You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Pat Roque/AP/Press Association Images

Almost quarter of Irish adults believe women are 'easy' if they carry condoms

When asked if they agreed with the statement: “If a woman carries condoms while not in a relationship, it gives the message that she is looking for sex or is easy.” 24 per cent said Yes.

A NEW STUDY commissioned by the HSE Crisis Pregnancy Programme has revealed that up to a quarter of Irish adults believe that women who carry condoms are ‘looking for sex’ or ‘easy’.

Although the majority of respondents disagreed with the statement, “If a woman carries condoms while not in a relationship, it gives the message that she is looking for sex or is easy,” 24 per cent agreed with the sentiment.

Of the women asked, 21 per cent agreed, while 28 per cent of the men surveyed did.

The report’s authors noted that the question was framed when discussing using condoms as a precautionary measure for “unanticipated sexual encounters while not in a relationship”. The attitude toward women carrying condoms has not changed at all since a similar survey was carried out in 2003.

During the same research questionnaire, people were also asked about their beliefs about the contraceptive pill. Compared to 2003, fewer people now believe that it has dangerous side effects but a large number still have concerns about its long-term use.

Despite medical literature to the contrary, about 68 per cent of people still think it is a good idea to take a break from the contraceptive pill. The authors noted that the figures showed a “remarkably stable” attitude towards the pill over seven years. Negative reports from the UK in the early 1990s may still have an impact in Ireland, they said.

HIV Testing and STIs

The survey also delved into the screening habits of Irish adults with about one third reporting that they had been tested for HIV in their lifetime.

About one in three women and one in five men had also been screen for an STI other than HIV. One in seven of those reported a positive diagnosis.

In 2010, there were 331 new diagnoses of HIV in Ireland.

Read: Irish Contraception and Crisis Pregnancy Study 2010 (in full)>

More: Young people in Ireland using contraception more consistently>

Earlier: One in eight pregnancies described as a crisis – study>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

28 Comments
    Mute John Bransfield
    Favourite John Bransfield
    Nov 22nd 2014, 6:33 PM

The military swears an oath to the lawful government of the country, therefore the government alone, with parliamentary approval, should decide where our troops are deployed. No foreign power (especially the incompetent UN!) should have influence whatsoever on our military matters.

Mute jon-boy55
    Favourite jon-boy55
    Nov 23rd 2014, 9:45 AM

John, what makes you think that a government/parliament that repeatedly acts against the interests of the irish people can make the right decisions when it comes to the military? I agree about the UN but I don’t think the bungling government, whether its FG/FF/Lab/SF that are in power, can make the right military decisions according to our constitution. They will always be heavily influenced by NATO/UN/US interests which are not necessarily Irelands interests.

Mute fergalreid
    Favourite fergalreid
    Nov 23rd 2014, 5:37 PM

Wait, what? If you don’t have faith in the government to instruct the military then your argument should be that the military be disbanded.

Mute jon-boy55
    Favourite jon-boy55
    Nov 23rd 2014, 8:00 PM

Not a bad idea but id rather an army that did something to prevent daily occurrences such as this – http://notstat.org/palestine/PRSQV8

Mute jon-boy55
    Favourite jon-boy55
    Nov 23rd 2014, 8:02 PM

Sorry should have said this is a very disturbing image pls dont look if you are sensitive

Mute Pat Stapleton
    Favourite Pat Stapleton
    May 10th 2015, 10:42 PM

Ireland IS Neutral ,and will Remain so,no matter what this Monster European Onion says .A European Army Juncker Plans .I say Eire Must leave this UNwanted ,UNloved and UNdemocratic EU .Lisbon Treaty Protocols that Ireland will not compromise our Neutrality has been placed into EU treaty .NO to any Irish involvement in any EU Army .

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Nov 22nd 2014, 4:38 PM

How about holding off on till someone attacks us and them tear them a new one.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 22nd 2014, 4:50 PM

Spoken like a true Irishman Glen !

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Nov 22nd 2014, 4:53 PM

A pointless exercise, the current government and that disaster Shstter have destroyed the army.

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Nov 22nd 2014, 8:02 PM

Glen, unless it was Putin. Then you would say “let’s all bow down to this great leader’

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Nov 22nd 2014, 8:08 PM

Glen, I’m sorry. I should have said that if Ireland was invaded you would accuse the Irish army, the govt, the west, the EU, and the USA of provoking the invading army.

Mute Donna L Tier
    Favourite Donna L Tier
    Nov 22nd 2014, 4:33 PM

Rock, paper, scissors ?

