You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Finance Minister Michael Noonan Niall Carson

'The Commission has exceeded its powers': Government sets out 8 ways it will fight Apple ruling

A strongly-worded statement released by the Department of Finance sets out eight ways the State will fight the decision.

GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS HAVE set out how they will take on the European Commission over August’s bombshell ruling ordering the State to collect billions of euros of unpaid taxes from tech giant Apple.

The formal appeal was lodged last month. This morning, the Department of Finance has published an outline of the main arguments it will make in the case on its website.

The appeal 

The State’s action is a response to the Commission’s ruling that Apple must pay €13 billion in back-taxes, and its finding that Ireland broke EU state aid rules.

The EU’s competition commissioner, Margrethe Vestager, has argued that the deal Ireland offered Apple allowed the tech firm to pay a corporate tax rate of 1 percent on its European profits in 2003 – down to 0.005 percent in 2014.

Immediately after the Commission ruling the government said it would appeal the decision, on the basis that Apple had paid its taxes to the Irish state in full.

Ministers also cited the potential impact retrospective penalties could have on the country’s future ability to attract foreign direct investment.

Eight arguments 

A strongly worded statement released by the Department of Finance sets out eight ways the State will fight the decision.

The Department will argue that the Commission has misapplied State Aid law, that it “misunderstands Irish law”, that it failed to follow required procedures, that it has exceeded its powers “and interfered with national tax sovereignty”, and that it has failed to provide proper reasons for its decision.

The opening paragraph of the Department’s statement asserts that the Commission has “misunderstood the relevant facts and Irish law”:

The Commission Decision of 30 August 2016 (the Decision) wrongly asserts that two Opinions given in 1991 and 2007 by the Irish Revenue Commissioners “renounced” tax revenue that Ireland would have otherwise been entitled to collect from the Irish branches of Apple Sales International (ASI) and Apple Operations Europe (AOE).
The Opinions involved no departure from Irish law. The ordinary tax rules applicable to branches in Ireland of non-resident companies are in Section 25 of the Taxes Consolidation Act 1997. The Opinions simply applied Section 25, which in accordance with the territoriality principle, taxes only the profits attributable to the branch, not the non-Irish profits of the company.

Strong statements 

Point five in the Department statement asserts that the Commission “never clearly explained its State aid theory during the Investigation, and the Decision contains factual findings on which Ireland never had the chance to comment. The Commission breached the duty of good administration by failing to act impartially and in accordance with its duty of care.”

Point seven argues that:

The Commission has no competence, under State aid rules, unilaterally to substitute its own view of the geographic scope and extent of the Member State’s tax jurisdiction for those of the Member State itself.

The Department’s final point contends that the Commission “has manifestly breached its duty to provide a clear and unequivocal statement of reasons in its Decision, in relying simultaneously on grossly divergent factual scenarios, in contradicting itself as to the source of the rule that Ireland is said to have breached, and in suggesting that Ireland granted aid in relation to profits taxable in other jurisdictions”.

eight1 Department of Finance Department of Finance

Full details of the Department’s statement will be available on its website today.

Speaking on the day the State’s appeal against the Apple ruling was lodged in the General Court of the EU, Finance Minister Michael Noonan reiterated that Ireland’s reputation had been damaged unfairly by the commission’s stance.

“We don’t believe that Apple owed this money in Ireland at all,” Noonan said.

We share the OECD view that whatever they owe they owe to the United States and they paid everything that was due to be paid in Ireland.

Noonan added that Apple is the biggest corporate taxpayer in Ireland on profits generated in the country, where it employs 6,000 people in its Cork campus.

- With reporting from AFP 

Read: Margrethe Vestager, scourge of Apple, is going after more multinationals >

Read: MEPs laugh at Jean-Claude Juncker when he says Europe is fighting tax evasion >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

74 Comments
    Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:14 AM

Yet they ognore the fact that the ECB ‘exceeded its power’ in blackmailing us into having private banking debt put on our shoulders, and thanks to FG/Labour, the shoulders of our kids and grandkids.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:17 AM

Is it fake news no sir this is real.

Mute Awkward Seal
    Favourite Awkward Seal
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:31 AM

@For Connolly: They’ve really come out swinging on this one. Proof if ever it was needed that FF, FG and Labour have nothing but contempt for the Irish people. They throw the plebs a bone just before elections but the other 95% of the time they’re out for themselves and their friends.

