You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Stephen Pond/EMPICS Sport

Tips for a happy, safe and responsible Arthur's Day

Happy Arthur’s Day! If you are out and about tonight drinkaware.ie has a few tips to ensure you have a safe one.

AS YOU MAY be aware, it’s Arthur’s Day and that is sure to see plenty of people out enjoying themselves in the spirit of the man who gave us Guinness later today but drinkaware.ie is urging people to drink safely and responsibly.

The organisation, which is sponsored by the drinks industry, is calling on pubs and venues to serve alcohol to their customers responsibly tonight pointing out that if you are starting at 17:59 (it was the year in which Arthur started brewing) then it could be a long evening.

“Recent studies have shown that although Irish people drink less often than our European counterparts, we tend to drink too much and too fast when we do,” Drink Aware’s Fionnuala Sheehan said.

“Slowing down and pacing yourself – having food and water between drinks, for example – allows you to enjoy the night’s events for longer, and to wake up feeling refreshed and hydrated the next day.”

Tips include making sure you eat and have a “decent meal” and not just bags of crisps between drinks. Avoid rounds as not everyone drinks at the same pace and if you do have rounds limit it to two or three people.

Speaking of which you should also pace yourself and spread your drinks over the course of the evening instead of trying to keep up with the fastest drinker.

You should have a glass of water between alcohol drinks which will keep you refreshed and hydrated and make the next day a bit easier.

Make sure to take your time and enjoy the day to its full while the morning after, in this case Friday, even if you feel fine you may be over the limit for driving, so don’t as your body gets rid of roughly one standard drink per hour.

In further advice for publicans and licensed venues, Sheehan says that they should implement a “responsible serving policy”.

“Licensees might consider providing a few small extras to help people pace their drinking. [They] may even think about offering free snacks around mealtimes, as many people may be coming from work on an empty stomach,” she added.

“Having tap water available also allows customers to refresh themselves, and to give their bodies time to deal with any alcohol they may already have drunk.”

Read: Lead singer of The Stunning slams Arthur’s Day ‘smugness’

Read: Cheers to Arthur – and other made-up holidays

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

37 Comments
    Mute Bryan Smyth
    Favourite Bryan Smyth
    Sep 27th 2012, 6:54 AM

It should be called Diageo day!

Mute Richie Brennan
    Favourite Richie Brennan
    Sep 27th 2012, 6:59 AM

It should be called, ‘national, thanks lads I have yer money and ye have yer piss’ day.

Mute Gavin Scales Wayne Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Scales Wayne Mckenna
    Sep 27th 2012, 7:50 AM

I have decided to produce and sell a strong alcoholic drink called “Responsibly” That way everyone in the country can get shit faced drinking responsibly. And all the other drinks makers will be advertising for me on their cans with the slogan “please drink responsibly” Probably will annoy the government as well.

Mute Diarmuid Donoghue
    Favourite Diarmuid Donoghue
    Sep 27th 2012, 10:19 AM

genius

Mute Richie Brennan
    Favourite Richie Brennan
    Sep 27th 2012, 6:56 AM

Find Arthur’s day quite embarrassing; we just lost a Junior Health Minister for among other things failing to break the link between drinking and sports events. Never mind Róisín we now drink, we’ll… because… Arthur tells us to?!

Mute Dave Kavanagh
    Favourite Dave Kavanagh
    Sep 27th 2012, 7:27 AM

You really need to get out more often ;-)

Mute Simon Blake
    Favourite Simon Blake
    Sep 27th 2012, 7:51 AM

I couldnt After more but I see you already have the moron comments after your post.

Mute David Conway
    Favourite David Conway
    Sep 27th 2012, 7:55 AM

Nice Advertisement, I hope you got a nice bit of money off Diageo and Drink Aware? Oh wait….they basically are the same people. I’m sick if this Arthur’s day crap and the way the media roll in behind it, presumably for some free passes and some pints.

Mute Simon
    Favourite Simon
    Sep 27th 2012, 7:18 AM

It is marketing genius!

Mute Padraig Stapleton
    Favourite Padraig Stapleton
    Sep 27th 2012, 8:14 AM

Guinness in a plastic glass? Urrgh.

Mute Martin Cunningham
    Favourite Martin Cunningham
    Sep 27th 2012, 8:19 AM

Plastic glass for the plastic paddys.

Mute Tommy
    Favourite Tommy
    Sep 27th 2012, 6:54 AM

To Arthur!

Mute FartBox
    Favourite FartBox
    Sep 27th 2012, 8:05 AM

it is a bit of a buy our product that was once owned by an Irish man and is now owned by an English company day…. but it’s a social event none the less, which I enjoy… a few bands playing, drink, craic, easy drunk chicks etc…. :-D could you ask for much more?