Mute don lavery
    Favourite don lavery
    Nov 22nd 2014, 7:27 PM

Ireland should not tie it’s hands with the Triple Lock.
    For one, it hinders rapid deployment of forces.
    The deployment of troops abroad is essentially the decision of a sovreign government primarily, and parliament, not the UN.
    For instance when an Irish journalist was kidnapped in Baghdad the Army Ranger Wing was put on readiness to deploy to Iraq and carry out a hostage rescue mission by the Government.
    Time obviously was of the essence – and a ridiculous situation where Dail approval would be needed would put the hostage in even greater danger and alert the terrorists.
    In the event the planned operation and deploymenent was aborted as foreign SF were involved immediately when he was located.
    Despite Government and Army denials a similiar military option was on the table when two aid workers were kidnapped in Sudan.
    Again, rapid deployment, secrecy, and surprise, would be the key elements in such a mission.

Mute Mike Howard
    Favourite Mike Howard
    Nov 22nd 2014, 4:55 PM

This sending of our troops overseas is a total farce . If they fire as much as one bullet there is a huge enquiry – they are totally muzzled in this respect and everyone knows that – they go abroad and the State gets huge payments . The soldiers do well out of it as well -

Mute Lad
    Favourite Lad
    Nov 22nd 2014, 5:27 PM

So you think the only purpose of an army abroad is to shoot people, and anything other is a farce?

Mute Mike Howard
    Favourite Mike Howard
    Nov 22nd 2014, 6:32 PM

Of course not BUT in the process of peace keeping there is bound to be skirmishes and the policy with our army is to keep heads down, don’t go out and keep low – that has been the policy over the years as dictated by the Government of the day – I am not castigating our troops but the policy

Mute Rachel O' Meara
    Favourite Rachel O' Meara
    Nov 22nd 2014, 4:36 PM

Knowing the shower of eejits currently running things they’ll opt to use their favourite decision make tool….the magic 8ball…..”abolish water charges”…..ask again later…..

Mute neimad
    Favourite neimad
    Nov 22nd 2014, 4:51 PM

Dont send them anywhere. Disband the army and use the money for research into space travel and food production in alien environments.

Mute Brian O'Faolain
    Favourite Brian O'Faolain
    Nov 22nd 2014, 5:32 PM

I dont get creightons comment. Is she saying that she actually does think its a viable position??

And who are we to take the lead from? Nato? Sure they have a great track record for not starting illegal wars.

Ill stick with a UN mandate thank you very much! And while we are at it, better pay, conditions and equipment for our world renowned defence forces. Any military who have had the pleasure of working with our lads have nothing but the highest praise for their professionalism and competence.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Nov 22nd 2014, 11:03 PM

I’m sorry to break it to you Brian, but if Ireland were invaded tomorrow we would rely entirely on NATO for our defence.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Nov 22nd 2014, 11:19 PM

Why would NATO defend us we’re not a member? The only reason NATO might act would be if Ireland was used as a staging point for attacks on the UK and even then, they’d be more likely to attack rather than defend us.

Mute jon-boy55
    Favourite jon-boy55
    Nov 23rd 2014, 9:52 AM

Jason, if ireland were invaded tomorrow? What in the name of jaysus are you on about? Exactly which NATO bred boogeyman do you think might ‘invade’ us? Al Qaeda? ISIS? Russia? Or maybe Iran? The world needs NATO like it needs atomic bombs, ebola, aids and global warming!

Mute Pat Stapleton
    Favourite Pat Stapleton
    May 10th 2015, 10:44 PM

Ireland HAS been Invaded ,by Foreign Nationals .Wake up guys

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Nov 22nd 2014, 5:05 PM

Tell them to stop picking their noses outside the banks.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Nov 22nd 2014, 11:08 PM

You have a bizarre obsession with displaying your ignorance about the Irish Army online.

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Nov 22nd 2014, 11:21 PM

Apparently Denise’s brother was in the army so she automatically knows everything about it

Mute Eric Cantona
    Favourite Eric Cantona
    Nov 22nd 2014, 4:33 PM

Simple division, if the lads aren’t too busy minding security vans send them , but only if it’s safe and no one is shooting at them

Mute Jack Dexter
    Favourite Jack Dexter
    Nov 22nd 2014, 5:35 PM

Eric You wouldn’t last long in the American army /special forces

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 22nd 2014, 6:55 PM

yeah but how long would the A.A. or their special forces last in the Premiership – that is the question !

Mute bingbong
    Favourite bingbong
    Nov 22nd 2014, 9:41 PM

What would you know

Mute Alangb
    Favourite Alangb
    Nov 22nd 2014, 7:52 PM

@Nicky Your article is misleading as it suggest that China and Russia are the only country’s to have a veto, when in fact all 5 permanent members: China, France, Russian Federation, the United Kingdom, and the United States have the same veto. Furthermore they all have at various stages of the history of the security council acted in their own self interests.

