You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

RollingNews.ie

Nuns who ran Tuam home have 'no comment' to make on today's revelations

They did say that they are fully committed to the Commission of Investigation ‘seeking the truth’ about what happened.

THE RELIGIOUS ORDER that ran the Tuam mother and baby home where human remains have been found said it can make no comment on today’s announcement.

It did, however, reiterate its support for the Commission of Investigation into the home.

The Bon Secours sisters ran the home until it closed in 1961. All of the records for the home were given to Galway County Council at that time.

Today, it was confirmed that a “significant” amount of human remains were found on a site connected to the mother and baby home. The area had been flagged as a possible mass burial site by researcher Catherine Corless.

When asked for a statement on the issue, the nuns said:

The Bon Secours sisters are fully committed to the work of the Commission regarding the mother and baby home in Tuam. On the closing of the Home in 1961 all the records for the Home were returned to Galway County Council who are the owners and occupiers of the lands of the Home. We can therefore make no comment on today’s announcement, other than to confirm our continued cooperation with and support for the work of the Commission in seeking the truth about the home.

A Commission of Investigation was established by the Government to look into mother and baby homes and county homes.

Email row

In October 2014, an email was sent by the public relations representative for the Bon Secours sisters, Terry Prone, about the site.

Documentary maker Saskia Weber had asked the nuns to take part in filming about mother and baby homes in Ireland.

The high-profile PR representative said in response:

Your letter was sent on to me by the Provincial of the Irish Bon Secours congregation with instructions that I should help you. I’m not sure how I can. Let me explain.When the “O My God – mass grave in West of Ireland” broke in an English-owned paper (the Mail) it surprised the hell out of everybody, not least the Sisters of Bon Secours in Ireland, none of whom had ever worked in Tuam and most of whom had never heard of it.
If you come here, you’ll find no mass grave, no evidence that children were ever so buried, and a local police force casting their eyes to heaven and saying “Yeah, a few bones were found – but this was an area where Famine victims were buried. So?”
Several international TV stations have aborted their plans to make documentaries, because essentially all that can be said is “Ireland in the first half of the twentieth century was a moralistic, inward-looking, anti-feminist country of exagerrated religiousity.”
Which most of us knew already.The overwhelming majority of the surviving Sisters of Bon Secours in Ireland are over eighty. The handful (literally) still in active ministry are in their seventies. None of them is an historian or sociologist or theologian and so wouldn’t have the competence to be good on your programme.
If you’d like me to point you at a few reputable historians who might be good, I’ll certainly do that.
Terry Prone (Ms)
Chairman
The Communications Clinic

Speaking to TheJournal.ie at the time, Prone confirmed she had sent the email, but said there was “absolutely no difference” between the substance of it, and public pronouncements made by the Bon Secours sisters.

“The sisters never knew anything about it,” she added at the time.

Speaking today, Prone told Today with Sean O’Rourke on RTÉ about the site: ”It looks like there is a whole lot more to it”.

Prone said when she wrote to the producer she said ‘you won’t find that’, as a commission was needed to get the work done on the site to determine what happened.

She added that “nobody expected the kind of numbers that are being revealed today, clearly there was extensive burial. I am fascinated by the commission’s use of the phrase ‘in this way’ because it sounds like it was a disrespectful mass burial rather than a proper burial… I don’t know what to make of that”

She said questions that need to be asked are how many children were buried; and is that disproportionate to the number of children and toddlers who would have been dying in the population at this time; and what did they die of.

Documents show that the death rate of babies at the home was significantly higher than that at other homes around the country. Figures from the National Archives showed that 31.6% of babies under the age of one at Tuam died over the course of one year.

In other homes, that rate was 17%.

Causes of death included bronchitis, convulsions, and congenital syphilis.

bons secours deaths Report of the Inter-Departmental Group on Mother and Baby Homes via Department of Children and Youth Affairs Report of the Inter-Departmental Group on Mother and Baby Homes via Department of Children and Youth Affairs

Read: Row brews over Terry Prone Tuam babies email>

Read: Remains of young children and babies found in sewage chambers at Tuam mother and baby home>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

137 Comments
    Mute Keith
    Favourite Keith
    Sep 21st 2018, 10:39 AM

What have they got to hide if nothing then why shouldn’t we know . I suspect that expenses must be high otherwise there wouldn’t be a problem.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Sep 21st 2018, 10:45 AM

@Keith: I am of the opinion that the presidency is an unnecessary expense that we don’t need in its present form. But apparently, the spending has come in under budget for the past couple of years.

