You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Protesters after the shooting dead of Akai Gurley AP/Press Association Images

Family of unarmed black man shot dead by NYPD awarded $4 million

Akai Gurley was killed by a police bullet that ricocheted off the wall.

THE CITY OF New York has agreed to pay more than $4 million (€3.5 million) to the family of an unarmed black father of one, who was shot dead by a police officer.

Akai Gurley, 28, was shot in a darkened stairwell of a public housing building in November 2014 after taking the stairs when the elevator took too long to arrive in the poorly maintained apartment block.

He was killed by a police bullet that ricocheted off the wall.

Gurley’s death, as with those of other unarmed black men at the hands of police, sparked nationwide protests and debate about police tactics and allegations of institutional racism.

Settlement

The total settlement comes to more than $4.5 million (€3.98 million), with $4.1 million (€3.6 million) payable by the city, $400,000 (€350,000) by the housing authority and $25,000 (€22,000) by the officer who shot Gurley, a lawyer for the family told AFP.

Peter Liang, who had been on the force just months, was found guilty of manslaughter by jury in February and sacked from the police.

In April, a judge downgraded his conviction to criminally negligent homicide and sentenced him to five years probation and 800 hours community service.

Gurley’s family filed a wrongful death lawsuit against the city in May 2015.

The settlement was reached on Monday afternoon in the Brooklyn Supreme Court. Kimberly Ballinger, the mother of Gurley’s four-year-old daughter, is pleased with the results, her lawyer Scott Rynecki said.

“She wants to be able to move on with her life and she now hopes she can raise the child to be someone Akai would be proud of,” he told AFP.

The funds will be held in a trust for Gurley’s daughter, although her mother, a home health aide, can request monthly payments to help bring her up, he said.

© AFP 2016

Read: A German pilot was stuck up a tree all night after a crash-landing

Read: Elephant that travelled 1700km from India to Bangladesh dies despite efforts to save him

View 13 comments
13 Comments
    Mute Poole Hyde
    Favourite Poole Hyde
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:11 PM

Sweet suffering Jesus..

Oct 12th 2016, 11:21 PM

They are an embarrassment. . Pathetic individuals. .

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:35 PM

Wasters,so close to doing away with them

Mute sparky
    Favourite sparky
    Oct 13th 2016, 12:03 AM

@ Poole. .sometimes the comment of the week can be so dam obvious..except you forgot the blasphemy law..should have been jasyus. .

Mute Frank Dwyer
    Favourite Frank Dwyer
    Oct 13th 2016, 3:58 AM

First rejected by the Electorate and now rejected by the G.A.A. geez people have a little bit of sympathy for the poor auld pathetic losers

Mute Anton Friendo
    Favourite Anton Friendo
    Oct 13th 2016, 5:55 PM

After reading these articles, I wonder, would it be better to just get WW3 started and over with.

and Nobel Peace Prize winning Obama starts it, now that would be ironic and scary at the same time

Millennials would have to get used to eating bugs

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:13 PM

To think we could of gotten rid of them all……..

Mute Hupthejaysus
    Favourite Hupthejaysus
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:16 PM

What were we thinking! Michele Mulherrin makes me want to blow the place up

Mute Poole Hyde
    Favourite Poole Hyde
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:21 PM

Guy Fawkes the place into dust…

Mute C Mc Gyver
    Favourite C Mc Gyver
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:15 PM

The sense of entitlement from these people is something else. Do they really think they are so important? Thankfully they will get more than €5 from the budget and they might “purchase” a ticket like everybody else.

Mute BarryK
    Favourite BarryK
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:19 PM

If they are worried about how the Seanad is currently perceived then I suggest they shut up

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:33 PM

BarryK or even move out??

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:18 PM

Fine Gael once again embarrassing themselves. The gene pool is so weak.

Mute Randal McNally
    Favourite Randal McNally
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:22 PM

I agree. Not surprising with their weak leader Enda. What a shower of idiots run this country now. Last lot were crooks and this lot are clowns !

