You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Gingrich (L) and Romney clashed on a number of issues last night Matt Rourke/AP/Press Association Images

Aggressive Romney slams Gingrich in final pre-Florida debate

Romney called on Gingrich to apologise for a controversial ad on immigration and mocked his desire to put a human colony on the moon.

MITT ROMNEY TOOK Newt Gingrich to task over immigration, his personal fiannces and his grand ideas in fiery Republican debate in Florida last night, the last before a primary vote next Tuesday.

The two front-runners in the Republican Party’s nomination contest are practically tied in the latest polls in the sunshine state having already won a state each in the race to face Barack Obama in the autumn.

The debate was the 19th since the race for the Republican nomination began last year and the second in four days in the run-up to the Florida primary. While Gingrich may have had the upper hand in previous debates, there was little doubt Romney excelled in last night’s encounter.

The former Massachusetts governor slammed Gingrich, the former House Speaker, for an ad – later retracted under pressure – which said Romney was ‘anti-immigrant’. Gingrich was asked to apologise as Romney described the ad as “inexcusable and inflammatory and inappropriate”.

Watch:

YouTube: UnfilteredView

This issue of personal finances also provided a notable moment.

After revelations earlier this week that Romney paid 15 per cent tax over the past two years - lower than the average American, Gingrich appeared to be well positioned querying Romney’s investments in failed mortgage lenders Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac.

But Romney hit back with an attack of his own on Gingrich’s involvement with the mortgage lenders: “Mr. Speaker, I know that sounds like an enormous revelation, but have you checked your own investments?”

“You also have investments for mutual funds that also invest in Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac.” The retort effectively shut down the issue as Gingrich responded: “All right.”

Romney also ridiculed Gingrich’s desire to put a permanent base on the moon which would be occupied by humans.

“If I had a business executive come to me and say I want to spend a few hundred billion dollars to put a colony on the moon, I’d say, ‘You’re fired,’” Romney declared.

Predictably there was less focus on the two other candidates in the race, Ron Paul and Rick Santorum are both trailing in the Florida and national polls and are unlikely to secure the nomination.

Former Pennsylvania senator and social conservative Santorum drew applause from the audience when he called on the two front-runners to stop attacking one another and “focus on the issues.”

While Texas congressman and libertarian Ron Paul dismissed questions about his health considering he is 76-years-old. “I’m willing to challenge any of these gentlemen up here to a 25-mile bike ride any time of the day in the heat of Texas,” he said to laughter from the audience and the candidates.

Watch:

YouTube: shaburney

Disclosures reveal Mitt Romney pays lower taxes than the average American

Newt Gingrich comeback seals victory in latest US primary

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

5 Comments
    Mute Matthew O'Kane
    Favourite Matthew O'Kane
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:02 AM

Frances Fitzgerald burying and smear a whistle blower, shes a disgrace she should be gone and garda commissioner o’sullivan losing her phone gets a great pension and a great new high paid job and leo socky over seeing the health/trolley crisis gets taoiseach, Shane Ross supports the quango Irish water existing and ignores unions pleas for fair pay and a recovery, the harder you fail the people of Ireland the higher you climb in this Irish government

Mute Waters Edge
    Favourite Waters Edge
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:43 AM

@Matthew O’Kane: FG are trying to imply that Frances could do nothing about the email based on legal advice. The real problem for Frances was that we now have proof that she was well aware from that email in 2015 what the Garda Commissioner and her legal team were up to and that was to destroy Maurice McCabe. Frances publicly kept on backing Noreen knowing what was going on behind the scenes.

Mute Mill Miller
    Favourite Mill Miller
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:25 AM

@Matthew O’Kane: lets hope if there is an election.. someone comes along an says he want stepaside station to remain closed an gaurds sent to stations an areas that need them

Mute frank sullivan
    Favourite frank sullivan
    Nov 24th 2017, 9:54 AM

no need for an election, pools suggest people are #FeelingGoodWithFineGael

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Nov 24th 2017, 9:58 AM

@frank sullivan: come on journal…..ban him

Mute frank sullivan
    Favourite frank sullivan
    Nov 24th 2017, 9:59 AM

@Jane: what ever for?

