You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

AS IT HAPPENED: A motion of confidence in Alan Shatter passed by 95 votes to 51

Follow events from the Dáil this evening…

iPhone/iPad users: click here. Streams provided by HEAnet.

AN AMENDED MOTION of confidence in Justice Minister Alan Shatter has passed by 95 votes to 51 in the Dáil tonight.

The motion of ‘confidence’ was put forward by Fine Gael to counter Fianna Fáil’s motion of ‘no confidence’.

Here’s what happened, blow by blow …

Good evening, it’s Órla Ryan here. TheJournal.ie will be keeping you up-to-date on this evening’s debate, as it happens.

Earlier today the Army Bomb Squad was called to Alan Shatter’s home in Dublin, after a package containing ‘white powder and a swastika’ was sent there. Enda Kenny said the incident was “a new low”.

2 hoax shatter house

We recently learnt that the Justice Committee will not be holding its own probe into GardaGate.

2 justice committee

Independent TD Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan is first up tonight.

Flanagan: Shatter has refused to meet with the family of Fr Niall Molloy, who was murdered in 1985.

Clare Daly is speaking now. Says she doesn’t want to speak until Alan Shatter arrives, is told by the Ceann Comhairle she must say her piece now.

Daly: Shatter “and the rest of the government” have to go.

Mick Wallace: Shatter has “no appetite for the truth”.

Wallace: What the government is standing over is a “joke” and a “sham”.

Wallace: Kenny is losing credibility by backing Shatter. Why did the government say it was interested in doing things differently? It’s more of the same.

Joe Higgins: Data Commissioner needs to make a statement on phone taping in Garda stations, the government has to move on the Fr. Niall Molloy case.

Richard Boyd Barrett: Mentions sacking of journalist Gemma O’Doherty.

Barrett: Mentions government inaction on Cynthia Owen case

Fergus O’Dowd is the first Fine Gael TD to speak tonight: praises Shatter’s record.

O’Dowd: We should be talking about the economy and unemployment, not GardaGate and Shatter.

Fine Gael’s Dara Murphy: “There is no minister that has shown the compassion and work ethic that Alan Shatter has”.

Jerry Buttimer: Fianna Fáil are engaging in “political opportunism”.

Deputies just getting one minute each tonight.

Regina Doherty: FF should be “ashamed” of themselves, they’re like Punch and Judy.

Patrick O’Donovan: FF wasting valuable Dáil time with motion.

Marcella Corcoan Kennedy: Public are not fooled by Fianna Fáil, shares email from a constituent saying “Alan is a good man doing good work.”

Labour’s Arthur Spring: Whistleblower issue was “regrettable”.

Mary Mitchell O’Connor: The people of Ireland are not interested in a personal attack on Alan Shatter … he has a family.

Joe O’Reilly: Shatter has done nothing wrong, he is a very hard working minister.

Damien English: Shatter is anti-eavesdropping.

Seán Kyne: Shatter has overseen a reduction in crime and the recruitment of new Gardaí.

Charles Flanagan: Shatter has a “hunger for reform” and has been a “pioneer for change”.

Áodhan O’Ríordán: Praises Shatter for closing St Patrick’s Institution and his work on other issues, but admits his confidence in him has been “shaken” by recent events.

David Stanton: The only complaint I have about Shatter is that he works us too hard. “We don’t always see eye to eye but that’s a good thing.”

Paudie Coffey: We need to get back to focusing on unemployment.

Frank Feighan: Shatter has “my full support and confidence”.

Liam Twomey: New legislation will get rid of the few “rotten apples” in the Garda. Shatter is a voice for the vulnerable.

Martin Heydon: Shatter is an “excellent” minister, he thanks him for maintaining defence personnel at 9,500.

Michelle Mulherin: Opposition wants “to bring down the government”. Compares FF to “lunatics”.

Jimmy Deenihan: Shatter is unafraid to tackle difficult issues. He has been involved in 40 pieces of legislation since 2011.