Mute Breda Jennings
    Favourite Breda Jennings
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:32 PM

No Geraldine McFadden, you not getting all Ireland ticket for free is not an issue.. What an issue is, is the amount of homeless people sleeping rough in cities around our country. An issue is the lack of affordable childcare in this country. An issue is the amount of young people immigrating due to the lack of job prospects. An issue is low income families slipping into poverty while you have some sense of entitlement to an all Ireland ticket, even though you have a massive wage? Cop yourself on woman. You are suppose to be sorting out the real issues in the country, not your petty idea of what an “issue” is

Mute Joe Keogh
    Favourite Joe Keogh
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:07 AM

@Breda Jennings: The people voted to keep this waste of space open.

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:52 PM

I wonder will these two Senators be going to either the Dublin or Mayo league games in February,Somehow I don’t think so.

Mute Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Favourite Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:30 PM

Neither TD’s nor Senators should be getting privileges like these, the sooner the realise they put on their pants one leg at a time, just like the rest of use, the better. Unless I’m mistaken and they do in fact have “dressers” to help them get ready in the morning. Maybe there is a Dresser Expense?! If so will we someday have claims for mental distress from dressers who saw things they can never unsee. Regardless, TD’s, in theory anyway, do far more important work so if anyone is getting tickets it’s that shower. The upper house needs to start acting like the upper house! In short, go and shte.

Mute Point Blank
    Favourite Point Blank
    Oct 13th 2016, 6:19 AM

The emperor has no clothes.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Oct 13th 2016, 8:24 AM

We had our chance. The upper house has had no real impact since the founding of the state. Ultimate departure lounge. A few notable exceptions of course but mainstream full of brown nosing yes men. Shame on us.

Mute Ed Ucator
    Favourite Ed Ucator
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:20 PM

“It certainly drew a clear line between Dáil Éireann and Seanad Éireann in this case”. So as long as they’re the other side of the line?

“I never go to any games but I should be entitled to a ticket for the All-Ireland. To hell with a ticket for the wife and kids of the player who hardly sees his family because he trains 5 days a week between club and county after days work.

You know what, I’ll buy them a ticket for the Ladies All-Ireland. That should shut them up.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:33 PM

Aww the poor little self entitled man, his gravy train isn’t as luscious as a TD/Ministers one so he’s whinging in the Seanad about it. Mulherin made a show of herself on the Drivetime last month now this buffoon is doing the same.

Mute Ashling Fenton
    Favourite Ashling Fenton
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:16 PM

Find a corner to die in you moany f#$%wits!!!! (the tds)

Mute David Wool
    Favourite David Wool
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:14 PM

First world problems!

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:29 PM

Please Mr. Kenny give us an other chance to get RID of these wasters. After all it would not be the first time we voted on the same issue.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:36 PM

What a waste of space these oversubscribed plebs have in our lives. Gawd give me strength to do no harm……because I am mightily sick of these PARASITES or in common language MAGPIES

Mute Steve Mac
    Favourite Steve Mac
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:39 PM

Am I allowed say go f**k yourself?

Mute boildyeggs
    Favourite boildyeggs
    Oct 13th 2016, 12:16 AM

Yes

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:19 PM

Like Elsa said lads, let it go!

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Oct 12th 2016, 11:48 PM

Dear lord. This is the party running the country. # embarrassingtwits.

Mute boildyeggs
    Favourite boildyeggs
    Oct 13th 2016, 12:14 AM

Aleppo is disappearing under a cloud of dead children and these gomsheens can only discus themselves and……oh foook it words have left me.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Oct 13th 2016, 12:32 AM

Jesus Christ,no wonder we are where we are.talk about self obsessed,greedy,elitist,arrogant,opinion they have of themselves.

Mute Seamus Brady
    Favourite Seamus Brady
    Oct 13th 2016, 12:22 AM

Tough sh!t get a life and do some of the work you’re supposed to do

Mute Alan Baldwin
    Favourite Alan Baldwin
    Oct 13th 2016, 3:35 AM

If her crib is, that TDs get them and she doesn’t maybe the GAA just take the tickets off the TDs too, god she’s some ball bag

Oct 13th 2016, 1:22 AM

We need a change from the same old system that benefits the few. Up the people.

