You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

How one woman fought her bank, won, and got the loan she needed

Sharon Farrell, owner of Fun Galaxy Play Centre, tells us how she expanded her galaxy, with a little help.

RUNNING A PLAY centre seems like a pretty fun job.

And the Fun Galaxy Play Centre was going so well that expansion was on the cards, but there was just one problem – the bank denied an application for a loan.

Fun Galaxy Fun Galaxy

Sharon Farrell dreamt of owning her own business ever since she was a small child herself, so when she was able to open Fun Galaxy Play Centre in 2007 it was the realisation of a lifelong ambition.

Very quickly, her business took off and she wanted to expand to another location. Sharon applied for a bank loan but was ultimately rejected.

They went through the business plan with a fine-tooth comb. It took  3 weeks to get a no, and 3 months to get a no from the internal review in the bank.

Sharon was dejected but not ready to give up on expanding her (fun) galaxy. She turned to the Credit Review Office to see if she could appeal the bank’s decision.

I heard an ad on the radio about the Credit Review Office, and I was in two minds as to whether to apply. I told them my story and what the problem was so they suggested we meet.

Ultimately, after working intensely with the Credit Review Office, who assured her that her business was working (which was ‘a huge confidence boost’), Sharon returned to the bank.

It was like having an amazing mentor that you can’t afford to pay for standing over you telling you all the right things to do.

When the bank refused her again, the Credit Review Office went to the bank for her.

Then the bank came back to us as a direct result of the decision from the Credit Review Office and set up a meeting.

After about three weeks, the banks came back to her with her loan approved.

Without the Credit Review Office we wouldn’t have even been able to see the bank again let alone get the second chance with them.

Sharon got her loan and was able to open a new premises, almost tripling her staff in the process.

We’ve 78 staff now. When we started we had 27.

Fun Galaxy Fun Galaxy

So, what is the Credit Review Office exactly?

The Credit Review Office is an independent review process for SME businesses that have had bank loan applications denied from participating banks. Set up during the recession, the Credit Review Office examines cases where the business feels their loan denial has been unjustified.

And how do they help?

If a business has had a loan application turned down by a participating bank and feels that it was unjustified they can get an independent assessment from the Credit Review Office and see if the decision could possibly be overturned. Banks currently part of the review process are Bank of Ireland and AIB, while PTSB will join shortly and Ulster Bank are actively considering participation.

The Credit Review Office can’t guarantee success in every case, but it has seen approximately 50% of the banking decisions it appealed overturned since 2010.

Who is eligible for help?

There are some criteria to be eligible for assessment and review -

• You have an SME business – less than 250 employees with a turnover of less than €50 million
  • You have been declined for credit of up to €3 million
  • If your business has had an unfavorable change to existing credit terms and conditions

You can also check your eligibility here.

How do I get started?

After you check your eligibility then you need to download and submit an application to the Credit Review Office, or you can give them a call.

As Sharon says,

They’re genuinely interested in your business and getting your business to a better place.

Has your business had credit facilities refused, reduced or withdrawn by a participating bank? Or have you had difficulty getting credit or loan facilities of up to €3 million? If you have had an unfavourable change to your existing credit terms and conditions, we’re here to help.

Our process is independent, easy to complete and covers all applications for new loans or restructured credit facilities.
Visit www.creditreview.ie to see if you’re eligible.

187 Comments
    Mute Liz (10) (^_^)
    Favourite Liz (10) (^_^)
    Nov 20th 2018, 3:22 AM

Y’know some people should get a life with these complaints.
    Yes we are a secular state, but living in a secular state means tolerating ALL religions. In fact when living in a secular state a person’s faith preference or if they are Atheist or Agnostic is their own personal belief and preference and their own business. If we should take any lesson from the past in Ireland, we should take this one. People are not defined by their faith preference alone, they are made up of more than that. Profiling people in this way is a dangerous road to go down as history proves again and again. We talk of religious freedom for other faiths that are in Ireland but what about religious freedom for native faiths. How can we call ourselves a tolerant state if we cannot even tolerate native faiths.

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace
    Nov 20th 2018, 8:04 AM

@Liz (10) (^_^): what do you mean by native faiths? Christianity, which is a middle eastern religion hijacked by the Romans? Or maybe you mean paganism? Either way, I do believe in freedom of religion, I agree with you on that part, once that religion is practiced privately and not imposed on others or does not impinge on the freedom of others, as it does currently in our religious run schools, for example.