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:55 AM

The EU do not have power over our tax rate. This must be jealously guarded from interference by the French. The untaxed profits were not generated by Irish resident companies. We’ve no legal or ethical right to the money. Its a bribe. Vestaeger over reached badly and will lose.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 19th 2016, 1:05 AM

As pointed out to you many times, the ruling has nothing to do with our tax rate brinster.

Mute Paul Doyle
    Favourite Paul Doyle
    Dec 19th 2016, 1:08 AM

@Awkward Seal: They are looking after the national interest, collect some money now and scare foreign company’s away or do without a small amount and remain a top FDI beneficiary. FDI is worth a lot more than some chump change from Apple. Europe wants its cut and its forcing us to collect for them, throwing us under a bus at the same time, no long term plan for us they just want whats theirs.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Dec 19th 2016, 1:11 AM

@For Connolly:

“the ruling has nothing to do with our tax rate brinster”

That is the most naive thing you have ever posted.

Look at who was targeted. Luxembourg, Holland, Ireland. All countries that successfully encouraged FDI.

The ruling has everything to do with our tax rate.

Mute Carina Clarke
    Favourite Carina Clarke
    Dec 19th 2016, 1:47 AM

It must be a governmemt record. 4mths to publish a plan. So what we should take from this is “when the government actually give a f@$k, they can speedily move along”. Amazing stuff.

Mute Peadar Cleary
    Favourite Peadar Cleary
    Dec 19th 2016, 3:28 AM

@For Connolly:They wouldn’t fight as hard for less crowded hospitals or fewer homeless. Patsy politics.

Mute Phyllis Murphy
    Favourite Phyllis Murphy
    Dec 19th 2016, 6:25 AM

Irexit: but not before we get FG out of government.

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Dec 19th 2016, 7:02 AM

Is the new Shinner policy that we want our tax rate dictated by a foreign power?

Seems slightly at odds with your campaign over the decades. Must have spent too much time enjoying Westminster’s patronage.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Dec 19th 2016, 7:29 AM

Another populist sound bite from Jammimg. Factually incorrect of course if he bothered to check the legal implications of the bank guarantee.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Dec 19th 2016, 7:57 AM

EU says apple owe €13 billion plus in tax , government says we will fight the EU on apple behalf, so they don’t pay.
    EU says you have to charge for water , government says we will do as the EU says.

Mute Benjy Dempsey
    Favourite Benjy Dempsey
    Dec 19th 2016, 8:17 AM

Our governments will never be found wanting when the billionaire class needs protecting. Keep the recovery going for the Apple tax dodgers. The homeless can fend for themselves in this brave little “republic” of ours.

This Irish Times article sums up the Apple tax dodging fraud:

http://www.irishtimes.com/business/economy/apple-s-irish-company-structure-key-to-eu-tax-finding-1.2775684#.V8l9IrKGf5A.twitter

The Double Irish scam which the likes of Google use to funnel their profits offshore to avoid tax is technically legal but of course deeply immoral. The double Irish is a 2 company structure where one company pays Intellectual Property royalties to a second company which is registered in ireland but tax resident in some tax haven the Cayman Islands or Bermuda etc.
    Apple in contrast used a single company (Single Irish) structure and the IP royalties were moved from one branch of the company to another offshore/HQ branch which was tax resident nowhere. This is the selective benefit that Commission has picked up on and has ordered Apple to pay the €13 billion in back taxes.

Both the double and single Irish are disgusting financial 3 card trickery to allow the corporates to dodge their taxes but only the single Irish is in breach of E.U. law. It looks like our Revenue Commissioners didn’t advise Apple well enough on how to legally avoid their taxes.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Dec 19th 2016, 8:23 AM

Santander case . Ruling will be made on Wednesday. One to watch.

Mute Awkward Seal
    Favourite Awkward Seal
    Dec 19th 2016, 8:30 AM

@Paul. You’ve missed my point. Either way I think this case is somewhat win-win. I’m saying they should have fought as hard before for Irish sovereignty.

Mute brian boru
    Favourite brian boru
    Dec 19th 2016, 9:58 AM

Kildare street struggles to keep ahold of the reins of power,

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Dec 19th 2016, 11:36 AM

Background to the Santander case which my have a huge influence on the Apple case http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/0902/813591-santander-apple/

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:05 PM

@LITTLEONE: Well said littleone, let brinster and the rest of the blueshirts explain that one.

