You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Elizebeth Wall (6) joined members of the Travelling community at a candlelight vigil in Carrickmines last week.

Major traffic restrictions in Bray for first of Carrickmines funerals

Large crowds are expected to attend. Here are the traffic arrangements…

Updated at 10am

LARGE CROWDS ARE expected to pay their final respects to the victims of the Carrickmines fire this week.

Ten people – including young children – lost their lives in the halting site tragedy in the early hours of Saturday 10 October.

The first of the funerals takes place in Bray, Co Wicklow this afternoon – and major traffic restrictions are being put in place in the town this morning, ahead of the service.

According to AA Roadwatch:

“The cortege will travel via Herbert Rd, Castle St, Upper Dargle Rd, into Fassaroe Estate, back onto Dargle Rd via Blind Lane, back onto the N11 exiting at Bray South and turning onto Killarney Rd to Springfield Cemetery.”

bray The location of the service, at the Holy Redeemer Church.

Traffic restrictions will be in place in the town between 11am to 2pm.

However, gardaí are advising motorists to avoid Bray between 11am and 3pm as there is expected to be major disruption to traffic.

Both the car parks at Herbert Road and Florence Road will be closed from 7am and reserved for those attending the funeral.

Services

Today’s service is for Willie Lynch, 25, his partner Tara Gilbert, 27, and their two children Jodie, 9, and Kelsey, 4. Willie’s brother Jimmy Lynch, 39, will also be laid to rest.

Their requiem mass will be celebrated at the Church of the Most Holy Redeemer in the Co Wicklow town at midday.

The removal of Sylvia Connors, Thomas Connors and their three children Jim, Christy and Mary (who was only six-months-old) will be held at the Church of the Ascension of the Lord in Balally, south Dublin, at 5pm tomorrow.

Their funeral mass will take place at the Dublin church on Thursday at 11.30am. A procession will then take place to the Church of the Assumption, Bride Street, in Wexford town, arriving at 5pm.

Prayers will be held in Wexford at midday the following day, followed by burial at Crosstown Cemetery.

Rockville Drive dispute

Meanwhile environment minister Alan Kelly has said he hopes “common sense” will prevail in the ongoing dispute over plans to house survivors of the fire at a site on Rockville Drive, a few hundred metres from the site of the blaze.

Talks between residents of the cul-de-sac and Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council have been ongoing since last Wednesday.

Residents blocked equipment from accessing the site last Tuesday, saying there hadn’t been proper consultation ahead of the move. The Council has said the temporary halting site will be in place for six months only.

“I support the local authority manager 100 percent in her actions,” Kelly said this morning.

“Remember this is a temporary site. It is not a site that’s going to be there permanently, and I think that should be borne in mind.”

Read: Oscar Pistorius has been released from prison a day early

Read: Government-funded museum removes art installation after Spanish Embassy complaint

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

34 Comments
    Mute Colm
    Favourite Colm
    Aug 28th 2018, 7:12 AM

Lads, this article is riddled with typos and grammatical errors. Does anyone read before posting?

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Aug 28th 2018, 7:27 AM

@Colm: the errors are actually code for Journal employees in the comments section. They know what to do.

Mute Paul Devlin
    Favourite Paul Devlin
    Aug 28th 2018, 8:02 AM

@Colm: ‘it smees’? Even my crappy old phone gives a red line to ‘smees’ as being wrong. What do the journo staff use to produce their copy, a ZX81?

Mute Hellenize Dublin
    Favourite Hellenize Dublin
    Aug 28th 2018, 8:55 AM

@Colm: yeah, seems is spelled backwards- smees- I almost had to look up the word / thought I was having a stroke

Mute Dan Bradley
    Favourite Dan Bradley
    Aug 28th 2018, 6:59 AM

Who controls the British crown?
    Who keeps the metric system down?

