You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Killer of Garda Tony Golden was dissident republican with chequered history

24-year-old Adrian Mackin shot Garda Golden before turning the gun on himself.

mackin Adrian Crevan Mackin

THE MAN WHO shot dead Garda Tony Golden at a house in Omeath, Co Louth yesterday, was 24-year-old Adrian Crevan Mackin.

At about 6pm yesterday evening Garda Golden called to the house to investigate a report of a domestic disturbance. He apparently was met by Mackin brandishing a handgun who shot the Garda before turning the gun on himself.

A  21-year-old woman, apparently Mackin’s girlfriend, was also seriously injured in the incident. It’s understood the young woman worked as a hairdresser in nearby Newry, Co Down.

Mackin, a known dissident republican, was from Rostrevor, just east of Newry.

Little is currently known about his personal circumstances. However, aged just 24, he nevertheless had a significant history of trouble with the law.

In July 2012 aged 22 he appeared in court in Newry charged with ‘possessing photos of women having sex with animals’.

The charge suggested that Mackin had been in possession of ’23 extreme pornographic images’. He was granted bail following his appearance.

More recently, on 18 January 2015, Mackin appeared before the Special Criminal Court in Dublin charged with membership of an illegal organisation, specifically the IRA.

This was part of a joint venture between gardaí and the PSNI targetting dissident republican activity in the Newry / Dundalk area.

It’s understood that Mackin was on bail for this particular charge at the time of last night’s incident.

His case was due back before the non-jury court before the end of October.

Mackin’s victim, father-of-three Garda Tony Golden, was today described to TheJournal.ie by local Sinn Féin councillor Jim Loughran as “a very good community Garda, extremely well liked in the area”.

“I spoke to his sergeant this morning and they’re just devastated,” Loughran said.

Garda Golden reportedly approached Mackin’s house at Mullach Alainn in Omeath unarmed and alone.

Given Mackin’s dissident reputation, it is being suggested today that gardaí should not be expected to approach such a situation without backup or with no means of defending themselves.

“It’s not fair that a garda would have to go to something like this alone,” said Loughran.

Read: “Tony Golden’s fearlessness and his self-sacrifice led to his loss of life”

Read: Investigation underway into fatal shooting of on-duty garda in Louth

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

199 Comments
    Mute Donal Carey
    Favourite Donal Carey
    Aug 17th 2019, 6:27 AM

The sentence should be the maximum you can receive if do not participate in these courses. What they are telling us is that they do not want to be cured if they refuse to do these courses . This guy gets early release for not doing the courses what lesson does this teach him .The judges are to lenient on these crimes.

Mute Sirius
    Favourite Sirius
    Aug 17th 2019, 7:21 AM

@Donal Carey: Well said.

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Aug 17th 2019, 7:40 AM

@Donal Carey: Well he didn’t get early release. He served every day of his sentence minus the remission which is automatically given to every prisoner. But sex offenders do not qualify for early release. Early release is separate to remission. Also you cant have prisoners taking part in sex offender treatment against their will for two reasons. Firstly it will adversely affect the participant’s who are genuinely trying to correct their behaviour if they have a disruptive individual in the group. It’s pretty much all group work. Secondly they have to talk about their offence etc so if someone is claiming that they’re innocent they obviously can’t do that. Personally I think there should be some sort of extra monitoring or something done when they are released if they haven’t taken part.

Mute thephantomshit
    Favourite thephantomshit
    Aug 17th 2019, 8:24 AM

@Donal Carey: I see your point but it is probably also better that the people doing the course are the ones who genuinely want to be cured. Having the participation diluted by people faking it wouldn’t be good. It would waste a lot of professionals time. If there is a group element with others who actually want to be better than it would be unfair to them too.
    I’m not saying I’m happy with unrepentant peadophiles getting the same sentence as repentant ones but it’s not straight forward

Mute Vote4Pedro
    Favourite Vote4Pedro
    Aug 17th 2019, 8:50 AM

@Donal Carey: reopen spike island, dont renovate just reopen with armed guards

Mute rugbyanbeer
    Favourite rugbyanbeer
    Aug 17th 2019, 3:56 PM

@Donal Carey: There is no evidence that paedophilia can be “cured” in fact most therapy sessions are based on getting them to refrain from there actions .I have heard the view its would be akin to asking to cure people of Heterosexuality

Mute Oisin Curry
    Favourite Oisin Curry
    Aug 17th 2019, 12:14 AM

Give them the snip

Mute Shirley Hollingsworth
    Favourite Shirley Hollingsworth
    Aug 17th 2019, 12:28 AM

@Oisin Curry: or snip them everyday with a hedge shears..where it hurts most..

