You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mourners at the funeral of Alan Ryan on Saturday Julien Behal/PA Wire

15 people still being held over Alan Ryan funeral

Gardaí have released two men from custody after the major search operation yesterday which saw seventeen people arrested.

GARDAÍ HAVE RELEASED from custody two of the seventeen people arrested yesterday as part of an investigation into dissident activity at the funeral of a Real IRA member.

Fourteen men and one woman are still being detained at a number of garda stations across Dublin and Meath after a major search operation yesterday which saw imitation guns, mobile phones and computers seized.

Gardaí have set up an incident room at Clontarf garda station and say they are investigating the possession and discharge of guns at the funeral of Real IRA member Alan Ryan’s funeral in Donaghmede in Dublin 13 on Saturday.

More than 200 Gardaí were involved in yesterday’s major search and arrest operation into subversive paramilitary activity.

All of those arrested can be held for up to 72 hours under the Offences Against the State Act.

Previously: One more arrested in today’s ‘Operation Ambience’ Garda raids >

Read: Ryan family to make formal complaints about gardaí and newspapers >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

140 Comments
    Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Sep 14th 2012, 8:57 AM

Good work, hopefully there will be enough evidence to charge each and every one of them.

Mute Bobo Burns
    Favourite Bobo Burns
    Sep 14th 2012, 9:08 AM

With what? Attending a funeral??

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Sep 14th 2012, 9:19 AM

They’re investigating the possession and discharge of guns Bobo.
    That’s probally what they’ll charge them with. As well as some crimes against fashion I’d hope.

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Sep 14th 2012, 9:32 AM

Bobo Burns, you know well why they are being held and what the Gardai wish to charge them with,

These people can’t just selectively decide to ignore the laws of the Irish state because it suits the cause they claim to represent.

Mute Luke McDermott
    Favourite Luke McDermott
    Sep 14th 2012, 9:36 AM

Membership of a terrorist organisation.

Mute kevin connolly
    Favourite kevin connolly
    Sep 14th 2012, 9:50 AM

Hope they got out in time to return their action men costumes to the rental shop…

Mute Tom Lewis
    Favourite Tom Lewis
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:00 PM

Duh

Mute mcbab
    Favourite mcbab
    Sep 14th 2012, 9:04 AM

Yes good work and the Garda can be assured that they have the support of every law abiding citizen I would hope.

Mute ternando forres
    Favourite ternando forres
    Sep 14th 2012, 10:28 AM

The gospel according to joe Duffy…….i heard he was just back from africa after doing important missionary work for concern too!! no harm to ya Tom but step out into the real world for a minute like a good man

Mute Ian Jennngs
    Favourite Ian Jennngs
    Sep 14th 2012, 10:37 AM

Stood up against drug dealers?? He was running a protection racket! He didn’t care who sold drugs anywhere as long as they paid him first!

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 10:48 AM

Ian Jennings, what are you basing your claims on ? Would it be the unreliable rags who would say anything to sell a paper ? Either you are pushing an agenda or you are very, very naive.
    As I said, I didn’t know the man, and I dont support his group. I’m just saying what I have heard on the radio etc.

Mute Leigh Power
    Favourite Leigh Power
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:04 PM

So if you read X in a paper it’s false but if you hear Y on the radio then it’s true? If I see Z on the tv or the interwebz is that true or false?

Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:30 PM

you’re not listening to what he’s saying

he’s saying that someone with no award to gain and no favour to curry from the locality is a far more credible source than some careerist journo

What is so illogical about that?

Mute Leigh Power
    Favourite Leigh Power
    Sep 14th 2012, 5:12 PM

Nothing illogical about it, it’s just dishonest. From what I gather he was friends with Alan Ryan and had the same beliefs. He’s hardly a source of impartial unbiased information.

I’d tend to place more faith in the journalist to present a truer picture.

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Sep 14th 2012, 5:58 PM

Tom he was running a protection racket and don’t come on here trying to convince people that Ryan and he cronies put drug dealers out of business they charge them protection and also do the same to legitimate business. Isn’t on of Ryan’s right hand men in prison for that very offence commuted in the name of the RIRA. And yes he was a member of said band of cowards

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 9:58 AM

What’s worrying is the fact the Gardai seem to be putting more energy into harassing the Family of this man who was killed than trying to find his killers. I heard on the radio last night that Gardai have arrested all of the dead mans brothers even though they were clearly not involved in any firing of weapons as they were carrying the coffin, and apparently the Gardai took €700 from the mother of the man who was shot dead during the raid on the house.

Also heard on the Joe Duffy show that members of the Garda special branch where laughing and joking about Alan Ryan’s demise when they arrived at the scene of the CRIME, poking fun at the way he was shot dead, this in front of the deceased family and loved ones, it also took them 15 minutes for the first Gardai to arrive at the scene, this despite the fact Alan Ryan was supposed to be under 24 hour surveillance.

I didn’t know Alan Ryan and I dont support his group, but according to the locals where he lived he was a decent fella who helped people in the community in any way he could, the fact the majority of you base your opinions of this man on nothing more than media spin and propaganda is sad and disappointing, Ireland seems to be a nation of sheep, easily led and manipulated by the gombeen class.

I think the state powers that be got a bit of a fright after seeing 2000 people turn out for the funeral of a member of a what they describe as a micro group.

I dont condone shooting in the street, nor do I condone the shooting down of anyone on the streets in Ireland.

Mute Gavin Tracy
    Favourite Gavin Tracy
    Sep 14th 2012, 10:06 AM

And I’m sure what you heard on Joe Duffy was also speculation in the Media. Your speculating about how they were treated at the time of ye murder, where you there????

Mute Floodzie
    Favourite Floodzie
    Sep 14th 2012, 10:19 AM

So what if they were laughing? I’d be laughing too – this guy’s associates are responsible for killing police officers in Northern Ireland. What do you expect – tears??

Mute Irish Red
    Favourite Irish Red
    Sep 14th 2012, 10:22 AM

“Alan Ryan and I dont support his group, but according to the locals where he lived he was a decent fella who helped people in the community in any way he could” Huh? Are you living in the real world? This is not the impression of him given by locals who were not afraid to speak out.

I agree with Gerard, hopefully the gardai can bring charges and take some of these idiots off the streets. They may use my country’s flag but they don’t represent me!

