You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
Footage from the scene shows people running away from the building in the moments afterwards.
22 Mar 2016
8:27AM
Local television network RTBFreports witnesses spoke of seeing a number of injured in the departure hall. It is believed the explosions occurred near an American Airlines check-in desk.
22 Mar 2016
8:28AM
France Info reports Minister-President of the Brussels-Capital Region Rudi Vervoort also confirmed the explosion, but gave no information about the suspected cause. The Belgian government has now raised the country’s terror alert to its highest level.
22 Mar 2016
8:29AM
Sky News reporter Alex Rossi was in the airport at the time of the blasts. He said he could feel the building move.
“There was also dust and smoke as well.”
There is a great deal of confusion here. Certainly there are a number of very upset, as you might imagine, very frightened people.
22 Mar 2016
8:29AM
The Department of Foreign Affairs here will issue updates later this morning on whether any Irish travellers have been caught up in the incident.
An Irish student who was in Zaventem airport at the time of the blasts has said there was a stampede of people attempting to flee the area.
Luke Mac an Bháird, who is currently on an Erasmus in the city, said he was waiting at his gate when the explosions took place.
“I had headphones on and didn’t hear the explosion myself,” he told The Anton Savage Show on Today FM, describing how there was suddenly “a mass of people running to the bottom of their gates, people saying a second bomb was going to explode.”
He said officials moved the passengers to safety on the runway, although along the way “people started screaming, saying to run again, and there was a bit of a stampede”.
Mac an Bháird said they were now awaiting instructions from officials as to where they would be taken next.
Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland
Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland
Irish MEP Luke Ming Flanagan has been in contact with us – he says the European Parliament is still open but with increased security. He had planned to fly home tomorrow butservice has been cancelled, he says.
A staff member of his was due in this morning but has been diverted to Liege Airport. Only certain committees were due to meet at the parliament this week, Flanagan says. He’s in the city for an economic committee meeting for the next two days.
22 Mar 2016
9:32AM
Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade, Charlie Flanagan TD expressed his shock at this morning’s explosions:
I am horrified by reports of multiple explosions in Brussels, Belgium and my thoughts are with those affected. The consular section of my department, in conjunction with our Embassy in Belgium, are working with the local authorities.
Anyone with concerns for family and friends can contact the consular division of the Department on +353 1 418 0200.
Any Irish citizens in Brussels or Belgium should exercise caution and closely follow the instructions of local authorities. We will be updating our guidance in consultation with the authorities as this situation unfolds.
Brussels is on lockdown at the moment. Bus and train services have been suspended until further notice, including Eurostar trains in and out of the city.
Whoops!
We couldn't find this Tweet
UPDATE: No trains are currently running to or from Brussels Midi. Brussels customers are advised to postpone, and not come to station.
Ireland’s Department of Foreign Affairs has updated its travel advice for anyone due to head to Brussels in the coming days:
22 Mar 2016
10:13AM
The country’s Prime Minister has advised citizens in Brussels to avoid movement around the city. A crisis call centre has been established.
Local media are reporting that the border between France and Belgium has been closed.
22 Mar 2016
10:15AM
Irish student Luke Mac an Bháird, who spoke to Today FM earlier, has just been talking to Sean O’Rourke on RTÉ Radio 1.
Luke, who was in the airport at the time of the blasts, has said there was a stampede of people attempting to flee the area in the wake of the explosions.
He said buses are now arriving at the airport to take people away from the scene, but that passengers have been given no information on what’s happening.
He’s not sure whether the buses are taking people back into the city or to another location, he said.
Staff are giving out water to the lines of people waiting for the buses, Luke added.
Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland
Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland
Dublin MEP Brian Hayes has just been speaking with Sean O’Rourke.
He says he took the Metro into work at 8am and arrived inthe Parliament at 8.30am.
Politicians and staff in the institution were “really shocked” in the wake of the blasts he said.