Mute Keith
    Favourite Keith
    Sep 21st 2018, 10:51 AM

@Dermot Lane: we don’t have the facts & if the case it’s under budget then why not show ? My point is something is been kept from us & shouldn’t .

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G

@Keith: Except we do know. We know the cost, we just don’t get an itemised spreadsheet so people can go through it and focus on something they’ve determined isn’t “acceptable”.

What’s the point of this, so we can moan that our President travels in a way that you and I don’t? Well yeah, they’re the President and I’m essentially grand with that.

If you think a ceremonial Head of State is something our Country should have (and I do) then I’m fine with them having a Budget. And as they have stayed within that why the sudden urge to get a breakdown.

Yeah who benefits from this?

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca
    Sep 21st 2018, 10:59 AM

@Dermot Lane: the presidency is a necessary expense of our republic imo if you want a figurehead to represent our people in the wider world.

Mute BigNuts
    Favourite BigNuts
    Sep 21st 2018, 11:04 AM

@Dermot Lane: just because it’s under budget means nothing. You could set a budget of 100 mil knowing you need 10 mil and hey presto your under budget by 90%.

Mute Lisa Byrne
    Favourite Lisa Byrne
    Sep 21st 2018, 11:07 AM

@Dermot Lane: but if the budget was say 10 million and Mike spent 9,5million its not great,saying “coming under budget” makes it sound good. But we don’t know the budget it has been given

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Sep 21st 2018, 12:55 PM
    Mute Francis Devenney
    Favourite Francis Devenney
    Sep 21st 2018, 1:00 PM

@Dermot Lane: The role of the president is vital to our democracy. It’s not just a figurehead or a representative of the country. The job of the president is function as the guardian of the constitution and to stop government from pushing through unconstitutional laws.

Mute Paul A Whelan
    Favourite Paul A Whelan
    Sep 21st 2018, 1:01 PM

@Keith: its nothing to do with something to hide; its got to do with it becoming a political football. I suggest leave as it is. Government wasts huge money on silly mistakes every day and nothing is said.

Mute GClare
    Favourite GClare
    Sep 21st 2018, 2:58 PM

@Keith: so you believe in national ID cards, fingerprints on file, DNA database, PSC? Nothing to hide not a problem (by the way I agree with them)

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Sep 21st 2018, 10:40 AM

It doesn’t matter. Because nothing ever becomes of inquiries.

Mute Brendan Hughes
    Favourite Brendan Hughes
    Sep 21st 2018, 10:41 AM

Yes and no. As customers of this country, we should be shown how our money is spent. The timing of it is wrong.

Mute Keith
    Favourite Keith
    Sep 21st 2018, 10:52 AM

@Brendan Hughes: why is timing wrong ? I think it’s about right as presidential election looms let’s see how honest Michael d really is.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Sep 21st 2018, 10:56 AM

@Keith: You think Micheal D sits down and decides how to spend the Budget of the Aras…….

Right……

Mute Eoghan Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Eoghan Ó Braonáin
    Sep 21st 2018, 11:09 AM

@Brendan Hughes: you’re a customer you are a citizen.

Mute Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Favourite Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Sep 21st 2018, 11:10 AM

@Brendan Hughes: Agreed. I like transparency, but this is nakedly a political stunt to bring question marks over Higgins just before an election. An American style “October surprise” if you will, designed to create a ‘no smoke without fire’ dialog around presidential spending.

Mute Judean
    Favourite Judean
    Sep 21st 2018, 12:10 PM

@Brendan Hughes: Yes Brendan, there must be a “right-time” to uncover wastage of taxpayers money!

Got a good laugh out of that!

Mute Michael Wall
    Favourite Michael Wall
    Sep 21st 2018, 12:15 PM

@Brendan Hughes: Not customers, citizens, big difference.