James Reilly: Crime has fallen by 16 per cent since Shatter came to power, including a 10 per cent reduction in homicide.

Reilly: Shatter has pioneered an EU human rights initiative and will oversee Marriage Equality Referendum. “We have the right man in the right job.”

FF’s Micheál Martin: Condemns anti-semitic package sent to Shatter’s house.

Martin: FG pushed Garda Commissioner Callinan into resignation, without even telling Labour.

Martin: Recent controversies have badly damaged An Garda Síochána, the government can’t distract from this with “spin”.

Martin: Shatter claims credit for everything good but will not take responsibility for anything he does wrong. He blames many things on previous FF governments. He was very “dismissive” of whistleblowers.

Martin: Shatter tried to limit discussion on the Smithwick Inquiry in the Dáil.

Martin: Shatter has a “highly partisan” approach. He apologised to the whistleblowers with the “minimum grace” he could.

Martin: Ian Bailey case “set alarm bells ringing over taping of calls in Garda stations. Callinan was the government’s “fall guy”, Kenny and Shatter showed lack of respect to him.

Martin: Kenny wants to make Callinan the sole focus of attention to take the heat of Shatter and “protect” him.

Martin: Shatter is not as reforming as the government says he is. He has “hidden” from the media for the last month. Ministers “have no right to hide from interviews. What is he so afraid of?”

Martin: The real politics being played in this Chamber is by Fine Gael.

Martin: If FG and Labour back Shatter tonight, they become as responsible as he is for his actions.

The Ceann Comhairle has to calm the Chamber.

FF’s Timmy Dooley: Shatter can legislate, but cannot manage issues and “deal with them effectively”.

Dooley: Callinan was advised against apologising for “disgusting” remark.

Dooley: Why wasn’t Shatter told of the taping of Garda phone calls on Monday (24 March) morning?

Dooley: Callinan was effectively “dismissed”.

Dooley: It’s “not conceivable” Shatter was unaware of Callinan’s letter on phone tapping in Garda stations.

FF’s Michael McGrath: Recent events have been “confusing”.

McGrath: Attorney General Máire Whelan knew of phone taping in Garda Stations since November 2013. The message is clear, if Shatter has to go so will AG. Callinan went instead – the “sacrificial lamb”.

McGrath: Shatter’s colleagues “will go through the motions” of voting confidence in him but his time is “numbered”.

McGrath: Leo Varadkar was “slapped down” by Kenny for saying Callinan should apologise to whistleblowers. A number of ministers ignored the Taoiseach to do the same. “The wrong man has gone.”

FF’s Billy Kelleher: Did Shatter advise Callinan to withdraw “disgusting” remark? They were “tied at the hip” over GSOC and several other issues.

Kelleher: Shatter “denigrated” Callinan’s position. “Some head had to fall.”

Kelleher: Kenny has mislead the Dáil over the timeline of events in the Garda phone taping controversy.

Shatter’s list of failures is far longer than his achievements.

He undermined two deputies in the House “for political gain”.

Shatter has to look at himself in the mirror and know it’s his fault Callinan stepped down. The government “sacrified” him.

Michael Noonan is up now to bat for the government.

Noonan: FF is “playing the man, not the ball”. Shatter is “the star player on the opposing team”.

Noonan: The government is not failing, the economy is recovering. FF is forced to attack Shatter to retain “any shred of relevance”.

Noonan: FF caused this mess, Shatter is cleaning it up.

Noonan: We are “very fortunate” to have Shatter there to guide the establishment of an independent policing authority.

Noonan: Mentions whistleblower Edward Snowden.

Noonan: I am “deeply disturbed” by the way Shatter has been attacked.

FF’s Charlie McConalogue: Shatter and Kenny need to ask why the Attorney General didn’t share information on phone taping in Garda stations sooner.

The government are trying to get Shatter “out of a hole” while the number of inquires surrounding his department has increased to four.

McConalogue: A head had to roll and it was Callinan.

