You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Afghan women with their children enjoy a view over Kabul, Afghanistan. (AP Photo/Anja Niedringhaus

Death by stoning may return as punishment for adultery in Afghanistan

The penalty for married adulterers, as well as 100 lashes by whip for unmarried offenders, appears in a draft revision of the country’s penal code.

AFGHANISTAN IS CONSIDERING bringing back stoning for adultery according to Human Rights Watch and the justice ministry, possibly restoring a punishment in force during the Taliban’s brutal regime.

The penalty for married adulterers, along with flogging for unmarried offenders, appears in a draft revision of the country’s penal code being considered by the ministry of justice.

Ashraf Azimi, the head of ministry’s criminal law department, confirmed to AFP that stoning to death is included in the draft.

The draft provisions state that the “implementation of stoning shall take place in public in a predetermined location”.

If the “adulterer or adulteress is unmarried”, the sentence shall be “whipping 100 lashes”.

“It is absolutely shocking that 12 years after the fall of the Taliban government, the Karzai administration might bring back stoning as a punishment,” said Brad Adams, Asia director at Human Rights Watch.

“President (Hamid) Karzai needs to demonstrate at least a basic commitment to human rights and reject this proposal out of hand.”

Afghan President Hamid Karzai speaks yesterday during the last day of the national consultative council. Pic: AP Photo/Rahmat Gul.

In Afghanistan, an extremely conservative Muslim country, extramarital sex and sex before marriage are taboo and can lead to bloody conflicts between families.

HRW pointed out that $16 billion in aid promised to Afghanistan last year was tied to progress on human rights issues.

“Donors need to make clear that international support to Afghanistan’s government is not a blank cheque,” Adams said.

Azimi told AFP the new law was less than halfway finished.

“The ministry of justice along with other Afghan judicial organs are working on a law to punish those who commit adultery, robbery and alcohol-drinking according to Islamic sharia law,” he said.

In July last year, a 21-year-old woman was stoned to death in a militant-controlled village just 60 kilometres  north of Kabul, sparking international condemnation.

© – AFP 2013

Column: What you didn’t know about the real Afghanistan >

Read: Taliban using violence and threatening letters to control rural communities >

View 143 comments
143 Comments
    Mute Tiger Lyon
    Favourite Tiger Lyon
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:18 PM

Uncivilised idiots.

Mute Tony Clifton
    Favourite Tony Clifton
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:39 PM

America should invade then again :)

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:02 PM

Maybe they announced it as they are fans of Monty Python and wanted to show some appreciation for the upcoming reunion

Mute kksjddjjdn
    Favourite kksjddjjdn
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:35 PM

After reading this article the only thing I can say is – lol

Mute Ms Sims
    Favourite Ms Sims
    Nov 25th 2013, 6:18 PM

There is a picture of a guy on the front page of the indo today and I would say stoning would be to good for him. And his friends

Mute Gamasello Nohto
    Favourite Gamasello Nohto
    Nov 25th 2013, 7:10 PM

Taliban was supported by the US against the commies, so i think they are also responsible for what’s happening to poor Afghan people…

Mute Damien Butler
    Favourite Damien Butler
    Nov 25th 2013, 8:26 PM

F.Y.I The americans supported the mujahideen during that period. the taliban only came into being post soviet departure. mujahideen warlords controlled major sections of the primary highways ripping off truck drivers and their cargo. Mullah Omar was a religious student, I.e. a Taliban. He grouped together with other students (Taliban) and over thrown the local warlord to free up local highways. Eventually the province and then the country. There beinginings were righteous.

Mute John Coughlan
    Favourite John Coughlan
    Nov 25th 2013, 8:31 PM

Yes you are right. Here’s zbigniew brzezinski telling them how just their war is. ” GOD IS ON YOUR SIDE”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WaiJtLrEwVU

Mute James King
    Favourite James King
    Nov 25th 2013, 8:43 PM

This should be used for burglary here. Outstanding idea. Cheap too.

Mute Gerard Tuohy
    Favourite Gerard Tuohy
    Nov 25th 2013, 11:25 PM

you started well damien but then you just went mental with this highway craic !!!! and i what way was their beginings righteous ??? they started as they finished !!!!

Mute Sarah Keyes
    Favourite Sarah Keyes
    Nov 26th 2013, 7:31 AM

Government probably tax the stones here James

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:20 PM

Neanderthals! Maybe one day they will drag their asses into the 21st century.

