You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Soldier who lost leg in Iraq tells those with anti-Muslim sentiment to "get a grip"

Chris Herbert is not impressed with the recent perceived rise in Islamophobia in the western world.

chris2 Chris Herbert Facebook Facebook

A YOUNG BRITISH serviceman who lost a leg in an explosion in Basra, Iraq, has called out those who propagate Islamophobia in a powerful social media post.

27-year-old Chris Herbert lost his right leg in that bomb blast in 2007, but he doesn’t appear to hold any grudge.

In fact, the rising racial tensions being seen around the world currently appear to irritate him greatly if his Facebook post yesterday is any judge.

chris Chris Herbert / Facebook Chris Herbert / Facebook / Facebook

The post is essentially a rebuttal to those who expect him to hate Muslims given the manner in which he lost his leg.

“Yes. A Muslim man blew me up, and I lost my leg,” he says.

A Muslim man also lost his arm that day wearing a British uniform. A Muslim medic was in the helicopter that took me from the field. A Muslim surgeon performed the surgery that saved my life.
Contrary to that, a white brit spat in my girlfriends face for ‘fucking a cripple when you could have me (him)’, a white brit pushed my wheelchair away from a lift so he could use it first, a white brit screamed at my Dad for parking in a disabled bay when I was in the services coming home.

“Point is, fuck off, I know who I dislike and I know who I don’t.”

Herbert’s point is a simple one: that hating an entire race of men and women for the actions of a few doesn’t make much sense, and is certainly not for him.

“Blaming all Muslims for the actions of groups like Daesh and the Taliban is like blaming all Christians for the actions of the KKK or the Westboro Baptist Church.”

Get a grip of your lives, hug your family and get back to work.

Read: UK Parliament could be set to consider a debate on banning Donald Trump

Read: White House says Trump’s latest idea “disqualifies” him from being President – and he has “fake hair”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

114 Comments
    Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:57 AM

Now there’s some perspective.. Couldn’t agree more!

Mute Paddy o'brian
    Favourite Paddy o'brian
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:23 PM

Ok, but we must keep it in mind that the British are the worlds no 1 when it comes to political correctness. PC to the average Brit is taken as seriously as as the Koran is taken by a Muslim. I know it sounds lol but that’s the world we inhabit God helps us

Mute Ron Koeman
    Favourite Ron Koeman
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:58 AM

Interesting opinion from someone who has every reason to hate Muslims but doesn’t because he has actually met and spoken to them.

Mute Shane Carroll
    Favourite Shane Carroll
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:42 AM

It is interesting and refreshing to read about someone in his position who can have his own opinions because the army breaks people down and rebuilds them to follow orders no matter what so i would say the army discourages any members having an opinion.
    Why should he have every reason to hate Muslims though? Because his leg was lost in combat?
    Just remember that he willingly signed up to an army that invaded other countries which involves people fighting back.He allowed himself to be put in the situation that led to losing his leg.

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:57 AM

Ah yes, the “No true Scotsman” fallacy.

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Dec 9th 2015, 12:12 PM

The Dude, did you happen to see the video where they read out horrific versus from the Quran to people on the street but it turns out these versus were actually from the bible. Versus that say we should stone our neighbours etc.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Dec 9th 2015, 12:19 PM

“if you reject my commandments and abhor my laws, you will eat the flesh of your own sons and daughters.” “A women should learn in quietness and full submission” “I do not allow for a women to teach, I will cut off her hand” All of these verses are from the Bible. This is what is thought in the Bible, this is what Christians are thought to believe and follow much like how the Quran was ment to teach Muslims.

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Dec 9th 2015, 12:25 PM

Very much agree with you there Aaron. The bible is as violent as the Quran in many ways. No religion is violent, it’s the people who interpret these texts that choose to be violent.

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211
    Dec 9th 2015, 12:28 PM

lol The Dude.If the average muslim does not adhere to some of the “actual ” teachings in the Koran then we have just as much to worry about when Catholics, Protestants, Methodists, Jews etc etc don’t adhere to the actual teaching that are in the bible. Where god constantly commands his followers that they should go into the lands of their enemies and rape, pillage and plunder!