See 19 more replies ▾
    Nov 24th 2017, 9:59 AM

@frank sullivan: patetic comment from a deluded FG slimy troll

Mute Jay Lane
    Favourite Jay Lane
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:01 AM

@Jane: Barry is very forgiving to Leo and FG after they were shamed into sacking him cos of his offensive sexist and “murderer” tweets.

Nov 24th 2017, 10:03 AM

@Blarneykite: Fitzgerald hasn’t got the integrity to resign. Typical FG arrogance and as for the very devious, lying O’Sullivan , why is she still being allowed to collection her obscene pension?

Mute Gavin R
    Favourite Gavin R

@frank sullivan: Red thumbs

Mute frank sullivan
    Favourite frank sullivan
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:04 AM

@munsterman: whats has ones sexuality got to do with their ability to govern? do you have webbed feet by any chance?

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:04 AM

@frank sullivan: for being a pain in the hole. You actually do more harm than good to your supposed cause.

Mute Matthew O'Kane
    Favourite Matthew O'Kane
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:06 AM

@frank sullivan: I say call it and we will see how people like their housing crisis health crisis stagnant wages and tax dodging all helped by this government. Frances Fitzgerald burying and smearing a whistle blower gets tanaiste, shes a disgrace she should be gone and garda commissioner o’sullivan losing her phone gets a great pension and a great new high paid job and leo socky over seeing the health/trolley crisis gets taoiseach, Shane Ross supports the quango Irish water existing and ignores unions pleas for fair pay and a recovery, the harder you fail the people of Ireland the higher you climb in this Irish government

Mute Dermo Adams
    Favourite Dermo Adams
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:09 AM

@frank sullivan: #FeelingGougedWithFineGael

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:15 AM

@frank sullivan: Pools taken in the FG fraperoom don’t count troll.

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:22 AM

@Rob Cahill: Must be the juniors up to their old tricks again

Mute Brendan Mason
    Favourite Brendan Mason
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:23 AM

@frank sullivan: you mean swimming pools. I like your swimming pool.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:55 AM

The longer Leo leaves it before Frances is ‘resigned’ will just show his lack of decisiveness for all and sundry.

Take your time leo.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:03 AM

@munsterman: Leo’s sexuality has nothing to with his ablity to do his job. Been a conservative right winger has and unfortunately.

Frank Sulivan might have a point though FG were up in the polls along with the traitors FF.

Mute Jack O'neill
    Favourite Jack O'neill
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:07 AM

@frank sullivan: #FeelingcrouptwithFg

Mute Mill Miller
    Favourite Mill Miller
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:20 AM

@frank sullivan: … then Fitzgerald will be sacked .. should have been done a long time ago … her family must be ashamed of her

Mute frank sullivan
    Favourite frank sullivan
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:26 AM

@The Risen: The baron would know all about that :D

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:29 AM

@The Risen: The baron would know all about that :D

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:49 AM

@frank sullivan: When you run one country and show up in several countries when they are having a gay pride March rather than the one you muscled into power of then your sexuality has something to do with the ability to govern. Just for your tired brain no do do not have webbed feet and what would having webbed feet have anything to do with anyone’s ability to form an opinion. Reading the response to your comments I am getting impression that you are one of the few who fall for the political lies being handed out from The Dail on a daily basis. It is not hype, nor is it spin it is pure lies from all of them including your beloved Fine Gael.

Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe
    Nov 24th 2017, 2:23 PM

@Jane: Don’t ban him..let him troll away..costing FG transfers with every post…

Mute Jay Lane
    Favourite Jay Lane
    Nov 24th 2017, 9:55 AM

Whistle blowers is just the tip of the election causing iceberg. Housing and health policies need to be forced out of FG & Labour in the campaign.

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:53 AM

@Jay Lane: Right on the money Jay !!!!!

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan

Fair play to Sinn Fein for challenging this FG/FF con job which has been screwing the country for long enough. How can FF submit a no confidence motion with a straight face when they are the reason Fitz has a job!? Politics in this country is completely corrupted.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:17 AM

@Dan: not only that but FFs record on whistleblowers and and covering up for garda corruption is worse than FGs.

