You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
SOME PEOPLE ATTENDING the Arcade Fire and Pixies gig at Marlay Park in Dublin last night found themselves having to walk for hours when they couldn’t access buses or taxis.
In one case, a man got a lift from a Domino’s Pizza delivery driver after he got wind of his difficulty getting home.
The park has a capacity of 32,000 people and is located in Rathfarnham, about 9km (5.5 miles) from the city centre of Dublin.
Getting there
One young woman, who didn’t get home until 2am though she left the concert grounds at 11pm, told TheJournal.ie that there were issues with buses heading into Marlay Park.
“We got to Custom House Quay at 5pm and they said there would be no more buses until 6.30pm,” she said.
They got a taxi and then walked the rest of the way to the venue, as there was a “big queue” for the buses, run by Marathon Sports Travel, with people who had bought tickets online getting priority.
After the concert
At the conclusion of the concert, the person TheJournal.ie spoke to exited by the left of the stage with her friends.
They made their way through the venue grounds and, not finding any buses, ended up exiting by foot onto the M50.
However they were still unable to access a bus or taxi, and walked to the Rathfarnham Road before getting in touch with a taxi firm. They eventually got home at 2am after waiting at a service station for over an hour.
Another concert-goer told us she had to walk for an hour to get a taxi as there were no buses left.
What the transport operators said
In its comprehensive information guide on transport to the concerts, concert promoter MCD said that Marathon Sports Travel would operate a bus service from Customs House at 2pm, 3pm, and every half hour from 4pm.
When TheJournal.ie contacted Marathon Sports Travel, Francis Roche said that nobody who booked a ticket online with them missed a bus.
“We carried all the people [who booked a ticket online],” said Roche.
He said that the “big message” is that:
An awful lot of people just expect that there will be transport there. You can book our transport online with us. If you are going [to Marlay Park], it is a remote site so book in advance. If they book service, they are guaranteed to get service.
On the issue of the buses not running exactly to schedule, he said they had experienced a surge of people after the Dublin match, and that in order to manage expectations they told customers that it might be 6.30pm before they could get a bus.
However, he said that they had “all those people moved by 6pm”. He said the staff did not sell tickets to people unless they realised they would have to wait longer than expected for the bus.
Dublin Bus was also running buses to the venue. A spokesperson said that they put additional buses on their 16c services, with 35 buses in total: 27 bringing people home, and seven going to Marlay park.
“We did supplement the service the best we could,” she said.
That is what we will be doing for all the gigs in Marlay Park this summer, we will be putting on additional buses to deal with the extra people.
On Boards.ie, the issue of public transport to the gig was also discussed, with one user saying that getting home “was a nightmare”.
Some people had journeyed from outside Dublin – one said that she had missed her bus to Cork due to the delays, and had to stay in Dublin.
https://twitter.com/brid_ad_lib/status/483545428924055552
People were also describing their experiences on Twitter:
@thejournal_ie Walked for about an hour and a half and eventually got a spin from a Dominos delivery driver. Thanks Dev!
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
I was exiting the M50 at Dundrum last night around 11:30pm only to be met by about ten people walking in the middle of the off ramp. It was dark and they had no high visibility clothing.
Very dangerous, lucky there were no casualties.
I was driving and there were loads of people walking on the road well beyond the venue despite the paths being full. Didn’t respond to lights, horn or revs. Just turned around looked at the car and kept walking in the middle of the road. Seriously dangerous.
Definitely should have been more transport on (saw only three 16 buses and that about a mile down the road from the venue) but people need some cop on too.
I went to David gray 13 years ago (don’t judge my taste in music- I was young!) and we walked from Marley park to the nearest estate, stopped at a house with no car or lights on. Rang a taxi and gave them to address. Had a taxi back to hotel within 15 mins. Otherwise we would have had to walk to town.
Tried to do that, I rang 4 different taxi companies who all said they wouldnt come up that direction as it’s “too much hassle” and they couldn’t guarantee my taxi would get to me. I suggested the driver just not pick up anyone else until they got to the address I had given and got a “no no that wouldn’t work”…. Pretty sure that’s exaclty how ordering taxis works normally…? Took us an hour of walking towards Dundrum before the other half spotted a loan taxi down a side road we sprinted for and took home.
