You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Woodquay in Tuam, Co Galway. Google Streetview

Man killed in Galway collision

The man in his 60s died after his car collided with a wall.

A MAN HAS been killed in a single vehicle road collision in Co Galway.

The incident occurred at 6.30pm yesterday evening at Woodquay, Weir Road in Tuam. The male driver, who was in his 60s and was the sole occupant of the car, was fatally injured when his car collided with a wall.

The stretch of road is still closed to facilitate an examination by Garda Forensic Collision Investigators and local diversions are in place.

Gardaí investigating the collision are today appealing for witnesses to contact Tuam Garda Station on 093-70840, The Garda Confidential Telephone Line 1800 666 111 or any Garda Station.

Read: Man killed in Limerick road collision>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

4 Comments
    Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Nov 6th 2014, 10:17 AM

:’)

The power of imagination. .

Brilliant ad.

Mute Tribes Man
    Favourite Tribes Man
    Nov 6th 2014, 1:19 PM

John Lewis advert??? what country is this author from certainly not mine.
    Buy Irish this Christmas support Irish business not foreign companies.

Mute Goggles McGlasses
    Favourite Goggles McGlasses
    Nov 6th 2014, 4:24 PM

Bah Humbug to you too…
    When Dunnes Stores starts making ads with cute penguins looking for love then I’ll watch them but until then we have John Lewis and Monty.

Mute Yvonne Smyth
    Favourite Yvonne Smyth
    Nov 6th 2014, 9:06 PM

Love it!!

Mute Chelsea Berry
    Favourite Chelsea Berry
    Nov 6th 2014, 10:48 AM

Not until I see the coco cola truck ad & the Kellogg’s cornflakes ad then Christmas will begin !

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Nov 6th 2014, 10:54 AM

Tis the coke truck for me too and it used to be the Budweiser horses in the snow too lol,

Mute Rick
    Favourite Rick
    Nov 6th 2014, 11:45 AM

Me too Catherine. Holidays are comin’. Holidays are comin’. Only Coke Cola. I will be singing it to myself all day now even though I hate Christmas. The grinch has nothing on me. Holidays are comin’.

Mute Heather Pender
    Favourite Heather Pender
    Nov 6th 2014, 10:24 AM

Really lovely.
    Brought a little tear to my eye at the end I must admit

Mute Mel Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Mel Fitzpatrick
    Nov 6th 2014, 1:22 PM

Brilliant Ad…
    but did anyone else think that the mother looked kinda disappointed as if to say “Jaysus he’s playing with those f$*king penguins again!” – or is it just me?

Mute Susanne Hayden
    Favourite Susanne Hayden
    Nov 6th 2014, 10:58 AM

John Lewis are selling penguin teddys online for 95 pounds, day light robbery

Mute Symbolism
    Favourite Symbolism
    Nov 6th 2014, 11:47 AM

And now you’ve to get two !

Mute Big Yellow Crane
    Favourite Big Yellow Crane
    Nov 6th 2014, 12:25 PM
    Mute Big Yellow Crane
    Favourite Big Yellow Crane
    Nov 6th 2014, 12:27 PM

Though this one looks more like the one in the ad. £7.50

http://www.johnlewis.com/store/jellycat-peanut-penguin-soft-toy/p1545196?navAction=jump

Mute tk0CXKzL
    Favourite tk0CXKzL
    Nov 6th 2014, 10:34 AM

Lovely stuff…but p**s off until mid December yeah? Sick of Christmas being celebrated over two months just sell as much crap as possible to the fish who take the bait.

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Nov 6th 2014, 10:46 AM

Grinch is up early today it seems lol stop running our fuzzes for today will you ? Geez !

Mute tk0CXKzL
    Favourite tk0CXKzL
    Nov 6th 2014, 10:50 AM

Na i just don’t feel like celebrating one day over two months, and being bombarded with stuff I don’t need.

Mute Goggles McGlasses
    Favourite Goggles McGlasses
    Nov 6th 2014, 4:27 PM

Nobody made you click into the article and watch the ad though did they?? I spy a closet Christmas fan over here

Mute poisonivy
    Favourite poisonivy
    Nov 6th 2014, 10:55 AM

I didn’t know I could just ask santana for a boyfriend!!!

Mute Ivan Gardiner
    Favourite Ivan Gardiner
    Nov 6th 2014, 11:09 AM

Smooth

Mute poisonivy
    Favourite poisonivy
    Nov 6th 2014, 11:09 AM

Damn you autocorrect!

