grave.
    Barrett has to curse to get his name on the news.
    Wallace has to put on an act with his fake emotion long hair baggy jeans speech.
    As someone said above, I’m sure the Dail was packed. There’s usually a rush for the car park once these stand up.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Mar 5th 2014, 8:44 AM

Go Richard.

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Mar 5th 2014, 10:55 AM

Never mind the children , im sure there are many government ministers still using crayons by the look of the policies put forward lately.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 5th 2014, 9:36 AM

I’d ask the labour TD to check his conscience and ask whats really damaging our kids. Labour voting for cuts to the childrens allowance, education, medical cards, stealth taxes, property taxes, their parents not being able to find gainful employment etc, or hearing the words ‘bull$hit’ and ‘wet dream’

Mute Maurice Frazer
    Favourite Maurice Frazer
    Mar 5th 2014, 9:45 AM

PASSION it’s called thank you Richard and Gerry for highlighting the Justiceforthestardust 48 campaign .

Mute Birch Barlow
    Favourite Birch Barlow
    Mar 5th 2014, 8:13 AM

We won’t have to listen to him for long. Paddy power have him at 4-1 not to be reflected. I’ll stick a tenner on that.

Mute Birch Barlow
    Favourite Birch Barlow
    Mar 5th 2014, 8:17 AM

*re elected

Mute anthony byrne
    Favourite anthony byrne
    Mar 5th 2014, 8:58 AM

Paddy Power will be a tenner better off so.

Mute Ethan Morley
    Favourite Ethan Morley
    Mar 5th 2014, 12:21 PM

The children of Ireland are well used to hearing the Governments antics described as a load of bullshit.

Mute jimjoryrt
    Favourite jimjoryrt
    Mar 5th 2014, 7:35 AM

This fella is a disgrace, thuggery nothing more. Parrot is our national gobsh*ite

Mute The_five_lamps
    Favourite The_five_lamps
    Mar 5th 2014, 7:02 AM

Oh who can tame this man?!!!

Mute Eamonn Breandán Ó Cuidighthigh
    Favourite Eamonn Breandán Ó Cuidighthigh
    Mar 5th 2014, 12:31 PM

We live in a world where people are more offended by someone using “profanities” than they are by the fact that children in this country and around the globe are going hungry and in poverty. Get your priorities right you gigantic bunch of intellectually defective idiots!

Mute Neal Ireland
    Favourite Neal Ireland
    Mar 5th 2014, 7:17 PM

Why can’t we be offended by both of those things?

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Mar 5th 2014, 10:33 AM

These are only words that have been made up. If you get offended that’s a choice you make.

Mute jimjoryrt
    Favourite jimjoryrt
    Mar 5th 2014, 10:48 AM

Nothing more nauseating than a rich kid harping on about socialism. Parrot really is a national idiot

Mute john williams
    Favourite john williams
    Mar 5th 2014, 9:24 AM

Who votes for all these TDs.

Mute Jonny Lennon
    Favourite Jonny Lennon
    Mar 5th 2014, 5:28 PM

Richard Boyd Barrett is to be commended for his speech yesterday he speaks the absolute truth about this shocking Government and their cuts and austerity, etc.

I’ve generally no time for politicians, majority of them are crooks and parasites but I believe Boyd Barrett would make a very good Taoiseach, you couldn’t get much worse than the last couple of fuc***s anyway!

Mute Gearoid O Machain
    Favourite Gearoid O Machain
    Mar 5th 2014, 5:47 PM

so we can lay illegal debts on the heads of those children but whatever you do don’t speak ugly truths within earshot of the kiddies!!

Mute Antoinette Keegan
    Favourite Antoinette Keegan
    Mar 5th 2014, 8:59 PM

Richard boyd barrett spoke truth, pity we dont have more like him in the dail, i know one person who didnt speak truth through debates yesterday.

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Mar 5th 2014, 12:03 PM

That’s the caliber of a lot of them now.

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Mar 5th 2014, 4:52 PM

‘Why’s everybody so PC?, its not my fault if you take offence!’ ‘Wash your mouth son!’