You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
IN THE SECOND jobs announcement for the capital today, a online advertising company has announced plans to hire 100 people at its Dublin office.
Adroll, which keeps track of people who visit an online store and displays targeted ads to them, said it plans to more than double the staff numbers at its offices in Dublin.
The move will bring AdRoll’s Dublin headcount to 220.
The jobs are in the areas of sales, account management, business development, finance and engineering.
The company set up its headquarters for EMEA (Europe, Middle East and Africa) in Dublin just last October. It said that its growth has far exceeded expectations since then.
CEO Aaron Bell said Adroll was “excited about the target we have found in Ireland and the response we’ve had since entering the European market”.
Taoiseach Enda Kenny, who attended the announcement, said it was “a vote of confidence in Ireland”.
The company has more than 2,000 customers in more than 15 countries across Europe.
AdRoll’s expansion was supported by the Department of Jobs through IDA Ireland.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
5am opening? I’m going to be lambasted for this here but I’d actually favour the tightening of our current laws. Having pubs closed earlier this past few months was probably a much better thing for our society in general. There’s a big difference between having a few social pints with the lads until closing time and falling out of a night club at 5am and then trying to get up for work / family events / sporting events….
@Dec: would create a few jobs but would put a lot of extra pressure on A&Es and policing in the country in all fairness Dublin City center was a bit of a kip from 2am onwards when the nightclubs closed prepandemic
@Dec: howwwww Dec….. If anything the pandemic has shown us is that once the pubs close at 11pm we’ve all gone back to house parties and annoyed neighbours into the early hours of the morning. Go abroad and people leave pubs and nightclubs gradually and you rarely see any trouble as thousands aren’t dispersed onto the streets at the same time
@Michael Oats: I see your point here…. Mine is just an opinion to be fair. I think society loses a lot down to the inability of some individuals to control their drinking habits and I don’t think that opening until 5am is the solution. The off-licencing laws are a whole different debate….. I do take your point however and I can’t answer you re why opening until 5am and longer works in other countries.
@Alan Peters: there is also the argument that people might drink more slower knowing they don’t have to power the drink into themselves by 2am. Also, would eliminate everyone being turfed onto the street at the same time. Might be less pressure on the a and e’s in the long run. A lot of people don’t last till 5am.
@Dec: In other countries the later opening has folk arrive and leave in their own time, no big ground kicked out in one go swamping the taxis and fast food joints. It’ll be crazy for a few weeks until the novelty wears off. Also not every place will decide to do it, i.e extra pay for staff and trying to even get workers to do the late hours.
@Jason Walsh: exactly. Not every pub in the country will stay open until 5 am, and despite what the lad at the top of the thread thinks many of us actually have sufficient self-control to go home at a time appropriate to what we have to do the next day.
@Dec: did you know, Dec, as a grown adult you have the full moral agency to act like one and no1 is forcing you into staying out beyond 12am. All your doing here is outlining your self control issues given the choice to stay out longer and this goes to anyone who liked your comment also.
@Dec:
I both agree and disagree with you. I agree because I was able to be home and in bed by 12 midnight after collecting hubby from the pub during the earlier closing time. It was wonderful compared with picking him up at 1 am +, before Covid.
However, I used also be a taxi driver many years ago and I always thought that turfing everybody out of late bars or nightclubs at 2am was a recipe for disaster. Everyone stuffing themselves with drink and getting into rows and falling around the streets. If closing times were at least staggered, there would be much less of that. People would go home when they wanted or when the money ran out.
It works abroad so why not here?
@Tom: nope…. I think we’d be far not likely to see you at 5am exercising your right to drink a few pints than I! You may pass me on your way home though as I make my way to work! Please keep the singing to a minimum and no fighting!
@Barry Griffin: are people just Id io ts? Get a fill of drink then feel compelled to beat the hell out of each other after closing? I don’t think too many will be able to drink till 5 am then head straight into work? And Just because they do it in other countries, doesn’t mean we need to be lemmings. We are sheep when we stick to lockdown rules, sheep when we take the vaccine, sheep when we wear masks, but not sheep when we follow other countries and leave pubs open most of the night?
@Alan Martin: everyone has different jobs and work in different trades. All these require different hours of work. I’ve worked shift work in the past, I’ve also worked in IT where one weekend in four we would deploy updates and this would mean we were working right through the night in some cases. If you don’t like the hours maybe try and find a different job.
@Accidental Gentleman: polishing? Sure I suppose didn’t Jesus himself have to get up as there was more work for doing, wasn’t Adam lucky he got the hour at all really.
@Ted Logan: thats a race to the bottom. People shouldn’t have to find a new job for being asked to work unsociable hours. They should be paid appropriately. They’re called unsociable hours because they don’t allow you to live normal life rhythms. I certainly don’t expect people to be serving alchohok and dealing with an inebriated general public at 4am for minimum wage. There should be a minmum standard rate of pay for this across the sector and it added to the cost of your drink. The publicans want to be able to serve 24/7 using people on minimum wage and at the same time push up the price of supermarkets alcohol sales. They want to open, fine, pay your staff appropriately. Retain temple bar pubs push their prices up at set times during the night. I bet their staff wages don’t get pushed up at the same time
@Gerard Smith: Nurses, hospital porters, emergency workers, hotel staff on split shifts, IT support, restaurant staff, gardai. There are plenty of jobs at all pay levels that involve unsociable hours. Everyone can’t work 9-5.
@William Tallon: well he’s not saying that everyone is called Patrick and Patricia, he’s simply saying that everyone called Patrick and Patricia can’t handle their drink. They’re fiends for spuds as well.