Mute Shane O Malley
    Favourite Shane O Malley
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:16 PM

@Bobby Phelan: how much does it cost these days to defend the indefensible ?

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Dec 19th 2016, 2:17 PM

It’s great they can come together with 8 ways to fight it so fast, pity the homeless didn’t have this level of engagement.

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:09 AM

The man who hounded a woman to her death. Thank you Limerick for electing this absolute, total piece of ….

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Dec 19th 2016, 1:30 AM

@Beachmaster, How dare question the methods of Mr Greedmeister.

Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:16 AM

Imagine if he had fought so hard the odious debt he and his party campaigned on so fiercely in 2011..how much better off would our country be?..

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:06 AM

Government will fight EU to not receive €13 billion in tax. That’s the way. Things are done now.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:20 AM

We will receive €8 billion this year in Corporate Tax. The majority comes from the top 8 corporate payers. The reason they are here is because we have a low rate and clear rules which we apply to all companies without exception. We need to resist the EU trying to destroy FDI in Ireland.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:30 AM

@Brinster: if trump drops American corporate tax rate all will be lost we will have got nothing from them only a measly 1%.You can bet the Yankee corporations will leave this island in their droves if he does what would you say to that brinster.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:40 AM

@Brinster: 8 billion will be swallowed up by our countrys enormous debt http://www.nationaldebtclocks.org/debtclock/ireland

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:47 AM

@Bobby Phelan: Disagree Bobby. Trump’s focus will be on the trillion dollars that US companies have already earned that they are refusing to repatriate. He’ll offer them a sweetheart rate of 15 or 20%. That will be the major change. That won’t affect us. Far more to fear from the EU than the US.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:51 AM

Wouldn’t 13 billion be swallowed just as quickly Bobby? But what about next year’s 8 billion? And the year after that? And the decade after that?

Mute Roibeard O Beachain
    Favourite Roibeard O Beachain
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:55 AM

@Bobby, US multinationals have invested huge amount of money and employ thousands of people in this country. Assuming Trump can drop the corporate tax rate to entice companies back ( which is a big assumption ) they wont just leave at the drop of a hat. In any case, id expect it would be years before you would see any companies packing up shop ( if at all ).

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Dec 19th 2016, 1:02 AM

@Brinster: thats a 19 billion euro gamble you have made their.What happens when he focuses on the billion dollar us companies Americas debt is around 21 trillion every bit will help.He wants to make America great again!i think this country should take what it can get or chances we could lose everything.I reckon the eu is going to fail anyways.We should go all go back to the eec.Just trading.Maybe learn more about the Nordic countrys they seem to be coping quite well.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Dec 19th 2016, 1:14 AM

@Bobby Phelan: I’d be in favour of returning EU to EEC for sure.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Dec 19th 2016, 1:20 AM

@Brinster: well then fix the hse and housing problems this country cant expect people to live in poverty while others live so well maybe its time you start calling for a wealth tax because we cant carry on like this pretending the country is doing well when its not.Were an extremely wealthy state we need equal wealth distribution.Its eight years now time wages were brought up.enough of this austerity.Go back to the eu tell them we need our debt restructured we cant afford 10 billion interest.Or take the 19 billion ye cant have it all your own way make up your mind.If we are to stay in the eu well then the debt will have to be restructured or we get out.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Dec 19th 2016, 1:29 AM

@Bobby Phelan:

FDI is worth more than 13 billion Bobby. When you take into account payroll taxes, VAT, PAYE etc as well as CT, not to mention capital investment, FDI is worth far far far more than this one off bribe.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Dec 19th 2016, 1:37 AM

@Brinster: apple are not fighting it brinster they said they have no problem paying it.Its our government thats fighting it.We have to tax these companies our dependence is way over board on them at this stage why not tax them 5 or 6 %

Mute Paul Doyle
    Favourite Paul Doyle
    Dec 19th 2016, 1:49 AM

@LITTLEONE: I have these magic beans (13 billion) and i want your FDI – Europe.

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Favourite Revolting Peasant
    Dec 19th 2016, 2:29 AM

@Brinster:
    Not the total tax argument it’s lame. The employees pay tax on their earnings which are part of the operating costs and therefore profit to the company. Vat is paid by the end consumer. I personally would take the risk of applying the rules fairly to all without exception which does not seem to be what’s happening with apple. Or are they too big for you Brinster?

