You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Michael Freeman/DailyEdge.ie

QUIZ: Are you a chocolate expert?

Think you know chocolate? It’s time to find out…

OK SURE, SO maybe you CONSIDER yourself a chocolate bar expert.

Maybe you eat a few chocolate bars from time to time. Maybe you have one with your coffee every day. Hell, maybe you’re a chocolate bar connoissieur with an extensive collection in a choco-humidor.

But here’s the real test: how many would you be able to identify without their wrappers?

Here are 20 naked chocolate bars. They’re mostly standards, but we’ve thrown in a few wild cards to keep things interesting. (Write your answers down somewhere if you won’t remember them.)

Let the quiz… BEGIN:

Pics Michael Freeman/DailyEdge.ie

How many do you think you got right?

To see the answers, click here>

You can leave your score in the comments below. Best result gets the leftover chocolate.*

*Joke! There is no leftover chocolate, obviously.

20 Comments
    Mute Gearóid Ó Briain
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Briain
    Feb 24th 2015, 1:33 PM

The employer should either have match the money the state offers or they shouldn’t be allowed to participate.

I have seen jobs in my local town for petrol pump attendants on the Jobridge scheme, who is that benefiting? Certainly not the intern. I have also seen one for a part qualified accountant with a business degree. Someone with that kind of skill should be getting paid €30,000+ a year, not €50 a week.

Instead of leaving college and getting a decent job, students are having to spend 9 months working for buttons for jobs that would normally pay above minimum wage. It’s just not right.

Mute Business Cat
    Favourite Business Cat
    Feb 24th 2015, 1:37 PM

Indeed, an employer contribution is sensible. (And should have been the case from the beginning).

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    Feb 24th 2015, 1:41 PM

I saw an ad today for security. .”3yrs exp required “…this is in the DSp offive! I worked security in college nothing wrong with it but its nt jigh skill

See 30 more replies ▾
    Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Feb 24th 2015, 2:13 PM

I think for many people, who haven’t worked in many years, getting out of bed and going into work is a big achievement. That petrol pump attendant job would be great for a junkie trying to turn their life around after 10 years not working; trying to sort themselves out and get into a routine. Unfortunately some people have huge difficulties joining the workforce after being years away from it. Employers choose people with experience and references. In theory JobsBridge is a great idea. I totally agree is should be an extra €100 a week instead of an extra €50.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Favourite Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 24th 2015, 3:38 PM

Jack there is nothing wrong with a petrol pump attendant job. I do that part time atm while I am studying for my masters via Springboard and it’s handy work and I get paid well particularly on Sundays. I may be over qualified for the role but I live 3 miles from it, it pays far more for 3 days than the dole or a full time job in Dublin atm after tax and travel and I meet interesting people every second of the day. I could have done another JB placement and received less for it and had to work for an extra 2 days as well. But I resisted and it is working out for me.

Sometimes you have to do what is good for you and not other people. We just all need to think less of what other people might think of our looks, positions, jobs, material things and focus on what will get us where we need to get to and ultimately enjoy life for a change.

D H
    Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Feb 24th 2015, 3:43 PM

Gearoid thats the most sensible suggestion for jobsbridge yet

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Feb 24th 2015, 3:46 PM

I totally agree 100% there is nothing wrong with a service station attendant job. There is nothing wrong with any job. It’s better for everyone if people are working.
    Communities, society, individuals and the economy all benefit with people working. We should be encouraging the long term unemployed into working.

Mute beachcomber
    Favourite beachcomber
    Feb 24th 2015, 3:52 PM

Scambridge is a way for employers to avoid minimum wage!

Mute Bernard Cantillon
    Favourite Bernard Cantillon
    Feb 24th 2015, 5:25 PM

It is not just €50 per week. It is €50 on top of your current social welfare payment.

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    Feb 24th 2015, 5:34 PM

This “gets them out of bed” point is soo patronising. When i was on jB i kept the skeleton of my normal work routine from school college work. Up at 6:30 gym 7-8, shower n breakfast 8-9 then usually library with laptop jobhunting until 1/2.
    When somone heard Id turned down a Tus offer n brought up the gets u out of bed point i was so insulted by it. I said no to what i saw as pointless busy work at 6 euro n hour cos i wated an internship or job in my career are. In this area so many are over eager to jump to conclusions

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Feb 24th 2015, 5:37 PM

‘We should be encouraging the long term unemployed into working.’

