You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
THE CENTRAL BANK has published a new Economic Letter, providing a detailed overview of mortgage lending in Ireland last year.
The overview includes data from AIB, Bank of Ireland, Permanent TSB and KBC Bank Ireland and examines characteristics of home buyers as well as how the banks are complying with regulatory limits on mortgage lending.
Its stats show that 29,893 mortgage loans worth €5.7 billion were issued in 2016, with the average first time buyer borrowing €185,939 to buy a home.
Taking a typical first time buyer, single or a couple, the Central Bank says: “FTBs (first time buyers) in 2016 were, on average, 34 years old.
In 2016, the average loan drawn down by FTBs was €185,939 and the average property value was €250,361… The average income of FTBs in 2016 was €67,287.
Over a third of first time buyers bought homes in Dublin, and 90% of them were employees.
Single borrowers, meanwhile, accounted for 56% of first time buyers.
For those granted a mortgage who were not first time buyers, the average loan was €217,602 with an average property price of €390,933 and an average income of €106,421.
Regulations
The analysis also looked at loan-to-value – when mortgage is granted based on the overall value of the property – and loan-to-income – when a mortgage is granted based on someone’s income – limits and if the banks were following them.
For example, the regulations say that a mortgage cannot be granted if the value is 3.5 times a person’s income.
For first time buyers, they borrowed an average of 2.9 times their income for their mortgage last year. Similarly, they borrowed on average 78.8% of the value of their property.
As a result, the average first time buyer would have required a deposit of around €50,000.
The ratio of loan-to-value and loan-to-income mortgages were higher for first time buyers than subsequent buyers, the central bank said, because the latter “usually [carries] equity from a previous property when purchasing a new dwelling”.
The main reason people got a mortgage last year was to live in a home, said the Central Bank.
According to the Economic Letter, “the vast majority of lending was for PDH (private dwelling homes) purchases with limited buy-to-let activity”.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
There’s a value in Irish-ness in international business. While I am as anti paddy whackery as could be, many nations envy the worldwide acknowledgement of our national day. An audience with the leaders of other nations is a nice reminder of our existence
If only it did bring in business, if anything it just aids local politicians in the us, uk and Australia appease their Irish voters. You’re the business man, show us where there is an increase in business as a result of this participating in (what other countries see as) a binge drinking festival? Show me the business leader in Atlanta that wants to be in pictures with the guy from the cover of time (again hard, because he wasn’t on the cover of time in the us, only the UK edition). See this for what it is, a junket. Local Irish communities the world over from Stockholm to Singapore to shanghai to Santiago have been organising their own festivals for years just fine.
It’s not begrudgery, it’s seeing a waste of (our) money for what it is. Show me the part of a minister’s brief that is helped by p1ssing off for breakfast lunches and evening pints with the ambassador, and I’ll show you an opportunity to save some money. Show me the business benefit that a rural TD leading a parade in Abu Dhabi that would not be there already, and then it makes sense – but it doesn’t.
Alien8 your a t!t………if a politician spends €100,000 on that “Junket” and mixes with buissnessmen to promote Ireland as a good place to do business and if only one of them comes here and pumps €10,000,000 into setting up shop here that’s money well spent in my opinion….. Go back to sleep you clown….
A more apt name than mine… Where is this €10m investment then? Google all you want, but there is no return (apart from votes on both sides). Do you honestly think the head of InCode, Coca Cola or AT&T or any other Atlanta company is going to divert investment on the basis of getting a dinner with a politician. The terms are well known to business leaders of doing business in Ireland. Our politicians going to SXSW is as valuable as Enda at web summit – an industry joke. Show me the figures, and I’ll sit down, but there are none – and this week costs damn more than just €10k or whatever other figure you pick out of your ar$e.
The IDA are one of the few Govt Agency’s I have respect for. They are absolutely world class. We will be watching Paul O’Connell and the lads line out for our country today, Martin Shanahan and his team do it week in week out..