Mute Michael Fagan
    Favourite Michael Fagan
    Sep 14th 2012, 10:23 AM

Very Well Said Tom Rooney, People base their their beliefs ón media spin and propaganda and refuse toconsider the facts of the situation. A man shot dead ón the streets and the Gardai send 200 men out to investigate those who attended the funeral
    Confiscating toy guns mobile phones and computers.
    The murderers must feel very confident

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 10:24 AM

Gavin, what I heard on the Joe Duffy show was a testimony from a man who was there at the time of the shooting.
    Therefore it is not speculation but proof that members of the Gardai were laughing and joking about the man’s death in front of his family and friends, they guy on the show stated that it was not all Gardai but just the Garda special detective unit in particular, apparently the uniformed Gardai and members of the drugs squad were disgusted by the behaviour of the special branch and offered their condolences to the dead man’s family.

We all know there are some very decent Gardai, but you would be mad to think there are not some rotten apples in the force too.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 10:31 AM

Irish Red, I presume you live nowhere near the area and know nobody who does but from what I’ve heard from people with no interest in politics, he was a decent fella who stood up against drug dealers and paid with his life for doing so. If he was such a major criminal why was he broke ? Why could he not afford to tax his car ? Pay for his child’s creche and why was he driving an oul banger of a motor and still living with his mother ? Doesn’t actually match with the picture painted by the media does it.

Mute Winston
    Favourite Winston
    Sep 14th 2012, 11:22 AM

He had his own home and his mother lived nearby. No local will talk to the press about this issue out of fear. They had to endure the spectacle of black flags hanging from posts in their area in recognition of this thug and were petrified to do anything about it.

Thankfully, on the day of the swoop, the opportunity was taken to remove these flags and paint over the graffiti mourning his death.

You need to brush up on your facts. NO ONE wants to live beside ANYONE from the RIRA… Unless they have two brain cells keeping each other company.

Mute Irish Red
    Favourite Irish Red
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:06 PM

You’re wrong Tom, I do live near the area and in fact have close family members living there.

And.. there are many reasons why people don’t tax cars or pay for creches, its ridiculous to use these questions as a basis for claiming he was an ‘ordinary decent’ fella. I never said he was a criminal but he was certainly a member of a criminal organisation, nobody disputes that.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:21 PM

Irish red, there is a difference between a ‘criminal’ organisation and an illegal one, it would appear Alan Ryan was a member of an illegal organisation but that doesn’t necessarily mean they are a criminal organisation.
    As I have clearly said I do not support these people one bit, but I find it amusing and disappointing that public opinion is so easily manipulated through the media without any proof of the veracity of the stories told.

Mute Irish Red
    Favourite Irish Red
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:28 PM

when it comes to the rIRA, there is very little difference betweeen criminal and illegal pal.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:42 PM

Irish Red, how would you know that ‘pal’
    Are/were you a member of the RIRA ?
    Are you a member of the Garda special detective unit ?
    Or are you basing your opinions on a Sunday rag that spins unverifiable yarns ?

Mute Tom Lewis
    Favourite Tom Lewis
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:03 PM

Well said

Mute Dublin Gent
    Favourite Dublin Gent
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:08 PM

Winston, I’ve read over the last few days bits and pieces in the newspapers/online about the whole community in uproar over this… That’s just not true. Now I don’t spend much time gossiping over in the Post Office or Kay’s Kitchen, but I haven’t seen any truth behind what the media has been saying. Not much care is given about the flags, nor with how the funeral went. People seem to just enjoy turning molehills into mountains.

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Sep 14th 2012, 4:58 PM

Pull the other one Tom, there were armed men in the garden of the house firing shots from assault rifles and the 3 “innocent” brothers were there at the time. Withholding Information is a serious offence under the Offences Against The State Act and had the 3 “innocent” brothers informed Gardai of what they knew then arrests would not have been necessary.

There is no obligation on Gardai to be upset at his or anyone else’s murder and I think you’ll find laughter in a traumatic incident can often be a defence mechanism, not that I’m saying that’s the case here but you can’t say its not.

The €700 I’m sure was reciepted and if proven not to have come from one of the many recent armed raids or any other crime the it will be returned.

The Guards are following up on the murder of Alan Ryan and if Alan Ryan’s brothers want his killers to be caught that badly let them tell the Gardai who fired the shots and allow all the Gardai back to trying to catch the killers. If not the jog on.

Finally if the Joe Duffy show is where you get your information then I would suggest you relax a bit

Mute Albert Steptoe
    Favourite Albert Steptoe
    Sep 14th 2012, 11:43 AM

Tom, I won’t ridicule you.You have heard of the outlawed paramilitary organisation called 32CSM? Well if you have not, take a look at the link I am attaching here, you will see their memorial notice honouring their ” Fallen Comrade ”

http://www.derry32csm.com/

When you have read it, come back and tell us more about this lovely local lad

Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain
    Sep 14th 2012, 12:13 PM

I find that the most obnoxious, brazen, loud mouthed people and those who are most loose with facts on this site tend to hide behind cowardly anonymous facebook or twitter profiles.

I see this is no different with you!

Mute Albert Steptoe
    Favourite Albert Steptoe
    Sep 14th 2012, 12:28 PM

Kerron follow the link again – it is not facebook or twitter. It is the official website of the Derry 32CSM – Stop spinning.

Mute Albert Steptoe
    Favourite Albert Steptoe
    Sep 14th 2012, 12:51 PM

Kerron, my apologies, I didn’t realise it was my profile you were talking about. Well if you read my introductory piece yesterday, one which received 159 green thumbs up, you would know why the profile was created, in order to contribute, not to hang my life up in public as I work on the ground with addicts in the coolock, Darndale areas. When I’m more upto speed on facebook and it’s worth I may expand it. I can tell you that Albert is a character I portray in a drama society in North Dublin, a society made up of reformed addicts and their local supporters so there is nothing dubious in using it here in order to comment.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:14 PM

Albert, I never said he was a ‘lovely local lad’ but unlike yourself I do not base my opinions on information garnered from a rag, edited and written by a journalist who has an agenda to sell books about gangland.
    Sure if there was no crime he’d be out of a job, think about it logically.

PS, as far as I know the 32csm are not an illegal organisation, correct me if I’m wrong.