Mute Bernard O'Brien
    Favourite Bernard O'Brien
    Nov 22nd 2014, 5:42 PM

Lucinda knows what she’s talking about unlike most of the other clowns in the Dail.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 22nd 2014, 7:00 PM

her assessment is correct but her solution is way off ….. this makes the defence forces the praetorian guard of any government – not on !
    Look at who suggested that the deployment of small groups didn’t need the usual rigours – Alan Shatter – that’s like saying if they had only knocked one of the towers then it wouldn’t be real terrorism but because two fell then its terrorism …
    The army is all about rules and regulations for very good reason – a slip in one little area and the whole thing becomes a disjointed farce !
    Man has only and not even continuously had standing armies for 3.5% of his existence – makes one wonder how we managed for 94,000 years without them

Mute bingbong
    Favourite bingbong
    Nov 22nd 2014, 9:43 PM

Fell asleep halfway

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    Nov 22nd 2014, 7:13 PM

We just shouldn’t be involved anywhere. Bring all of our troops home

Mute Thosj Carroll
    Favourite Thosj Carroll
    Nov 22nd 2014, 5:28 PM

For sake we need u army to stay & seize the power from insane Enda Kenny…..so water charge would be abolished!

Mute Remu
    Favourite Remu
    Nov 22nd 2014, 7:54 PM

No wars

Mute John Minihan
    Favourite John Minihan
    Nov 22nd 2014, 10:38 PM

I raised the issue of the Triple Lock on a number of occasions while involved in politics. Sadly the problem remains and I still believe The ‘triple–lock’ mechanism is hindering the Army’s peacekeeping role abroad. I would urge Minister Coveney to address this issue and welcome his recent remarks.

Order of Business Seanad Eireann Tuesday, 1 April 2003

Extract

‘Today, the first ever peacekeeping operation led by the European Union commences in Macedonia. Unfortunately, Ireland is not taking part, even though I think 99% of the Irish people would say that we should. The reason we are not involved is the triple-lock mechanism whereby one country, the People’s Republic of China, has vetoed a UN mandate, yet we have unanimous EU support for the mission. This poses serious foreign policy questions for us vis-à-vis our EU colleagues. We have become tied up in legal and political loopholes from which we need to extract ourselves. I would urge the Leader to arrange a debate on this serious issue’

I further raised it during the Debate on Irish Neutrality Seanad Éireann 25th June 2003 and again during The Defence Amendment Bill – Tuesday, 27th June 2006

The Irish people in agreeing the triple lock had not intended that Irish troops could not participate in humanitarian missions because China, for some reason of vested interest, decided to exercise its veto at the Security Council.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Nov 22nd 2014, 7:35 PM

Little do the poor troops know they are only being used by our Government. For the betterment of the British and Americans

Mute r keane
    Favourite r keane
    Nov 23rd 2014, 10:36 AM

Ireland has one of the smallest but best trained & educated forces in the world. Isolationist attitudes leave us open to being ambushed. We need to start investing and supporting our military and preparing for the inevitable. ISIS & ℅ are sitting 200km from Italy now. & we are the last point in EU before US. Time to open our eyes & coffers

Mute David Jackman
    Favourite David Jackman
    Nov 22nd 2014, 8:39 PM

She certainly has a point. In a situation where multiple countries have the option of vetoing external action, surely we should take that body’s recommendation to be lesser than the word of our government and the EU.

Mute Ciaran Burke
    Favourite Ciaran Burke
    Nov 23rd 2014, 10:20 AM

The triple lock system is useless why should we have to seek UN approval they are a bunch of bickering children who cant agree on anything case in point Rwanda and Syria. I say we decide where we go, when we go and if we go by referendum in regards to peacekeeping and only in time of war which lets not kid ourselves is possible because of the two nations we are in between Britain to the east and America to the west. Also the fact we are defensibly weak and a giant weapons platform with no navy and an air corp about as advanced as the Luftwaffe meaning we would be overwhelmed in a day if invasion ever came from eg Russia. Our system should be Government approval from both houses and president if we are ever attacked or to declare war like everyone else.

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    Nov 23rd 2014, 10:00 AM

In fairness the fact that the US, Russia, China,France and the UK control the Irish defense forces is odd.

Mute David Myer
    Favourite David Myer
    Nov 23rd 2014, 1:55 AM

My rusty bullet hole has seen more Helmuts than Hitler

Mute european liberal
    Favourite european liberal
    Nov 22nd 2014, 7:18 PM

It is not just China but Russia and America too
    We are seen a revival in Russian European aggression in Ukraine which the west are ignoring.
    What happens in Russia goes into an EU state the Baltics or Poland what will Ireland do then
    Watch Warsaw or Tallinn been bombed on our TV every night before we go to bed.

And thats not to mention USA’s relationship to Israel and the lack of progress there

We need to move away from the UN and look at military alliances in Europe to protect our interests

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Nov 22nd 2014, 9:35 PM

Over Enda Kennys dead body?