Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

St. Patrick's Day Parade in 2012 in New York. Press Association Images

Burton will decline invite to New York parade over LGBT ban

LGBT groups have called on Irish officials and An Garda Síochána to follow the New York mayor’s lead and boycott the parade.

MINISTER FOR SOCIAL Protection Joan Burton said she has told the Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore that unless progress “is forthcoming” in relation to the inclusion of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) groups in New York’s St. Patrick’s Day parade, she would not be going.

Speaking to Newstalk Breakfast this morning, she confirmed that she would turn down an invitation to take part in New York’s St Patrick’s Day parade, adding:

When I was there, I also met the gay groups and I advised the Tánaiste that if I went to New York, unless that progress was forthcoming, I wouldn’t be going.

She said that when she was there two years ago, it was her understanding that “positive moves” had been made in relation to making the parade more inclusive, which is something she said she would like to see.

Enda Kenny

Burton added that arrangements of St. Patrick’s Day had not finalised yet, but it is understood that Enda Kenny is going to New York.

She added that she understood why the LGBT community would want to be represented in the parade as it is a “fun day” for Irish people in New York, adding that she fully supported their inclusion.

This development comes following last week’s announcement by the New York Mayor Bill de Blasio that he would not be taking part in the parade because of the ban on participants from carrying gay rights signs.

Last week Gilmore and Kenny said they would not follow his lead but Gilmore said that the parade should be inclusive.

Boycott

The National Lesbian and Gay Federation and the Gay and Lesbian Equality Network (GLEN) have today called on Irish officials to follow the New York mayor’s lead and refuse to participate.

Olivia McEvoy, Chair of the National LGBT Federation, stated that banning people from taking part due to their sexual orientation gave a distorted view of ‘Irishness’ that is “deeply offensive and completely at odds with the kind of inclusive values that the vast majority of Irish people wish to be associated with today”.

She added that the Irish State should not in any way be providing legitimacy to such blatant discrimination by having Government representatives take part in this parade.

McEvoy said that she supported Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore’s refusal last year to attend a St. Patrick’s Day dinner in Savannah, Georgia run by the same organisers of the New York parade, on the basis that it excluded women, adding that the same approach should be taken in relation to the LGBT community.

She said the group was “disappointed” in the Taoiseach’s comments that he would be attending the parade, calling on him to reconsider his position.

Gardaí

The group added that they “also believe it is inappropriate and wrong for uniformed members of An Garda Síochána to take part in an event that treats LGBT people in this way, and call for that practice to be ended”.

Read: Kenny plans to participate in St Patrick’s Day parade that NY mayor will boycott>

Read: New York City mayor refuses to take part in St Patrick’s Day parade>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

147 Comments
    Mute Phillip Brady Brady
    Favourite Phillip Brady Brady
    Feb 10th 2014, 9:46 AM

Can homosexuals not be in the parade? Or do they just want to stand out and bring there sexuality to the helm of everything!

Mute TheLoneHurler
    Favourite TheLoneHurler
    Feb 10th 2014, 9:52 AM

Just wait until every public sector worker has to display the rainbow flag at their desk when dealing with the ordinary citizen… it’s all on the way.

Mute al shamen
    Favourite al shamen
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:01 AM

This is getting ridiculous.I declare every gay person from this day forth should cease using any vehicle that uses an internal combustion engine.Petrol is sourced in Saudi Arabia and we know what the Saudis do with gay people.They publicly behead them.So all gay people you need to boycott petrol immediately.Not to do so would be extremely hypocritical.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute ciaran clarke
    Favourite ciaran clarke
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:05 AM

It’s getting a bit of a joke now.
    Most of us want to see equal rights for every citizen in Ireland.
    But the LGBT are latching on to everything.they are going to lose support.the “everyone is against us” attitude gets tiring.

Mute dr_samoflange
    Favourite dr_samoflange
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:10 AM

As far as I know the scaldy aul miserable b*tch wasn’t invited to the party, so this is her pathetic response to being snubbed.

Mute Phillip Brady Brady

The parade is for every one to enjoy, gay, straight, black, white, skinny, fat, small and tall, can we not just have a parade and celebrate together!!

Mute Graham--
    Favourite Graham--
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:19 AM

To be fair though, what does the parade celebrate? If it’s Irish culture, then LGBT groups certainly have a place in it

Mute al shamen
    Favourite al shamen
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:31 AM

Why should they?The parade is not about flaunting or being proud of ones sexuality.That is what the gay pride parade is for.

Mute Graham--
    Favourite Graham--
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:45 AM

What is ye parade about then? Why are they not entitled to celebrate Irish gay culture if the point of the parade is supporting different aspects of Irish culture?

Mute Maureen Henry
    Favourite Maureen Henry
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:49 AM

LGBT people are allowed to be in the parade it is the signs they want to carry that are banned. Everybody should calm down and just 7njoy your self.

Mute al shamen
    Favourite al shamen
    Feb 10th 2014, 11:01 AM

I just answered your question in my previous comment.The parade is about Irish culture,not sexuality whether it be hetero,gay,trans whatever.The parade is a family day out.Nobody is stopping gay people taking part just from using this event for political reasons.