Mute Gary Mason
    Favourite Gary Mason
    Nov 6th 2014, 11:29 AM

At least Santana is real

Mute Grace Jeaney
    Favourite Grace Jeaney
    Nov 6th 2014, 10:18 AM

Ahh lovely!

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Nov 6th 2014, 10:32 AM

Love the John Lewis Christmas stuff

Mute Sam
    Favourite Sam
    Nov 6th 2014, 10:52 AM

Damn it I need to man up. Always left in a blubbering mess. Great ad

Mute Smiley
    Favourite Smiley
    Nov 6th 2014, 10:28 AM

It really is delightful.

Mute Inntalitarian
    Favourite Inntalitarian
    Nov 6th 2014, 10:30 AM

quite, darling

Mute Stephen Mc Elligott
    Favourite Stephen Mc Elligott
    Nov 6th 2014, 10:22 AM

Love that song.

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Nov 6th 2014, 10:55 AM

Have I accidentally gone to thejournal.co.uk ?? English company decides when Christmas starts in Ireland? WAIT UNTIL SINN FÉIN HEARS ABOUT THIS.

Mute Liam is ainm dumb
    Favourite Liam is ainm dumb
    Nov 6th 2014, 12:12 PM

Reminds me of Calvin and Hobbes

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Nov 6th 2014, 12:23 PM

Exactly my though too

Mute Darragh O Meara
    Favourite Darragh O Meara
    Nov 6th 2014, 11:36 AM

Looks like John Lewis accidentally bought a truck full of penguin soft toys and wanted rid of them pronto.. Good ad though.

Mute Brenda
    Favourite Brenda
    Nov 6th 2014, 1:28 PM

My 5 yr old is going to ‘need’ a real penguin after seeing this..

Mute ÉiRed
    Favourite ÉiRed
    Nov 6th 2014, 10:12 AM

What irresponsible parents bought their son a penguin for Christmas?

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Nov 6th 2014, 10:15 AM

Erm…. Did you watch to the end? ;)

Mute Dave Martin
    Favourite Dave Martin
    Nov 6th 2014, 10:18 AM

Try watching the whole ad!

Mute Dublinguy2013
    Favourite Dublinguy2013
    Nov 6th 2014, 10:20 AM

Is it ok to buy one at Easter?

Mute Inntalitarian
    Favourite Inntalitarian

If you watch to the end you will see that the penguin is in actually the child’s father.

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth

But he needed a p p pick me up

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Nov 6th 2014, 12:08 PM

Superman is not real either. Sorry.

Mute Patrick Linehan
    Favourite Patrick Linehan

Is that de Lough?

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Nov 6th 2014, 10:37 AM

I thought that too!

Mute skullbaggio
    Favourite skullbaggio
    Nov 6th 2014, 11:42 AM

Fantastic, the warmth about this ad is heartfelt

Mute ÉiRed
    Favourite ÉiRed
    Nov 6th 2014, 10:19 AM

I know Sinead, I was trying to be sarcastic :)

Mute Dublinguy2013
    Favourite Dublinguy2013
    Nov 6th 2014, 10:21 AM

Scarlet for you EiRed

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Nov 6th 2014, 1:19 PM

Ah here, today is not the day for this *sniff*

Mute John Collins
    Favourite John Collins
    Nov 6th 2014, 1:54 PM

Who the f**k is John Lewis?? The Coca Cola advert tells when it’s officially Christmas.

Mute Eddie O'Mahony
    Favourite Eddie O'Mahony
    Nov 6th 2014, 12:54 PM

Well that was rubbish!

Mute James Pelow
    Favourite James Pelow
    Nov 6th 2014, 4:29 PM

Does anyone actually know who/what John Lewis is?

Mute Begley Ian
    Favourite Begley Ian
    Nov 6th 2014, 11:08 PM

Jesus, who left the onions laying about?

Mute Niall Donnelly
    Favourite Niall Donnelly
    Nov 6th 2014, 1:51 PM

It’s not xmas till the coke ad is on

Mute Kathryn
    Favourite Kathryn
    Nov 6th 2014, 4:57 PM

Bring on the Starbucks red cups too!

Mute Jonathan Sadlier
    Favourite Jonathan Sadlier
    Nov 6th 2014, 11:55 AM

http://youtu.be/GUII9EQQIcQ

In aid of Age action and Christmas fm