You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Yui Mok PA Wire/PA Images

Apple is changing the iPhone's charging port again

The switch to a USB-C port would put the Apple product on par with others across the industry.

TECH GIANT APPLE are said to be replacing the lightning connector on the bottom of their phones with a standardised USB-C port for the next edition of the iPhone.

The Wall Street Journal reports that the iPhone 8 will feature “a USB-C port for the power cord and other peripheral devices instead of the company’s original Lightning connector”.

Since the creation of the iPhone, Apple has favoured its own proprietary brand of charging port while other players in the industry largely adopted a standard USB port for most devices.

Apple kept the size of the charging port the same size until the iPhone 5, which made it much smaller and meant that devices designed to work with iPhones would no longer be compatible with the new generation of Apple products.

The new iPhone is also set to feature a curved OLED display, like the latest editions of Samsung’s Galaxy phones.

A source told the Wall Street Journal that Apple “has decided to adopt a flexible display for one model of the new iPhone coming out this year and has ordered sufficient components to enable mass production”.

The home button could also be set to go, in favour of a distinct touch-enabled area near the bottom of the screen. It’s front facing camera is also rumoured to possess 3D video capturing capabilities.

It is expected that the 10th anniversary iPhone 8 will cost around as much as €950. Currently the iPhone 7 is available for €770.

In recent years, the Wall Street Journal’s reports on the latest iPhone features have largely proven correct, when the phones are eventually unveiled.

Read: Your iPhone now has a hidden magnifying mode that you can use

Read: The latest major update for your iPhone is here, and this is what it brings

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

60 Comments
    Mute offtheball
    Favourite offtheball
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:09 PM

Good move!!

Mute Lao Tzu
    Favourite Lao Tzu
    Sep 11th 2020, 3:04 AM

@offtheball: I’ll believe it when I see it – NPHET are running this country; don’t forget that Dublin, Limerick and every other county are under continual threat of lockdown until we learn to ‘behave’ and NPHET takes the shackles off this government.

Mute Monster Munch
    Favourite Monster Munch
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:13 PM

We used to mock the Taliban for banning music

Mute Fergus
    Favourite Fergus
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:26 PM

@Monster Munch: I think there is a minor nuance between health reasons versus moral idealogism, maybe, just a smidgin

Mute michael
    Favourite michael
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:27 PM

@Monster Munch: Why’s there no televisions in Afghanistan?

Mute michael
    Favourite michael
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:28 PM

@michael: Because of the telly ban…

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:50 PM

@michael: They don’t even get to to see The Flintstones. But those in Abu Dhabi do.

Mute Monster Munch
    Favourite Monster Munch
    Sep 10th 2020, 6:34 PM

@Fergus: Ah you’ve had a humour bypass I see. They used to allow encourage face coverings…

Mute Monster Munch
    Favourite Monster Munch

@Monster Munch: Also*

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:54 PM

First song on the play list. “Don’t stand so close to me”……

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:59 PM

@Joe Toner: We’ll drink a drink, a drink
    To Lily the Pink, the Pink, the Pink
    The savior of the human race
    For she invented medicinal compound…

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 10th 2020, 5:01 PM

@Joe Toner: Second by The Rolling Stones: “Please two metres,hope you guess my name”

Mute Thomas Corrigan
    Favourite Thomas Corrigan
    Sep 10th 2020, 5:20 PM

@Joe Toner: and don’t forget ” I will do anything for love but I won’t do that, No I won’t do that

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 10th 2020, 5:23 PM

@Thomas Corrigan: Followed by “From a Distance”

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Sep 10th 2020, 5:24 PM

@Thomas Corrigan:
    “Your so far away ‘Carol King…..

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Sep 10th 2020, 5:40 PM

@Joe Toner:
    “Get Back”…

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Sep 10th 2020, 6:09 PM

@Joe Toner:
    And when the Gardai raid the place the Grand finale ” Like a bat out of hell”….

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts

@Joe Toner: Something to eat before heading home though. There’s a guy works down the chip shop swears he’s Elvis.

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Sep 10th 2020, 6:35 PM

@Larry Betts:
    T
    H

There was a guy who drank in a pub I worked in and his song was ” You took a fine to leave me loose heel, four hundred children and a fox in the field” I would pIss myself laughing!!

