Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Bill Cullen on Trump: 'I'd vote for him if I was there, he's a great guy'

“Everyone else thought it was a big surprise but I was looking at that guy all along.”

BILL CULLEN SAYS he thinks Donald Trump is a “great guy” and that he would have voted for him if he lived in the US.

The businessman, who headed up The Apprentice in Ireland just as President-Elect Donald Trump did in the States, said he wasn’t surprised by the result.

He told Ray D’Arcy on RTÉ Radio 1 that he was up early for the result, ” I understood it, I said that’s it, I’m right.

Everyone else thought it was a big surprise but I was looking at that guy all along. He’s a businessman, he knows what he’s doing, he was bankrupt and when you put all that together he has to have something that will work for the American people.

Cullen added that he thinks the result is “terrific”.

I would vote for him if I was over there. You just have to look at him… he’s strong, he went bankrupt and he’s back again. It’s terrific, I think he’s a great guy.

“Overall if you look at it, Clinton is not for the job. She’s a politician, you don’t want a politician. You want someone who has good business infront of them and behind. He’ll be able to do it all, he’ll be able to do things that no-body else there did.”

However, Cullen added that he doesn’t think this will be good news for Ireland but that he understands that Trump wants American multinationals to return to the US.

“I don’t think himself will be able to do anything here. I don’t think he likes Ireland.”

RTÉ Radio 1 / SoundCloud

Read: ‘This is painful and it will be for a long time’: Hillary Clinton speaks for first time after defeat>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

83 Comments
    Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Nov 9th 2016, 6:34 PM

Lol, remember the Irish Apprentice? Made on such a shoestring. Every week the task was ‘design an ad campaign for SPAR, or some other business which is sponsoring us…’

Mute stevenocarroll
    Favourite stevenocarroll
    Nov 9th 2016, 6:45 PM

@stephen kavanagh:

Spar = Irish need not apply

Mute Andrew Christian Troy
    Favourite Andrew Christian Troy
    Nov 9th 2016, 6:49 PM

Bill Cullen is a muppet.

Mute stevenocarroll
    Favourite stevenocarroll
    Nov 9th 2016, 6:53 PM

@Andrew Christian Troy:

Interesting.

How and why?

Mute Science of beer
    Favourite Science of beer
    Nov 9th 2016, 7:10 PM

Your a muppet to Steven

Mute stevenocarroll
    Favourite stevenocarroll
    Nov 9th 2016, 7:14 PM

@Science of beer:

Stay off the beer, you might be able to spell “you’re”

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Nov 9th 2016, 7:38 PM

@stevenocarroll: Bill Cullen of the, I’m Bankrupt and don’t pay my debts brigade?

Mute ReChew A.
    Favourite ReChew A.
    Nov 9th 2016, 7:55 PM

Steven ,they are both cut from the same cloth ,they love to wallow in their own power and importance and they both took pleasure out of rejecting people irrespective of the emotional consequences .Remember how they took such delight from YOURE FIRED .
    A danger to society !.

Mute stevenocarroll
    Favourite stevenocarroll
    Nov 9th 2016, 8:37 PM

@Stephen murphy:

Does he not pay his debts? Debts aside so what if he was bankrupt, don’t many small businesses go bankrupt, should they be demonised for going bankrupt, this country has serious problem with people trying to have a vision and trying to make a go of things, exploitation is one thing, but did Cullen exploit?

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Favourite Vincent Wallace
    Nov 9th 2016, 9:45 PM

Both failed business men sure. The only difference is Bill didn’t have a large enheritence from his father to bail him out…..Twice!

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Nov 9th 2016, 10:54 PM

You’re a muppet too

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Favourite Vincent Wallace
    Nov 9th 2016, 11:06 PM

Outstanding Paul!

Mute Michael O' Riordan
    Favourite Michael O' Riordan
    Nov 9th 2016, 11:39 PM

After the fact Bill!
    You haven’t changed.

Mute Neal not Neil
    Favourite Neal not Neil
    Nov 10th 2016, 6:41 AM

The only reason the BBC don”t fill it with sponsored tasks is because they’re not allowed to.

Mute Veroníca
    Favourite Veroníca
    Nov 10th 2016, 9:08 AM

U got that right!

