You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Luca Bruno

Apple to create 1,000 jobs in Cork

Tim Cook was in Ireland for the announcement.

APPLE HAS ANNOUNCED that it will expand its Cork campus and make room for 1,000 additional employees by 2017.

The US tech giant is set to expand its campus in Hollyhill, Co Cork and add a new building that will provide new office space and room for 1,000 additional employees by mid-2017.

The company’s CEO Tim Cook was in Ireland for the announcement. He is to receive the gold medal of honorary patronage today from Trinity College Dublin’s University Philosophical Society.

Employment

Apple opened its Cork facility in 1980. It is estimated that Apple supports nearly 18,000 jobs across the country, including over 5,000 direct Apple employees.

An Taoiseach Enda Kenny TD said of the news:

Apple’s plans for new facilities at their Cork campus that can house a further 1,000 jobs is a very welcome boost of confidence in Cork and the South West region. It is also a welcome sign of broadening regional recovery. These new jobs come on top of 1,000 additional jobs already created at Apple in the past 12 months, which brought the workforce in Ireland to over 5,000 in 2015.

He said the continued expansion by the company “is testament to the quality of the talent pool, the infrastructure and the business environment that this country has to offer and further cements Apple as one of the leading employers in Ireland”.

Tánaiste Joan Burton TD described the news as “a profound statement of confidence in Ireland’s economic recovery, and a profound statement of belief in the talent and creativity of the Irish workforce”.

Minister for Jobs, Enterprise & Innovation Richard Bruton TD described Apple as an iconic global brand.

“Through our Action Plan for Jobs we have been determined to support more employment in companies like Apple, through measures like extra IDA staff in overseas markets and increased numbers of trade missions, and we have seen major employment growth over recent years,” he said.

He described the announcement as “a huge boost for Cork and for all of Ireland”.

Martin Shanahan, CEO of IDA Ireland said that for any company to be located at the same campus for over 30 years “is a remarkable thing”.

The scale of the operation in Hollyhill is vast, with manufacturing, supply chain, AppleCare and shared services operations taking place within one campus. Today’s news follows an announcement by Apple in February of this year where they revealed plans to put an €850 million data centre in Athenry.

ICT Ireland, the Ibec group that represents the high-tech sector, said the creation of 1,000 new jobs by Apple “highlights Ireland’s continued attractiveness for major investment by tech companies”.

Apple has also announced that it is partnering with the Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland to support research in offshore energy technology and is establishing a €1M Ocean Energy Industry Fund.

This is to support new ways of capturing wave energy and converting it to renewable electricity. Apple has pledged to power all its facilities with renewable energy.

Minister Alex White welcomed Apple’s support for innovation in ocean energy, saying:

The west coast of Ireland is recognised as having some of the best wave resources in the world and I warmly welcome this agreement between Apple and SEAI to help harness this renewable source of energy. This is an excellent achievement for Ireland and shows that when it comes to ocean energy development, Ireland is definitely open for business.

Read: I was skeptical about the new Apple TV at first – then I used it>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

159 Comments
    Mute John Jobs
    Favourite John Jobs
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:03 AM

Go Apple!!

Mute Wesley Quinn
    Favourite Wesley Quinn
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:14 AM

Are they Steve Jobs?

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:38 AM

So now Apple employees in Ireland to hit: 5000.
    Samsung employees in Ireland: 48..

See 39 more replies ▾
    Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:49 AM

It’s no wonder Mr. Cook is smiling at Enda when the Irish government is engaged in heroic efforts to ensure that Apple don’t have to hand over the billions in tax that they avoided paying the Irish state due to the sweetheart tax deal signed in 1991.

http://businessetc.thejournal.ie/apple-tax-avoidance-ireland-2076792-Apr2015/

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:56 AM

Great on the jobs news, but wouldn’t it be even bigger news if this business, or any other Irish business had tax equality ! Defiantly the best way to create and promote a two tier society is to sponsor such models. Cough-up Apple, there’s plenty here who have no choice but have to, if they wish to do business.

Mute Kevin O' Brien
    Favourite Kevin O' Brien
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:00 AM

Wally I couldn’t effing care less if apple are dodging taxes while employing 5000 ppl in this country, my county in particular, and thousands more supporting it. I live in America, its taking away from this economy. Who bloody cares? We need a bit more of a ruthless attitude and look out for number 1. Screw them if it contradicts normal business practices. We’re in a hole that other ppl dropped us in and we wanna get out!

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:03 AM

Kev, it’s these kind of deals that got us in to this hole in the first place

Mute Chuck Eastwood
    Favourite Chuck Eastwood
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:07 AM

Wally in general I rarely if ever agree with you but you’re spot on here

Mute Andrew English
    Favourite Andrew English
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:10 AM

This is what is rotten in Irish society. One rule for them and anther for us. I’ve already posted this below but what happens when a small SME tries to maybe cut corners in tax returns? Revenue will come down f*cking hard and crucify them. Cease assets, freeze accounts name in paper. See you later business.