Mute Irish Red
    Favourite Irish Red
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:19 PM

Not the exact words, but you did say that he was a decent lad Tom:
    “.. but according to the locals where he lived he was a decent fella who helped people in the community in any way he could”

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:26 PM

Irish Red, I dont know you so I dont know if you have a problem with comprehension, but why are you attributing something to me when I clearly explained it was not my personal opinion ?
    Are you intentionally being dishonest in order to push your agenda ?

Mute Albert Steptoe
    Favourite Albert Steptoe
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:28 PM

Tom, the 32CSM are an illegal paramilitary organisation and those arrested in the past 24 hours, if found guilty of membership, will be charged.

Mute Irish Red
    Favourite Irish Red
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:32 PM

@Tom Well make up your mind then!!, what is your own opinion of him? You appear to be standing up for this man from your posts, but using the words of others. You can’t expect to put something like that in a post and not get challenged on it (even if its not your own personal opinion), get real.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:51 PM

Albert, the 32csm are NOT an illegal organisation in Ireland, why are you lying and WHAT IS YOUR AGENDA ?
    Are we to take everything you say as a lie ?
    You have just lost all credibility on here.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:54 PM

Irish Red, I made my position on that clear.
    I did not know Alan Ryan personally so I can not make a comment on him personally.
    Although I am amazed at your ability to cast judgment on the man considering you didn’t know him personally either, what are the sources of your information that led you to form the views you have of Alan Ryan ?

I think objectivity is very important in the face of propaganda and media manipulation, that is my opinion.

Mute Albert Steptoe
    Favourite Albert Steptoe
    Sep 14th 2012, 3:07 PM

@Tom Rooney

32CSM has a worldwide status as FTO – Foreign Terrorist Organisation. That gives it illegal status here, in the UK and the US. It is considered the fundraising arm of the RIRA. Its activities in Dublin are of a fundraising ( demanding protection money) and punishment outfit.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 15th 2012, 5:38 PM

Albert you absolute moron, only the USA has a list of FTO’s that lists any Irish groups on it, US law is not applicable in Ireland, now either you have the IQ of a rock and dont get that simple fact or you are actively pushing some kind of deceitful agenda.

Mute Briny Boy
    Favourite Briny Boy
    Sep 14th 2012, 12:15 PM

Tom, I could demolish your defence of Alan Ryan in a couple of paragraphs but to be honest I don’t see the point because I’m sure you are as aware as anyone else of his criminal past and his ‘membership’ of a terrorist organisation which massacred 29 people in Omagh 14 years ago but you just choose to ignore these important points.
    The other reason I can’t be bothered is that I’m laughing so much at your comments attacking people for just believing what they see and hear in the media yet you use the Joe Duffy Show as an example of people’s ‘testimony’ on this issue. Explain that one to us Tom!

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:04 PM

Briny Boy, your arrogance is palpable, but besides this let me refute your twaddle point by point.

I’m not sure of any ‘criminal’ past or membership of a terrorist organisation, it is not my business to know these things.

As for Omagh, I can tell from your post that you have never really informed yourself of the facts surrounding that tragedy, what do you think about the fact the British forces knew about the plan to plant a bomb in Omagh on that day, not only these but they knew the bomb was set to explode at least an hour before it did, yet for some unknown reason members of the British security forces began to usher people in Omagh towards the bomb instead of away from it.

It has black flag operation written all over it and you would be naive to think it would be beyond the British to perpetrate such an event.

I did not use Joe Duffy as an example of anything, I related the comments from an eye witness of the murder of Alan Ryan who happened to be on the Joe Duffy show, as best as I could tell this guy being a member of the 32csm is not part of the established media.

Next time you try to troll, please try harder.

Mute Albert Steptoe
    Favourite Albert Steptoe
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:19 PM

Tom, your off centre here a bit. Firstly if your going to contribute to a media piece up for discussion, you must be informed on all quarters on it. To give your opinion is welcome in any debate, but be informed, saying it’s not your business to know these things is expecting a bit much from the rest of us, to let your posts go un corrected.

In regard to the Omagh Bomb, 3 different warnings were given, advising 3 different locations for the bomb, deliberately causing confusion, which led to some poor victims being herded into it’s path. The only Black operation here was one carried out by 32csm to ensure maximum deaths. They assembled, transported and detonated the bomb, no one else,so don’t deflect blame elsewhere. The emergency services, including the police could only react to the vague warnings they were given, in the best possible way they could.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:34 PM

Albert, again you make unsubstantiated claims, as far as I’m aware the 32csm had nothing to do with the Omagh bombing. They are a political group not a military group so please, take your own advice and inform yourself of the facts before contributing to any debate.

Secondly, as report by the Police Ombudsman points out, Nuala O’Loan, in December 2001 concluded that people “were let down by defective leadership, poor judgement and a lack of urgency” from the RUC.

Or what about the Gardai who arrested Builder and publican Colm Murphy who was tried, convicted, and then released after it was revealed that the Gardaí forged interview notes used in the case.

Mute Briny Boy
    Favourite Briny Boy
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:48 PM

Tom, if you’re unaware of Alan Ryan’s criminal past then google ‘Alan Ryan Real IRA training camp’ and see what you come up with. You say it’s not your business to know these things but if you come on here defending him then you should make it your business to acquaint yourself with the facts.
    Regarding Omagh, the facts are that the Real IRA planted a massive bomb with the intention to kill and maim as many innocent men, women and children as possible. This they achieved. Those are the facts. I’m not interested in conspiracy theories.
    And by the way I don’t troll because I don’t need to. I make observations backed up by facts. That’s not trolling in most people’s books.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:57 PM

Briny Boy, how do you know what the intentions of the RIRA were ?
    Also I have not put any conspiracy theories forward so you lost me on that one,

I did post statements from the OFFICIAL investigation into the tragedy that points the finger at the RUC who were given adequate warning to clear the area but for reasons only they know they ushered people toward the blast and waited until the last minute to do so.

Also I have not defended Alan Ryan in any way, I didn’t know him personally so I couldn’t factually do so, just like you can’t factually take his character without knowing him.

It is clear he was part of an illegal organisation, but that doesn’t equate to criminal.

Mute Briny Boy
    Favourite Briny Boy
    Sep 14th 2012, 3:30 PM

Tom, did you do that google search for ‘Alan Ryan Real IRA training camp’ yet? It doesn’t sound to me like you did. Come back to me when you have and then we can debate the matter further.

Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain
    Sep 14th 2012, 11:43 AM

Excellent point on the media Tom.

