You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
Britain to make forced marriage a criminal offence
David Cameron described the practice as being “little short of slavery”.
7.28pm, 8 Jun 2012
BRITAIN’S GOVERNMENT announced plans today to make forced marriage a criminal offence, with parents who coerce their children into marrying to face “very tough punishments”.
Prime Minister David Cameron said forced marriage had been tolerated as a cultural practice in Britain’s Asian community for too long and was “little short of slavery”.
“For too long in this country we have thought ‘well, it’s a cultural practice and we just have to run with it’,” he said. “We don’t. It’s a crime.”
“You are taking 15, 16-year-old British citizens, taking them off to another country against their will, marrying them with someone against their will.”
“It is an absolutely abhorrent practice,” he added. “It is, frankly, little short of slavery.”
“If you commit that sort of offence you’ll get a very, very tough punishment.”
The government’s Forced Marriage Unit said 46 per cent of the nearly 600 cases of forced marriage it dealt with between January and May this year involved Pakistani nationals.
Some 45 per cent of the victims were younger than 18, the agency said, and 87 per cent of the victims were female.
Forcing someone into a marriage will become a criminal offence in England and Wales, with the maximum sentence to be set out in a new law.
The legislation will distinguish between forced marriage and arranged marriage, in which both bride and groom cpnsent to the union.
Scotland passed a similar law in November introducing a maximum two-year jail sentence for forced marriage.
Campaigners have warned that criminalising the practice could discourage victims from coming forward because they do not want their relatives to face jail.
In response to these concerns, the government has announced extra funding of £500,000 (€619,000) to help identify and support victims.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
@Blue Moon: So you don’t believe in democracy and the notion of an opposition?
The current government have shown themselves up after only two days in the new Dail and are planking it, new “old” scandal regarding Michael Lowry and DoB, new High Court order to produce documents relating to the Moriarty tribunal served on him. Michael Martin who was highly critical of DoB in 2011 is now doing business by allowing that crook sit on government benches.
@Paul O’Mahoney: You’re naming IRA heads that Sinn Fein disassociated from over a quarter of a century ago when they welcomed the Good Friday Agreement. In the period since ditching the ‘ra Sinn Fein have won over a huge number of ex FF/FG voters. Indeed there used to be a time when only one of FF/FG and a small party could form a government no problem, now FF & FG don’t even have the numbers to form a coalition with just the two of them involved. I can go on….
@Paul O’Mahoney: Charlie Haughey, disgraced former leader of Fianna Fail, armed the Provisional IRA to help the downtrodden Catholic community, you do remember that Paul?
@Blue Moon: Opposition parties are just as important in a democracy as government parties.
But yet again, the gov have shown they are incapable of honesty, housing figures, 10,000 short,
Lowry gate, and now storm supports or lack of.
Embarrassing is not the word.
@Paul O’Mahoney: @Paul O’Mahoney: You keep forgetting the Good Friday Agreement, all ties with IRA cut and still are, in fact the provos or whatever they call themselves now hate the new Sinn Fein for ditching them and going down the route of democracy. To prove my point I will just say that before the GFA Sinn Fein never polled well in Irish Elections, now they are the second biggest party in Ireland, they also take part in NI elections which neither FF or FG ever did.
@Mr Inbetween: Hilarious stuff, they take part in NI elections for Westminster too but take the money and do nothing else. SF leaders are regularly seen shouldering coffins of ” good Republicans ” ie bombers and the like and even during Covid……The GFA didn’t sever anything and nobody believes it did except for SF supporters.
SF will be in opposition again for 5 years according to Mary lou and shes also going to be at the helm , she has yet again conceded this before a fight has begun.
Leadership from SF is populist nonsense and like FFG just roll out the same shyte day after day, btw SF lost 160000 votes in the last election, if going backwards is going forward then ye are lost
@Mr Inbetween: how did SF disassociate itself from dessie Ellis over a quarter of a century ago when he’s still a TD for them? They’re also trying to get Conor Murphy into the seanad.
@Paul O’Mahoney: Dump your triggered bs on whatever the IRA are calling themselves these days. Sinn Fein are independent and try to make a difference to the people North & South, FFG are dinosaurs who have been steadily losing votes to SF since the year 2000. Second largest party in the South, biggest party on the island of Ireland. FFG never cared for the Catholic community up north.
@Mr Inbetween: And SF lost 160000 votes in the last GE, got 2 MEPs without making a quota, and ran so many candidates in the Local elections that it confused it’s voters. Those are the facts, suck it up.
@Harry Paisley: “Unchanged”. Is the keyword. Most of the problems of the world are because of people stuck in ruts be they ideological(severe Marxism) or religious(severe Islam)
To the members of Sinn Fein political party, If the price of a United Ireland was to disband Sinn Fein as a political entity would you be willing to do it?
The Journal, any chance you would run a poll based on the above question. Curious to see what people really think.