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Favourite Andrew Corcoran
    Oct 13th 2016, 7:40 AM

Dear Michelle Mulherin, I like many other working class people, buy a season ticket every year so I have the opportunity to watch my team if they get to a final. But your plight has touched my heart. I shed tears when I first heard your story Michelle. How wholly unjust it was that you couldn’t get a ticket to support your beloved Mayo in their quest for the holy fail. Well fear not Michelle, I will pledge you my ticket for the 2017 final if Mayo get there. I urge everyone in a similar position to give up their hard worked for tickets also. Because Michelle so obviously deserves it more than you do.

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Favourite Andrew Corcoran
    Oct 13th 2016, 7:41 AM

*Holy grail! Though fail is also apt ☺

Mute Rusty Nuts
    Favourite Rusty Nuts
    Oct 13th 2016, 7:01 AM

Plenty of roles for mulherin in the Kenyan seanad, it’s almost as feeble but the weather is great!

Mute JFN
    Favourite JFN
    Oct 13th 2016, 7:49 AM

Nominated senators are different, they’re people who aren’t popular enough to be elected democratically

Mute Eóghain Pádraig MacEochagáin
    Favourite Eóghain Pádraig MacEochagáin
    Oct 13th 2016, 7:15 AM

Whingers with a sense of entitlement. Get lost

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    Oct 13th 2016, 6:56 AM

Oh for f##k sake

Mute Kevin Mullen
    Favourite Kevin Mullen
    Oct 13th 2016, 7:30 AM

The people told them to f**k of after the last election, are they deaf

Mute Shane Farrell
    Favourite Shane Farrell
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:01 AM

It’s no wonder this country is f$$$ed. what a crowd of fools. We are worse for putting up with failed politicians and Enda’s cronies!

Mute Peter Mc Hugh
    Favourite Peter Mc Hugh
    Oct 13th 2016, 8:24 AM

Greedy, useless, fat cats. Support your local club and you’ll get a ticket. You don’t represent the people, those of you not given a free seat in the Seanad are there because of an exceptionally elitist election process.

Mute vNblxOSQ
    Favourite vNblxOSQ
    Oct 13th 2016, 8:33 AM

Why are we still feeding these gondolas???

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Oct 13th 2016, 8:53 AM

Come on Enda let us vote to abolish them again….I think the clowns who voted against it might not be so foolish this time.

Mute ballbreaker
    Favourite ballbreaker
    Oct 13th 2016, 10:11 AM

The way they talk and the language used…..such pompous pr..ks

Mute Will Byrne
    Favourite Will Byrne
    Oct 13th 2016, 10:34 AM

Who the f*ck are these people!? Elected by nobody to represent nobody but themselves until they fail again at the next election. Although you’ve gotta take your hat off to them, trying to get as much out of the gravy train while they’re on it!

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Oct 13th 2016, 11:14 AM

A useless club for FAILED politicians

Mute Franko
    Favourite Franko
    Oct 13th 2016, 4:25 PM

This is an interesting sense of entitlement from people who have not been elected by public plebiscite. It is right and proper that the GAA does not favour senators over the members of the public who attend games for the love of the sport rather than to be seen. In addition, a senator represents a panel, a college or the Taoiseach’s choice – all national rather than regional constituencies. Hence the GAA are justified.

Mute amanda
    Favourite amanda
    Oct 13th 2016, 1:41 PM

Go buy a season ticket for their county if they want one that badly

Mute Ken Loughman
    Favourite Ken Loughman
    Oct 13th 2016, 1:02 PM

If only we’d known during the run-up to the referendum on abolishing the Seanad that this was going to happen then the result might’ve been different…

Mute Franko
    Favourite Franko
    Oct 13th 2016, 4:29 PM

The GAA are justified in not providing preferential treatment to senators. They are elected an elite rather than the public, which makes them not as special as TDs who face a popular vote. In addition, they represent national rather than rural constitencies.

Mute Thomas Linehan
    Favourite Thomas Linehan
    Oct 13th 2016, 2:51 PM

Will ye give it a rest

Mute Moya Power-kelly
    Favourite Moya Power-kelly
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:31 PM

How many of them go to matches I sick off people jumping on the band wagon when it comes to finals and haven’t gone to other matches what makes them more important than me or other football