You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sky News

Bertie Ahern: Ireland leaving the EU would be an 'act of insanity'

He has reiterated his comments that there is no support for an Irexit.

FORMER TAOISEACH BERTIE Ahern has reiterated his comment that Ireland is not “mad enough” to leave the EU.

In an interview with Sky News today about his thoughts on Brexit, he said that he agrees with the UK’s chancellor Philip Hammond in aiming for the seamless border that has been between Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland for the last decade or so.

“I think that’s the way everybody on the island of Ireland wants it,” he said. “The difficulty is that as I’ve said time out of number, the experts in this area say that’s impossible.”

Ahern said that until this is resolved, there is no certainty on the issue – which is worrying from a business point of view, in relation to people who cross the border to work, and for tourism.

With regard to previous suggestions about a border on the Irish Sea, Ahern said:

At some stages I have said that but it’s always been very tongue-in-cheek – firstly you would have to get an agreement from all parties and I do not see unionist parties ever agreeing to that suggestion.

He said he doesn’t think there will be an easy solution to the border issue, and that he doesn’t believe Irish unity is possible at this stage either.

With regard to Ireland following the UK out of the European Union, Ahern said: “That’s not going to happen, there is no support thankfully for us to get involved in an act of insanity.”

He added: “I think I said before to you, we’re mad but we’re not that mad and we’re not going to do that now or in the future.”

Ahern said that his concerns around a hard border post-Brexit include the movement of goods, and land border checks.

“We should have been trying to get a hard position negotiated,” said Ahern of the Irish border situation post-Brexit, saying that this position should have been then put to Europe.

“There is no realistic solution that has been put forward yet,” he said, adding he is worried the issue has not been examined to the extent it requires.

That one hasn’t is a “mistake on all sides” that needs to be rectified, he said. He also said he believes there needs to be a transition period for Brexit, which may stretch to four or five years.

Hammond said today that the UK will seek a Brexit transitional deal for up to three years after Brexit takes place in 2019.

Read: Bertie Ahern says Ireland isn’t ‘mad enough’ to leave the EU>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

176 Comments
    Mute paul gurney
    Favourite paul gurney
    Nov 30th 2019, 11:44 AM

I’d be more concerned about Leo stating his continued support for Dara Murphy who “is doing as great job” yet he spent 24 days in the Dail in one year and still gets full pay with 4300 euro monthly allowances..The scale of this arrogance in full view of the country is frightening.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Nov 30th 2019, 11:02 AM

It seems we must all accept when electing those to run the country we have a lot of shortcomings. It seems we are clueless. Electing these type of candidates may well seem great for our local area but it’s purely disastrous on a national level.

Mute Seosamh Snr Nolan
    Favourite Seosamh Snr Nolan
    Nov 30th 2019, 11:32 AM

@Mjhint: clueless is quite kind . How FG even drums up support given the current situation with the country and the corruption amongst themselves leaves me completely perplexed . No lessons learned and you get the same same old .

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Nov 30th 2019, 11:34 AM

Verona Murphy as far as I know was never involved in politics or community groups. I am always sceptical of people who are just handpicked by the Party because they have a high profile in another area which is Haulage in her case. My opinion is that she is only learning and would have been better starting at County Council level . Her inexperience is obvious as she keeps putting her foot in it and blaming everyone else. In other words she lost the run of herself by all the attention she received.

Mute Nollaig Elliot
    Favourite Nollaig Elliot
    Nov 30th 2019, 11:57 AM

@Aine O Connor:

Standard practice really Aine if you ask me. Most of the moon pigs in FG have feck all experience as politicians either. It’s inheritance politics in Ireland. Enda Kenny was a school teacher ffs. Law makers, Health care professionals and Business savvy people with integrity and the people’s interest is what’s needed for a decent government. Ireland is light years from that unfortunately.

Mute Patabake Kennedy
    Favourite Patabake Kennedy
    Nov 30th 2019, 12:25 PM

@Nollaig Elliot: WOW. The kids in that school. were very lucky that Kenny got elected.They must be blessing themselves every day.

Mute Fred Coloe
    Favourite Fred Coloe
    Nov 30th 2019, 2:42 PM

@Nollaig Elliot: Varadkar is a health care professional. As was the minister for health before him. Both did/are doing a god awful job. Qualifications are a small part of the requirements needed to do the job of a politician. Actually caring about people and the country is the most important attribute. That is not Learned!

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fr. Fintan Stack
    Nov 30th 2019, 3:33 PM

@Aine O Connor: Yes, vester interests. The haulage sector just want someone on the inside to push their agenda.

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Nov 30th 2019, 3:45 PM

@Fr. Fintan Stack: vested

Mute Dave Stewart
    Favourite Dave Stewart
    Nov 30th 2019, 3:46 PM

@Fred Coloe: ye you can have all the qualifications in the world but if you are a sociopathic money hungry hand puppet it’s not much use to us.

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Nov 30th 2019, 3:54 PM

@Fred Coloe: qualifications are very important – however they are sod all use if you have no interest in doing the job in the first place.