I asked the taxi man where his counterparts were as obviously there’s a lot of money to be made judging by how many people were walking and he said the gardai had said to avoid the area due to the massive amount of people leaving………. I’ll leave that one there.
Looks to me like people didn’t research the best way to get there and back and book tickets accordingly. Although it’s always easier to blame someone else for your mistakes.
I did book an online ticket and it still took forever. Concert finished around half 10 and I queued for an hour and a half for my bus back to town. There was nobody around to tell you where to go or which queue to be in. Cars buses and taxis all left from the same exit. It was a joke. Arcade Fire were deadly tho!
Any where that there’s a gathering of 30,000+ people there’s going to be transport issues. I walked for an hour to get a taxi in Barcelona last summer after primavera. And have done in the past with outdoor gigs in various venues around Ireland.
Plan how you’ll get there and back, if all else fails, try not having a drink and driving there. Don’t rely on other people to get you home. Do it yourself
Don’t understand what all the drama is about…this is part and parcel of gigs like that. We walked for close to 2 hours out of Phoenix Pk after Florence 2 yrs ago, and I remember walking for hours after Slane/Witnness gigs years ago (showing my age now!!) theres no point blaming the venue, this happens everywhere!! Take your heads out of your twitter accounts and have a bit of banter with your mates on the walk!!
Exited the venue, walked for 10 mins and got on one of the multitude of Dublin Buses that were lined up on the St.
No clue how people ended up on the bloody M50!
There were signs pointing in different directions and event staff hadn’t a clue when asked. No signage outside the actual concert area. Potluck who found the right bus and who didn’t. We moved at a good pace and only barely made the bus in time.
Circa early 1990s we walked from Slane to Drogheda after Neil Young/Pearl Jam gig powered by Linden Village consumed during the day. This generation never had it so good ;-)
Sure its only 9km,
Most people who went to that concert were relatively young and able bodied, 9km should be no bother to them.
Leave the buses for the people that really need them….or plan ahead and actually book a place on a bus instead of assuming you’ll be able to get a place on a bus.
Most likely will be an unpopular comment but I completely agree with you. Plan ahead or prepare to walk. I’ve had to do that walk myself before – sure it’s less than an hour casual walk to the main street in Rathmines (6km), you’d almost make it for last orders in Roddy Bolands.
Dont be blaming Dublin Bus , they weren’t providing the bus service to and from the venue , they were not asked by the promoters to supply extra buses. Its the private operater who failed to meet the demands of providing transport.
A Dublin bus staff member told me they were prohibited from tendering for the contract and then from advertising that they had extra buses running to and from the gig. Ridiculous. The Gardaí should step in and insist on clearer signage and more coaches from Marathon. This now a public safety issue.
Nothing new there. Went to a couple of gigs in Marley years ago (chemical brothers/basement jaxx) had a bus ticket and they ran out of buses. Had to walk home. Was a pain in the arse but I got over it.
Best book at ticket mate, I went to arcade fire last night and the Q’s were massive getting home, lucky enough we managed to get near the front and get a bus, book if you don’t want to get mixed up on the transport chaos! Enjoy the gig on fri ;)
Did the Luas run extra services into and out of town last night? Be about 30/40mins walk from Marlay to the Ballaly stop but would have been another option
I thought the whole gig was a nightmare honestly. Its such a nice venue – I’ve been to gigs there loads of times before, and I really think this was my worst experience. Queues for toilets and bars were awful and the place was a kip – so disappointing, and confusing! It’s not a new venue, they should have their shit sorted out.
But in saying that Arcade Fire were beyond perfect so I can forget about the rest!
Que’s for bars and toilets at a large gig?!! SHOCK HORROR!!! A disgrace indeed. Obviously you should never have to que for anything and should walk straight up to a bar and be served by a cherub from the heavens, and then have gold plated toilets to use. Man up and stop complaining. Or just don’t go to gigs!
Ideally the cherubs would bring the beer directly to me, but I suppose I can’t have everything I want. Not having to queue a half hour to pee would be nice though.