FF’s Niall Collins: Condemns hatemail sent to Shatter today, but said it’s not relevant to tonight’s debate as “We’ve all received hatemail”.

Collins: Kenny has “betrayed” and “shafted” Callinan. “A body had to thrown under a bus” and the government “grabbed” him. Who’s next?

Collins: FG will hold onto power.

It’s “doubtful” they will “face the music” at the next election, but what’s in it for backbenchers?

Collins: Tells Shatter “It’s not personal, it’s just business and it’s time for you to go.”

Voting has commenced.

Why voting is taking place, here are the results of a poll on a government reshuffle carried out by TheJournal.ie earlier today.

2 poll

78 per cent of those who voted are in favour of a reshuffle, 16 per cent are against and 4 per cent are unsure.

The voting in action:

2 voting

… And the results are in on the vote to amend the motion of ‘no confidence’ to one of ‘confidence’.

2 vote

Yes: 95
No: 51

The motion has been amended.

The motion of ‘confidence’ in Shatter is now being voted on.

While we wait on the result, have a read about an interesting GardaGate FAQ sent to backbenchers last week (via our political editor Hugh O’Connell).

2 gardagate faq for td's

The results of the vote on the amended motion are in:

2 vote final

Again, it’s 95 in favour, 51 against.

The motion of ‘confidence’ in Alan Shatter has been passed.

A ‘no’ vote was made from the seat assigned to former Fine Gael junior minister Lucinda Creigton. She was not in attendance, it’s unclear who was sitting there this evening.

… and that’s all folks!

The Dáil has been adjourned until 9.30 am tomorrow.

Thanks for staying with us tonight.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

99 Comments
    Mute Saul goodman
    Favourite Saul goodman
    Apr 2nd 2014, 7:23 PM

Quick quick, a FG European election candidate is about to knock on my door in next few minutes. I swear to god I’ll ask him the first 3 questions posted here. Go for it people. I’ll let you know his answers after

Mute Mikey ️
    Favourite Mikey ️
    Apr 2nd 2014, 7:26 PM

Blur or Oasis?

Mute yo
    Favourite yo

Do you take

See 25 more replies ▾
    Mute yo
    Favourite yo

Brides

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Apr 2nd 2014, 7:30 PM

Ask him who he represents?

If he says FG tell him to fck off. He’s meant to represent you!

Mute Dave O'Reilly
    Favourite Dave O'Reilly
    Apr 2nd 2014, 7:31 PM

What’s your iq, as the average has to be raised

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Apr 2nd 2014, 7:32 PM

Why did he risk his life in such a run down area ?

Mute Saul goodman
    Favourite Saul goodman
    Apr 2nd 2014, 7:33 PM

Thanks all I’ll let you know. I do plan on asking what the unemployment rates are with JobBridge/CE scheme figures removed. Do you think he will know the answer???

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Apr 2nd 2014, 7:34 PM

Do you support water charges?

Mute Saul goodman
    Favourite Saul goodman
    Apr 2nd 2014, 7:46 PM

Ok that went well:

Q: Blue or Oasis?
    A: Huh? I’m not to au fait with modern day pop music.

(My response was “Neither am I. Both bands were around 20 years ago)

Q: Who do you represent?
    A: FG

(My response was “you would probably be better off representing the people who elect you”)

Q: What is the true unemployment rate when JobBridge and CE figures are removed
    A: I’m not sure but I can categorically assure you that people who take up these courses are getting full time jobs

(My response was “Do you think it’s right that our local Super Valu are offering a JobBridge in shelf packing?” To which he replied “Your not going to vote for me are you?”
    To which I replied “that’s the only one you got right, Goodbye”

Mute Thomas Dooly
    Favourite Thomas Dooly
    Apr 2nd 2014, 7:53 PM

Respect !

Mute Enda Nolan
    Favourite Enda Nolan
    Apr 2nd 2014, 7:54 PM

Saul fair play to

Mute Amphroaí Ó hAipilbí
    Favourite Amphroaí Ó hAipilbí
    Apr 2nd 2014, 8:38 PM

Nice one, Saul. The last line made me chuckle.