You can’t have a functioning democracy and economy with shenanigans like this. What happens when the EU gets their way in relation to a universal tax rate and then TTIP roles into town? Apple and other MNC’s aren’t here because of our skilled and educated workforce. That can be found in any Eu member state. It’s because of our lack of tax. Back to de Valera’s agrarian dreamland it seems. We need to start looking at this issue now before it’s too late. We didn’t ride the crash because of excellent politics. FG and labour followed the exact same path as FF. It was because of our tax rate. But the net is closing in.

Mute Sean Wong
    Favourite Sean Wong
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:10 AM

Wally,

Why Apple create jobs in Ireland, not in UK, Germany, France, Poland, ….? Low state Tax! Employment is everything, which is the primary source of social welfare. Employment is everything in this country!

Mute Scorpionvenomm
    Favourite Scorpionvenomm
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:18 AM

But people will come on here and slate apple hmm

Mute ads20101
    Favourite ads20101
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:20 AM

@wally

The simple truth is that the jobs are more important.

Yes, it would be nice if Apple could pay their share of tax, but they have an army of very good people to ensure they don’t. But so what.

With the jobs, comes tax (from the employees), training (either internally or via our 3rd level institutions), and reputation (that large companies that employ are welcome here).

Do you think that enforcing stricter corporate tax rules would help? No it wouldn’t, they’d just piss off to a country that will be more helpful and take their valuable jobs with them.

Time to accept the tough realities of life.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:28 AM

@ Wally

Yet again you are immediately trying to turn very good news for the country into something negative.

Do you actually hate jobs being created?

“It is estimated that Apple supports nearly 18,000 jobs across the country, including over 5,000 direct Apple employees.”

Apple pays 12.5% Corporate Tax on its profits generated here, just like everyone else. To quote yourself – if you have evidence to the contrary, I would encourage you to go to the Gardaí.

They also pay huge PRSI, Commercial Rates and their employees pay massive Income Tax, USC and PRSI. Apple being here also attracted Google, Facebook and the rest.

Raising our CT rate (or changing the basis on which CT is calculated) would jeopardise that – and the 18,000 jobs – completely. We calculate profit in the same manner that everyone else does.

But yes – let’s amend our tax code to make ourselves completely out of step with the rest of the world and let’s drive Apple, Google and all the rest out of the country.

Let’s sacrifice tens of thousands of permanent long term jobs to try to get one big CT payoff and in the process utterly ruin the economy and any chance of future FDI.

That makes sense.

Nov 11th 2015, 11:34 AM

I think merkel and the eu are accomodating irelands low corporation tax at the moment because its helping to pay back this unjustifiable debt to these people, but when all the debt is paid back, then we could lose our low corportation tax under the guise of fairness in the eu, and what do apple decide to do then? They could do a dell.
    Its typical of this gov anyway, short term patch up work, no real solutions.

Mute Sean Wong
    Favourite Sean Wong
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:38 AM

Wally,

These companies is also transforming Ireland from agricultural economy into high-tech economy. This is more important for Ireland as a long-term strategy.

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:39 AM

Let’s stop the nauseating forelock tugging to the tax dodging multinationals please.

No capitalist firm produces a single item or employs a single person without the expectation of profit. The products & services and the profit are created by the workers, not the employer. The workers are the real creators of wealth, the goods and services on which we all depend. Capitalists confiscates the excess value that the workers create over and above their wages. This is how capitalism works and it’s intrinsically exploitative.

Or did Kevin, Barry, Sean, ads etc imagine that Apple, Google etc were creating jobs as a social service and doing us all a favour?

It’s aggregate demand (people needing stuff in basic terms) that creates jobs, not capitalism. Capitalist firms will not create a single job and attempt to meet that demand without the expectation of profit. There is a vast demand in the developing world for the basics like food and we’ll be waiting until eternity before capitalism meets that need.

The corporate profit manifests itself in the form of money. Modern fiat currency money is created (and deleted) at will on the computer keyboards of the world’s commercial and central banks. So the sovereign floating currency issuing state faces no financial constraint within the domestic currency and never needs to obtain its own money from private owners of capital. (Ireland unfortunately has tied itself into the monetary straitjacket of the Euro for the present)

The real wealth of goods and services that we all depend on is created by the labour and skill of the working class from the raw material of the planet as explained. Money is a claim on that real wealth produced by the working class and this is where money derives it’s power.

The money wage that the workers receive is always less than the value of the goods they produce.
    So to summarize. The workers create the real wealth of goods and services. The money is created at will on computer keyboards. The corporations only employ people and pay wages in order to accumulate the money by exploiting labour.

So can the cheerleaders for Apples tax dodging please explain why we need these parasitic corporations at all?

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:50 AM

@ Wally

So you do hate jobs.

Fair enough – we’ll agree to disagree.

Mute Matt Carroll
    Favourite Matt Carroll

You are a closet comedian. At least that’s where you should be locked up!

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran

Every silver lining has a cloud,
    Isn’t that right Wally?
    Dear lord,talk about putting a negative on every little step forward this island makes!!!!
    Great news for cork!

Mute Byyys
    Favourite Byyys
    Nov 11th 2015, 12:02 PM

Heard from a few people… lot’s is going on around Apple today around 5.30pm.
    Bono is suppose to make an appearance or something?