Mute Jamie Brogan
    Favourite Jamie Brogan
    Dec 9th 2015, 12:40 PM

You must be an expert. This guy clearly has no first-hand experience with the actual issue at hand. Glad you came and cleared it up for us.

Mute Ben Smith
    Favourite Ben Smith
    Dec 9th 2015, 12:43 PM

“Seriously guys, I never said any of that. It must have been a typo or something.” – God

Mute Rob Kavanagh
    Favourite Rob Kavanagh
    Dec 9th 2015, 1:10 PM

You’re 100% right Aaron – Bible is ferocious in parts.

Might be wrong but I haven’t seen news reports christians out cannibalising, cutting off hands and stoning neighbours for a while now. Majority of christians have evolved beyond acting on literal interpretations.

Unfortunately the very doctrine of Islam prevents that same evolution. Thankfully however, a large majority of Muslims are sensible enough to be selective about which parts of the Quran they choose to adhere to, yet turn a blind eye to the really nasty stuff.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Dec 9th 2015, 1:20 PM

The important thing to take away from this is not that the Quran is inherently evil, nor is the bible. These pieces of texts, these guidelines were written some 2000 years ago, society was an infinitely different place back then.

These books should not be taken in a literal sense by either groups of people and should never be considered a representation of our modern society or how our society works, the problem exists only when people (on both sides) think that 2000 year old books should be strict representations of our society, thankfully on both sides, those people are a tiny minority.

Mute Piotrek Król
    Favourite Piotrek Król
    Dec 9th 2015, 1:35 PM

Aaron, I agree with everything you have said. But you’re missing a very important question. Where are the large groups of Christian Biblical Fundamentalists blowing themselves up all over the world?

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    Dec 9th 2015, 2:08 PM

My concern as always is it’s the minorities that whip up and fundimentalise the rest, as with National Socialisum (Nazi Party) which developed its own brand of cultism on so called modern society. And as usual, the intellectuals on the periphery debated and soothed our concerns until its was too late. To understand the desire for an Islamic caliphate, is to understand the basis of the religion itself and its values, once that’s in mind you’d be well to stay alert.

Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Dec 9th 2015, 2:44 PM

@Piotrek, What about this preacher in the US, who would happily kill every LGBT person in the whole wide world, and is being endorsed by all Republican presidential candidates

Mute Juan Franc
    Favourite Juan Franc
    Dec 9th 2015, 3:11 PM

I have no interest in what the terrorist has to say.
    Last nights Spotlight programme yet again highlighted the murderous activity of the British army in Ireland.One of the cases highlighted was that Richie McKinnie,an orange man murdered by the army on the Shankill rd,his family was led to believe for 40 years that he was murdered by paramilitaries.His family was devastated when The Pat Finnucane Centre handed over his file,a file showing how a senior military figure covered up the murder,a murder carried out by a para who was present during the Bloody Sunday and Ballymurphy massacres.
    Like so many other murders carried out by British soldiers the investigation is now covered by National Security Clauses,which means the family are not even entitled to know basic things like what regiment was operating on the Shankill rd at the time of the murder.

Mute Juan Franc
    Favourite Juan Franc
    Dec 9th 2015, 3:28 PM

Wednesday BBC2,11.15pm,Spotlight how the British army managed to lie,deflect,coverup and walk away from the murder of innocent Irish civilians.

Mute Rob Kavanagh
    Favourite Rob Kavanagh
    Dec 9th 2015, 4:08 PM

Aaron, Your belief as to the intention of the Bible or Quran is irrelevant.

You say these books should not be taken in a literal sense, but that’s just because you are just more evolved in your outlook on religious systems. It might take many generations before followers of Islam come to the same opinion.

You must recognize that to its followers, the Quran is not a loosely defined set of guidelines. It demands adherence to the specific literal meanings. The core belief is that it is the unaltered word of god and the associated Islamic law within remains superior to any man made law, or governing system.