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Dec 19th 2016, 8:44 AM

Brinster and how much will they receive in tax from the people? Billions also but they are not fighting the EU to make sure the people don’t pay more when it comes to water. They are in agreement with the EU on that.

Mute An bhearna
    Favourite An bhearna
    Dec 19th 2016, 9:40 AM

Clear rules my ass. We have a corporate tax rate of 12.5%, unless of course you’re a foreign multinational corporation which deliberately isn’t registered anywhere in order to legally avoid taxation. The EU has ruled that Apple was given illegal state aid, in other words the people who work for them effectively subsidised their own jobs and Apple got away with paying a rate of 0.05% on profits. If Apple, and no doubt every other multinational paid the 12.5% we’d at least look like a country which has clear tax policies.

Mute Alex Falcone
    Favourite Alex Falcone
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:26 AM

Important article.
    An incredulous position to adopt on the face of it although there is an argument that by government adopting this position revenue will accrue more in the long term than is foregone if the argument is successful. But that argument can not be put forth with any great degree of certainty in light of political devlopements on the other side of the Atlantic.
    Loyalty to any state is not a core value of global corporate policy so perhaps the government would be better served showing loyalty to the citizens of the republic whom they represent rather than bending our laws to accommodate tax avoidance on a grand scale which ultimately only serves to benefit the shareholders of the particular corporation involved and brings the reputation of our Republic into disrepute.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:37 AM

@Alex Falcone: corporations only loyalty is to their shareholders and their own pockets thats how it works our government is banking on them being loyal to us and staying here on this island.If trump drops corporate tax rate were screwed end of.Thats my opinion

Mute Alex Falcone
    Favourite Alex Falcone
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:43 AM

@Bobby Phelan:
    Agreed.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:47 AM

Fg do not give a damn about the Irish people,if anyone needs more proof,shame on you.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:05 AM

Yes Michael. We believe you. Not

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:14 AM

@Mary Murphy: will this article be shown tomorrow.19 billion including interest while the country rots ff fg yet again selling us out.You would have to be a madman to vote right wing politics!!!!

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:18 AM

@Bobby Phelan: and liebour

Mute Paul Doyle
    Favourite Paul Doyle
    Dec 19th 2016, 2:03 AM

@Bobby Phelan: I dont think you understand the problem and position we are in, take the money and we could damage our economy in the long term, sure an extra few bob will be great but next year we be in recession. Our country does very well from FDI, rock that boat and another generation could be lost.

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Favourite Revolting Peasant
    Dec 19th 2016, 2:20 AM

@Paul Doyle:
    Don’t live your life in fear Paul, apply the rules and apply them fairly.

Mute Screaming Toddy
    Favourite Screaming Toddy
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:49 AM

Noonan is an ignorant pig

Mute Juan Franc
    Favourite Juan Franc
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:34 AM

It’s all about Dame Enda making it to March to present the bowl of shamrock at the White House. Biffo’s brother Barry will collapse the coalition Fg/FF government in a greed filled grab for power, Coveney and Varadkar will battle it out as the Dame steps down. Everything else is only a sideshow.

Mute Juan Franc
    Favourite Juan Franc
    Dec 19th 2016, 1:11 AM

The only major fight left in this Fg/Ff coalition government is the fight among themselves on how to divy up things such as the meagre pittance offered to them by the Ontario Pension Fund\Camelot trading as ‘irish Lotto ‘.
    As for the European Commission they look on the Irish government as a joke and rightly so….gombeens…..

Mute Right2change Midwest
    Favourite Right2change Midwest
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:57 AM

Incredible this Government is buried under the Neo Liberal ideology l!!! They can’t see the wood from the trees!! The state is not properly funded whatsoever. Homelessness is rampant, mortgage arrears is off the charts!!! Thousands in Emergency accommodation!! Health service crumbling, Government selling out our massive resources of Fish to to private companies while our own Fisherman’s livelihoods are all but dead let’s fight for our Right2change

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Dec 19th 2016, 1:31 AM

@Right2change Midwest: we definitely cant keep going the way we are things are getting worse or at the very most stagnant.Debt needs restructuring or out of the eu we shoud go back to the eec.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:15 AM

We need to kick this lot out and move towards socialism. It is truly the only answer.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Dec 19th 2016, 5:18 PM

@Petr Tarasov: Socialism is a fools charter, it never worked in Russia and only led to state corruption.

