Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/scyther5

Dublin salesman fined for selling previously crashed cars to customers

Compensation orders have been secured for consumers who had been provided with misleading information.

A DUBLIN CAR salesman found guilty of selling previously crashed vehicles has been fined and ordered to pay compensation to affected consumers.

Brian Fassnidge, formerly of Motorcity, Naas Road, was sentenced in the Dublin District Court yesterday to pay €4,000 in total in fines, €10,000 in costs and €1,000 in compensation to two customers.

This is in addition to the €17,200 he has repaid to ripped-off consumers – a total of €32,200.

The sentencing comes after Fassnidge was convicted of four offences under consumer protection legislation in October 2014 in relation to the sale of two vehicles.

He was also found guilty of breaching the General Products Safety Directive relating to the sale of a dangerous product.

Isolde Goggin of the Competition and Consumer Protection Commission (CCPC), which brought the prosecution, welcomed yesterday’s outcome in a statement.

“This has been a lengthy process but we are happy to see the award of compensation to those consumers who were affected,” she said.

Goggin added that the case shows the CCPC “will use its powers to challenge and take enforcement action against anyone who attempts to mislead consumers or put them at risk in this way”.

Read: 1,400 hoverboards seized at Dublin Port

Read: Here’s what only a few stops on Dublin’s rail lines can do to your rent

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

44 Comments
    Mute James Gallagher
    Favourite James Gallagher
    Dec 8th 2015, 8:06 AM

A slap on the wrist.. should never be allowed sell cars again.

Mute SCO Electrical
    Favourite SCO Electrical
    Dec 8th 2015, 8:07 AM

And that’s only 2 vehicles. How many others are out there.

Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney
    Dec 8th 2015, 9:36 AM

I nearly bought a car from a dealer in Rathcoole who specialise in people carriers. Cars were fantastic spotless nearly to good to be true !! I did a UK HPI check on the reg as all cars are imported from England. Two cars came back as category D write off !! Notes on this your insurance company must be informed. When I asked about this I was shrugged off and told to buy elsewhere

Mute Fred west
    Favourite Fred west
    Dec 8th 2015, 9:38 AM

There is an oul lad who goes by the name of Judas from Tipperary who does the same thing .Around Templemore . He’d sell ya any sort of shite car.

Mute Nosmo King
    Favourite Nosmo King
    Dec 8th 2015, 10:53 AM

Just google this mans father, Brendan Fassnidge, in connection with Liam Lawlor , George Redmond , Quarryvale , etc. and you will get a flavour of this scheister’s pedigree.

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Dec 8th 2015, 11:13 AM

Shane how long ago was that? Curious cause got my car fixed I use word lightly and never fixed what I needed fixe in rathcoole. No way to prove it either as invoice vanished from car.

Mute Nosmo King
    Favourite Nosmo King
    Dec 8th 2015, 11:47 AM
    Mute Betty Condon
    Favourite Betty Condon
    Dec 8th 2015, 12:46 PM

And also his brother clark, now there’s a crook if ever I met one..

Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney
    Dec 8th 2015, 1:50 PM

Fuve it was June this year

Mute Ron
    Favourite Ron
    Dec 8th 2015, 4:01 PM

name and shame

Mute Al-Right
    Favourite Al-Right
    Dec 8th 2015, 8:14 AM

Naas road used car sales garages are notorious for selling dodgy motors..

Make sure if you are buying a used car that you use CarTell for the correct mileage, NCT and insurance history.

A lot of those used cars for sale on the Naas road, and Ballymount areas are all clocked and class D insurance write-off’s

Mute Keith D'Arcy
    Favourite Keith D'Arcy
    Dec 8th 2015, 8:38 AM

It’s perfectly legal for a Class D write off to be returned to the road. A class D write off will be light cosmetic damage only.

Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney
    Dec 8th 2015, 9:37 AM

Keith yes it’s legal but the buyer should be informed.

Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney
    Dec 8th 2015, 11:04 AM

Keith a D write off is not just cosmetic damage ……

Mute Ken O'Neill
    Favourite Ken O'Neill
    Dec 8th 2015, 1:19 PM

Not if you’ve gone through the windscreen.

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Dec 8th 2015, 8:15 AM

Fined!

What is wrong with jail?

Mute Nosmo King
    Favourite Nosmo King
    Dec 8th 2015, 11:17 AM

The jails are full of people who cannot afford tv licences and water tax protesters.

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Dec 8th 2015, 8:14 AM

Delighted.
    It is wank€rs like this that give the noble profession of selling a bad name.

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Dec 8th 2015, 8:34 AM

‘Selling cars is like making love to a beautiful woman’ #swisstony

Mute Patrick j Brady
    Favourite Patrick j Brady
    Dec 8th 2015, 8:21 AM

€1000 in compensation is nothing. Their cars value has lost a lot.more than that. Yer man should have been jailed. Afterall people who could not pay the.tv licence done jail..

