You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

RollingNews.ie

Sergeants and inspectors vote overwhelmingly to accept pay deal

In a ballot of 2,103 members of the Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors, 95% voted to accept proposals.

MIDDLE-RANKING GARDAÍ have voted overwhelmingly to accept pay recommendations made by the Labour Court.

In a ballot of 2,103 members of the Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors, 95% voted to accept proposals negotiated by their representatives. Turnout was 71%.

Speaking this morning, President Antoinette Cunningham said the ballot result is “proof that giving gardaí access to equitable industrial relations machinery works”.

We held a briefing seminar in Athlone two weeks ago where we went through the Labour Court proposals in great detail. What emerged from that meeting however, was that our members felt vindicated in their fight to have parity of access to the Workplace Relations Commission and the Labour Court, both avenues previous not available to them.

“This move was of particular importance to our members and recognition of their voice by the government and the Labour Court was very well received,” she said.

“We look forward to moving forward and helping to shape the future of the industrial relations landscape for our members for decades to come. That work is very important and we have a role to play to ensure gardaí in the future don’t have to face an inequitable industrial relations playing field again.”

Yesterday, members of the Garda Representative Association (GRA) also accepted the proposals.

Welcoming the news, Minister for Justice Frances Fitzgerald said “nobody wanted to see industrial action” and she believed today’s decision is in the best interests of An Garda Síochána and the community.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

49 Comments
    Mute Upowthat Burke
    Favourite Upowthat Burke
    Dec 6th 2016, 11:13 AM

Will the two serior gardai who tried to set up Morris mc cabe with there lies be getting this increase in pay.??……only in ireland?

Mute Mr D
    Favourite Mr D
    Dec 6th 2016, 11:37 AM

@Upowthat Burke: what about the garda commissioners newly promoted husband? nepotism in a corrupt rotten organisation

Mute Benjy Mooney
    Favourite Benjy Mooney
    Dec 6th 2016, 11:49 AM

And the senior Gardaí who brought a minor before a Labour appointed judge who convicted him of falsely imprisoning the Labour leader in front of 100+ Gardai and the riot squad.

The ‘evidence’ against the boy amounted to: 1. He may have said into the megaphone at one stage: “Joanie in your ivory tower – this is called people power” 2. He walked around. 3. He sat down and encouraged others to sit down. 4. He waved his arms. 5. He filmed Joan Burton & said “Talk to us Joan”

This is the political policing, prosecution, show trial and conviction of a juvenile is an attempt to criminalize protest and strike back at the magnificent mass movement which has beaten the government on their water charges (banker tax) plans. Jobstown is a perfect example of the police, the DPP, the judiciary and the media colluding to try and crush political dissent.

The state is utterly ruthless when it’s authority and the interest of the billionaire class is threatened.
    Surveillance operations against anti water charges activists, dawn raids by squads of Gardai to arrest elected representatives and children, pending arrests and prosecutions leaked to the RTE, collection permits denied to the AAA by a Labour affiliated judge, armed Gardai present at water meter installation protests etc etc etc.

Before the formal trials began we’ve seen Claire Byrne (You falsely imprisoned the Tanaiste), Olivia Mitchell (these were acts of violence and terrorism) and Ryan Turbridy (The Deputy Prime Minister trapped in a car for over 2 hours against her will) convict the people of Jobstown in trial by media.
    This is a systematic assault on the rights of a working class community and the water charges movement generally. The intent is to remove hard won civil liberties, criminalize protest and intimidate the population into submission as the looting of the nation continues to pay for the debts of speculative financial capitalism.

Our crimes in this brave little Republic are determined by our class.

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    Dec 6th 2016, 12:00 PM

@Benjy Mooney: Gardai don’t decide to prosecute anyone, the DPP does.

Mute Benjy Mooney
    Favourite Benjy Mooney
    Dec 6th 2016, 1:01 PM

@Eyepopper:

The Gardaí decided to assign 6 full time Guards to investigate the “false imprisonment” over a period of several months in an environment where they are complaining about a lack of manpower and resources.
    The Garda evidence at the trial helped to convict a boy of “falsely imprisoning” the Tánaiste in front of 100+ Gardai and the riot squad.
    The Gardaí decided to take the unprecedented step of refusing a collection permit to a political party.
    The Gardaí have always been a deployed as a political tool when the state deems it necessary.

Mute Benjy Mooney
    Favourite Benjy Mooney
    Dec 6th 2016, 1:25 PM

The Gardaí decided to send squads of officers to drag children and adults with no criminal history out of their beds in dawn raids.
    In marked contrast, the Gardai decided to allow those accused of vast fraud in the finance sector to meet them by appointment.
    The Gardaí decided to leak the details of the pending arrests and prosecutions to their approved spokespeople in the media.