It would be nice. But you’re at a large out door gig. Same happens at electric picnic at times. Massive ques for food stalls at certain times of the day, massive ques for Bacardi bar etc. if you don’t want to deal with the negative issues then stay at home
their were loads using the toilets on the left looking out of the stage but the ones on the right were empty , the mad dash for the bar at 9.50 was shocking , i’m a drinker but that dash was ridiculous why can’t people just enjoy the bloody show while it happens and not spend so long trying to get a overpriced crap larger
Dublin Bus did throw on a few extra 16′s heading to Marlay Park, which was much appreciated.
Coming home was a different story though.
Walked for a good hour from Marlay up to the Yellow House pub in Rathfarnham before we even saw taxis (all full of course.)
Even the Hailo app was useless for finding a taxi. I would have thought more drivers would swarm the area when there’s a large concert on.
Dublin bus have been doing concerts for as long as I can remember.. And when they are asked by the promoter to do it there is plenty of buses to bring the the crowds home.. Whoever did it last night obviously got there money before the gig wether it be online or pay on the bus and left people behind because private operators don’t care as long as they get there few quid before the gig.. Dublin bus get in touch with the gardai and are given priority going into the venue and leaving the gig and people are brought into town and dropped on the way in there if asked.. When you won’t something done you ask the professionals to do it because you know no one will be left behind and that you will be home at reasonable hour because that’s all the crowd want to do is get out there quickly & safely…. So promoters of concerts get dublin bus only company that do it right!!!!
Had to walk from Marley Park to Donnybrook because there was absolutely no chance of getting a taxi. Ridiculous venue for access and I’ll be very reluctant to go to a gig there again.
Us too. Moved to the back for the encore, then legged it as soon as Wake Up finished. So glad we did leave so quick and found the waiting taxis up the road, slowly disappearing further and further back as people got in to them.
I was not expecting Grange Road to be closed like it was. Completely different to the three days at Longitude last year, when there was always taxis waiting right outside after the show ended.
Great solution. So once people are prepared to miss the end of the show they paid to see, they’ll have no problem getting home. You should go work at Marathon.
Walked up to the Dublin bus lines, not being the first to leave the gig, I guess we were lucky to get a seat…but many were going to the last bus of the line, queeing for a while when walking 2 minutes up the queue could get you in one bus straight away.
Marlay Park is a terrible venue anyway to get there.
Don’t understand why the promoters don’t get Dublin Bus to do the transport they have a proven good track record when it comes to concerts !!!! It’s all about the money the promoters don’t give a rats arse how people get home
Was redirected the longest way by Gardai, who had blocked off roads we could have gone home. Eventually got a taxi at Bushy Park after walking a fair bit. No harm done, and worth it for the amazing gig.
Signs to left of stage said city centre and buses, very mis-leading!!They were only private buses and this is clearly not best exit for city.I was one of those on m50 roundabout. Disaster end to a great day!!Puts me off Marlay Park!!
I was driving. Took me over an hour to get out of the car park it was mayhem. 1 guy was directing all the traffic a total disaster. Didnt get home until after 1pm. Disaster.
Tried to book a Marathon bus ticket online. Bookings were closed a day in advance but it didn’t say that anywhere on the site. I found that out later. Got to Customs House Quay at 4pm. Massive queue. 2 staff trying to control it and sell tickets. They told us there might be a bus by 5 or 5.30 but had no idea if there would be enough buses arriving to meet demand. Having already bought our return tickets we decided to leave that queue and walk to O’Connell St and get the 16. A Dublin Bus coordinator told us that they were prohibited from tendering for the Marlay Park gigs by new NTA rules. But the Gardaí had asked them to provide extra buses anyway, which they did. Within minutes of getting to O’Connell St there were loads of 16 buses pulling up taking on passengers. Heavy traffic but we got to the park just after 6pm. When the show ended there were signs pointing to buses, carparks and shuttle buses in different directions, contradicting each other. Event staff had no idea which exit to take. By sheer luck we picked the correct one and got to a Marathon bus. People without wristbands were turned away and not told of an alternative transport option. No signs to tell people where the Dublin Buses were leaving from. Very badly managed. Dublin Bus would have coordinated things way better. But they should at least have been allowed to advertise that they were also providing extra buses and put up signs directing people to them. MCD need to sort this out.