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:18 AM

@Dan: Yeah fairplay to both FF & SF for collapsing the govt 3 weeks before a crucial brexit summit and also collapsing the 8th amendment committee. Hopefully the electorate will reward them appropriately.

Mute Waters Edge
    Favourite Waters Edge
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:47 AM

@Ricky Spanish: I’d be surprised if there will be an election, not yet anyway. Frances will resign at the 11th hour to stall it for a while. If not, publicly the party will support her but behind the scenes, they will blame her for causing the election.

Mute Cicero
    Favourite Cicero
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:08 AM

@Waters Edge: I think you are probably right – FF are taking a calculated risk here over a relatively petty matter which Fitzgerald is no longer even connected to.
    But, I bet this is the beginning of the end if they get past this – in 6 months we will have an election either way due to bad blood.

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish
    Nov 24th 2017, 12:56 PM

@Cicero: FF have backed themselves into a corner here. Even if Fitzgerald does resign at the last minute, FF have clearly breached the confidence and supply agreement.

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Nov 24th 2017, 1:33 PM

@Ricky Spanish: News Flash Ricky: Neither FF or FG want movement on the 8th. They are terrified that the OAP’s that keep them in power will finally turn against them.

Mute Colin Morris
    Favourite Colin Morris
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:12 AM

Housing and health

The election needs to be fought on those issues

Fine Gael and Fianna Fail have failed Ireland. Both parties truly hate this country.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Nov 24th 2017, 2:41 PM

@Colin Morris: Hate it, on the money their paid for 7 months work and being able to get re-elected by fools every election. Are you on drugs?

Mute Brendan Mason
    Favourite Brendan Mason
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:45 AM

Barry,s frape room is alive and well. Time to clean up the journal. Can’t wait for a general election. We need a government to govern 26 counties not one. Ie if Dublin is booming that certainly does not mean Ireland is booming. It doesn’t take a political scientist to figure that out.

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:51 AM

@Brendan good post sir.very true

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:46 AM

Here is simply why there should be an election. After all the hard times and issues we have gone through off the back of the 2008 Financial Crisis here and everything that led up to that, still today we have NO change. The Regulator and Govt still allowing the Banks to rule the roost plus just look at how coursgeous whistleblowers like Maurice McCabe and Jonathan Sugarman are being treated by the Establishment! These are people who put their necks on the line for the better of all of us as a nation, yet they are being treated dispicably by those in Power who do not want change or accountability. If that is the type of country and society you want into the future and for your kids and grandkids, then fair enough..keep the status quo in place…but maybe there are more people starting to decide that this is not what they want for our country!?

Mute Michael Heery
    Favourite Michael Heery
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:48 AM

@Nigel O’Neill: wish Jonathan Sugarman would stand for election.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:07 AM

How bad is FGs handling of this latest debacle?

FF won’t even provide cover for them.

That’s pretty bad.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Nov 24th 2017, 2:44 PM

@For Connolly: FG/FF/SF/L, they are the parties that should be wiped out and then we’ll progress as a Country.

Mute 無
    Favourite 無
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:13 AM

if there’s a snap election, i’m voting for “Rhythm Is A Dancer”.

Mute Ciarán FitzGerald
    Favourite Ciarán FitzGerald
    Nov 24th 2017, 12:24 PM

@無: No way!! It’s a source of Cancer…..

Mute Mary Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mary Mc Carthy
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:57 AM

No need for a general election if she did the right thing and resigned. But god forbid she put the country first , like she was elected to !!!!

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan

ff fg the corrupt elite

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:00 AM

If an election happens a lot of other things are put on hold. Citizens assembly finishes. No abortion referendum in May or June?

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:28 AM

@Jane: There’s no reason whatsoever why the next government cannot run the referendum at the earliest possible opportunity.

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:30 AM

@The Risen: the committee has to go back to the start and do it all again. It’ll be a delay tactic for whoever is our new government. That’s the way it works.

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:46 AM

@Jane: Why? Article 46(2) says

Every proposal for an amendment of this Constitution shall be initiated in Dáil Éireann as a Bill, and shall upon having been passed or deemed to have been passed by both Houses of the Oireachtas, be submitted by Referendum to the decision of the people in accordance with the law for the time being in force relating to the Referendum.