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Dec 6th 2016, 1:27 PM

Mooney “the boy, now aged 16, but who was 15 at the time of the incident, was in Dublin Children’s Court with his mother and a grandparent. He had pleaded guilty to criminal damage to the rear window of unmarked garda car which he jumped on, and violent disorder charges” yea innocent

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    Dec 6th 2016, 1:34 PM

@Benjy Mooney: “Garda evidence at the trial helped to convict”
    1. Are you suggesting they fabricated evidence?
    2. Who actually convicted him?

Regarding the fundraising permit…. The AAA had been directly involved in protests that resulted in arrests in the area where they were looking to raise funds. Under section 9 (c) of the Street and House to House Collection Act 1962…..The Act states that a “chief superintendent shall not grant a collection permit for any collection in respect of which (s)he is of opinion that . . . proceeds of the collection or any portion thereof would be used in such a manner as to encourage, either directly or indirectly, the commission of an unlawful act”

As for Gardai having “always been a deployed as a political tool” – name the last person imprisoned, or disappeared by the Gardai.

Where possible they stop people doing things that are illegal – even when the people seeking to do illegal thing justify their actions as political or protest.

Mute Benjy Mooney
    Favourite Benjy Mooney
    Dec 6th 2016, 2:30 PM

Ceallaghan:

That is not the boy I’m referring to as you’re well aware. The boy in question didn’t plead guilty to anything.

http://www.thejournal.ie/jobstown-teenager-appeal-3059319-Nov2016/

Mute Benjy Mooney
    Favourite Benjy Mooney
    Dec 6th 2016, 2:42 PM

@Eyepopper:

A Labour appointed judge convicted him in the Children’s court

Are you aware that Judge Michael Couglan who upheld the decision to deny the AAA a collection permit is a Labour party insider who was election agent for Labour MEP Nessa Childers in the 2009 European elections?
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/five-out-of-six-judges-appointed-have-connections-to-fine-gael-or-labour-1.11321

Are you suggesting that a 15 year old boy or indeed any individual would be capable off “falsely imprisoning” Joan Burton under the noses of 100+ Gardai and the riot squad?

Are you saying that: He may have said into the megaphone at one stage: “Joanie in your ivory tower – this is called people power” 2. He walked around. 3. He sat down and encouraged others to sit down. 4. He waved his arms. 5. He filmed Joan Burton & said “Talk to us Joan”
    amounts to false imprisonment?

Are you seriously suggesting that the Gardai should “disappear” those who protest at the manner in which this little capitalist state is run and for whose benefit?

Mute Alan Cooke
    Favourite Alan Cooke
    Dec 6th 2016, 3:17 PM

@Benjy Mooney:
    I see you have been insulting people again and or being obnoxious Wally.
    Journal boot you off again?

I suppose you think Paul Murphy is totally innocent of the charges being brought against him? That it’s all a ready up? That he did not incite the crowd with a bull horn? That all the photos are photo shopped? What happened to the photos your lot posted and then took down? I’m sure they will appear in court, I saw them so I’m sure the Gardai will have saved them and indeed have a few more of their own.
    You really are very very selective with the facts, tha’ts your facts Wally, not the truth. Some would call that lies.

Mute Benjy Mooney
    Favourite Benjy Mooney
    Dec 6th 2016, 3:44 PM

Here Goofy. Have a look for yourself.

There was only one T.D. in physical danger that day in Jobstown and it wasn’t Joan Burton. Here’s a clip of Murphy being manhandled by the Gardai who also stole his lovely new jumper.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g8GinTeLFq4&feature=youtu.be

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    Dec 6th 2016, 4:18 PM

@Benjy Mooney:

Regarding fundraising, it’s pretty straight forward, in the words of the Chief Supt who refused the permit:

“Previous protests in my division, as participated in by the Anti Austerity Alliance, have resulted in persons being arrested for public order offences, and indeed some of those arrested persons were Anti Austerity Alliance personnel.

“The collection permit has been refused because I believe that the proceeds of the collection or a portion thereof would be used to facilitate protests sponsored by the Anti Austerity Alliance. I believe any further protests within my division would see further public order offences being committed.”

Basically, if you want to be a political party you shouldn’t engage in non peaceful protest.

I guess now you’ll tell me the Chief Supt is a member of the Labour party too? Or that the judge got to her? But the fact remains that ultimately the permit was refused because of the behavior of people involved with the protests.

Regarding the boy – how is the fact that the judge is a labour supporter evidence of political policing by the Gardai? I think you’re having trouble staying on point here.