Mute Briain de Seadhach
    Favourite Briain de Seadhach
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:48 PM

They will. The problem is, we’ll all be in the 30th century by then.

Mute John Ó'Ríordán
    Favourite John Ó'Ríordán
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:00 PM

As a person who is 3% Neanderthal i take offense to being associated with these morons.

Mute Tony Clifton
    Favourite Tony Clifton

It’s meant more as a deterrent I can’t understand why the women are messing around when they know the severe consciences.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:23 PM

Tony, rape victims are stoned too. TPTB ignore that they were an unwilling participant in the “messing around”.

Mute Aunty Simmonite
    Favourite Aunty Simmonite
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:27 PM

Under Sharia a woman who claims to have been raped needs to have 4 men to act as witnesses.
    “A 15-year-old girl who faced 100 lashes in the Maldives after she was raped by her step-father has had the sentence overturned following an international campaign.”

Mute Tony Clifton
    Favourite Tony Clifton
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:29 PM

Daisy I take every media report about any Middle East country with a pinch if salt a lot of it is a American propaganda or by news papers or tv channels which are under Jewish control.

Mute Daddy De La Noche
    Favourite Daddy De La Noche
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:39 PM

More like drag their asses to the 18th century

Mute Jack Mulveen
    Favourite Jack Mulveen
    Nov 26th 2013, 12:45 AM

Is that true?

Mute Marc Marcel
    Favourite Marc Marcel
    Nov 26th 2013, 1:22 AM

they’re already dragging their asses into the 21st century, they’re coming to our shores, then again we have stepped backed in time over the past 5-6 years, they’ve came at the right time. Collapse

Mute Foxys van
    Favourite Foxys van
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:18 PM

I have seen vids of this it is barbaric and has no place in a proper society

Mute Castor
    Favourite Castor
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:43 PM

Vids plural? Why didn’t you stop after the first one?

Mute Foxys van
    Favourite Foxys van
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:54 PM

To make you ask questions

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:06 PM

I’ve seen it online too, and it is so cruel. Al qaeda engage in the practice, as they also carry out brutal public executions. Very disturbing viewing.

Mute Aunty Simmonite
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:24 PM

I spent a lot of time in Jeddah during the early 60′s and the hand and head removals used to take place after Friday prayers but we Kuffars were not allowed anywhere near. They had plenty of real slaves [as opposed to the attention seekers in London] and I believe that continues to this day.

Mute Aunty Simmonite
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:31 PM

And right on cue the ROP red thumb my comment.

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:41 PM

I would think you’d happily allow the practice continue Aunty, provided it was pro global warming scientists at the receiving end :)

Mute Aunty Simmonite
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:53 PM

Have you got your stoves facing Mecca Luke? :-)

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:59 PM

Islam isn’t nearly as repressive as we thought it was: Muslims are actually allowed to take a shit!

At least the men are.

Mute Deirdre McDonnell
    Favourite Deirdre McDonnell
    Nov 26th 2013, 3:29 AM

Seen those videos too. Shocking stuff. People like that and their stupid religion and laws have no place in this world.
    America needs to invade again and use proper weapons GUNS to kill the men. Stoning woman for adultery.
    Backward cretins.

Mute McHorrible
    Favourite McHorrible
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:45 PM

Can think of 7 Scrotes from Coolock who recently made headlines that I wouldn’t mind a little bit of stone throwing practice with… #RocksNotFreeLegalAid

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll

Capital/corporal punishments would work out so much better in civilised countries with stricter legal systems but the catch 22 is that to progress to one of these civilised countries one must dispose of such criminal proceedings. I’d love to see them back for certain crimes!

Mute Keith Wizzy
    Favourite Keith Wizzy
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:07 PM

Where they are from is not so relevant. There are plenty of “scrotes” feeding off us who reside in the likes of D4 etc.

Mute Noel Smullen
    Favourite Noel Smullen
    Nov 25th 2013, 10:20 PM

Fecking right!!

Mute Alan Little
    Favourite Alan Little

Religion of peace, my hole.

Mute Martin Bishop
    Favourite Martin Bishop
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:24 PM

Its amusing,
    We condemn these people, but yet 82% of Irish people believe in a faith which advises that rapists must marry the women they rape.