We should be providing proper jobs for people. That is what will ‘encourage’ people to work. Forcing people into poorly paid scam jobs isn’t ‘encouraging’ anything other than (justified) criticism of this attempt to push real job creation off into the distance

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Feb 24th 2015, 6:13 PM

We should also ask how can we get employers to take on staff who are long term unemployed due to social issues, lack of motivation, lack of experience and possibly alcohol and drug issues.
    JobsBridge wasn’t designed for college graduates who get up at 6:30 and go to the gym and are only a few months on the dole. JobsBridge was designed for people who have fallen through the gaps in society.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:13 PM

Jack I think we need to gently encourage our tds to do their jobs, to try to get them on the right track. How about some gentle persuasion to get all our multinationals to pay their fair share of tax. Nothing to harsh mind you. Perhaps a word in their ear. I’m not accusing them of being deliberately negligent in their tax affairs but perhaps unsure of their responsibility to the nation.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:19 PM

The age of the slavedriver comes to an end- The drivers shall become the slaves in the prison of their own making !

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:46 PM

Would you do it?

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:55 PM

Jack im afraid youre misinformed on this topic. JB was EXACTLY designed for college graduates. It was a clumsy way of dealing with a big symptom of the recession where 6 years in we had grads wiyh no exp of the working world, or none in their career area, on dole years n it was a demographic timebomb.

You are confusing it with things like Tus which WERE designed for long term unskilled unemployed. .accepting theyre not gonna have a career but getting them to do SOMETHING. .the line betwen the two has gotten blurred

Mute David Nolan
    Favourite David Nolan
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:06 PM

Well said Gearoid. Employers should not be allowed to use (Jobsbridge) as a cushion to facilitate getting the right employee, normal employment practices should apply when there are jobs the same ones that have been used for decades.

Mute Patrick Doyle
    Favourite Patrick Doyle
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:01 PM

Absolute Bolli%… Loads of grads are doing it, and post grads and experienced grads. Why? Cos JB has replaced the entry level job.

Mute Laura Grimes
    Favourite Laura Grimes
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:18 PM

Fair dues Spiderman, best of luck on the Springboard course

Mute Jonathan Waters
    Favourite Jonathan Waters
    Feb 24th 2015, 11:11 PM

So we give junkies and alcoholics jobs…jobs bridge is a total waste of time. Would you work for €50 or €100 a week? I don’t think so. It’s a wet dream for employers to take advantage of people. Why hire someone for €300 a week when you can get a more qualified person for €50 a week.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Feb 25th 2015, 1:48 AM

“Would you work for €50 or €100 a week? ”

In addition to social welfare don’t forget. I mean if you use that argument, then why would anyone work a minimum wage job? Using that logic, effectively, you’re working for an extra ~€3.80 an hour.

If I was on social welfare, had no experience or references and was having no luck finding a job I would jump at the opportunity. What’s there to lose? Rather than rot on the dole, which can be incredibly soul-destroying for motivated people, you can get a bit of extra money and get that all-important experience that will get you the full-time job. The majority of job-bridge interns find full-time work, so it has been a modest success.

If it’s affordable they could cover travel expenses, which would really provide an incentive.

Mute Paddy Fagan
    Favourite Paddy Fagan
    Feb 25th 2015, 8:14 AM

And I’d be encouraging you to stop using that word junkie jack. It astounds me you think it’s ok to use that word.

What word would you use to describe a person who is free from drugs for years? I’m sure you wouldn’t call them a junkie, so why call active users it?

It looks like you over eat, so what if I started calling you a fat slob? Which is just as offensive as the word junkie.

Mute Declan Cullen
    Favourite Declan Cullen
    Feb 25th 2015, 8:53 AM

Well said :)

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Feb 25th 2015, 10:18 AM

I have a friend who is a drug user and he calls himself a junkie and he calls his other drug using friends junkies. They take junk.
    It’s just a word.
    Those junkies (sorry, people with addiction issues) pose a massive challenge to our society and we should engage them into the workforce through schemes like Tus and JobsBridge rather than trapping them in a poverty trap forever.