It doesn’t say anything about committees or assemblies. I can’t see any reason why a new govt can’t reconvene the assembly or just go straight to the Dail.

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Nov 24th 2017, 12:07 PM

@Ben McArthur: because it’s a gift wrapped reason to delay it further.

Mute Paddythewatersprite
    Favourite Paddythewatersprite
    Nov 24th 2017, 9:57 AM

FG lack integrity …#FeelingCorruptWithFineGael!!!

Mute frank sullivan
    Favourite frank sullivan

@Paddythewatersprite: #FeelingGoodWithFineGael

Nov 24th 2017, 10:10 AM

@frank sullivan: #FeelingFraudulentWithFitzgeraldAndFG

Mute Paddythewatersprite
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:14 AM

@frank sullivan: Good man Frank. Your good work will do no end of damage to FG.
    #Don’tBanFrankSullivanFromTheJournal! BMHL

Mute Brendan Mason
    Favourite Brendan Mason
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:52 AM

@frank sullivan: FeelingFailWithFineGael

Mute Michael Lynch
    Favourite Michael Lynch
    Nov 24th 2017, 12:56 PM

@Brendan Mason: #fiannaFAILwithfineFRAUD

Mute Daniel Donovan
    Favourite Daniel Donovan
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:06 AM

The uttet corruption from all corners of the Dáil is sickening. Mrs. Fitzerald ought to step aside now before making an utter fool of herself.

@Daniel Donovan: too late she already made a fool of herself

Mute Cicero
    Favourite Cicero
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:11 AM

@Gus Sheridan: Your comments on here don’t exactly cover you in glory for that matter.

Nov 24th 2017, 11:34 AM

@Cicero: you are welcome to your opinion as I am, be nice if you had the balls to come out from behind that silly name

Mute Cicero
    Favourite Cicero
    Nov 24th 2017, 3:00 PM

@Gus Sheridan: I didn’t realise you knew the woman and therefore have a justifiable personal opinion on her “maggot”ness (as you mentioned above).

FYI: If I was insulting people personally on the internet, I would not use my real name. It would just be embarrassing for my kids.

Mute Shipwreck
    Favourite Shipwreck
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:37 AM

There’s no getting away from the reader demographic on The Journal.

But for a different opinion, for me it’s a question of do I believe this is a Government conspiracy stretching from the Office of An Taoiseach, the Justice Department, the Tánaiste and potentially other senior government ministers OR do I believe that it’s possible for someone at the very top of any department/company to forget about an email they read 2 and a half years ago even as significant as this.

And to be clear, I don’t believe there’s any conspiracy here.

Mute Dr Richard DeWitt
    Favourite Dr Richard DeWitt
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:56 AM

@Shipwreck: “There’s no getting away from the reader demographic on The Journal.”
    True that.

Mute Cicero
    Favourite Cicero
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:14 AM

@Shipwreck: agreed – this is just being blown out of all proportion. The minister isn’t even connected to the department any more.
    Given the issues being worked on at the moment, the last thing we need is an election and 3 or 4 months of horse-trading where there is no government like the last time for what, in the end, will be broadly the same result.

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:30 AM

Simples : Because between them, FG and FF dont know how and when to stop lying and spinning to the Public to the point where its almost embarassing and they know some sort of action must be taken in order to retain some credibility and not totally undermine our parliamentary democracy. Plus the fact that so so much mud is now been thrown out onto the Public wall, to use such an analogy, that more and more of it is beginning to stick….and all this mud should have been cleaned up and dealt with correctly by the government but hasnt been done

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:36 AM

@Nigel O’Neill: Simples ? What does that mean, surely you mean ‘Simple’ ???

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:50 AM

@eastmer how could that even be a name….’eastmer’ . Come back to me when youre not hiding behind a username

Mute Bill O'Brien
    Favourite Bill O'Brien

Varadkar has been put in a no lose situation by SF/FF. He has little to lose politically by going for an election as SF/FF pull this stunt. He will certainly increase the FG vote. Alternatively he can play the ‘put the country first’ card with Fitzgerald resigning as a martyr (and of course topping the poll next time) as no one wants an election with Brexit etc. going on. Some strategy from SF/FF!

