You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Cancer cell via Shutterstock

Well-off 'more likely to have cervical cancer screening' - except in Northern Ireland

The study showed that Northern Ireland was the only country that showed a ‘pro-poor inequality’. Others were ‘pro-rich’ when it came to screening.

CERVICAL SCREENING IS more likely to be taken up by less well-off people in Northern Ireland compared to other countries, new research shows.

The working paper, which is published this week by NUI Galway, sees economists look at differences in uptake of cervical cancer screening.

Their study compared uptake of cervical cancer screening in Ireland, Northern Ireland, England and the US.

‘Pro-rich inequality’

The paper found that while cervical cancer is known to be more prevalent among those from lower socio-economic groups, uptake of screening in Ireland, England and the US all evidenced a pro-rich inequality.

This means that better off women were more likely to avail of the screening.

But it also showed that by contrast in Northern Ireland, the less well-off were more likely to avail of it. This meant that a ‘pro-poor inequality’ was evident here, and the researchers suggest that opportunities exist for shared learning in this case.

According to the researchers:

Interestingly, this was driven by the behaviour of Catholics where a marked pro-poor inequality was evident, no such inequality being evident among Protestants.

Previous research has shown that incidence rates and mortality rates associated with cervical cancer demonstrate that poor people are more likely to have and to die from disease. But this study shows that in Ireland, England and the US people who are well off are more likely to have screening.

NUI Galway researchers point to this as an example of how economists can help inform cancer control policies.

Professor Ciaran O’Neill, Dean of Business, Public Policy and Law said:

If we are to have an effective cancer control strategy it is crucial that we understand how choices are made, what impact they have and how we might seek to improve upon them. While research at NUI Galway has helped inform the development of policy in Ireland we recognise that no one individual or group has all the questions let alone all the answers.

The paper will be discussed at the Economics of Cancer Research Symposium, which will bring together stakeholders involved in cancer research including clinicians, patient groups, policy makers, the media and economists.

The symposium aims to facilitate communication and knowledge exchange amongst cancer researchers from multidisciplinary backgrounds, both in Ireland and internationally.

The symposium will be hosted by NUI Galway on Monday 2 September, and will be live broadcast online at the Health Economics and Policy Analysis webpage.

Read: Drug offers first hope for advanced cervical cancer>

Read: Medical card holders 50% more likely to have abnormal smear test result>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

22 Comments
    Mute Renton Burke
    Favourite Renton Burke
    May 24th 2019, 12:32 AM

Who are the residents? The ones in the recently demolished flats? The ones who live in the middle of a city nearby complaining about music from a venue that closes on time. Ridiculous that any innovations in Nightlife get shutdown but prior who want rural peace and quiet in the middle of a modern 24/7 city.

Mute Ronan McDermott
    Favourite Ronan McDermott
    May 24th 2019, 3:46 AM

@Renton Burke: I used to live across the street from there. Wouldn’t want that noise . Should stick some outdoor venue like that outside your own house if you want

Mute Joey Casey
    Favourite Joey Casey
    May 24th 2019, 6:00 AM

@Ronan McDermott: Don’t live next to a thriving music bar if the noise bothers you. The same applies to the residents complaining near Croke Park. They knew what to expect and yet still moved into the area!

Mute Karen Wellington
    Favourite Karen Wellington
    May 24th 2019, 6:53 AM

@Ronan McDermott: were you born and raised there? If you choose to move there you only have yourself to blame.

Mute Renton Burke
    Favourite Renton Burke
    May 24th 2019, 7:14 AM

@Ronan McDermott: I live in the suburbs near the motorway and have put in an objection for the m50 to be closed from 11:00 each night as the noise is relentless and unbearable. Oh wait… I live in a city that I have to share with others.. including people who like music.

Mute Joe Clery
    Favourite Joe Clery
    May 24th 2019, 9:28 AM

@Renton Burke: Ok Closing he M50 is not realistic, but night time speed limits are in force throughout Germany on higways close to cities. Reduced speed means less noise and less needs for intensive lights at junctions.

Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    May 24th 2019, 9:56 AM

@Joey Casey: TBF the GBS is only there a wet day.

Mute Cocker
    Favourite Cocker
    May 24th 2019, 11:12 AM

@Ronan McDermott: It’s a city. It’s a pub. Entirely your own fault for moving there in the first place.

Mute Aidan
    Favourite Aidan
    May 24th 2019, 4:55 PM

@Ronan McDermott: You lived in a city? And it was noisey? Jaysus Ronan, ask for your money back mate.

Mute Ronan McDermott
    May 24th 2019, 7:06 PM

@Karen Wellington: blame for what ? I not blaming anything on anyone. Their case was refused. I had no prob living near a bar. But outdoor stuff has been refused. And no I wasn’t born into the area. None of your business where or why I moved in around there. Don’t live there any more. Don’t live in Ireland any more either.

Mute Ronan McDermott
    May 24th 2019, 7:08 PM

@Renton Burke: good for you. Enjoy your music. Plus enjoy your m50 application. Don’t live in Ireland anymore. You saps can do what you want. None of my business

Mute M
    Favourite M
    May 24th 2019, 7:18 PM

@Renton Burke: Hardly 24/7 bud. You must get out more…in Europe somewhere.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    May 24th 2019, 12:57 AM

These beer gardens sprung up with the smoking ban. I live about fifty yards from one and the noise is kept to acceptable limits but they do not play music outside and that is really key. Playing music outside is always going to upset the neighbors and get the beer garden closed. This is poor management from the pub in question. Having said that if you are right next door to the beer garden you would probably get rightly fed up with or without outdoor music adding to the volume.

Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    May 24th 2019, 12:09 AM

Right decision tbf.

Mute pearse
    Favourite pearse
    May 24th 2019, 4:17 AM

It’s the city center. Should be allowed to have music at night like every city in the world

Mute Dave Grant
    Favourite Dave Grant
    May 24th 2019, 11:06 AM

@pearse: No music allowed in Barcelona.

Mute Cocker
    Favourite Cocker
    May 24th 2019, 12:49 PM

@Dave Grant: Rubbish. I’ve spent many late nights wandering the streets of Barcelona with a crowd. Drinking street bought cans of lager and singing loudly with locals playing guitars and bongos. Often until 4 or 5 in the morning.

There’s another big difference between Barcelona and here is that they have late licensing laws. If you want to drink til 6 or 7 in a club, you can. Arguably the main reason Dublin is noisy and full of drunks is because the pubs and clubs turf everyone out at exactly the same time.

Mute tooler doogan
    Favourite tooler doogan
    May 24th 2019, 12:12 AM

Passed by there recently on a Friday night, anti social behaviour is putting it very mild!

Mute Patrick FitzGerald
    Favourite Patrick FitzGerald
    May 24th 2019, 8:14 AM

@tooler doogan: Care to elaborate?

Mute JDel
    Favourite JDel
    May 24th 2019, 9:50 AM

@tooler doogan: I pass by there every single day and have never seen any anti-social behaviour. It’s a pretty standard pub, so I don’t see what sort of anti-social behaviour you could ascertain from walking by…

Mute Alan Watts
    Favourite Alan Watts
    May 24th 2019, 9:56 AM

@Patrick FitzGerald: well Irish people don’t exactly have a good relationship with alcohol, that whole street right down to Georges street is staggering with drunks past a certain hour, I wouldn’t let a women walk down it on her on

Mute Cocker
    Favourite Cocker
    May 24th 2019, 12:01 PM

@Alan Watts: You wouldn’t let a woman walk down it? What makes you think you’ve any right to tell anyone where to walk or what to do? Least of all women.