Mute Graham--
    Favourite Graham--
    Feb 10th 2014, 11:14 AM

Some peoples sexuality is their culture, and they are entitled to celebrate it

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Feb 10th 2014, 11:32 AM

I’m not sure howbI feel about this topic, but I do know that Hdsfalphabetti is a deplorable person, bringing up paedophilia in an LGBT topic in an attempt to link the two. Cop on

Mute Cliona
    Favourite Cliona
    Feb 10th 2014, 11:36 AM

I want a heterosexual parade………I’m starting up MFAG…..
    (Male female alliance group)

Mute Seán Gallagher
    Favourite Seán Gallagher
    Feb 10th 2014, 11:44 AM

Graham,

I would tend to disagree with you.

While they might feel that that’s an element, I don’t believe that anyone would exclusively define themselves by their sexuality.

While they might feel it important, integral or core to who they are, it is not all they are.

Mute Janette Valente
    Favourite Janette Valente
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:01 PM

It’s the media latching on to everything! Do you think every article is written by a gay person? All media outlets know that this topic gets the most reaction so they put a gay angle on everything. Just remember in 2015 you will all have to vote on SSM so you are going to have to listen to this for the next year or so! Both pro and anti SSM will be out in force but just remember if gay people
    had equal rights it wouldn’t be an issue!

Mute Sinéad Coyne
    Favourite Sinéad Coyne
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:09 PM

Can we have a straight pride float as well? This is getting feckin’ ridiculous. The parade has always been apolitical and that’s the way is should stay!

Mute Graham--
    Favourite Graham--
    Feb 10th 2014, 6:02 PM

@Sean I would definitely agree with you, but I don’t think anyone (or at least very few) marching would feel that way for whatever organisation they are matching for.

I agree the parade should be Apolitical, but at least as far as last year, this was not the case, at least according to this website. http://www.privatemanning.org/press/update-3172013-support-for-bradley-on-st-patricks-day

If they want to ban political activism in the parade then it should apply to everyone

Mute Maggie Loughran Connery
    Favourite Maggie Loughran Connery
    Feb 13th 2014, 8:39 PM

That is funny Cilona

Mute rightisright
    Favourite rightisright
    Feb 10th 2014, 9:44 AM

The gay agenda seems to be attaching itself to everything. They might start to lose support if they are not careful

Mute Stink Eye
    Favourite Stink Eye
    Feb 10th 2014, 9:51 AM

I have to agree with you here. I’m all for LGBT rights but it seems you can’t look anywhere these days without being bombarded with it.

I’m sure gay people are allowed to be in the parade but just not representing a LGBT organisation .. I don’t think that Patricks Day parades are a place to incorporate Pride festivities..

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 10th 2014, 9:53 AM

But is ok for religious organisations and military organisations to take part in full dress?

See 34 more replies ▾
    Mute TheLoneHurler
    Favourite TheLoneHurler
    Feb 10th 2014, 9:54 AM

I’d love to see them take part in the July parades up north with their rainbow flags…

Mute Phillip Brady Brady
    Feb 10th 2014, 9:59 AM

St Patrick, think he was a saint or somthing

Mute Stink Eye
    Favourite Stink Eye
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:00 AM

It depends on how the groups represent themselves. From my own experience having seen Pride parades it consisted of grown men half naked and screaming while painting each other’s faces in a cage driven down Patrick Street on a Saturday afternoon .. I don’t think religious, military or any other groups will be half naked during the parade.

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:03 AM

Can they not wear trousers ?

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:03 AM

I see no problem with LGBT taking part. But please dont wear the suspenders with your fandagoes hanging out. Its a family day. Keep the undies for the bedroom boys n girls.

I could be wrong but i think these gay pride parades do more damage to the LGBT than good. But i do support them.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:04 AM

Philip – and the military? Thought Ireland was a neutral country.

Mute Debbie Kenny
    Favourite Debbie Kenny
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:08 AM

Why? because they should remember their place and accept being treated like second class citizens.
    The comments that some people put on here and then get annoyed when they are called out on it

Mute Stink Eye
    Favourite Stink Eye

They are not being treated like second class citizens. Homosexual people are allowed take part in the parade but LGBT groups are not allowed to use it as a platform for their agenda. There’s a difference.

Mute rightisright
    Favourite rightisright
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:14 AM

Exactly they shouldn’t be allowed ram their sexuality down our throats at every turn. There is a time a place for everything and they are starting to piss lots of people off who would support them normally. Stop acting like idiots grow up and achieve your goals through democratic means and leave us in peace

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey

Stink eye – and the military being allowed to march in full uniform? How are they more reflective of St. Patrick or Ireland than the Irish gay community in NY?

Mute hdfsjkah
    Favourite hdfsjkah
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:16 AM

Unless you want it rammed down your throat of course

Mute Harry Webb
    Favourite Harry Webb
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:20 AM

Because the gays are causing trouble everywhere… If they only could give us a break! Poor things!!!

Mute Stink Eye
    Favourite Stink Eye
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:23 AM

Paul, the military are an integral part of every country and government. They provide defence and support in times of need. Gay people in the military are filly entitled to appear in the parade in full military dress the same as everybody else.