Mute Dave O'Reilly
    Favourite Dave O'Reilly
    Apr 2nd 2014, 8:45 PM

It was a suggestion for a question . .

Mute Fran Devlin
    Favourite Fran Devlin
    Apr 2nd 2014, 9:02 PM

No

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Apr 2nd 2014, 9:26 PM

Goodman Saul!!!

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Apr 2nd 2014, 9:41 PM

My respect Mr Goodman.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Apr 2nd 2014, 9:44 PM

Would you like to walk off my property or be carried off?

Mute Chris Hennessy
    Favourite Chris Hennessy
    Apr 2nd 2014, 9:51 PM

first time ever that I have made a point of sharing someones comments on my fb

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Apr 2nd 2014, 9:55 PM

Anyway, no drug, not even alcohol, causes the fundamental ills of society. If we’re looking for the source of our troubles, we shouldn’t test people for drugs, we should test them for stupidity, ignorance, greed and love of power.
    P. J. O’Rourke

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Apr 2nd 2014, 9:58 PM

Respect

Mute Deaglán O'Ceirín
    Favourite Deaglán O'Ceirín
    Apr 2nd 2014, 10:37 PM

Total respect!

Mute Aoife Power
    Favourite Aoife Power
    Apr 2nd 2014, 10:38 PM

You should name him – people need to know what kind of people are knocking on their doors asking for their votes. The fact he assumed your questions were an indication that you wouldn’t be voting for him is very indicative of these politicians’ natures. He literally ran away from an enquiring constituent. No interest or reaction other than whether or not he’d get your vote. If that’s they’re attitude on the doorstep you can be sure it’ll be worse when they’ve their arse parked in Leinster house.

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Favourite Richard Rodgers
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:09 PM

Tony
    Thirty two people supported tour proposal to threaten violence! Shows the type of contributor on this thread!

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:18 PM

Trolling pr1ck rodgers

Mute Joe Mahon
    Favourite Joe Mahon
    Apr 3rd 2014, 3:44 AM

Shut up mike ya SPOOFER!!!!

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Apr 3rd 2014, 8:11 AM

Well if it isn’t the other cheek of the arse joe (the thick)mahon.

Mute John Byrne
    Favourite John Byrne
    Apr 3rd 2014, 10:19 AM

I’m so sick of this corrupt shower of f.ckwits , I have given up on Ireland , it will eat it’s own .

Mute chris smith
    Favourite chris smith
    Apr 2nd 2014, 7:31 PM

Just give them a swift kick in the nuts and shut the door!! That’s what they’ve done to us for years

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:12 PM

Chris
    Your proposal to use violence on candidates is supported by over sixty contributors! This shows the high number of Shinners actively supporting you! You will definitely get what you vote for.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:36 PM

Don’t reply to the rodgers account, it’s a false account set up to troll.

Question 1 does he agree with the minister of justice abusing his position by using information from the Garda in an attempt to discredit another member of the Dail?

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Apr 2nd 2014, 7:28 PM

How long is a piece of string?

Mute Leigh Power
    Favourite Leigh Power
    Apr 2nd 2014, 10:29 PM

Is it possible to discredit Wallace?

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Apr 2nd 2014, 9:10 PM

Alan shatter and all his cronies have crucified most of the working class and the poor of Ireland and the carry onn of them at the moment is possibly criminal unfornatily they seem to be above the law

Mute Ned of the Hill
    Favourite Ned of the Hill
    Apr 2nd 2014, 10:18 PM

I believe that would be fianna fail and brian cowen. They invited the IMF IN!!!

Mute Dermot O Dwyer
    Favourite Dermot O Dwyer

Would love to be in the public gallery watching and listening to this tonight.
    I Always loved a good comedy….