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:31 AM

@Bill O’Brien: it is not a tactical issue.It is an issue over the gross maltreatment of a fine and noble man. Not all of politics is a petty party political game of chicanery.

Mute Bill O'Brien
    Favourite Bill O'Brien
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:28 AM

@Fiona deFreyne: My comment was on the political naivety of SF/FF. I’m afraid its the case that Maurice McCabe is being used for political ends by both sides of this particular argument. Maurice McCabe’s treatment was abominable but no price is ever paid by the faceless civil servants and garda management who actually put him through this because we don’t do consequences in this country. There is never any follow through. Politicians are feeding off him for their own ends.

Mute Francis Devenney
    Favourite Francis Devenney
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:26 AM

I’m not a legal expert but isn’t challenging the credibility a standard strategy?

Mute Francis Devenney
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:27 AM

@Francis Devenney: challenging the credibility of a witness

Mute Paddythewatersprite
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:59 AM

@Francis Devenney: Commission of Investigations are not court cases. Therefore not adversarial. It investigates McCabes allegations. His credability is not investigated just his allegations. And he is supposed to be protected by whistleblower legislation too! Minister of Justice should have understood that.
    If she cared, she might have.

Mute Francis Devenney
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:23 AM

@Paddythewatersprite: That makes a kind of sense, but shouldn’t the character and motivation of anyone making allegations be up for questioning?

Mute Paddythewatersprite
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:50 AM

@Francis Devenney: Whistleblower legislation is there for that reason. If McCabes allegation are found to be untrue he still has to be protected once they were made in good faith. And that’s the crux, good faith and bad faith allegations. The Garda Commissoner was going to engage in a bad faith character assasination of McCabe. The Minister for Justice turned away from this and was allowing the Commissioner carry on unchecked.

Mute Francis Devenney
    Nov 24th 2017, 12:45 PM

@Paddythewatersprite: Fair enough but how do we discover whether someone making allegations is acting in good faith without challenging their veracity and credibility? I have to admit I find this whole system deeply flawed and a little confusing.

Mute Paddythewatersprite
    Nov 24th 2017, 2:55 PM

@Francis Devenney: Commission of investigation will determine if there is truth/credibilty to the allegations. The motivation is secondary to the truth. McCabes motivation was determined justified by the Guerin report. Garda Commissoner decided to use unrelated information in a vile way to undermine McCabes allegations. Justice Minister chose to ignore this. And there was a choice, don’t doubt that for a second. Generally, the truth will come out in the end. Hence a potential election.

Mute Mark O'Reilly
    Favourite Mark O'Reilly

And end result out of this..?? Fianna Fáil government in a confidence and supply agreement with Fine Gael and a bunch of independents!! Well that was a waste of time!!

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason

@Mark O’Reilly: At least it’ll wipe the smug look of Leos face… and hopefully now he’ll take up that job in Canada…

Nov 24th 2017, 10:11 AM

@Jason: maybe get a too quality control job in a sock factory, thats all he is good for.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:19 AM

@Jason: unless he comes back with a bigger share of the seats which according to the polls is a possibility. Tho I’m sure FGs satisfaction rating will drop during a campaign

Mute Mark O'Reilly
    Favourite Mark O'Reilly
    Nov 24th 2017, 12:32 PM

@Jason: oh great. Let’s spend millions on an election so we can wipe a smug smile off Leo Varadkars face.

Mute Neil Mcdonough
    Favourite Neil Mcdonough
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:21 AM

What will an election change?

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:29 AM

@Neil Mcdonough: FF and FG will end up with about 50 seats each – not enough to form a government.

The third largest party will be the Political Wing of the Provisional IRA – neither FF nor FG will go into coalition with them.

So, another cobbled together coalition of Independents, and a Confidence and Supply agreement.

No change.

Mute Dr Richard DeWitt
    Favourite Dr Richard DeWitt
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:54 AM

@David Murphey: I think FF just might open the bed sheets to SF/IRA.