Having had a feeling it would be a nightmare to get out of I drove up and parked in the carpark. Traffic congestion going home wasn’t helped by the garda setting up a check point at a set of traffic lights a few hundred yards outside of the carpark exit right after the gig ended.
Good work lads, real helpful.
Also not helpful….. The lack of a site map with exits, car parks, drop off points marked, a visible taxi presence and a way for taxis to get near the venue. There’s also very little signposting around, we accidentally found the official carpark while trying to find a housing estate to dump the car.
Still at least there was ample staff at the bars for once.
We walked to Dundrum from Ballinteer until around 1am – only got a taxi by complete fluke when two other people offered to share – ended up driving into town with them and then turning the taxi around back to blackrock – crazy hundreds of people walking to Dundrum even saw people walking as far as Goatstown and Belfield. We were the lucky ones.
We had the same problem getting a bus out to Marlay Park, ended up getting a taxi instead. On the way home we were looking for a taxi for about 15 minutes and were lucky enough to come across a free bus organised by Whelans that brought us straight to Camden St. Sounds like we were lucky.
Maybe he was finished work.. Dublin bus didn’t provide the service for the concert so they don’t have to give you a lift because they are a transport company..
Presumably Rosie was on the bus doing the full route from Dundrum to Beaumont, and got chucked out midway. Not the first time I’ve heard of it happening either.
Drove to the gig last night – that was a disaster also! Took an age to get out of the car park for no apparent reason – thought it might have been the buses which would have been fair enough but nope it wasn’t. There were no sign posts along the pathways exiting the gig to direct people. The same for driving out of the venue … got to one T-Junction where there were loads of Gardai standing about and one just waving people on but giving no indication of direction hence everyone stopping to see which direction to go! That was the last Garda I saw … saw the people climbing onto the M50 unbelieveable!
Stayed in Jurys Inn on Custom House Quay. Booked Marathon bus tickets online. Bus to Marlay Park parked about 10 minute walk from concert venue. Left concert 15 minutes early and got bus back to Custom House Quay no problems whatsoever. Some pampered hipsters just love a moan. Idiots
Absolute nightmare getting home after gig last night not helped at all by the gardai who gave incorrect directions. Shuttle buses full and luas had finished operating by time we arrived at station. Hailo app wouldn’t function due, I would say, to large numbers trying to access cab. Had to start a solo walk towards town as friends were going in opposite direction. Finally managed to grab lift with random couple who stopped to offer lift
#jumpedinnoquestionsasked #strangerdangeroutthewindow
Saw Muse in Marley Park about 4/5 years ago…..getting to and from there via bus was a nightmare. Swore I would never go to a gig out there again – and haven’t. But I’m really annoyed for all those people last night cause it sounds like things haven’t changed. Marley Park is a really nice venue but woefully served for transport etc.
Dublin bus need to put on a shed load of buses like they did after Longitude last year. Just send out 75 million Dublin buses and there will be no problems. That Marathon sports bus thing was a joke. Luckily I live right beside Marley, but loads of my mates had to sit it out in mine till after two to get a taxi. Not one to be had in the city at all. We rang several companies and all had waiting times of over an hour.
I agree that 75 million buses should prove adequate to ferry home the concert goers in relative comfort. Of course, we’ll need to begin work on a major road-building initiative without delay, as well as orchestrating mass immigration and bus driver training schemes.
Used hailo for the first time, shared taxis with other people, did a half hour of walking after the gig cost about 20quid for two people to get there and back, don’t see how people could have fecked up going home from a concert
What I don’t understand is why isnt there a city-affiliated body that steers the ship in coordinating the logistics of moving large amounts of people about the city at the same time? I live in Auckland, where the locals constantly complain about public transport, yet if there is a concert or big game on in a council owned park or stadium, there is a concerted effort by all stakeholders to get people to and from the gig/game safely, preferably avoiding driving. Usually your ticket includes a “free” train or bus to and from the transport hub in the city centre and whatever grounds you’re going to. It’s safe and widely used, and easy to grasp. You’re deposited back by the main train and bus depot(and sometimes to further out town centres if you live away from the city), and within walking distance of food and drink outlets. Dublin should be an easy city to get around, with a well established bus service, luas and trains, but it’s a mission (and daunting) to get to gigs in places like Marlay Park, especially if you don’t live near or have traveled from the country to Dublin to attend. Why we don’t have a people friendly system I don’t know, it would save the Gardai a heap of hassle.