Mute John Hanlu
    Favourite John Hanlu
    Feb 25th 2015, 3:46 PM

and it is €50 extra that the taxpayer has to fund, not the employer, who is getting a sweet deal from the Government. Most under 25s only get 100 euro on the dole and are now expected to work full time for 150 euro a week.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:19 PM

phew… that one is so out of sync its unreal. a 30 hour week? who says they’re doing 30 hour weeks? Well Joan, sorry to upset your agenda but aside from a rare advert of a 30 hour week intern on that site, it never is the case. you have interns taking up said 30 hour weeks and even 39 hour week, sometimes i see 35 hours but then you see they end up working 50 hour weeks. How is 288 more than min. wage? €12 per hour???

ah here, don’t insult us.

Mute Shane O Malley
    Favourite Shane O Malley
    Feb 25th 2015, 5:00 PM

it wont be increased because no politicians son or daughter will ever have to survive on it

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Feb 25th 2015, 5:10 PM

How is 288 more than min. wage? €12 per hour???

After tax presumably

Mute AN other
    Favourite AN other
    Feb 25th 2015, 5:26 PM

Apparently €288 over thirty hours works out to be almost €12 an hour, my calculator must be broken so as it only says €9.60… And most jobbridge schemes I see are 39 hour weeks!

Mute Mick Hannigan
    Favourite Mick Hannigan
    Feb 25th 2015, 5:35 PM

Well increase the minimum wage so lol

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Feb 25th 2015, 9:41 PM

typical of them, fiddling with words as well as numbers. Paul Murphy knows how to belt around them and corner them proper cos he’s smart and they think we’re stupid.

we’re not talking 30 hours here Burton nor are the interns paid by the hour so whats your point? Oh do you think paying them by the hour would be better? Grand so, lets have it cos many of these interns are working 40 hours and beyond. So less of the flat rates, pay them by the hour and make the employers subsidise it. What you afraid of? Your buddies in business will be giving you a call? “Joan, what do you think you’re at?? I thought we had a good thing going?”"

ah yeah, i know how it works with ye lot, no point in burning bondholders or bringing in rent controls when all the mice are sitting exactly where you are!

Mute Dominique Lavin
    Favourite Dominique Lavin
    Feb 26th 2015, 12:55 AM

Couldn’t agree more, the more qualified should be paid half from the employer and half from the social welfare, and a descent wage to match their skills. Anyone else be it younger, under qualified, but progressing through their training will have to show they want to move on and be rewarded with a rise in their wage and stage. If they don’t move forward give their wage to the people who have lost a lot through this greedy government

Mute pongodhall
    Favourite pongodhall
    Mar 18th 2015, 9:49 AM

Perhaps Cupid
    An attendance register for public record would be a good start to ensuring the TD’s actually attend work.
    Set hours to longer, more normalised pattern.
    Give them an accepted practice to follow such as finding their own way to work (a bit of a challenge for some I think) and finding their own food establishments and bars for AFTER work that they pay for themselves.
    Have a job performance review at the end of end of every year and a way to ‘let go’ those that simply are not, or not able for their jobs.
    They are so fond of getting everyone ready for work and using jobsbridge so,perhaps that should be the way to get into being a td?

Mute Oil Be Honest
    Favourite Oil Be Honest
    Feb 24th 2015, 1:38 PM

In my opinion the employer should have to pay €150 for the employee every week. €100 of that to the employee and €50 to the social welfare to contribute towards the €188 payment! Then all 3 win… The government are cutting their social welfare bill, the employer is getting 40 hours of someone’s time for €150 and the intern is getting nearly €300 and good experience if it is a genuine position.

Mute poisonivy
    Favourite poisonivy
    Feb 24th 2015, 3:04 PM

Yeah but that would make sense. So you can almost guarantee that it won’t be implemented, or anything like it.

Mute Quango
    Favourite Quango
    Feb 24th 2015, 1:45 PM

JobBridge has been a win-win for businesses ever since it’s inception. Meanwhile taxpayers foot the bill and qualified graduates get grossly under paid. For a bill that size there should be much higher post-internship employment rate.

Mute Shane Kinsella
    Favourite Shane Kinsella
    Feb 24th 2015, 1:34 PM

The 50 euro per week is not the problem, its the supermarkets, deli counters , petrol station etc abusing the scheme for cheap labour that is the real problem. A extra 50 on top is not going to fix that.