Nov 24th 2017, 11:30 AM

@David Murphey: FF and FG would get into bed with Fifi the stripper if they thought that it would keep their fat arses in their nice Dail seats.

Nov 24th 2017, 2:23 PM

@Dr Richard DeWitt: vote FF/FG for stagnation, thats a fact.Nothing will change. SF without Adams might be worth a try, anything to break the corrupt system if people are brave enough.

Mute John Reid
    Favourite John Reid
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:05 AM

Fine Gael should not fear losing Francis Fitzgerald if it means keeping their government together. She is not a good minister or Tánaiste. Is it really worth losing everything just to keep that tired old minister in place, when Fitzgerald could be replaced by a younger, more capable member of the Oireachtas?

Nov 24th 2017, 11:26 AM

@John Reid: they don’t have any capable people, thats your problem

Mute James Reilly
    Favourite James Reilly
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:35 AM

Election now please

Mute Ó Connmhaigh
    Favourite Ó Connmhaigh

Smacks of a carve up between FF and FG for a head-head battle for supremacy. January election so doesn’t clash with Xmas plans for people. And latest polls show FF and FG well out in front and neck and neck, at the expense of diminishing support for SF, Labour, Independents and the leftists fringe parties.
    FF and FG both increase their share base and clear the decks for themselves in the coming parliament. FF don’t want this confidence and supply arrangement to drag on, while FG want a smaller lapdog to offer a few crumbs to now and then, probably the Greens.

Mute SeanGabriel1453
    Favourite SeanGabriel1453
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:24 AM

@Ó Connmhaigh: they’d still be too small..

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:24 AM

Love the way it has all caught up with fg, and there will be more from charleton.

Mute Kev Creed
    Favourite Kev Creed
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:54 AM

Is that Hillary Clinton next to Leo

Mute SeanGabriel1453
    Favourite SeanGabriel1453

SF & FF ….careful what you wish for…the Trots are pushing SF to militancy…the Shinners are pushing FF to look tougher…So right now Trotskyist nut jobs are pushing the dominoes….
    The muppets who elected the likes of Pottinger and Murphy would want to think again.

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:00 AM

@SeanGabriel1453: They learnt their tactics in Central America and when they have created an ungovernable State by undermining the Justice and Security departments we end up with drug lords running the place.

Mute Alex Carroll
    Favourite Alex Carroll
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:42 AM

I think I will run. sure they’re all hooks bar me.

Mute Willy Malone
    Favourite Willy Malone
    Nov 24th 2017, 9:56 AM

Answer : FG

Mute Horace
    Favourite Horace
    Nov 24th 2017, 1:55 PM

We need an election asap. No longer should we as a people except the pathetic governance of FG who have attempted to smear a man as a child abuser to further their own agenda and line their pockets with massive political salaries and pensions.

It needs to stop.

Mute EK
    Favourite EK
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:25 AM

An election won’t be called because Fine Gael stand to gain most from it.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:39 AM

@EK: Not if they get the blame for collapsing government, and Varadkars recent comments on homelessness won’t go down well either. They will lose on the homelessness issue if FF can convince people they are the ones that can build houses.

Mute EK
    Favourite EK
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:20 AM

@Niall Sullivan: I can’t see Fine Gael getting the blame for collapsing the government. They are the only party looking to preserve the current government by forwarding a vote of confidence in Fitzgerald’s favour. The last time Fianna Fail got houses built there was the recession that in part led to this homelessness issue.

Mute The Red Devil
    Favourite The Red Devil
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:12 AM

Think Francis is about to be thrown under the bus- as she will resign – say she did nothing wrong – Leo will say for the good of the country the FG/FF coalition goes on

Mute Denis McClean
    Favourite Denis McClean
    Nov 24th 2017, 12:07 PM

If a General Election does nothing but remind our smug politicians, most of whom belong to the SS&S Party of Scheme, Spin and Scam, that they are as dispensable as they like to think we are, then it will be money and time well spent.

