You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'We are devastated': Riordans' star Biddy White Lennon has died

She was one of Ireland’s most-loved actresses.

BIDDY WHITE LENNON PORTRAIT LANDSCAPE Biddy White Lennon in 2002. Leon Farrell Leon Farrell

THE MUCH-LOVED actress and author Biddy White Lennon has died.

She was one of Ireland’s most famous actresses, best known for playing the role of Maggie in the RTÉ drama The Riordans. The show ran for over 30 years on television and radio.

Aside from her work as an actress, Lennon was a writer, with interests in food and hospitality. She was a founding member of the Irish Food Writer’s Guild.

Most recently, Lennon hosted TV3′s Great Irish Bake Off.

Tributes have poured in online as the news of Lennon’s death broke this morning.

“We are devastated to hear the very sad news of our dear fellow guild member Biddy White Lennon’s passing,” a statement from the Irish Good Writer’s Guild said.

Broadcaster Norah Casey tweeted that she is “devastated to hear that the beautiful and passionate” Lennon has passed away.

Casey said she was an “amazing inspiration” when she launched Ireland’s Food and Wine magazine.

Fellow Bake Off host Anna Nolan said: “Very sad to hear of the passing of my Bake Off companion and judge Biddy White Lennon. We all loved her.”

Read: Motorists warned to take care after a cold and frosty night

More: Woman dies after car ‘struck a barrier’ on motorway in Tipperary

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

23 Comments
    Mute Al-Right
    Favourite Al-Right
    Mar 3rd 2016, 9:01 PM

Expect dozens of 18 year old dressing up in Paramilitary style clothing, showing there support for IRA comrades up the north fighting against the oppression of the crown forces…

Oh wait, no the peace process has been in place since before they were born!

Mute Joe blogs
    Favourite Joe blogs
    Mar 3rd 2016, 9:09 PM

Vincent was not in the IRA so he will not get an IRA funeral. He along with his friends and family were kicked out of the IRA and his friends Declan smith and Nathan o Driscoll both shot in the legs by the IRA.

Mute proctor
    Favourite proctor
    Mar 3rd 2016, 9:17 PM

So your saying he was in the IRA

Mute Joe blogs
    Favourite Joe blogs
    Mar 3rd 2016, 9:22 PM

From what I’m led to believe, yes he was but hasn’t been for about 3 years now.

Mute Al-Right
    Favourite Al-Right
    Mar 3rd 2016, 9:54 PM

JoeBlogs: “Vincent was not in the IRA so he will not get an IRA funeral”

Proctor: So your saying he was in the IRA

JoeBlogs: From what I’m led to believe, yes he was

So he’s getting an IRA Paramilitary style funeral yea?

Mute Joe blogs
    Favourite Joe blogs
    Mar 3rd 2016, 10:06 PM

Why would the IRA give him a paramilitary funeral to someone that they kicked out years ago?

Mute Bantersaurus Rex
    Favourite Bantersaurus Rex
    Mar 3rd 2016, 10:35 PM

Nostalgia

Mute the phantom
    Favourite the phantom
    Mar 4th 2016, 12:11 AM

I’m not entirely sure why they IRA still so most of the things they do. Having a funeral for some fella they kicked out but are nostalgic for makes more sense than polluting half of the border county side to make a relatively small amount of money. Compared to all the damage they do to they fellow countrymen and their cars the cash their found recently seems a small payout

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 4th 2016, 2:38 AM

The Judean People’s Front so… Or something like that. Different name – same gang

Mute 26+6=1
    Favourite 26+6=1
    Mar 4th 2016, 6:35 AM

What the f**k am I reading

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Mar 3rd 2016, 8:13 PM

You live by the sword. ………

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Mar 3rd 2016, 8:32 PM

I live near Swords, does that count?

Mar 3rd 2016, 8:40 PM

He didn’t die by a sword. He was shot.

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Mar 3rd 2016, 8:48 PM

*but

Mute captain ireland
    Favourite captain ireland
    Mar 3rd 2016, 11:20 PM

The lad was a dad , no matter what some child is left without a daddy. Its very sad … Drug gangs seem to be very ruthless and powerful

Mar 3rd 2016, 8:17 PM

Who cares?

Mute Jason Walsh
    Favourite Jason Walsh
    Mar 3rd 2016, 8:43 PM

I think we all should, a mans life has been taking. A mother without a son, a child without a father. As much I see your comment as trying to a come across as smart, belittling a life bang out of order.

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Mar 3rd 2016, 8:51 PM

And forget about the thousands of lives he ruined with Hia criminality Jason. One less scümbág to worry about. Why show him any respect in death ? Did he earn it for dying ? He wouldn’t be in my description of a ‘man’, im sorry.

Mute Jonny Irish
    Favourite Jonny Irish
    Mar 3rd 2016, 9:12 PM

Thousands?? You’ve no idea what you’re shiting on about so stop spouting crap.