Mute Dean Anderson
    Favourite Dean Anderson
    Dec 8th 2015, 8:52 AM

If those buyers had tripped on the footpath the judge would have been throwing thousands at them. They’d have walked out of court pushing a wheelbarrow full of money but sell them a potentially dangerous car that’s lost a ton of resale value, well that’s only worth a few quid…

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Dec 8th 2015, 10:21 AM

@Dean this was the criminal courts… large awards are made in civil courts, there is a difference.. The victims could now take a civil case against the man

Mute Jon Burkin
    Favourite Jon Burkin
    Dec 8th 2015, 8:46 AM

Two years ago I was looking for a second hand car and found one in a garage 2mins from my work, a garage that I have used many times for repairs. I was Quite friendly with the owner. The day before I gave him the cash €7500 I did a online check and found out it was a cat C write off and was clocked.

Mute Ken O'Neill
    Favourite Ken O'Neill
    Dec 8th 2015, 1:13 PM

What did you do about it Jon, I hope you didn’t just leave it at that?

Mute Jon Burkin
    Favourite Jon Burkin
    Dec 9th 2015, 7:54 AM

I just didn’t talk to him again. I drive passed his garage every day.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Dec 8th 2015, 8:20 AM

Brian FassNIDGE…. hmmmmm, sounds like a gangster

Mute Keith Flood
    Favourite Keith Flood
    Dec 8th 2015, 10:39 AM

My brother was sold a car that looked perfect , broke down after two weeks , car dealer repaired it , two weeks later same thing , got a dealership to check it out , unbelievable amount of things wrong under the body even down to incorrect wheel nuts but it has passed the NCT just days before my brother bought . Went over to the dealer with the details of the inspection and demanded the money back , he was swivelling around in the chair like he was Tony Montana , basically told us the car was fine when he sold it and take him to court if we wanted , he didn’t give a rats .
    I gave him 24 hours to return the money or a less patient man than me would pay him a visit .
    He was paid a visit and wet himself returned the money , tax that was paid and petrol money. Wanted assurances that there would be no come back , told him if in six months you haven’t got a hiding you know you are alright .
    Some of them are unbelievable.My brother was driving that car with two kids in the car for 4 weeks .

Mute Ken O'Neill
    Favourite Ken O'Neill
    Dec 8th 2015, 1:24 PM

That’s the only law these low lifes understand, well done you. Love that story.

Mute Jimmy Murphy
    Favourite Jimmy Murphy
    Dec 8th 2015, 8:50 AM

Plenty of that going on, use websites like motorcheck or mywheels.ie before buying a car to avoid becoming victims of these creeps

Mute just readin
    Favourite just readin
    Dec 8th 2015, 9:01 AM

Comments allowed I see… I suspect the Journal has no fear of this type of dodgy business man ….

Mute Greg McGarry
    Favourite Greg McGarry
    Dec 8th 2015, 9:50 AM

He should have been jailed.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Dec 8th 2015, 9:03 AM

Nothing wrong with selling a crashed car, obviously the article is not telling the full story. What this guy has probably done is sell “cut & shuts”, which is two cars welded together. The insurance industry facilitates this by allowing serious write offs to be sold on, ostensibly for parts, and this is a golden opportunity for the unscrupulous.

Mute Jax Maxwel
    Favourite Jax Maxwel
    Dec 8th 2015, 9:24 AM

Might only have been that he didn’t disclose that they had been previously crashed or lied about it. Garages are required by consumer law to give you any of these details when requested.

Mute Seamus Brady
    Favourite Seamus Brady
    Dec 8th 2015, 12:25 PM

He should have no problem getting elected to the city council

Mute voice of raisin
    Favourite voice of raisin
    Dec 8th 2015, 1:38 PM

There may be some honest car dealers around the Naas road area, but if there are, they are surrounded by complete bandits. It’s not worth the risk buying a car around there unfortunately.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Dec 8th 2015, 2:00 PM

Probably simi members as well

Mute voice of raisin
    Favourite voice of raisin
    Dec 8th 2015, 5:48 PM

Actually, there is at least one place that I know of that is a SIMI member. But when you look at the paperwork closely, you’re actually buying the car from a different business name which is non-SIMI.

Anyway, SIMI means very little. It’s just a lobbying group for car dealers and is pretty much useless for consumers.

Mute Ken O'Neill
    Favourite Ken O'Neill
    Dec 8th 2015, 1:19 PM

Huge windows on all those used car salesrooms on the Naas road.

Mute William Furlong
    Favourite William Furlong
    Dec 8th 2015, 3:41 PM

Bought car few years ago from SIMI dealer, just out of warranty (13 months) developed serious engine prob and needed new engine. Vehicle was UK import and dealer took vehicle back and gave suitable replacement. Transpired vehicle was clocked in UK verified by main dealer records. Strongly recommend online check when buying any car.

Mute Dublin Slagger
    Favourite Dublin Slagger
    Dec 8th 2015, 10:00 PM

Don’t buy anything from the “Dealership” at Harold’s Cross bridge. It is far too easy for them to sell crashed cars. If a bad accident was to happen, they should be charged with manslaughter. #dodgy #ken

Mute lida parker
    Favourite lida parker
    Dec 15th 2015, 7:02 AM

joy can get some awesome cars form http://www.rentcars247.com/

Mute Range Rover P38
    Favourite Range Rover P38
    Dec 8th 2015, 6:59 PM

jeez. Bunch of worriers.