You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Bible via Shutterstock

Catholic orders are "improving" in reporting abuse allegations

New reports from the Catholic Church’s watchdog notes improvement.

CATHOLIC ORDERS ARE getting better at reporting child abuse allegations.

That is according to the latest child welfare reports from the National Board for Safeguarding Children in the Catholic Church.

The reports cover five male and 18 female female religious congregations.

The reports show that between variable times in the 70s and 2009, there were 121 allegations of abuse against 54 members of the orders. Of these, two brothers from the Missionaries of Africa were convicted. The complaints came from children in Ireland and abroad.

However, despite the improvement, the board’s CEO Teresa Devlin says the responses to complaints are “inconsistent”.

“However, support for complainants continues to be inconsistent. Contact in many instances was not made directly by the congregation and the opportunity for pastoral support was missed. This however is an improving picture and the reviewers highlighted instances of compassionate meaningful responses to survivors.”

Devlin called on people who may have been abused but have not reported it to come forward.

“The publication of these safeguarding reviews may evoke memories, it is important that complainants come forward if there are still unreported allegations of abuse.

“So, please do come forward and report them to the civil authorities and to the Diocese or Religious Order.”

Read: Priest who won property dispute with former partner ‘taking time away from Church’

Read: American jailed over ‘Bible left in nightclub bathroom’ freed from North Korea

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

31 Comments
    Mute Your Man
    Favourite Your Man
    Jan 31st 2024, 1:48 PM

Hopefully common sense will prevail

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Jan 31st 2024, 2:34 PM

@Your Man: but this is IRELAND????

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 31st 2024, 7:16 PM

@Ken Mc Carthy: They’re gonna delay it 9 months apparently. lol.

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Jan 31st 2024, 2:39 PM

I’ll probably get roasted for this but let’s call a spade a spade……..some folk like/ enjoy the occasional joint ( splif /doobey brother…..whatever the correct phraseology is nowdays?)now & again. Like what’s the harm in that??- personal choice / responsibility. Having the guards tied up with paperwork etc for an hour or two, all for what???? Live & let live

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Feb 1st 2024, 7:24 AM

@Ken Mc Carthy: you might get toasted for it.

Mute Art Vandelay
    Favourite Art Vandelay
    Jan 31st 2024, 2:47 PM

That group of doctors ignoring years of science should be ashamed of themselves. Hopefully their ignorant, likely ideology-based views are ignored. Legalise, regulate & tax everything.

Mute Melanie Keane
    Favourite Melanie Keane
    Jan 31st 2024, 4:15 PM

@Art Vandelay: “I take this pill for this, and this pill to counter the symptoms for the first pill, and another to counteract the symptoms from that pill…..” Pharmaceuticals is a lucrative business. Those doctors are paid well for their opinions by Big Pharma who know that people who opt to self-medicate with cannabis will be detrimental to their business.

Mute peter white
    Favourite peter white
    Jan 31st 2024, 5:02 PM

@Art Vandelay: we live in a society where the government is so concerned about the harms of canabis that its totally banned . The only restriction on the amount of alcohol you can get your hands on once your 18 is how much money you’ve got In your pocket. It don’t matter if your a convicted drink driver, gbh , domestic violence even an alcoholic the government just let you get on with it. Something don’t add up

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 31st 2024, 7:15 PM

@Art Vandelay: The world of Doctor bias is massive, there’s a really good one on YouTube where Dr. Berg completely takes apart a group of vegetarian doctors trying to spin eggs as a major cause of heart attacks, all backed by Pharma nodding vigorously.

Mute Martin Mongan
    Favourite Martin Mongan
    Jan 31st 2024, 9:31 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: no doubt there’s a supplement or tablet you can take that’ll offset not eating eggs

Mute gregory pym
    Favourite gregory pym
    Jan 31st 2024, 7:07 PM

Legalise now. It’s not a health issue any more than having a pint is.

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Jan 31st 2024, 4:54 PM

Them lads in Carlow Garda Station will be delighted!

Mute JP
    Favourite JP
    Jan 31st 2024, 6:47 PM

Before we embark on the legalising road we should check out how things are in Portugal.
    There have been reports that all is not well.

Mute KTH
    Favourite KTH
    Jan 31st 2024, 7:03 PM

@JP:
    I’ve Googled for the last 10 minutes about Cannabis usage/legalisation in Portugal not going well and couldn’t find a thing.
    Could you point me to these reports, please?

Mute peter white
    Favourite peter white
    Jan 31st 2024, 7:04 PM

@JP: 60 years fighting the war on drugs. Over a trillion dollars spent globally. What progress has been made? Are there less drugs available? Are less people taking drugs? Seems to me the war is being lost and its cost a fortune. Surely we can’t just carry on regardless. If your fighting a loosing battle at least you have to try and look for a better solution. Giving organised crime a massive revenue stream has not really been the smartest move.

Mute Sean oSuilleabhain
    Favourite Sean oSuilleabhain
    Jan 31st 2024, 10:26 PM

@JP: have you spent time in Lisbon? I have. the majority backed and appear to still back the decriminalisation.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Feb 1st 2024, 12:14 PM

@peter white: yes, surrendering to drug gangs seems the way to go.

Mute peter white
    Favourite peter white
    Feb 1st 2024, 6:46 PM

@John Mulligan: nixon declared a war on drugs not drug gangs.

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Jan 31st 2024, 7:23 PM

I am curious can anyone tell me what Liberal legislation ffg ever created off there own back .

Mute Jak M
    Favourite Jak M
    Feb 1st 2024, 8:41 AM

Why are they so backwards and awkward with it. Oh, wait, Ireland…

Mute michael powell
    Favourite michael powell
    Feb 1st 2024, 1:28 AM

Everyone in the Dail who has smoked cannabis raise your hand.

Mute Sean oSuilleabhain
    Favourite Sean oSuilleabhain
    Jan 31st 2024, 10:21 PM

Did I miss something, imagine being disappointed ahead of time in a country ran the way this island is, or did they not already botch that in that the assembly naturally invited more people with vested interests in the pharma lobby and then rush the cannabis vote