You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo of the station Google Streetview

Car belonging to Donegal garda set on fire in suspected arson attack

Nobody has been arrested in relation to the incident.

THE PERSONAL CAR of a member of An Garda Síochána was set on fire in a suspected arson attack in Donegal this morning.

The incident occurred outside the local station in the small village of Kilmacrenan at about 5.45am.

No arrests have been made in relation to the incident and investigations continue. The population of Kilmacrenan is less than 1,000, according to the latest Census.

A similar incident was reported in county Clare earlier this month. A vehicle belonging to a female garda was destroyed in a fire at Scarriff garda station on 20 March.

Three arrested on suspicion of arson attack at garda station

Gardaí feel like ‘sitting ducks’ after decision to withdraw Uzi submachine guns

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

49 Comments
    Mute Barry Doyle
    Favourite Barry Doyle
    Mar 31st 2013, 6:18 PM

There’s no respect for the gardai or the fire service anymore. When I was a kid I was afraid to look twice at a Garda and I turned out ok. Now a Garda can’t look twice at someone without that person running off to the ombudsman to make a complaint. The fire and ambulance service is probably the most important service in the country and yet more and more personnel are being attacked. Some people need to try raising their kids instead of dragging them up.

Mute Ray Toomey
    Favourite Ray Toomey
    Mar 31st 2013, 6:25 PM

Unfortunately the PC brigade has run riot in this country eroding law,order,respect and siding on the side of the poor criminal.

Mute MB
    Favourite MB
    Mar 31st 2013, 6:38 PM

I had dealings with gards from Coolock garda station yesterday and I have to tell ye, the one I dealt with directly was one of the most courteous, helpful and soundest gards ive ever come across. He was about the same age as me. There was a mutual respect there. He was a pleasure to deal with.

Mute Eamonn Bolger
    Favourite Eamonn Bolger
    Mar 31st 2013, 6:40 PM

Absolute toe rags. Hope they’re caught – and sufficiently punished.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Mar 31st 2013, 7:18 PM

The sad thing is that the criminals have more rights than the Garda.
    And they know it.

Mute Patrick O' Brien
    Favourite Patrick O' Brien
    Mar 31st 2013, 8:08 PM

@ Barry Doyle….
    Your 100% correct Barry…….Youngsters and older lads don’t fear anyone anymore……I think Sgt Brannigan in Dublin had the answer years ago, take the offenders down a side-street and hammer the day lights out of them..

This would not work now…..The goverment should open 1 of the Army barracks they closed, and put all of those offenders into it, for the duration of there sentence…….Rack them out of bed at 5 in the morning, have them working all day, every day, then teach them through exercises and drills, how to pass there time, and make Men out of them….

It’s very simple Barry, there is no deterrent, so they will keep on doing it….

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Mar 31st 2013, 8:21 PM

@ Patrick.
    Sgt Jim “Lugs” Brannigan was perhaps one of the most revered and respected Garda this country has ever seen.
    He was from an era where murder and drugs were rare and even the criminals had respect for him.
    Sadly Ireland has fallen to the most ruthless criminals that have no remorse or respect for anything or anybody and will kill at the drop of a hat.
    If a Garda puts his/her hands on a criminal now they will be sued.

Mute Terence MacSwiney Field
    Favourite Terence MacSwiney Field
    Mar 31st 2013, 8:47 PM

I’ve always believed that anyone convicted and sentenced for more than 12 months should serve the last period of their time in the Army. It’s amazing how their vocabulary will increase by two words “Yes Sir” instead of F** You. People convicted of murder should serve 1 year for every year of the life of the person they killed without parole and a further mandatory sentence for committing a crime of 10 years, with the possibility of Parole within that period. The softly, softly approach hasn’t worked.

Mute Peter Daly
    Favourite Peter Daly
    Mar 31st 2013, 10:56 PM

This attack wouldn’t have happened if the station had been closed!

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Mar 31st 2013, 11:06 PM

Oh great….. I see the muppet daly has as always got to deliver its daily dose of bullsh1t.
    Now daly,you have had your say,be a good little troll and go to hell.

Mute John Clarke
    Favourite John Clarke
    Apr 1st 2013, 12:46 AM

See report released in Seanad last week. Ivana Bacik wants to let half of them out… because prison doesn’t work.

That’s what we’re dealing with, that’s what’s wrong, we’re gone too far in the opposite direction.

We need our police FORCE back. I don’t want a police SERVICE, I want a police FORCE.

Mute Gnik
    Favourite Gnik
    Mar 31st 2013, 6:43 PM

So just so I’m clear, Gary is allowed condone burning out cars, but my comments get deleted if I call him a tool? How about if I call him a moron instead?

Mute texas ranger
    Favourite texas ranger
    Mar 31st 2013, 7:32 PM

I’m with ya. I called them something similar and my comment was blocked. Yet the ‘journal’ has no problem posting all sorts of inflammatory articles. This is the on line version of red tops.