They have been told to stay indoors by police “and that’s the story right across the EU institutions” Hayes added.
He was in parliament for an economic committee meeting at 9am, he said. That was suspended for a short time but then recommenced, as politicians were determined their work would continue, according to Hayes.
Local broadcasters report the country’s federal prosecutor confirmed the explosions at Brussels Airport were carried out by a suicide bomber.
22 Mar 2016
10:35AM
French foreign minister Bernard Cazeneuve made this statement on Sky News:
The European Union needs to deal together with this fighting and the trafficking of arms. The President (Hollande) is determined as is everyone else to defeat terrorism. All our police will deal with situation as professionally as possible and they will undertake their duties with the terror levels at the most elevated state.
France is to deploy an extra 1,600 police at its borders.
22 Mar 2016
10:36AM
Irishman Eoin Walsh, who has also been speaking with RTE’s Sean O’Rourke this morning, said he left the Maalbeek Metro station just minutes before this morning’s explosion.
He had just dropped his daughter at the creche before getting on the Metro system, and said he felt a “sense of unease” about getting on public transport.
Eoin said after he got back to the office “somebody came in and said there’d been another explosion at Maalbeek train station, which is about 500 metres from our office”.
His office building and the entire street are now on lockdown, and security and military are out on the streets, he added.
Authorities and employers have been telling people to “stay indoors,” he said.
The Taoiseach has said the government is not aware of any Irish citizens killed or injured in the explosions in Brussels but “one can’t be certain yet”:
Enda condemns attacks in Brussels, says “as far as we are aware, no Irish citizen involved, but one can’t be certain yet” #dail#Brussels
German airports, like those in France and the Netherlands, have heightened security at airports:
cianan
cianan
22 Mar 2016
10:57AM
Belgian Prime Minister Charles Michel has said: “What we feared has happened, we were hit by blind attacks”.
Speaking to reporters, he said there were “many dead, many seriously injured”.
He also said the city had been hit by two ‘blind, violent, cowardly’ attacks.
We feared a terror attack and it happened.
22 Mar 2016
10:59AM
Belgium security forces tightened security at nuclear plants across the country after deadly attacks in the capital city of Brussels, the Belga news agency said.
“Surveillance is stepped up with added security measures at nuclear plants,” the agency reported.
Vehicles are being checked with police and army on site, according to the agency.
Geert Vanden Wijngaert / AP
Geert Vanden Wijngaert / AP / AP
Belgian media are still saying 11 people have died and 35 others were injured at Brussels Airport, though there has been no official confirmation by police.
Transport operators have said a further 15 people were killed at the Metro station in Maalbeek.
A Belgian TV station has posted an appeal online asking people living near the airport to bring blankets, water, food and other supplies to a nearby gym being used as a makeshift shelter.
St Pierre hospital, which is treating the victims, is also asking for blood donations:
Brussels St Pierre hospital asking for blood donations #brusselsattack
French Prime Minister Francois Hollande has has said “the whole of Europe has been hit” today.
In a media conference, he urged the continent to take ”vital steps in the face of the seriousness of the threat”.
France, which was itself attacked in January and November last year, is fully engaged in that. France will implacably continue the fight against terrorism, both on the international level and at home.”
Just a reminder for anyone who has concerns about an Irish citizen in Brussels, here’s how you can get in touch with the Department of Foreign Affairs’ consular division:
The Irish President Michael D Higgins has expressed his sympathy to those in Belgium, saying he has conveyed those sympathies to Belgian King Philippe .
“These attacks strike at the fundamental right of all to live in peace,” he said.
22 Mar 2016
12:47PM
Belgium’s Foreign Minister Didier Reynders says authorities fear that suspects involved in the deadly attacks could still be at large.
“The inquiry is still ongoing… because we fear that people are still at large,” Reynders told RTBF television after a news briefing in the Belgian capital.