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Apr 2nd 2014, 8:45 PM

Roaring trade in the bar tonight – Tom Barry will be on the prowl

Mute Zoe Daly
    Favourite Zoe Daly
    Apr 2nd 2014, 10:07 PM

who can ever forget the antics of Tom Barry!
    the whole thing is a total charade and a farce

Mute Barry C Mc Govern
    Favourite Barry C Mc Govern
    Apr 2nd 2014, 7:32 PM

How long was the envelope in his house before he opened it?

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Apr 2nd 2014, 8:06 PM

Does anybody believe a word he says ?
    Does anybody trust this man? Please do a poll. I doubt anybody does believe him.

Mute Hairy Baby
    Favourite Hairy Baby
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:08 PM

Easy there Mindful… Apparently the journal might take issue with that comment. It seems you can’t disagree with Minister Shatter…

Mute Jonathan Bambury
    Favourite Jonathan Bambury
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:49 PM

By the last few polls done on here it is obvious that the majority here have had enough of shatter

Mute Dan O'Sullivan
    Favourite Dan O'Sullivan
    Apr 2nd 2014, 9:44 PM

Big surprise he could have pushed the big red button for a nuclear holocaust and he would have been saved with a Fine Gael/Labour pact vote. How silly and naive are we as a nation. We got what we voted for !!!

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Apr 2nd 2014, 10:39 PM

No, we don’t always get what we vote for. I voted Labour, partly because both the candidate and Labour themselves said they would not enter government with Fine Gael. How wrong was I?

Mute Joe Mahon
    Favourite Joe Mahon
    Apr 3rd 2014, 3:47 AM

I certainly don’t recall labour saying they would not enter government with FG? Fianna Fáil yes but not FG. Labour were hardly going to win a majority on their own were they? It’s ok though don’t let the truth interrupt your rant…

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Apr 3rd 2014, 8:28 AM

Who gives a damm what you recall mahon, you plank !!!

Mute Paul Cotrulia
    Favourite Paul Cotrulia

A motion of confidence for the Minister of Injustice?

Mute Straighttalker
    Favourite Straighttalker
    Apr 2nd 2014, 9:20 PM

Comments being removed again this pro government journal is getting a real pain ,PC fools

Mute Hairy Baby
    Favourite Hairy Baby
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:37 PM

Maybe it’s time to start a rival website. One where genuine free speech is allowed….

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    Apr 2nd 2014, 8:23 PM

“James Reilly:Crime has fallen by 16 per cent since Shatter came to power, including a 10 per cent reduction in homicide” 10 per cent reduction in homicide that’s because they don’t know how to shoot.Crime might have fallen in the drug seen and bad cops by 16 per cent, but brake-ins has risen 12%

Mute Chris Day
    Favourite Chris Day
    Apr 2nd 2014, 8:30 PM

Not to mention the rise in crimes against grammar and spelling. Outrageous!

Mute Chris Hennessy
    Favourite Chris Hennessy
    Apr 2nd 2014, 10:03 PM

I would guess that these figures represent a drop in crime being reported, rather than a drop in actual crimes being commited

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:16 PM

Declan
    What is a “brake-in” ?

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:21 PM

Chris
    I notice that you are guessing that the CSO figure published on crime rates are inaccurate. Is that viewpoint based on a wish that they were higher or just an over fertile imagination? Or perhaps you would prefer them to be higher to suit your political bias.
    Chris…….the crime rates are lower because the Gardai are working smarter and more effectively. This has little to do with the Minister other than his streamlining the Force to ensure that more Gardai are away from their desks and actively engaged in the war on crime.
    You wouldn’t give credit for anything would you?

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:22 PM

rodgers is just a trolling account.

Mute Jonathan Bambury
    Favourite Jonathan Bambury
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:52 PM

Roger your full of it I know for a fact that garda have been under reporting crime for the last few years. Your a sham

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:59 PM

So less gardai on the streets = less crime! Keep dreaming kiddo. Senior gardai massaging figures. Gardai levels are at critical levels never seen before. Criminals are untouchable because they know how to play the system. The justice minister is a joke and the political elite in this country are rotten. Keep towing the party line ya fairy!