Mute Jason Walsh
    Favourite Jason Walsh
    Mar 3rd 2016, 9:13 PM

I’ve not said anything regarding his actions or what he has done, I’m not aware of him
    being convicted with anything but stand to be corrected , my point is simple to say who cares still isn’t right, it’s a life needlessly taken. What’s more concerning is that people are not shocked anymore by the shootings on our streets

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Mar 3rd 2016, 9:35 PM

@Jonny. Prove it. @Jason. He was a scümbág.

Mar 3rd 2016, 9:53 PM

Jason , he chose the life he wanted to live , ge never thought about his own child so it’s his own doings what happened to him .

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Mar 3rd 2016, 9:54 PM

Good riddence. He deserves zero respect. His family can mourn but he won’t ever get respect. Three balaclava men fired shots at his brothers funeral in a residential area to honour him. The family are not honourable

Mar 4th 2016, 11:21 AM

Jason I doubt he cared about any of us or any of our own. I doubt me caring is going to stop shootings on our streets, though I do abhor it, but as for this lad is concerned I don’t care when he’s being buried not that he was shot.

Mute TheCredibleHulk
    Favourite TheCredibleHulk
    Mar 3rd 2016, 10:12 PM

The Sunday World reporters must be wetting themselves when this type of thing happens

Mar 3rd 2016, 10:52 PM

This will certainly whet their appetites, but is news nonetheless. People being gunned down with growing regularity on our streets in daytime is possibly something we should be a tad concerned about. Or maybe not. If you’re not involved, you should be ok. Notwithstanding what happened to young Anthony Campbell. That’s why it needs to be stopped, but how?

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Mar 3rd 2016, 10:55 PM

An official state sponsored cull.

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Mar 3rd 2016, 8:46 PM

RIP it still some mothers son

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Mar 3rd 2016, 8:52 PM

Who probably had her mortgage paid by his drug dealing. Or maybe she had her head up her …..

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Mar 3rd 2016, 8:53 PM

SO? your point is? He choose his lifestyle, his mother didn’t choose him it’s what she got.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Mar 3rd 2016, 9:09 PM

It’s what she rared.

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Mar 3rd 2016, 9:12 PM

No I don’t agree with this, she could have brought him well and then he made his own choices. Great parents can have bad kids and bad parents can have great kids. It’s down to choice.

Mute Jonny Irish
    Favourite Jonny Irish
    Mar 3rd 2016, 9:14 PM

Damo, you do realise he’s a Ryan? Alan Ryan gave out punishment beatings to drug dealers since he was a teenager. The whole family are completely anti drug you moron

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Mar 3rd 2016, 9:36 PM

@Jonny. Pull the other one, it has bells on it. Your mask is slipping pal.

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Mar 3rd 2016, 9:38 PM

Also, fair play to the Ryan for taking the law into their hands and assaulting people. Very good arguement you’ve put forward there. Let’s honour their great crime fighting work. Well, he can push the daisy’s up now

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Mar 3rd 2016, 9:41 PM

@Jonny. Ud be the first one on here calling for an actual official policeman’s head for doing anything like the same. You’ve some logic pal. Why don’t we give the garda the same powers. No arrest, trial or imprisonment, beat the shit out of them instead gaurd. Jesus wept.

Mute Jonny Irish
    Favourite Jonny Irish
    Mar 3rd 2016, 9:56 PM

Shut it Damo you’re just a simple little troll who knows nothing about the situation.

Mute Mick Power
    Favourite Mick Power
    Mar 3rd 2016, 10:06 PM

He took protection money off drug dealers. Gotta say that doesn’t say anti-drugs to me it just says he didn’t want to do the hard work and used the republican name to get easy money

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Mar 3rd 2016, 10:09 PM

@Jonny. The usual terrorist apologist rethoric. Call someone else with a different opinion a troll and tell them to shut it ? You won’t bully me pal. And neither now will those scümbág Ryans. And neither will they assault anyone else. You’re abvouosly in the same ilk. Fellow scûmbág. You doing the gaurd of honour tomorrow ?

Mute Tony_Kilduff
    Favourite Tony_Kilduff
    Mar 3rd 2016, 10:31 PM

She “rared” ? She cooked him ?

Mar 3rd 2016, 10:43 PM

Jonny , are you saying they never took protection money from drug dealers ?

Mar 4th 2016, 12:11 AM

I doubt they were anti drug. You think they never tried pills or coke in their lives?

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 4th 2016, 2:36 AM

I’m fine with them all killing each other – trials are expensive and so is prison.

If it helps guys, whomever is up next, you can take my car. Just burn it out completely when done.

Mute The Girl
    Favourite The Girl
    Mar 3rd 2016, 8:26 PM

Another ‘state’ funeral or this time it’ll be basic?

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Mar 3rd 2016, 8:27 PM

State funeral for sure!

Mar 3rd 2016, 8:32 PM

A so called state funeral should be banned .!