On fella on the Sligo peoples debate reminded us all we spend money on our Embassies in these countries to promote our existence, and likewise businesses in Ireland are pushing for their own export opportunities with or without a politician, the deal being the real acid test. The IDA and Enterprise Ireland spent 14 billion since the crash of 2008 on Trade and Employment. Are we really getting value for money from that when the majority of inward investment pays little corporation tax. Currently our VAT contributes more than these companies and of course who would want to come and live and work in Ireland when paying 1,600 euro in tax each year just to fuel the average car, given that this is still the 4th most expensive county to run one in !
I wish that these clowns did the business but the sad thing is they don’t. Is there one of them with a slight bit of style and presence. They are there for a good time and to hell with it. They are taking what they can. I travel all over the world and despite what the Irish thinks there are millions and millions of people that don’t know where Ireland is. Our tourist boards are a joke and are only concerned with places where Ireland is known. I have been in Vietnam , Malaysia and now in Tokyo and they people still don’t know us. The Irish bar I was in tonight had wonderful Guinness at 3 Euro a pint.They were selling “Britain is the Place” shopping bags . They guy behind the bar was a nice guy but he thought we were next to Australia. Sorry to tell they are the facts.
You want the truth,You can’t handle the truth………there’s a lot of background work done to get the likes of Google , Facebook ,IBM ,Intel …..just to name a few to come and do business here …what do you think happens they just spin a bottle and wherever it Land’s they head for……business men love the whole dinner thing and speeches and all that so if that’s what it takes to make them come here then yes I am all for that….
It is a pity that there are not more of our business people prostituting the nation abroad throughout the year in a positive way at trade and commerce shows rather than sending our councillors over to prop up the bars in New York for St. Patricks Day…no wonder people abroad do not take this country seriously.
As long as politicians don’t start taking the p1ss and use tax payers money for business class flights, Michelin restaurants or 5 star hotels, I dont see the problem with it.
@AL CA, Since SF doesn’t allow its deputies to be paid fully i think it is fair to assume part or all of Mary Lou’s lavish first class trip to oz was tax payer funded.
As stated clearly at the time, as McDonald travelled in her capacity as party leader to promote SF overseas, the flight and expenses were paid for from party funds. If you have evidence to the contrary please post it here….
@Beano – I don’t mind paying my tax money to put representatives of our country on business class flights for business, looks unprofessional and lazy if you arrive at the country in coach.
I don’t mind my tax money paying for Mary Lou to travel business class out of the country, I just object to paying to bring her back. Party funds partly come from the exchequer btw.
Party funds which we as taxpayers unwillingly contribute to as the TD’s draw down their full salary take minimum wage for themselves and put remainder into party funds. So we did pay for her first class travel. Also why does she need to travel to Australia to promote SF? Just shows the difference, SF all about party government parties all about country.
Yeah paul its hard to look after all these golden circles and lobbyists for banks and international corporations, while keeping everyone else is paying ridiculously high tax rate and getting close to third world services.
Al Ca – Enda Kenny has truly become a huge liability wherever he goes – his arrogance and ignorance levels are beyond the Richter Scale .
Gladly , the good Citizens of Atlanta, have already found this out !
Paul you speak of what you do not know. As per usual. Mary lous trip & flights were widely reported to have been paid by the very people she was visiting in Australia. In your attempt to try to slag SF, you only make yourself look bad.
Are you attempting to claim that when the deputy leader of a political party travels on party business to promote said party, that they should foot the bill themselves?
Y’see, this is why the grown ups find the troll accounts laughable. They’re obviously from young party members who have no idea how things work in the real world.
Paul, those same opinion polls show that the current government is still a massive gulf away from having a majority of support from the Irish electorate.
So happy the world knows what Enda is like, hope it will make him think but i doubt it too busy filling his pockets. I hope they ask him loads of questions about how the people feel in how he governs Ireland his face will be puce.
Sometimes there is good reason to begrudge, how may of Irelands county councillors and CEO’s will be travelling to New York again for celebrations instead of supporting local parades at home.