Mute Ciaran Connolly
    Favourite Ciaran Connolly
    Feb 24th 2015, 3:07 PM

As someone who applied for an internship after leaving college with a degree, I took part in an “interview” and I must admit it was one of the final nails in the coffin for me looking for a job in Ireland. I would say more people have emigrated from this scheme alone than it has actually benefited. And, no I will not sweep your floor for 50 euro on the dole, hire a cleaner. Miserable, pathetic government driven scheme. I suppose it did keep a few of the wealthy wealthy. And in Irish politics isn’t that what it’s really all about??

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    Feb 24th 2015, 1:38 PM

How about?
    -Have a subsidy 4 actual jobs as a bck to work incentive? An FT version of the PTJIS?
    -Make a rule that JB HAS to go bck to the originial concept, 4 people with lots of education but no experience to get internships in high skill work…no more Tesco shelf packing n getting tea

pjm
    Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Feb 25th 2015, 3:38 PM

I’m not against the idea of job bridge for highly skilled position that will lead to a job afterwards but most employers are just exploiting it for free labour at the moment with no intention of keeping on to the internees. Also can someone explain to me how it amounts to 12 euro an hour if you work 30 hours for €288 as the department spokesperson said, most internships are for 40 hour weeks which is €7.20 an hour and at 30 hours per week it works out as 9.20 per hour. Someone get that clown a calculator.

Mute Robbie O'Flynn
    Favourite Robbie O'Flynn
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:16 PM

PMJ I presume its to do with taxes or something, like take home pay. I was confused too.

I worked in a high skilled Job bridge position after I completed my Masters. I’ve read a lot of negative stuff regarding positions requiring masters and PhD qualifcations etc etc but I had no experience and was struggling getting a “proper” job. Competition is very high out there. After 5 months of my JB placement I got a job. The company helped me with interview prep and references and really pushed me while I worked there.
    There plenty of things wrong with the scheme. Like the €50 should be topped up by the company and they should have proper training schemes set up to benefit the employee and cannot apply with producing. Like a lot of things in this country, it was a good idea poorly executed.

Mute Goggles McGlasses
    Favourite Goggles McGlasses
    Feb 24th 2015, 1:50 PM

In theory it’s a great idea to allow people to get necessary experience that would be otherwise very difficult to get, however it’s being abused by business owners who are trying to get 6 months free labour while giving nothing in return. How can anyone justify hiring a petrol pump attendant intern, what is that person going to get out of their 6 months “employment”?

Mute ITS Student
    Favourite ITS Student
    Feb 24th 2015, 1:37 PM

Jobbridge should be abolished. It should be up to people themselves, like it was before.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Feb 24th 2015, 1:39 PM

Because the 1950′s to the mid 1990′s were so good here..

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Feb 24th 2015, 1:39 PM

As a student, I take it you don’t accept any state assistance or grants?

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 24th 2015, 1:46 PM

I did one two years ago and the organization gave me 50 of the e60 it took to travel to and from the place each week when he could. He didn’t have to and I didnt get a job at the end but employers should commit to e50-100 of the wage costs which is a third of the min. Wage to employ a worker like.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Feb 24th 2015, 2:20 PM

You were lucky spiderman, my son was with Aer Lingus and wouldn’t get as much as a cup of tea from the company, working a 48 hour week of night shifts and travelling 50km each way from home. Absolute exploitation from a JB sponsor company…..he is now in Australia two years working with an airline and getting paid a decent wage.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 24th 2015, 3:30 PM

In fairness Chris the firm I was with didn’t have a computer for me to use and I supplied my own laptop each day for months which pretty much destroyed the thing. It wasn’t ideal but I did the internship, finished it and went other ways for the last few years whilst I do further study.

I was lucky in that I got really good training and when I raised the point about the money I was paying 2-3 months in he really did accommodate me. There has been a number of interns there since but that is a wider issue in the industry I am in. If it is anything to you Australia is probably going to go bust soon and if this recovery is anything to go by your son with be home and working here in the next 2-5 years.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Feb 24th 2015, 4:40 PM

There have been rumours about Australia going bust for several years now, but why should it considering that there is still so much untapped wealth in the place. My son was home on holidays last summer and I asked him about coming home for good, I don’t think so even though he has an Irish girlfriend. I know several families who have sold up and moved out there, can’t say as I blame them really as the climate has a lot to do with it.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:08 PM

Well they said Ireland was going to go bust for a decade too. However we do not have the natural resources they have I suppose.