Justice Minister Frances Fitzgerald says the explosions are “another dreadful reminder of the savagery of terrorists who hold our values and democracy itself in deadly contempt”.
She says that there is “no specific information” about a threat to Ireland.
“As a country with the same values as our European partners, we are not immune. That threat level is, of course, kept under review and will continue to be particularly in the light of today’s terrible events. And we have to bear in mind too that an attack on our European neighbours is an attack on us all.
“The Government is determined that all necessary steps will continue to be taken to counteract this threat and will play its full part in doing so with its international partners.”
AFP reports that an army team has blown up a suspect package at Brussels airport.
The news agency reports that police found an unexploded suicide vest at the airport.
Belgium’s Crisis Centre said army explosives experts would neutralise a suspicious package at Zaventem airport. AFP reports that an explosion was heard shortly afterwards and smoke was seen coming up from the departures hall building.
22 Mar 2016
1:35PM
Pope Francis has slammed the ‘blind violence’ of the coordinated explosions in Brussels. He has offered prayers for the victims.
“Pope Francis entrusts to God’s mercy those killed, and shares through prayer the suffering of their relatives,” the Vatican’s Secretary of State Pietro Parolin said in a telegram to Jozef De Kesel, the archbishop of Mechelen-Brussels.
“The Holy Father once again condemns the blind violence which causes so much suffering and, imploring the gift of peace from God, invokes divine blessings on the bereaved families and the Belgian people,” the telegram said.
Francis expressed his “deepest sympathy to the injured and their families, and all those who contribute to relief”.
Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade, Charlie Flanagan said the Dáil observed a minute’s silence in response to the horrific terrorist attack this morning.
I echo the words of the Taoiseach in saying that Ireland stands with the people of Belgium against terrorism.
He said he had briefed Cabinet this morning on the emerging situation and said ministers are working closely to deal with the fall-out from the heinous attack.
The Irish Embassy in Brussels is actively liaising with the Belgian authorities as they work to identify those who were affected by these attacks.
The Irish Ambassador to Belgium, Mr Eamonn Mac Aodha, is monitoring the situation on the ground and is in touch with the relevant authorities, including the Belgian National Emergency Centre, and is providing me with regular updates on the situation.
Ambassador Mac Aodha has informed me that the large number of Irish staff working at the Permanent Representation, the Embassy and the various State agencies, and their loved ones, are all accounted for.
22 Mar 2016
2:19PM
The Department of Foreign Affairs Consular Division has been responding to calls from the public since 7am this morning.
Minister Charlie Flanagan has reiterated the department’s advice that Irish citizens should exercise extreme caution if in Belgium. Further advice can be found on the department’s website.
Anyone concerned for the welfare of an Irish citizen in Brussels can contact the department at +353 1 418 0200.
US President Barack Obama has made a statement on the attacks in Brussels.
Speaking in Havana, Cuba, he said the thoughts and prayers of the American people were with those in Brussels today. He said they stand in solidarity with those in Belgium.
Obama said they will do whatever they can to bring to those responsible for the attacks to justice.
“The world must unite,” he said.
He said everyone must stand together regardless of nationality, race or faith.
We can and will defeat those who threaten the safety and security of those around the world.
22 Mar 2016
2:34PM
The Department of An Taoiseach has released a statement of behalf of the Irish government.
It addresses the issue of whether Irish people should be concerned about Ireland being a target for such attacks.
It states that while there is no specific information in relation to any threat to Ireland from international terrorism, Ireland cannot consider itself immune from the threat.
It remains the case that an attack here is assessed as possible but not likely.
The level of threat is kept under constant review by the gardaí.
For obvious security reasons, we could not go into the details of the operational responses. All the agencies here co-operate closely in respect of any threats that are identified.
The activities of a small number of people based here and whose behaviour may be of concern will continue to be monitored closely.