Mute Edmond Mc Grath
    Favourite Edmond Mc Grath
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:39 AM

There’s a major issue missing from this article! It has nothing to do with Francis Fitzgerald or emails but it’s all to do with political manoeuvring. Gerry Adams announced he wouldn’t stand in the next election therefore assuming Mary Lou McDonald is elected leader of Sinn Fein it would make them more appealing to the electorate. Fianna Fail know this and realise they need to move quickly to prevent Sinn Fein gaining votes at their expense!

Mute ryan3939
    Favourite ryan3939
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:53 AM

The biggest lose here will be Leo
    Flanagan and Fitzgerald knew about this email and said nothing
    Both of them are part of the Old school in FG and they totally undermined leo by not informing him ( or so we are told)
    Leo should have take Fitzgerald to one side and told her to go or be fired
    Then he would have take control of FG and not be another puppet like Kenny

Mute Michael Lynch
    Favourite Michael Lynch
    Nov 24th 2017, 12:54 PM

Great pic. Franny trying to look all business and Leo W@nker trying not to explode.

Mute ryan3939
    Favourite ryan3939

A biger question is what the F**k is going on in the department of justice and who is running it?
    Flanagan has to fin out what is going on in there

Mute Living The Laws
    Favourite Living The Laws
    Nov 24th 2017, 10:58 AM

Never thought i would say this but Alan Kelly is a smart bloke and knows where to look and what to highlight.

whats incredible is that the shinners think they have a part in all of this. the majority rainbow government that is FFFG plus nutjobs is there for all to see.

the shinners would do well to continue to destroy the credibility of current corrupt politicians and civil servants and judiciary. thinking that Mary Lou could bring them to any other significant role is basically feasting on your own BS.

FF need to get rid of Michael Martin. forget everything else about him as it fades into insignificance aainst the fact that he is from Cork. We have all had a belly full of those me feiners for long enough.

Mute Red hurley
    Favourite Red hurley
    Nov 24th 2017, 1:49 PM

I started reading this then i just said B O L L O X i couldn’t be bothered.

Nov 24th 2017, 3:16 PM

@Red hurley: short attention span Red?

Mute Peter O'Donnell
    Favourite Peter O'Donnell
    Nov 24th 2017, 1:23 PM

Be careful what you wish for. In truth, there is not a great choice or selection out there. Do you vote for anarchy, instability or more of the same?
    Despairingly, there really is no credible alternative. More independents mean more trouble so you are really down to party politics. The FF / FG marriage is over. Will Mary Lou and Micheal finally get it together?
    No matter which way you look, there is trouble ahead. At a time of grave national importance, vis-a-vis Brexit timing, how can we all be so irresponsible.

Mute Horace
    Favourite Horace
    Nov 24th 2017, 1:57 PM

@Peter O’Donnell: What we have now is anarchy. Leo’s spin department may fool some but out in the real world the country is a mess.

Mute Ciarán FitzGerald
    Favourite Ciarán FitzGerald
    Nov 24th 2017, 12:27 PM

If the government lose a confidence motion in a minister they do NOT have to call a general election. They do need to do the right thing and get rid of her.
    The Taoiseach has the prerogative NOT to call an election. Confidence and Supply has not been breached yet – no votes have happened yet.
    Do the right thing Frances FitzGerald and fall on your sword….

Nov 24th 2017, 3:18 PM

@Ciarán FitzGerald: maybe better the hag stays and brings FG down

Mute General Info
    Favourite General Info
    Nov 24th 2017, 11:46 AM

FF needs to go in shame, and FF need to lose seats

Mute Joe Kemmy
    Favourite Joe Kemmy
    Nov 25th 2017, 12:01 AM

This is another shameful episode,she will probably resign with an excellent pension to come and the possibility of another little earner sorted out for by the Government.

Noreen winds up in a handy job,bankers who stole from people will not face charges and Consulants will not have to repay the money they got from the state for work not done.

One law for the rich and privileged and one for ordinary people,so little has changed.

Mute Michael Lynch
    Favourite Michael Lynch
    Nov 24th 2017, 12:57 PM

Country needs a Lord Sutch. Monster Raving Looney.

Nov 24th 2017, 3:17 PM

@Michael Lynch: it has one its called Fine Gael

Mute gpurcell
    Favourite gpurcell
    Nov 24th 2017, 9:29 PM

Tits on a bull are more useful