Mute he didnt take the 120k because he already got it split over 3 years
Favourite he didnt take the 120k because he already got it split over 3 years
Jan 28th 2025, 9:22 AM
@Séamas Mac Cárthaigh: what a stupid thing to say, its amadán’s like you that have ffg in power the oast 100 years, and making the rich richer, the poor poorer, and the working class blaming each other and immigration for the mess this country is in instead of blaming those at fault
@Séamas Mac Cárthaigh: A united Ireland or otherwise will ultimately be the people’s choice. I can’t see that the non-existence of SF would sway too many.
@he didnt take the 120k because he already got it split over 3 years: But SF didn’t recognise the Republic until 1987, it was easy for FFG and Labour to get votes as SF weren’t in the mix , they essentially were cowards in facing the electorate.
Now they are just a Trumpian type populist party, or even a Farage type party all noise no substance. People talk about corruption in Irish Governments but not about corruption within SF let’s have that debate.
@he didnt take the 120k because he already got it split over 3 years: you honestly believe the poor are poorer now than 100 years ago in Ireland? Let’s see your argument for that, please.
@Paul O’Mahoney: Ohhh look over there ! Let’s not.. let’s address the government of the day. This government isn’t gonna last a wet week with Lowry propping them up. A man whose behaviour the Tribunal described as “profoundly corrupt to a degree that was nothing short of breathtaking”. A man MM called for the resignation of stating “We must rehabilitate the idea of civic virtue and the idea of the duty and nobility of public service “.. sure Micheál..Yet here we are with the altar boy sitting down a negotiate a programme for government with this man and relying on a convicted criminals support to run his excuse for a government.. thats your definition of substance..pfft…
@Brian: Direct your ire at SF , your just another loudmouth from Cork , I’ve dealt with the likes of you all my life and will say this you’re meaningless. You’re jealously is obvious and you are now trolling I’ll be in Cork soon to sign contact s if you’re man enough name the place.
@Paul O’Mahoney: Poor Paul.. can’t defend/won’t condemn corruption at goverment level so he puts on his billy big bollix boots..Pink fluffy slippers more like. What age are you.. 9 ? You haven’t the intellect to defend your position, yet again, so you get angry and abusive, yet again. If you don’t want your drivel challenged .. don’t post it.. and don’t get your little knickers in a twist when it is.
@Davido: because at the end of the day a lot of people are still doing well in the country and are happy to keep the status quo. They don’t care if their neighbours are struggling to pay heating , feed their children as long as they go on their summer holidays etc.
I have an excellent job, earn 6 figures and I always vote based on what I think a party can bring with it.
Used to be FG, voted FG after the crash and then swore never to vote for them again after what they did.
For the first time ever i voted SF and social democrats as the system is completely broken and needs to be changed.
I detest SF completely, hate the IRA and I still gave them a vote.
But the majority of people in my position will still give a vote to FG/FF rather than vote for change.
@Tom L: They don’t have to learn, no Exams involved, just sit in the Dáil stirring sludge and get paid for it. O’Broin, Mary’s pet builder of Castles in the Sky is back to annoy common sense with his presumed Fairytale ‘Trotskyite theories’ Also back on the Barking Front Desk (Bench ?) is ? ? ? ? And that is the Question as to what they add to the real Debate’s. Ah well that’s my bit said, good luck to All in the Dáil.
” nobody is in a position indefinitely” – except for that ghoul Adams, obviously. A nothing reshuffle. Such a clear and obvious admission that they have a “significant” dearth of talent.
@Oliver Cleary: Yes but they must vow allegiance to the Army Councils rules and regulations based in Belfast.
You do not speak unless it’s vetted by Belfast
A bit like the Government that was announced last Thursday on the 23/01/2025, much the same of the useless talk.
Unless SF stand up for Irish people and our interests in the 34th Dail , they will be in the same position come the 35th Dail in opposition in a smaller form.
What a shower of complete clowns. Time after time they show themselves to be completely unfit for office and are just as incompetent as the current government that we have. Their policies are stale and their dual love affair with Socialism and Islamist is a huge disgraceful blight on this country. They hate free trade and free markets which have driven Ireland to the point of development that we are at today. They tried to have it both ways when it came to illegal immigration and people saw through their laughable doublespeak. Don’t let them cod you, they are not on the brink of getting into power. They only won 19% of the votes in the last election and only won 12% in the local elections in June. They’ve run out of ideas and out of viable politicians to shuffle into cabinet.
5 more years in opposition and like the old rhyme 40 sheep went out a gap and 40 more came as after that.
What is it now after how many elections 5 – 5- 5- 5 – and more to come in opposition
The US Commerce Secretary says Ireland runs a 'tax scam'. Does he have a point?
Paul O'Donoghue
8 hrs ago
Good Morning
The 8 at 8: Monday
14 mins ago
mallow
Two women dead and two children injured following collision in Cork
Updated
49 mins ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say