Apr 3rd 2014, 8:25 AM

Yes Declan, the standard of criminals marksmanship is very low, just ask John Gilligan

Mute Declan Byrne
    Favourite Declan Byrne
    Apr 2nd 2014, 9:40 PM

Fg td’s and Labour voting for the good of the government and themselves not the country.

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Apr 2nd 2014, 7:36 PM

Did I just hear Shatter is in the toilet while this is going on?

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Apr 2nd 2014, 7:44 PM

Scratch that, he’s just walked in when it was FG’s turn to bat. Coward!

Apr 3rd 2014, 8:26 AM

Perhaps he was having an asthma attack?

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Apr 2nd 2014, 9:45 PM

Sure we all knew they would circle the wagons.
    Still though, we will have a chance to show our confidence soon.

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:14 PM

Mike
    The result tonight is correctly described as democracy in action and no matter what the results of any future election I am sure you accept the decisions of Dail Eireann?

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:40 PM

The lunatic rodgers is on the night shift…

Mute Deaglán O'Ceirín
    Favourite Deaglán O'Ceirín
    Apr 3rd 2014, 4:00 AM

How is the whip democracy? And who is this ‘Rodgers’ guy?

Of all the comments I have read on this site, and I mean a lot over time, some of the utter tripe that Rogers has posted is truly unbelievable. At this stage when I see your name I just skim over the thread, and that’s a pity. I’m sure there will be some insane reply from him but I won’t be retorting, it would only take away from intellectual debate, which I’ve noticed is his (if it even is male) strategy.

Please do us all a favour and either stop posting or reconsider your debating style. It’s simply using up way too much space.

Mute Darren Burke
    Favourite Darren Burke
    Apr 2nd 2014, 10:10 PM

Where does James Reilly’s stat on crime falling by 16% come from? Doesn’t seem like that from where I’m standing!

There seems to be a huge increase in violent assaults & robberies reported in the last 6-12 months, as well as multiple incidents on public transport etc. Dublin city centre does not feel as safe as it did five years ago.

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:24 PM

Darren

Seems to be……

CSO statistics on crime.
    Yours is a guess Versus Official Independent statistics! You don’t seem to be wrong Darren. You ARE wrong Darren!

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:38 PM

And you ARE nothing but a lunatic rodgers.

Apr 3rd 2014, 8:20 AM

James Reilly grasp on stats is about the same as his grasp on the HSE, lads your time is coming to an end…….rats and sinking ship comes to mind

Apr 3rd 2014, 8:22 AM

Mike Clinton got it right with that government troll Rodgers, Fe”k off Rodgers you are a nutter you and your rotten bunch will be put in the dustbin of history soon………looking forward to it

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Apr 2nd 2014, 8:52 PM

Can Orla Ryan answer why the comments section in stories about Alan Shatter are being switched off?

Are people posting anti-Semitic comments or what?

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Apr 3rd 2014, 4:05 PM

Hi Cowenwatch,

As far as I’m aware the comment sections of any stories relating to Alan Shatter have not been closed. It’s rare for us to close comments completely on any article. However we do remove comments that break the comments policy, which you can see here: http://www.thejournal.ie/comments-policy/.

We ask commenters to keep an eye out for any comments that may break the policy and to report them. It’s the fastest way to get the attention of a staff member who can take action, if necessary.

Regards,
    Órla

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Apr 2nd 2014, 8:37 PM

What’s with all the black and white photos of Shatter?

Mute Amphroaí Ó hAipilbí
    Apr 2nd 2014, 8:39 PM

It’s artistic, loike.

Mute Amphroaí Ó hAipilbí
    Apr 2nd 2014, 8:43 PM

Anyway, that’s not Shatter. It’s a conceptual piece. How Neil Diamond’s guitar looks, from the inside.

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Apr 2nd 2014, 8:53 PM

Black and Whites are more pleasing to the eye.

