You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

Bord Gáis secures naming rights to Grand Canal Theatre

Ireland’s largest theatre will be renamed the ‘Bord Gais Energy Theatre’ from next March, in a deal worth €4.5m.

IRELAND’S LARGEST THEATRE, the Grand Canal Theatre in Dublin’s docklands, is to be renamed next year in a deal worth around €4.5m.

Bord Gais Energy today confirmed it has secured a commercial partnership with the venue’s owners Live Nation to rename the facility as the ‘Bord Gáis Energy Theatre’. The deal takes effect next year.

The deal will see the energy provider access to free, discounted and advance-access tickets for performance at the venue, which BGE intends to make available to customers in order to promote customer loyalty.

A statement from Bord Gáis confirming the deal did not say how much money had changed hands, but said the provider would seek to get “over €4.5m of media value” through branding on tickets and other materials advertising performances at the theatre.

The deal will also see Bord Gáis Energy become the official energy provider for the theatre and for other Live Nation venues, which include The O2.

Live Nation chief executive Mike Adamson said he was confident that the “innovative partnership” could set a new standard for similar naming sponsorships.

Bord Gáis CEO John Mullins said the investment would be funded from its existing budget, and that the partnership would bring “a range of unique benefits to Bord Gáis Energy customers”.

Regulator approves Bord Gais request for 22 per cent price hike >

Bord Gais Energy may have spent up to €300,000 on luxury office chairs >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

43 Comments
    Mute Damien Kelly
    Favourite Damien Kelly
    Oct 24th 2011, 6:48 PM

Grand Canal it shall remain so

Mute Roman RomanOwski
    Favourite Roman RomanOwski
    Oct 24th 2011, 9:15 PM

Absolutely! Some people are just too greedy!

Mute BJ
    Favourite BJ
    Oct 24th 2011, 10:32 PM

Unfortunately not if the example of ‘Aviva Stadium’ is anything to go by.

Mute Dermot D
    Favourite Dermot D
    Oct 24th 2011, 6:54 PM

It doesn’t exactly roll off the tongue. Stupid idea. Waste of money.

Mute Mad Dog Digital
    Favourite Mad Dog Digital

Now that’s just a stupid name.

Mute Graham Harkness
    Favourite Graham Harkness
    Oct 24th 2011, 6:58 PM

For CHRIST SAKE! What a stupid name. I’m really sick of this naming crap. So help me God if Croke Park ever gets renamed the FBD insurance stadium.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Oct 24th 2011, 6:51 PM

I feel a gas price increase coming…..?

Mute Daniel O'Sullivan
    Favourite Daniel O'Sullivan
    Oct 24th 2011, 7:05 PM

wow what a waste of money and what a shit name !!

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Oct 24th 2011, 7:34 PM

for me, the point depot remains, I still refer to lansdown road and will continue to say ‘grand canal theater’. I refuse to be used as an advertising agaent in my personal conversations, unless they pay me for each time I mention them.

the aviva debacle has turned into a massive embarrassment for them… there should have been a lesson learned, but greed always wins in Ireland & I have a feeling that’s not the only time I will make that statement this week.

worth 4.5million to whom?

Mute Jon Jo Ha
    Favourite Jon Jo Ha
    Oct 24th 2011, 7:11 PM

to the theatre i would imagine.

Mute Niall Togher
    Favourite Niall Togher
    Oct 24th 2011, 7:06 PM

Dear god…

Mute Martin Mc Cormack
    Favourite Martin Mc Cormack
    Oct 24th 2011, 8:08 PM

A Dana moment?

Mute Niall Togher
    Favourite Niall Togher
    Oct 25th 2011, 12:32 AM

@Martin Mc Cormack… Believe me, definitely not a Dana moment, I can assure you of that.

Mute Michael Hegarty
    Favourite Michael Hegarty
    Oct 24th 2011, 7:37 PM

They up the price of energy, then waste ?4.5ml on naming the theatre. Appauling stuff!!!!

Mute Cormac Flanagan
    Favourite Cormac Flanagan
    Oct 24th 2011, 7:38 PM

Croke park is to be renamed “I can’t believe it’s not butter stadium”.

Mute John Finn
    Favourite John Finn
    Oct 24th 2011, 7:21 PM

This is an act of crass philistinism on the part of Bord Gáis. It’s bad enough having sports stadia re-named “Aviva” and the like but for a theatre to be so crudely re-named in this manner with the moniker of it’s sponsor betrays a contempt for art and culture. Surely, the energy deal with Live Nation and the use of the BGE logo on tickets, programmes and the like would be enough? The Grand Canal Theatre name has a touch of class; The Bord Gáis Energy Theatre is utterly vulgar. Shame on you Bord Gáis.

Mute Joe Geary Genuinely
    Favourite Joe Geary Genuinely
    Oct 24th 2011, 7:08 PM

The Bord Gais Energy Theatre. Really…

“Let’s do something fun tonight”
    “Like what?”
    “I don’t know, how about we catch a Play at a theatre nearby?”
    “Great, let’s check the listings!”
    “What’s this? The Bord Gáis Energy Theatre? What… When did…”
    “….”
    “….”
    “Maybe we just stay in…”
    “… Yeah… okay…”

To summarise, I think I just heard cobwebs and tumbleweeds being delivered to the box office. Somebody should go out to them, LEST THEY BE CONFUSED WITH THE NAME ON THE ADDRESS…

Mute Wujashtop
    Favourite Wujashtop
    Oct 24th 2011, 7:11 PM

Dopes

Mute Niall Connolly
    Favourite Niall Connolly
    Oct 24th 2011, 7:19 PM

Total disaster, at least Harry will get a chunk of change before it all goes down the drain, for goodness sake who did the market research on that name they should be fired immediately, O2 arena, aviva stadium nice names that can be shortened with “the” O2 or “The” aviva. The “bord gais energy” I think not.