Enda kenny condescending attitude towards the irish people is sickening more in there line stay at home and donate the cost of the trip’s to hospitals /homeless /and the hungry he’s not promoting the ordinary person in America
I have no problem with politicians going all over the world selling Ireland, it’s a fantastic opportunity to showcase our country. My problem is the calibre of buffoons that are selling it, some of them are just a absolute embarrassment and shouldn’t be let outside their parishes. Just my opinion.
Well who do you suggest? Adams the “never in the ira” dont know where the rapists we moved are liar. Ferris the gun smuggler, McDonald of the no mind of her own, Pearse whose sums don’t add up etc etc
So you don’t agree with me , ergo you are a shill for SF! Correct me if I’m wrong jammy just following your logic through, or are you per chance wrong. Its just the first thing you sling when you’ve been made to look pathetic lobbing opinions from your anonymous monkey headed account. Put up your face and name and maybe you’ll earn some respect.
So, in March 2017, when SF are in government (yeah, can’t wait!), they will send Martin Ferris, Aonghus O’Snodaigh, Dessie Elis. Michael Colreavy, and David Cullinane. They’ll do a great job representing Ireland.
Hopefully Sinn Fein’s ugly message that no member of the Royal Family is welcome at 1916 commemorations will send the right message that we are a backward looking nation, insecure in our ability to relate to our neighbours and diplomatically puerile.
World War II nations now, and for some decades, make great efforts to maintain friendship and diplomacy, for the good that comes from continued peace, cultural relations, trade and mutual prosperity.
Yet Sinn Fein wants Ireland to live in a cave, divisive and hating all around. And sees it as a reason for rapturous applause from the shinnerbots at the Ard Fheis. Really pathetic.
That’s an impossible goalpost as it is simply too difficult to keep track of it. Sure you might be able to follow the big announcements but it’s the SME’s hiring 1-10 people which will slip under the radar.
Multi nationals come to ireland for our tax rates and educated work force. When they can get the same elsewhere at a cheaper rate they will move there. Welcome to globalisation in the 21st century.
I think it’s because they do it while quaffing cognac and champers is what gets everyone’s goat up. Not to mention tax payer funded manicures and escort services ;)
85,000 minimum wage job activation schemes zero hour contracts plus slavesbridge. They have merely turned ireland into a cheap labour bin for their mates while a multiple of that number fled the country seeking a living wage.
Enda Kenny and FG as a whole promised the electorate that, by the time of the next election, they would generate 100,000 net job growth. They may have created 80,000 jobs but around 60,000 were lost in the same period. They’ve now conveniently changed their rhetoric from “net job growth” to “new jobs”.
Good luck trying to get Michael O’Leary into the White House. They’ve never heard of him. Possibly they’ve never heard of Enda Kenny either, but they have to let him in because that’s how the world works.
Boeing have heard of him, obviously. We’re talking about the White House though. They’re only interested in businessmen who vote, lobby or donate to election campaigns.
Am I right in saying a TD is going to Ethiopia for St. Patricks Day, I wonder how that will be beneficial, and to Moscow as well. How are these beneficial, especially with current sanctions.
@pjm – the country doesn’t matter, we trade with nearly every country in the world and Ethiopia is one which has a lot of international development funds to spend on items that Ireland provides (services, consulting and infrastructure development). Don’t believe those trocaire boxes for one minute – Ethiopia is growing, although you can find poverty everywhere if it suits your brief. Now, will a TD going for a visit to Addis Ababa increase their spending? Unlikely, unless they have a very tight understanding of what we offer and what they need – now who are we sending?
We do not need the annual Paddy’s day junkets to bring jobs here.
The educated english speaking work force and the lowest corporation tax rate in Europe does it all by itself.
regrettably the only beneficiaries of little Ireland being little “Liechtenstein on the Liffey”, are our overpaid politicians, countless Quangoistas and public sector workers.
The rest of us are fleeced to keep it all going.
No normal country with so much industry would have to keep borrowing money every week from bondholders just to pay government employees and their pensions.
The water taxes are a blatant attempt to turn a human right into an indigenous, semi state owned industry worth maybe 30 billion Euros in future years when polished up for sale to a multi national water company.
Except the people have had enough.