Mute VoiceOfVanguard
    Favourite VoiceOfVanguard
    Nov 11th 2015, 12:14 PM

Can we expect that Irish emigrants will be invited back to fill any shortfall in positions?

As Labour and FG recently promised would happen.

Mute Mr Wilde
    Favourite Mr Wilde
    Nov 11th 2015, 12:20 PM

Boring. Great news that Apple investing in Ireland.

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    Nov 11th 2015, 12:29 PM

Wally – maybe you can get a job yourself . You mightnt be so bitter then

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    Nov 11th 2015, 1:07 PM

I think the real question for two tier tax Ireland, is do such subsidies and turning a blind eye mean we are deluding ourselves ultimately, that the jobs themselves are technically unsustainable? SME’s are paying for the profits these guy’s make and pull off-shore, meanwhile our fundamental services collapse around us, real Cinderella stuff . . .

Mute Thomas Mac Donagh
    Favourite Thomas Mac Donagh
    Nov 11th 2015, 1:28 PM

FG for jobs :)

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    Nov 11th 2015, 1:34 PM

Barry,
    It’s clear from my post that jobs and the real wealth that workers create are vital for our society to function. So no, I don’t hate jobs.

However the capitalist model only creates jobs in the expectation of profit which is achieved by exploiting labour. The wealth and profit is created collectively by the many workers but expropriated by the relatively few capital owners.

It’s this system which has produced a world where the 85 richest individuals on the planet now hold the same wealth as 3500 million people, the poorest half of the globe’s population.
    http://www.forbes.com/sites/laurashin/2014/01/23/the-85-richest-people-in-the-world-have-as-much-wealth-as-the-3-5-billion-poorest/

The state if it’s acting in the interests of a majority can attempt to recoup some of the corporate profit back through taxation which can then be redistributed back to the majority who created the profit via social supports like health, education, infrastructure etc.

Now it appears that even this bare minimum level of fairness is no longer possible in the world of corporate profit shifting and tax avoidance which allows the multinationals to make virtually no contribution to the workers and society which they prey on.

Mute Sean Wong
    Favourite Sean Wong
    Nov 11th 2015, 1:53 PM

Wally,
    We wish people are equally rich, rather than equally poor. Your points are full of equalitarianism. The consequence of equalitarianism is making people equally poor.
    Creating a job is for more difficult than doing a job. Being a boss is far more difficult than being a employee. Boss commit far more to be a boss, in terms of pressure, effort, liability, workload, courage. Being an employee is much safer than being a boss.
    Most bosses come from common employees. Any employee is freely to be a boss as long as you are smart and brave enough.
    I am a employee because I can bear such pressure. But I have to say it is unfair for boss to get the same pay as employee according to their commitment. It is true bosses are sucking employee’s blood, but they are also sucking more blood from themselves.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Nov 11th 2015, 2:02 PM

@ Wally

I was being a bit flippant I admit re jobs.

But you’ve a long way to go to convincing me that capitalism is bad and socialism is good.

Mainly because in virtually every case, capitalist countries have a higher median and average wage than socialist countries.

It is simply a better system for the vast, vast majority of people on planet Earth.

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    Nov 11th 2015, 2:06 PM

Sean,
    “Being an employee is much safer than being a boss”

Really? I doubt these exploited migrant fishermen working endless and dangerous hours would agree with you to pick just recent incident from last week.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/guardian-irish-fishing-investigation-2422198-Nov2015/

Excuse me if I don’t join you in admiring the trawler owners bravery and courage.

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    Nov 11th 2015, 2:24 PM

Barry,
    Most of the abjectly poor nations of the globe operate under capitalism, rather than socialism. These include DRC, Liberia, Eritrea, Zimbabwe, Burundi CAR, Uganda and Bangladesh etc so it’s hard to argue this is a better system than socialism for the vast majority.

And I doubt that we share the same definition of socialism. Socialism is working all around you in every developed nation in the world. It’s manifested in universal health and education, public housing, social welfare system, 40 hour working week, public pensions, minimum wage etc etc. All the most civilized aspects of modern society are socialist in nature. None of these concessions were gifted by the capitalist class. They were fought for and won over centuries of struggle by the working class.

There is no lack of any of the real resources (e.g. energy, food, material to build housing etc) to meet the human needs of the citizens of the Europe or anywhere in the developed world. Or indeed the rest of the planet if the advanced industrial nations would lead the way instead of exploiting the third world.

Neither can there ever be a shortage of money at a macro level as explained. So all the ingredients are present to solve the economic and social crisis in Europe and elsewhere. The rising tide of poverty and misery is entirely unnecessary. Rather it is a deliberate policy choice of neoliberal states which viciously protect the interest of capital over the welfare of the majority as we saw here in the bank bailout.

Socialism is about replacing this catastrophic system with one which distributes the vast wealth which society creates fairly among those who have actually created it, the working class.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Nov 11th 2015, 2:53 PM

@ Wally

Just to acknowledge that Socialism is all around us. I agree with you that we currently have a blend of the two and that such a blend is healthy. It may be more skewed towards Cap at the moment, but I’d be in favour of that.

The rest is an argument for another day.

Have a good one today.