“If a man rapes an unbetrothed virgin, he must pay her father 50 shekels of silver and then marry her. 22:28-29″

Oh and if the women doesn’t scream enough when being raped then men in the city she’;s in can stone her

“If a betrothed virgin is raped in the city and doesn’t cry out loud enough, then “the men of the city shall stone her to death.” 22:23-24″

How can you condemn a country for backward laws if you believe in a organization (catholic faith) who see the above words as the words of your god, if these parts of the bible are unsuitable or no longer apply then they should be removed by the church.

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:32 PM

Martin how many of the 82% have a copy of the bible at home let alone read it?

Reading the bible is not exactly encouraged by Rome, quite possibly owing the existance of passebges like those.

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:35 PM

Martin, practicing Catholics don’t believe any of that. When is the last time something like that even happened?

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Martin Bishop
    Favourite Martin Bishop
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:39 PM

Carcu,
    I don’t know how many people have bibles….but I bet the VAST majority of the 82% who claim to be catholic on the census have never read the book cover to cover.

Regardless, if people don’t believe in it then don’t support an organization that preach its contents as the word the god you say you believe in.

Com on, you can’t seriously claim the bible is not exactly encouraged by Rome?
    - You realise what is up in every single alter in this country right?
    - You realise what priests read from right?

I’ll give you a clue, its a big thick book with the old and new testament,

Mute Mark Campbell
    Favourite Mark Campbell
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:44 PM

It happens in Cavan all the time

Mute Martin Bishop
    Favourite Martin Bishop
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:46 PM

Andrea, I’d actually imagine most catholics aren’t actually aware of such parts of the bible. After all the priests don’t actively read them out at mass and the vast majority haven’t read the book cover to cover.,

But you can’t argue with the fact that its included in the bible, if its uncomfortable for the faithful or its backwards and outdated it should very much be removed.

Until then it remains in the book and remains part of gods words to man………..twisted, backwards sickening words that they are,.

Mute Castor
    Favourite Castor
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:46 PM

Yeah you’re right Martin. Ireland is exactly like Afghanistan. Sure, a Priests are always marrying rapists and their victims here

Yourself and Olivia O’Leary should head over there for a fact-finding mission, maybe we could even learn from them

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:58 PM

Martin, you are actually making my point for me. I do go to Mass, I have read the Bible and you’re right, priests today don’t read those parts anymore. Why? Because they are outdated, barbaric and irrelevant in a modern society.

Mute Martin Bishop
    Favourite Martin Bishop

Your are in a minority Andrea if you regularly go to mass and read the bible as only around 20% of the 82% Catholics from the census go to mass regularly.

Given you are an exception and sorry to drag things off topic somehow , but can I ask, do you believe in you are eating jesus when you take communion? otherwise known as transubstantiation?

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:10 PM

Andrea you’re kind of making another unintentional argument here about the catholic church’s beliefs about contraception, gay marriage etc not belonging in modern society by virtue of the fact that the catholic church doesn’t support them. Martins point above is ludicrous but lets not for a second argue that the catholic church is in any way “relevant” in a modern society. Lets not forget they’re also responsible for the greatest cover up of child abuse in the modern world.

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:12 PM

I’m definitely not getting drawn into a religious debate here because it would be pointless. My beliefs are my own, they’re clearly not yours and that is perfectly acceptable.

Mute Martin Bishop
    Favourite Martin Bishop
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:13 PM

spot on Ted,
    Also lets not forget that one of the main reasons why laws like this can be pushed through in countrys like Afghanistan is they don’t see women as equal.

Lets not forget that the catholic church is very much guilty of this also, they certainly don’t see women as equal to men both inside and outside of their organization

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:18 PM

Ted, I know what you are saying but the huge difference with the CC is that gay people or people using condoms etc won’t be stoned to death or punished in any way just because they do something the church don’t “allow”.

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:22 PM

Also, the rules of the church are really only for people who actually practice their religion and even then most are ignored today. But this article is saying that these laws are going to be forced upon everyone in the country. Hardly the same thing really.

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:23 PM

How tolerant of them!

Mute Andrea Rock Massey

I know plenty of gay people and they couldn’t care less what the Catholic Church say or think about them.