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Sep 21st 2018, 12:59 PM

@Brendan Hughes: It’s perfect timing. If it was in the middle of the presidency nothing would change regarding spending. People wouldn’t pay attention. Michael D took on loads of extra staff. He has 27 staff. Why? And giving some special allowances. It’s such a waste. Champagne socialism at it’s finest.

Mute George Murphy
    Favourite George Murphy
    Sep 21st 2018, 10:40 AM

If it’s held back till after the election, then obviously, there is some thing to hide. A no win situation.

Mute John McG
    Favourite John McG

What’s the big deal in waiting a month? Who is pushing this? Who benefits from this? Would it perhaps be SF?

Mute Shane Lenihan
    Favourite Shane Lenihan
    Sep 21st 2018, 12:12 PM

@John McG: correct me if I’m wrong but Sean Fleming (FF), who is chairperson of the PAC voted in favour of it – like some of the other members of FF he might be trying to push support to Sean Gallagher – totally wrong timing – it should not influence an election, theyve had 7 years to look at it and they decide the week before nominations close – same old cloak and dagger politics – and in case of any doubt by all means conduct your enquiry if spending is negligent – but wait until the election is done.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Sep 21st 2018, 12:36 PM

@John McG: no-one pushing it. But someone – Martin and FF is interfering and asking for PAC to delay it.

Mute John Aylmer
    Favourite John Aylmer
    Sep 21st 2018, 6:53 PM

@John McG:
    Or the 3 dragons

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Sep 21st 2018, 9:59 PM

@John McG: For once can we have some accountability concerning the expences of politicians. El Presidente Higgins, has no problem in preaching for an end to poverty, a fair distribution of wealth… He said this on visit to South America. The man is very quiet concerning the poverty inflicted on the ordinary people of Ireland with the blessing of his own party. As James Connolly stated a paracite among paracites.

Mute sand
    Favourite sand

Not much point in having it when the election is over!

Mute sand
    Favourite sand
    Sep 21st 2018, 10:39 AM

Not much having it when it’s over!

Mute ObsidianShine
    Favourite ObsidianShine
    Sep 21st 2018, 7:23 PM

Why would you say no to this question?

Mute Willy Mc Caul
    Favourite Willy Mc Caul
    Sep 21st 2018, 10:49 AM

FFG are against having, and surely they would have little to hide….
    Cough ;-)

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 21st 2018, 11:16 AM

@Willy Mc Caul:

It’s being pushed by FF members of the Public Accounts Committee.

To help their mate Gallagher.

Some people are so clueless it’s laughable.

At least try to keep up on how FF are being sleveens this week.

Mute Willy Mc Caul
    Favourite Willy Mc Caul
    Sep 21st 2018, 11:30 AM

@Brinster: Why government move to block? Yep, all the one, FFG…

Mute Anthony Gallagher
    Favourite Anthony Gallagher
    Sep 21st 2018, 11:01 AM

WHY just the presidents office what about all the other departments and what about the quangoes , lets see who is being paid from these.,however now is not the right time as it would be very unfair to M d Higgins .leave it until after the election .

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Sep 21st 2018, 6:01 PM

@Anthony Gallagher: How is it unfair? if there is nothing to hide great, if all is not as it should be why let it continue?

Mute Nell foran
    Favourite Nell foran
    Sep 21st 2018, 10:48 AM

It is not the president himself that decides spending for the office. Trying to make him responsible is politically motivated and would lead to bullshit responses from other candidates that they would cut spending etc.
    The office of the president has to be independant of the dail constitutionally
    So he can ultimately challenge a law and refer it the council.
    The pac seems to think it is above the constitution

Mute Matt Humphries
    Favourite Matt Humphries
    Sep 21st 2018, 10:54 AM

What’s the harm, it’s a promised govt policy to be open and transparent. Lol

Mute Paul O Faolain
    Favourite Paul O Faolain

A total waste of space,this Micky mouse job

Mute Stipe Miocic
    Favourite Stipe Miocic
    Sep 21st 2018, 11:42 AM

Yes. We don’t need a president. Waste of money.

Mute Reuben Gray
    Favourite Reuben Gray
    Sep 21st 2018, 2:31 PM

@Stipe Miocic: We do need a president though because we are a republic, it comes with the territory.
    It’s also part of our constitution. So yes, we do need one.
    Change the system of government and constitution if you feel otherwise.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Sep 21st 2018, 10:43 AM

This is just an excuse for people to give out about the cost of having a President.