Mute Anthony McGovern
    Favourite Anthony McGovern
    Aug 28th 2018, 7:02 AM

@Dan Bradley: we do. We doooo

Who keeps Atlantis off the maps?
    Who keeps the Martians under wraps?

Mute Daniel O'Connor
    Favourite Daniel O'Connor
    Aug 28th 2018, 7:19 AM

@Anthony McGovern: who holds back the electric car? Who makes Steve Guttenberg a star?

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Aug 28th 2018, 8:48 AM

@Daniel O’Connor: Who keeps quoting lines from The Simsons thinking it makes them creative?

Mute Keith Murdiff
    Favourite Keith Murdiff
    Aug 28th 2018, 9:59 AM

@David McShite: Who can’t spell Simpsons….

Mute Keith Murdiff
    Favourite Keith Murdiff
    Aug 28th 2018, 10:01 AM

@David McShite: Who can’t spell Simpsons…

Mute Keith Murdiff
    Favourite Keith Murdiff
    Aug 28th 2018, 10:03 AM

@David McShite: who can’t spell Simpsons? That’s a bit embarrassing..

Mute Kem Trayle
    Favourite Kem Trayle
    Aug 28th 2018, 11:28 AM

@Keith Murdiff: Not as embarrassing as your three attempts to reply :-D

Mute Tyler Williams
    Favourite Tyler Williams
    Aug 28th 2018, 7:03 AM

“One thing we found out for sure though: this race is going to be gas.”
    What is it with the word “Gas” and TheJournal? Is it a contractual thing to constantly use it or something?

Mute Conor Walsh
    Favourite Conor Walsh
    Aug 28th 2018, 7:17 AM

@Tyler Williams: it’s a cryptic clue to the flatulence problem in the journal office caused by the cheap lidl coffee they all drink

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    Aug 28th 2018, 7:30 AM

Take it Gemma O’Docherty wasn’t there or can’t the journal comment as the algorithm classifies it as ‘possibly toxic’ .

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    Aug 28th 2018, 7:52 AM

Gallagher was a secret member of the cult of FF , until he was unmasked with an envelope in his hand . Doh !

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Aug 28th 2018, 9:50 AM

Great attitude from Duffy. Asked if there is corruption in Ireland he says yes but he prefers to ignore it. Presidential material! Love the booklet idea. Just in case you can’t take it all in in one go lol

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Aug 28th 2018, 7:06 AM

This lot should first try and get elected at the forthcoming local elections because all they’re presenting is basic political stuff. We need people who are above petty politics to try for the Presidency. As for the question about membership of a secret society, stupid really , because it’s a secret and not for public announcing.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Aug 28th 2018, 6:13 PM

@John Campbell: Worth considering, though. No one minds people having a hobby, but secrecy implies a political agenda overriding the role.

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Aug 28th 2018, 7:11 AM

First rule of fight club…

Mute Liam
    Favourite Liam
    Aug 28th 2018, 7:31 AM

its not a secret if you tell people ssshhhhhh

Aug 28th 2018, 8:56 AM

It seems like FF and FG are the secret organizations because they’re both detached from the public and are always trying to fool the people these days.

Mute Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Favourite Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Aug 28th 2018, 3:47 PM

@Adrian: FF, FG and SF all have the required seats to have their Ard Fheis televised on RTÉ.

If you can stomach it, you can sit through hours of members (from grass roots up to TDs) proposing policy motions and the delegates voting on it.

Hardly secret societies. Sure the senior leadership will discuss some strategy behind closed doors, but so would any business.

As for people being fooled, we will probably never have a single party in government again (a good thing), so if you take an election manifesto at face value then you’re fooling yourself. Any party will have to negotiate a program for government, so all you’re being promised is a negotiating position, which you can weigh up against the likely strength if he party you vote for

Mute James keaty
    Favourite James keaty
    Aug 28th 2018, 11:52 AM

FFS NO DANA? Country is gone to shite altogether!