The sad fact is that most of those who comment on this site are clearly not from the Northside of Dublin, much less Donaghmede and Coolock. So where do they get this certainty beyond certainty that the Ryans are the out and out criminals that they are being portrayed as?

Oh but of course from the tabloid gutter press who have countless amounts of libel cases brought against them for spinning yarns out of thin air, character assassination and numerous other unethical journalistic practices! But sure don’t let that little uncomfortable truth get in the way of a good anti-Republican whinge.

Oh and let’s not forget that unquestionable source of truth Paul Williams that others are basing their opinions of these people on! The fool would sell his own Grandmother for a book publishing deal. Williams never names a single source in his drivel and it’s a known fact around Dublin that he spends plenty of time in Branch HQ on Harcourt street drinking tea with those inside. Would this close relationship with the Branch in any way compromise his unbiased opinion in investigative journalism?? no, well if he’s after the right people then he’s allowed to spout lies and slander obviously

Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain
    Sep 14th 2012, 12:05 PM

“Paul Williams amongst journalism, is also a respected author. He has been presented with media awards from leading figures in the Gardai and Department of Justice.”

You said it not me pal ;-)

Thanks for adding further evidence to my point as to why Williams and his ilk can’t be trusted.

You’ve undone yourself! The rest of your post is just, ironically, bitter waffle masked in a pseudo-eloquent style.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Sep 14th 2012, 12:21 PM

Any journalist who gets awards from the state is not doing their job. End of.

Williams is an attention-seeking hack, and a crap writer.

Mute Briny Boy
    Favourite Briny Boy
    Sep 14th 2012, 12:22 PM

@Kerron
    So unless someone is from the Northside of Dublin and specifically from Donaghmede and Coolock, they aren’t qualified to speak with any authority on this issue are they? What a load of horse manure. Don’t patronise or insult people like this. I can guarantee you that the vast majority of people from Coolock and Donaghmede, never mind the Northside of Dublin, would be against everything Alan Ryan and his criminal associates stood for.

And if you reckon Tom has made an excellent point on the media I suggest you read his comments again, specifically the ones about Joe Duffy. He has made a laughing stock of himself and it appears you’re also in this category now.

Mute Albert Steptoe
    Favourite Albert Steptoe
    Sep 14th 2012, 12:25 PM

Kerron, no self respecting Garda or Minister would be seen dead next to a journalist of dubious status. He earned his respect through years of hard work. If my memory serves me correctly it was an outlawed LVF group who shot dead his colleague. You see the these organisations are illegal for a reason. The warped groups you represent have killed more Irishmen than the so called Brits they are supposedly at war with! I mean if that was not so desperate it would be funny. Dad’s Army comes to mind!

Tell you what, why don’t you give us your take on the next 20 years and what your crowd can offer us? Your great at critising the other 4.8 million people that have no respect for those who you represent. In the interest of fairness I would like to here the future according to Kerron, supported with historical precedence of course! You might tell us about the thousands of jobs you and your ilk are creating North and South and which countries you have visited on job creation initiatives. Jaysus, I might even join ya myself if I saw your lot creating something positive for the future.

Mute Irish Red
    Favourite Irish Red
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:10 PM

eh I am from the northside, living near there Kerron, … and I still think you’re wrong. Please stop thinking you’re speaking on behalf of Donaghmede and Coolock, you’re not (and neither am I for that matter).

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Sep 14th 2012, 6:24 PM

Your not from there either Kerron

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 10:33 AM

Ternando, come back when you have something intelligent to say or worth talking about, like a good man.

Mute Gavin Tracy
    Favourite Gavin Tracy
    Sep 14th 2012, 10:47 AM

Hear say, anyone can ring joe Duffy and say they are anybody!!

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 10:49 AM

Gavin it was the guy who was with Alan Ryan, it wasn’t hear say.
    But anyway, you kind of made my point for me, thanks. The media can not be trusted, just funny how you are so selective about what you will and wont accept as truth.

Mute Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Favourite Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Sep 14th 2012, 10:52 AM

Tom, you’ve tossed out nothing but ill-informed opinions yourself!!

Mute Gavin McGuinness
    Favourite Gavin McGuinness
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:37 PM

“The media can not be trusted” – With all due respect, neither can Paul Stewart. I’d sooner believe the media than criminals.

Mute Alberto
    Favourite Alberto
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:56 PM

tom I’ve a feeling your just trying to stir the pot here because he was a member of the real Irish republican army who on their own admission are involved in crime throughout the country. Ryan was well known around the estate for being a low life, demanding money from a lot of businesses and pubs around. he had security company and used that to front.it. you are basing all your facts from neverneverland as far as I can see, mine is from the area where he’s from. good riddance in my humble opinion

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:42 PM

Alberto, when have the so called RIRA ever claimed to be involved in criminality ?
    From what I’ve read they even execute their own members if they are caught doing so, remember that guy who was a member of their org who was shot dead up north for being involved in a cannabis growing operation ?
    It just doesn’t add up Alberto.
    I seriously doubt you are from the area at all and suspect you are just another troll.

I dont support them but I dont believe the crap in the media either.

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Sep 14th 2012, 6:02 PM

Tom the guy who was with Ryan would be a bit biased would he not? Would you expect him to complement the Police?

Mute Kieran Fitzgerald
    Favourite Kieran Fitzgerald
    Sep 14th 2012, 7:49 PM

So what saying is that the rira never do anything illegal and if one of these barely literate thugs that seem to make up their membership are caught doing something illegal that they are in turn executed? Sounds sketchy to me.

Mute Albert Steptoe
    Favourite Albert Steptoe
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:53 PM

Kerron the important thing here to keep sight of is that you contribute on behalf of an illegal paramilitary organisation. I am just an ordinary Joe with an ordinary but rewarding job in my community. I help those who have fallen in life because of addictions. Your organisation supports those who demand drug taxes from dealers or else they kneecap them or cut their fingers off – which is what the most recent victim had done to him by them.

Mute Alberto
    Favourite Alberto
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:39 PM

here here Albert

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 3:07 PM

Albert, Alberto, very similar names espousing identical views, cheering each other on.

Mute Albert Steptoe
    Favourite Albert Steptoe
    Sep 14th 2012, 3:12 PM

@Tom you are grasping now, the chap has nothing to do with me, but while we are on such a wave are you sure you are not Kerron’s alter ego? Both of you seem to be attracting the same red flags. I hope not, that would be just too funny!!!

