You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A Dublin man checks out the newly-uncensored Playboy magazine in 1995 PA/PA Archive/Press Association Images

Censored: The 274 books and magazines still banned in Ireland today

How To Drive Your Man Wild in Bed is still banned in Ireland. Here’s why.

IRELAND HAS NEVER had a great track record when it comes to censorship.

From Monty Python’s Life of Brian to Baise-moi, from A Clockwork Orange to Natural Born Killers, many of Ireland’s film and book censors – especially in the first four decades after independence – used their role to enforce strict and at times draconian morals on the public.

The role has changed a lot in the past decade: the film censor has been rebranded as the film classification office and focuses more on what rating to give films than whether they should be banned, while the book and magazine censorship board now receives a tiny number of complaints from the public and rarely – if ever – bans anything.

But the legacy of the harsh censorship regime remains in the list of books and magazines that are still banned in Ireland. There are 274 books and magazines banned in Ireland today – but some have been fighting back.

What books are banned in Ireland now?

(Photo:Graham Hughes/Photocall Ireland)

Books can be banned for two different reasons in Ireland:

• For being indecent or obscene
  • For advocating the procurement of abortion or miscarriage, or the use of any method, treatment or appliance for the purpose of procuring an abortion

The Censorship of Publications Board, made up of five people appointed by the Minister for Justice, is in charge of deciding whether a book can be banned or not, but it can’t act on its own accord – it has to receive a complaint before it can assess whether a book should be added to the list of prohibited publications.

Right now, there’s a grand total of zero books banned for being indecent or obscene. Books about abortion, on the other hand, are a different matter.

Eight books are currently banned in Ireland for providing information on how to procure abortion. Three of the books are explicitly about abortion: Abortion Internationally (banned since 1983), Abortion: Our Struggle for Control (also banned in 1983) and Abortion: Right or Wrong (banned seventy years ago in 1942).

Unexpectedly, four of the other five are sex guides. How to Drive Your Man Wild in Bed has been banned in Ireland since 1985, while The Complete Guide to Sex has been banned since 1990 because they appear to contain information about the procurement of abortion. Make it Happy: What Sex is All About, The Book of Love, and the slightly more medical The Love Diseases have all been banned since the early 1980s.

The books banned under the abortion rule have fallen foul of a strange loophole.  All eight of the books were banned before the 1992 referendum which made it legal for information about abortion in other countries to be made available in Ireland (through books, pamphlets, etc), so technically they should be permissible. However while most books are unbanned 12 years after they were first banned, the legislation governing censoring books brought in a different rule for abortion books which means the 12 year rule doesn’t apply. Because of this, all eight of the books will remain banned indefinitely until someone appeals the banning.

Despite much talk to the contrary, Ulysses by James Joyce was never actually banned by the Censorship of Publications Board. Instead, the government used a customs loophole which prevented it from being allowed into Ireland.

What magazines and periodicals are banned in Ireland?

(Photo: Dave Thompson/PA Wire)

Far more magazines than books are banned in Ireland, but for much more varied reasons. 266 magazines are currently banned in Ireland; a strange mixture of hardcore pornography, crime magazines from the 1950s and 60s, and ones which inexplicably fell foul of the censor at the time (Broadway and Hollywood Movies, Eye: People and Pictures, and Health and Efficiency magazines are all banned).

Some of the bannings are unexpected: the British edition of the News of the World was technically banned up until it was closed down by Rupert Murdoch last summer. Ireland’s Daily Sport, including the Daily Sport, was banned in 1995, as was its weekend version. Hustler magazine has been banned since 1981 and Playgirl has been banned since 1974.

A large number of the banned magazines are about crime, with many of the titles sounding somewhat quaint now.  Amazing Detective Cases was banned in 1958, as was Detective Weekly, while Famous Crime Stories was banned in 1959.  All were banned for having “an unduly large proportion of space for the publication of matter related to crime”.

Meanwhile Big Ones International  (banned 1997), Man’s Conquest (1960), Romp (1981) and Scamp Magazine (1963) remain sadly unavailable on Irish shelves. Some magazines have managed to get around the ban by bringing out different versions: so while magazines like Hustler are banned, spin-off magazines with similar titles can get around the ban.

Others have started to fight back. Late last year, a distributor of porn magazines successfully appealed against the banning of five magazines, which led to them being taken off the list of prohibited publications.One of the magazines, Razzle, had been prohibited in Ireland since 1935 before the ban was overturned.

Unlike with books, where bans last for 12 years before they expire, magazines remain banned indefinitely.