Aug 17th 2019, 12:38 AM

@Oisin Curry: give them the rope, dont deserve anything less

Mute Sean O' Donovan
    Favourite Sean O' Donovan
    Aug 17th 2019, 1:21 AM

@Oisin Curry: A rusty secateurs for pruning should keep things under control.

Mute stephen bracken
    Favourite stephen bracken
    Aug 17th 2019, 2:24 AM

A team of psychologists and 60 therapy sessions how many children could do with them services no wonder the waiting list is so long for child services in this country being wasted on this sh@t.

Mute GerryCummins
    Favourite GerryCummins
    Aug 17th 2019, 2:47 AM

@Faixa Roxa: Go away you nut case! Ffs you need help, find it elsewhere, or tell your story!

Mute Faixa Roxa
    Favourite Faixa Roxa
    Aug 17th 2019, 3:10 AM

@GerryCummins: Look “Gerry” your fake Twitter account literally has no info on who you really are. Another troll & another spineless twit.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Aug 17th 2019, 11:05 AM

@Faixa Roxa: fine glass house you’re in there

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul O'Sullivan
    Aug 17th 2019, 12:01 PM

@stephen bracken: really a ridiculous comment

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Aug 17th 2019, 1:21 AM

He has done his time , leave him alone, he will be watched, if he re offends then he is —- whatever, . We have to stop being paranoid about prisoners being released.

Mute Marty
    Favourite Marty
    Aug 17th 2019, 2:50 AM

@Eugene Comaskey: people need proper justice not this soft BS from a weak government

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Aug 17th 2019, 3:14 AM

@Eugene Comaskey: Would you be happy if he was living near you and you had children ?

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Aug 17th 2019, 7:13 AM

@Eugene Comaskey: the problem is if he reoffends it’s too late, another innocent child is destroyed. When he didn’t engage with services in prison he should have served his full sentence, which was light anyway. That needs to be built into sentences.

Mute Sirius
    Favourite Sirius
    Aug 17th 2019, 7:20 AM

@Eugene Comaskey: ah yeah, we’re far too paranoid about sex offenders who refuse to engage in rehabilitation.

Aug 17th 2019, 8:15 AM

@Eugene Comaskey: you really are an idiot

Mute Martha Smyth
    Favourite Martha Smyth
    Aug 17th 2019, 8:42 AM

@Eugene Comaskey: will he be watched if he emigrates to Spain? And then returns to UK or back to Ireland?

Mute Shane
    Favourite Shane
    Aug 17th 2019, 8:53 AM

@Alan Scott: the chances are if Humpheries and his ilk are living in a neighbourhood and a child gets sexually assaulted, it will be by someone known to the child (& not to the community) who will have offended. We have to stop thinking if we punish known offenders and isolate them.. we are making things safer for our children… we aren’t…
    I’d much prefer having a known offender as a neighbour than one who hasn’t been convicted (the latter being a much greater number).

Mute B Collins
    Favourite B Collins
    Aug 17th 2019, 6:31 PM

@Eugene Comaskey: yeah all those stories of serial offenders and repeat offenders. And then this lad is clearly completely in denial about his crime. But yeah. You’re right. We’re paranoid for nothing.

Mute Willie Murphy
    Favourite Willie Murphy
    Aug 17th 2019, 12:30 AM

Target practice, at best!

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Aug 17th 2019, 3:13 AM

@Willie Murphy: What Humphreys is he is a evil B who at best should be still in behind bars the fact that he did cooperate in any of the courses and I bet he would go after children the minute he got the chance .

Aug 17th 2019, 8:16 AM

@Alan Scott: he will come to notice again

Mute Willie Murphy
    Favourite Willie Murphy
    Aug 17th 2019, 8:54 AM

@Alan Scott: That’s why he & “they” should be deleted. Too much money d “rehabilitation” wasted on these vermin.

Aug 17th 2019, 8:14 AM

Why was this joker released early , he refused to participate in any sex offender courses whilst in prison, he is as much a danger now as he was before he was jailed. Sentences by out of touch judges are destroying people’s faith in the justice system.

Mute Motherofthree
    Favourite Motherofthree
    Aug 17th 2019, 8:28 AM

@Gus Sheridan: why was his sentence only 22 months in the first place. Disgraceful

Mute Dwayne Jordan
    Favourite Dwayne Jordan
    Aug 17th 2019, 10:19 AM

There should be a sex offenders register which is made public. Every parent has the right to know what type of individual is living in their area.