Now, the average follower of Islam will use a guide to navigate its texts. This guide will be whichever Islamic leader that you align to, or Islamic regime in which you happen to live and will mandate or influence how strict/literal your approach is.

Thankfully the vast majority of Muslims who live in western world follow more moderate religious guidelines and will ignore the crazy stuff, or bend its literal meaning to something “somewhat” more acceptable, whereas other passages are absolutely retained in their explicit and literal sense. Think divorce and inheritance. The subsystem of sharia “law” has been established in the UK to account for the Islamic rules that are perceived as acceptable to coexist within a western system.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Dec 9th 2015, 5:57 PM

@Aaron – Well done for quoting biblical scriptures that are written specifically to old testament Israelites and have no bearing on Christianity which is a new covenant. Please try to keep up to date and be relevant in your comments.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Dec 9th 2015, 6:04 PM

@Missy – New Testament Christianity as laid out in the scriptures does not command anybody to kill or harm anyone as part of spreading the gospel.

Also can I say it is disgraceful of the journal to have removed my original comment from an informed point of view. The intolerance of the left is alive and well.

Mute Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Favourite Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Dec 9th 2015, 6:22 PM

@Aaron…. You should provide links of proof etc…Example below is a Muslim woman being stoned to death which is still quite common in the Sharia Law States.
    Other videos on same link to barbaric Sharia Law killings of women and honour killings of young girls .
    .http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=176_1364022789

Mute Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Dec 9th 2015, 6:42 PM

@Aaron @Alan Kelly…….. The violence of the Old Testament is dead and gone. No one is going around advocating violence on the basis of the Old Testament. Islam,on the other has multitudes of fanatical Imams on pulpits,books and TV channels advocating Jihad against non-believers. In fact stats have it that most Muslim violence occurs after Fri. Night ‘prayers’,- See ex. below.
    From Raymond Ibrahim/Relig.Expert.
    —”The difference between the violent passages in the Koran and those in the Old Testament (as more comprehensively explained here) is this: the Old Testament is clearly describing historic episodes whereas the Koran, while also developed within a historical context, uses generic, open-ended language that transcends time and space, inciting believers to attack and slay nonbelievers today no less than yesterday—-”
    —”In fact, the salient feature of almost all of the violent commandments in Islamic scriptures is their open-ended and generic nature: “Fight them until there is no more chaos and [all] religion belongs to Allah” (Koran 8:39).
    http://www.raymondibrahim.com/islam/the-koran-and-eternal-war/
    Fri night sermon ex:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AFAkmsszTD8

Mute John J Kelly
    Favourite John J Kelly
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:50 PM

i watched that it was sickening…sickening and disgraceful, and cowardly in the extreme, a bunch of thugs of men,making a little woman get into a hole in the ground and filling it in to her head and then crusting her to death with rocks, even the thug putting on the blind fold pulled it very tight to cause pain…shameful disgraceful that this still happens in the world today.

What would Jesus have said?….’Let he who is without sin cast the first stone’.

Mute Derek Billings
    Favourite Derek Billings
    Dec 11th 2015, 6:24 PM

Forget about all the fairy tale books. Baddddd tales. Now let’s grow up.

Mute Derek Billings
    Favourite Derek Billings
    Dec 11th 2015, 6:25 PM

There are some still, unfortunately. Mainly in the southern us.

Mute Derek Billings
    Favourite Derek Billings
    Dec 11th 2015, 6:31 PM

Christianity is a breakaway cult from Judaism. It’s a religion for desert people over two thousand years ago. Grow up people.

Mute Cabe™
    Favourite Cabe™
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:59 AM

Couldn’t agree more, fair play to him!

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:20 AM

Well said, that young man. A beacon of common sense in the middle of all the hype and hysteria.

Mute Paul O Mahony
    Favourite Paul O Mahony

Wow. He is right though.

Mute Tim Outrage
    Favourite Tim Outrage
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:08 AM

Personally, I am afraid of unchecked immigration which is what Europe is doing atm. We need to be fostering positive relations with our Muslim populations that are already here, instead of blindly opening our doors to millions more

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:16 AM

Personally, I’m afraid of prejudiced bigots deciding who is and isn’t to be trusted. Are you going to start calling door to door and introducing yourself to all your Muslim neighbours, Tim?