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 11:34 AM

I’m guessing there are a lot of bored Gardai reading the Journal when they should be working for the tax payer.

Mute Helen
    Favourite Helen
    Sep 14th 2012, 11:51 AM

That’s such a brilliant educated guess, Tom. Sure there’s actually a special unit in the guards working on ‘Operation Joe’ as we speak . It involves a number of highly trained, high performing guards listening to Joe Duffy and other stations every day and then scouring media sites and forums to post responses to people like you.

I wouldn’t believe a word of what someone on Joe Duffy said. You are criticizing people who blindly read papers and believe what the media tell us. Are you not doing exactly that by believing everything this guy on Joe Duffy spoke about. Surely if he’s a friend of the deceased he would be biased?

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:08 PM

Did I hit a nerve Gard ? Oh I mean Helen.
    Look, I’m not here the bash the Gardai, there are some very decent members of An Gardai Siochana but there are also some members of the Gardai who not be fit to police a junior disco.
    If the good members of the force continue to get defensive and aggressive about this uncomfortable fact then there is no hope that the Gardai will become a modern professional force along the lines of the Police forces in the rest of Europe.

Mute Mike Brennan
    Favourite Mike Brennan
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:35 PM

I’m sure even ‘bored Gardai’ avail of time off as well Tom. I doubt everyone who differs with you here is an undercover media detective lol. You are spending a lot of time here yourself I notice and are becoming a bit of a joke at this stage. You must have an understanding employer as well.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:48 PM

Very true Mike, Gardai are entitled to a day off too. Anyway, I was just light heartedly commenting on that point, but on a serious note, was it painful when they extracted your sense of humour down in templemore ?

Mute Alberto
    Favourite Alberto
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:04 PM

tom when you start slagging and putting down fellow posters it just proves you have no meaningful argument. have to say people like you make me laugh, but I suppose we need people like you on here to keep us amused!

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:18 PM

Alberto, who have I slagged or put down ?
    What the hell or you twaddling about ?

Mute Alberto
    Favourite Alberto
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:36 PM

laughing tom….laughing loudly!

Mute Helen
    Favourite Helen
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:55 PM

@Tom. I’m not a ‘gard’ as you call it. I’m also not a guard for that matter. Please continue to make assumptions about me and ignore my question though, it’s funny.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 4:10 PM

Helen, your pompous arrogance is without any substance to justify it.
    The shortened version of Gardai is Gard, not Guard, Guard is an English word whereas Gardai is an Irish word, please be sure to have a valid point before you try to be a smart ass again.

Mute Helen
    Favourite Helen
    Sep 14th 2012, 6:23 PM

@Tom. I think the singular form of gardai is garda, not gard? I’m not a fluent Irish speaker by any means but I’m pretty sure that’s the case….I stand corrected if I’m wrong. I have no problem admitting I’m wrong….I wonder do you?

It’s a bit rich for you to say I’m pompous and arrogant. I wrote a few lines in response to you and you’re arrogant enough to assume you know my occupation? You’ve written a lot more than a few lines on this article but I’ve been respectful enough not to write all of my assumptions about you…

Mute Nikolas Koehler
    Favourite Nikolas Koehler
    Sep 14th 2012, 7:33 PM

@ Tom – what language are you writing in? It appears to be English, so “guard” is correct.

Mute Albert Steptoe
    Favourite Albert Steptoe
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:22 PM

I have not quoted from any Sunday rag nor referred to one in any of my posts Tom, you might expand on that one. Kerron does not have sources of information, he spouts wiki waffle and once again is ducking and weaving. I am still waiting on his plans for a bright future for Ireland based on his ideology or to be more precise the ideology of the outlawed organisations he supports.

Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:31 PM

And there you go again with your arrogance. Why the hell should I waste any more time typing for someone who’s done nothing but type insults for the last hour!? I don’t think any movement that brings about fundamental change in Irish society needs the cynicism that you harbour.

But here is one of our policy papers, because it’s Friday

http://www.eirigi.org/pdfs/socialism.pdf

and where are you getting this wikipedia obsession from? what basis do you have for such a claim? have you cross-referenced some of my historical facts against wikipedia??

Mute Irish Red
    Favourite Irish Red
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:32 PM

Insults? I don’t think so.

Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:35 PM

they were deleted by an admin

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:36 PM

In fairness, Albert has thrown numerous insults Kerron’s way and he has not responded in kind. Disagree with him if you like, but firing around insults just makes you look like you have nothing of worth to say for yourself.

Mute Albert Steptoe
    Favourite Albert Steptoe
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:39 PM

Kerron, your ducking again. No insults have been directed at you. I have engaged you on your tripe, no more no less. As I said earlier your a lyrical troll, wrapped in a Tricolour, blowing a paddies day whistle and spouting the nonsense of an outlawed paramilitary organisation. You and your ilk do not acknowledge either government nor the police forces of North and South. Not much chance then of positive change coming about when your patriots will not sit down North or South and contribute more than vigilantism to the Ireland of Tommorrow.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:48 PM

Albert

If memory serves you called him a ‘bitter moron’ and a ‘threat to national security’ !

Mute Albert Steptoe
    Favourite Albert Steptoe
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:57 PM

@Petr

Any member or supporter of outlawed paramilitary organisations have been deemed a threat to National security and such membership is classed as a criminal offence against the state – I can’t be clearer than that.

Mute Alberto
    Favourite Alberto
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:23 PM

kerron fundemental change in Irish society???????? can you explain further??? as far as I’m and a lot of people are concerned your “movement” is fighting an archaic battle which no matter how many murders these “movements” are involved in has and will not make a blind bit of difference.

Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:39 PM

now you’re just plain lying Albert

“You see Kerron, your just a twisted bitter moron, an enemy of the state actually, with nothing to offer but grey horizons and campfire stories of long ago in Belfast. Your way and the way of those you support offer nothing but misery to the future Irish. You thrive in poverty stricken areas North and South, feeding off these poor souls misery, encouraging them to come down the road with you, pretending they will be better for it.”

sound familiar??

Tom is indeed correct when he says you have lost all credibility

Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:41 PM

Yes Alberto, fundamental change. In need not come about through violent means and my own opinion is that it shouldn’t.

The point is though that neither state on this island are anything to aspire to, and it is my belief that they need replacing with a new All-Ireland socialist republic

Mute Albert Steptoe
    Favourite Albert Steptoe
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:58 PM

Kerron your fundamental change for Ireland is one that is supported by criminals, enough said.