I don’t think an LGBT float in a parade is comparable to a group people who have risked life and limb in war torn zones.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:36 AM

Stink – get a grip, Ireland is a neutral country. Are the gay community not an integral or important part of every country?

Mute hdfsjkah
    Favourite hdfsjkah
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:38 AM

Its not a celebration of the nation of Ireland – lol

Mute Stink Eye
    Favourite Stink Eye
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:42 AM

Paul- the article isn’t about Ireland. It’s about NYC. And yes Gay people are a hugely integral part of our country and I fully support almost 100% of what has been going on recently.. I just don’t think Patricks Day parades are the place for agenda pushing.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:49 AM

Stink – let’s move the goal posts, St. Patricks parades are a celebration of Irishness and the NY parade is a celebration of the Irish and it’s culture/history in NY. I am very confident there are more homosexual irish people in NY than there are irish members of the Military and specifically the 69th infantry. There is no valid reason why an integral part of the Irish community in NY should not be allowed to March in a celebratory and expressive manner.

Mute hdfsjkah
    Favourite hdfsjkah
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:50 AM

Paul they can march just not broadcasting their sexuality

Mute Stink Eye
    Favourite Stink Eye
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:53 AM

Paul .. I think we’ll just have to agree to disagree on this one.

Mute Jimmy
    Favourite Jimmy
    Feb 10th 2014, 11:32 AM

What kind of comment is that? Are you not aware of the thousands of Irish that have served and died as part of the US military? And nobody is stopping anyone from wearing anything…

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:14 PM

Jimmy – thousands of Irish men died fighting under the British military too, but something tells me you would not be celebrating them or wearing a poppy every November.

The fact is there is no valid reason why the Irish gay community in NY are not afforded the same inclusion in this parade as other organisations.

Mute Seán Gallagher
    Favourite Seán Gallagher
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:28 PM

The gay community as New Yorkers are free to be involved in the Parade.

What they are not being permitted to do is to politicise a non-political event. I feel that that’s appropriate and fair.

There are many organisations which I would object to seeing in the parade because they would use it as a political grandstand – LGBT groups are included in that list.

Mute Jay
    Favourite Jay
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:29 PM

Paul im a gay male living close to NYC I dont think we have any business marching under a gay banner in this parade so do many gay people i know we feel it has nothing to do with sexuality and everything to do with being irish so PLEASE stop going on like you repesent all that is gay because you dont

Mute J. Dunn
    Favourite J. Dunn
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:45 PM

Second class citizens in New York? I heard they’re already planning on renaming NYC The Big Appall.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:46 PM

Jay – neither are you representative of all gay people in NY. This is an opinion forum and I am free to put my opinion forward as are you.

Mute Jay
    Favourite Jay
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:52 PM

im gay are you ???????
    are you going to tell me you know what is best for the struggle for equality ?? you are an arrogant man how dare you come on here and say your opinion is is in my best interest

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:59 PM

Jay – nowhere did I say my opinion is best for you. No, I am not gay, does that prevent me from having an opinion? That would be censorship now Jay and surely you would not want that surely, as that would be rather discriminatory.

New twitter account, 2 posts, generic name, no photo – speaks volumes. Arrogant I maybe, but I am also open and honest.

Mute Jay
    Favourite Jay
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:13 PM

WRONG Paul
    you are on here giving your opinion of whats best for the gay community in regards to the st patricks day parade therefore you are giving your opinion on whats best for me only you cant see that through your self confessed arrogance
    I will suggest you keep your opinions to yourself as they are making you look foolish Why do you care about gay rights and our involvement or lack thereof in this parade
    Are you Curious Paul

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:25 PM

Jay – there is a significant amount of the gay community in NY who disagree with you, the fact De Blasio and Burton are not participating is indicative of this. There are those who agree with you and that is there absolute right.
    You are not gay and you are not in NY, because no gay person would ask if someone was supporting them because they are curious. Unlike the real you I am not insulted or feel uncomfortable about people being curious, but that is just an indication of who you really are. Alternatively you are Paddy Manning, but even he is open and honest and does not hide behind a fake name and fake twitter account.

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Feb 10th 2014, 7:29 PM

Absolutely stupid decision in every way.

Mute Maureen Henry
    Favourite Maureen Henry
    Feb 12th 2014, 6:18 AM

Hurry for for you I hope to be marching with you on March 17. It would be honor. No one is allowed no one to wear anything that is to flashy or over the top in the parade. This includes green hats? Green beads and so on. The St. Patricks day parade has a web site for any one who would like to see what they have to say.

Feb 13th 2014, 8:40 PM

Lonehunter you made a great point it wouldnt be allowed so its not just the AOH

Feb 13th 2014, 8:51 PM

Jay what a breath of fresh air you are. Thanks for your respect as a lot of my gay friends feel the same. Happy St Paricks day to you

Feb 13th 2014, 10:52 PM

Since when is Ireland an Neutral country there is a war still going on between the Catholics and Protestants
    The Orange Order do not allow gay banners in their parades or Catholics that is their rules too. The country is steeped in bloody history and it is still going on.

