You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
FINE GAEL’S ALAN Shatter has lost his seat in the Dublin Rathdown constituency.
The former justice minister lost out to the deputy leader of the Green Party Catherine Martin. She is the first Green Party member to be elected.
Fine Gael’s Josepha Madigan also won a seat in the constituency.
This is yet another blow to the Fine Gael party as Fianna Fáil surges ahead.
Shatter was first elected to the Dáil in 1981 and served until 2002 when he lost his seat.
He was re-elected in 2007 and was appointed as Minister for Justice and Equality and Minister forDefence in 2011. However, he resigned in 2014 following the publication of the Guerin report.
Speaking to RTÉ, Shatter said he didn’t agree with Fine Gael’s vote management policy in Dublin Rathdown.
“It is a disappointment we didn’t succeed in getting the two seats,” he said.
Earlier this month, in an interview with TheJournal.ie, the former minister was asked if it rankles with him that he’ll be remembered as a controversial and divisive justice minister.
His reply:
Stuff happens in politics.
While his political career looked over after he lost his seat in 2002, he regained it five years later. He was also thought to be in danger of not winning the party’s nomination for the election this time around – but he did.
He had aspirations of returning to the main table, stating:
I don’t think there’s a politician on any side of the Dáil who doesn’t aspire to be in cabinet.
He even tried some unusual election tactics to seek re-election. As an avid tennis fan, he sought to capture his constituents attention with his campaign tennis balls.
Shatter has produced the colourful bouncy balls, with the slogan ‘Shatter is on the ball’, for every election he has fought going right back to the 1980s.
However, his balls weren’t enough this time and his elimination tonight most likely marks the end of his political career.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
I had the experience of living in Belfast two years ago during the 12th of July “festival” ….being from the south I was warned by locals not to wear any claddagh jewellery or anything with a cross , to get taxis to and from work and try not to speak on the streets because of my accent. The amount of armoured vans sure made it feel family orientated!!! I’m my ignorance I thought we had moved on … let’s just say safe to say I won’t be in Belfast for.another 12th celebration – the one was enough for me.
@Jen Gordon: i spent the first 19 years of my life being barricaded into our estates on July 12 whilst bands paraded past singing sectarian songs and threatening to burn us out. My parents are still there, but like all sensible people, try to arrange holidays over the period. The marching season has not stopped. There’ll be many more to disrupt lives before September. I feel nauseated at the constant attempts to normalise this hatefest
Truth is the working class unionists in the North are in pain after the loss of their manufacturing and engineering industries, and now they have the humiliation of watching the ROI become an economic colossus next to the basketcase Northern statlet. Probably be a couple of generations before they learn to become meek and subservient towards the economic power next door.
Yep, I could make my balance sheet look good too, if I starved my kids, cancelled the familys healthcare, lived out of our car, and allowed my address to be used for multinationals to avoid paying tax.
@Anne Marie Devlin: it was kindhearted people like you that looked out for me when I was there – I was completely ignorant thought it was in the past – came in to work with dinner in tubberware so I didn’t have to go to the shops that were open – some of the kindness people in the world
@Fred Jensen: I was there training in my department to the north because they were cheaper the amount of derogatory comments about me being from the south and I was handing over my own job !
@Free Halawa: There’s another new thing I’ve learned. I had the misconception that most of the loyalest killers were members of the orange order. What I misunderstood was that the orange order and the UVF/ UDA were completely different organizations even though the same people might belong to them. (Just like sinn fein and the ira) and that the orange order is not a sectarian organization that bans catholics from belonging to it (Even loyalist catholics)
I sometimes wonder what motivates people. In the northern corner of our island this week, we have people hoisting coffins with pictures of Martin McGuinness onto bonfires and our national flag being desecrated etc etc. Why is there no outrage in the media? If these individuals were targeting immigrants or some minority group there would be the usual wringing of hands but otherwise there isn’t a word said. Why is this? Why is this animalistic behaviour assisted and not a word said? I have the utmost respect for those of a loyalist and unionist tradition. They’re utterly entitled to their views and fair play to them, but the racism of the bonfire hooligans is a sad reflection on their tradition. However, the most galling thing is the lack of comment and condemnation in our national media.