Mute Ronan Sexton
    Favourite Ronan Sexton
    Mar 3rd 2016, 9:20 PM

Some state it will be alright. No doubt the half wits in the army surplus fancy dress gear will be there to promote “the cause”

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Mar 3rd 2016, 8:27 PM

Can’t Fecking wait for all the media attention, pictures etc. Bring it on!!!

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Mar 3rd 2016, 10:10 PM

24 page pull out special in the Sunday World.

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Mar 3rd 2016, 10:17 PM

At least and Williams will get another slot on TV 3 same rehashed sh!te. I’m sure the new book is in print as we speak.

Mute Shane Griffin
    Favourite Shane Griffin
    Mar 3rd 2016, 9:02 PM

Imagine people will be upset and possibly might cry at this event. Disgusting

Mute john kelly
    Favourite john kelly
    Mar 3rd 2016, 11:05 PM

Dickie o Neill is the pevert ira man on the news

Mute Joe blogs
    Favourite Joe blogs
    Mar 3rd 2016, 11:08 PM

Yeah and he has been in custody in Spain for the last week so we know he didn’t do it.

Mute Anne Kelly
    Favourite Anne Kelly
    Mar 3rd 2016, 10:59 PM

Lads, lads….ok, so you are entitled to have your opinions on Vinnie Ryan, but remember , in the background of all this, there’s a tiny newborn baby who’ll never know her father, and a heartbroken (widowed) mother preparing to bury her second son. Neither of these have hurt anyone. Have some respect, please. He’s dead, nothing can hurt him anymore, but the living family of his have a huge cross to carry, forever.

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Mar 3rd 2016, 11:10 PM

You earn respect in life, he earned none. And you think for a minute his partner wasn’t living off the proceeds of his criminal activities ? To mother a child for a scümbág, you must also Make that grade. Maybe if he did an honest days work in his life, he would be at home now providing for his child. He made the life choice. How naive.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 4th 2016, 2:40 AM

Wow – the kid can read?

Mom but be proud of her parenting skills. I wonder are there more of them?

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Favourite Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Mar 4th 2016, 8:22 AM

Not saying he deserves respect but surely his grieving mother does

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Mar 4th 2016, 9:26 AM

His grieving mother will be ok, surrounded by illegally armed balaclava sporting dïck heads. Or mayb she’ll prevent the illegal gun salute in the middle of a law obiding residential area this time, as she definitely doesn’t support that carry on and has more respect for joe public

Mute john kelly
    Favourite john kelly
    Mar 3rd 2016, 10:53 PM

R.i.p vinny ryan

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Mar 3rd 2016, 11:12 PM

Good riduince.

Mute john kelly
    Favourite john kelly
    Mar 3rd 2016, 10:43 PM

The new ira killed him with the help of Sean hunt Dickie o Neill mcbennit and giller

Mute Joe blogs
    Favourite Joe blogs
    Mar 3rd 2016, 11:02 PM

He doesn’t deserve peace, he used the banner of being an Irish republican to go around bullying drug dealers and demand money from them which he and his friends kept for themselves.

Mute john kelly
    Favourite john kelly
    Mar 3rd 2016, 11:12 PM

Darra Murphy mcbennit red Kev mr big Dickie o Neill Sean hunt that’s who killed vinny ryan

Mute Joe blogs
    Favourite Joe blogs
    Mar 3rd 2016, 11:14 PM

Fair play to them

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Mar 3rd 2016, 11:20 PM

Very professional. job well done.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 4th 2016, 2:41 AM

Nice clean kill. Good training I guess. Where did they get it?

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Mar 4th 2016, 10:03 AM

Paintballers ?

Mute Brian Kelleher
    Favourite Brian Kelleher
    Mar 4th 2016, 12:12 AM

Who is this “Mr big” fella, does he have a name….besides Mr. Big??

Mute Obi Wan
    Favourite Obi Wan
    Mar 4th 2016, 9:58 AM

Willie Long

Mute Dave Murphy
    Favourite Dave Murphy
    Mar 4th 2016, 12:45 AM

Another scrote bites the dust

Mute john kelly
    Favourite john kelly
    Mar 3rd 2016, 11:45 PM

Joe blogs if I could get my hands on u ..vinny ryan was a gentleman sound a lovely chap

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Mar 3rd 2016, 11:52 PM

Quick joe run, the keyboard warriors after you. Toe rag.

Mute Joe blogs
    Favourite Joe blogs
    Mar 4th 2016, 8:56 AM

You’d do nothing, just like you’ll do nothing to the people that killed your friend vinny.

Mute john kelly
    Favourite john kelly
    Mar 3rd 2016, 11:41 PM

R.i.p.vinnie love ye loads the lads from a athy .

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Mar 3rd 2016, 11:50 PM

The hole in the wall gang. Hahaha. Are ye kids still about ? There’s not one window ye havnt broke on main street. Little fèckers with yir catapults. Nostalgia is right.