Mute Tony Shaw
    Favourite Tony Shaw
    Nov 9th 2016, 6:35 PM

Says the failed second hand car salesman!!…….. Everyone wake up and pay attention to Bill. That’s what he wants.

Mute stevenocarroll
    Favourite stevenocarroll

@Tony Shaw:

I don’t bother with people unless they have failed a good few times. Like metal it tempers them and they come out a lot wiser people with wisdom you will never, ever get in any educational institution. The real barometer of worth is how decent and loyal they are.

Mute Fergal Murray
    Favourite Fergal Murray
    Nov 9th 2016, 7:32 PM

So why do you have a problem with foreigners? They’re coming to Ireland for work and a better life. That’s called having guts.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Nov 9th 2016, 7:40 PM

@Fergal Murray: He’s a complete bell end Fergal. Skum of the earth.

Mute Paddy O'Brien
    Favourite Paddy O'Brien
    Nov 9th 2016, 11:34 PM

@steven ocaroll you are an insufferable, self centred, pseudo intelligent muppet. “I dont bother with people unless they have failed a few times” – what kind of self important bullsh!t is that.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Nov 9th 2016, 6:58 PM

Ah penny apples himself.
    He reminds me of the monthy python sketch.

We all lived in one room. I got up 2 hours before I went to bed. No breakfast, walked 12 miles to work and worked 26 hours a day.

He tells a good tale.

He thinks he’s the only one that ever did a day’s work.

Mute ReChew A.
    Favourite ReChew A.
    Nov 9th 2016, 8:34 PM

Tom ,this man Bill Cullen prided himself on getting up at 4am to leave us the tax payers carrying the can for his self righteous bull shit ego .he should take a stroll from his GYM along with Mick Wallace down town and see the homeless that they have contributed to .

Mute Joey Hackman
    Favourite Joey Hackman

Please, please, Bill promise NEVER to run for President of Ireland.

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Nov 9th 2016, 6:38 PM

Didn’t realise it was a slow news day- who wants to know Cullen’s opinion?

Mute thenightmancometh
    Favourite thenightmancometh
    Nov 9th 2016, 6:32 PM

This a moo point, like a cow’s opinion.

Mute I Am A Horse
    Favourite I Am A Horse
    Nov 9th 2016, 6:41 PM

They’ve a lot in common. Like bankruptcy :-/

Mute Rob O'Byrne
    Favourite Rob O'Byrne
    Nov 9th 2016, 6:46 PM

It certainly takes one pompous pr1ck to know another one!!

Mute stevenocarroll
    Favourite stevenocarroll
    Nov 9th 2016, 7:03 PM

@Rob O’Byrne:

Hillary is humble as hell.

Clinton foundation ripping off poor Haitians, classy!

Mute Gordian Knot
    Favourite Gordian Knot
    Nov 9th 2016, 6:33 PM

Hope for your sake you don’t have a Twitter account Bill.

Mute Desmond Lyons
    Favourite Desmond Lyons

From one Bankrupt to another!

Mute Seamus Dooley
    Favourite Seamus Dooley
    Nov 9th 2016, 6:39 PM

You’re right there Bill, sure he’s a great fella…..bit rapey mind, kind of a bigot too come to think of it. Great fella tho

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Nov 9th 2016, 7:14 PM

Stephen
    Remind me when Bill Clinton was ever convicted of rape?
    Actually, can you remind me of when he was ever charged with such.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Nov 9th 2016, 7:15 PM

Seamus that is

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Nov 9th 2016, 7:16 PM

Disregard
    I was right first time.
    Stephen

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Nov 9th 2016, 8:25 PM

Steven
    You can call Bill Clinton a low life serial womaniser low life.
    I might even agree with you.
    However, you’re on your own when you brand somebody a rapist when they have never been charged or convicted.

Sorry, you can’t just say those things.
    He wouldn’t waste his time on you but he could take legal action against you and the Journal for publishing such lies.

Mute Ray Reilly
    Favourite Ray Reilly
    Nov 9th 2016, 6:55 PM

If the pair of them were icecreams they would lick themselves… :-D

Mute Science of beer
    Favourite Science of beer
    Nov 9th 2016, 7:08 PM

Who give two figs what a has been used car sales man has to say.