Mute Sean Wong
    Favourite Sean Wong
    Nov 11th 2015, 2:56 PM

Wally,
    Most fish bosses come from fishman. Being a fish boss or fishman is your choice. Fishman is paid by hour. The longer they work, the more money they earn. Fishman doesn’t care about buinsess, such as suppliers, sales, management, legal issue, finance, market, pricing, competitor, cost, loss, profit, insurance, warehouse, transportation etc. All these are boss’s burden. Fishman can freely change job if business is down, while the boss has no choice. Boss and employee have the same goal, — making more money.
    I refer “migrant fishermen” to illegal migrant here. So the story is different. I am happy to be an employee because I don’t want such headache.

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    Nov 11th 2015, 3:31 PM

Again Sean. The employer only ever hires a worker in order to exploit them for the excess profit they create above their wages. As soon as the worker no longer generates a profit that the boss can confiscate then the worker is quickly dispensed with.

If the administrative burden of exploiting the worker becomes too much for the employer then they can stop anytime they wish. Or alternatively they could form a co-operative where all of the workers share the profits and the operational worries you mentioned.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Nov 11th 2015, 3:43 PM

1000 people and their extended families don’t give a bollix about that wally mon ta fuk it’s a good news story.

Mute Sean Wong
    Favourite Sean Wong
    Nov 11th 2015, 4:19 PM

Wally,
    The profit is boss’s wages and the employee’s wages are determined by market demand. The minimum pay is 8.65/hour for employee. If you don’t believe it is fair, then vote it to 20/hour. Then you’ll see how many people want to be boss? How many jobs would be created? You would be happy to see people are equally poor.

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    Nov 11th 2015, 4:22 PM

The workers should not be satisfied with the few crumbs thrown to them from the cake which they’ve made.

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    Nov 11th 2015, 4:33 PM

Sean,
    Are you really claiming that Apples boss Tim Cook’s wages of $9.2 million last year was determined by “market demand”?
    While the factories which build Apple products in China have to erect suicide nets on the roofs so that the workers do not jump off such is the misery of their existence?
    Do you think this system is in any way justifiable?

Mute Sean Wong
    Favourite Sean Wong
    Nov 11th 2015, 5:21 PM

Wally
    How many jobs has Tim Cook created? Can you calculate the total income of employees from apple and its supply chains? How much tax have gone to social welfare? How many bosses has committed suicide from bankruptcy?
    Boss is working for profits, not for employee; otherwise, no body wants to be boss, it is charity.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Nov 11th 2015, 5:31 PM

Wally by name and ………

Mute The Destroyer
    Favourite The Destroyer
    Nov 11th 2015, 7:04 PM

@Powerabbey, haha, Thats all he is, an absolute Wally at it.. These big corporations pay what they are legally obliged to, yes they have smart accountants and will use every trick in the book.. So bloody what. If they are employing 5000 people thats better for the country. If those 5000 jobs werent here, those people would leave the country(possibly) or be a burden on the state(like I feel you are)

Mute Fifty Shades of Sé
    Favourite Fifty Shades of Sé
    Nov 11th 2015, 7:52 PM

If they paid just the 15% they are supposed to pay that would work out at almost 5 million for every employee. The government would be better off taking the money and investing it in housing, infrastructure and clean energy.

Mute Archangel72
    Favourite Archangel72
    Nov 12th 2015, 6:57 AM

Welcome to the world of capitalism Wally!

http://www.oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/capitalism

So if you don’t like this system bugger off to another country, maybe a socialist country for you? If you don’t like it, make your own stuff and stop shopping for groceries, your TV, your PC and everything else that you have bought through the system you hate. We can find 10 people that would be happy replace you.
    More jobs = more income = more tax = more money into the economy. And I think the Irish economy can use a bit of a boost no matter what the underlying ways are.

Mute Keith Gregg
    Favourite Keith Gregg

Can we have an apple store please

Mute Big Yellow Crane
    Favourite Big Yellow Crane
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:05 AM

We’ve got one.

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:06 AM

For tax reasons, no.

If they operate a retail presence here as well as a manufacturing one, it’ll hit them hard.

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Eoghan
    Favourite Eoghan

Please explain that?

Mute cooperguy
    Favourite cooperguy
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:07 AM

How do you make that out? They would just pay 12.5% on the profit they make from it? Which they do with all their sales in Ireland?

Mute Niall Lonergan
    Favourite Niall Lonergan
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:08 AM

Apparently Apple said they are waiting for the right store to become available. Don’t really understand that because they have them in shopping centres in the UK

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:12 AM

Well you can’t have your flagship store in any aul shopping centre. Certainly not for Apple anyway. I thought they were going to pounce on hmv in Grafton street when that became available.

Mute Darragh Flynn
    Favourite Darragh Flynn
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:14 AM

There has been fairly ample opportunities of stores to be fair. Dundrum would have been a great shout, or HMV on Grafton Street if they were looking for a high street location

Mute Darragh Flynn
    Favourite Darragh Flynn
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:15 AM

Took the words out of my mouth ha

Mute Stuart
    Favourite Stuart
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:20 AM

Absolutely bull$hit. They don’t operate here because they need a plan of at least(I would say) a dozen stores to operated to scale in any country. Northern Ireland get the UK treatment.