Mute justasheedy
    Favourite justasheedy
    Mar 31st 2013, 6:39 PM

With respect Gary Davis what are you on about. Do you honestly believe gardai enjoy going to evictions. They are solely there to ensure the safety of all parties concerned both those that are being evicted (civil law) and nothing to do with gardai and those doing the eviction. Now what this remark you make has anything to do with this story above (burning out the car) is beyond me.

Mute Eagle eye
    Favourite Eagle eye
    Mar 31st 2013, 6:55 PM

You are especially stupid Gary. Your comment is also completely off topic. As for evictions, do you think they want to be there? Gardai themselves have been evicted I’m sure. They have to ensure bailiffs are not attacked and assaulted and are obliged to attend.

Mute Patrick O' Brien
    Favourite Patrick O' Brien
    Mar 31st 2013, 8:21 PM

@ Eagle eye,

Fully agree with your comments…….The ”Garda” force are there to protect every man, woman, and child in the country to the very best of there ability, but does it not beggar the Question, Who is there to take care of the Gardai, there wives, there children, there property…….They are sitting ducks for sicko’s ..

Mute Eagle eye
    Favourite Eagle eye
    Mar 31st 2013, 7:48 PM

Could we all now come together and evict Gary from this comments section?

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Mar 31st 2013, 6:22 PM

Quick somebody blame it on shatter and the closing of garda stations.

Mute Stuart Hyland
    Favourite Stuart Hyland
    Mar 31st 2013, 6:31 PM

Insurance job……

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Mar 31st 2013, 7:15 PM

Funny how your profile pic is of a head but also look a bit like a dick…. now im sure if i could somehow join the words head and dick together we could identify you

Mute Gary Davis
    Favourite Gary Davis
    Mar 31st 2013, 6:28 PM

Perhaps these two recent events are a sign that the people of Ireland are becoming less and less willing to accept being trod on by the boots of government enforcers as they implement laws that target the natural freedoms that we, as free human beings, should all enjoy. Their presence at evictions is also certainly contributing to the sense of dissatisfaction felt by the general public.

There will no doubt be a number who will argue that the Gardaí are ‘just doing their jobs’ and are enforcing the law in order to uphold justice. I would argue, however, that one can never equate law with justice.

Just because something is legal does not necessarily make it right – on the flip side of that coin, just because something is illegal does not necessarily make it wrong.

They who deign to enforce unjust laws will, as a matter of course, face unjust consequences; this is natural justice in its most basic form. No longer will the people fear the government or those that enforce the ‘rule of law’. It is high time that they in power, and those that enforce their laws, begin to fear the people.

Mute Colm M
    Favourite Colm M
    Mar 31st 2013, 6:33 PM

Quite literally the biggest load of BS ive ever read on this site and when your competition fpr that is Harry Price that is indeed some achievement!

Mute Richard Fitzwell
    Favourite Richard Fitzwell
    Mar 31st 2013, 6:37 PM

Get a grip!! Stupid comment, really proves that this country is in the bin..

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute MB
    Favourite MB
    Mar 31st 2013, 6:39 PM

I agree with ur sentiment.

Mute Eamonn Bolger
    Favourite Eamonn Bolger
    Mar 31st 2013, 6:43 PM

Absolute rubbish Gary. There is no excuse for this. Ever. That’s up there with “people dump rubbish because of the bin charges”. They don’t. They do it because they’re dirty bastards.

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Mar 31st 2013, 6:57 PM

Your only point seems to be that Gardai are present at evictions. Do you know why they are present at evictions? Not to carry them out, but to ensure there is not a breach of the law (by either side). They’ve been present at evictions since 1922. It’s nothing new.

Mute Willie
    Favourite Willie
    Mar 31st 2013, 7:28 PM

You sir are an idiot. That is some load of s@#t.

Mute Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Favourite Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Mar 31st 2013, 7:32 PM

Would ya look at the cut of them Facebook photos! Seriously lad, I dunno which is more embarrassing…
    The fact that you’d come out with such a fukktarded comment like above…Or dare show photos like that in Public!! Nothing a lick of a razor and a kick up the hole to cure both problems!!

Mute Gary Davis
    Favourite Gary Davis
    Mar 31st 2013, 7:33 PM

I will respond to all of the above comments – and explain the reasoning behind my statements – in an hour or two when I am back at a computer. I can understand people disagreeing with the sentiment expressed in my original comment, and I do not for one second condone people’s personal property being destroyed for any reason whatsoever regardless of their profession, but if one decides to take a job enforcing numerous unjust laws then one must expect some level of retaliation at some stage for said enforcement.

My statement regarding Gardaí being present at evictions was simply to illustrate that this presence, rather than actively refusing to allow people be put out of their homes by the Sherriff – regardless of what the unjust laws that they swear to uphold permit – is one reason that the general public may have for being dissatisfied with the police force as a whole.