Mute NSalmon
    Favourite NSalmon
    Oct 24th 2011, 8:26 PM

The B-GET? :P

Mute Bazza
    Favourite Bazza
    Oct 24th 2011, 7:18 PM

Awful name, however I hope at least that they pronounce it correctly.

Lucy Kennedy in the Big Switch TV used to say ‘bord “gosh” ‘ !?

Mute Kirk Delaney
    Favourite Kirk Delaney
    Oct 24th 2011, 7:57 PM

This is the kinda of name that you would expect the losing team on the apprentice to come up with.

Atrocious name. Was there no research done on the name at all. Madness

Mute Niamh King
    Favourite Niamh King
    Oct 24th 2011, 8:49 PM

maybe they did!

Mute Stuart Kelly
    Favourite Stuart Kelly
    Oct 24th 2011, 7:23 PM

Let’s call it the BGET for short? as in beejit; #FAIL

Mute james mc garry
    Favourite james mc garry
    Oct 24th 2011, 8:47 PM

Board gais pay thousands for new comfy chairs,4.5 million to name a Celtic tiger icon and apply to the energy regulator for a price hike all within a few months…isn’t it a great little country we live in!!!

Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz
    Oct 24th 2011, 7:54 PM

What a huge amount of bull….. This is now getting ridiculous

Mute Dónal O'Flynn
    Favourite Dónal O'Flynn
    Oct 24th 2011, 8:51 PM

I can’t believe Bord Gáis actually think this is good branding. What a truly awful name for such a great theatre!

Mute Joe McDermott
    Favourite Joe McDermott
    Oct 24th 2011, 8:40 PM

What next..! The Brennans Bread Savoy..tidays filims TIDAY! Thats a marketing brain fart if ever there was one.

Mute Kieron Jnr Ward
    Favourite Kieron Jnr Ward
    Oct 24th 2011, 8:16 PM

ha ha that’s gas! Seriously though leave the name alone, muppets

Mute Karl O' Neill
    Favourite Karl O' Neill
    Oct 24th 2011, 9:13 PM

pure crap. stupid name. cheap and tacky. why are they wasting money on this? consumers will foot the bill for it.

Mute Damien Browne
    Favourite Damien Browne
    Oct 24th 2011, 9:47 PM

WTF…lol, this is a piss-take? right?
    Grand Canal Theatre sounded grand, Bord Gais Energy Theatre, give me a f…king break.

Mute Ralph Hos
    Favourite Ralph Hos
    Oct 24th 2011, 10:09 PM

Disgraceful. I’m moving to airtricity in protest. You should be ashamed.

Mute Tony Stanley
    Favourite Tony Stanley
    Oct 25th 2011, 12:57 AM

Yeah me too! This is worth a boycott!

Mute Peter De Courcy
    Favourite Peter De Courcy
    Oct 24th 2011, 9:02 PM

I wonder could we get some money for the government coffers by selling the naming rights on the Dail, the Senate and the offices of the Taoiseach? Then maybe the Museums and Art galleries, the National Concert Hall. What about the Aras?? Any suggestions as to what they might be renamed to? The Guinness Dail? The Budweiser Senate? The Airtricity Aras?

Mute Niamh King
    Favourite Niamh King
    Oct 24th 2011, 8:52 PM

The Grand Canal Theatre is a great name! Why oh why would they want to distroy it with such a tongue twister! Another stupid waste of money when there are better things to spend it on!!!

Mute Niamh King
    Favourite Niamh King
    Oct 24th 2011, 8:56 PM

And if its necessary to rename it, at least name it in honour of a playwright or writer, who seem to be only good enough to walk over (Beckett, O’Casey, Joyce), or how about a famous actor or acting family! Cusack Theatre anyone?

Mute Louise Hennessy
    Favourite Louise Hennessy
    Oct 24th 2011, 9:49 PM

ah ffs. wat a stupid name leave name as it is…

Mute Christine Davis
    Favourite Christine Davis
    Oct 24th 2011, 10:46 PM

Sounds like a power plant station.

Mute Tony Stanley
    Favourite Tony Stanley
    Oct 25th 2011, 12:56 AM

Are they serious? Has this not gone too far?
    What next….Jameson Irish Whiskey International Airport? NAMA Station, Pearse st? The National Rabo Direct Concert Hall? Quinndirect.com Shopping Centre Dundrum!

Mute Eoin Grace
    Favourite Eoin Grace
    Oct 25th 2011, 9:23 AM

Yet another transfer of public funds to a property developer!? For crying out loud! If a private company wanted to waste money on such dubious PR that’s their prerogative but this is a few million of *OUR* money!

Mute Louise Gleeson
    Favourite Louise Gleeson
    Oct 25th 2011, 7:19 AM

Come on lads let’s head down to the bord Gais tonight! I don’t think so!!! It’s been the grand canal since it opened and i don’t see why it should change now.

Mute Derek Richardson
    Favourite Derek Richardson
    Oct 24th 2011, 9:54 PM

its gastronomic god wheres the bucket