@Stephen Murphy: ah I wouldn’t be too fond of drinking, but when I go at it…. there’d be no f***ing stopping me. I’d take the shirt off any man’s back. B*****ds.
Law changing with price regulation of low prices for alcohol, but looking after pubs, nightclubs for later hours, government absolute joke, its us the normal working class people that get stung
@Anthony Norris: I presume Mark is referring to the regulation of low cost off licence alcohol, where the price per unit is being raised because of lobbying by publicans using the pretence of reducing alcohol consumption.
The real aim being to make it more expensive to drink at home & drive people back to the pubs & we are allowing the politicians get away with this nonsense.
They want to bring us in line with the continent? On the continent they go out to the pub at around 11pm, and sip on a drink or two before going home. In some countries they can also have a snooze in the afternoon. We go out around 9pm for a feed of pints, lose track of time and the only reason we get home at a reasonable hour is because the pubs stop serving. If they extend it to 5am we’ll still lose track of time and will get home around 5am or whenever we run our of money. Wait til you see the sick days increase, and work attendance and productivity rates drop.
@Ian McDonald: Sure it’ll be grand for the people working from home. They practically do nothing at home anyway, which is why the government want them back to work.
@Ian McDonald: You’ve obviously never been to Northern or Eastern Europe if you think that’s how everyone on the continent drinks. By allowing bars and clubs to open until 5am (as they do in many heavy drinking European countries) people be won’t restricted to rigid times trying to ‘get their quota’ in and there won’t be any mass exodus at 2am as they’ll drift home over the course of many hours.
how does anyone think this is a good idea? I cant buy a bottle of wine when i finish work after 10pm yet you want bars open till 5am? I work in a bar and can tell you the difference between people at 11pm and 2am is huge. 90% of the violence in the town i live is at 2.40am when the main club shuts. Is 3 hours extra drinking going to help anyone at all? use your sense ffs. not only that, the industry is in turmoil. there is a complete lack of staff, the only people who can work bar hours currently are people like me (the hours suit as my partner works 9-5) and students. The money is terrible, the hours are already horrific, there is no sick pay, and little workers rights. this will be the nail in the coffin, not just for the industry but for society.
@Sam Harms: 100% but if its serving till 5am it will be 6am or later when you get out. that will be fun. I remember when they opened Sundays and it was double time. legally they have to pay you extra on a Sunday. we now get 1c extra on a Sunday. these night shifts will be the same. minimum wage for desperate people and no contracts or sick pay. the poorest in society will suffer either through the working hours or the increased alcohol consumption.
@Stephen Nix: The idea is that everyone doesn’t leave at the same time. They’ll drift off over the course of 2 – 3 hours. Very few people would still be knocking around by 5am.
And as a barman you should know that if someone has had too much, they shouldn’t be served. Maybe by continuing to serve obviously pissed people, barstaff are part of the issue?
@Mark Wallace: ok you addressed the issue of potential violence. what about the socio economic factors? alcohol consumption has a huge impact on mental health as does working unsociable hours. this creates both.
@Ian James Burgess: Loads of them. Most taxi drivers will work away until around 6am. The reason you can’t find one when you leave a late bar or club is that everyones out on the streets at the same time looking to get one of a limited numbers of taxis. Staggering the time people go home means a better availability of taxis for everyone.
@Stephen Nix: The poorest in society won’t be in a bar or nightclub at 5am. They’ll have been to the off licence for the cheapest alcohol they can find and will be drinking it at home. These new proposed hours won’t affect them.
@Mark Wallace: what about the point Stephen made? Are publicans going to pay the staff a night shift rate for working throughout the night or just leave them on the the minimum wage which would be slave labour, bar staff already work harder than what they’re paid
@Brian Kelly: so it would probably mean a more staggered closing of venues instead of the case now where everyone is forced out onto the streets at the same time. It could actually reduce violent incidents.
Why close at all with that attitude. Absolutely no regard for employees, private citizens or anti social consequences. I’m all for them getting back on their feet but have a bit of cop on.
Personally, I’m in favour of relaxing opening hours, having reached an age where I have neither the ability nor the interest to stay out drinking all night.
However, having seen the obsession during lockdown with takeaway pints, it’s hard to believe that Ireland really needs easier access to alcohol.
Our cannabis prohibition laws are equally archaic and are causing immeasurable harm yet we have a government who prioritises making a far more dangerous drug, far more accessible. There’s not a single shred of logic or intelligence in that position but we trundle on regardless. I’m in favour of the proposed changes as I believe in personal responsibility but the hypocrisy is galling.
Our supermarket opens at 8am but regulations say you can’t buy booze until 10.30am.
Last Saturday, a woman was screaming down the place for a bottle of red wine. A little child told her to act her age!
We need to have a responsible attitude to alcohol consumption here. The proposals are good. At present some publicans are casual in closing as law applies. I believe when individuals can lawfully get drink they’ll leave in their own time within trading hours. In the past Good Fri was a closed day with some drinkers anxious to get into bars, that’s gone now with new opening law. I think new proposals will work. Hopefully the law will be adhered to. The guards have crime to deal with.
During the lockdown I saved a small fortune and spend the savings on the house the day of the pub is well and truly gone, greedy publicans robbing people
The US Commerce Secretary says Ireland runs a 'tax scam'. Does he have a point?
Paul O'Donoghue
3 hrs ago
Quiz
Quiz: How many of these Dáil rules do you know?
5 hrs ago
Áras An Uachtaráin
134 members of the Oireachtas say they will not nominate McGregor for the presidency
19 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say