Mute Beyond Belief
    Favourite Beyond Belief
    Nov 20th 2018, 8:10 AM

@Liz (10) (^_^): ‘We talk of religious freedom for other faiths that are in Ireland but what about religious freedom for native faiths. ‘

Our native faith is paganism.

Mute Noel Ryan
    Favourite Noel Ryan
    Nov 20th 2018, 9:45 AM

Podge and Rodge show last night was absolutely disgusting with the behavior of that thing,Maughan . I for one will be making a complaint. A new low in “entertainment “ . Yuck!

Mute Liz (10) (^_^)
    Favourite Liz (10) (^_^)
    Nov 25th 2018, 3:54 AM

@James Wallace: Don’t forget the Jewish faith. Ireland has a long native Jewish tradition as well as Christian which is unfortunately is in decline however in recent times there has been an upsurge with workers from overseas

Mute Liz (10) (^_^)
    Favourite Liz (10) (^_^)
    Nov 25th 2018, 3:58 AM

@Beyond Belief: True. I grant you. We were better off at times if we still were in my honest opinion with the carry on of the Church over decades.
    Plus no women priests or married clergy. I think they need to cop on now.

Mute Jun Stone
    Favourite Jun Stone
    Nov 20th 2018, 5:56 AM

People are perpetually offended these days, live and let live…I’m not a catholic but I don’t begrudge people their faith.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Nov 20th 2018, 8:04 PM

@Jun Stone: Fair enough. On the other hand, I have no faith in RTÉ’s habit of pushing for hefty increases in licence tax, requiring people who never watch RTÉ to pay regular sums of money to RTÉ.

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Nov 20th 2018, 6:43 AM

Try getting a grip. It had huge sectoral interest and was televised. That’s not sectarianism, it’s the job of TV. Just as the euro. 2020, the GAA championship, referendum and GE coverage or anything else that has a large following. Sectarianism is making official complaints because of no other valid reason than being anti. Just find something else to do or watch like I did.

Mute Mrs M
    Favourite Mrs M
    Nov 20th 2018, 9:17 AM

It was covering of the pope’s visit to Ireland of course the state broadcaster is going to cover it , sky news covered it most of the day too along with other media companies ,

Mute Moorooka Mick
    Favourite Moorooka Mick
    Nov 20th 2018, 12:48 AM

Ireland should be transitioning to a secular state to allay the fears of unification held by NI Protestants and the Orange Order. The Pope’s visit was ill-timed at a time when unification is at its highest since 1921 and just resurrected the Paisley notion of a papist state.

Given the history of abuse perpetrated by the Catholic Church over the past 100 years
    the Government has to no demystify the Confessional seal of silence and compel all
    citizens with the exception of legal advisors to report all criminal activity for secular
    legal remedy. This process is happening in Australia,
    The Government has to simply nationalise primary & secondary education, de-Catholic
    the constitution and remove God from it for good measure and declare that religion and its practice is a private matter and that all Irish law should take precedence to Cannon Law and its derivatives. (replace calumny* with defamation, slander etc.).

If we can assure protestants in NI that they will have identical status as Catholics in a secular 32 county Ireland, then, IMO, the major stumbling block to unification is no longer there and economics will sort out the residual Unionist sentiments.

It is fine for the UK having a unified head of State & head of Church but a 21C Irish Republic should be independent and secular to reflect our neutral position with respect to global conflict.

To an outsider it seemed a Dr Who voyage back to the Middle Ages when it was found the Sgt McCabe had been subjected to “calumny” straight out of Cannon Law. If I remember form my Confirmation coaching , calumny & detraction was under the heading: “What else is forbidden by the 8th Commandment?

Ireland’s recent immigration program indicates an objective of being a multi-cultural
    society and the preferred position of the State ought to be secular to accommodate
    multiculturalism, Imo.

Mute Garry Rossiter
    Favourite Garry Rossiter
    Nov 20th 2018, 1:05 AM

@Moorooka Mick: pppppffffffff

Mute Andrew Dillon
    Favourite Andrew Dillon
    Nov 20th 2018, 1:08 AM

@Moorooka Mick: the state is secular. Legislation is not being scripted with a Catholic or any other ethos in mind. If the schools have a ethos, it’s because there’s demand for it. Some people want their children to grow up with some indoctrination and some don’t. It’s freedom of choice.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Nov 20th 2018, 1:21 AM

@Andrew Dillon: demand for it? there’s demand for non religious schools & even if what you say was true let people pay for private religious schools. A truly secular society cannot have public schools run by religious groups. it’s the opposite of a secular society. if people want their children “indoctrinated” let them pay for it or do it at home or at Sunday schools. I am also open to children being taught religious education in schools provided all religions and none are addressed as well as the pros & cons of such teachings. Catholics schools have been shown to be discriminatory towards both students & teachers & you say there’s no legislation being scripted. Maybe there should be to prevent this.