Mute cooperguy
    Favourite cooperguy
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:38 PM

I think you’ll find the Catholic church does not support either of the two things you have said. You can’t quote the same old testament as if it’s the law of the church when it clearly isnt

Mute joanneberg
    Favourite joanneberg
    Nov 25th 2013, 7:13 PM

Martin what’s it got to do with you what I believe? I don’t go out and rape women, then ask their fathers for 50 shekels. It SHOULD be a concern to you when you hear story after story of that happen, then by all means you question my faith, but until such a time mind your own business, hold your own thoughts and concern yourself with what is actually happening in the world,which is what the story is reporting.

Mute margaret
    Favourite margaret
    Nov 25th 2013, 7:54 PM

What has the old testament got to do with Christianity?

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Nov 26th 2013, 12:01 AM

Well – on one hand you can say that the Old Testament is irrelevant, but on the other hand it’s the part of the bible used as justification for discrimination against homosexuality. There are no references to homosexuality in the NT.
    Can’t have it both ways..

Mute Eamonn Dunne
    Favourite Eamonn Dunne
    Nov 26th 2013, 1:53 AM

I believe Martins point is that much of the material in Old Testament is just pure savagery and would have being supported by Jesus of Nazareth during his time.

Mute Geert Wilders
    Favourite Geert Wilders
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:47 PM

We won’t be far behind once the Super Mosque gets up and running in Clongriffin.

Mute SinAssist
    Favourite SinAssist
    Nov 26th 2013, 1:16 AM

For the sake of balance and reason, some innovative islamophobe should lobby for a super camp x-ray……could name it Mosque-ney, perhaps!

Mute Aunty Simmonite

This item is about the barbaric practice of stoning, which along with other primitive punishments, is being practised right now. It is not about some ancient and long abandoned items mentioned in the Bible which few if any non-clerics have ever read or heard of other than in their school ‘CATECHISM’ books.
    Sharia Law as practised across most of the Moslem world is barbaric and there is no justification for it in a modern society.

Mute Murtaza Ali
    Favourite Murtaza Ali
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:50 PM

So after years of war, many Afgan civilians killed, droned and billions of dollars wasted we conclude that the current regime supported by the US is implementing sames laws as were the Taliban … great progress!

Mute James Roberts
    Favourite James Roberts
    Nov 25th 2013, 6:04 PM

Yeah, but they’ll not blowing up New York…

Mute Murtaza Ali
    Favourite Murtaza Ali
    Nov 25th 2013, 11:18 PM

As far as I know the Afghans or even the Talibans never attacked US, infact they were quite close buddies with CIA during the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan, ironically so are the Saudis whose citizens were actually involved in 9/11 but why harm them while they accept worthless dollar for oil.

An ISI officer once said that to have Americans your enemy is dangerous but to have them your friend is fatal.

Mute Gamasello Nohto
    Favourite Gamasello Nohto
    Nov 25th 2013, 6:04 PM

Religion free world would help humanity!

Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    Nov 25th 2013, 8:06 PM

It’s true religion is the source of countless wars. But humans would find plenty of other reasons to kill each other.

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Nov 25th 2013, 11:27 PM

That they certainly would.. Sadly.

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Favourite Michael Farrelly
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:25 PM

lol the people red thumbing the comments above must agree with stoning, whipping etc Perverts !!!

Mute Aunty Simmonite
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:35 PM

Reality is that stoning was not abandoned, they just forgot to mention it recently.

Mute Conor Buggy
    Favourite Conor Buggy
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:37 PM

Do we as a nation give any sort of foreign aid or development investment to Afghanistan does anyone know?

If we do we should just cut it off. Money makes the world go round (unfortunately) and if their funding is cut off from the international community I am sure they may “rethink” their penal code!

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:45 PM

Either way Conor. Stones aren’t expensive.

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub

They must have picked up on Michelle Mulherns no fornication speech and decided to act on it.

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:37 PM

Very funny Carcu :))

Mute Karl Aisbitt
    Favourite Karl Aisbitt
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:24 PM

Believe it or not guys but Martin is 100% right about the bible you just can’t cherry pick all the nice bits and ignore all the horrible stuff and that’s what he is trying to say ! I honestly find it hard to comprehend why people go to a catholic mass and just blindly accept what the priest is saying surely if your going to believe in a god you should at least do some research otherwise we just look like morons blindly following because it’s the irish thing to do ! Some comments I’ve read seem to think the Catholic Church are more important than the bible but it’s actually the other way around and they interpret the way it suits them ! C,mon guys lets all use our brains here and not be sheep those days are gone ! ..