More recent bannings and the introduction of Playboy

(Photo: Photocall Ireland)

Banning publications isn’t all in the distant post: In Dublin magazine was banned by the Censorship of Publications Board in 1999 after a complaint about the explicit nature of the advertisements for massage parlours which populated the back pages of the listings magazine. The Board banned the sale and distribution of the magazine for six months for being “unusually or frequently indecent or obscene”, in a move that caused huge outcry over censorship and lack of accountability.

The High Court lifted the ban when it came to court and said that the publishers of the magazine should have been given an opportunity to state their case before the Board before the ban was implemented.

At the other end of things, Playboy magazine was unbanned in Ireland in January 1996 (and quickly become the highest-selling men’s title in the country).

“Morals have changed,” said a spokesperson for the Censorship of Publications Board. “What was considered obscene in the 1940s is very different to what is considered obscene today”.

Read: The full list of publications banned in Ireland (PDF)

Previous explainers: Ireland and abortion: the facts >

Ireland is becoming a hub for Islamic finance – but what exactly is it? >

Our Explainer articles bring context and explanations in plain language to help make sense of complex issues. We're asking readers like you to support us so we can continue to provide helpful context to everyone, regardless of their ability to pay.

38 Comments
    Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    May 27th 2013, 2:32 PM

Surely just placing a curse on the culprit would’ve been sufficient.

Mute Lee Cahill
    Favourite Lee Cahill
    May 27th 2013, 2:31 PM

Idiot.

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    May 27th 2013, 3:09 PM

“You wait till I get you home!!….”
    :-D

Mute Cathal Reidy
    Favourite Cathal Reidy
    May 27th 2013, 4:11 PM

well to be fair this happened “some years ago” and the kid is now 15 so the real idiots are the parents.

Mute Danielle Reck
    Favourite Danielle Reck
    May 27th 2013, 2:42 PM

Similar happened in Newgrange recently when a group of students decided to draw one of the kerbstones. Needless to say they were kicked off the tour. Their guide told us it happens quite regularly.

Mute Keith Holland
    Favourite Keith Holland
    May 27th 2013, 4:02 PM

Kilmainham Gaol is the same. Sad really

Mute Gadfly
    Favourite Gadfly
    May 28th 2013, 10:10 PM

Maybe a few days in a cell there would sort them out.

Mute Oisín Ó Dubhláin
    Favourite Oisín Ó Dubhláin
    May 27th 2013, 4:04 PM

There is graffiti on the walls of the first makeshift gas chamber in Auschwitz. I couldn’t believe anyone would be so ignorant and obnoxious to think their name needed to be scraped into the wall in that place. I had to ask the guide if it was in fact tourists. Utterly disgusted. People like that deserve a good kicking for their arrogance and selfishness.

Mute Seán O' Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O' Sullivan
    Jun 5th 2013, 2:44 PM

I know probably the worst possible place you could deface, you have no slight l feel of what it could have been like until you’ve visited it and Dachau both. Its the most offensive defacement I can think of!

Mute David Barrett
    Favourite David Barrett
    May 27th 2013, 2:46 PM

I was on a tour of Auschwitz in 2009, and while in the underground cells I could see graffiti on the walls of people who had visited. It is very bad taste to ruin historial sites like that but going on a “human flesh search” is just crazy.

Mute Liam Wolfe
    Favourite Liam Wolfe
    May 27th 2013, 3:09 PM

I agree Mr. Barrett. What delightfully well made point.

May 27th 2013, 2:43 PM

Spoilt little vandal is what he is.

Mute just readin
    Favourite just readin
    May 27th 2013, 2:54 PM

Yes not wise, but fair play to the parents for taking responsibility for the upbringing and education of their own child …. Something you rarely hear round these parts

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    May 27th 2013, 3:48 PM

Could be worse , he could have etched a ‘knob and balls’ on yer man, you know the graffiti I’m on about.

Mute Andrew Telford
    Favourite Andrew Telford
    May 27th 2013, 2:57 PM

His parents should be liable for the damage and have to pay to have it restored completely and professionally

Mute Kevin O'Brien
    Favourite Kevin O'Brien
    May 27th 2013, 5:31 PM

Do you know someone who restores priceless Egyptian artifacts? Perhaps submit their name to the Journal who can forward it on?

Mute Andrew Telford
    Favourite Andrew Telford
    May 27th 2013, 5:48 PM

I’m going to go out on a limb here and say a Restoration Archaeologist…. (It’s actually a career)

Here’s a list of schools with degree programs in the subject.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conservation_and_restoration_training

Mute hsianloon
    Favourite hsianloon
    May 27th 2013, 6:58 PM

Why are people red thumbing you? Parents are responsible for their children’s behaviour

Mute bob®
    Favourite bob®
    May 27th 2013, 3:46 PM

In the Prado museum in Madrid few wks ago.written on wall on third floor in permenant market,”I love waterford’ up the deisa”. Goys must be breaking his easle over his knee!