And so what? It’s a busy commercial area. Pubs and nightlife are a large part of that. If you’ve chosen to live there then you’ve literally chosen to live with that kind of lifestyle at your doorstep.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    May 24th 2019, 1:23 PM

So much for it being a free country! Let him cover his head if he wants to – and keep to a curfew. It’s not for him to be telling Irish women where they’re not allowed to go in their own city.

Mute Alan Watts
    Favourite Alan Watts
    May 24th 2019, 1:38 PM

@Cocker: get off your moral high horse, the music should be played inside not outside the venue, if u really think its safe for a women to walk around city center after the pubs close alone you’re delusional

Mute Alan Watts
    Favourite Alan Watts
    May 24th 2019, 1:38 PM
    Mute Alan Watts
    Favourite Alan Watts
    May 24th 2019, 1:43 PM
    Mute Alan Watts
    Favourite Alan Watts
    May 24th 2019, 1:46 PM
    Mute M
    Favourite M
    May 24th 2019, 7:13 PM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: You’re missing the point. It is dangerous on that stretch at nighttime.

Mute Brother Sylvest
    Favourite Brother Sylvest
    May 24th 2019, 7:43 PM

@Alan Watts: what of the woman didn’t share your concerns and wanted to walk down the road?

Mute Daniel Dudek Corrigan
    Favourite Daniel Dudek Corrigan
    May 24th 2019, 12:12 AM

Aww. Love the little pizza on a bus! Such a shame. That’s why we can’t have nice things :(

Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    May 24th 2019, 1:36 AM

@Daniel Dudek Corrigan: apparently because you’re too noisy :)

Mute Angie
    Favourite Angie
    May 24th 2019, 12:30 AM

I live near the airport near pubs The Odeon The Plex and a duel catrrigeway leading to the m50 Ambulances police cars and firebrigades use the road as well as cars lorries etc We have to bear with it all 24/7 so how loud is the noise at The Bernard Shaw pub

Mute C'est tout!
    Favourite C'est tout!
    May 24th 2019, 6:23 AM

Planning for housing and offices only. Corporate greed is alive and well in the planning office. An end to culture and diversity.

Mute Dave Barnaville
    Favourite Dave Barnaville
    May 24th 2019, 7:23 AM

Funny that Mannix Flynn thinks its a bunch of cool hipsters when his election posters are the most hipster of all of them out there.

Mute Patrick FitzGerald
    Favourite Patrick FitzGerald
    May 24th 2019, 8:12 AM

If you want peace and quiet during trading hours, don’t live in the city centre of a capital city FFS. None of these eejits would survive two minutes in somewhere like London or New York.

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    May 24th 2019, 9:43 AM

@Patrick FitzGerald: nor would any bar survive pumping out music in any city in any part of the world unless no one lived nearby. Nothing stopping them operating eithin their own agreed planning terms if not get lost!!!

Mute Cocker
    Favourite Cocker
    May 24th 2019, 12:51 PM

@Austin Rock: Pumping? are you honestly trying to describe the chatter and light music from the back of the Bernard Shaw as pumping? God help you if you ever so hear real pumping music. You’ll probably shyte yourself

Mute M
    Favourite M
    May 24th 2019, 7:19 PM

@Patrick FitzGerald: Uhm, lots of quiet areas in NY and London, bud.

Mute Niall Brew
    Favourite Niall Brew
    May 27th 2019, 11:01 AM

London has loads of laws around bars throughout its city centre.

Mute Mark Bonaventure Griffin
    Favourite Mark Bonaventure Griffin
    May 27th 2019, 12:54 PM

@Cocker: it’s regularly over 110 decibels some time 125 , also there are houses , apartments and flats that have been the 50 years , bodytonic are just there 10 years , and it’s not as if there loosing anything because they bought the Wright venue

Mute BreadBasketCase
    Favourite BreadBasketCase
    May 24th 2019, 8:17 AM

The anti-social behaviour around Richmond St is probably more to do with the canal drinkers. Maybe if the no drinking in public law was enforced along that stretch of the canal then the residents wouldnt be so uptight.