Let these new multinational companies contribute towards the new water treatment plants needed all over Ireland.
you venal politicians have sucked the marrow from the bone.! http://i62.tinypic.com/au8r43.jpg
18 versus 18 thumbs,multiplied by one hundred thousand,implies a civil war between the prosperous and the not so prosperous.
We are in an era of huge civil disobedience.
There has to be a big turnout of voters come the next election..
if not, the “golden circle” in Irish society will triumph.
The annoyance comes from the fact that we have a whole Foreign Affairs Dept, a whole Diplomatic Corps, the likes of the IDA, FAS (what was FAS), Failte Ireland, on top of Embassies & Consulates, all set up to promote Ireland, carry out trade missions, establish the Irish brand. There isn’t a need to send a minister overseas as well, never mind that it’s a minister for a day or two. Either the Ministers do amazing work, in which case fire the rest of the ambassadors and overseas missions, or its a load of böllïx and ministers are trying to justify a free holiday for themselves.
I agree but when I suggested that to a former minister, I was told that it would constitute a ‘world summit of sorts’ like a G8 meeting or similar. That apparently would attract the anti-brigade, combine those style of protests and the way violence generally erupts at them, with St. Patrick’s day parades around the same area and you’ve got the potential for a disaster on your hands.
I was told if we invited one head of state to Ireland for the celebrations we would have to invite them all.
Selling Ireland ….. Good
St. Patrick’s Day….. Unique in world
Standard of Politicians …. Poor
But we voted them in, teachers, doctors, publicans , . Political party ideology based in 1920s Ireland.. Where are the graduates from politics, economics, law, etc etc. You wouldn’t let a bus driver plumb your house because his dad was a plumber . We need professional politicians, trained ,
We expect a gas fitter to be certified, surely we can ask if a person has a desire to run the country that they be qualified to do so.
Then maybe we can have a proper choice at election time.
A lot of people here would like a host of new ministers in 2016 visiting countries such as Iran, Columbia, N Korea etc. All new ministers would be wearing suitable attire such as: combat jacket; combat trousers; green shirt and tie; webbing; military haversack, beard and black beret. This would show the world the new Ireland with its new world view.
Lyons – aka – Multiple false names/titles.
Gerryphobia Virus at 8.30am and we are speaking about the current Ministers abroad Selling Ireland for St. Patrick’s Day ???
Best take your meds you pure Eegit !!!
Mr O Dowd, firstly; how can you refer to Mr Carey as having a chip on his shoulder, when he makes correct references to Sinn Féin as being paedophile protectors? Within the past week alone, your cult leader has admitted to knowing about abuse cases within SF/IRA which were perpetrated by their own republican paedophiles, not to mention administering their ‘own’ type of justice to these depraved individuals? Based on Mr Carey’s comment, which was in response to yours, it’s fairly evident that your response was purely reactionary, without any basis of a coherent argument or point. Mr Carey made a valid point; last week, SF/IRA were calling for Mary Lou to be the next female Taoiseach, yet, when Mairia Cahill was in Dail Éireann, Mary Lou giggled and laughed at her testimony and she disrespected her – not to mention the fact that Gerry himself has lied on national television during the course of the past week, and, both he and Mary Lou have gone to ground since yesterday because of this latest inconvenience for them. You need to learn how to think for yourself.
Carey caught spoofing again – never fails to amuse me. Poor chap has a massive aversion to facts but possibly that’s because he lives in an alternate universe.
He really is the epitome of the far right looney.
No other country in the world gets this global exposure the world over for 1 day.
The cost is miniscule in comparison to the benefits.
Begrudgers need to grow up, see the bigger picture…
I reckon people wouldn’t mind as much if they weren’t staying in the fanciest hotels, eating the fanciest meals, etc etc.. They could do these trips for less but since it’s all on the taxpayer, they just put arm and all in.
Anyone who has travelled on business will tell you it is far from fun. Tight schedules to keep, multiple people to meet and lots of briefing to be done before hand. Late nights and early mornings and no time to be anything but charming and affable. Also a requirement to look well groomed at all times
Whose jobs will they secure?
