You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Emrah Gurel AP/Press Association Images

Evacuees "in a terrible state" after waiting overnight in freezing conditions to leave Aleppo

In total, it is estimated 3,000 people have been evacuated so far.

MORE THAN 3,000 people left the rebel enclave of Aleppo this morning, raising hope for many others still stranded, as Russia eased its objections to sending UN observers to oversee the evacuations.

A convoy of around 20 buses crossed the front line in the early morning headed for rebel-held territory elsewhere in northern Syria, after around 350 people got out during the night.

They were the first departures since Friday when the government suspended evacuations insisting that people also be allowed to leave two northwestern villages under rebel siege.

A medic said the latest evacuees were in a “terrible state” after their departure was delayed for hours in temperatures well below freezing, compounding their plight from months of siege and bombardment by the army.

The new evacuations from the devastated enclave came as a monitoring group said rebels had finally allowed convoys out of two villages they have besieged since spring last year.

Around 500 people left in a dawn convoy out of Fuaa and Kafraya, the Syrian Observatory for Human Rights, a Britain-based monitoring group, said.

Government demands for evacuations from the two Shiite-majority villages had put the whole process on hold for days, and on Sunday rebels attacked buses sent to bring people out, killing one of the drivers.

Around 350 people in five buses made it out of Aleppo during the night after Russia and Turkey urged the Syrian regime to allow a convoy of buses to pass its final control point, the Observatory said.

It was regime ally Moscow and rebel supporter Ankara that brokered a first evacuation deal last week to end a blistering month-long government assault on the one-time rebel bastion in east Aleppo.

‘Terrible state’

“Five buses carrying the evacuees arrived from besieged parts of east Aleppo,” said Ahmad al-Dbis, who heads a team of doctors and volunteers coordinating evacuations.

“They were in a terrible state,” Dbis told AFP.

“They hadn’t eaten, they had nothing to drink, the children had caught colds, they were not even able to go to the toilet.”

Dbis said he saw families wrapped in several layers of coats getting off the buses.

One young boy was biting into an apple while aid workers distributed packs of bottled water to his family.

Evacuations were suspended on Friday, a day after convoys of people had begun leaving the rebel sector under a deal allowing the regime to take full control of the battleground city.

The main obstacle to a resumption had been the dispute over how many people would be evacuated in parallel from the two Shiite villages.

A rebel representative said that hundreds of people would also be evacuated from Zabadani and Madaya, two rebel towns near the Lebanese border under siege by the army, as part of the deal.

Iran’s official news agency IRNA said the foreign ministers of Russia, Turkey and Iran would meet in Moscow on Tuesday to discuss the situation.

Read: Gunmen attack buses sent to evacuate Syria pro-regime villages

Read: Meet the Syrian refugee who travelled for 55 days to get from Aleppo to a new life in the UK

View 38 comments
38 Comments
    Mute Anne O'Hara
    Favourite Anne O'Hara
    Oct 31st 2017, 6:37 PM

RTE investigates RTE. What a challenge!

Mute Bairéid Rísteard
    Favourite Bairéid Rísteard
    Oct 31st 2017, 7:46 PM

@Anne O’Hara: a I’d pay good money to hear jow Duffy justify the TV licence fee on lave-line

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Oct 31st 2017, 7:07 PM

A lot of the major RTE over-paid have set themselves up as self-employed and setup so called agencies where they are the sole employee – all just to further skirt around tax paying levels. This is a well known trick by an elite. Its been going on for a long time.

…Not that RTE or the usual political parties are willing to do anything about it!

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Oct 31st 2017, 7:24 PM

@Unitedpeople: not too sure what way RTE structure their contracts but certainly some of their ‘stars’ are supplying their services under company names such as ‘First Name Surname Media Services’ and so on. Presumably they invoice RTE for the work and then draw down a salary from their company. Will be interesting to see what comes of this.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Oct 31st 2017, 8:20 PM

@Sean @114: If they do this – they pay full PAYE, PRSI and USC on their salary. The saving primarily goes to RTE who don’t have to pay the Employer PRSI.

All salaries are subject to tax and social insurance regardless of whether you’re a proprietary director or not.

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Nov 1st 2017, 6:15 AM

@Brinster: As they are a registered business as such, they gain extra tax refundable or deductible benefits, as technically they are creating employment – for themselves.

Mute Crash Bantercoot
    Favourite Crash Bantercoot
    Oct 31st 2017, 6:41 PM

Not only do the chat shows not have to look beyond the staff canteen for subject matter, now current affairs can too! Seriously, RTE. We know you’re strapped for cash but how much would a Go Pro camera and a day ticket for Dublin Bus set you back?