Mute Gavin McGuinness
    Favourite Gavin McGuinness
    May 24th 2019, 9:43 AM

@BreadBasketCase: Something that the Bernard Shaw is trying to help fix with their free beer if you clean up the canal campaign.

Mute Uinsionn
    Favourite Uinsionn
    May 24th 2019, 12:09 AM

Their days are numbered. They don’t want it there anymore

Mute Renton Burke
    Favourite Renton Burke
    May 24th 2019, 7:16 AM

@Uinsionn: “they”

Mute Earth Traveller
    Favourite Earth Traveller
    May 24th 2019, 12:49 AM

“brewing unease…” say the guys who want to continue selling beer. Well, they have a sense of humour.

Mute Johnny Liberty
    Favourite Johnny Liberty
    May 24th 2019, 8:24 AM

We’ll remember Mannix Flynn’s talk in the polls today I imagine.

Mute Honey Badger
    Favourite Honey Badger
    May 24th 2019, 1:47 AM

Leo wants to turn Dublin into some college campus. The stupid stupid man doesn’t realize that the very thing that made Ireland famous for decades was the character of the city. Sure it’s all gone now only to be told as stories to the people who come in search of something that’s being wiped out by a government. Jesus I thought the last government was the worst in history. But the old saying is be careful what you wish for

Mute De Zach Same
    Favourite De Zach Same
    May 24th 2019, 4:46 AM

@Honey Badger: Ya, it’s all Leo’s fault.

Mute Kevin O'Donnell
    Favourite Kevin O'Donnell
    May 24th 2019, 8:09 AM

@Honey Badger: would a college campus not have a great pub with a beer garden. Dont get your point. Leo is not to blame dude!

Mute M
    Favourite M
    May 24th 2019, 7:20 PM

@Honey Badger: Character? Don’t make me laugh. That died ages ago.

Mute Ciaran Forde
    Favourite Ciaran Forde
    May 24th 2019, 11:18 AM

absolute nonsense. It was grand when there were flats right beside it, not so grand now that an ‘emerging pattern’ of development is underway. Dublin is being fast tracked towards a very mundane place. That’s not to say that I don’t agree that there should be tighter controls around the sound bleeding out into the night etc.

Mute Shem
    Favourite Shem
    May 24th 2019, 11:31 AM

Refusing the permission outright sounds a bit odd, especially when they were flats there before, and the complaints come form the house owners/tenants (I guess). A lot of developments going on around, and I would be more inclined to think that someone is lobbying very hard in the area and with the authorities to get their hands of that piece of land, as similar actions were observed in other parts of the city. I hope BS will compromise will get their permission accepted.

Mute Madra
    Favourite Madra
    May 24th 2019, 11:13 AM

Mannix Flynn the same guy who wants Artane to be renamed, Bob Geldof listened to him and lost his freedom of the city. Ignore him and he might go away.

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    May 24th 2019, 12:51 PM

Iconic beer garden.Hahaha that’s what they call a yard at the side of a pub now.
    Grand pub but they are fairly over hyping their worth.

Mute M
    Favourite M
    May 24th 2019, 7:17 PM

@John Kelly: Yep- iconic. Everything is ”iconic” these days. It was a dump and full of dopes. Pizza on a bus- what a stupid idea.

Mute Rathminder
    Favourite Rathminder
    May 25th 2019, 8:21 AM

When I looked for a flat to rent I purposely rejected any close to pubs. The beer garden also serves lunch and is a pleasant venue during daylight hours. Can’t a happy medium be found? Continue the venue with food and drink during daylight hours and shut off any speakers to the garden at ten or eleven PM.

Mute M
    Favourite M
    May 24th 2019, 7:16 PM

A terrific result. Hopefully these hipster muppets will move on.

Mute Tim
    Favourite Tim
    May 24th 2019, 4:00 PM

Right so let’s all illegally drink on the canal now? I think the residents will like people littering and drink pissing in there garden instead? People can’t see they’re actions consequences.