You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PA Archive/PA Images

Aer Lingus flight returns to Dublin after 'significant damage' to runway lights discovered

The flight was 15 minutes into its journey when the crew was contacted by air traffic controllers.

AN AER LINGUS transatlantic flight has returned to Dublin Airport this afternoon after “significant damage” to runway lights was discovered after the jet had departed.

Aer Lingus flight EI-141 departed Dublin at around 3.20pm bound for Miami. There were 226 passengers and crew on board.

The Airbus A330-200 jet was about 15 minutes into its journey when the crew was contacted by air traffic controllers.

The crew was advised that “significant damage to runway lights” had been discovered at Dublin Airport while there was also evidence of a runway excursion.

Ground crews at Dublin reported finding tyre tracks in the grass adjacent to the runway. A runway excursion is when an aircraft or its undercarriage departs from the paved surface of a runway.

After being advised of the damage discovered at Dublin, the crew of flight 141 made contact with Aer Lingus’ operations centre to seek advice.

In the meantime the flight continued its journey for over 300 kilometres over the Atlantic before the crew opted to turn around and return to Dublin so that an inspection of the aircraft could be carried out.

The aircraft landed safely at Dublin at 5:35pm.

An Aer Lingus spokeswoman said:

Aer Lingus flight EI141 departed Dublin this afternoon at 3.17pm en route to Miami. The flight returned to base at Dublin Airport in order for a precautionary inspection of the aircraft to be carried out.

It’s not yet clear whether the flight will continue to Miami this evening.

Read: ‘It’s a form of national service’: Malaysia Airlines’ CEO on why he’s returning to Ryanair

Read: Ryanair pilots in Madrid reject pay deal

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 45 comments
45 Comments
    Mute mainmsam
    Favourite mainmsam
    Sep 25th 2023, 9:36 AM

One game at a time (but really I think they’ll win it all)

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Favourite eoin fitzpatrick
    Sep 25th 2023, 9:56 AM

Hopefully they can at least get to a semi, but I thought the celebrations and having kids out on the pitch after the SA game was a bit much, it was only a group game

Mute Journal Commenter
    Favourite Journal Commenter
    Sep 25th 2023, 10:24 AM

@eoin fitzpatrick: at least a semi? The options really are final or quarter final. No way they lose the semi if they get there. Wales or Argentina? If you lose to either of them you shouldn’t even be in a semi final in the first place.

Mute Andy Felthersnatch
    Favourite Andy Felthersnatch
    Sep 25th 2023, 10:31 AM

Jaysus, you’s two are getting a semi thinking about the semi!

Mute Philip C
    Favourite Philip C
    Sep 25th 2023, 1:02 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: Why wouldn’t they? Sure wasn’t it a great night for the fans and it’ll be great memories for the kids

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Sep 25th 2023, 7:14 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: would other sports not celebrate beating the world champions in an over the way?

Mute John Doyle
    Favourite John Doyle
    Sep 25th 2023, 7:23 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: I love a good semi myself and I hope they can get one too.

Mute Darius Guppy
    Favourite Darius Guppy
    Sep 25th 2023, 10:14 AM

And yet we moan about the “its coming home” brigade in England and yet he we are thinking we have won the world cup after beating a team without a kicker. We are no better.

Mute Darren Mullen
    Favourite Darren Mullen
    Sep 25th 2023, 11:00 AM

@Darius Guppy: you beat me to it.
    It would be fantastic to win it though!

Mute Michael O'Neill
    Favourite Michael O'Neill
    Sep 25th 2023, 1:25 PM

@Darius Guppy: We’re a lot better. This is a forum on a news site. We’re not chanting in the streets about it.

Mute Macho Movie Man
    Favourite Macho Movie Man
    Sep 25th 2023, 2:31 PM

@Darius Guppy: when did those English teams beat the reigning world champions in those tournaments?

Mute JC
    Favourite JC
    Sep 25th 2023, 2:35 PM

@Darius Guppy: They chose the makeup of their squad to focus on physicality. They could have brought a decent kicker if they had wanted one but instead they spent the squad slots to be able to bring in 6 giant forwards to close out games that way.

We stood up to that in a way a lot of other teams did not so away with your begrudgery tbh.