Fozz
    Mute Fozz
    Favourite Fozz
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:37 AM

@Joe, the Muslim ideology (it is not a race by the way so the word ‘racist can never apply) puts you as a non-believer and so someone to be killed or at least subjugated.
    Even worse of yer a female.
    So challenging such ideologies is proper in my view and such challenges should not be shouted down as ‘racist’ or ‘islamophobic’ (whatever that phrase is supposed to mean).

Note that you can hold prejudices against ideas and notions without holding them against the people who hold those ideas and prejudices.

There is no doubt there are good and bad muslims as there are good and bad plumbers, redheads and accountants.
    But only one of those categories of people have a rule-book that idealises actions that we, as a democratic republic, hold as questionable at best, and downright barbaric at worst.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:52 AM

Sounds like Joe supports open borders

Mute Dave Meagher
    Favourite Dave Meagher
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:54 AM

Trust is earned Joe not given . With respect only fools do that.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Dec 9th 2015, 12:06 PM

Fozz, you make a fair point and I appreciate you taking the time to make it properly. I’m all for debate on ideologies. I’m against insisting that all my own opinions are right and that people should believe what I believe. I’m also against all other people who do that, including Christians and including simple bigots like Scarr here.
    Dave, with respect, how does a Muslim person you have never met earn your trust?

Mute Dave Meagher
    Favourite Dave Meagher
    Dec 9th 2015, 12:19 PM

I lived in a house with a Muslim guy for 5 years and never had a problem bar the usual house mates stuff.
    None is to be trusted until they prove themselves to be trust worthy that’s the ABC of dealing with people in 2015.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Dec 9th 2015, 12:31 PM

That seems like a bit of a cop-out. You’re only suddenly now saying that the distrust applies to everyone and not just Muslims. I’m dubious.

Mute saoirse janneau
    Favourite saoirse janneau
    Dec 9th 2015, 1:15 PM

@Scarr there might be in the rest of Europe but not in ireland. We are outside of Schengen.

Mute Rob Kavanagh
    Favourite Rob Kavanagh
    Dec 9th 2015, 5:40 PM

In reality being outside of Schengen doesn’t provide any additional assurances. Ireland is ill equipped to control its borders. We have no dedicated intelligence services, no profiling, its all lumped on the inept gardai and their reliance on neighbouring powers to share information.

Mute Derek Billings
    Favourite Derek Billings
    Dec 11th 2015, 6:39 PM

Leave the red heads out of this.!

Mute Derek Billings
    Favourite Derek Billings
    Dec 11th 2015, 6:41 PM

My son works with a Muslim for years now. Great. He always covers Christmas.

M
    Mute M
    Favourite M
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:18 AM

What exactly is Islamaphobia? Islam is an idea or a big set of ideas, and as such I can say all sorts about the merits of it, I can even find many of the ideas alarming and frightning, so I guess that makes me an islamaphobe.

I am also by that definition a christianaphobe, although the fact that the islamist ideology has being growing strongly and garners more support than some of the violent ideas in Christianity means that naturally I will be more concered about that.

Now, muslims are not ideas, they are people. I’m not saying anything about them as people, as individuals. That would make no sense. This is about ideas. And no ideas should be above scrutiny.

Mute Dave Meagher
    Favourite Dave Meagher
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:29 AM

Bingo when people, nationhood and religion get merge together as a race then trouble is coming. Have you ever described yourself as catholic above saying you’re Irish? Does any other group bar the other Terrorists group Israel identify with religion before anything else??

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:51 AM

There was a time when the people who were afraid of everything were branded cowards, and were considered a danger to society. Lots of people were shot for cowardice during the world wars, for example.

M
    Mute M
    Favourite M
    Dec 9th 2015, 12:20 PM

I don’t know what your point is Neal, but for one thing being afraid is no proof of cowardice. I imagine many of the most courageous acts by allied forces during ww2 were done in spite of imense fear.