@Daithí Uí Ciarmhaic: a huge story this week ignored by the Irish media was the exodus of thousands of Irish people from the north over fears they would be victims of “cultural expression.”
@The Risen wrote yesterday: , “you can be anti catholic church or anti organised religion without having a problem with catholics”
The bonfires mostly represent a failure to appreciate history or being fed a history that suits mob convictions . It now seems the Southern counterparts have piggybacked on the same anti -Catholic sentiment but this time through those who like nothing better than to consider spiritual language as fairytales.
At least the Orangemen only march for a short while while the anti-Catholic mob in the Journal comments section is constant.
@Gerald Kelleher: just to clarify people’s animosity towards the Church is based on factual evidence of widespread child abuse by clerics but more importantly the cover up that was called for by the Vatican on such matters. Now you can grown up, admit that or carry on with your wow betide me aren’t I awfully put down by comments by strangers on the Journal
@The Risen: maybe we should start in the south . Hate exists on both sides of the border . The country is choking on it . Thankfully we have a border that separates us . Let’s hope it stays there .
@Tommy Whelan: Or just follow the example shown by the Catholics/non unionist bigots in the 6 counties today, who will be a fine addition to the new republic after reunification.
@The Risen: let’s be honest here a UI for many people in this country has nothing to do with unity . They see the border as some sort of battleground to fight over . To bring two groups of people that hate one another together is a stupid idea . The only thing that will come from it is violence and death . They hate us and we hate them so what’s the point .
@The Risen: In Christianity the only warning for blasphemy was against inspiration/spirit as the life lived solely by convictions is an unforgivable life or a waste of a life. This recent rise in anti-Catholic sentiment in the South based on the failings of the denominational Church morphs into idiotic academic convictions which dilute spiritual language of God into fairytales and what have you. Many in the Journal readership turn out to be a new version of the Orange order and from the same Enlightenment roots but you don’t know it yet.
@The Risen: I notice in your last statement you didn’t include Protestant population in your UI . It’s not really a UI Ireland is it . It’s more like unity between nationalists north and south . You wonder why the unionists will resist a UI at all costs .
@Tommy Whelan: I did actually, under ‘non unionist bigots’ i.e. non catholics who are also not unionist bigots. This would include protestants who were not bigots.
@The Risen: it’s what we call free speech risen . Maybe you heard about . The unionist population in north went to war against the Nazi s in defence of it while our republic leaders sat on their arses and did nothing . The unionist population did more to defend the island of Ireland in the last 100 yrs while the republic did nothing . Maybe we should give them Donegal as well .
@Tommy Whelan: “unionists will resist a UI at all costs” this isn’t the 70′s Tommy, unionism is a dying brand in the modern world, a lot of Protestants in the north don’t want anything to do with the unionists, they are horrified at the terrorism carried out by loyalists in the name of unionism.
Spent a break in Belfast recently. Couldn’t believe they were pitching this as family friendly festival. What do you say to a kid who has very little understanding of tribal politics or the troubles, why the nice deputy first minister’s coffin is being burned in a bonfire?
It’s important to note that the vast majority of people in the north are great craic and just want to get on with their lives. It’s the indoctrination of the younger generation into this tribalism I can’t stand. 19 years after the GFA most young people, particularly from the ‘loyalist tradition’ should only have good memories. But the parades, bonfires and open season hatred remained and the walls stayed up.
@The Risen: that’s absolutely horrible. When will the hatred end?
I couldn’t give a rat’s who fought for who. If they came here as a Viking or as a Scottish planter. What man in the sky they believe in. If they call themselves Irish, British or Northern Irish. None of it matters a bit to me. This hatred, racism, sectarianism, bigotry needs to end. Hopefully now the Brits will see the kind of people that claim kinship with them and their eyes will be opened.
@The Risen: it’s there Culture, racism, sectarianism so dont say anything to annoy them … our government & media is very silent on the burning of out national flag & other effigies
@Darren Bates: It should be the beginning of the end of the DUP/Tory deal. Whatever hatred put McGuinness coffin on the bonfire, they could argue about the troubles in their own bigoted way. But this was something else. This is the same supremacist attitude as the KKK. It shuns the parity of esteem necessary for progress to be made.