Mute Darren Mullen
    Favourite Darren Mullen
    Sep 25th 2023, 11:14 PM

@Macho Movie Man: 2003 final.

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Sep 25th 2023, 9:44 AM

Need to keep their feet firmly on the ground, NZ may be weaker but are far from a pushover, heck we have to beat Scotland yet. If they beat both, I’d say winners or runners up.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Sep 25th 2023, 9:52 AM

Had you asked me before Sat, I might not have been as optimistic.

But now, I’m actually quite hopeful we’re going to see Ireland in the Final……

But then, being Irish, I need to temper that optimism……

Mute Declan Gibney
    Favourite Declan Gibney
    Sep 25th 2023, 9:55 AM

We’ve never been better prepped physically or mentally- the team that beats us will win the cup….no major injuries in the pool stages either – possibly a first?

Mute Abdul
    Favourite Abdul
    Sep 25th 2023, 1:54 PM

@Declan Gibney: we haven’t finished the pool stages yet!

Mute TheGood Feign
    Favourite TheGood Feign
    Sep 25th 2023, 10:09 AM

That match on Saturday was phenomenonal. That was everything I could’ve hoped for, including the flaws, keeping it even more interesting. I could see these two teams meeting in the final, NZ and France will have a say of course, but I can now see it as a possibility.

Sep 25th 2023, 9:44 AM

I hope Ireland do not win as rugby fans are insufferable, horrible people. These pretentious folk make me sick.

Mute Philip C
    Favourite Philip C
    Sep 25th 2023, 9:48 AM

@: You a soccer s crote?!!

Mute Alan Farrell
    Favourite Alan Farrell
    Sep 25th 2023, 9:52 AM

Lol, “pretentious” from the fella with no name or profile picture!

See 25 more replies ▾
    Mute UK Hurling Bloke
    Favourite UK Hurling Bloke
    Sep 25th 2023, 9:53 AM

@: people who use the term “folk” make me sick

Mute John O brien
    Favourite John O brien

Get back in your Box ya Muppet

Mute Andy Felthersnatch
    Sep 25th 2023, 10:06 AM

I agree, anyone who wears tan shoes with jeans and sips a pint of Heineken Zero for two hours needs an unmerciful boot up the hole.

Mute TheGood Feign
    Favourite TheGood Feign
    Sep 25th 2023, 10:12 AM

Go down to your local club and you’ll see its not as elitist as you think it is. But then that doesn’t suit your narrative I suppose, you’re more about the stereotyping and the need for a target.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Sep 25th 2023, 10:15 AM

@Alan Farrell: Lots of accounts without a profile name should be banned. Journal.ie had promised to stop this practice some years ago. You on the other hand are only high lighting this issue because you don’t like his/her reply

Mute Andy Felthersnatch
    Sep 25th 2023, 10:29 AM

@TheGood Feign: Give over, the only reason why ppl join rugby clubs is to climb the social ladder and mix with ppl who they think are their own kind.

Mute Fidgenti
    Favourite Fidgenti
    Sep 25th 2023, 10:40 AM

Winners make you sick. What a sorry loser you are. It must be killing you that Ireland won. Enjoy the taste of your own bitterness

Sep 25th 2023, 10:41 AM

Stop talking like that about the D4 and blackrock Bmw , holiday home owning people. There lovely

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Sep 25th 2023, 10:42 AM

‘folk’? Where are you from?

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Sep 25th 2023, 10:45 AM

@UK Hurling Bloke: Where’s the bucket

Mute The Firestarter
    Favourite The Firestarter
    Sep 25th 2023, 11:12 AM

And pray tell us what are your kind of people little man? Do you still hanker after the days when Ireland was a backward cesspit, ruled by the Church, everyone emigrated once old enough, and we were seen by the rest of world as a backward kip. Our rugby team and supporters are a magnificent portrayal of all that is good in this country, and were we to actually win the World Cup it would be one of the greatest sporting achievements of all time.

Mute Fidgenti
    Favourite Fidgenti
    Sep 25th 2023, 11:14 AM

It’s “they’re”, not ” there”. Maybe if you were good enough to attend a school like BlackRock you wouldn’t make such elementary grammatical errors.
    The good news is, thanks to PCP credit , even trash like you can now also drive a BMW. Yay for you!