Ministers don’t sell anything. They have been known to give things away, look after mates, lie to the people and bury their heads in the sand.
TheJournal.ie comments section is like a weird Stanley Kubrick masquerade ball where everyone hides behind pseudonyms and alias’s. Just without the sexy element.
Will never understand the spinelessness of people who hide behind their comments online, get some nuts folks.
Well said Keith, I have the utmost respect for people I disagree with but put their name and face to comment. The rest are cowardly, even those I agree with.
Yeah sure, I agree. Let’s trade on the paddywhackin image if it brings investment. We’re not an industrialized nation so inward investment is vital for our prosperity. We’ll have the last laugh.
I wonder was there some type of kangaroo court that set free the bankers,regulators and previous Ministers who willfully brought this Country to its knees. Our present Justice system didn’t seem to have any say in it???
Did anyone make any sense out of the paragraph commencing ‘Business leaders our IDA … ‘ ?
Perhaps it is part of a speech to be used on one of these junkets – lots of words that don’t make any sense.
Baffled ……
St Patrick’s Day is our national holiday all these leaders like Barak Obama should be coming over here to me the politicians going abroad is like waking up the day of your birthday and all your family and friends text you to see if your coming to their house so they could wish you a happy birthday
It’s money well spent. It is a great opportunity to sell Ireland overseas and we really do need it.
If any political party in power did not seize this moment to promote Ireland they would be condemned as being complacent and lazy. It’s the least that would be expected and more money should probably be invested in.
Great interview this morning on skynews with english economist about “irelands great economic recovery”. He said basically, its a two tier economy, with the gov getting credit internationally for paying back the gov debt, while the ordinary people in irealnd are stuck with huge debt and many more years of austerity. Makes me sad that an english economist tells it like it really is, while the irish media is full of this gov spin bull about economic recovery.
On fella on the Sligo peoples debate reminded us all we spend money on our Embassies in these countries to promote our existence, and likewise businesses in Ireland are pushing for their own export opportunities with or without a politician, the deal being the real acid test. The IDA and Enterprise Ireland spent 14 billion since the crash of 2008 on Trade and Employment. Are we really getting value for money from that when the majority of inward investment pays little corporation tax. Currently our VAT contributes more than these companies and of course who would want to come and live and work in Ireland when paying 1,600 euro in tax each year just to fuel the average car, given that this is still the 4th most expensive county to run one in !
I think a better impression would be made around the world if we were known for taking care of our elderly and children .Every day we hear of medical cards been taken from children with disabilities and cancer .The elderly left lying on hospital trolleys for days .This situation does not seem to bother our political leaders .All that matters to them is the gravy train that is Irish politics .These junkets are a symbol of the rottenness of Irish politics .
Why the begrudgery you say because they are spending tax payers money for a state paid holiday for themselves and it is not the government who decides what trade comes here as that is up to the ECB as imports and exports have to be calculated in order to not put stress onto the Euro. So in the Eurozone trade discussions for the smaller nations as in the U.K. AS WELL are done by an E.U. trade committee without those nations involved in the committee. So in fact Ireland can not go looking for trade without the permission of the E.U. because of the Euro not being ours to control but the ECB’s?
That is why there seems to be only one type of job coming here and it is for those under 30 who went to college to answer phones and to hit keyboards, where is the real jobs as in manufacturing that would create growth, lower borrowing and create exports o wait a minute we can’t do anything without Merkel’s say so, the Troikas, the IMF or Frankfurts?
It doesn’t say much that this government only looks for work here like this for 1 week out of 52 either lol. But who says this government cares more about its citizens than for the plutocracy in the E.U.
The reason many object is that St Patrick’s Day is the nations National Day. They c an be anywhere in the world on any day, but the National Day is when every government Minister should be in Ireland.
'No-one wants to talk here': The silence surrounding the killing of Claire Collins
Niall O'Connor
10 hrs ago
Earthquake
Myanmar death toll passes 3,300 as rescue efforts continue following major earthquake
20 mins ago
trade war
China slaps extra 34% tariffs on US imports as Trump vows his 'policies will never change'
Updated
17 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say