Mute Aunty Simmonite
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:30 PM

Can any person reading this item remember ever seeing a Bible during their years in Catholic schools? Or anywhere else for that matter. Taking the Oath in court does not count.

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:51 PM

About once every 3 or 4 months I get a visit from 2 very nice elderly Jehovah’s Witnesses ladies. I haven’t the heart to run them from the door, so we chat for a few minutes and they go on their way. The last time they were here I told them I didn’t have a bible, and they popped one through the door a few weeks later.

I must ask them if they can track down revelations for me too, that’s a great read.

Mute James Roberts
    Favourite James Roberts
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:58 PM

It’s funny that someone who calls on people to do research did absolutely none himself. The RCC is not a bible literalist church (i.e. every single word is not meant to be taken literally …so no, the world wasn’t created in 7 days).

The RCC believes in both the Bible and Tradition…so many of its beliefs are not in the bible, which is why many Christian bible Literalist don’t even consider Catholics as Christians…

So, do some research…

Mute Aunty Simmonite
    Nov 25th 2013, 6:02 PM

Once had an apartment above that of a Mormon couple who were allowed into the building on condition of not bothering the rest of us in the house.They were in their dotage, not young and purty, and really nice but they could not passing me a copy of the Book which had been buried by Moroni, I never got to read it and remain unsaved to this very day.

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Nov 25th 2013, 6:21 PM

Karl, of course we can ignore the “horrible bits”. People evolve and times change. Doctors used to treat depression with electric shock therapy and partial lobotomies. The brightest minds on earth used to think the earth was flat and that the sun revolved around the earth etc. It doesn’t mean that we should disregard everything from that era just because some of it is irrelevant now. The Bible is from a time when acts of barbarity and cruelty were the norm. No priest today even talks about those passages because they have absolutely zero relevance in a modern civilised society.

Mute James Roberts
    Favourite James Roberts
    Nov 25th 2013, 6:30 PM

Hey, it’s not all bad! – Deuteronomy 23:15,16:
    “If a slave has taken refuge with you, do not hand them over to their master. Let them live among you wherever they like and in whatever town they choose. Do not oppress them.”

Perhaps more people should follow this nowerdays – Deuteronomy 24:14:
    “Do not take advantage of a hired worker who is poor and needy, whether that worker is a fellow Israelite or a foreigner residing in one of your towns. 15 Pay them their wages each day before sunset, because they are poor and are counting on it. Otherwise they may cry to the Lord against you, and you will be guilty of sin.”

Mute margaret
    Favourite margaret
    Nov 25th 2013, 8:10 PM

We had a lovely catholic family bible with beautiful renaissance paintings as illustrations. Was never read, and we were (unusually for the times) not mass goers, but we had a bible. I used to live the paintings.

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Nov 25th 2013, 11:26 PM

The problem is that Islam is trying desperately to “outdo” the Jewish and Christian traditions. They take the laws of Abraham seriously – as the Jews and Christians are supposed to.

Of course (for the most part) Jews and Christians have moved on, Islam is 600 years behind the other two in terms of its evolution and maturity (what was Christianity up to 600 years ago?)..
    The moderate Muslims pick and choose their bits of the Koran to follow the same way Jews and Christians pick and choose bits of the Torah and the NT.

It’s the ones who insist upon taking it literally who are the problem. And by the looks of things – those in power are literalists.. Or they’re psychopaths using the book as justification for sadistic forms of torture..

Mute Debi-Nikita Rathbone-Rentzke
    Favourite Debi-Nikita Rathbone-Rentzke
    Nov 26th 2013, 8:52 AM

You are very sweet Luke. Your comment made me smile. :-)

Mute Martin Harkin
    Favourite Martin Harkin
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:09 PM

What societies are civilised?
    Irish society, where you are jailed for not paying your tv licences, whilst those who crippled the state live in their fine houses?

American society, where millions live in forgotten poverty, most of whom are Hispanic and Latin American?

Mute Martin Harkin
    Favourite Martin Harkin
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:10 PM

And African American

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:25 PM

Where people aren’t stoned to death for adultery and pre marital sex would be a decent start I suppose. Civilised is a subjective word I suppose and people living in poverty seems more civilised than people being stoned to death in public but perhaps the difference isn’t so clear for some people.