Mute FartBox
    Favourite FartBox
    Sep 27th 2012, 8:05 AM

it is a bit of a buy our product that was once owned by an Irish man and is now owned by an English company day…. but it’s a social event none the less, which I enjoy… a few bands playing, drink, craic, easy drunk chicks etc…. :-D could you ask for much more?

Mute FartBox
    Favourite FartBox
    Sep 27th 2012, 8:06 AM

better than paddies day…. ;-)

Mute Martin Cunningham
    Favourite Martin Cunningham
    Sep 27th 2012, 8:03 AM

Just what we need another reason to drink….. Feckin sheep..

Mute Dave Kavanagh
    Favourite Dave Kavanagh
    Sep 27th 2012, 7:28 AM

Happy Arthurs day folks. hope everyone enjoys a few tonight and stays safe.

Mute john cleary
    Favourite john cleary
    Sep 27th 2012, 9:51 AM

Dave, you really need go get out more.

Mute Resel
    Favourite Resel
    Sep 27th 2012, 8:19 AM

Ireland could do without another dedicated drink day.

Mute Resel
    Favourite Resel
    Sep 27th 2012, 8:20 AM

On a Thursday too, with tomorrow being a work and school day. It’s ridiculous.

Mute Jim McGourty
    Favourite Jim McGourty
    Sep 27th 2012, 2:57 PM

Athurs Day…A Thursday, get it…always gonna be on a Thursday. Genius!

Mute Jim McGourty
    Favourite Jim McGourty
    Sep 27th 2012, 2:57 PM

Arthur’s Day…A Thursday, get it…always gonna be on a Thursday. Genius!

Mute Steve McNally
    Favourite Steve McNally
    Sep 27th 2012, 7:03 AM

Does anyone know if there is still a free pint at 17:59? The last couple of years the barman would give a round of free Guinness to anyone who wanted it at a minute to six. Just wondering if anyone knows if this was an official marketing tactic of diageo or just a courtesy by individual pubs?

Mute Aoife O'Mahony
    Favourite Aoife O'Mahony
    Sep 27th 2012, 7:34 AM

It’s up to the individual publicans.

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Sep 27th 2012, 9:34 AM

Roisin Shortall is going on the session today.

Mute Popsicle Pete
    Favourite Popsicle Pete
    Sep 27th 2012, 8:48 AM

Why a Thursday? Who wants to go on the piss on a Thursday if you’ve work the next morning?

Mute Popsicle Pete
    Favourite Popsicle Pete
    Sep 27th 2012, 8:55 AM

Not on a Thursday thanks, work in the morning.

Mute Amy Ní Caithláin
    Favourite Amy Ní Caithláin
    Sep 27th 2012, 8:33 AM

Some people are quite funny and presumptuous as to the origin of Diageo.
    It’s not owned by an Englishman and never has been. It’s Spanish.

Mute Brant Blog
    Favourite Brant Blog
    Sep 27th 2012, 9:50 AM

I don’t know where you’re getting that from. It’s headquartered in the UK and it’s main listing is on the LSE. It is most definitely not Spanish.

http://www.thejournal.ie/arthurs-day-tips-610840-Sep2012/

Mute colm o sullivan
    Favourite colm o sullivan
    Sep 27th 2012, 10:17 AM

All the people on the dole don’t have work in the morning..the Monday Club has moved to Thursday for this week

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 27th 2012, 10:37 AM

I wouldn’t say all Colm but you have a point there . There are a few that like to sit there all day but I would say they are very much a minoraty.
    Most people on the dole are bearly scraping through (btw I’m not on the dole)

Mute Padraig Stapleton
    Favourite Padraig Stapleton
    Sep 27th 2012, 8:43 AM

Diageo is British surely. Grand Metropolitan merged with Guinness to form Diageo in 1997.

Mute john cleary
    Favourite john cleary
    Sep 27th 2012, 11:10 AM

Could somebody in journal.ie explain the heavy hitting all week on behalf of Guinness/Diageo?

Mute Neil McAuley
    Favourite Neil McAuley
    Sep 27th 2012, 12:30 PM

Agree johncleary. I’m a big fan of the Journal, but have found their promotion of Arthur’s Day quite shameless. Any sign of Susan Daly , Hugh ?

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 27th 2012, 8:46 AM

I do enjoy a few pints but I like to leave it until Friday night when I’m not driving on Sat.
    But sure I’ll go out and support another multi and drink a few diet cokes while enjoying the atmosphere.

Mute Andrew P
    Favourite Andrew P
    Sep 27th 2012, 1:01 PM

Amazing to read the comments by people taken in with this farce. Also how much did journal.ie get payed for this advertisement.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Sep 27th 2012, 9:26 PM

A better tip, Don’t Drink! How low do you go, to help plastic paddy’s get plastered? Well Journal.ie, how much did you sell your soul for?