Why I say it is because of the property bubble that is getting out of hand. When you start hearing millions attached to things like houses and banks over extending people’s finances then there is always fear of a bust.

Mute Aasif
    Favourite Aasif
    Feb 24th 2015, 2:23 PM

Should be scrapped altogether, it’s taking paid jobs out of the workforce

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Feb 25th 2015, 1:35 AM

“Should be scrapped altogether, it’s taking paid jobs out of the workforce”

Clearly not the case. Jobs are being created all the time now.

As the economy grows, Job-bridge will fade in importance regardless anyway, as it becomes more of an employee market. But I see it as a modest success, it helped some people who might’ve otherwise found it difficult in an environment of high unemployment, get some valuable experience and references. They will reap the rewards later.

Mute Ian OHalloran Clancy
    Favourite Ian OHalloran Clancy
    Feb 24th 2015, 1:53 PM

It’s not a matter of making Jobs Bridge “do better” it’s a matter of giving a fair wage.

Feb 24th 2015, 1:50 PM

It should be 200 a week, and the money should be taken directly out of politicians wages to fund it, call it a voluntary contribution goodwill gesture to compensate for the mess they caused.

Mute Deaglán MacThóirdealbaigh
    Favourite Deaglán MacThóirdealbaigh
    Feb 24th 2015, 1:31 PM

€100 a week? Mother of God. The country is skint as it is without adding to the Social Welfare bill like that….

Mute Keith Twamley
    Favourite Keith Twamley

Ah Michelle Mulherin’s vodafone cherry points should cover it.

Mute Thomas Newell
    Favourite Thomas Newell
    Feb 24th 2015, 1:53 PM

ohh but they are not technically on social welfare according to them beautiful job figures the morons in power peddle out to say the job numbers are down. And lets be honest if we can pay for some boot licking so and so 100k+ to advise bell enda and moan joan on how to pick their noses properly I think rewarding actual work is a good idea

Mute Ciaran McCann
    Favourite Ciaran McCann
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:08 PM

If there’s a job at the end, there’s a job at the start! It’s 9 months free labour for company paid for by my taxes for friends and family to avail of!!

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:28 PM

Well then Deaglan abolish scambridge altogether and let these employers do what employers are suppose to do if you need an employee then hire them and pay them, if you don’t like what you get then you let them go.

How many €50 a week will that save the Social Welfare budget?.

There is something totally unethical about employers getting paid for free labour no matter how some of these employers on here try to dress it up.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:45 PM
    Mute Miriam Kane
    Favourite Miriam Kane
    Feb 24th 2015, 11:53 PM

There is 2 ways of looking at this are we increasing the social welfare bill or in some cases subsidising emplyers to fill unskilled jobs that could b learned in a couple of days and should b just offered as proper jobs even if only at minimum wage. The dsp don’t care about the quality of jb internships as they impact well on the unemployment figures and thats a good enough end in itself.

Mute Brigid Popps
    Favourite Brigid Popps
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:22 AM

I have have seen several of these jobscam ‘internships’ for cleaning jobs that is a bloody disgrace! It’s pure exploitation nothing more! An internship should only used in cases for very desirable positions and they should be paid! These internship were advertised in the Department of Social Protection! All true

Mute pongodhall
    Favourite pongodhall
    Mar 18th 2015, 9:41 AM

The employers should pay all of their monies received and they still get cheap labour. A record of how many jobs are offered after these try out and experiences. Some are going to use this as a permanent cheap way to get labour.

Mute mrs b
    Favourite mrs b
    Feb 24th 2015, 4:29 PM

It’s only abused because it’s so easy to abuse. Last year my employer got a booklet posted to him by the local social welfare group inviting him to a breakfast where he could find out how to take on am intern .. when he didn’t respond to that, they then rang him to follow up… They are handing unemployed people to these companies like candy to a baby. No one gets hurt apart from the lowly paid individual used and tossed aside. It makes me sick. .especially now with gateway & first steps , both of which are compulsory unless you want to lose money. I think the recommendations by the nyc are excellent and should be implemented immediately.