Mute Martin Harkin
    Favourite Martin Harkin

There are no comparisons in the context between Ireland/America and Afghanistan, but as you said, a civilised society is subjective, which is what I was highlighting

Mute Karl Aisbitt
    Favourite Karl Aisbitt
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:01 PM

If you saw my girlfriend you would need to be stoned in the first place to make a move on her !

Mute Chuck Farrelly
    Favourite Chuck Farrelly
    Nov 25th 2013, 9:18 PM

No I didn’t.

Mute Rugby DadaiO
    Favourite Rugby DadaiO
    Nov 25th 2013, 8:05 PM

Where are all the liberal Islamic apologists? Quite on this one? Come out and tell us what a peaceful loving religion Islam is and that we stop being racist and let go of our concerns with Europe becoming a haven for Islamic emigration.

Mute Gerard Tuohy
    Favourite Gerard Tuohy
    Nov 25th 2013, 11:33 PM

you are a idiot no one claims any religion is all good or bad i think most people you consider “islamic apologists” are merely trying to convey this to you,that islam isnt inherently cruel or evil and where it is its because people distort its message and use it for their own purposes just like they do with christianity but your mind is far too simple to comprehend a world view thats not black and white,and no im not a liberal and im not a islamic apologist i just have no issue with the religon that being said i dont want it in my own country nor do i condone this disgusting behaviour !!

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:26 PM

You are NOT amusing Martin

Mute Martin Bishop
    Favourite Martin Bishop
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:29 PM

Clearly you’ve not read my entire comment,

Bottom line is, if you follow the catholic church and believe in the words of the bible as the words of your god then you don’t have any right to lecture anybody or any country on whats right or wrong.

For the record, I think allowing such a punishment in Afghanistan or for the matter any country is seriously backward and should never be allowed, but then you’ll find like the nonsense in the catholic faith it has a religious basis.

Mute Michael Farrelly

For all their faults, and I am not a fan, the catholic church does not recommend stoning, whipping for adultery. Your comments Martin, are over the top.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:49 PM

Green thumb if Martin seems like a weirdo.

Mute Tom Dallas
    Favourite Tom Dallas
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:57 PM

Except at weekends, when you can do what you want in the privacy of your own home.

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan

Ironic Martin, with a name surname like Bishop, no? :)

I know where you’re coming from Martin, but the bible also preaches tolerance, respect and compassion too. If you’re going to include the bad stuff, balance it with the good.

I think you may be running off the old testament, I’m not sure though as theology is not my string point as I’m atheist.

Mute Niall Guinan
    Favourite Niall Guinan
    Nov 25th 2013, 7:54 PM

This is a disgraceful comment. The Catholic Church does not endorse stoning as an appropriate punishment for any offence. If you read scripture correctly, i.e. recognising the context of the times in which it was written and the cultural norms influencing the authors, you cannot use the Bible to justify stoning or any other unnecessarily violent practices.

Mute margaret
    Favourite margaret
    Nov 25th 2013, 8:02 PM

Your entire comment is rubbish. To compare Catholics and the taleban, Canon law and sharia is taking religious relativity a light year too far. Stop being disingenuous. They cannot be compared by anyone but the most virulent catholic church haters. Stoning women to death for adultery is not done and has never been done by the catholic church. Hangings gays, and cutting the throats of apostates and bkashphemers is not done by ANY religon bar one! So cut the s**t!

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Nov 25th 2013, 9:55 PM

Martin, think you are heavily into references from The Old Testament of The Bible. That’s the pr-Christian half, I think you’ll find.
    Like all such texts it is very easy to quote out of context which is precisely what militant Islam does with the Quran. Afghanistan is fiercely tribal and always has been. Taliban is a convenient identifier for the “bad” guys but is very often simply lazy journalism. It ain’t that simple. It is simple in as much as whoever is responsible in it it for power/control/wealth. Nothing religious about it; that’s just an easy smoke-screen. No, I’m not a fervent supporter of any religion.

Mute Atheist Eoin
    Favourite Atheist Eoin
    Nov 26th 2013, 8:02 AM

The cultural norms influencing the authors?? Was the big man upstairs not influencing it for the most part? Surely he could have recommended some cross cultural, universal good deeds, ya know like NOT endorse slavery, thought crime or infinite torture for finite “sins”. Ooooh, maybe recommend a punishment for raping children who were entrusted into their care.
    Obviously I’m against all religions that, including the barbarically backwards Islam, but giving your own one a green light because it’s not (quite) as ridiculous as another is laughable.