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Nov 30th 2019, 5:36 PM

@Fr. Fintan Stack: “INVESTED”

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Nov 30th 2019, 6:04 PM

@James Keogh: or even INFESTED

Mute G Fitz
    Favourite G Fitz
    Nov 30th 2019, 9:11 PM

@Nollaig Elliot: why the ffs? Just cos he qualified as a teacher doesn’t mean he has to spend the rest of his life as one. He was a life time in politics

Mute Willy Mc Bride
    Favourite Willy Mc Bride
    Nov 30th 2019, 11:38 AM

FFG are a total joke ….

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Nov 30th 2019, 12:16 PM

@Willy Mc Bride: I hope she wins the seat just to pi$$ you off.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Nov 30th 2019, 12:20 PM

@Chin Feeyin: No wonder the country is a complete and utter mess with an attitude like that.

Mute Willy Mc Bride
    Favourite Willy Mc Bride
    Nov 30th 2019, 12:45 PM

@Chin Feeyin: True Blue …..

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Nov 30th 2019, 1:04 PM

@Willy Mc Bride: of course, everyone who disagrees has to be True Blur. Of course.

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Nov 30th 2019, 1:07 PM

@Willy Mc Bride: looks like the Shinner is doing well in Dublin Mid-West.

God help us all.

Mute Dave Stewart
    Favourite Dave Stewart
    Nov 30th 2019, 3:50 PM

@Chin Feeyin: where’s your pon pons today chin

Mute acallkelly
    Favourite acallkelly
    Nov 30th 2019, 3:59 PM

@David Corrigan: you seeem to have amnesia, who got us into trouble in 2008 FFand Greens, whoI got us out of trouble E Kenny & co you have a short memory , selective too

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Nov 30th 2019, 11:00 AM

She really is channeling her inner Trump. Racist comments, a history of allegations of bullying, representative of a gas-guzzling industry. Now the Rocky comparisons

Mute jamesdecay
    Favourite jamesdecay
    Nov 30th 2019, 11:36 AM

@Anne Marie Devlin: as we speak, dozens of graphic designers have just had a crack at photoshopping her head onto Rocky’s body, and simultaneously lost their breakfasts…

Mute Conor Kennelly
    Favourite Conor Kennelly
    Nov 30th 2019, 11:38 AM

@Anne Marie Devlin: yes and what makes it even more galling is that people like her, Trump and Farage paint themselves as if they are somehow the victim and antiestablishment when they couldn’t be more establishment .

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Nov 30th 2019, 11:48 AM

@Anne Marie Devlin: How could anyone with any kind of backbone allow such a weak minded mess of a person bully them is beyond me.

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    Nov 30th 2019, 12:15 PM

@jamesdecay:
    No.
    That was the Rocky head on her body!

Mute jamesdecay
    Favourite jamesdecay
    Nov 30th 2019, 12:18 PM

@Michael Kavanagh: ha ha splendid!

Mute Fred Coloe
    Favourite Fred Coloe
    Nov 30th 2019, 2:44 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: Without the “gas guzzlers” you and the rest of us would starve to death. Food and everything else that humans need/want has to be delivered to shops etc. !!

Mute Barry O Toole
    Favourite Barry O Toole
    Nov 30th 2019, 11:52 AM

A distinct smell of desperation around fg these days

Mute The Irish Bull
    Favourite The Irish Bull

Embarrassed for the video production team and all the Blueshirts patsies involved.

Mute Kevin O' Brien
    Favourite Kevin O' Brien
    Nov 30th 2019, 12:20 PM

@The Irish Bull: you spelled pasties wrong.

Mute lambda sensor
    Favourite lambda sensor

Video looks like it was.put together by a 12 year old. Actually, scrap that, it was put together by a 53 year old with their first video editor!

Mute StillNotNews
    Favourite StillNotNews
    Nov 30th 2019, 10:58 AM

Video unavailable

Mute Mill Lane
    Favourite Mill Lane
    Nov 30th 2019, 12:10 PM

Wonder did they/she have permission to use the song?

Mute Declan O Toole
    Favourite Declan O Toole
    Nov 30th 2019, 12:45 PM

Is she the best Wexford has to offer ??

Mute Etherman
    Favourite Etherman
    Nov 30th 2019, 1:06 PM

@Declan O Toole: Mick Wallace, living in the love of the common people?
    I must visit Wexford – curiosity is getting the better of me.

Mute Declan O Toole
    Favourite Declan O Toole
    Nov 30th 2019, 1:55 PM

@Etherman: Ya it really sounds like a place worth visiting, for the politicians alone.

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Nov 30th 2019, 2:44 PM

@Declan O Toole:
    Wexford is known as the Model County because of its rich farming land, bounded on one side by the Blackstairs Mountains and on the other side by the Irish Sea with numerous sandy beaches. It is sixty miles long . Rich in Heritage , invaded by the Vikings and the Normans in the past the landscape boasts many magnificent Castles like Johnstown Castle , Abbeys like Tintern Abbey with adjacent Colclough Walled Gardens , the Hook Lighthouse, The Haunted Loftus Hall , Dunbrody Famine Ship and JF Kennedy Memorial Park. Also Vinegar Hill in Enniscorthy where the Battle of 1798 was fought to mention just a few . The County has always been a very popular holiday destination for Dublin people in particular.