Mute Snorri Sturleson
    Favourite Snorri Sturleson
    Feb 24th 2015, 2:12 PM

FG/LAB profit before people parties will defend the rights of the capitalist exploiter at all cost. Imagine “Labour” supporting economic slavery, servitude versus prawn sandwich socialism. A fair days work deserves a fair days pay.

Mute Paul Lane
    Favourite Paul Lane
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:53 PM

It is below minimum wage slave labour, totally unacceptable, wrong and an insult to society. These governmental parasites are paying buttons to better their figures, which is shameful.

Mute gkrell
    Favourite gkrell

It’s been a great success: Enforce minimum wage laws so businesses don’t bother taking a chance on staff they have to train up and then get tax payers to pay these employees less than minimum wage so they will.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:14 PM

If the employers have work for people on jobs bridge then why not give them a full time job. Find this is just used for cheap labour and being allowed to happen . I know a place where 3 different people were sent on jobs bridge and all worked as hard as people fully employed who were receiving full time pay. Each of these 3 left because they also felt they were being used for slave labour and the other workers in the place were also outraged that the place had enough work for these people but would not give them full time job. These people were getting up every morning like the rest of the staff and using the @€50 to get too work and at end of the week although the had done has much work as the other employed they received nothing from the employer.

Mute Christine Fitzgerald
    Favourite Christine Fitzgerald
    Feb 24th 2015, 6:07 PM

Job bridge is both a good and bad idea. I’m presently looking for a job in which I am fully qualified but every position I see it’s job bridge which is no good to me at all as I have higher qualifications than they are offering through job bridge. They do need to look at there training scheme and also look at the rate of pay if you’ve family 50 euro top up wouldn’t cover much.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 24th 2015, 6:40 PM

What’s your speciality if I might ask?

Feb 24th 2015, 7:02 PM

I’ve worked in childcare for the last 7 years 5 years as assistant manager. Based mainly in Montessori room

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:18 PM

Good montessori is an expensive business to run and the ones I know are are shortstaffed, but many seem to be single site operations rather than chains (which I think is a good thing).

As your focus is montessori management, you might think of offering services to several schools to handle their admin & management services. Each one might not be able to pay a huge amount, but given the massive workload the standalone schools have with regs and general admin, they might love the idea of a specialist who can provide accounting, admin, reg, and overall oversight assistance for a competitive rate.
    Just an idea!

Feb 24th 2015, 10:22 PM

It is a good thing as having a chain of establishment you tend to loose the reason you started your business or career choice. It’s very expensive as regulations keep changing and the business has to change with it. And you can’t ask the parents to subsidize this as every article lately states that parents are struggling. I will have to look more closely at my options as I went into this to work with children. Thanks for the ideas

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:26 PM

Good luck.

Mute Sean Gerard
    Favourite Sean Gerard
    Feb 24th 2015, 4:40 PM

treble it- a fair days pay for a fair days work!

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Feb 25th 2015, 1:37 AM

Why would I hire someone with no experience or references for treble that?

This is exactly the problem Job-bridge has tried to solve, with modest success.

Mute Miriam Kane
    Favourite Miriam Kane
    Feb 25th 2015, 10:40 AM

This is not the “problem” JB is there to solve. Internships exist to aid career development and provide experiential learning, not to supplies free labour to fill unskilled/semi-skilled minimum wage jobs. If you don’t have the skills to interview properly that is no-ones problem only your own and means that you yourself as an employer have a skills deficit.

Mute John Hanlu
    Favourite John Hanlu
    Feb 25th 2015, 3:50 PM

This used to be the way and it worked and fine & Employers were fine with it. The Irish Labour party are pushing Jobsbridge and other work related schemes so as to manipulate the Live register.

Mute Patrick Doyle
    Favourite Patrick Doyle
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:57 PM

Scrap it altogether and bring back the entry level job..remember that?..Taxpayers shouldnt be paying the wages of private sector workers in a growing economy.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Feb 25th 2015, 1:39 AM

“Scrap it altogether and bring back the entry level job..remember that?..Taxpayers shouldnt be paying the wages of private sector workers in a growing economy.”