Mute Lad
    Favourite Lad
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:25 AM

Isn’t there an Apple store in Cork?

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:35 AM

Yeah, I remember reading an article about it before. They didn’t go for HMV because the rent was too steep on it. Apparently Apple expect a discount of sorts if they put a store anywhere because of the guaranteed footfall they bring. The building where the Abercrombie and Fitch store was also considered. I’d say they’ll wait it out again for the ideal location.

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:39 AM

In Belfast Northern Ireland not in Southern Ireland…

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812

Don’t know why I’m being red thumbed for it, but anyhow…

Apple are here as a designated manufacturing company, that has a specific tax code with revenue – all companies have a tax code depending on the category they fall into, it’s how revenue are able to see what categories pay what. Their tax agreement with the IDA/Revenue/Whomever is as a manufacturing company. Retail is a different designation, if they start selling here, they’d have to change their designation to manufacturing & retail & that would affect their taxes.

It’s not down to population or cost of living as they’ve over 300 stores worldwide in larger & smaller countries & economies. Even Gambia has one & they’ve a population of less than 2m.

Mute MeanderingsNI
    Favourite MeanderingsNI
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:04 AM

They’re here for tax reasons, they can’t open a retail store as @OU812 has said. Please can we stop pretending it’s for any other reason. The reason for the red thumbs is because people dont like the unpleasant truth. But 1000 extra jobs is good news.

Mute Big Yellow Crane
    Favourite Big Yellow Crane
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:05 AM

Could they not just start a retail company if they don’t have one already?

Mute MeanderingsNI
    Favourite MeanderingsNI
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:08 AM

Im not an expert, but artificial separation of a company is considered tax avoidance. having one company split into two for tax avoidance reasons is a bit dodgy.

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:17 AM

No such place as ‘Southern Ireland’

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:22 AM

Well I am just getting my info from what I remember in this article that was published a while back.

http://businessetc.thejournal.ie/apple-store-ireland-1999423-Mar2015/

Mute dowthebow
    Favourite dowthebow
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:33 AM

But it wouldn’t be an artificial separating? Manufacturer and retail are very different businesses

Mute MeanderingsNI
    Favourite MeanderingsNI
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:51 AM

Tell that to the taxman.

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain

Great news. Well done to the IDA.

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:12 AM

True but if it was 1,000 job losses everyone would blame the government.

Mute VoiceOfVanguard
    Favourite VoiceOfVanguard
    Nov 11th 2015, 12:19 PM

“Despite having sales that totalled more than $150 billion in the four years to 2012 they (Apple) have paid less than €10 million a year in Irish corporation tax.”

Irish Times, April 2015.

Irish corporation tax is 12.5%.
    On 140 billion euros ($150 billion) that equals 17.5 billion euros – not less than 40 million euros.

But hey, it’s not as if we need the money.

Mute MeanderingsNI
    Favourite MeanderingsNI
    Nov 11th 2015, 1:00 PM

These are CALL CENTRE jobs, like most of these ”TECH JOBS”….. what a tech hub…

Mute Conor Crowe
    Favourite Conor Crowe
    Nov 11th 2015, 2:35 PM

VoiceOfVanguard, corporation tax is paid on profit not sales. The issue is the shifting of money between subsidiary companies Apple owns and hence pay less tax

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Nov 11th 2015, 2:49 PM

@ Voice

There is no country that taxes sales.

All tax profits.

Apple pay tax on the profits generated here. Not on their global sales.

Our tax law is clear and complies with current international standard.

Deviating from the international standard would not just be unnecessary, it would be disastrous as it would lead to a huge flight of employment, capital and taxes.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc

Great news.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Favourite Old Gabby Johnson

Well done to IDA and the irish government.

Mute Paul Mc Manus
    Favourite Paul Mc Manus
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:24 AM

Stop using my name God damn it!!!! Lol

Mute Michelle Whelan
    Favourite Michelle Whelan
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:04 AM

Great news for cork!

Mute how
    Favourite how
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:30 AM

Great news. No thanks to Sinn Fein or any of the other left wing parties that will disappear as usual when the recover happens

Mute Dane Tyghe
    Favourite Dane Tyghe

That’s great news. The recovery continues.

Mute phillius fogg
    Favourite phillius fogg
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:09 AM

Pity Wexford is non focused on more Dane, industrial estates not even operating at half capacity.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:58 AM

LOL dane, it looks like you have “recovered” from that awful bout of flu or whatever you had that was bad enough to keep you from commenting on the government cock ups in the last few days, i`d say you had some horn on ye this morning as you revved up to have a go at twitter and the journal with your favourite word “recovery”

Mute talkingsense
    Favourite talkingsense
    Nov 11th 2015, 12:13 PM

Ah Jebus, did you not have a whinge at me recently for attacking the man and not the post. Hypocrisy is strong in you.

Mute Aidan Forde
    Favourite Aidan Forde

Aboy Enda

Mute Michelle Whelan
    Favourite Michelle Whelan

Great news for Cork! :-)

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:21 AM

Fantastic news, well done to all involved. Apple are a long term investor and employer here, long may it continue.

Now we need to concentrate on the South East, that region is struggling and the IDA need to try and get something going there. I’m sure they are trying but it should be a priority.