Mute Etherman
    Favourite Etherman
    Nov 30th 2019, 4:57 PM

@Aine O Connor: Ah yeah, but it’s no Bally b by the sea.

Mute Declan O Toole
    Favourite Declan O Toole
    Nov 30th 2019, 5:57 PM

@Aine O Connor: Thanks Aine.

Mute Declan O Toole
    Favourite Declan O Toole
    Nov 30th 2019, 5:58 PM

@Aine O Connor: Thanks Aine, ya the beaches like Curracloe very nice indeed.

Mute Yermas House
    Favourite Yermas House
    Nov 30th 2019, 11:07 AM

“character assassination” kinda sounds a lot like “fake news” uttered another right wing racist bigot we all know. It’s as simple as this, you like with dogs, you get get fleas. She repeatedly made vile discussing comments based on fear mongering and propaganda from the far right, she deserved everything she got.

Mute Yermas House
    Favourite Yermas House
    Nov 30th 2019, 11:09 AM

@Yermas House: sorry, that should have been “lie down with dogs”. Bloody autocorrect!

Nov 30th 2019, 11:21 AM

@Yermas House: my 2 dogs don’t have fleas! In 10 years only had one tick , it’s how you care for them, meanwhile back to Irish politics….bit like Monty Python and Fr.Ted of a mixture usually….

Mute Fachtna Roe
    Favourite Fachtna Roe
    Nov 30th 2019, 12:16 PM

@Yermas House: What’s wrong with liking dogs…?

Mute Yermas House
    Favourite Yermas House
    Nov 30th 2019, 3:22 PM

@Gus Sheridan: I would just like to apologise for my earlier comments regarding dogs. I never in anyway meant to offend, or hurt any dog lovers out there, in fact I even know and am good friends with one of them.

I also do party agree with you or our Irish politics, except rather than a mixed breed of Monty Python and Fr.Ted, I reckon they’re more of a inbred self serving lot myself.

Mute G Row
    Favourite G Row
    Nov 30th 2019, 11:01 AM

Are we racist yet Ted?

Mute Toomasu Sumitsu
    Favourite Toomasu Sumitsu
    Nov 30th 2019, 12:03 PM

Favourite to get in. Seems the people like the truth instead of faux outrage. The video wouldn’t have helped her though. It’s the kind of quality you’d get from an RTÉ video editor.

Mute Nollaig Elliot
    Favourite Nollaig Elliot
    Nov 30th 2019, 12:02 PM

The thing I don’t get is what does Leo think when he goes home at night. He’s a doctor so he must be clever. Surely he must know how terrible a job him and his gimps are doing. The man living on Jupiter knows, anyone with half a brain would not believe his government is doing good. If I was making a balls of my work that badly, I wouldn’t wait for the tap, I’d just walk myself. I’d be mortified to hang around if I was that shit at work. I wonder does he ever feel like just walking?

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Nov 30th 2019, 12:50 PM

@Nollaig Elliot: HE will never walk. To be like his kind you need to have no morals or integrity. The Irish political system attracts the worst kind of people from our society. There is no place in that system for honest hardworking people. It is as simple and as black and white as that Nollaig.

Mute Niall Brew
    Favourite Niall Brew
    Dec 1st 2019, 8:22 AM

@David Corrigan: so A) are you saying there’s no honest or hardworking politicians in Ireland? and B) only in Ireland is this the case?

The journal really need to pull their comments section if this is the standard

Mute MajorDude
    Favourite MajorDude
    Nov 30th 2019, 5:12 PM

Massive copyright infringement right there. $$$$$

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Nov 30th 2019, 5:53 PM

Surprise, Surprise, Video not available. Solo runs only annoy people and make a nonsense of Party cohesion. Hope the his Tiger loses her stripes and her Parachute. Hope YATES backed her,
    and lost all his Shirts

Mute JR Lewis
    Favourite JR Lewis
    Nov 30th 2019, 6:46 PM

What’s the lorry aul one on about now?

Mute Con Truise
    Favourite Con Truise
    Nov 30th 2019, 12:23 PM

Go on Pip Breen

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Nov 30th 2019, 5:54 PM

Surprise, Surprise, Video not available. Solo runs only annoy people and make a nonsense of Party cohesion. Hope the Tiger loses her stripes and her Parachute. Hope YATES backed her,
    and lost all his Shirts

Mute Karl Phillips
    Favourite Karl Phillips
    Nov 30th 2019, 3:39 PM

Dope !!

Mute Liam Mernagh
    Favourite Liam Mernagh
    Nov 30th 2019, 6:21 PM

Da Meeja certainly didn’t spare her or wanted to see another point of view.

Mute Tim O'Connell
    Favourite Tim O'Connell
    Nov 30th 2019, 10:53 PM
    Mute Liam Mernagh
    Favourite Liam Mernagh
    Nov 30th 2019, 6:21 PM

Da Meeks certainly didn’t spare her or wanted to see another point of view.