Mute Patricia Mcnamara
    Favourite Patricia Mcnamara
    Nov 20th 2018, 2:51 AM

@Moorooka Mick: very well said. Bravo.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Nov 20th 2018, 4:37 AM

@Moorooka Mick: We don’t need to appease them, if they think we are all papists even after the pro gay marriage and pro choice referendums then what more can we do? Any anyways why should we be considerate about their feelings or concerns? A reunified Ireland would be great, but not if we have to bend at the knee to Arlene’s feelings!

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Nov 20th 2018, 6:51 AM

@Andrew Dillon: except in most areas of the country there is NO choice.

Mute Tom Mullally
    Favourite Tom Mullally
    Nov 20th 2018, 12:50 PM

@Moorooka Mick: the protestants in the north have more in common with Catholicism than secularism. In England 25% of the top performing schools were Catholic even though they make up a much smaller percentage of the total. It would therefore appear it would not be wise to reduce the number of Catholic schools.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Nov 20th 2018, 8:09 PM

@Tom Mullally: Or wiser to send your children to a top-performing school in England? A country where it is unacceptable to cover up child predator activities by failing to report them, arranging for secrecy contracts and allowing the predators to move around the country freely.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Nov 22nd 2018, 10:37 PM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: tell that to the young girls in Rotherham

Mute Nomad
    Favourite Nomad
    Nov 20th 2018, 5:22 AM

He gives a lovely mass though

Mute DeFonz
    Favourite DeFonz
    Nov 20th 2018, 8:15 AM

@Nomad: Careful now .. He gives good mass .. Its the girls who are lovely

Mute Thomas Molloy
    Favourite Thomas Molloy
    Nov 20th 2018, 8:55 AM

RTE intentionally or unintentionally gave the impression that it was going to be a nightmare getting to the event.

Mute Bryan Yelahw
    Favourite Bryan Yelahw
    Nov 21st 2018, 9:59 AM

@Thomas Molloy: and catholics famously hate a pilgrimage.

Mute Irish big fellow
    Favourite Irish big fellow
    Nov 20th 2018, 9:27 AM

Only a handful of people play Winning Streak each week and RTE gives it an hour airtime every Saturday and get paid for same.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Nov 20th 2018, 6:48 AM

Moorooka Mick .Set up a stall in O’Connell street and gather your follower’s and see how that goes .I am easy either way and disgusted at what was done in the name of religion or by the religious and I also believe that that is the general feeling of all catholics some of who are reeling at what has come out from time to time

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Nov 20th 2018, 6:08 AM

It was much to popey for my liking.

Mute Shaner Mac
    Favourite Shaner Mac
    Nov 20th 2018, 8:48 AM

Goes to show, no matter what RTÉ do they’ll be attacked by both sides. They can’t win.

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott
    Nov 20th 2018, 5:56 AM

The three Bryan Dobson fans must have been the father, son & Holy Ghost

Mute Philip Morgan
    Favourite Philip Morgan
    Nov 20th 2018, 9:43 AM

Lads more people bought Gareth Brooks tickets than attended the pope…… We are a changed country but the rise in country music amoung young people needs to be looked at. It’s the main cause of Suacide

Mute Thomas Troy
    Favourite Thomas Troy
    Nov 20th 2018, 12:10 PM

” Render to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s and to God the things that are God’s ” Romans 13:1 ” let every person be in subjection to the governing authorities ,for there is no authority except from God and those which exist are established by God.”

Mute Tony Mcgrath
    Favourite Tony Mcgrath
    Nov 20th 2018, 10:30 AM

No formal complaints made now look at headline

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Nov 20th 2018, 9:35 AM

I watched it with the sound off, but I thought the frocks were nice.

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Nov 20th 2018, 12:49 PM

Online stories like this are inclined to elicit feedback on the RTE feedback and comments on various comments. Narcissistic commentary on public commentary tells us more about comment posters than it does about the professionalism of RTE.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Nov 20th 2018, 2:39 PM

Wouldn’t call it sectarianism, not a fan of R.T.E. but the way this visit was rammed down our throats was a disgrace. The good and the mighty after all their talk had no problem in bending the knee to El Papa. If people believe that’s their right…. but R.T.E. and mainstream media was over the top.