It adds that there is an “international problem” and gardaí co-operate very closely with its EU and other international security and intelligence counterparts on an ongoing basis in responding to these threats.
Witnesses of the Brussels airport attack describe hearing “a big bang,” smoke and shattered glass shortly after the bomb exploded. (Video: Associated Press)
Belgium’s neighbours France, Germany and the Netherlands reacted swiftly to the attacks in Brussels today.
A number of emergency security measures have been introduced, according to AFP:
France:
an additional 1,600 police are being deployed to border crossings, airports, ports and train stations, said Interior Minister Bernard Cazeneuve.
People in France will need tickets or ID cards to access public transport areas and they may be frisked
Major stations in Paris remained open but AFP correspondents saw many police patrolling in the city’s Gare du Nord, from where Eurostar operates trains to London and Brussels.
Germany:
Federal police said controls were being stepped up at the border with Belgium and at airports and stations.
The Netherlands:
There is strengthened surveillance at the border with Belgium and ordered extra patrols at national airports and train stations
Police patrols have been stepped up at Amsterdam’s Schiphol international airport, Rotterdam and Eindhoven.
London Gatwick, Frankfurt and Moscow airports has also raised security. Meanwhile across the Atlantic, police in New York said they were positioning counter-terrorism reinforcements to crowded areas and train stations “out of an abundance of caution”.
In Washington DC, canine sweeps and patrols and patrols were stepped up, also as a precaution.
Associated Press reports that the Islamic State group claimed responsibility for the attacks in Brussels, saying its extremists opened fire in the airport and “several of them” detonated suicide belts.
The posting in the group’s Amaq news agency said another suicide attacker detonated in the metro.
The posting claimed the attack was in response to Belgium’s support of the international coalition arrayed against it.
22 Mar 2016
3:50PM
People can start moving around Brussels once more after being told to stay in place for hours after the bombing attacks this morning.
Peter Mertens of the Belgian Crisis Centre says “the threat is still real and serious” of more attacks.
Many measures enforced this morning are to be eased at 4pm today.
Threat Level 4 will be maintained for the whole of Belgium
Citizens are no longer requested to stay inside
Public transportation will be restarted at 4 pm
Train stations will reopen at 4 pm with additional safety measures
Brussels Metro lines 2 and 6 will restart
Schools can get back to a normal situation
Air traffic at Brussels’ Zaventem airport will remains closed for the day.
AFP reports that Belgian authorities have published surveillance camera images (below) of three suspects in the attack on Brussels airport.
The grainy picture, which Belga news agency said was released by Belgian police at the request of the federal prosecutor, shows three men pushing trollies with suitcases past the check-in area.
While transport measured put in place this morning in the Belgian capital are set to be eased by 4pm, Brussels airport will remain closed until Wednesday, officials have said.
During the Charlie Hebdo attacks in January 2015 a number of cartoons circulated on social media in the immediate aftermath in an act of defiance against the attackers.
There has been a similar response to today’s attacks in Brussels.
One of the most widely shared images has come from Le Monde cartoonist Plantu:
The Twitter page for French music festival Esperanzah! has also changed its profile picture to a child statue peeing on the fuse of a bomb with the caption ‘Pis & Love’.
According to Google Maps, the distance between the Maalbeek Metro station and the the Berlaymont building – the headquarters of the European Commission – is just a four minute walk.
Raids are underway across Belgium, AFP are reporting.
Two of those involved in today’s attack were believed to have been suicide bombers while prosecutors have said they are looking for a third man in pictured in CCTV footage.
The man pictured in the hat is still believed to be at large, France 24 is reporting.
Abdeslam is suspected of being a key planner in the 13 November attacks in Paris that left 130 people dead.
There has been much speculation today that Abdeslam’s arrest may have hastened any potential terror attack that was planned for Brussels, leading to today’s tragedy.
Addressing those questions, a Begian prosecutor has said that it is “too early” to make links with the Paris attacks.
