You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Averil Power Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

Averil Power gets new office after Fianna Fáil tell her to make way for new TD

The independent senator was asked to leave her office in Leinster House just hours after her resignation from the party.

AVERIL POWER WAS told to leave her office on the Fianna Fáil wing of Leinster House just hours after resigning from the party.

The party’s chief whip wrote to the senator asking her to make way for newly-elected TD Bobby Aylward “as soon as possible”.

The now-independent senator has since been accommodated in a new office in the LH2000 complex of the Oireacthas.

Power has also joined the independent group in the Seanad for the purposes of speaking rights in the chamber.

Power’s abrupt resignation from Fianna Fáil on Monday afternoon was followed by swift action as the party’s chief whip Seán Ó Fearghail wrote to her just hours later asking her to vacate her office.

Speaking on Newstalk’s Moncrieff programme yesterday, Power explained: “I made my announcement at twelve o’clock.

By four or five, I got an email telling me to get out of my office because Bobby Aylward was coming in today and wanted my office.

“It was the last thing I wanted to deal with. They told me he was coming in today and he wanted it. The last thing I wanted to be dealing with yesterday was that.”

Ó Fearghail told TheJournal.ie that Power had been asked to leave in line with normal procedure and because the party needed to accommodate Aylward.

The new Carlow-Kilkenny deputy was formally introduced in the Dáil yesterday.

“The government would say we should accommodate him in an office that was becoming available,” Ó Fearghail explained.

So we wrote to her several hours after her announcement. I said: ‘We’re sorry to hear you’re leaving but we need possession of the office as soon as possible’.

Power said yesterday afternoon that independent senator Jillian Van Turnhout had been looking to secure her a new office in Leinster House.

Van Turnhout told TheJournal.ie last night that Power had since been given an office in LH2000, next to where fellow independent senator Fiach Mac Conghail is based.

Power said yesterday: “I’ve seen an incredible amount of kindness and decency from other parties that I have worked with on different things over the last few years.”

Read: ‘She’s done a hatchet job on Micheál Martin’: Averil Power’s former pals aren’t happy

Read: Averil Power said A LOT of harsh things about Fianna Fáil

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

69 Comments
    Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    May 27th 2015, 6:37 AM

Wah wah wah I left the party and now they say I can’t use their office. Meanies!

Mute richard kenny
    Favourite richard kenny
    May 27th 2015, 6:43 AM

Who are the owner’s of these offices?
    I presume it’s the state!
    I’m sure there is fantastic use made of them….

Mute Patrick Murphy
    Favourite Patrick Murphy
    May 27th 2015, 7:07 AM

Exactly Emily. What did she expect, to leave fine fail and still expect to use their offices? All sounds a bit childish to me. If I’m working for someone and I resign, I expect to have vacated my office immediately.

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    May 27th 2015, 7:42 AM

Bloody hell. I wish this story would go away. No one gives a rats arse about FF of Averil Power

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    May 27th 2015, 7:47 AM

^or

Mute Zoe Daly
    Favourite Zoe Daly
    May 27th 2015, 7:49 AM

unfortunately Beano, we will be listening to this story well into the foreseeable future.
    her hubby is political editor of the ‘Independent’.
    Its not going away anytime soon.

Mute The Man of Arán
    Favourite The Man of Arán
    May 27th 2015, 7:54 AM

Surely Aylward would normally have take Phil Hogan’s old office, not the office of a senator? This is FF throwing their toys out of the pram, methinks.

Mute Patrick Murphy
    Favourite Patrick Murphy

I was wondering why this was such a story. That explains a lot Zoe, thanks.

Mute Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Favourite Jimmy Jim-Jim
    May 27th 2015, 8:16 AM

The offices are grouped by party.

Mute George Stagg
    Favourite George Stagg
    May 27th 2015, 9:35 AM

Well you thinks very stupidly. .. Hogans was an fg office

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    May 27th 2015, 9:58 AM

So exactly where were they going to put Bobby, anyone ask?
    It’s a simple question.

