You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Bertie Ahern pictured last year. Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

Bertie: Bank crisis was the reason I went grey in just six months

The former taoiseach spoke to school pupils in Wales yesterday.

FORMER TAOISEACH BERTIE Ahern has joked that the banking crisis was the reason he went grey in just six months.

Ahern made the comments on a visit to a school in Wales yesterday where he spoke about his life and achievements in politics.

The ex-Fianna Fail leader, who resigned in 2008, is in the UK as part of the InterAction Council conference taking place at Celtic Manor this week.

But Ahern also paid a visit to Risca Community Comprehensive School in Newport yesterday with the local newspaper, the South Wales Argus, reporting that he gave advice to students and told them the “sky is the limit”.

According to the paper, he told students: “Politics is everything. People think that politics is to do with Parliament but there’s politics in your schools, in your parents’ workplace, in the bus and train companies.

I realised when I was about 16 that we were not going to get a new pitch, a new dressing room unless I got involved in politics.

Ahern citied the peace agreement in Northern Ireland as his greatest achievement in politics, saying there was “nothing more important than that”.

But he said the hardest thing he had to tackle was the banking crisis and joked that it was the reason he went grey in just six months.

Ahern left office in May 2008, some months before the crisis firmly took hold and his successor Brian Cowen issued a blanket guarantee of the banking system in September 2008.

Ahern is expected to appear before the banking inquiry in late July to give evidence about the economic and banking policy pursued by his government during his 11 years as taoiseach.

Hat tip: Suzy Byrne 

WATCH: ‘Whatever questions are put to Brian he won’t be found wanting’

Read: Bertie and Brian got over €80k each last year

Take a peek inside: Bertie Ahern’s famous political HQ is now for sale

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

57 Comments
    Mute Joe Duff O Duibh
    Favourite Joe Duff O Duibh
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:31 AM

People went a lot worse than grey over your policies you moron.

Mute Seth Mcguinness
    Favourite Seth Mcguinness

He went grey, we went broke.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:32 AM

Why Bertie?….you were safe…….remember……you didn’t have a bank account.

Mute Dave barrett
    Favourite Dave barrett
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:38 AM

This from a man who didn’t have a bank account

Mute Jack Dunne
    Favourite Jack Dunne
    Jun 3rd 2015, 1:58 PM

Fat carpet bagger

Mute FastBuck
    Favourite FastBuck
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:45 AM

What about all the people that committed suicide or were thrown into black depression or lost everything due to the banking crisis you festering wart on the ar$e of humanity?

Mute how
    Favourite how
    Jun 3rd 2015, 4:15 PM

The apparently huge increases in the numbers of people who became depressed since 2008 didn’t just become depressed because of the recession .. Also to blame for example is high speed internet rotting their brains from overstimulation, over-education through the internet, too much awareness of other people’s lives through social media etc. … Also, if the boom Bertie was in charge of hadn’t been so good, the fall wouldn’t have been so bad .. Humans hate falls in living standards..

Mute Paul Bracken
    Favourite Paul Bracken

I’d say it was more of the corruption you were involved in Bertie you crook.

Mute Peter King
    Favourite Peter King
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:34 AM

But then he thought of his massive pension and that no one high up in this country is ever held responsible for their actions and he felt a lot better.

Mute Aasif
    Favourite Aasif
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:38 AM

Hair going grey, what about the thousands of people that committed suicide because of your dodgy dealings with the banks and property developers

Mute goo
    Favourite goo
    Jun 3rd 2015, 4:37 PM

He should be tried for genocide along with Cowan ( big lips )

Mute CorkBoi
    Favourite CorkBoi
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:30 AM

T’was the reason I went into the red

Mute MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Favourite MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Jun 3rd 2015, 12:01 PM

Did he go grey from worrying about how he would pay the bills? Poor him with his numerous pensions, pay for public speaking, winning money on the gee gees and ‘any other source of income’, whip-a-rouns, dig out etc

Berie go and f**k off.