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 10th 2020, 6:48 PM

@Joe Toner: What about that song by America? You’d think at some stage across the desert he would have thought about giving that poor horse some sort of a name.

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Sep 10th 2020, 8:51 PM

@Larry Betts:
    Probably suffering from dehydration waiting for the pubs to open.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 10th 2020, 9:04 PM

@Joe Toner: Should have headed for Hotel California. You can check out anytime you want but you can never leave.

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Sep 10th 2020, 11:03 PM

@Larry Betts:
    Might have tried Alice’s Restaurant where you can get anything you want?

Mute Drunk in Dublin
    Favourite Drunk in Dublin
    Sep 11th 2020, 9:47 PM

@Larry Betts: excellent

Mute Maurice O Neill
    Favourite Maurice O Neill
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:13 PM

Its like squealer the pig in Animal Farm when he sticks the new rules to the Barn Door every day. Its just made up as they go along.

Mute Sean May
    Favourite Sean May
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:25 PM

@Maurice O Neill: Reminds me of this:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7FvoXJCrBhQ

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell
    Sep 10th 2020, 7:39 PM

@Maurice O Neill: what’s wrong with making rules as you go along? Should they have made all the rules back in March and stuck with them regardless?

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:35 PM

Great news but give me strength : TV not aLOUD and music ( that not live ) kaput. Just please for the love of baby Jesus and the dalai lama start making sense .

Mute Sean O'dowd
    Favourite Sean O'dowd
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:06 PM

Yehaw….

Mute Canyon
    Favourite Canyon
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:38 PM

@Sean O’dowd: bring on the 2nd 3rd and 4th waves….

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Sep 10th 2020, 5:11 PM

@Canyon: Bring it on baby….I’ll be waiting with my Guinness in hand ready to knock it back to China.

Mute Maalouf
    Favourite Maalouf
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:39 PM

But can’t have a tv on loud. Right.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:57 PM

@Maalouf: They may be now allowed to turn the tv up for The Angelus.

Mute Maalouf
    Favourite Maalouf
    Sep 10th 2020, 10:14 PM

@Larry Betts: hahaha

Mute paul gurney
    Favourite paul gurney
    Sep 10th 2020, 5:21 PM

A complete contradiction to the govt message of last night which said “no music and the TV turned down”..typical shambles of a govt.

Mute Dean Anderson
    Favourite Dean Anderson
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:47 PM

you can’t sing at mass but you can sing down the pub. .theres no joined up thinking at all

Mute John kavanagh
    Favourite John kavanagh
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:17 PM

Loads of live music down gorey way at the moment

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:20 PM

Thank God. The virus has gone at last.

Mute BuffaloSoldiersky
    Favourite BuffaloSoldiersky
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:17 PM

Would DJ set be considered as live performance?

Mute michael
    Favourite michael
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:30 PM

@BuffaloSoldiersky: I’d say Mark McCabe would take issue with that question

Mute Tom Bombdadil
    Favourite Tom Bombdadil
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:53 PM

@BuffaloSoldiersky: yes, I’m
    Back.

Mute David O Brien
    Favourite David O Brien
    Sep 10th 2020, 5:03 PM

I know this is going to be a stupid statement but I’ll say it anyway. This virus is not going to go away. A vaccine could take a long time to come about. I know a lot of people have died because of it and of course it is tragic but if we keep people away from it for so long nobody will be able to try and build up an immunity to it. We have to try and get back to a level of normality without people thinking they might die if they’re are more people in a single setting there should be.

Mute Jim Lingk
    Favourite Jim Lingk
    Sep 10th 2020, 7:04 PM

@David O Brien: not stupid at all

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Sep 10th 2020, 7:41 PM

@David O Brien: Build up immunity? There’s no evidence yet of any long lasting immunity.

Mute John Doyle
    Favourite John Doyle
    Sep 10th 2020, 11:13 PM

@Thomas O’ Donnell: and no evidence there is not

Mute Mac Dara Powell
    Favourite Mac Dara Powell
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:19 PM

Great won’t have to worry about turning the television down.