I went to a metallica concert in marlay park years ago and hundreds of people had no transport. There were no taxis, no buses. Luckily a Dublin bus driver stopped for us and lots of other tired concert goers. The whole bus sang “hail to the bus driver” never been so pleased to be on a bus into the city.
I’d say a big part of the problem was the multiple exits. I (just about!) got my bus to town from the College Road entrance, but that’s right by the M50 and a long enough walk to Grange Road for a bus when surrounded by lots of people. I assume there was an exit and pickup points at the Grange Road exit, too, so you’d have had a much easier time getting home from there I’d say.
Get the 61 or 15b and walk from Ballyboden side… It’s feck all to walk and will be faster than the 16 in the traffic. Walk out that way for the taxi also as everyone will naturally what towards Dundrum.
We got one of the marathon coaches from custom house quay at about half 6 out to Marley. We nearly fell over when we realised they were charging €15 per person to get there and back!!!!!!! We really just needed to get going though so we paid up.
I should have checked it out in advance especially when the bus driver drove out through the port tunnel and onto to the m50 to get to Marley!!!!!
It’s MADNESS charging people €15 for a round trip. In saying that we got on a bus really fast coming home and the driver dropped us off on the n4 because we were going back to Lucan.
dublin bus charged €20 when they ran the bus service to and from marley park back to the city and that was 2004/5 for the white stripes and new York dolls
I’d love to know did half of these people who say it was a nightmare getting home do there research before hand , i’m a well travelled concert goer and marley is one of if not the best outdoor venue in ireland , now I know I have a friend in the area and it’s easy for me to get out of there (I was at Newlands cross at 11 without missing any of the gig) but if I was in the car park I would be ready for at least an hour to wait to get out , when I buses to marley it was a piece of cake with dublin bus they all lined up and the people at the top of the que got on , if you had not come out with them they had a ticket van , it seems to me MCD are taking the easier (cheaper) options ,usually after a concert there the road outside is open and we’ll policed but last night it was totally shut down which may have been a garda over reaction , but honestly people are expecting the Luas to still be running ? , as for the people who climed the wall down onto the m50 should have been arrested if caught , I mean come on have some common sence
Download the hailo app will be huge advantage when trying to get a car
Traffic restrictions may mean you’ll walk a bit but you will at least know the car is there for you
Saw loads of people with bikes locked right outside the front gate who were able to just hop on them and spin hope, best idea.
I knew grange road was going to be closed so parked just outside it, was no hastle getting home.
Yup, me too. Most of my mates cycled. I parked at a friend’s about a 20 minute walk away – only thing I found annoying was people walking in the middle of the road surrounded by empty paths.
Transport home from a gig should not be contingent on booking a bus ticket prior to the event. I brought my 14-year-old son with me to Arcade Fire and, although we both loved the gig, I won’t be bringing him to any other gigs at Marlay Park, as the two-hour journey back to the hotel had him almost in tears.
Walked down to the quays around 3.30 Sunday afternoon for the shuttle bus, had just missed one but got put on the next one which left before 4 so was in the venue well before 5. Stayed till the end and then walked back to where we’d been dropped, bit of a Q but the buses were leaving as soon as they were full so it moved reasonably quickly, got back into town around midnight handy enough, the driver was happy to drop people off en route at Hueston Station etc if it suited them rather than bringing them back into town. Seems the issue was with people who didn’t book in advance, book in advance here if you’re heading out there this week and you should be okay. http://www.bushiredublin.net/
Will Ireland get caught in the crossfire of the EU's response to Trump's tariffs?
Eoghan Dalton
1 hr ago
PodcastThe Candidate
Wait, is this going to be like 2008 all over again?
14 mins ago
As it happened
Trump hits EU goods with 20% tariff and rails against foreigners 'pillaging' US
Updated
18 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say