Mute John M. Doohan
    Favourite John M. Doohan
    Feb 10th 2014, 9:46 AM

never knew it was a gay rights parade

Mute hdfsjkah
    Favourite hdfsjkah
    Feb 10th 2014, 9:55 AM

Terrible article
    I thought the issue was that the gay rights people wanted to hi-jack the pararde by carrying gay rights signs
    They have their parade

The real prejudice/injustice is that we don’t allow the orangemen to march in the Parade

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Feb 10th 2014, 11:33 AM

Theyre not allowing gay rights signs as they are not allowing political issued. The orange men are included in that. Not that you can figure that one out

Mute cian hennessy
    Favourite cian hennessy

Top of the morning to ye on this gray, grizzly afternoon. Kent O’Brockman live on Main Street, where today everyone is a little bit Irish, except, of course, for the gays and the Italians.

Mute Bruce
    Favourite Bruce
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:36 PM

This whole topic is such a bore.

Mute Seán Gallagher
    Favourite Seán Gallagher
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:54 AM

I’ve been thinking about this one for the guts of a week now. The conclusions I’ve come to and feel free to disagree are:

The LGBT Community’s goal is acceptance and equality and while these are important and lofty goals, there’s a time and a place, this is an important social issue and on a day when the focus is getting together with friends and having fun I just don’t feel it’s relevant enough to warrant the widespread vitriol coming from both sides of the gay rights/marriage equality debate.

I personally don’t see a need for an LGBT float etc. at a St. Patrick’s Day Parade. Other groups are precluded from taking part, so if this were simply an LGBT exclusion on the basis that the St. Patrick’s Day Parade People don’t like gay people, then grand. But I don’t believe that to be the case.

Sexual orientation is not core to the theme, message and purpose of St. Patrick’s Day, especially in New York where the idea of “what it is to be Irish” differs greatly from reality. It’s a harking back to the past that they left behind “the Old Country” and dya know what… That’s ok. LGBT issues don’t need to be at the forefront of every social engagement, so long as when they do need to be they aren’t sidelined due to the dreaded H word or intolerance.

A gay float is simply irrelevant to St. Patrick’s Day in NYC.

MyTwoCents

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Feb 10th 2014, 11:43 AM

Morning Sean!
    I’m inclined to agree with you. However while I feel an LGBT float isn’t appropriate, I think there would be no harm in somebody walking with a rainbow flag. Why? Because its not the appropriate forum to campaign, I don’t see the harm in saying, yeah we have all types here and we accept it.

Just my two cents!

Mute Brian Dataface Cavanagh
    Favourite Brian Dataface Cavanagh
    Feb 10th 2014, 11:58 AM

Have you ever been to a pride parade? Now thats a party. I would welcome everyone with open arms.

Mute Seán Gallagher
    Favourite Seán Gallagher
    Feb 10th 2014, 11:59 AM

Ah Ailbhe, howiye!

A flag, a badge, a T-shirt, whatever. But there’s a difference between an individual expressing something important to them and an organised move to turn something which is and should be inherently apolitical into a political platform.

So yeah, I totally agree with you!

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:06 PM

Agreed, let individuals wear what they want (within reason, many have pointed out the classless chaps brigade from our pride marches, that’s not appropriate) but groups using it as a political stage? No I don’t agree with that. There’s a time and a place

Mute Seán Gallagher
    Favourite Seán Gallagher
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:23 PM

It’s just a shame to see the extreme views on either side of this, seems that one side pushes and the other pushes a little harder and so on until we’re all screaming at each other.

I really fail to see why these kinds of things can’t be discussed in a reasonable way. I get that it’s emotive but it doesn’t need to be aggressive.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:32 PM

Well Sean, like with all discussions, when faced with logic from one side, the opposite side gets frustrated. I’m sure it’s true of both sides. Unfortunately when one side is passionate and arguing based on their honestly held beliefs, and others do the same, it’s always going to become emotive.

What really get’s me annoyed is people making outlandish claims without any basis. No proof, n evidence. Just their own belief and then when you explain patiently and offer reason and logic, they pick at your comment rather than take in the information. Again I believe both sides of this debate do it

Mute Jay
    Favourite Jay
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:32 PM

I agree sean its tarnishing the day that is in it … I think it is more about causing trouble…

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:40 PM

Jay, I don’t think it’s about causing trouble. They don’t want to do it to piss people off, they want to do it to be heard. Unfortunately they do not realise that it is an inappropriate forum and any ban on this, is in line the parades rules and this rule applies to all.

Mute Seán Gallagher
    Favourite Seán Gallagher

@Jay I’m not sure it’s fair to say that it’s about causing trouble, I guess the people involved who are pushing for this are doing so for fair reasons.

I happen to disagree with those reasons however, I think it goes a little too far to say that they are just out to cause trouble. At it’s core this is an important issue, I just think they have overlooked that it doesn’t always have to be the focus of the day for everyone.

@Ailbhe, I agree on all points, I’d just add that the LGBT community is pretty much seeking to alter the established social mores in our society. These are social conventions built into the cultural memory and mindset of the country, it’s not surprising that when trying to engage with people on a logical level, that you are met with illogical responses….