Mute Ian McNally
    Favourite Ian McNally
    Oct 31st 2017, 6:50 PM

*cough* Joe Duffy *cough*

Mute Deano Cracow
    Favourite Deano Cracow
    Oct 31st 2017, 6:39 PM

About damn time. RTE ‘stars’ have been paying corporation tax on inflated salaries for years. You would think that they were already earning enough. Great if you are on big bucks not so good if you are a temporary employee.
    Good scam while it lasted. Which I hope it doesn’t.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Oct 31st 2017, 6:50 PM

@Deano Cracow: I’m not sure corporation tax has much to do with things. You do no any salary drawn down is subject to the same income taxes we all pay right?

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Favourite Father Hody Commody
    Oct 31st 2017, 7:02 PM

@Reg: If you’re self employed, you don’t get a salary.

Mute ginger tomatoes i9
    Favourite ginger tomatoes i9
    Oct 31st 2017, 7:33 PM

@Father Hody Commody: you still paye paye on income

Mute ginger tomatoes i9
    Favourite ginger tomatoes i9
    Oct 31st 2017, 7:36 PM

@ginger tomatoes i9: and usc, but slightly lower rate prsi, but get ni prsi entitlements. Employees lose out in this scenario, unless on higher contract rates ? Which suspect is the case, but even then no paid holidays, bank holidays or any benefits

Mute Michael Reilly
    Favourite Michael Reilly
    Oct 31st 2017, 7:56 PM

@Reg: Reg. I generally agree with your comments but there is an old saying – ” The only place there isn’t a FIDDLE is in a Brass Band”.
    So now our licence fee is used to pay RTE staff to investigate other RTE staff.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Oct 31st 2017, 8:17 PM

@Father Hody Commody: You don’t get to spend the company’s money unless you draw in down in the form of a salary.

If you use the money to pay for personal stuff (car, rent etc) then it is considered BIK and subject to full income tax, USC and PRSI. I

You clearly have no idea how this works.

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Oct 31st 2017, 8:59 PM

So you don’t take a big salary RTE pays into the “company you take a modest salary for PAYE reckoning and laugh all the way to the bank with the rest

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Oct 31st 2017, 9:18 PM

@marg fitzgerald: But how do you access the rest Marg? Dividends would be subject to more tax. That’s the point. The major beneficiaries of this are RTE – not the contractor.

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Oct 31st 2017, 9:26 PM

@Brinster:

If that car is electric there is no charge from 2018…no 20% annual BIK charge, that is.

Very good news for Tesla and other El car manufacturers.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Oct 31st 2017, 10:16 PM

@Rory J Leonard: Yep – that’s true – introduced by the budget this year.

will probably benefit others over Tesla though. Tesla’s 2 current cars – Model T and Model S – both cost over €100k. So very expensive to buy/lease by the company to give to the employee.

Have to wait for a RHD version of the Model 3, priced at roughly €30k, that’s due early 2019.

Mute Desmodromic
    Favourite Desmodromic
    Nov 1st 2017, 5:17 AM

@Brinster. You’re spot on – the real saving is to RTE on long term employee benefits and also – in these and recent times to avoid the cap on public service recruitment.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Nov 1st 2017, 4:53 PM

@Father Hody Commody: you do if you earn enough to pay yourself a salary

Mute Shane Gleeson
    Favourite Shane Gleeson
    Oct 31st 2017, 7:02 PM

They have to applauded for this programme. You can be sure no-one working for REDACTED would get away with being critical of their company.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Oct 31st 2017, 7:59 PM

Not everyone in RTE is a big name star earning obscene salaries. Many are ordinary workers trying to earn a living yer RTE insists that in order to have work they must agree to sign theit rights and protections away.
    In this neoliberal economy, not society, there are more attacks on ordinary workers and their rights sine the times of Jim Larkin. Zero hour contracts, minimum wage contracts, and no union recognition.
    Look at the latest public transport debacle. Workers without any wage increase for 10 years are being vilified all over the media. The increases in the cost of living in those 10 years ignored. The fact that the CEO earns more than Leo and him and his staff have seen salary and bonusourt increases in those 10 years. Theit salaries are lumped in with the wages of ordinary workers to give a spin that workers are well paid and don’t deserve any increase, they’re only ordinary workers after all. To drive the publics ire against them the spin put about is disruption. We had the same with both Luas and DB workers.
    Yet we see bankers getting clean away with wholesale theft of ordinary people’s money. Driving many into poverty, bad health and suicide. Even today we see yet another banker walk away from court, the case against him collapses. We know about others who got rich on the back of corrupt political practice, and are deemed untouchable, despite the evidence against them.
    Ordinary people are considered to be no more than sheep to be hearded and driven for fleecing at the whim of their masters.
    Enough is enough, the lessons of history have to be applied and soon.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Oct 31st 2017, 8:27 PM

@Dave Doyle: Very true that the reason this mechanism is prevalent is to enrich RTE through avoiding Employer PRSI, rather than enriching the employee.