Mute John Fergus
    Favourite John Fergus
    Dec 19th 2016, 1:53 AM

It’s a sick joke. Where was the governments sense of “patriotism” when bent over to the EU on banking debt. The government on one hand says it does not have funds for public pay restoration but on the other hand are saying these have to spend 10s of millions fighting against the 13+ billion apple back-taxes.
    It makes damn all sense, its like something out of the twilight zone.

Mute james r
    Favourite james r
    Dec 19th 2016, 8:34 AM

Corporate puppy’s !! Showing the Irish people there true colours. We live in a corporate society

Mute Scundered
    Favourite Scundered
    Dec 19th 2016, 8:04 AM

Not in my name Noonan.

What a sickening and corrupt government we have.

Mute Ruairi O Neill
    Favourite Ruairi O Neill
    Dec 19th 2016, 10:23 AM

Why doesn’t the government use such harsh language with the troika? They’ll fight for the richest company in the world, but not the citizens they were elected to represent!

Mute Willy Malone
    Favourite Willy Malone
    Dec 19th 2016, 9:08 AM

Take what the EU says with a pinch of salt , when it suits .. FG, Liebour , FF mantra …

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Dec 19th 2016, 4:11 AM

Ireland will do what they are told and like it, and we always do?

Mute Quiet Goer
    Favourite Quiet Goer
    Dec 19th 2016, 8:41 AM

JUST TAKE THE GODDANG MONEY! Bloody eejits
    Im sure if you overpaid your property tax they wouldnt be fighting tooth and nail to give it back

Mute saoirse janneau
    Favourite saoirse janneau
    Dec 19th 2016, 6:39 AM

The EU ruling by Vestager has nothing to do with the EU wanting to see tax justice for Ireland. The drive behind it was to undermine our FDI And calls into question the way we conduct our tax affairs. Lets call it the prologue to a fixed corporate tax rate across Europe. @Bobby normally I would agree that lower corporate tax rates in the US tax rates would spell the beginning of the decline of American FDI into Ireland however this isnt how Us companies work. Ireland is a strategic EMEA based leg into Europe. They cant conduct business in europe from the US due to time zone differences. What i do see happening is consolidation of the european base. So if Google has its headquarters in dublin and multiple offices across europe the smaller offices will go. US companies are structured around their global locations. So Emea, Apac and Americas are 3 very definite entities of a Google they wont get rid of. Doesnt make business sense. The irony is that Vestager in trying to get a slice of irelands pie is actually shooting herself in the foot. What US companies will do is to repatriate profit from Emea and Apac instead of leaving it hanging in an offshore account. Good news for the US. More ready cash for the fed reserve which is 4 trillion in debt due to QE.

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Dec 19th 2016, 10:21 AM

The EU wants Ireland to kill its legitimate golden goose. Those people not smart enough to understand this want to take the money.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Dec 19th 2016, 12:04 PM

@alphanautica: yet you want to stay in the big bad eu while there trying to kill us you make no sense at all answer this. in or out alphanautica

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Dec 19th 2016, 5:16 PM

@alphanautica: You can bet that Ireland will be the losers at the end of the day when the EU harmonises tax across the remaining 27 states. why do you think the UK want out now.

Mute Stephen Maher
    Favourite Stephen Maher
    Dec 19th 2016, 9:32 AM

How much money per year does apple actually contribute to Ireland?

Like if we kept the 13 billion and they fecked off would it cover 5 or 6 years of their financial input to Ireland?

Mute Toon Army
    Favourite Toon Army
    Dec 19th 2016, 7:43 AM

Fair appeal. For once the government has shown it can actually get stuff done. Get the point on bankers and previous incompetence but it’s never the wrong time to do the right thing.

Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Dec 19th 2016, 6:03 PM

So much for the Lisbon “tax guarantees”.

Mute John Mullins
    Favourite John Mullins
    Dec 19th 2016, 2:17 PM

“Give all your money to the Millionaires” – Phatt Bollard.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Dec 19th 2016, 5:12 PM

If this was Nigeria you could see the logic in all of this, maybe the governmen needs a friendly bank account (mine perhaps) to lodge the13 bn while they decide what to do with it.