The people opposing these, when thinking about marriage, gay rights etc. think “Well that’s just the way it is…”, the fact that we can even have a debate about this is somewhat brilliant and really shows how much Ireland is open to change.

Mute Jay
    Favourite Jay

Ailbhe
    you are making excuses most if not all are fully aware of the rules they just dont care and all they are doing is making the struggle for acceptance that much more difficult

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:52 PM

Jay,
    First of all, I am not making excuses, this is my opinion. Secondly, your opinion is that most if not all are aware of the rules and don’t care. I honestly doubt that

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    Feb 10th 2014, 8:11 PM

Equality in all legal respects for the gay community, including effective protection against homophobia, and full equality of same sex marriage would obviate the need for our gay brothers and sisters to be activists for the rights of gay people.

The AO H has always been a rigidly conservative and anti gay group. Protest against its exclusionary policies may be irritating but it is legitimate.

Allowing gay visibility at the Parade was hardly likely to harm anyone.

In a way the parade organisers are allowing this to be an issue and this helps the cause of gay rights.

The sooner we straights cop ourselves on and fully embrace our gay sisters and gay brothers the better.

Respect to De Blasi.

Mute Brian Flynn
    Favourite Brian Flynn

Miss McEvoy from the LGBT federation should check her facts before making public statements. Nobody is being denied the opportunity to take part in the parade because of their sexual orientation. This is quite simply untrue and a complete distortion of the facts. No political/advocacy groups are allowed to have banners in this parade. Now is it equal treatment that LGBT Federation want or special treatment?

Mute lunadoran
    Favourite lunadoran
    Feb 10th 2014, 9:45 AM

Shes not going to the parade but will she still go to nyc?

Mute Stink Eye
    Favourite Stink Eye

Of course she will.. And she’ll have a great time at our expense.. But don’t worry, she won’t go to the parade.

Mute tuba hg
    Favourite tuba hg
    Feb 10th 2014, 9:48 AM

She is representing the country in New York not her own private views
    If she feels that strongly she should stay at home and divert the money into flood relief

Mute Tom Doyle
    Favourite Tom Doyle

Yawn.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:18 PM

Morning Tom!

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 10th 2014, 9:57 AM

I support gay rights, but it is ludicrous that they should want to hijack the Patricks Day Parade, and worse still that they then create a rumpus because the Patricks Day Parade organisers won’t allow them to superimpose LGBT ontop of a parade that is about St Patricks Day.

LGBT are welcome to participate, but only in celebration of St Patricks Day, not to push their own agenda. That is a fair policy.

Let me guess; the St Patricks Day Parade organisers are now to be branded ‘homophobes’ and LGBT protests will be organised?

What next, LGBT insist on appearing in Santa’s Grotto in Arnotts at Christmas and if they are told “you can’t, it’s about Santa”, they will protest outside Arnott’s because they are ‘homophobes’?

Very short sighted of Burton to boycott attending the parade. To demonstrate her consistency that this is a real issue for her, rather than a weak attempt to win back a few LGBT votes, I hope she will be ensuring there is a prominent LGBT float at the 1916 Rising parade, with banners about gay rights emblazoned infront of any messages of commemoration about 1916.

Come to think of it, the Garda Band before Rugby Matches should play more YMCA numbers and wear the LGBT rainbow instead of the drab Garda uniform. Smacks of homophobia to me on behalf of the IRFU and the Gardai that this isn’t already the case. No less logical that LGBT should not be allowed hijack that too.

Mute pat James buchannan
    Favourite pat James buchannan
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:08 AM

If they are refused to be allowed into Arnotts grotto I think we should all protest an use a star on top of our Christmas trees

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan

Another shocking story of homophobia is emerging in the Horse Racing community.

LGBT members had planned to run alongside the horses at the 3.10 at Punchestown today. However organisers of the race pointed out that it was a horserace and only registered horses and jockeys were allowed participate, both for safety reasons and common sense.

An LGBT spokesperson has pointed out that this is another example of gross discrimination against their community, some of whose members are pretty fast on turf and good fence jumpers, and the Horse Racing Authority registration process is a deliberate attempt to exclude LGBT members from competing against the horses. A horse race should be a celebration of all walks of life and not just for horses and jockeys.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute dogg
    Favourite dogg
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:17 AM

Here, here!!!! I have absolutely no issue with gay people but this is St. Patricks day not gay pride!!! Why is it starting to be imposed??? If the a fascist group wanted to take part they wouldn’t be allowed

Mute Bridget
    Favourite Bridget

Totally agree, Johngahan.

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:27 AM

Not hi-jack, participate.

Mute hdfsjkah
    Favourite hdfsjkah
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:29 AM

They can participate
    just not shout their sexuality at everyone

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:30 AM

You equate fascism with gay rights? Have a cuppa and re-read what you wrote.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:35 AM

No George, they are allowed participate. They, and all other advocacy groups, no matter how noble the cause, are not allowed carry signs or use the parade as a protest platform. Because it’s the St Patricks Day Parade.