For someone on €50k per year, there is usually about a 2% difference in take home, comparing Employee with Prop Director.

Mute Seán J. Troy
    Favourite Seán J. Troy
    Oct 31st 2017, 7:23 PM

There’s a certain state body I applied for a job in last year that operates similarly, only offering self employed contracts. The state is setting an awful example.

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Favourite Father Hody Commody
    Oct 31st 2017, 6:42 PM

If the ‘self employed’ workers are solely working for RTE then Revenue would class that as insurable employment. I would think that as a few years ago I was personally going to go self employed, coming off unemployment and my business plan was to work on a retainer for a number of businesses. I was told outright that this would be considered insurable employment and my business plan was rejected.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Oct 31st 2017, 8:24 PM

@Father Hody Commody: Self employment depends on much more than just whether you engage with one entity. Depends on whether you provide own tools/equipment, can choose own hours, can send a substitute and much more. The DSP has a 3 page questionnaire you submit for their review to decide whether employer/ employee or contractor relationship exists.

Not for a moment saying this wasn’t abused, but need more than just to have more than one engagement.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Oct 31st 2017, 6:40 PM

A house divided on itself cannot stand…..As the BBC would say…..

Mute Patabake Kennedy
    Favourite Patabake Kennedy
    Oct 31st 2017, 7:26 PM

Was bosco self employed I wonder.

Mute Michael Reilly
    Favourite Michael Reilly
    Oct 31st 2017, 8:00 PM

There is an old saying – ” The only place there isn’t a FIDDLE is in a Brass Band”.
    So now our licence fee is used to pay High paid RTE staff to investigate other High paid RTE staff.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Oct 31st 2017, 7:22 PM

Bogus “self employment” is a prevalent practice, not justvwith RTÉ.

Most supposedly self employed contractors are employees in substance, if not in form.

The Revenue Commissionrrd have a very helpful policy guideline on this area.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Oct 31st 2017, 9:06 PM

@Fiona deFreyne: Was happening in commercial radio stations I worked in 20 years ago. Minimum wage, and file your own returns, no sick pay, no overtime and at that point I was working on one of the biggest radio shows in the country.

Mute Jay Lane
    Favourite Jay Lane
    Nov 1st 2017, 1:15 AM

@Niall Sullivan: The minimum didn’t come in til the year 2000. Why was your wage 20 years ago in punts per hour and how many hours did you get?

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Oct 31st 2017, 7:48 PM

You can add Ryanair to that list.

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Oct 31st 2017, 6:42 PM

** Grabs popcorn **

Mute Mick Foley
    Favourite Mick Foley
    Oct 31st 2017, 7:55 PM

How would the rest of the media stand up to scrutiny of their employment practices

Mute John Gough
    Favourite John Gough
    Oct 31st 2017, 8:40 PM

@Mick Foley: not well at all. But they’re not getting public money so can do as they wish (almost) Ten years working 0 hours and freelance contracts was a slog and half for me. The practices in the private sector are now replicated in RTÉ. It’s a cruel game, especially for regular staff – sound engineers, broadcast assistants, researchers etc. Well done to Drivetime for looking at this. I did find it strange listening to their piece last week on same while the person doing sound was likely on 0hours. Be interesting to watch how they address this issue in the midst of upcoming voluntary redundancies etc. RTÉ is a good place and hopefully seizes the opportunities to change that are on media landscape. Again fair play to PBH and DT. Important to do this.

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Nov 1st 2017, 12:13 AM

Huge savings in employer PRSI that doesn’t have to be paid on ‘self employed contractors’. Good to see RTE thinking about how they spend taxpayer funds … by avoiding paying those taxes.

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Oct 31st 2017, 6:58 PM

Nooooooooooooooook

Mute Wade Wilson
    Favourite Wade Wilson
    Nov 1st 2017, 2:01 PM

This is no different than what every major IT company in this country does. A majority of large tech companies here in Ireland, the largest ones, do this every day and have done this for years. Only a small percentage of people there are actual employees, the rest are all ‘self employed contractors’ even though they show up and do the same job. Some of the ‘self-employed’ employees have been in these positions for over ten years.

Mute Thomas McMillan
    Favourite Thomas McMillan
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:02 AM

This is occuring in other areas ,not just RTE.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Nov 1st 2017, 11:58 AM

@Thomas McMillan: That’s what the catholics say when you give them hassle for covering up paedophilia too. Doesn’t work for that or this.

Mute Bob McTanned
    Favourite Bob McTanned
    Oct 31st 2017, 6:49 PM

A load of shite

Mute Spiderman
    Favourite Spiderman
    Oct 31st 2017, 11:44 PM

Same thing happened to me in Athlone

Mute Greig Fairfield
    Favourite Greig Fairfield
    Oct 31st 2017, 7:58 PM

Shit , don’t dig to deep lads!