Mute Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Favourite Jimmy Jim-Jim
    May 27th 2015, 10:06 AM

Everyone was going to have to scoot over one office.

Mute The Man of Arán
    Favourite The Man of Arán
    May 27th 2015, 10:17 AM

Bit like a mad hatter’s tea party. “Clean cups, clean cups, everybody move down one seat”.

ss
    Mute ss
    Favourite ss
    May 27th 2015, 10:46 AM

Why yes Richard …you make free phone calls to lovers and friends and even the odd enemy

Mute Pat O' Brien
    Favourite Pat O' Brien
    May 27th 2015, 6:47 AM

Cry me a river. She did quit.

Mute Maria
    Favourite Maria
    May 27th 2015, 6:50 AM

Maybe she shouldn’t have been quite so rude about her colleagues in public!

Mute David Durnin
    Favourite David Durnin
    May 27th 2015, 6:59 AM

Seriously, what else was she expecting?

Mute Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Favourite Jimmy Jim-Jim
    May 27th 2015, 1:40 PM

You would swear she was being exiled in Siberia with the way the media is carrying on. She’s still a senator! The only things that will change are her phone extension and party.

Mute howzatme
    Favourite howzatme
    May 27th 2015, 6:54 AM

Her ego is even bigger than kennys

Mute Peter M Buchanan
    Favourite Peter M Buchanan
    May 27th 2015, 6:49 AM

Will this silly egotistical person ever get lost. The good people of Dublin Bay North will with a bit of luck send her packing at #GE2016

Mute Paddy Obrien
    Favourite Paddy Obrien
    May 27th 2015, 7:42 AM

This woman was used by slick mik leader of the cute hoor party, mick and his buddies voted yes and no, nod n wink like ya know, nothing has changed in the party of corruption and nothing will because they’re rotten beyond redemption

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    May 27th 2015, 3:05 PM

This woman knows exactly what she is doing.. She is trying to get elected as an.independent, she used her complaint for maximum publicity and the referendum as an excuse

Mute HULK SMASH!
    Favourite HULK SMASH!
    May 27th 2015, 6:44 AM

Still waiting on a story about TTIP journal and maybe one on the passing of the new ‘terrorism’ bill. Any jounalistic integrity left in this country at all? Something which is profoundly going to affect us and our children and the journal would rather do a story on some nobody getting a new office. Pathetic

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    May 27th 2015, 1:42 PM

You can follow & engage with them on twitter – save you waiting for a journalists “interpretation”

@EU_TTIP_team

Mute Sean Browne
    Favourite Sean Browne
    May 27th 2015, 7:08 AM

What did Averil expect! to hold on to her office and the Senate seat

Mute Eugene Doyle
    Favourite Eugene Doyle
    May 27th 2015, 7:39 AM

And what else did Averil expect? Did she expect that FF would say to her, ‘now you take as long as you need to look for another office or you can stay with us here’ get real Averil and don’t be such a notice box.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    May 27th 2015, 7:26 AM

I don’t like FF but…

Micheál Martin pulls all the strings to make her a Senator.

Power’s recent media exposure gives her an inflated ego and she starts throwing her weight around like a spoiled child, demanding this and that, and ultimately biting the hand that fed her.
    Very foolish indeed.
    She will realise now how difficult it is to establish yourself (i.e. actually get real votes from us. Yes, us!) in politics without relying on getting spoonfed with a plum Seanad job by your party leader.

Yes!
    Mute Yes!
    Favourite Yes!
    May 27th 2015, 7:30 AM

Danger of thinking that one issue a whole political success makes. Gay rights are now a non issue. She should have stayed and changed ff from within. Hanafin etc will be happy today.