Essentially LGBT spokepeople on this issue KNOW the facts; they are welcome to join the parade, just not hijack it. Yet they are choosing to bend the truth to suit their own media agenda and malign the parade on false pretences. I don’t like that sort of sneaky behaviour.

Gay Pride Parade in New York is June 2014.

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:35 AM

You say you support equal rights for gays, but there’s very little evidence of it in your comments. I would be interested in reading comments from you where you outline your support.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:41 AM

George, What is unequal about the Parade policy being participants, no matter who they are, are not allowed use the Parade as a platform to promote an agenda?

I’m beginning to suspect some (tiny minority I hope) LGBT members think ‘equal rights’ means being treated a bit special, and if anyone challenges that, LGBT have a special weapon called the ‘You’re a Homophobe’ bomb that they can drop on people.

Equal Rights means everyone treated the same.

Mute Leanne Lynch
    Favourite Leanne Lynch
    Feb 10th 2014, 11:59 AM

Comment of the year!

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:24 PM

John, you’re right. I wouldn’t call anybody a homophobe if they feel a gay rights flat should not be allowed in the parade as the parade bans political protests etc. That is, as you say, equality as the same rule is applied to everybody.

I would call somebody a homophobe if they think that gay people should be treated differently in any way, be it positive or negative discrimination.

I don’t want to be treated differently, I don’t want to have to campaign for equal civil recognition. It’s unfortunate but hopefully it will all be over soon!

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:27 PM

George, this is madness and an unnecessary attack on st patricks day by the LGBT community !! Next year, we’ll have an irish alligned anti abortion float followed by a pro abortion float. An irish community pro Palestine float followed by a pro israeli float. I pick these as examples because these protests tend to get highly heated and violence has broken out in the past, now imagine them in the parade with 10s of thoysands of kids in attendence, its selfish to ruin it for them. Surely the irish that support these groups should also be allowed a platform of protest aswell with the lgbt community. We are all equal and whose to say ones protest is more noble than another. My point is, the day is a celebration of irishness and was never political or used as protest platform. Of course as stated above, maybe the LGBT community does now feel they areva little bit special and deserve there own special treatment. This is pure selfishness from the lgbt community

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:37 PM

While I agree with your core point Cholly, in discussing highly heated topics, you have in the same breath accused the LGBT community of attacking the parade, of selfishness and of feeling a little bit special.
    I am a member of that community, I don’t agree with using this parade as a political forum. Regardless of the cause. I do resent the blanket accusations and insults you have included. I think whether people agree or disagree, they need to be careful what they say, as using such strong language adds to the heat of the discussion and angers people.

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Feb 10th 2014, 5:20 PM

So your argument is don’t parade your gayness because you’ll be beaten up and the day will be ruined for the children?!?

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Feb 10th 2014, 5:26 PM

Couldn’t agree more, so permit gay people to march under the lbgt banner and celebrate their identity – just as Cork people can march under the Cork Association banner. It’s about people celebrating a universality of identities within an Irish context. Let everyone enjoy the parade. There’s no hidden agenda in that.

Mute Harry Webb
    Favourite Harry Webb
    Feb 11th 2014, 2:08 AM

This is a bit of a change! The gay lobby has been shouting slander on Christians, no holds barred and with such viciousness. Now the boot is on the other foot they are sobbing tears as if they are real victims!

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Feb 11th 2014, 11:31 AM

The gay lobby? You mean the ones that are called abominations, deviants, sinners by the Christian lobby? The ones that are ACTIVELY discriminated against by the church at every turn. You really think we are not the victims?

I really do love how when you are getting awful press, you will turn it around and not only claim victim status when you are the oppressors and then also say the gay lobby are incorrectly claiming victims.

The gay lobby does not try to deny Christians their rights, they fight for equal rights. Those that are denied their rights are the victims and those that deny the rights, yes actively, are the oppressors. It’s pretty simple, I can draw you a diagram if you like

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 10th 2014, 9:54 AM

In gay and this Is ridiculous.
    The public are laughing at us now

Mute hdfsjkah
    Favourite hdfsjkah

Where’s gay
    Sounds like a nice place

Mute Stink Eye
    Favourite Stink Eye
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:02 AM

Freudian slip there John?

Mute Debbie Kenny
    Favourite Debbie Kenny
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:11 AM

No John we are just laughing at you, not with you just at you.

Mute hdfsjkah
    Favourite hdfsjkah

Im not laughing at John

Mute Stink Eye
    Favourite Stink Eye

I’m not laughing at John either.

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:57 AM

I love lamp

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Feb 10th 2014, 5:05 PM

We’re laughing at John.

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:12 AM

“I’m all for gay rights” is the new “I’m not racist”

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:21 AM

Why don’t you just hit the big red ‘you’re a homophobe’ button.

This Paddy’s Day parade issue is a good example of LGBT getting ahead of themselves in believing their rights supercede everyone elses.

I don’t want to see Exxon floats, McDonalds floats, Youth Defense Floats, Republican Party Floats, Erectile Dysfunction floats, Apple Floats, Greenpeace Floats, Antiimmigration Floats, Tea Party Floats, Antiwar Floats, Prowar floats, save the whales floats – I just want to see happy clappy Paddy’s day floats.