Mute Emachine
    Favourite Emachine
    Nov 9th 2016, 9:13 PM

Good one Bill, call the result after it’s announced. What’s next? Predict last weeks lotto numbers.

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Nov 9th 2016, 7:10 PM

Why did the journal interview this self serving failed arrogant (business)-man?

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Nov 9th 2016, 6:46 PM

Bill is Irelands very own Donal Trump

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Nov 9th 2016, 7:05 PM

Says Cullen who has failed at so many ventures.Its people like him that cannot see further than their nose and that’s why he failed. Be under no illusion we Ireland are in serious trouble with Trump being elected. 140,000 people employed by American companies here.Trump plans to drop US corporation tax from 35%down to 15%. A mass exodus of US companies will no doubt go back to the states. This Is going to happen,there is no doubt and other fools like Cullen saying they’ve delighted Trump got in should really think about that as far as This country is concerned. Also another steamroller coming down the line is Brexit. May will no doubt drop their corporate tax rate to attract foreign investment. We are sandwiched in between these two and we are going to suffer big time. It’s now we should be seriously making plans to protect this country and our children’s future job prospects,although I really don’t know how they are going to do it.Its a gloomy situation and I’m sorry if I’m coming across pessimistic but I can’t see anything good for Ireland coming from the US and the UK. Think again before you start lauding Donald Trump as Irelands great friend because that he is not.Neither is May.

Mute Philip Mc dermott
    Favourite Philip Mc dermott
    Nov 9th 2016, 7:12 PM

Just totally agree with everything you said, people here praising trump let’s see what happens when the multinationals start leaving, our childrens future’s really look bleak right now.Also I think the number employed directly and indirectly is 400,000.

Mute Charles McCarthy
    Favourite Charles McCarthy
    Nov 10th 2016, 9:24 PM

If as you say these companies relocate back to the U.S, how will they access the EU markets? The UK is not going to be able to facilitate them. Tariffs and all that complicated stuff is limited by operating within an EU country, ie Ireland. I cannot see the EU allowing the US and the UK doing any sweet heart deals, while still expecting access to the EU markets. This is a three way issue and Trump will have to be more creative than his claim on lowering corpo tax. 4 years by the way is not a long time when operating within the senate system, just ask Mr Obama.

Mute Jon Gripper McKee
    Favourite Jon Gripper McKee
    Nov 9th 2016, 6:41 PM

That’s the seal of approval needed for me. Congratulations Donald, looking forward to working with you!

Mute Martin Oliver Browne
    Favourite Martin Oliver Browne
    Nov 9th 2016, 7:12 PM

Bill the clown !

Mute Ibhar Mac Suibhne
    Favourite Ibhar Mac Suibhne
    Nov 9th 2016, 6:37 PM

Bill wasted no time to jumping on the opportunity to work with a fascist
    But didn’t anyone tell you that running a country is not anywhere similar to running a business ? … No need for social sciences, political science… America has been run doleful for big business for decades and its a mess!

Mute Gordian Knot
    Favourite Gordian Knot
    Nov 9th 2016, 6:43 PM

You’ve no idea what a Fascist is.

Mute Dick Durkin
    Favourite Dick Durkin

Fascism is the merger of corporate and political power….so said Mussolini and he should know.

Mute stevenocarroll
    Favourite stevenocarroll

@Dick Durkin:

What did corporate power mean back then and for Mussolini? Was it about ripping your people off?

Mute Dick Durkin
    Favourite Dick Durkin
    Nov 9th 2016, 7:29 PM

And to quote the late great George Carlin ” When fascism comes to America it will be with smiley faces and Nike’s……Germany lost WW2, fascism won it” ….And he is dead right because we have been controlled by corporate and political power since then.

Mute niall
    Favourite niall
    Nov 9th 2016, 6:43 PM

W@nker

Mute Goldberg
    Favourite Goldberg
    Nov 9th 2016, 7:03 PM

I’m sick to the teeth of all the doomongering today on this – he will be a yank Silvio Berlusconi which should be entertaining – people take some things too seriously

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Nov 9th 2016, 7:11 PM

Goldberg
    What happens in Italy has less impact on ya that the US.
    I don’t think Trump will be as irrational as he was in the campaign.
    The president doesn’t need to be too smart but just needs to surround himself with smart people.
    The fear is the uncertainty.