Mute Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Dec 9th 2015, 7:00 PM

@ M…….Well said M.. Phobia is a ‘morbid fear’ of something and Islamophobia is a fear of Islam…..that’s all.However there is a concerted effort on the part of Islamo-Fascists globally to alter the meaning of Islamo-phobia to mean Muslim hatred and thus stigmatize anyone who voices fears of Islam by calling them bigots/racists and the like.
    But what people should be most alarmed about is the 57 member OIC(Org.of Islamic Countries) at the UN are relentlessly moving ahead to have Islamophobia classified as a hate crime and so anyone who criticizes Islam thereafter would be heavily fined or jailed,etc.regardless of where he/she lived.

Mute Geoff Dunne
    Favourite Geoff Dunne
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:10 AM

Don’t buy it at all, yesterday I read a story about a gay guy in the UK loving his tolerate Muslim neighbours. Islam is a religious Ideology not a race, what we are witnessing is a backlash against its extreme practices and silence from the majority within. I think this story and the one I mentioned are an attempt to calm said backlash. #you ain’t no Muslim bruv, except he was.

Dec 9th 2015, 11:21 AM

@Geoff, are you suggesting it is wrong to call out the islamophobia being spread by the right wing nut cases? Sorry, I really can’t make head or tail of your comment

Mute Rowe
    Favourite Rowe
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:48 AM

@Larissa.. Islamaphobia/ An irrational fear of Islam, would that be a definition? Don’t mix it up with folks having a rational fear of Islam.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:58 AM

The term islamophobia was coined by the Muslim brotherhood – the more you know.

Mute Dave Meagher
    Favourite Dave Meagher
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:58 AM

I made this point before there is nothing irrational about fearing the spread of Islam and as a Women you should be terrified about it coming to a street near you.
    I don’t mean to make this in anyway personal here but you you honestly think you would have the freedom of expression you have as a women aka the way you dress in a muslim country??( not judging you in anyway here just making the point)

Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Dec 9th 2015, 12:14 PM

Still peddling that lie scarr? The word comes from France, first written by a French guy in the early 20th century, just after WW I.

Mute Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Dec 9th 2015, 7:15 PM

@Geoff Dunne……I think,if i’m not mistaken, what you surmise is that the story taken from an FB page without a proper interview with questions ,etc. is ‘suspicious’, esp., at this time of heightened concern about Islamo-Fascist killings all over the place.

Mute Geoff Dunne
    Favourite Geoff Dunne
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:55 PM

That’s exactly what I’m saying, you have said it better than I. We need honest open discussion about the real threat from the Ideology of Islam to our western liberal values not this BS.

Mute willr
    Favourite willr
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:13 AM

Oisin showing himself up as a racist moron jumping on the insanity bandwagon. 1.3 billion Islamic people in the world. A tiny few are terrorists. That mentality is like deciding to bomb Belfast out of existence because some people there are IRA, RNU, etc

Mute Rowe
    Favourite Rowe

Islam and Muslim ain’t a race, you can be Black, White, Brown, Green and be a Muslim or Islamic.. It’s the warped totalitarian Ideology that can turn human beings into rabid killers that is the problem , fair enough he met plenty of Muslims that done him a turn but there are plenty of more who wouldn’t and would have his head off in an Instant. In my line of work I work with guys from Pakistan & Bangladesh amongst other western nationalities and the younger guys tell me they came here to escape Islam in their home countries, they are free here they said, where as the older guys in their 40s and 50s can pray on the Job and seem devout, these same older Muslim guys don’t interact so much and keep to themselves too.

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Dec 9th 2015, 1:01 PM

Nothing wrong with keeping to yourself Rowe. Also nothing wrong with prayer.

Mute Rowe
    Favourite Rowe
    Dec 9th 2015, 2:08 PM

@willr to which race is he being racist towards?