Mute Conall Foynes
    Favourite Conall Foynes

Great news!

Mute artur filip
    Favourite artur filip

That’s great news:-)

Mute Kevin O'Malley
    Favourite Kevin O'Malley

Great stuff, it’s a travesty to see so much of our home grown tech talent going abroad. This will help stem that tide.

Mute Nicholas Coffey
    Favourite Nicholas Coffey
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:31 AM

Fantastic news. This couple with the €850 million data centre in Athenry (estimated 150 jobs) is great news. Go Apple

Mute Eoin O Donnell
    Favourite Eoin O Donnell

How about getting them to pay what they owe in tax….. too much like the right thing to do for our ginger idiot leader

Mute Michael Carroll
    Favourite Michael Carroll

Dope

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Favourite Old Gabby Johnson

You’re an idiot.. What about all the taxes those 1000 employees will pay as well as its impact on local economy.

Mute cooperguy
    Favourite cooperguy

I think you’ll find that they do pay what they owe…..

Mute The Normal One
    Favourite The Normal One

Can’t please some people

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:12 AM

They pay huge amounts of Employer PRSI, rates and 12.5% corporate tax on their profits, just like other companies. The thousands of people they give employment to pay income tax, usc and prsi. Apple being here is a major reason for Google, Facebook and all the rest here too. But yeah, let’s screw over the Irish state, throw away literally thousands of jobs and force Apple to leave the country through extortionate tax rates. That makes sense

Mute Andrew English
    Favourite Andrew English
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:51 AM

I get what you’re saying Eoin. It seems that it is ok for for Apple to renege on their corporation tax because the thousands of people they employ here pay tax through their wages. We should all be thanking apple and the Irish government for the tax avoidance that’s going on. Without tax avoidance, we’d have no jobs. Imagine yourself and I ran a little SME and we were able to strike a deal with revenue on the basis that our employment of workers means a steady influx of wages and therefore taxes. Some luck.

However, this lovely corporation tax rate that Apple does not even pay is going to get some hounding in the next few years as was forecasted and explained in Kilkenny last week. Enda’s good friends in Europe are going to challenge and rectify our generous corporation tax rate. Will the likes of Apple and other MNC’s stay? Hard to call. They’re not hear because we are so skilled and educated. They can get that sort of service in any EU member state. It’s purely tax incentivised. Also, Enda will have very little say in the matter as he keeps pushing the TTIP agenda.

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:16 AM

Brilliant news for Cork.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:28 AM

Cork.
    The best people are in Cork.
    Cork.

Mute Cal Cryton
    Favourite Cal Cryton
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:06 AM

Fantastic news. Also 300 jobs from Indeed.com announced today. We really are in a good position to make ourselves the tech capital of Europe.

Now if we can just build some decent infrastructure like DART underground, and allow for greater density in housing to get control of rent, as well as keep the left wing and SInn Fein/IRA out, we may be able to consolidate this position.

Mute Eoin Fleming
    Favourite Eoin Fleming

Thats great news but what people don’t realise that Apple hire people on short term contracts and leave them go when it suits. . This has been going on for years up there and I’ve heard stories of people being hired, let go and rehired withing a month. Very little permanent jobs being given out.

Mute David Evans
    Favourite David Evans
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:37 AM

Please feel free to provide proof of that, Eoin.

Mute Mícheál O'Donnchú
    Favourite Mícheál O'Donnchú
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:47 AM

I worked there and I do remember that tactic. I was lucky cause I got in with full permanency but I had people hired slightly later sitting on rolling six month contracts, pleading for a proper permanent contract so they could get mortgages etc.. And this was nearly 10 years ago.. I’d imagine it’s worse now.

Mute Eoin Fleming
    Favourite Eoin Fleming

@david My own brother is one example . I also have 2 people i currently work with had very similar experiences up there. Apple use an agency in the city centre, bring people for an aptitude test,medical etc. might get a text asking are they available for work and they show.in my brothers case he recieved 2 P45 inside 2 months and 3 weeks later was sent another text asking was he available for work. Joke.

Mute Scorpionvenomm
    Favourite Scorpionvenomm
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:26 AM

If that’s true then what’s the point wouldn’t even apply for the job

Mute Eoin Fleming
    Favourite Eoin Fleming
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:34 AM

@scorpion This isn’t the case for every job available up there, but in the manufacturing side of things over the past few years short term contracts with no genuine chance of a permanent position has been the way they operate and to be fair it’s not just Apple that are guilty of this. Obviously people apply because they need the money but alot of the time there’s no stability yet the government can throw around figures for drops in employment when the reality is ,people are being fu(ked around on shitty contracts

Mute Scorpionvenomm
    Favourite Scorpionvenomm
    Nov 11th 2015, 12:55 PM

Yeah it’s very sad that this is happening when people want to work and not be messed about, not knowing from one month to the next when they can be let go on part time contract.

Mute Shane McCarrick
    Favourite Shane McCarrick

I’m thrilled for Cork. I only hope that they do something about the shortage of accommodation, particularly rented accommodation, which the new staff are going to need.

Mute Frainc Ó Broin
    Favourite Frainc Ó Broin
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:40 AM

That is and always will be the main issue here, and most likely the rent will be at a lovely price!