Mute Paul O Neill
    Favourite Paul O Neill
    Sep 10th 2020, 5:02 PM

@Mac Dara Powell: now that was the most ridiculous one of them all, even the Taliban wouldn’t come out with that, NPHET need to be kicked to touch, the mess that is the Health budget shows us what happens when you let doctors have an influence on financial and economic decisions

Mute Paul O Neill
    Favourite Paul O Neill
    Sep 10th 2020, 5:02 PM

@Mac Dara Powell: now that was the most ridiculous one of them all, even the Taliban wouldn’t come out with that, the mess that is the Health budget shows us what happens when you let doctors have an influence on financial and economic decisions

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Sep 10th 2020, 7:46 PM

@Paul O Neill: what was their reasoning?

Mute Paul O Neill
    Favourite Paul O Neill
    Sep 10th 2020, 8:02 PM

@Thomas O’ Donnell: they said if the tv is too loud people might have to raise their voices, and this spreads the virus more, you couldn’t make this stuff up

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Sep 10th 2020, 8:33 PM

@Paul O Neill: No you couldn’t make it up. You would have to employ experts in the field to study whether talking louder increased the likelihood of spreading the virus. And it does.

Mute Paul O Neill
    Favourite Paul O Neill
    Sep 10th 2020, 11:23 PM

@Thomas O’ Donnell: if your in a pub and you have the virus, if your close enough to people your gonna spread it anyway, so a loud tv won’t matter

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Sep 11th 2020, 5:24 PM

@Paul O Neill: It’s only the truth. Remember that choir in America?

Mute Philip Martin
    Favourite Philip Martin
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:23 PM

Can the publicains TURN the volume up on their televisions now when they open.

Mute Fon_Ellard
    Favourite Fon_Ellard
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:42 PM

@Philip Martin: What’s the deal with mute TV? Supermacs have them as well in their restaurants, have never been able to figure out why they bother.

Mute Philip Martin
    Favourite Philip Martin
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:52 PM

@Fon_Ellard:. That’s probably because Supermacs don’t sell substantial meals costing
    a minimum of € 9 each …..

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:55 PM

No Ed Sheehan or oasis covers under penalty of exile

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Sep 11th 2020, 5:25 PM

Reasonable.

Mute Fon_Ellard
    Favourite Fon_Ellard
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:40 PM

In some of the smaller pubs it will definitely have to be a one-man-band kind of job.

Plenty entertainment in the pubs opened in my village – fighting mostly, what can you do when there’s no music to dance to but beat the head off each other? Do people not go to the pub for a conversation anymore? Packed in like sardines too, no Gardai in rural areas to police the rules.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Sep 10th 2020, 10:45 PM

@Fon_Ellard: adults cannot do that for themselves?

Mute Conor Nolan
    Favourite Conor Nolan
    Sep 10th 2020, 7:06 PM

While it’s great that its allowed – unless there is extra funding for it – you would have to be a pretty generous publican to employ musicians when you would be stretched to cover staff wages. You could save €5K by not renewing the commercial Sky Sport subscription.

Mute fergal o connor
    Favourite fergal o connor
    Sep 10th 2020, 7:43 PM

@Conor Nolan: A sports bar without sport would be pretty pointless though to be fair

Mute Conor Nolan
    Favourite Conor Nolan
    Sep 11th 2020, 7:40 PM

@fergal o connor: I think TV is banned from Bars under the Covid rules – Someone above mentioned that.

Mute pkunzip doom2.zip
    Favourite pkunzip doom2.zip
    Sep 10th 2020, 5:06 PM

Pubs I. Swords have had live music since they’ve been allowed open as Restaurants

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Sep 10th 2020, 5:44 PM

guessing a punk concert complete with gobbling is out though ?

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 10th 2020, 6:26 PM

@ed w: only if you’re gobbling a nine euro meal

Mute Charles Shelly
    Favourite Charles Shelly
    Sep 10th 2020, 7:32 PM

Your are joking

Mute Thos Pollard
    Favourite Thos Pollard
    Sep 10th 2020, 4:54 PM

For how long? With recent spikes I notice construction workers sharing transport & no face coverings worn. When sites close and they are out of pocket, they might cop on. See it every day in garages when they go for breakfast.