Mute Alan Cooke
    Favourite Alan Cooke
    Dec 6th 2016, 4:38 PM

@Benjy Mooney:
    Saw that clip before. The one where Murphy and his cohorts all sat down to have a dump.
    Which agitator is you?
    Or are you one of those keyboard warriors who spouts bile through the keyboard but in reality has a yellow streak?
    At least I have not been kicked off here yet again for insulting people.

Mute Noirin Kavanagh
    Favourite Noirin Kavanagh
    Dec 6th 2016, 5:39 PM

Protests are not illegal, so they do not require justification and when the Gardaí have one set of rules for one section of society and a different set for another then they are actually acting illegally. Who will bring them to task?

Mute Benjy Mooney
    Favourite Benjy Mooney
    Dec 6th 2016, 6:26 PM

Well said Noirin. Eyepopper seems to have no problem with the Gardai deciding which political parties get to fundraise and which don’t. Which people are allowed to protest and picket and which are not. Why don’t we just get rid of the courts and juries while we’re at it and let the Gardai adjudicate on guilt or innocence. Sure what could possibly go wrong?

Mute Benjy Mooney
    Favourite Benjy Mooney
    Dec 6th 2016, 6:31 PM

P.S. Do the Gardai get to decide when a public order offence has been committed? Or would that be maybe up to the courts? So the Gardai refused a collection permit for a political party based on their opinion that a public order offence may have been committed or might be in the future. Do you see any possible problems with this model of “justice”?

Mute Alan Cooke
    Favourite Alan Cooke
    Dec 6th 2016, 7:22 PM

@Benjy Mooney:
    Ah jaysus Wally will you give it a rest. Do you ever do any work?
    You are on here like a fly on a turd.

Mute Alan Cooke
    Favourite Alan Cooke
    Dec 6th 2016, 7:36 PM

@Benjy Mooney:
    Next time the journal kick you off change your name to poo poo breath.
    It would be suitable to explain all the bulls**t you post here.

Mute Noirin Kavanagh
    Favourite Noirin Kavanagh
    Dec 6th 2016, 7:54 PM

Is that the best argument you can come up with?

Mute conriel
    Favourite conriel
    Dec 6th 2016, 11:39 AM

Great stuff for all in the Guards, those working and retired , One Question WHO GOING TO PAY FOR THIS INCREASE?

Gary
    Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    Dec 6th 2016, 11:44 AM

@conriel: Guards pay tax also. (Don’t tell anyone, it’s a secret.)

Mute Willie
    Favourite Willie
    Dec 6th 2016, 11:44 AM

@conriel:
    Monty Burns

Mute conriel
    Favourite conriel
    Dec 6th 2016, 11:53 AM

@Gary: So tax collected from Guards pay will cover the increase,
    The money is generated mainly in the private sector, and That no secret !!! (it apparent you dont know that)

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Dec 6th 2016, 11:54 AM

Yes they do pay a lot of tax but get it all back with their defined benefit pension and lump sum on retirement with interest

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    Dec 6th 2016, 12:36 PM

I’ve no problem with my tax going towards paying for a police force.

I’m surprised anyone does.

Oh wait, is this part of the ‘we shouldn’t have to pay for anything’ argument?

Mute Thomas McGilly
    Favourite Thomas McGilly
    Dec 6th 2016, 12:10 PM

Interesting that the ASTI are well and truly out on their own now.

Mute Benjy Mooney
    Favourite Benjy Mooney
    Dec 6th 2016, 2:25 PM

Not really though.

“SIPTU has authorised its 60,000 members to ballot on industrial and strike action”

http://www.thejournal.ie/siptu-strike-3-3086094-Nov2016/

Mute Thomas McGilly
    Favourite Thomas McGilly
    Dec 6th 2016, 2:39 PM

Benjy, SIPTU are balloting to force a renegotiation of the Landsdowne Road Agreement having accepted it in the first place. ASTI are the only trade union or representative body that has not accepted a pay deal by the government.

Mute Benjy Mooney
    Favourite Benjy Mooney
    Dec 6th 2016, 3:42 PM

Siptu are balloting their 60k members because the Gardai deal has breached Landsdowne road. There is a tidal wave of industrial action facing the government. ASTI are far from alone.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Dec 6th 2016, 3:47 PM

@Benjy Mooney:

Ah Benjy.

Banned again?

What was this one for?

Mute Benjy Mooney
    Favourite Benjy Mooney
    Dec 6th 2016, 6:22 PM

Telling the truth Brinster. Telling the truth.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Dec 6th 2016, 8:02 PM

Wally / Billy or whatever you call yourself,

I appreciate that the truth is difficult for you but ‘through’ and ‘true’ although they sound similar they actually mean different things. As previously suggested, top of your Santa list this year should be an education. Remember Santa only comes to good children so off to bed early like a good boy now.