This is about so much more than the cost of the Presidency. This the continuing idea that people in politics should not be paid a decent wage.

I’m ALL for making it easier for people to get involved in Politics but there appears to be a serious leaning towards making Politics open only to those that are financially independent.

You WANT smart people that are perfectly capable of earning a great salary in the private sector to get involved in politics otherwise you’ll only ever end up with those that are independently wealthy. Basically it’ll be the landowning class all over again and you can bet your ass they won’t be social democrats.

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Sep 21st 2018, 10:48 AM

@Tricia G: What? You think the Presidents salary is worth it? Politicians are over paid in this country as well. A quarter of TDs are landlords. Where the fk have you been living? Not in the real world by the looks of it.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Sep 21st 2018, 10:53 AM

@Ian Breathnach: Well done entirely missing the point, focusing on individuals and not the whole, ignoring my hope that we would make it easier for others to get into Politics and essentially being a turkey voting for Christmas.

Mute Hellenize Dublin
    Favourite Hellenize Dublin
    Sep 21st 2018, 11:18 AM

@Tricia G: “they won’t be social democrats”

Well then thank god, keep the status quo.

People have a myriad of political opinions, just because you think yours is right doesn’t mean you have to pontificate to everyone else. The Presidency could be done by a retired politician or accredited person for a quarter of the money.

And a quarter is being generous.

Sep 21st 2018, 11:23 AM

@Ian Breathnach:

A 30 year old manager in a big 4 consulting firm, or a senior manager in any multinational will make more than a TD, and they’ll make it a lot younger with a degree and some hard work, and without going to 150 funerals and 20 functions a year.

Tricia’s point is 100% valid. In fact, plenty of left-leaning councillors have been making this point recently – that county councillors don’t get a living wage, making it next to impossible for ordinary working people to make time to be a councillor, instead leaving the council to business owners and landlords who can carve out the time.

For example: A manager or technical architect with 10-15 years experience in ICT would be taking a paycut if they became a ministerial advisor to Denis Naughton. Yet folks complain then about how slow the tendering process is, and the late delivery of broadband, whilst in the same breath complaining about the use of consultants, and how much TDs and support staff are paid.

Mute Hellenize Dublin
    Favourite Hellenize Dublin
    Sep 21st 2018, 11:33 AM

@Rónán O’Suilleabháin: in my opinion, they can’t give a living wage because the money is not there.

We need to remember the country has a big national debt and experienced austerity measures.

Hard to justify decent salaries when the creation of wealth these councilors bring is not materializing.

Sep 21st 2018, 11:54 AM

@Hellenize Dublin: I wouldn’t call the living wage decent in cities, I’d call it basic subsistence in a city like Dublin. They could pay for it, along with a few thousand social houses around the country, but getting rid of the discounts on property tax most councils keep pushing.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden

Yes, and then a referendum on wether to abolish it, depending on the cost.
    If we had a referendum on the Seanad, why not the presidency?

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Sep 21st 2018, 11:15 AM

Its the publics money,so

Mute Karen Delaney
    Favourite Karen Delaney
    Sep 21st 2018, 1:07 PM

A review should take place every year. We’ve a right to know how out hard earned money is spent.

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Sep 21st 2018, 12:02 PM

Look why is there even a question about whether this is a legitimate area of public interest?
    it`s self evident, it`s public money ergo PAC should do i`ts job, not pussyfooting and apologizing and procrastinating around the issue and treating MDH like he has suddenly become the Dalai Lama, or maybe the Dail(a) Lama, the spiritual as well as the political leader of the Irish nation or something akin.
    Even the British royals are subject to parliamentary scrutiny in the UK , have been for years,for heavens sake, get on with it.

Mute Tippgirl
    Favourite Tippgirl
    Sep 21st 2018, 12:49 PM

Shouldn’t all public money be accounted for, and itemized? If it is consistently under budget, I imagine the budget needs a review… I admit the timing is poor for MDH but it should always been available

Mute Mary Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mary Mc Carthy
    Sep 21st 2018, 11:01 AM

The last thing this country needs is another enquiry ! Maybe we should have an enquiry into what why we have some many enquires !