Mute Rowe
    Favourite Rowe
    Dec 9th 2015, 2:10 PM

@Alan K.. There is when your supposed to be working not praying, say anything to them and they get hysterical

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Dec 9th 2015, 2:24 PM

@Rowe, if you were this persons boss you could have brought it up with them. If you weren’t then that’s an issue between that person and their employer. If you said anything to me about something that was none of your business I wouldn’t get hysterical but you’d be told where to go as most other people would, including yourself i suspect. Did they have an agreement with their boss to do this and if not then why didn’t the boss do anything about it?

Mute Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Dec 9th 2015, 7:28 PM

@willr…..Is this your idea of a ‘tiny few’? The widely respected PEW research poll has you way off the mark!

—”’ A new poll by the Pew Research Center reveals significant levels of support for ISIS within the Muslim world. In 11 representative nation-states, up to 14 percent of the population has a favorable opinion of ISIS, and upwards of 62 percent “don’t know” whether or not they have a favorable opinion of the Islamist group.
    In Pakistan, a nuclear weapons state, only 28 percent of the public view ISIS unfavorably. By this overwhelming degree of either tacit support or tolerance for ISIS in the country, ISIS should be considered as a potential proxy nuclear weapons power via its linkages and support within Pakistan.—-”
    http://pamelageller.com/2015/11/pew-poll-between-63-million-and-287-million-isis-supporters-in-just-11-countries-13-of-syria-refugees-isis-sympathizers.html/

Mute Pete Slattery
    Favourite Pete Slattery

Well said, that man.

Mute Oisin O'Riordan
    Favourite Oisin O'Riordan

Stockholm syndrome.

Mute Ron Koeman
    Favourite Ron Koeman
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:59 AM

Arsehole syndrome.

Mute Ó Muirí Oisín
    Favourite Ó Muirí Oisín
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:01 AM

What a moronic comment with your where’s Wally head on ya… Idiot troll

See 15 more replies ▾
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:05 AM

Oisin, the islamophobic racist ar**hole strikes again

Mute Ó Muirí Oisín
    Favourite Ó Muirí Oisín
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:07 AM

I hope you don’t mean me Larissa?!!

Mute Ron Koeman
    Favourite Ron Koeman
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:07 AM

I’m sorry I posted on his comment. We just gave the infantile What he wanted. Better to just ignore idiots.

Mute Patrick Hurley
    Favourite Patrick Hurley
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:13 AM

When you argue with an idiot an outsider sees two idiots arguing. Best leave them rant away. They soon blow out of puff.

Ó Muirí Oisín, no, I mean the guy in his pyjamas, if that’s even his real picture

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:24 AM
    Mute Micheal Johnson
    Favourite Micheal Johnson
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:34 AM

What is really happening here is a conflation between Muslims and Islam.

When people give out about the wrongdoing of the Catholic Church, it is easy for people to separate the catholic people from the Institution of the Catholic Church because it has a head and a defined system of governance. Therefore any criticism is targeted and the general catholic population do not get offended.

However it is very difficult to have the same delineation of institution/ordinary people when it comes to Islam. So any criticism of Islam (practices, cruel laws, treatment of women) automatically gets conflated to a criticism about muslims as people; and then it offends muslims themselves as they feel they are being generalised, and offends all decent people for the same reason.

However if you look at it objectively (especially in the comments on the journal), 99% of the time; people are not criticising muslims themselves, but it is taken up this way by some people and so leads to name calling as above.

To bring it back to the church example; to demonise a person who calls out the failings of Islam for what they are; is no different than demonising someone who calls the catholic church out on it’s failings… and we would never do that.

Mute Dave Meagher
    Favourite Dave Meagher
    Dec 9th 2015, 12:01 PM

Larissa, Islam isn’t a race.

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Dec 9th 2015, 12:04 PM

That’s a nice idea Micheal only I’m absolutely SICK of seeing comments suggesting that ALL Muslims share the opinions / sympathies of a tiny minority of those that commit atrocities and they’re all just hiding it!

The level of paranoia out there attached to those identifying as Muslim is ridiculous!

Yes, of course it is possible t criticise Islam and the interpretation that certain people have of it.

The problem is too many people think that ALL Muslims share that interpretation.