22 Mar 2016
6:23PM
During follow up searches in Brussels this evening, Belgian police have found an Islamic State flag and a nail bomb.
Speaking this evening, he said that the nation “must continue to respond firmly in a calm and dignified manner”.
22 Mar 2016
6:40PM
More details on that bomb find in Brussels. AFP reports that a federal prosecutor says chemicals were also found during the searches
“The searches that took place in the Schaerbeek (district) found an explosive device containing among other things nails,” the federal prosecutor said in a statement.
Investigators also discovered chemicals and a flag of the Islamic State.
Chancellor Angela Merkel has said that Germany will help to “find, arrest and punish” the perpetrators.
“The horror is as boundless as the determination to defeat terrorism,” Merkel said.
The murderers of Brussels are terrorists without any regard for the principles of humanity… The perpetrators are enemies of all values for which Europe stands today.
Belgian police are looking for this man. He was standing to the right of the two men who were spotted on CCTV in Brussels Airport before this morning’s blasts.
A unexploded explosive vest was found earlier today in Zaventum Airport in the hours after the attack.
ABC News reports that an X-ray taken of a patient’s chest at the Military Hospital in Neder-over-Heembeek revealed a large nail or screw puncturing a lung.
No details about the patient’s current condition have been made available. The photo was released by the European Pressphoto Agency.
The White House has released an image of President Obama receiving an update on today’s terrorist attack while in Havana, Cuba.
Official White House Photo by Pete Souza
Later, Obama attended a baseball game in Cuba – a planned event to show unity between the two strained nations.
He defended the decision to no cancel his appearance, telling ESPN that it was always a challenge to carry on as normal after a terror attack.
You want to be respectful and understand the gravity of the situation… But the whole premise of terrorism is to try to disrupt people’s ordinary lives.
Mentioning Boston’s response to the marathon bombings, he said those moments were some of his proudest during his two-term office.
Zaventem Mayor Francis Vermeiren has said that the bombs which detonated at Brussels airport were hidden in the luggage the bombers wheeled on front of them.
Three suspects in an image released by police. SkyNews
SkyNews
The Paris attacks also demonstrated a step change in the level of capability on the part of the perpetrators. The individual attacks were unhurried and involved the deliberate and coordinated exploitation of firepower.
The intention was to generate a mass casualty incident among innocent civilians in an unprotected, unsecured and congregated setting.
In other words, ‘soft targets’ were selected.
22 Mar 2016
9:14PM
Belgium’s interior minister says authorities knew that some kind of extremist act was being prepared in Europe but that they were surprised by the scale of the attacks in Brussels.
Interior Minister Jan Jambon said that,
it was always possible that more attacks could happen but we never could have imagined something of this scale.
The CCTV picture released shows a bespectacled man with a goatee beard, wearing a white jacket and black hat, pushing a trolley with a large black bag.
Police say they are actively seeking him and believe he may have fled and run away.
A wider picture shows the man pictured alongside two other men who police have said are “very likely” to have committed a suicide attack at the airport.
Huge crowds are attending a vigil in Brussels in honour of the victims of today’s attacks.
Martin Meissner / AP/Press Association Images
Martin Meissner / AP/Press Association Images / AP/Press Association Images
22 Mar 2016
11:13PM
We’re going to wrap up the liveblog now but will be back in the morning with more updates. Thanks for staying with us today.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Looters 'dress as firefighters' as dangerous winds threaten to spread LA inferno even further
Updated
3 hrs ago
HISMM
Money Diaries: A public relations manager on €42K living in Dublin
48 mins ago
Cavan
Gardaí launch murder investigation into death of woman, 50s, at Cavan home
Updated
4 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 138 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 95 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 123 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 93 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 68 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 67 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 32 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 28 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 115 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 56 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 67 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 74 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 33 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 39 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 23 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 77 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 87 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 64 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 46 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 75 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 54 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say