I would agree with this sentiment, but we still do have high unemployment, and Job-bridge was introduced when we were in a complete rut, and in danger of losing a generation of graduates to long-term unemployment.

Mute George Knight
    Favourite George Knight
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:37 PM

Trust me some jobsbridge are in the public sector. It is making someone money and not the poor guys that spend the extra money on transport.

Mute Jack Nolan
    Favourite Jack Nolan
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:05 PM

No, the Scambridge scheme should be scraped completely & treat people like human beings not disposable temporary labour support cheap businesses.

Mute joangeraghty
    Favourite joangeraghty
    Feb 25th 2015, 12:20 AM

An employer contribution of minimum €50 per week is the one key ingredient missing from the JobBridge scheme. No employer should be targetted by a State subsidised sales pitch offering free labour. The interns are working real jobs at full-time level up to 40hrs a week, which leaves no time for other possible earnings. CE scheme participants by contrast need work just 19.5hrs per week for minimum €208 wage. It is a tough time for growing a business but employers have no entitlement to free workers. These are internships offering training and work experience with no accreditations, unlike apprenticeships that at least lead to marketable qualifications. #endtheexploitation

Mute Kevin Geraghty
    Favourite Kevin Geraghty
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:11 PM

How about paying a person properly for a days work!

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:53 PM

The water bonus should be trebled.

Mute j.k @irishpoint
    Favourite j.k @irishpoint
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:09 PM

in order to prevent employers using job bridge as a form of slave labour once a job seeker has completed a period of months in that employment then the employer should be required to take on that employee at the going paid rate equalling the same amount of months as when on job bridge this would ensure employers and not abusing the system jobseekers would have far more to gain by participating

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:46 PM

I think it’s very easy to moan about these schemes if you have never created a job or took a risk in starting your own business.
    I have had 4 lads on Jobsbridge and 3 out of 4 have now full time jobs.
    In that time I have broken my b@lls to expand the business and we have gone from 3 to 35 staff.
    The country is bankrupt, there are very few jobs out there, it has helped 3 lads directly to get full time employment and also has helped me expand a business and employ people.
    I certain circumstances this has been a success !

Mute Aasif
    Favourite Aasif
    Feb 25th 2015, 6:12 PM

Lies

Mute Shane Maher
    Favourite Shane Maher
    Feb 25th 2015, 12:14 AM

Why can’t it be done like a CE scheme, where you work the amount of hours you’re paid for? Someone getting €200 a week can only work 23 hours a week, and if the employer needs him/her longer they pay an hourly rate. Problem solved, I’m going to bed

Mute Brigid Popps
    Favourite Brigid Popps
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:06 AM

Good point no one should be expected to work longer hours and not be paid properly for it! The job bridge should only be for half days not 40 hours!

Mute Damien Cahill
    Favourite Damien Cahill
    Feb 24th 2015, 1:32 PM

No if the scheme is actually managed properly ……

Mute 007
    Favourite 007
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:14 PM

Is the creep giving horses head the 2 fingers .

Mute Miriam Kane
    Favourite Miriam Kane
    Feb 24th 2015, 11:43 PM

There should be a limit on th number of jb interns an employer can utilise in quick succession at any price. If an employer can access a string of high caliber grads or worse post grads free of charge where is the insensitive to employ anyone full time. I’m reminded of that awful saying …..why buy the cow if u can get the milk for nothing

Feb 25th 2015, 4:45 AM

I am sick to death of JobBridge, there were and are momentum program / schemes where the unemployed are forced to do and they get nothing extra, if you are on a 100 euro dole and are put on the Momentum scheme you do not get anything extra for travel or for anything or anything extra for job placement where it lasts 12 weeks and you have to work 37.5 hours a week to get your dole…
    Crazy…

Also why is the BBC from London reporting the job losses in Dublin now and RTE is saying nothing? It happened today?

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Feb 24th 2015, 11:00 PM

Its become a toxic brand and needs to be scrapped. A completely new scheme is needed with all the reforms suggested, oh with one addition that employers actually give the unsuccessful applicants some response and feedback as well especially when they actually went for the interview and clearly showed interest.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 24th 2015, 6:39 PM

€100 extra a week is nothing for a good intern. I say this is a good idea. Both parties benefit.

greg
    Mute greg
    Favourite greg
    Feb 25th 2015, 12:52 AM

scrap it. slave labour!!!!!