Mute Declan Harman
    Favourite Declan Harman

Give those Chinese kids a rest.

Mute Zossima
    Favourite Zossima

The BOOM !!! is back. 350 million euro house, shur what could go wrong !

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:15 AM

You have a problem with more employment?…..do explain.

Nov 11th 2015, 9:03 PM

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/oecd-warns-of-danger-of-new-property-price-boom-34184088.html
    If December causes Yellan to increase rates, many U.S. companies will leave Europe? Scary stuff, this government needs to do something to protect companies here from that now?

Mute Mícheál O'Donnchú
    Favourite Mícheál O'Donnchú
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:41 AM

Not gonna be a popular one here, but it’s call centre jobs, not “tech jobs” in the real sense.. And it isn’t even really call centre jobs. It’s tier-one, work-from-home stuff. They aren’t hiring too many programmers, engineers, network techs etc.

Mute MeanderingsNI
    Favourite MeanderingsNI
    Nov 11th 2015, 12:59 PM

The ‘Tech Hub’ ireland is all a load of hot air, and government buzzwords. In reality Tech companies come here for tax reasons, then hire a bunch of call centre staff to validate their presence. Once the tax benefits go, its easy for them to up sticks and setup elsewhere, with just as many unskilled call centre staff seduced by the ‘tech company’ status.

Mute Cal Cryton
    Favourite Cal Cryton
    Nov 11th 2015, 2:25 PM

You’re wrong, they hire a hell of a lot of software engineers, data scientists, project managers as well as legal and finance staff. Lots of well-paid roles. It’s true that a lot of the R&D is still done in California, as we probably don’t have the depth of really top talent for that, but that could change if they continue to cluster here.

Mute Ronan Cooney
    Favourite Ronan Cooney
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:10 AM

Nothing like the revolving door 6 month contract terms

Mute James Darcy
    Favourite James Darcy
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:16 AM

Ah brilliant you have proof of this do you – because everyone I know who works for Apple are all permanent.

Mute Ronan Cooney
    Favourite Ronan Cooney
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:06 AM

That’s interesting because everyone I know who work at Apple are 6 months on 3 months off …

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Favourite Cian O Donoghue
    Nov 11th 2015, 12:53 PM

All the guys I know are permanent. Maybe there’s a difference between production and support jobs?

Mute Aylarth
    Favourite Aylarth
    Nov 11th 2015, 2:37 PM

I can tell you that I am an Apple employee at the Hollyhill Campus and I have a 5 month contract with the possibility of an extension.

Mute Mark Joyce
    Favourite Mark Joyce

Great news for anyone who picks up a job… But any chance the village idiot asked Apple about paying a bit of tax here?

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:33 AM

Mark, did you read the article?

“It is estimated that Apple supports nearly 18,000 jobs across the country, including over 5,000 direct Apple employees.”

Apple pays 12.5% Corporate Tax on its profits generated here, just like everyone else.

They also pay huge PRSI, Commercial Rates and their employees pay massive income tax, USC and PRSI.

Raising our CT rate would jeopardise that – and the 18,000 jobs – completely.

It would discourage future investment by other companies.

It wold literally be idiotic.

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:15 AM

Barry you can’t even argue with people like Mark….they will talk down anything and are generally shouting from the sidelines at everything.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:07 AM

Can I have a job there pleeeeeeease

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling

Are you a genius?

Mute James Kiernan
    Favourite James Kiernan

Anyone remember the simpsons episode with homer buying hullapoluza tickets? “Its sponsored by that guy from apple computers”……”what computers?”

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Nov 11th 2015, 12:17 PM

I just love how annoyed the Wafflers and Jammins of this world get when there’s some good news. The ultimate proof that their message is entirely negative.

A government can only create conditions to create employment. That is happening.

Mute brui.ie
    Favourite brui.ie

And will they pay there tax bill in full or at discount rates

Mute Andrew
    Favourite Andrew

They’re is short for they are.
    Their shows possession. It’s just like my, his, her, and our.
    There is a place. It’s similar to here.

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny

There, here, where, were, their, weather, whether.

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    Nov 11th 2015, 12:25 PM

I see the AAA’s boot boys are on here trying to knock a bit of good news

It is not in the AAA’s interest to have good news on the jobs front , or any good economic news .
    If there is no Austerity then there is no AAA

Nationalise Dell ( and Apple ) , free computers and Ipads for the masses !!!

Mute tomeenoldstock
    Favourite tomeenoldstock
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:31 AM

Just wondering are these full time job’s or agency? I worked with agency in Boston scientific and Abbott and while it’s great to have work it’s impossible to get a mortgage or even a car loan as I wasn’t in full time employment. Agency staff should only be used for seasonal work or start up. Full time position’s should not be filled by agency staff. That said, it’s great news for cork.

Mute Sallins Man
    Favourite Sallins Man

Eoin O Donnell you are a knob jockey

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny

Excellent news.

Mute proctor
    Favourite proctor
    Nov 11th 2015, 1:10 PM

Company announces job losses, goverments fault! Company announces the creation of jobs no thanks to the goverment tho, some people just want it both ways

Mute Ria
    Favourite Ria

And yet they won’t open an Apple Store in Ireland……

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster

Won’t somebody please think of sheep?