Mute Atheist Eoin
    Favourite Atheist Eoin
    Nov 26th 2013, 8:14 AM

@Joseph, the old testament is the prechristian half!!?? Thats classic! Try not to display your ignorance so blatantly. What bits are we gonna ignore from the old testament? Adam and Eve and original sin? The introduction of death to the world? The ten commandments? Or are we ignoring jesus (the jew) when he said he arrived to reinforce the “old covenant”? Please do try to tell a baptist christian that 4/5 of their book is pre-christian! I’d watch that argument!
    Silly people who make excuses for the horrors in their holy book by claiming it needs to be read in context drive me mad. If you find your book immoral, don’t sacrifice your humanity by defending it, take a step back and drop it. Useless text anyway.

Mute Keith Dickinson
    Favourite Keith Dickinson
    Nov 26th 2013, 2:46 PM

Are you saying the bible is the word of ‘man’ and not that of ‘god’. Seems odd that an omnipresent., infallible, super, all knowing entity would experience so many changes if opinion over such a short time period.

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Nov 25th 2013, 6:18 PM

And I say to myself, what a wonderful world

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Nov 25th 2013, 7:14 PM

Religion is a tumor in society. It should be rooted out and banished to the history books once and for all.

Mute James Roberts
    Favourite James Roberts
    Nov 25th 2013, 9:52 PM

Cromwell a bit of a hero of yours so?

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Nov 25th 2013, 10:08 PM

Did he say that? Did not know! Anyway even the most horrible people some times get it right.

Mute James Roberts
    Favourite James Roberts
    Nov 25th 2013, 11:39 PM

Not exactly, he was only referring to the Catholics. But I suppose murdering and oppressing Catholics would be a good start in your book…

Mute ÉiRed
    Favourite ÉiRed
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:29 PM

No FriendsReunited out there then….

Mute Steve M
    Favourite Steve M
    Nov 25th 2013, 7:01 PM

The Middle East is a nut job….only for all the oil out there the west would ignore it however harsh that may sound.

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Nov 25th 2013, 7:27 PM

Afghanistan is west/ central Asia but I see your point

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Nov 25th 2013, 7:01 PM

“Religion poisons everything.”

Christopher Hitchens was right.

Mute James Roberts
    Favourite James Roberts
    Nov 25th 2013, 8:56 PM

Religion poisons “everything”?
    What? Music? You find Handel’s Messiah ‘poisonous’?
    What about the Statue Of David? The Last Supper? The Sistine Chapel?

Even if God is fiction, that sentiment above is the most preposterous idiotic thing I’ve read in a while.

Mute larry lamb
    Favourite larry lamb
    Nov 25th 2013, 7:10 PM

If my wife ever played away am all for stoning.. pref a brick through the other blokes window lol

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:59 PM

Can we stone Meath people

Mute Aunty Simmonite

Ask Ming, he has some expertise in being stoned ;-)

Mute Dave Caplice
    Favourite Dave Caplice
    Nov 25th 2013, 6:26 PM

Really? Never heard that one before…

Mute Eamonn Dunne
    Favourite Eamonn Dunne
    Nov 26th 2013, 1:45 AM

Your going to have to get over the 2010 Leinster final John.

Mute Max
    Favourite Max
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:41 PM

Who doesn’t enjoy a good stoning once in a while

Mute Martin Harkin
    Favourite Martin Harkin
    Nov 25th 2013, 4:49 PM

Why are people leaving comments such as ‘uncivilised’? This law may be cruel and wrong, but there is no such thing as being ‘civilised’ – it’s a state of mind.
    English people thought Irish people were ‘uncivilised’ in the 19thC as there few tables clothes in the homes of the poor

Mute Castor
    Favourite Castor

But they were wrong. This IS uncivilised

Mute Martin Harkin
    Favourite Martin Harkin
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:07 PM

It isn’t, because there is no such thing – state…of…mind

Mute The Dr.
    Favourite The Dr.
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:49 PM

They have an uncivilised state of mind

Mute James Roberts
    Favourite James Roberts
    Nov 25th 2013, 6:02 PM

Martin shows moral relativism at its worst. All beliefs are equal, no one is more civilized than another.