@Christopher Doyle: Dobbys rags and RTE would be all over it if nationalists were holding an annual hate orgy, FF/FG would mention it every day in the Dail, they are cowards when it comes to standing up for their own people.
So we are all welcome to come up from the south and watch our flag get brunt, listen to the famine song and enjoy the family day out. Cheers mate….bit like their cousins in America inviting African Americans to a good old cross burning.
Funny how Liam Neeson who is in his 60s remembers the parades being even more sectarian in nature when he was a wee lad, but the contributor on this articles suggests everything was fine until the troubles. Different perspectives are interesting.
@Mr Phil Officer: if i had to listen to that Lambay drum beating up and down my area with one purpose to antagonise catholics.
my father and gf were from that region,,
They have absolutely no relevance anywhere outside of their bigoted sectarian communities , their lifeblood is the demonstration of their domination of the catholic community ,and this is almost at an end , so what is their relevance now , a tourist attraction? , good luck with that one.
‘I ask about the effigies and other offensive slogans placed on the Belfast bonfire last night’ You didn’t do too much research did you Darragh? ‘the Belfast bonfire’ That comment alone undermines your whole article and whatever it was you were trying to prove.
Many bonfires throughout the 6 counties carried effigies, offensive slogans not to mention the many posters of election candidates from all parties outside of Unionism. Indeed a quick perusal of Facebook, Twitter or indeed a quick drive around Belfast or other areas would have shown you this. These slogans, posters etc are often placed on bonfires weeks before but not a peep out of Unionist politicians other than Arlene’s pronouncement that bonfire builders shouldn’t not to ‘play into hands of those wanting to demonise culture’
Tourist attraction? Maybe for those who have sectarian, racist tendencies. As I have read elsewhere, many of the bonfires are akin to the burning crosses of the KKK, some of whose flags were on display near bonfires and on some streets.
Its all beginning to feel a bit like a human zoo,”roll up roll up,come see the past try to maintain relevant,before your very eyes will shall create little fundamentalists”
And the Shinners want to bring these neanderthals into this country by creating a United Ireland. And the icing on the cake is we’d have to subsidize them financially. Great plan.
@Fred Jensen: partition is a failed policy, it has failed the entire island socially, culturally and economically for the best part of a century, that said the orange men should be entitled to hold their parades when a United Ireland eventually happens.
@Fred Jensen: “one of the successful countries in the world”, most of the supposed wealth that was being flushed through the banks didn’t exist, unless you consider a Ponzi scheme and a bankrupt country as successful.
From someone who’s originally from Dublin and lived in Lurgan since the 1990′s until 2000′s, I can assure you that it’s not a tourist attraction. I had petrol bombs thrown at my car, (though I did reverse the car and nearly kill the little pr*ck) much to my bemusement. Missiles thrown at my windows, etc, et alia, ad nauseum. Portadown especially is not a nice place to visit in an Irish registered vehicle during the July’s “FESTIVITIES” hahahahahha. Been there, done that, got the T-shirt. lol. North Korea is a better place to visit I think lol.
To burn the National Flag of the very island that provides them with ‘life’, is a real insight into the stunted mindset of these primates, and a classic example to the world looking in, of what happens when a child feels unwanted. The very same people proudly display the Irish Flag on their vehicles, and wear Irish jerseys as they tour Europe, passing through all the countries that were once affected by their preferred masters. They dare not mention their true origins when push comes to shove. Nobody wants their hatred, not us, nor the world.
The problem with your article is that some poor fool from the South might believe you and come down in their southern reg. car with their southern accent to watch the parade and stay on for the evening’s entertainment. If they do I’ll remember this article.
If it’s such a family friendly day why for as long a I remember have all the nordies come down south on hols . Even today on M50 the no of yellow plates with families with caravans and roof box’s
The 12 of July is great for tourism along the coast of donegal as lots of people take holidays to get away this great tourist attraction ( bigot fest )
I am from Annalong. The orange order there traditionally has a different route every 4 years.
So ever 4 years or so it marched up a catholic road (my road) to the orange hall.
You would barely hear them until it came time to pass our GAA hall. Then the Sash (loyalist song) would be played full blast.