Mute Brendan Walsh
    Favourite Brendan Walsh
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:09 AM

Nice thank you to Ireland for defending Apple’s Irish operations against the might of US Congress and Europe.

Mute Niall Sutton
    Favourite Niall Sutton
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:25 AM

It is great that another 1000 jobs are coming but I still think long term the Government needs to invest in small Irish start ups.

Mute Cal Cryton
    Favourite Cal Cryton
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:41 AM

Surely it can do both Niall. For example a young tech worker might work in a multinational for 5 years and gain skills and experience, then set up his own tech company. The government should be supporting both.

Mute Frainc Ó Broin
    Favourite Frainc Ó Broin

if the reports of there not being enough people qualified to fill tech positions, they jobs could be filled by experts from abroad

Mute Frainc Ó Broin
    Favourite Frainc Ó Broin
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:33 AM

But still positive news

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan

Workers form abroad don’t always stay forever.

Having so many high tech jobs here creates a need for skilled graduates. It means we can invest in Universities and courses to create these graduates. Having a skilled mobile young workforce will help attached other tech companies. It’s called clustering.

There is literally no downside to this announcement no matter how hard you look.

Mute Frainc Ó Broin
    Favourite Frainc Ó Broin
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:38 AM

I never said filling jobs with experts from abroad was a negative. But as you say, it should influence third level education which is a positive.

Mute Ciaran Wood
    Favourite Ciaran Wood

may get out the suicide nets!!

Mute David Evans
    Favourite David Evans
    Nov 11th 2015, 10:23 AM

*grumble grumble* This news doesn’t suit my Anti-Apple agenda at all *grumble grumble*

Mute Carm(Little Vampire)
    Favourite Carm(Little Vampire)
    Nov 11th 2015, 4:35 PM

I worked in Apple in Hollyhill back in the 1990′s. It was without doubt the best job I ever had. What kind of jobs are on offer now?

Mute Ían
    Favourite Ían

Rather than be a sound bite machine for ministers, how about getting details for the roles being created??

Mute Ían
    Favourite Ían
    Nov 11th 2015, 4:06 PM

Seems people prefer reading ministers comments Vs details of employment. Fair enough

Mute stuohy
    Favourite stuohy
    Nov 11th 2015, 1:37 PM

Apple don’t need to employ 1000 extra people to get the tax breaks they already have. This is again showing that Ireland needs to wake up and realize it isn’t all about the 12.5%

Mute DaVe O'm
    Favourite DaVe O'm
    Nov 11th 2015, 6:41 PM

Not too sure about that, they will have to justify the reasoning behind their tax base location within europe under new proposals.

Mute Danny Nash
    Favourite Danny Nash
    Nov 11th 2015, 6:04 PM

1000 jobs, wow, this really is huge news. Country is going in the right direction.

Mute Keith Rogers
    Favourite Keith Rogers
    Nov 11th 2015, 3:04 PM

Great, we get to deport 1,000 whiney corkonians from the capital

Mute Scorpionvenomm
    Favourite Scorpionvenomm

Would be nice if Apple created jobs in Dublin as well

Mute Cal Cryton
    Favourite Cal Cryton
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:25 AM

There’s more than enough tech in the Dublin area. Need to spread it out a bit!

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:39 AM

Apple has totally neglected Kinlough.

Mute ken
    Favourite ken
    Nov 11th 2015, 3:25 PM

Who cares how little tax Apple are paying,as it’s the jobs that matter.We need good news after all, look at the mess the banks put us all in debt for the rest of our lives.

Nov 11th 2015, 11:26 AM

Great news story…………to deflect attention away from the negative recent gov corruption, deflecting attention from the toxic, untenable gov. 1000 jobs, nice round figure, 500 might not be significant enough, 2000 maybe too many!

Mute Thomas Skelly
    Favourite Thomas Skelly
    Nov 11th 2015, 12:28 PM

Is this after they pay the 17 billion euro they owe the irish people. Fine Gael and labour don’t want the 17 billion the EU told apple to repay Ireland. The government is helping apple fight from paying the irish people the money they owed.

Mute Mark Dunne
    Favourite Mark Dunne
    Nov 11th 2015, 11:53 AM

Great to see, although it still doesn’t change my opinion of the crook with Cook

Mute Aylarth
    Favourite Aylarth
    Nov 11th 2015, 2:16 PM

Joan Burton TD described the news as “a profound statement of confidence in Ireland’s economic recovery, and a profound statement of belief in the talent and creativity of the Irish workforce”

This is where I hate to remind my fellow, beloved and honored irish friends and colleagues, but… the Apple campus at Cork has 120+ languages represented, which means, vast majority of the people working for Apple at Cork and very likely in Ireland, are NOT irish people. The irish education system is good but not as strict and strong as some underestimated and less known central european universities, for example. So praising the irish workforce is a nice gesture but far from evidence.

Nov 11th 2015, 8:55 PM

I just hope it is not another bit of electioneering… WTF did RTE turn this bit of news into gay marriage???

Mute Brax Braxton
    Favourite Brax Braxton

Great news altogether!