Why can’t you understand that is a fair expectation without resorting to bullying people with ‘you’re a homophobe’? It is starting to make LGBT seem like an ugly organisation if you can’t respect your not being centre of the universe.

Mute hdfsjkah
    Favourite hdfsjkah
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:24 AM

Erectile Dysfunction floats

I kind of want to see that float

Mute Cormac Ryan
    Favourite Cormac Ryan
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:11 PM

Hmm an anti immigration float in a st Patricks parade…in NY…

Mute pat James buchannan
    Favourite pat James buchannan
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:22 PM

Well you won’t see any floats at the NYC parade…… They done have any

Mute Maureen Henry
    Favourite Maureen Henry
    Feb 12th 2014, 6:29 AM

No there is not a single float in the parade.

Mute Tom Dillon
    Favourite Tom Dillon
    Feb 10th 2014, 9:51 AM

It’s not so long ago there was a story about how Joan Burton has come under criticism from transgender rights groups and other LGBT activists over the launch of the Heads of Bill for the proposed gender recognition legislation for transgender people.

So now she’s their new hero?

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:25 PM

Nope, not my hero, or heroin as the case may be

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims

Still…. nice to see she has a bit of backbone.

Mute Ross McCann
    Favourite Ross McCann

It’s called securing the gay vote

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:16 PM

True

Mute Niall Mc Guinness
    Favourite Niall Mc Guinness
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:56 AM

What about the journal making tomorrow a gay story free day to give all of a break.

Mute Harry Webb
    Favourite Harry Webb
    Feb 11th 2014, 2:13 AM

Now that would be nice Niall…even better…just one week!

Mute Kieran Timmons
    Favourite Kieran Timmons
    Feb 10th 2014, 9:56 AM

I think people wrongly believe that these parades only celebrate Irish culture, rather they celebrate the city. I was at the Paddy’s Day parade in Boston two years ago, and very little of it actually celebrated Irish culture. It is more of an opportunity to celebrate what is great about the city. Sure there was a Ron Paul Bus in the Parade, so the the Paddy’s day parades are not exclusively about Irish culture. Therefore, everything that makes New York great should be celebrated, including its LGBT community.

Mute Marc McCabe
    Favourite Marc McCabe
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:33 AM

Comments about LGBT rights being all over the news these days are right. And why not, there is a clear need to keep pushing toward an equal world. Most LGBT people I assure you would rather read hear or talk about something else. I can understand people particularly those not really bothered about other peoples rights might get tired of the attention being brought to this area of life but it’s necessary. I do feel though that it will relax a bit soon enough and people can get back to what ever their preferred distraction is. This is the problem with having a vote on what is essentially a human rights issue of equality. Having to worry about the populist mood and whether you have enough people on your side to say you are equal. So I say to those who comments are basically saying to LGBT rights representatives, get back in your box. Try to imagine the shoe was on the other foot. Would you be as brave as some of these people? Or do you lack the emotional and intellectual capacity to think beyond your world? Anyway today it doesn’t seem to be raining. We can go for a walk and get some fresh air without reading or listening to anything going on in the world around us if we choose.

Mute Patrick Lyons
    Favourite Patrick Lyons
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:44 PM

That’s all very good and the vast majority of sane people would agree with ya, but what has the LGBT community for to do with St. Patricks day ?

Feb 10th 2014, 3:10 PM

The Pink Fascists have finally achieved in persuading my vote, a NO VOTE that is!

Mute Seán Gallagher
    Favourite Seán Gallagher
    Feb 10th 2014, 3:17 PM

John,

With the greatest of respect, it seems like you made your mind up about this issue long ago.

Your comments here would indicate as much. I would however, similar to something I said to another poster some time ago, ask that you would reconsider this as it’s a monumentally huge question which will have wide reaching implications for this and future generations of people in this country.

The fact that you disagree with a small number of people and their methods, should not impact your interpretation of the issue before you. Make up your own mind based on the facts, not the people citing them or how they choose to do so.

Mute Katy Star
    Favourite Katy Star
    Feb 10th 2014, 9:56 AM

I think Enda should participate in the parade and maybe wear his skirt.

Mute Kevin
    Favourite Kevin
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:38 AM

After reading the comments most of you don’t have a problem with gay people as long as you don’t have to look at them, deal with them, or generally be near them. Bunch of nimbys.

Feb 10th 2014, 3:12 PM

Why can’t we just deal with people? Ones Sexuality should be private and their own business, it shouldn’t define them, that only serves to create stereotypes!

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers

I would boycott St.Patrick’s day parade in NY based on their political agenda of racial discrimination against English. Banner after banner “burn the English out of Ireland” and worse. I was ashamed to be Irish in NY, it was such a poor reflection on those who think they are Irish.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Feb 10th 2014, 11:44 AM

They allow that?! I’m astounded

Mute Al Picino
    Favourite Al Picino
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:21 PM

Bollocks … what a load of cows wallops .. are you sure you even know where NYC is.

Feb 10th 2014, 3:07 PM

We should GET THE BRITS OUT and about enjoying themselves on St Patricks Day

Mute Maureen Henry
    Favourite Maureen Henry
    Feb 12th 2014, 6:33 AM

I have been attending the parade since I was a child there no such signs in 5he parade.