That dissatisfaction stems from Garda protection and enforcement of the laws of a government that actively encourages and engages in an inflationary fractional reserve banking system; the type of banking system which is the entire reason that we now find ourselves in a position whereby governments are actively stealing money from people to prop up the fractional reserve system of banking.

Again, I will respond to the above poster’s comments when I am back at a computer.

Mute Christy Morrison
    Favourite Christy Morrison
    Mar 31st 2013, 7:36 PM

What a commie based load of horse dung

Mute Willie
    Favourite Willie
    Mar 31st 2013, 7:39 PM

Don’t bother Gary, after that last post you’ve publicly confirmed you’re simpleton status.
    I have no wish to hear any more if you’re rubbish.

Mute Barbara Ledwidge
    Favourite Barbara Ledwidge
    Mar 31st 2013, 7:49 PM

@gary, don’t bother going back to that computer, I for one can’t take any more of your drivel.

Mute justasheedy
    Favourite justasheedy
    Mar 31st 2013, 7:58 PM

Gary Davis could I ask you do you know the guard that was involved. If no then how can you say this particular guard has implemented any unjust laws. Do you know what laws your talking about just for my own information. Again another silly comment to suggest that this guard had it coming because of the job they do. Please don’t reply to anything because you are making a fool of yourself regarding this topic. If you do know the guard involve then you may be in a position to share what lead to the car being burnt out. Was in retaliation to this person doin the job their employed to do and if it was do you think the person who burnt out the car was justified in their actions.

Mute mark nolan
    Favourite mark nolan
    Mar 31st 2013, 8:07 PM

Gary do you think your in a mad max movie or something. Your talking out your hole!

Mute Keith Gleeson
    Favourite Keith Gleeson
    Mar 31st 2013, 8:38 PM

are you one of these freemen of ireland that thinks if he calls himself a freeman is exempt from the irish constitution….

Mute Socrates
    Favourite Socrates
    Mar 31st 2013, 8:56 PM

Yeah stay away from computer. Jesus what BS lol the north Korean state media would love to offer you work

Mute Colm M
    Favourite Colm M
    Mar 31st 2013, 8:57 PM

Gary..again I say that is the biggest load of donkey manure Ive ever read. Grow up ffs!

Mute Sarah Sue
    Favourite Sarah Sue
    Mar 31st 2013, 9:06 PM

You know how theres a weekly ‘most green thumbs’ thread on here? How about a ‘most rambling, deluded, absurd & irrational’ comment?? Coz that pile of non-sense has to be one of the most embarrassingly invalid rants I’v ever seen on here!!!

Mute sean parker
    Favourite sean parker
    Mar 31st 2013, 10:52 PM

Yeah these ‘free men of the state’ are gas , it’s funny how they use public services like transport, or hold driving licenses or many other state provided things but then selectively become one of these ‘free men on the land’ when one of there hobbies is pointed out to be against the law

Mute James Burke
    Favourite James Burke
    Mar 31st 2013, 8:54 PM

Where’s Harry Price he’d love this article the fecker

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Mar 31st 2013, 9:07 PM

Probably busy doing what this article is about!

Mute Emer O'Donnell
    Favourite Emer O'Donnell
    Mar 31st 2013, 9:02 PM

This is the second arson attack in this village in a matter of 3 days.

Mute Jeffrey Finn
    Favourite Jeffrey Finn
    Apr 1st 2013, 12:17 AM

Free man of ireland!! First question is, what do you work at gary? and second, as a free man of ireland who is all against gardai, government etc… Where do you stand on social welfare? Im sure u wouldnt dream of claiming anything from the state to hate so much.

Mute Michael O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael O'Reilly
    Mar 31st 2013, 9:39 PM

Gary’s comments are of course ridiculous. But I will support him on one point. If banks want security at evictions they should have to pay for this themselves ….and be responsible legally for any breaches of peace.

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Mar 31st 2013, 9:55 PM

Thats a great idea micheal it would free up the gardai

Mute Colm M
    Favourite Colm M
    Mar 31st 2013, 10:26 PM

Great idea except for one small thing….there is only ONE law enforcement agency in this country…mind you there are usurpers out there but is this what you want? Please get real…Gardai perform duty at evictions…its not nice..they dont enjoy it but thats life Im afraid and evictions only tend to happen after ALL other avenues are exhausted. Typically this thread about a criminal attack on a Gardas personal property has been hijacked by a bs comment from on the surface a numpty…internet news sites…whineline for internet age!

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Mar 31st 2013, 10:56 PM

Gary where are you?

Mute Seamus McGinty
    Favourite Seamus McGinty
    Mar 31st 2013, 7:28 PM

I suppose the taxpayer will have to foot the bill for this.

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Mar 31st 2013, 7:57 PM

There is this thing called ‘insurance’. Not that you’ll understand, of course.