Mute Fran Ken
    Favourite Fran Ken
    Sep 25th 2023, 11:15 AM

@Andy Felthersnatch: no Andy, it’s to get away from people like you

Sep 25th 2023, 11:25 AM

@Philip C: pretentious!

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Sep 25th 2023, 11:27 AM

@Fran Ken: Andy felt her snatch? And he expects us to take him seriously?

Sep 25th 2023, 11:53 AM

@UK Hurling Bloke: here is Mr dick

Mute Alan Farrell
    Favourite Alan Farrell
    Sep 25th 2023, 12:10 PM

@Alan Scott: Actually, if you engaged your brain for two seconds you would see I was calling out a fella for calling other people pretentious when he himself is pretending to be someone he’s not.

Sep 25th 2023, 12:20 PM

@Alan Farrell: that’s make no sense.

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Sep 25th 2023, 12:39 PM

Yet again, your literacy is letting you down!

Mute Philip C
    Favourite Philip C
    Sep 25th 2023, 12:51 PM

@: S crote

Mute Abdul
    Favourite Abdul
    Sep 25th 2023, 2:02 PM

@: and because of the likes of you, they need to bring a bottle of Dettol to each Rugby Match in Lansdowne to delouse and disinfect the seats after you and your ilk have been there, pissing on each other, and whatever else you do for fun.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Sep 25th 2023, 4:57 PM

@Alan Farrell: Go back to bed

Sep 25th 2023, 5:04 PM

@The Firestarter: dont forget to..

Mute John Doyle
    Favourite John Doyle
    Sep 25th 2023, 7:25 PM

@: In your experience?

Sep 28th 2023, 10:44 AM

Gosh this is heavy vocabulary. Ease off the gas..

Mute Sean Wilde
    Favourite Sean Wilde
    Sep 25th 2023, 9:51 AM

Quarter Finals. Same as they always do #TeamOfUs?? #TeamOfBottlers more like.

Mute John Doyle
    Favourite John Doyle
    Sep 25th 2023, 7:27 PM

@Sean Wilde: Wow, genius.

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Sep 25th 2023, 7:54 PM

@Sean Wilde: says the fellow who never won anything in his life

Mute Murro
    Favourite Murro
    Sep 25th 2023, 10:36 AM

Imagine, Ireland get to the final, and no National Anthem to be played,

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill

@Murro: Troll. You know the reason. Or else you have been living under a rock for 20 years.

Mute Abdul
    Favourite Abdul
    Sep 25th 2023, 2:06 PM

@Murro: imagine you weren’t an in-bred mutant.

Mute Martin O Connell
    Favourite Martin O Connell
    Sep 25th 2023, 9:37 AM

Lads it’s ok to think it!!! We can’t be saying it for c

Mute reg morrisey
    Favourite reg morrisey
    Sep 25th 2023, 10:18 AM

I’m amazed the injury list isn’t piled high after Saturdays game.

Mute Michael Lynam
    Favourite Michael Lynam
    Sep 25th 2023, 10:15 AM

Take poll down. Not the time. Leave till after.

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter

As of now, those poor 19 people who think Scotland will get a bonus point win over us and also win by a massive score next week. On paper we can win it, this weekend proved we are still capable of it, but get over NZ first then absolutely no reason why we can’t get to the final.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Sep 25th 2023, 9:36 AM

As Declan Moffet said .. I’ll probably win the feckn thing ..

Mute Martin O Connell
    Favourite Martin O Connell
    Sep 25th 2023, 3:33 PM

@Brian: he did end up throwing himself into a ditch in the end though.

Mute Dixie diver
    Favourite Dixie diver
    Sep 25th 2023, 10:22 AM

New Zealand will do them

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Sep 25th 2023, 10:44 AM

When I was growing up rugby was always a game for the posh gent. I think it’s the media who are trying to open up this sport to the ordinary Joe soap It’s certainly not the players

Mute Colm de Cleir
    Favourite Colm de Cleir
    Sep 25th 2023, 1:02 PM

@Alan Scott: ahh sure it’s to be enjoyed by whoever wants to enjoy it. No need to bring politics into it…

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Sep 25th 2023, 1:30 PM

@Colm de Cleir: Its certainly not politics but you don’t want to admit to being a rugby fan/ player of this posh game.