Mute Albert Steptoe
    Favourite Albert Steptoe
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:47 PM

Tom I have the report right here in front of me on the Omagh Bombing, and you have quoted directly from it. Now go on down to the next paragraph that refers to the warnings my post relates to.

Kerron, yesterday you engaged a number of posters on a Republican topic going back to 1798. The pieces you quoted were taken from WIKI, hence my reference to WIKI here. keep an eye on your posts from yesterday. I guess I am not the only contributor here that will not be blinded by your tripe.

As for the removed comment, it did not include insults or bad language. It included fact with certified web links which was removed. Perhaps I was not permitted to link the page or perhaps it disappeared into cyber space so I will give you the benefit of the doubt on that one.

Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:49 PM

You’re a liar and a wind up merchant pal

away with you.

Mute Alberto
    Favourite Alberto
    Sep 14th 2012, 3:15 PM

Kerron as I’ve said before you should keep your “fight” up in great britian. us people here in the republic of Ireland don’t care, honestly. we have 26 lovely counties. if your from this country, put your passport in your back pocket and travel north to great britian, we don’t need you taking your “fight” down in the republic of Ireland

Mute Stephen Gill
    Favourite Stephen Gill
    Sep 14th 2012, 3:10 PM

Fair play Albert Steptoe you are spot on. We can see what straw men these people are by drawing them out and highlighting the dubious policies they want to stuff down our throats by force of arms. I dont hear any mention of democratic process. This country is one of the most successful democracies in the world. Though far from perfect I am proud to be one of its citizens. Whats on offer from these neo stalinist groups is a country of show trials, secret police, death squads, gulags & torture for those that dont toe the line.

Mute Albert Steptoe
    Favourite Albert Steptoe
    Sep 14th 2012, 3:23 PM

@STEPHEN

Thank you. I think as you can see from the contributors responses to Kerron and his beliefs that he has no following here, much less on a national basis, North or South. Kerron is a great orator, however it is done from a fancy apartment in an affluent suburb miles away from the heart of Darndale and Belcamp where I am proud to walk the street each day.
    Yes we have our issues and there are thousands out here who will fight to make positive changes. I am delighted to see so many thumbs down to Kerron and his ilk whose so called fundamental change for Ireland is supported by the gun toting lunatics of yesterday. We have a right to speak out, but we must also be careful, protect our identities as Kerron and his outfit cannot be trusted and there is no point in getting a beating because you disagree with them.
    They call us keyboard warriors when we take them on in online forums but as sure as chips are chips, if my true identity was up here, some yob from their vast army of non entities would surely visit me at home. Sad fact, but true.

Mute Briny Boy
    Favourite Briny Boy
    Sep 14th 2012, 3:43 PM

You’re spot on Albert. It’s sad that people have to hide behind profiles when debating these kind of things but that’s the reality of the situation. Is it worth a knock on the door from some knuckle dragger armed with a knife or worse? I don’t think so. I think it’s fairly obvious what the likes of Kerron and Tom are up to but as you said yourself, the constant thumbing down of their comments speaks volumes. And no amount of online shouting down is going to silence people.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 4:21 PM

Stephen Gill, you must be insane.
    Ireland is one of the biggest failures in the democratic world, our politicians sold out our futures and our children’s futures just to keep their EU overlords happy.

Although I dont support the people in the 32 csm I recognise that there is little difference between them and the incompetent morons that inhabit leinster house, the same incompetents who will directly be responsible for the poverty of thousands of those Irish citizens you claim to adore so much.

These same incompetents will are responsible for the mismanagement of our economy resulting in a generation of debt slavery never before seen in Ireland.

So please, spare us your twaddle about how great Ireland’s democracy is, the truth is there is no real democracy in Ireland, it is a myth perpetuated by the illusion that your vote actually matters, here’s news for you, it doesn’t matter, it is irrelevant who you vote for because they are all self serving careerist gombeens looking to feather their own nest and they have done more damage to Ireland than 10 IRA’s could ever do.

Mute Shox121
    Favourite Shox121
    Sep 14th 2012, 4:33 PM

You also have my support in everything you say Albert.
    I don’t waste my time arguing with these people because I’ll never change their mind.
    I’m just glad they only have a tiny support base.
    The vast majority of people in this great country will never support them.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 10:55 AM

Nuffsaid, that is a matter of opinion.

Mute Mike Brennan
    Favourite Mike Brennan
    Sep 14th 2012, 12:12 PM

I listened to the same Joe Duffy show and unless I’m mistaken the unfortunate gentleman who happened to be with Ryan at the time of his murder has nothing but disdain for the Gardai. That’s his own business, but it was obvious from what he said himself that he has no intention of assisting them in this investigation. It must surely be a disadvantage to an optimum investigation when a key witness declines to assist and cooperate fully. Spin works both ways and nobody will ever convince me that if Ryan was such a ‘decent fella’ he would have met his end like this purely because of his political beliefs or purely because he made a stand against drug dealers. Is this simply the case? Regardless of what you say the Gardai rightly acted on the events surrounding his funeral during the week. They were criticised by many people for ‘idly’ standing by while armed at a funeral where guns were fired. Of course it was the correct decision, given the volatile mix of mourners and gun touting amateurs. If they acted here there could have been more tragedy. I’m sorry if I offend anyone here but people aren’t stupid and the organisation that Alan Ryan was a member of is a danger to this state. As far as I know membership of such organisations still remains a criminal offence in this country. The Gardai are dead right to investigate these people and I would be just as sure that they will also investigate Ryan’s killing. No one would should die like Alan Ryan but the man was not the saint some people suggest. This being said I feel sorry for the parents of any young man who is gunned down in such a fashion.

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Sep 14th 2012, 6:19 PM

Tom you are a troll or a fool I’m just not sure yet, keep talking

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Sep 14th 2012, 6:19 PM

Tom you are a troll or a fool I’m just not sure yet, keep talking

Mute Damien Aulsberry
    Favourite Damien Aulsberry
    Sep 14th 2012, 5:21 PM

Kerron,
    I have a question, In your Opinion, why was Alan Ryan murdered, was it that
    He was eradicating drug dealing in his community and the dealers wanted him killed
    or
    He was extorting money from these drug dealers and they wanted him killed

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Sep 14th 2012, 7:09 PM

Oh Kerron little Kerron where are you

Mute Peter Nolan
    Favourite Peter Nolan
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:04 PM

Astonishingly, the Gardai are capable of investigating more than one murder at a time. They’re investigating those who attended the funeral and whose activities there gave rise to a reasonable suspicion of their involvement in a number of murders. It’s not surprising that they’ve done so.