Mute Donal Carey
    Favourite Donal Carey
    Nov 9th 2016, 8:52 PM

The difference between Cullen and Trump is that Cullen is full of shit and bankruptcy Trump is full of shit and has the money to back it up

Mute SquideyeMagpie
    Favourite SquideyeMagpie

Gobs#ite amháin ‘s gobs#ite éile

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Nov 9th 2016, 9:40 PM

Two Nuts in the same Bag = A full set of Bollix. Cullen should wear a Trump hair piece over his mouth.

Mute #knowingitall
    Favourite #knowingitall
    Nov 9th 2016, 9:40 PM

In all fairness who gives a fux what Bill “Nobody Cullen thinks…..absolute Moron!

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Nov 9th 2016, 8:09 PM

Bill who ???

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Nov 9th 2016, 8:23 PM

Dr Bill, the Irish Trump. Staff not allowed to talk to him and he from penny apples.

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/bill-cullen-reveals-staff-at-former-hotel-not-allowed-to-speak-to-him-29991966.html

Mute Miriam Kane
    Favourite Miriam Kane
    Nov 9th 2016, 8:19 PM

Just as big a moron as the Donald

Mute Eoin O'Súilleabháin
    Favourite Eoin O'Súilleabháin
    Nov 9th 2016, 8:00 PM

Good ol Bill, I’d deffo take his advice. Anyone of the B list that need attention in the next few days will all come out in support of Trump.

Mute Garrett Mulhall
    Favourite Garrett Mulhall
    Nov 9th 2016, 7:01 PM

Well they’ve both lost money!

Mute Brian O Reilly
    Favourite Brian O Reilly
    Nov 9th 2016, 7:57 PM

How about them apples

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Nov 9th 2016, 8:16 PM

God imagine if every country in the world was run by a reality show reject

Mute Joseph Molloy
    Favourite Joseph Molloy
    Nov 9th 2016, 11:25 PM

The face of Cullen looks like ass of trump

Mute Upowthat Burke
    Favourite Upowthat Burke
    Nov 9th 2016, 9:32 PM

What makes the journal think this failes person opinon would mean a dam to the public

Mute Irish Cottage Rental
    Favourite Irish Cottage Rental
    Nov 9th 2016, 10:06 PM

Fair play to ya Bill. Sexually assaulting women a la the Donald no biggie so?

Mute Liam Sheahan
    Favourite Liam Sheahan
    Nov 9th 2016, 8:08 PM

Should go for president.Nice number

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Nov 9th 2016, 10:28 PM

RTE News and Prime Time has been on and openly stated that Donald Trump is racist, sexist and homo phobic. They portrayed Trump as waving his arms to imitate a handicapped person. Trump is not a racist, there is no evidence of this, in fact the opposite is the case. He is not sexist, the women making allegations against him never reported it and one opened a sex toy shop the day before. Donald Trump is very supportive of Homosexuals. When Trump waved his hands he was not talking about handicapped people.

Prof Liam Kennedy says Trump is racial, homophobic and sexist. This is a lie. Totally a lie. He says the media underestimated Trump, great I say because I won a lot of money by their failure to keep in touch

Mute Charles McCarthy
    Favourite Charles McCarthy
    Nov 10th 2016, 9:36 PM

I agree, I say give him a chance. The president is only a figure head anyway, the power lies within the senate, and as soon as people realise this the better. The system is intentionally set up that way. Let them elect who they want. He will be entertaining at the very least!

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    Nov 10th 2016, 9:11 AM

One wan@@r to another

Mute Sean Considine
    Favourite Sean Considine
    Nov 10th 2016, 1:11 AM

Yes bill you ran your hotel on a generator in Kerry cos u couldn’t pay your esb bill n guess what never paid for you fuel to run your generator owing family businesses money what a fxxin dick

Mute Sean Considine
    Favourite Sean Considine
    Nov 10th 2016, 1:17 AM

Dick