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Aug 17th 2019, 12:03 PM

@Dwayne Jordan: most sex offenders never get justice. 9 out of 10 sex crimes are never reported

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin
    Aug 17th 2019, 8:43 AM

There should be some kind of a system like in the US where you’re notified if there’s anyone on the sex offender register moving into or living in your area. Whether that’s true or not I don’t know but I was told you can find out if they’re living near you

Mute Max Ashling
    Favourite Max Ashling
    Aug 17th 2019, 11:10 AM

@Alex Nevin: What happens if the wrong person is targeted.

Mute Chicken George
    Favourite Chicken George
    Aug 17th 2019, 5:43 AM

Oooohhhhh….look at me, I’m outraged.

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Aug 17th 2019, 9:33 AM

As much as I hate to say this but in the eyes of the law he was punished and served his sentence and has a right to be left alone

Mute June Kelly
    Favourite June Kelly
    Aug 17th 2019, 10:19 AM

Great article, well done Michelle, much needed. We must never loose our capacity to have empathy for each other. The victim should always come first its true but until we are prepared to consider the abuser as a human being, things can only get worse. Imagine for a moment, you are the abuser or one of your children has abused. Think about that for a moment. Of course what abusers do is heinous but that is the point. The damage they cause through their actions destroys lives and we have to be open to trying anything to prevent that happening and if we are so full of hatred and rage nothing will change. Things will get worse and we wont be able to break this awful cycle of abuse thats destroying our lives.

Mute Darren Bates
    Favourite Darren Bates
    Aug 17th 2019, 11:12 AM

@June Kelly: life behind bars in an adult only prison would be just as effective. I don’t feel any empathy for a man that groomed and raped a child.

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Aug 17th 2019, 12:13 PM

@June Kelly: I disagree I think it a ridiculous article. Sex offenders come out if prison every day. Tom Humphreys is no different to the sex offender released yesterday or the one tomorrow. He was sentenced in the basis of the information provided to the sitting judge.

His risk of re-offending is very low. These crimes happened 2010/11 he has spent a large portion of that time before he went to prison in a mental hospital. He has suffered enough. Why do people want to keep punishing him.

So much crap in this Article and I know from personal experience.

Mute STOIC SAVAGE
    Favourite STOIC SAVAGE
    Aug 17th 2019, 9:17 AM

HOPE I BUMP INTO THIS FILTH

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Aug 17th 2019, 12:05 PM

@STOIC SAVAGE: and what will you do?

Mute STOIC SAVAGE
    Favourite STOIC SAVAGE
    Aug 17th 2019, 12:17 PM

@Paul O’Sullivan: that’s none of your concern Paul.

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Aug 17th 2019, 12:26 PM

@STOIC SAVAGE: you are worse than him

Mute STOIC SAVAGE
    Favourite STOIC SAVAGE
    Aug 17th 2019, 2:43 PM

@Paul O’Sullivan: hahaha cop yourself on pal…. You seem extremely sympathetic to paedos… Sicko yourself by the sounds of it

Mute Darren Bates
    Favourite Darren Bates
    Aug 17th 2019, 11:09 AM

That programme sounds incredibly light handed, it isn’t like they were caught with a bit of hash, these are sick predators! Sorry, I don’t support this programme at all. If you’re wondering why it’s easy to get money for prisons it’s because these paedophiles should never get the opportunity to offend again, and this isn’t unique to any one party, across the board none of us want to see Tom Humphries or people like him to be free again.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Aug 17th 2019, 1:04 AM

Choose a life as a sex offender!! Out before 70% of other offenders! Don’t be stupid, choose SEX OFFENDER

Mute David Botes
    Favourite David Botes
    Aug 18th 2019, 7:29 AM

A person becomes homeless…can’t find a place to live, it’s a hard life!!!… Another one defiles a child and on release is given accomodation???? Really!

Mute Darren Carroll
    Favourite Darren Carroll
    Aug 17th 2019, 12:34 PM

Best way to cure these sick f_€ks is to burn them slowly

Mute Henry Gaynor
    Favourite Henry Gaynor
    Aug 17th 2019, 3:01 PM

Paedophiles find minors sexually attractive in the same way I find mature women attractive and gays find their own gender attractive. We have the issue with it, not the paedophile. In the past, people made homosexuality illegal and tried curing it; we now know it doesn’t work and accept same sex couples as normal. If we can’t accept paedophilia as normal, we should at least accept it can’t be cured. For the record, it is possible for an adult to legally have sex with a minor in this country; a person is a minor until age 18, the age of consent is 17; try figuring that anomaly out.