It also says nothing about whether or not they actively pursing those suspected of Ryan’s murder. Whatever anyone’s feelings about Ryan, those who killed him are also a menace to the wider public and there’s no reason to suspect the Gardai are uninterested in apprehending them.

Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain
    Sep 14th 2012, 5:10 PM

I think it’s worth noting that there is an over-abundance of dodgy twitter and facebook accounts posting on these stories related to Alan Ryan as opposed to other stories

Accounts that are anonymous or that have no tweets or no facebook friends and that seem overly familiar with Garda legislation used to suppress the IRA

Would make you wonder

Mute Albert Steptoe
    Favourite Albert Steptoe
    Sep 14th 2012, 5:26 PM

The only thing “dodgy” is you Kerron and your “Pal” Tom.
    Kinda funny you both use that word in your posts.
    Poor old Kerron thinks we are all gardai posting anonymously online to suppress the IRA!
    Jaysus I have heard it all now – your a funny man alright.

Mute Briny Boy
    Favourite Briny Boy
    Sep 14th 2012, 5:51 PM

@Kerron
    I think it’s worth noting that you seem particularly annoyed you can’t find out people’s real names. Why is that so?

I would encourage people to not reveal their real identities when discussing terrorist organisations because you never know what kind of lunatics are lurking about online.

Mute Albert Steptoe
    Favourite Albert Steptoe
    Sep 14th 2012, 6:17 PM

Notice how he has moved away from his alignment to EIRIGI and now refers to garda suppression of the IRA? Your a sinister individual Kerron, with a sinister agenda, and it would be best if you found yourself another forum to spout on. The folks here all see through your twisted ideology and the sinister creepy little schit sitting in front of his keyboard.

Legislation in Ireland does not suppress the IRA – It ensures that the innocent honest people of Ireland are protected from all forms of criminal activity and fringe terrorist organisations – that’s you and your ilk!

Tá do lá a dhéanamh

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Sep 14th 2012, 6:48 PM

Many reasons for this Kerron the main one is probably self preservation. You claim no one on here is from Ryan’s area and therefore only know stories from the media yet you yourself are not from the area but feel entitled to support him. How do you know him?

Mute Mike Brennan
    Favourite Mike Brennan
    Sep 14th 2012, 8:37 PM

Make you wonder what exactly? That this is all orchestrated by imposters here to undermine your organisation and the memory of Alan Ryan and to make you look foolish. I’m sorry but you did that to yourself and you got your comeuppance here today by more intelligent and persistent posters like Albert who wiped the floor with you. At least he has more substance to him to positively involve himself in the community than to be bothered with checking people’s twitter/Facebook identities in in indignant defeat and paranoia, hinting at intimidation. If people don’t want to put up a picture or login via Facebook they are perfectly entitled to and it doesn’t make them any less entitled to an opinion.

Mute Albert Steptoe
    Favourite Albert Steptoe
    Sep 14th 2012, 4:40 PM

@Tom – consider the following:

No one in the current Dail will march through your neighbourhood in military costume firing bullets in the air.
    The current government are clearing up the last governments mess and in economic terms that is costing the man in the street, but when I look at Spain and Greece, I think we escaped lightly.
    The bulk of blame can be laid at builders and bankers – not with FG / labour.
    Tom Feely, a renowned paramilitary man and dodgy builder, left families with nothing in priory hall. He is such a dedicated republican though he recently tried to avail of protection under the Queens courts so as he could get back to scamming innocent families as quickly as possible. Some Republican al-right, screwed his fellow Irishman and sought refuge from the Queen.
    Our little old country has battle scars but they are healing and we are choosing to forget and move on.Life is for living free, not in fear of republican gun or criminal. I look forward to tommorrow, it’s all we have.

Mute Albert Steptoe
    Favourite Albert Steptoe
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:09 PM

Poor old Kerron has left the stage after reporting a few of our comments and they are removed for assessment. It ruins the trail of responses and puts the discussion out of kilter. Then again, should we expect anything less of Kerron at this stage? He has a problem in relating to facts and prefers to rely on wiki for his material to wax lyrical here with. Ah well, hopefully the comments will resurface.

Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:15 PM

Will you give it over! I didn’t report anything

Your comments were removed because they were nothing but bitter ad hominem attacks. You are unable to stay on topic and debate the issue of media bias without launching into attacks on my character. Your arrogance and the way you talk about yourself is something to behold though!

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 1:17 PM

Albert your condemnation of Kerron’s sources for information is hypocritical and stupid.
    Considering you base your opinions on what you read in a Sunday rag, ever heard the expression ‘paper never refuses ink’

Mute Tom Lewis
    Favourite Tom Lewis
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:14 PM

Why are so many of you hiding behind no pictures everyone has an opinion but most of you people who claim to know so much about Alan Ryan and his life are hiding your identity what are you afraid of

Mute Dublin Gent
    Favourite Dublin Gent
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:21 PM

Anonymity is an important part of internet culture, Tom. Choosing to hide personal information isn’t reason to distrust someone.. Take it with a grain of salt, perhaps.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:23 PM

It’s probably just the usual agenda setters at work, being paid by the tax payer to flood and spam forums and blogs with their agenda’s.
    That said, everyone should have a right to privacy.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:26 PM

Throwing barbs around behind an anonymous mask is cowardly.

Mute Alberto
    Favourite Alberto
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:32 PM

afraid?? private yes, afraid no. What is your opinion on Mr Ryan?

Mute Albert Steptoe
    Favourite Albert Steptoe
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:51 PM

My reasoning in protecting my online identity is simple really. I live and work in the Darndale / Belcamp area. A lot of the support Kerron’s group attracts is from this area. I would not like my real identity to be known as I would probably end up with petrol in my letter box or a pipe bomb under my car for daring to speak out. I will say my facebook profile is connected to a valid ID and has been validated by facebook.

Mute Shox121
    Favourite Shox121
    Sep 14th 2012, 4:03 PM

Haha. The irony of this post made me laugh.
    No doubt that irony is lost on you though.