Well in one thing Shatter is right he continues to “get things wrong”

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Apr 2nd 2014, 9:46 PM

Remember this for labour voters on top of everything else of course

Mute Roy McDermott
    Favourite Roy McDermott
    Apr 2nd 2014, 10:23 PM

Must have all been in the bar beforehand. Shower of tossers

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang
    Apr 2nd 2014, 9:57 PM

“He blames many things on previous FF governments”.

That’s because many things are the fault of previous FF governments.

Mute Viking
    Favourite Viking
    Apr 2nd 2014, 10:30 PM

They are the exact copy of FF!!!!

Mute Russell Dalton
    Favourite Russell Dalton
    Apr 2nd 2014, 10:28 PM

This is disgusting.

Mute Stephen Harkin
    Favourite Stephen Harkin
    Apr 2nd 2014, 10:44 PM

James Reilly: Crime is down 16%, including homocide (murder) down 10%

Is it just me or does it seems there’s more serious attacks/stabbings/shootings on a daily basis? Especially over the last few years.

One pr!ck defending another with that statement

Mute Tony Moran
    Favourite Tony Moran
    Apr 2nd 2014, 10:07 PM

And there ends the charade.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Apr 2nd 2014, 10:26 PM

Michelle Mulherin comparing others to “lunatics” ? Pot, kettle, black.

She should just fornicate off !

Mute Conor Nott
    Favourite Conor Nott
    Apr 2nd 2014, 10:12 PM

What a load of crap. What happened to important issues like jobs and the economy?

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:15 PM

Did anyone expect a different result,if they did they would want to call themselves aside and have a word with themselves. The backbench sheep won the day.

Mute Michael Garett
    Favourite Michael Garett
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:25 PM

What happened to the other 20 TDs. Abstained or couldn’t be arsed I suppose.

Mute padser123
    Favourite padser123
    Apr 3rd 2014, 1:01 AM

O’Reilly says – 16% reduction in crime……..Oh wait……..but stats on corruption, is going through the roof!

Mute Audrey O'Sullivan
    Favourite Audrey O'Sullivan

What uni did you study politics in?

Mute padser123
    Favourite padser123
    Apr 3rd 2014, 12:46 AM

When the urgency arise’s……’letters’ & packages will be opened ‘on time’. Maybe the perpetrator, thought he had 15 days head start, to get away! They could have just sent an Easter Egg…….Alan’ wouldn’t have opened it until around Good Friday – instead of lowering themselves to racial insults.

Mute Jim Brennan
    Favourite Jim Brennan
    Apr 3rd 2014, 2:21 AM

Crime is not down. Just the people lost all Faith in The justice system and don’t bother reporting it’s a waste of time

Mute Nicholas Walters
    Favourite Nicholas Walters
    Apr 3rd 2014, 7:27 AM

This just proves that politicians are out of touch with the public that they are meant to serve

Mute Tom O Shaughnessy
    Favourite Tom O Shaughnessy
    Apr 2nd 2014, 7:30 PM

Will I give my number two to laboir

Mute Amphroaí Ó hAipilbí
    Apr 2nd 2014, 8:40 PM

Laboir? That’s French innit? Bleedin’ frogs!

Mute Dermot O'Reilly
    Favourite Dermot O'Reilly
    Apr 3rd 2014, 9:09 PM

Is there any truth that the HSE is currently paying Alan Shatter’s legal firm €500,000 PA in legal. Fees?

The full truth needs to be disclosed.

Mute Thomas Chima Ehiokwere
    Favourite Thomas Chima Ehiokwere
    Apr 3rd 2014, 12:28 PM

Alan shatter is the best justice minister the Republic of Ireland has ever had since I came to this country more than a decade ago. Why would anyone want to get rid of him? Allan shatter is man of the people and the right man for the job. Any attempt to remove him will undoubtedly meet stiff resistance from the immigrant and well meaning Irish community. Long live Allan Shatter.

Mr.T