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Jun 3rd 2015, 7:43 PM

If the peace process is the thing he’s most proud of then I’d like to know what he’s doing to progress it!?!

Mute Sam
    Favourite Sam

Seriously? He should have been hung, drawn and quartered!

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:57 AM

There’s time yet .

Mute Abbi Cranky
    Favourite Abbi Cranky

Awww poor Bertie.
    My heart bleeds for him and the trauma he must have faced with his hair turning grey.

Mute Joe Hill
    Favourite Joe Hill

I’m sure you can afford some dye on your massive pension.
    Politician Problems. Meh

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:40 AM

How nice for him to be able to joke about goin grey. Others lost their businesses, their homes – and their lives.

Mute Jonathan Baum
    Favourite Jonathan Baum
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:49 AM

It’s the reason the rest of us went grey as well you buffoon. Ahern talking about his “achievements” in politics. That’s a good one.

Mute Eamonn Connaghan
    Favourite Eamonn Connaghan
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:55 AM

It’s also the reason thousands of people are homeless, jobless and are worried what the future holds for them. It’s also the reason why thousands of the country’s youth have emigrated. But sure joke away bertie, I’m sure your pension will help you get over your grey hair. You absolute w @ n k € r.

Mute Drew
    Favourite Drew
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:33 AM

Yeah… we figured, that 6 figure budget for Fianna Fail hair and make-up expenses had to be going towards something.

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:35 AM

Soon turned to brown ay Bertie with your brown envelopes brown suitcase full of brown fifty euro notes. You’re that bent your shadow cant keep up with you.

Mute John O'donnell
    Favourite John O'donnell
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:50 AM

Did you also tell them about how you and your government along with bankers etc went on to destroy a nation now and into the future .. I’d say not . Plonker..

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins

I just couldn’t decide which one to open an account with. Couldn’t trust any of them with the envelopes.

Mute Mel Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Mel Fitzpatrick
    Jun 3rd 2015, 11:03 AM

What. A. Pr*ck.

Mute John Lennox
    Favourite John Lennox
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:37 AM

Fianna Fáil maggot.

They still applauded him and lined up to shake his hand at their Ard Fheis.

Mute how
    Favourite how
    Jun 3rd 2015, 4:09 PM

Bertie is the architect of modern Ireland – a good working class man who led the richest country in the world

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Jun 3rd 2015, 11:18 AM

Just shows how detached and what a narrsacist he is joking about something that’s still killing people. He can only talk in other countries schools cause none of their parents died or lost their homes.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Jun 3rd 2015, 11:52 AM

This man has the audacity to joke about turning grey, try 7 years austerity foisted upon the citizens of this country whilst you and your cronies partied (and continue to so).
    I’ve has friends who have lost their livelihoods, pensions, businesses and homes. Two of whom committed suicide.
    Try that Teflon boyo.
    We won’t forget.

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:41 AM

Never before have I noticed his middle tooth. Some things can never be unseen.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jun 3rd 2015, 11:02 AM

“But he said the hardest thing he had to tackle was the banking crisis and joked that it was the reason he went grey in just six months.”

What ? Why would Bertie find it hard to tackle the crisis when he had already left office when it happened and as Fianna Fail constantly remind us “nobody could have seen it coming” ? Also as a private citizen he didn’t have a bank account?

Mute Bobby Connolly
    Favourite Bobby Connolly
    Jun 3rd 2015, 11:15 AM

He COULD buy hair dye, make up etc but why spoil the habit of a lifetime. This miserable scrooge will never spend his own money. His house was a gift, the taxpayer paid for hair dye and makeup. What a way to live a life. No amount of money is worth living a miserable, friendless, worthless existence. You’ll be gone soon Bertie No Mates.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jun 3rd 2015, 11:04 AM

He’s lucky he only went grey!

Mute John Cash
    Favourite John Cash
    Jun 3rd 2015, 11:18 AM

It’s a shame his teeth didn’t go as white.