Mute Dublin Gent
    Favourite Dublin Gent
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:37 PM

One other key thing to point out that seems to have been misinterpreted: There’s no denying that there was a very large community presence at Alan’s funeral, particularly from locals of Donaghmede who were observed around the church grounds in all of the media images. This doesn’t mean they’re pro-RIRA, a large number who attended would have done so because this is something that will only happen once in a lifetime for most people in the area. On a Saturday morning, what do you do? Sit in watching Home and Away or view a paramilitary funeral on your doorstep?

Mute Albert Steptoe
    Favourite Albert Steptoe
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:54 PM

@Petr, your in no position to comment on anyone’s profile considering you use a photo of Katie Taylor.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Sep 14th 2012, 3:41 PM

I use my real name because I am not a coward. I had my photo up before but changed my Twitter avatar when Katie was fighting and haven’t bothered changing it back.

Mute Albert Steptoe
    Favourite Albert Steptoe
    Sep 14th 2012, 3:46 PM

@Petr the only cowards are those in military fatigue hiding in the backs of vans and masks supported by gun carrying lunatics.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 4:26 PM

The level of ignorance displayed here has demonstrated the total irrationality of the thought process of most of the posters here, the fear is that it is an indication of wider society, I pray it is not.

Perhaps Edward Bernays was correct when he suggested that manipulation of the masses was the only way to ensure a stable society, but one thing is for certain, unless you sheep wake up and start thinking for yourselves instead of relying on agenda driven media and politicians you will live a life of ignorant torment.

Mute Irish Red
    Favourite Irish Red
    Sep 14th 2012, 5:12 PM

oh blah blah blah Tom, change the record. You are relying on media yourself (Joe Duffy, remember), whist castigating it on the other hand. You are quoting hearsay in your posts: a guy that claims he was with Alan Ryan when he was shot (on Joe Duffy), and people in the area you claim say he was ‘decent’ – you are not giving any good solid reason to think that the media have an agenda; quite the opposite, it appears that you do.

Mute Stephen Gill
    Favourite Stephen Gill
    Sep 14th 2012, 5:45 PM

Tom Rooney, I assure you I am not insane. But why do you insinuate that those of us who disagree with your political philosophy are somehow ignorant, insane, irrational or like a herd of sheep? Is this a cunning ploy to try to demean the views of those that do not hold to your view?
    I do not support any political party or hold any strong political views. I am just an ordinary working class bloke who has worked since 14 years of age. I have seen a bit of the world and am quite well read. I am a realist and say it how I see it. I have lived and worked in a failed state so I know what I am talking about. This country is not a failed state, by any means, so don’t try to tell me it is.
    You do not offer any real alternative to what we have. I don’t claim we live in a perfect system because that will never happen. You can dish out the sound bites like an opposition politician. You hold a very negative view of democracy. What is your solution a Theocracy, Dictatorship, or Socialist Utopia I think not. Utopia is a work of fiction by Thomas More. So until you can offer me some viable realistic alternative that is based in the real world I have no more to say on the matter.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Sep 14th 2012, 9:55 PM

Mr Gill, I too have worked since my early teens, its not such a big deal. I have also seen a lotnof the world and a lot of the realities of life first hand. Ireland in its current form is a failing state, since the foundation of the state it has been governed by careerist incompetents, you only have to have a cursory knowledge of the state to realise this. The current crop of gombeens at the mantle have destroyed any chance of finacial security for the majority of Irish people under the age of 40, we the youth and future of this country face decades of austerity and debt slavery, this is wrong on every level, morally and economically. The fact you lend support to this failed regime of dynastic self serving elites says more about you than it does about me. For the record, I am not a socialist, I owe no allegience to any ideology as I am intelligent enough to undersrand there is no one ideology that holds all the answers, but one thing I can say is that I am sincerely, deaperately concerned about my Nation and her people and the widespread apathy of the people that has allowed our Nation to be held liable for debts that are not ours and will burden myself, my children and my childrens, children. Apologies for any spelling or grammar mistakes, typing from my phone aint easy.

Mute Stephen Gill
    Favourite Stephen Gill
    Sep 15th 2012, 1:54 PM

@Tom as I said previously, “until you can offer me some viable realistic alternative that is based in the real world I have no more to say on the matter.”

Mute Albert Steptoe
    Favourite Albert Steptoe
    Sep 14th 2012, 10:46 PM

I see Kerron has not come back and offered answers to the burning questions asked by Damien. There are 2 more questions to be added to Damien’s excellent short and to the point queries. Options 3 and 4 for Kerron and his ilk if you like:

Was he murdered by his own for drawing negative, garda pressing attention on 32CSM?
    Was he murdered by his own for lining his own pockets, instead of kicking all the proceeds of his “fundraising activities” up to his superiors in Derry?

Or was it simply the family and friends of a victim of his cruel tortures, stepped up and said enough is enough, time to despatch this piece of *.

I will close my commentary on this topic. I am a 50 year old man, proud to be Irish through and through, proud to help those around me who are lost, and hopeful that when my day of judgement comes, it will be the god I believe in that will judge me, and not some toe-rag with a handgun.

Goodnight, god-bless those here with a faith of their choosing, and may life offer you more than the grey horizon that Kerron and his ilk can offer. You all create your own lifestyles and the environment you and your families live in – choose wisely, you are good people, and today you let the purveyors of prolonged misery see that you are not afraid to step up and contribute to the Ireland of tommorrow, which we all deserve.

Albert

Mute Mike Brennan
    Favourite Mike Brennan
    Sep 15th 2012, 12:34 AM

Fair play to you Albert.

Mute Dublin Gent
    Favourite Dublin Gent
    Sep 14th 2012, 2:25 PM

I’d love to stay and chat, Tom, as I agree with most of what you’ve said but I’ve a job to get back to. I live in Donaghmede, but I also value my privacy online.

Mute Johnner!
    Favourite Johnner!
    Sep 15th 2012, 1:56 PM

Tom rooney said the Rita are not s criminal organization and they “execute members that are criminals”……..duh tom I think that makes them criminals

Mute Stephen Gill
    Favourite Stephen Gill
    Sep 15th 2012, 7:21 PM

@Johnner I think we have to give the last word to those that have had the benefit of the free education system of our failed state. NOT!!!!!! It is now common practice to insult anyone you do not agree with because it really makes you look so intellectual. This practice is fast becoming best practice in the debating societies in third levell institutions all accross the world.