Stoning women (and it’ll be women) to death is barbaric and uncivilized. It’s just plain wrong (not ‘wrong’). Its wrong regardless of your culture and your traditions; it was wrong 2000 years ago, it’s wrong now, and it’ll be wrong in 2000 years.

Mute Tiger Lyon
    Favourite Tiger Lyon
    Nov 25th 2013, 7:27 PM

Check your red thumbs.

Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    Nov 25th 2013, 8:01 PM

Nah Martin, it most certainly is uncivilized. I don’t care about your state of mind BS.

Mute Chuck Farrelly
    Favourite Chuck Farrelly
    Nov 25th 2013, 9:26 PM
    Mute Daniel D Waters
    Favourite Daniel D Waters
    Nov 25th 2013, 11:58 PM

This is the true face of Islam.

Mute feck'n voters
    Favourite feck'n voters
    Nov 25th 2013, 9:40 PM

Democracy and religion then not to work so well together. Democracy and philosophical education providing the skills to liberal criticism on the other hand ~

Mute Eamonn Dunne
    Favourite Eamonn Dunne
    Nov 26th 2013, 1:42 AM

Meanwhile the west continues to advance scientifically and socially. Seriously the US should just pull out now, all that money, deaths, troop surges, drone strikes etc. In the end where the result is Afghanistan reverts back to the dark ages Serious problem in the Muslim world in general as the primitive religious practices are keeping them in a poverty trap.

Mute fusha2020
    Favourite fusha2020
    Nov 26th 2013, 12:11 AM

Imagine no religion..Just imagine,
    no stonings, no beheadings, no homophobia, no 100 lashes ,no ostrichistation , no hijabs, no uneducated girls, no land wars (oil is god i no),no spitting at children on their way to school, no more fireing guns in the air, no more forced circumscissions male or female, no more car bombs or suicide bombers, no more arrange marriages,dietary requirements, presumed imagined virgins or versions of hell anything in the name of their god!! Would it make it any better or Will hate always find a way? id love to think that when it comes down to it right Will always triumph but sadly i fear im wrong on this one.

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Nov 26th 2013, 1:31 AM

there’s a John Lennon song in there.

Mute Marist '59
    Favourite Marist '59
    Nov 25th 2013, 10:38 PM

I always considered it hilarious when my schoolfriends trooped along to tell their innermost secrets to some some gombeen, celibate bogman in a confessional. As for transubstantiation….do me a favour!

Mute O' Loughlin Ronan
    Favourite O' Loughlin Ronan
    Nov 26th 2013, 8:56 AM

De-evolutionised animals, they dont deserve the right to be mixing with modern western society, with extreme views, and punishments like this, I prefer to live in a world where religion is a choice and freedom is a right!

Mute Niall Andrews
    Favourite Niall Andrews
    Nov 25th 2013, 7:34 PM

Who are we to judge how another society chooses to govern themselves?

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Nov 25th 2013, 7:46 PM

Are you serious?

Mute James Roberts
    Favourite James Roberts
    Nov 25th 2013, 9:51 PM

Who are you to say we can’t judge other societies as uncivilized?

Mute Niall Andrews
    Favourite Niall Andrews
    Nov 26th 2013, 7:25 AM

Just nice to see white western arrogance in full swing here!

Mute thomas patrick
    Favourite thomas patrick
    Nov 25th 2013, 5:37 PM

I know that if I break the law I will pay the consequences. Therefore I dont break the law.
    Simple.

Mute Atheist Eoin
    Favourite Atheist Eoin
    Nov 26th 2013, 8:22 AM

Yes simple. That’s why it would be so easy to eradicate all crime. 1 sentence, death. Boom. Solved. Parking fine? Nah, should have known better, death.

Mute Patrick Lyons
    Favourite Patrick Lyons
    Nov 25th 2013, 8:27 PM

Stoning should have been introduced here to punish those convicted of IRA/UVF membership.

Mute Chuck Farrelly
    Favourite Chuck Farrelly
    Nov 25th 2013, 9:22 PM

Yeah, that’ll show how civilised we are

Mute Kenneth
    Favourite Kenneth
    Nov 25th 2013, 11:57 PM

If that’s the law then it should be respected

Mute O' Loughlin Ronan
    Favourite O' Loughlin Ronan
    Nov 26th 2013, 10:07 AM

@kenneth, so if theres a law stating I can rape your wife whenever I feel, ill assume you should respect my right? Gimme a f@#king break man jeez….