Mute Gary O'neill
    Favourite Gary O'neill
    Dec 6th 2016, 11:11 AM

A pay rise for what? Driving around the city doing nothing? This money should’ve gone to the Luas drivers

Mute Damien Duffy
    Favourite Damien Duffy
    Dec 6th 2016, 11:18 AM

You’re a clown.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Dec 6th 2016, 11:29 AM

They have done well government caved in so easily Credit to their union negotiators

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    Dec 6th 2016, 11:31 AM

Or to help fund therapy for those afflicted by crippling cases of attention seeking.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Dec 6th 2016, 1:40 PM

@Gary O’neill: They are not doing nothing, they are managed terribly, that is not their fault, that is your fault for electing defective politicians.

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Dec 6th 2016, 12:01 PM

Good old Frances Fitzgerald TD, reward this rotten and corrupt oganisation with bumper pay outs for all… does anyone remember anyone being fired for the whistle blower, stitch up of Clare Daly with the release of details to the press, penalty points controversy? It goes on and on… Shame on this government…

Mute Gerry McCarthy
    Favourite Gerry McCarthy
    Dec 6th 2016, 12:10 PM

Everything you have just said refers to Garda management Superintendent and above. Yes there is undoubtedly corruption up the ladder but we are talking about Gardai, Sergeants and Inspectors. Management of this organization have not been handed a bumper pay out, it’s the Gardai on the ground who will benefit. And I might add that it’s not a bumper payout as you say.

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    Dec 6th 2016, 12:33 PM

@Gerry McCarthy: Ah don’t be bringing little things like the facts into it and spoiling the ‘political policing’, ‘corruption’ chorus will you.

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Dec 6th 2016, 1:22 PM

Anyone feel that front lie garda are getting shafted. Sargeants and inspectors get paid very well

Mute Hugh Mannatee
    Favourite Hugh Mannatee
    Dec 6th 2016, 11:45 AM

In any negotiation of this magnitude, both sides should feel unhappy with the ultimate outcome. Doesn’t seem to be the situation here. The Gardaì obviously got more than they were willing to settle for. Bad negotiating by the government, again.

Mute Hugh Mannatee
    Favourite Hugh Mannatee
    Dec 6th 2016, 12:18 PM

Lots of the auld thin blue line on the Journal today.

Paul
    Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Dec 6th 2016, 3:01 PM

Not sure about that. Didn’t they vote 95% against Lansdowne Road previously and now the government have gotten them to sign up to it?

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    Dec 6th 2016, 12:17 PM

Done the deal now it’s time to get back too looking after the big boys battens at the ready

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Dec 6th 2016, 1:36 PM

No money says gov,yet €50mn plus for gda,that started with just looking for restoration for new entrants.established unions let workers down very badly.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Dec 6th 2016, 1:37 PM

All public service pay awards must come from four main sources.

1) Increased disposable income to government achieved through increased productivity in general economic activity.
    This is not available in Ireland due to anti industrial policies like very high electricity prices and carbon taxes. Public and banking fraud is a turn off also.

2) Increased productivity in the service resulting in less staff members. Irish public services including the Gardai use bog standard management which blocks this. There has been some improvement achieved by closing Garda stations. However the service to the public is decreased to a point that in Britain burglaries are not investigated. This is coming in Ireland.

3) Higher taxes on other non – public workers. This is only achievable by better wages for other workers which cannot be achieved through increased economic activity, this must be stolen from building environmentally damaging industries like Apple. Its generally not available.

4) Postponement. This is done by robbing anything left to rob like the pension fund and hitting the pensions of everyone (including public servants) The Garda pension used to be linked to pay, but that was removed in about 2008. So the pay rises achieved now will be robbed from retired public servants later.

5) Printing money. Not fully available now with the Euro. I expect the Euro to collapse as this reality becomes a problem to future pay rises. Effectively there have been public sector pay rises from 1972 until 2008 all paid for by printing money. So the pay only slightly increased in real terms. Because of the demands on the public purse pay for public servants must contract in real terms. How this is done is uncertain.

I don’t often recommend Irish Media, but there is an exception. Vincent Browne nighly programme on TV3 last night 5th December, 2016 is a “must see”. I think you can get a podcast. It is a must see. We essentially are up the reek without a paddle.

Mute Ger Ryan
    Favourite Ger Ryan
    Dec 6th 2016, 7:56 PM

15 euro a day in lieu of leave is an absolute shocker. They should be ashamed if it. All designed to keep the lower paid CO within landsdowne Rd. Disgraceful. 20% of d force never leaves a desk.