Mute Slim Shady
    Favourite Slim Shady
    Sep 21st 2018, 12:54 PM

Yes, I want to know how much is spent on caviar & Moet et Chandon.

Mute Niamh
    Favourite Niamh
    Sep 21st 2018, 1:05 PM

Yes., absolutely… if there is nothing to hide what’s the big fuss about. Publish all and in detail.

Mute Sarah
    Favourite Sarah
    Sep 21st 2018, 1:02 PM

In an ideal world? yeah absolutely. In Ireland? First we’d need a board of inquiry, and a committee to decide who gets to be on it, and a sub-committee to decides who will be on the committee to choose the board and a boatload of solicitors and judges and maybe even a barrister or two to ensure that it’s all “above board” (totally “not” chosen for their political affiliations because that would be cronyism) each and every one of them on ludicrous salaries and bottomless expense accounts provided on the taxpayers dime. Ten years and millions of euro later it will come out that, yes perhaps the costs were disproportionate and inappropriate to the office but Mr Higgins did nothing “technically” illegal, no one did so he can continue to collect his massive government pension and we’ll “take into account” the findings of the report in the future.

Mute DeFonz
    Favourite DeFonz
    Sep 21st 2018, 11:33 AM

No it would only recommend a new jet

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Sep 21st 2018, 11:10 AM

Yes because I think half of society would implode if they don’t have something to complain about.

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Sep 21st 2018, 11:18 AM

They obviously have some dirt or something embarrassing to reveal. Just the usual dirty tricks of a Presidential campaign.

Mute Beabad Bishop
    Favourite Beabad Bishop
    Sep 21st 2018, 10:49 PM

@prop joe: There should always be transparency with tax payers money. It’s only dirty tricks if it’s untrue.

Mute Nicholas Lynch
    Favourite Nicholas Lynch
    Sep 21st 2018, 11:27 AM

Peter Casey has some interesting ideas on Presidental pay

Sep 21st 2018, 11:36 AM

@Nicholas Lynch: Indeed, and if every president had to re-distribute the pay, it would ensure that our president could only come from independently wealth stock.

Dragons forever. No thanks.

Mute The Fat Cyclist
    Favourite The Fat Cyclist
    Sep 21st 2018, 11:05 AM

Until every poor homeless baby has a home their shouldn’t be any presidential spending or elections. They should sell the Phoenix Park, concrete over it and build a free house for everyone.

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Sep 21st 2018, 11:24 AM

Sounds like someone is trying to shut the stable door after the horse has bolted.

Mute Shane
    Favourite Shane
    Sep 21st 2018, 3:30 PM

The timing of this intervention by the PAC can’t be interpreted as anything other than political…
    the substantive issue (spending related to the President’s) is worthy of exploration for sure – why for goodness sake,is it excluded from FOI obligations?) but on the eve of a presidential campaign – that is blatant politicking- anyone who believes otherwise is either politically naive, blind or partisan… I despair of our political system.

Mute David Quigley
    Favourite David Quigley
    Sep 21st 2018, 12:26 PM

This has to be FFs doing

Mute Elizabeth Nunan-Somers
    Favourite Elizabeth Nunan-Somers
    Sep 21st 2018, 1:13 PM

By all means let there be an enquirer after the presidential election. If the present President was not going up for re-election then it would be okay to carry out an enquirer. The election process should be on a level playing field and holding an enquirer in expenses does not make it so.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Sep 21st 2018, 9:06 PM

Why should we care if our president uses our taxes for a self-indulgent world tour of his leftie-leader idols or that we throw in a second BMW 740 for his (unelected) wife to indulge herself by scooting around to see her arty cronies. Any begrudgers ? – “let them eat cake”

Mute JesusMoreBullshit
    Favourite JesusMoreBullshit
    Sep 21st 2018, 6:46 PM

Banana republic no transparency.

Mute Michael Byrne
    Favourite Michael Byrne
    Sep 21st 2018, 8:11 PM

Abolish the office, absolutely a waste of money, does not mean a jot to most people, all the election coverage is ball locks

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Sep 21st 2018, 12:52 PM