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    May 27th 2013, 8:25 PM

no one would write it like that, certainly not with the misspelling, pics or it didnt happen

May 27th 2013, 8:57 PM

Sean was it you?

Mute Good News Caravan
    Favourite Good News Caravan
    May 27th 2013, 5:24 PM

A Ding short of a Dong.

Mute Wobble
    Favourite Wobble
    May 27th 2013, 3:50 PM

Im getting a little bored of seeing things on the journal about 12 hours after I see them on reddit. Its like a fake linkdump which doesnt acknowlege its sources.

Mute Sharon Clifford
    Favourite Sharon Clifford
    May 27th 2013, 4:03 PM

Delete the app so!!!

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    May 28th 2013, 8:21 AM

Hi Wobble,

I didn’t source this from Reddit initially. Hence why the acknowledgement is to the Global Times. When we spot anything on Reddit and use it for a story, we always credit and link back.

Also, Reddit is a two-way street. People post our stuff there, we post interesting stuff/news/Daily Edge items here. For example: http://thedailyedge.thejournal.ie/dungarvan-zombie-survival-923054-May2013/

Thanks
    Sinéad

Mute Michelle Philpot
    Favourite Michelle Philpot
    May 27th 2013, 3:23 PM

I know Chinese, it says:

‘Ding woz ere’

Mute Paul Clancy
    Favourite Paul Clancy
    May 27th 2013, 5:17 PM

Yes he was an idiot. He should have included a date.

Before the red thumbs start that’s sort of tongue in cheek. Many Egyptian monuments have graffiti on them, some are from the Roman occupation and some are from the French invasion by Napolean. They all have “X” was here and usually a date. Don’t be to hard on the idiot. History is full if them :-)

Mute Justin Devaney
    Favourite Justin Devaney
    May 27th 2013, 2:37 PM

That must be a record Sinead

Mute Limerick Boy
    Favourite Limerick Boy
    May 27th 2013, 2:57 PM

What’s she doing now justin?

I just had legitimate comments removed from another thread.

Mute Justin Devaney
    Favourite Justin Devaney
    May 27th 2013, 3:08 PM

I had a comment removed within 10 seconds, world record, Limerick Boy.

Mute Skip Goose
    Favourite Skip Goose
    May 27th 2013, 3:41 PM

They are busy at it today.. Monday blues

Mute Curry Chips
    Favourite Curry Chips
    May 27th 2013, 7:34 PM

Some idiot has spray painted one of the walls of Swords castle with big letters and smiley faces and all sorts of stupid rubbish! Makes me sick!

Mute sean fitzgearld
    Favourite sean fitzgearld
    May 27th 2013, 7:22 PM

Why do all these teens think that their graffiti is some kind of art. It’s absolute shi ..te and shows they have no brain or talent. Going around town tagging nice areas with their doodling that nobody want to look at.1000 hours comunity service min if caught. And 100 euro reward to anyone who shops them.

Mute John Redmond
    Favourite John Redmond
    May 27th 2013, 10:22 PM

He could have wrote something funny like where’s my mummy?

Mute Pete Foley
    Favourite Pete Foley
    May 27th 2013, 3:31 PM

Ah teenager with good taste ;)

Mute joseph mcgee
    Favourite joseph mcgee
    May 27th 2013, 5:15 PM

If yer gonna go,,, go big! :-)

Mute Keith Dickinson
    Favourite Keith Dickinson
    May 27th 2013, 10:00 PM

I recall on a visit to Shakespeares House there was a window in the upstairs room covered in etched graffiti. It was the highlight of the trip. Royalty, the high and mighty, unknowns. It was fascinating reading. I don’t want to justify what the kid did but perhaps history will judge him more kindly.

Mute Tony Le Blanc
    Favourite Tony Le Blanc
    May 27th 2013, 9:26 PM

Tattoo some hieroglyphics on the little boll*x boll*x and see how keen he is to repeat offend…… or sit down for a while

Mute Lorraine Mc Grath
    Favourite Lorraine Mc Grath
    May 27th 2013, 7:39 PM

Plonker

Mute Shane Mullally
    Favourite Shane Mullally
    May 28th 2013, 9:13 AM

Detest graffiti on anything,it’s just mindless vandalism,answer them better if they practised their writing skills in their homework,instead of on walls,etc…that’s of course provided they can prise their fingers off Xbox games!!..

Mute Ian Campbell
    Favourite Ian Campbell
    May 28th 2013, 7:50 AM

I bet there would not be as much an issue if I wrote “ian danced here” on maggies grave!!

Mute Seamus Kennedy
    Favourite Seamus Kennedy
    May 28th 2013, 12:14 AM

Sum kinda Chinese!