How can you respect them then?
I can honestly say that i have zero respect for anybody in the orange order. They are all a shower of bigots.
This was the most relaxed and good-humoured 12th I have ever seen in Belfast.
I watched the main march and I don’t have a single complaint.
In the many years when I had serious complaints, I said it, so must say this year was very different.
Its not my thing but, if they marched like this every year then there would never be any problems.
Oh and the family crowds watching were a credit to themselves too!
Cant believe I wrote that but, its true so fair play to them.
@Brendan McLaughlin: That is because they are relieved that they had a good westminister election and put the natives back in their box after the assemblies.
People in the south need to get real . Before independence unionism was present in all parts of Ireland . The orange order HQ was in Dublin . Between 1920 and 1923 40000 Irish protestants fled the south due to sectarian intimidation and murder . Why do you think they hate us soo much . We are constantly attempting to force our will on them . http://www.newsletter.co.uk/news/revealed-why-40-000-protestants-fled-ireland-in-four-years-1-7940663
@Tommy Whelan: the reverse also holds true. Thousands of Catholics left N.I . The problem in the North was there was no real protections for Nationalists. Whereas in the South, Big employers like Guinness and Dunlops, Bank of Ireland were Protestant employers.Orange was put in the flag, and the Dáil passed laws to protect Unionist schools like Trinity college. There was nothing like this in the North- hence 60 years of strife!!
The massive irony in the 12th July celebrations is that back in 1690 the Gaelic Irish & a smattering of Scots Irish Presbyterians were the ones loyal to the British King James II, whilst today’s loyalists ancestors gave their allegiance to a foreign Prince simply because they didnt like the Christian sect the King followed. All this silly marching on this island whether its commemorating King Billy & protestant sectarianism or glorifying anti democratic paramilitaries like the 1916 crew or the provo “volunteers” all contribute to the tedious lingering divisions on this island.
@AR Devine: There is a grain of truth in what you say. But you could say the same thing about wearing the Poppy. Does it fuel Brexit and WW2/1 glorification? I don’t think so, it and the marches commemorate the fallen soldiers. Hopefully not celebrate them. The 12th celebrates a victory though.
@Paul Coughlan: Yes they are, that and more. The author clearly visited carefully selected areas where there were no nationalist populations to mar the proceedings, after all who wants to see hatred bigotry and conflict played out in front of them.
Oh of course the Orange Order don’t condone this, but they don’t do a whole lot to stop it either, do they?
They want their ‘culture’ protected, their customs of segregation, bigotry, violence and agression towards another community in Northern Ireland, their politicians don’t even hide their disdain and bitterness for the catholic community. In every country where a people have been pushed down, they have always, eventually, risen up and defeated their agressors. It will be no different here. They shouldn’t be surprised. A wise man one said freedom cannott be given, it must be taken. Nelson Mandela. They would be wise to communicate and not step backwards.
My birthday is the 12th of July and I’ve always fancied going up to the parades just once to see what it’s like. I’m guessing that a lot of people think this might not be one of my better ideas???
King William of Orange had the Popes blessing at the time, when William beat James then the Pope had celebrations in Rome because of it. They are marching because of that but they lost the meaning through being sectarian but really the Orange Order was created from Wolf Tones actions?
It must be magic for the kids to see the Toy Soldiers hop out of their colouring book and March down the street ,all whistles and drums.
Flags and banners waving .
What a pile of sh1 te. The orange order are rasist bigots. Saying they welcome those foreign fishermen is akin to saying house ni##ers. They are racist vermin that will most likely put their windows through next week when the cameras are gone.
Trump baselessly accuses Ukraine of starting the war and claims Zelenskyy is a dictator
Updated
12 hrs ago
Workplace Relations Commission
Dublin's Hairy Lemon pub ordered to pay €30k to former barman dismissed due to his age
15 hrs ago
Leinster House
Irish language takes centre stage (again) as FF's John McGuinness elected Leas-Cheann Comhairle
10 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 148 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 102 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 133 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 103 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 75 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 74 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 36 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 32 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 124 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 72 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 79 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 42 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 24 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 82 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 65 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 48 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 81 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 60 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say