Mute Joe Simpson
    Favourite Joe Simpson
    May 27th 2015, 1:47 PM

Was Hanafin not Powers mentor? I bet Hanafin is disgusted that they wasted so much time on Power. Lots of other female councilors that could have been given a go. Mary Fitz won’t be happy either that could have been her seat

Mute John Fogarty
    Favourite John Fogarty
    May 27th 2015, 3:07 PM

Very well said and she only got that media exposure as her husband is editor of the Irish Independent.
    She quit her job, I am surprised they didn’t ask her to clear her desk that day.
    One interesting point, she might have liked to put herself forward as helping secure a Yes vote , but her constituency had the lowest Yes vote in all of Dublin.
    She couldn’t even get herself elected as a councillor, she was pulled up though the ranks only because she was a woman and she also was an advisor for Mary Hanafin and earning 100,000 euro. She is just a sulk.

Bill
    Mute Bill
    Favourite Bill
    May 27th 2015, 8:23 AM

Avril Power floated in on a golden parachute to the Senate she is unelected by the people why is so much airtime given to her plight

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    May 27th 2015, 7:18 AM

Day 3 of Averils daily pity party .

Mute Jane Dwyer
    Favourite Jane Dwyer
    May 27th 2015, 7:50 AM

I see Fionnan is doing her proud in the indo again today.

Mute Karl Alldritt
    Favourite Karl Alldritt
    May 27th 2015, 8:12 AM

“Last thing I wanted to deal with”. She would obviously prefer to busy herself Subverting the democratic process for the Dublin bay north seat. Incidently the Indo’s coverage of this has been disgracefully one sided in support of the editor’s wife and her personal agenda

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly

She quits her very publicly without notice and then bitches about being asked to quit her office without notice…

Mute Mark O Flaherty
    Favourite Mark O Flaherty
    May 27th 2015, 7:03 AM

She can toddle off and campaign for gay rights in Gaza

Mute Joe Simpson
    Favourite Joe Simpson
    May 27th 2015, 2:00 PM

No abortion is the next “issue” just hope we can have a referendum on corporal punishment the same day. Have the liberals chasing their tails.

Mute Keniby Khronicles
    Favourite Keniby Khronicles
    May 27th 2015, 6:39 AM

If they were in such a hurry where were they going to put him had she not quit?
    Classy bunch.

Yes!
    Mute Yes!
    Favourite Yes!
    May 27th 2015, 7:28 AM

Broom cupboard. New brooms and all that..

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    May 27th 2015, 8:18 AM

When Averil was turned out she was accommodated by Turn(h)out. She should not be whining. She knew that she would have to vacate a room assigned to FF. Same thing happens when TDs leave other Parties. The FF chief whip acted properly and courteously in the circumstances. Ms. Power’s rush to the “sacred”Plinth without having the manners or decency to properly inform her Party of her decision to leave was reprehensible to say the least.

Mute Alan Ryan
    Favourite Alan Ryan
    May 27th 2015, 7:06 AM

Out with the new, in with the old.

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    May 27th 2015, 7:16 AM

Wow , I have never seen such a choreographed social media attack on a politician. FF remind me of a cult – you can never leave . Of course she should have been booted out of her office , but she was right about what she said.Martin is a weak leader . FF don’t know what they stand for .. FF are not fit for office.

Mute Mike Cantwell
    Favourite Mike Cantwell
    May 27th 2015, 7:56 AM

You are talking about The Shinners Jimmy aren’t you , Power left because she get her own way , end of

Mute Mike Cantwell
    Favourite Mike Cantwell
    May 27th 2015, 7:57 AM

She didn’t get her own way , I meant to say

Mute Zoe Daly
    Favourite Zoe Daly
    May 27th 2015, 7:46 AM

Why are some of the ‘Yes’ side still so bitter?
    Surely they got the result they wanted in the referendum. Why can we all not just accept it, and move on.
    It seems that even victory is not enough for people like Averil Power.

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    May 27th 2015, 9:31 AM

This has nothing to do with the referendum Zoe, that’s just an excuse shes using.
    As far as I know she found out she wouldn’t be the only FF candidate in her constituency next election and I’m assuming shes jumping ship to improve her chances of election next time round.