Mute Yusufmc
    Favourite Yusufmc
    Feb 24th 2015, 11:06 PM

As an employer JB is ideal for ne one lookin for experience n stepping stone but I know that it’s used as exploitation of people which sickens me! I started work on a BTW scheme in ’95 with small top up from company but after 1 1/2 years I left due to been used n promised so much! The flaw with JB is time frame n pay, the old BTW was a better system, where employee gets their social welfare for 2 years n the employer pays an amount to make position attractive to both parties!

Mute Aurelio Mizzoni
    Favourite Aurelio Mizzoni
    Feb 24th 2015, 11:09 PM

I think the employer should match it the government should pay around 100 matched by the employer

Feb 25th 2015, 4:08 PM

Good girl joan. Make em work, pay them nothing, then screw them in taxes in a country with a redicilous high cost of living. Broken system but clueless joan can’t see that. Hows that gonna work joan?

Mute David Crowley
    Favourite David Crowley
    Feb 25th 2015, 3:52 PM

The real reason iMoan and her Department won’t increase the payments available is more likely to do with the fact that Dept of Social Welfare needs at least 280 JobBridge ‘interns’ per year to cover up the lack of work her own highly paid employees and consultants do. Her department has had some of the highest rates of absenteeism in Government over the last few years.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:24 PM

Interesting that the majority of people who participated found it beneficial. The naysayers will look for the problems rather than the solutions.

Mute james r
    Favourite james r
    Feb 25th 2015, 3:46 PM

God forbid jobs scam people don’t get over paid they might go out on a mad spending spree

Mute McGuckin Annette
    Favourite McGuckin Annette
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:21 PM

A spokesperson for the Department told us:

“It is not possible to increase the top-up payment at the moment – for a person on €188 per week, a top-up payment of €100 for a 30-hour week would be more than the minimum wage and close to circa €12 per hour gross.”

Where is the spokesperson for the department getting their figures from?

€188+100=288/30 is nowhere near €12. A person working 30 hours would be in receipt of 9.60 per hour. Not surprising either that the spokesperson would pick the low figure when most internships which are advertised are for 35-40 hours per week.

Mute Tony Cox
    Favourite Tony Cox
    Feb 24th 2015, 5:55 PM
    Con
    Mute Con
    Favourite Con
    Feb 25th 2015, 5:13 PM

The only disappointing thing about Job bridge is that it hasn’t been scrapped at this stage. The amount of company’s exploiting it far outweighs the ones that aren’t

Mute Alan Grant
    Favourite Alan Grant
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:34 PM

I think the JobsBridge scheme is one of the few good things this current Government has done but the extra €100 plus a Free Travel pass for the 9 months would make it an excellent Scheme.

Feb 25th 2015, 6:21 PM

Some on Momentum programs were forced to do it or loose the dole for 9 weeks, to work 37.5 hours a week for 12 weeks just to get their dole of a 100 euros… Crazy.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:48 PM

What about those on lower rates? Under 25 and it’s €100 and if you’re on jobseekers benefit, it could be as low as €84. So I would imagine that a large number of those on JB schemes are getting €150 a week

Mute Dave barrett
    Favourite Dave barrett
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:00 PM

Why would they top it up. Don’t you know there is an election. Coming up. God they need all they can get for election trail

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Feb 25th 2015, 3:45 PM

I think the first reform that should be made to this scheme is to remove the participants dole money and pay them €238.
    It might shut up all the idiots saying that people are working for €50 a week. Bugs the sh*t put of me.

Mute Rachel Giles
    Favourite Rachel Giles
    Feb 26th 2015, 5:38 AM

€288 a week (€188+€100 ) for 30 hours work equates to €9.60 an hour, not nearly €12 as stated near beginning of article

Feb 26th 2015, 3:15 AM

Because Ministers will need it to have a holiday around the world in the best hotels with the best wine and food this St. Patrick’s weekend, meaning it will be a week long really? How much will their holidays cost the tax payer this year?

Mute Ricardo Monteiro
    Favourite Ricardo Monteiro
    Jan 29th 2016, 8:28 PM

You work from 6 to 9 months and in the end you are kicked out with no job. Free labour.