Mute Ronan K. Smith
    Favourite Ronan K. Smith
    Jun 3rd 2015, 11:44 AM

Imagine what would have happened if he didn’t have his multiple pensions.
    A $$ hole

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jun 3rd 2015, 12:32 PM

no Bertie,you went grey worrying all your corruption was gonna be discovered,which it hasn’t.also the people demand all contracts be withdrawn from dob companies, the man who attacked our democracy, our constitution. and none given in the future.

Jun 3rd 2015, 11:39 AM

I would have said brown and not grey lol. It is call aging you eejit…

Mute Em Ni Mhurchu
    Favourite Em Ni Mhurchu
    Jun 3rd 2015, 12:50 PM

Just looking at that obnoxious specimen of a human being makes me want to vomit

Mute Anthony Gelston
    Favourite Anthony Gelston
    Jun 3rd 2015, 12:31 PM

Over O’Connell bridge with him the horrible crook that he is.

Mute Irish
    Favourite Irish
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:15 PM

Bertie went grey, my brother committed suicide.

Mute Alan Carroll
    Favourite Alan Carroll
    Jun 3rd 2015, 2:41 PM

Ask me arse !!! I went grey overnight when I lost my job. Worrying about my future . Don’t talk bullshit Bertie , u have not got a clue what the REAL people suffer .

Jun 3rd 2015, 2:07 PM

Must have been a very short speech then….his achievements? You are having a laugh!

Mute Maureen Stanford
    Favourite Maureen Stanford
    Jun 3rd 2015, 12:59 PM

Is that vomit for real or just trying to annoy every one . Crawl back under the slimey Rock you came from

Mute Bill Jones
    Favourite Bill Jones
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:36 AM

A man of the people, who brought this country into the 21st century and got us all a bit more money in our pockets! Fair play Bertie I say!

Mute Siobhán Ní Fhuada
    Favourite Siobhán Ní Fhuada
    Jun 3rd 2015, 11:09 AM

Have you been living under a rock for the last 7 years? Fair play my arse!

Mute J.j. Hennessy
    Favourite J.j. Hennessy
    Jun 3rd 2015, 1:27 PM

The reason he never held a Bank account was that he never trusted the banks with his billions……but Fu** the ordinary citizen down the swollen River. No doubt he had Insider knowledge of Banks on their merry way.

Mute David adams
    Favourite David adams
    Jun 3rd 2015, 2:16 PM

O Bertie I remember you in your parker jacket years ago. You once said to us that one day lads I would lead this country. You were right Bertie you sliver haired fox. What was it charlie said about Bertie he is as slippery as an eel.

Mute james cullen
    Favourite james cullen
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:58 PM

You went gray from all the lies you where telling.

Mute Ken McCarthy
    Favourite Ken McCarthy
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:54 AM

Fair is fair. We all partied………………………I heard someone say..

Mute Siobhán Ní Fhuada
    Favourite Siobhán Ní Fhuada
    Jun 3rd 2015, 11:10 AM

No some are just left with the hangover from it

Mute Mike Tobin
    Favourite Mike Tobin
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:36 AM

That’s a lovely picture of Bertie…

Jun 3rd 2015, 10:10 PM

Who let that lying b*****d address school kids ?

Mute Kenneth O Connor
    Favourite Kenneth O Connor
    Jun 3rd 2015, 11:29 PM

The reaction from previous comments illustrate the frustrations of people that
    wish you were going grey in prison and/or starved of your fat pension

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Jun 3rd 2015, 11:27 PM

Jesus Bertie gets a hard time and I think it wasn’t totally his fault as he simply followed in his mentors footsteps. He know no different, Charlie Haughey had a girlfriend, a few friends in business who gave him brown envelopes. So Bertie followed suit. The Skylon and the Tara Towers got planning permission (right in the middle of residential areas) all as a result of lobbying. Bertie learned from the biggest gangster in politics so he knew no better.

Mute how
    Favourite how
    Jun 3rd 2015, 4:08 PM

Bertie for president 2018

Mute how
    Favourite how
    Jun 3rd 2015, 4:20 PM

The Ahern era was the greatest period this country ever knew – people have short memories