Mute Abdul
    Favourite Abdul
    Sep 25th 2023, 2:11 PM

@Alan Scott: Complete and utter horse shit. Rugby was always available for every part of Irish society and everyone was/is welcome. Reverse snobbery is the reason. As the Principal of a staunch GAA school in Wexford said to my father who suggested to him that the school should start a rugby team “ oh no, we could never have that here” (1987). This was despite the fact that 80% of the local rugby club’s Leinster cup winning youth team was comprised of students from the same school.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Sep 25th 2023, 10:10 AM

Don’t care

Mute James Carolan
    Favourite James Carolan
    Sep 25th 2023, 10:23 AM

All the way baby!

Mute Deano
    Favourite Deano
    Sep 25th 2023, 11:34 AM

All the way I hope.

Mute Colm de Cleir
    Favourite Colm de Cleir
    Sep 25th 2023, 1:08 PM

If we get to the final it’ll likely be vs South Africa again. By then they’ll have learned a lot of lessons from saturday’s match and have a few new tricks. Hopefully we will have too. So let’s not go overboard because of that result, just because we beat them. That was just the dry run. *And* we have to get past NZ / France first…

Mute Gerard Hayden
    Favourite Gerard Hayden

IS this an old poll? I think a group stage exit is mathematically impossible now, yet it is pulling votes. Could a loss to Scotland without a loosing bonus point kick us out?

Mute Colm O Ceileachair
    Favourite Colm O Ceileachair
    Sep 25th 2023, 11:56 AM

@Gerard Hayden: yes

Mute Colm O Ceileachair
    Sep 25th 2023, 12:06 PM

@Gerard Hayden:
    Lots of permutations it seems…
    https://www.balls.ie/rugby/ireland-rugby-world-cup-pool-b-571833
    if Ireland lose to and finish on the same points as Scotland, then they will more than likely be eliminated from the tournament, as head-to-head is the first tiebreaker.
    A losing bonus point against Scotland would likely see Ireland through, as it would be a big ask for the Scots to score four tries against the elite Irish defence, while two bonus points would guarantee that Ireland advance to the quarters as group winners.

Mute Colm O Ceileachair
    Sep 25th 2023, 11:32 AM

Cant afford to be complacent. Scotland are still a dangerous side and if beat us and we don’t get a losing bonus point we’re out. We still need to perform in 2 weeks.
    Saying that we’re capable of beating New Zealand in France. Stadium will be buzzing like a home game with our fans in France. Win the next 2 and Sexton will be lifting the cup on October 28th

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Sep 25th 2023, 10:23 AM

This has to be the most stupid poll ever by The Journal. Next pill; ” Will it rain on Christmas Day.” Who makes up this nonsense?

Mute John Doyle
    Favourite John Doyle
    Sep 25th 2023, 7:28 PM

@Patrick MC Dermott: See the amount of clicks it got? That’s a hint for you.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Sep 25th 2023, 2:57 PM

I’d be a bit worried about that Irish team . Really SA should have won by 7 points,– 4 very kickable frees missed . Ireland poor in the lineouts,– Kellegher not throwing the ball straight either . Murray a better player than Gibson- Parkes . They will hardly make the final .

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Sep 25th 2023, 7:58 PM

@Eugene Comaskey: you obviously haven’t got a clue what you are talking about,and you certainly have not watched the match

Mute Vincent Hickey
    Favourite Vincent Hickey
    Sep 25th 2023, 9:09 PM

There’s still the small matter of scotland let’s not get too carried away with ourselves

Mute Bren
    Favourite Bren
    Sep 25th 2023, 2:22 PM

Think it don’t Jinx it

Mute Terry Fagan
    Favourite Terry Fagan
    Sep 25th 2023, 6:54 PM

Not voting on this in case I put the mockers on them.

Mute Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Favourite Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Sep 26th 2023, 3:06 AM

Perennial 1/4 winners….all the hype and it’ll be the same and then a year later the best in the world. Rugby, a sport participated in by 20 countries and played by 6.