Mute Padraig Nolan
    Favourite Padraig Nolan
    May 27th 2015, 7:45 AM

Frank Underwood won’t stand for this unacceptable treatment of his wife.

Mute Miriam Kane
    Favourite Miriam Kane
    May 27th 2015, 7:48 AM

Talk about I want my ball back and I want it right now

Mute Alan Farrell
    Favourite Alan Farrell
    May 27th 2015, 8:26 AM

Egotistical narcissist and she was so close to a life on the gravey chain lol

Mute Dave barrett
    Favourite Dave barrett
    May 27th 2015, 6:53 AM

The main office for these guys .. and gals is the Fail Bar

Mute Ivon Itchie Saq
    Favourite Ivon Itchie Saq
    May 27th 2015, 11:39 AM

This yoke wasn’t even elected by the people she’s a senator hand balled into the position by FF why is she being given so much coverage??? She’s a nobody who threw her toys out of the pram, stop entertaining this lot of pampered #$&*#

Mute damien
    Favourite damien

Is she a drag queen ?

Mute herman sherman
    Favourite herman sherman
    May 27th 2015, 10:49 AM

Dont know about drag queen but definitely scary resemblance to Myra hindley

Mute Joey Hackman
    Favourite Joey Hackman
    May 27th 2015, 9:51 AM

This girl is not able for the cut & thrust of politics

Mute .
    Favourite .
    May 27th 2015, 10:14 AM

RTE love this woman a sort of Irish Joan of Arc

Mute richard fennessy
    Favourite richard fennessy

Very shortsighted power grab by f fail one last round for the old boys Alyward manseragh etc abandon new Fianna Fáil appeal to the older rural Fianna Fáil supporter and who cares after that
    Sure Charlie gave us free travel

Mute Joe Simpson
    Favourite Joe Simpson
    May 27th 2015, 1:54 PM

You talk about rural fianna fail yet were Charlie and Bertie not Dubs which urban Dublin lapped up?

Mute John Lennox
    Favourite John Lennox
    May 27th 2015, 1:56 PM

Dublin made FF for most of the last 70 years.

Mute Daniel Carry
    Favourite Daniel Carry
    May 27th 2015, 7:09 AM

So mafioso, you turn against us and you’re dead to us straight away. FF…they’re all heart.

Mute John Lennox
    Favourite John Lennox
    May 27th 2015, 10:55 AM

What else would you expect to happen.

Even if she had been a member of an honest organization she would have had to leave the office promptly.

Mute Paul Moyer
    Favourite Paul Moyer
    May 27th 2015, 8:02 AM

I agree that after her resignation she should vacate her office and the timing of asking her to do so could have been better handled and I note they didn’t give her a definitive time to vacate by but my question is – If she hadn’t resigned where was Aylward going to be given an office? My point is, they would have obviously given him an office just not Averil’s

Mute Jim Bob
    Favourite Jim Bob
    May 27th 2015, 8:06 AM

Zzzzzzzzz

Baz
    Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz

Basically a civil servant quit for not getting due thanks and recognition.

Welcome to the Public Service.

Mute Marchmane
    Favourite Marchmane

Pettiness on all sides it appears. These are the people who want to be in government?

Mute John Lennox
    Favourite John Lennox
    May 27th 2015, 10:56 AM

Human nature does not change.

This is the world over.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    May 27th 2015, 12:40 PM

That’s the thing about liberal lefty idealist looneys like her even when they get there way ie. marriage ref. Vote, there always looking for another opportunity to throw there toys out of the pram.

Mute Irish Druid
    Favourite Irish Druid
    May 27th 2015, 1:01 PM

FF trolls galore

Mute Joe Conway
    Favourite Joe Conway
    May 27th 2015, 3:59 PM

Anyone else think she is trying to channel her inner ‘Claire Underwood’ in the photograph above?