Mute Adam Hurley
    Favourite Adam Hurley
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:27 AM

Good for Minister Burton for standing up. Labour leading the way on LGBT rights as it has done now for over 30 years.

Mute micheal285
    Favourite micheal285
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:17 PM

My cousin is Gay : he went to London only to discover that “Big Ben” was a clock.

Mute Seán Gallagher
    Favourite Seán Gallagher
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:11 PM

I really do laugh at jokes on any topic, but that’s just not at all funny.

Mute Paula Clarke
    Favourite Paula Clarke
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:32 PM

This parade is soo boring 5 hours of Marching Bands, skip NY,
    Go to Mullagh anyone allowed join it. Great Floats.

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Feb 10th 2014, 5:07 PM

You’re cousin sounds a bit thick! Unlike you, of course.

Mute Marc McCabe
    Favourite Marc McCabe
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:53 AM

The ones sick of gay rights getting air time are up very early this morning in agreement or disagreement. Just saying as most people who comment on the journal get why the gay equality push is so important.

Mute micheal285
    Favourite micheal285
    Feb 10th 2014, 3:12 PM

A ffs ye Gay folk have no sence of humour ;(

Mute Martin Gallagher
    Favourite Martin Gallagher
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:41 PM

Why wouldn’t they go? What has being gay got to do with the celebration of Irish heritage??

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Feb 10th 2014, 5:17 PM

Very little to celebrate about being gay in Ireland. Next year will be an important milestone in Ireland moving to a more mature, open and secular society; a true Republic in other words. Just in time for 2016 celebrations.

Mute Fergus Gaffney
    Favourite Fergus Gaffney
    Feb 10th 2014, 11:48 AM

Did this stupid bint even get an invite? The tide wouldn’t take her out so I doubt the yanks want her either!

Mute Patric Reilly
    Favourite Patric Reilly
    Feb 10th 2014, 7:04 PM

these politicians better be careful refusing to go on paddys parade. ..yes the gays have votes but the majority of voter’s getting a bit sick of this pandering to the so called gay rights

Mute Maureen Henry
    Favourite Maureen Henry
    Feb 12th 2014, 7:16 AM

This is a copy of what is stated on the NYC St. Patrick’s Day Parade Committee website about dress code and conduct for the parade.

TIPS FOR HELPING US MAKE THE NYC ST. PATRICK’S DAY PARADE SAFE & FAMILY FRIENDLY
    1. Green hats, beads, and other “costume” dress are not permitted in the Reviewing Stands
    2. No animals or mascots will be permitted along the parade route or in the stands
    3. There is absolutely no consumption of alcohol allowed. People displaying public drunkenness will be removed from the Parade route by NYPD
    4. Safety is our utmost concern.Please remember that all backpacks and large bags are subject to search by NYPD

Mute Adam Long
    Favourite Adam Long
    Feb 12th 2014, 2:05 AM

A crucial point needs to be established very clearly in this debate and which is responsible for the likes of Mayor De Blasio and other public figures boycotting this discriminatory event: The organisers do not simply ban LGBT people from holding placards containing ‘political messages’, which could be construed as fair as long as the policy applied equally to all groups. No, unlike the many other community groups who are allowed to march behind banners and symbols depicting who they are, LGBT groups are singled out and expressly prohibited from using anything that would publicly identify them as LGBT. Why should an Irish LGBT group be barred from participating when other Irish groups are allowed to? So it is simply not correct to say that the LGBT community are seeking ‘special treatment’ or are subject to the same rules as everyone else.

Furthermore, simply being openly LGBT is not a ‘political statement’. It is about visibility and not having to publicly hide who you are, while also celebrating your Irishness. And the LGBT community should have as much right to do that and celebrate their role and contribution to the broader Irish-American community as any other of the numerous other identifiable groups participating in the Parade.

The leader of New York City Council Christine Quinn made a point of marching in the inclusive Dublin Parade in 2007 to explicitly highlight the discrimination that mars the one in New York. Incidentally this was the same year that the Ancient Order Of Hibernians, who organise the New York Parade, threw copies of the Constitution at the then Tanaiste during a public consultation on civil unions. The same group who have referred to LGBT people as ‘perverts’ and the like. A group with such bigoted ‘values’ are not the best representatives of what it is to be Irish, even leaving aside their ban on openly LGBT marchers.

And finally, to those who ask why isn’t there a ‘straight float’ etc. etc. – It’s for the exact same reason we don’t see ‘white pride’ participants. The LGBT community has been forged due to discrimination and persecution and it is shameful quite frankly that in 2014, and unlike the inclusive Parades in Ireland itself, an event like the one in NYC opposes their inclusion on clear homophobic grounds.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Feb 10th 2014, 8:24 PM

Good on her! Time for people to wake up and realise that everybody born in the world is completely equal to one another regardless of sexual orientation, colour, religions etc, and until people realise this and accept that hate comes in many shapes and forms and needs to be stomped out or else the world is destined to repeat the mistakes it has made before over and over in different ways and forms.