We SHOULD judge people by their actions not what we THINK they “really” believe but it’s been clearly demonstrated, repeatedly, that a large number of people don’t. They allow their assumptions (and their fear) to over-ride their logic.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Dec 9th 2015, 1:14 PM

This soldier sounds like he has got infected by progressive white guilt syndrome?.

I’m sick of hearing about this so called tiny minority, using the word “tiny” is to make it sound like Islamism and Islamic fundamentalism is not a problem at all, when in fact it is a huge problem infecting vast swathes of this planet.

Here is a link to recognised terror groups around the world, outside of Islam you could nearly count the terror groups on one hand, you will be blue in the face trying to count the scores and scores of terror organisations that have their roots in Islamism.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Dec 9th 2015, 1:15 PM
    Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Dec 9th 2015, 1:33 PM

Red thumb away and remain in permanent denial and when the next Paris like attack occurs which shouldn’t be too long now you will still be in apologetic denial mode and then the next one and then the next one and the next one, what will it take for you regressives to see Islam for what it really is, a stain on humanity!.

Mute Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Dec 9th 2015, 5:51 PM

@Dave Meagher.. …Many people still think that Islam is confined to one race and so hate-mongering Islamo–fascist propagandists will use ‘racist’ to refer to anyone who criticizes Islam. Unfortunately such intimidation occasionally still works. I urge people not to be silenced by this intimidation tactic used often by MB professional paid internet shils.

Mute Paddy o'brian
    Favourite Paddy o'brian
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:38 PM

Oisin you put your finger on it…sounds like s.s all right

Mute John J Kelly
    Favourite John J Kelly
    Dec 10th 2015, 9:13 AM

imminent now, london i would think.

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:21 AM

Chris is a soldier who brings honour to his regiment. More people should follow the example set by this fine young man.

Mute JustMade Ireland
    Favourite JustMade Ireland
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:33 AM

Watch this the part when he speaks to the muslim people http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b06ryprb/reggie-yates-extreme-uk-1-gay-and-under-attack

I come from a family welcomes every one, muslims we met in a bar over a few pints at Christmas would go mad that we had pork at our Christmas dinner, our Indian friends would say no thank you.

My sister met a muslim guy in a club, she fell from him after they got married he and family started to try change her to their way of life, we don’t know why she lives the double life with him and his family she is muslim, with us our same old sister but over the years she as became more like them and agreeing with their strange views.

Any one I have been with or tried to be friends of the muslim faith either said or more or less said the day their god comes they would sacrifice me and any one believers.

Look at Ireland most groups that have come have mixed in well some keep to there own which is ok cause we all stick with those in commend, but most muslims have brought real change but bad ones that brings hate, suppression, anti women rights.

Mute Bob Freeman
    Favourite Bob Freeman

“Any one I have been with or tried to be friends of the muslim faith either said or more or less said the day their god comes they would sacrifice me and any one believers.”

Eh, maybe stop hanging out with nutjobs? I’m friends with a lot of Muslims, some over here, some from spending a lot of time living in the UK, and they would have a good laugh reading that!

Mute Warthog
    Favourite Warthog
    Dec 9th 2015, 12:06 PM

Those that Deny Freedom to others
    Do NOT deserve it for themselves.
    ————————————————-
    What that young man said is fair enough, good on him. He is also talking about a section or group of Muslims whom we need to hear more from in relation to Islamic extremism! People’s actions are important but right now in this social media world we need to hear more words from “moderate Muslims”! I have read comments on here that we have had our own version of DAESH on these islands when we had the PIRA/UVF etc bombing and slaughtering men, women and children who were out shopping our were in a pub or restaurant. What was different was the reactions of ordinary people (Christian/Non-Christian & Atheist) to these events, practically to a “man” they loudly condemned the perpetrators of these atrocities. We do not hear or see this type of reaction from Muslim communities anywhere in the world. In fact we usually get the opposite reaction which is one of jubilation and celebration! When I start seeing Muslim communities speak out against atrocities such as happened in France, UK, Spain etc then I might be persuaded to trust Muslims in our communities.

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Dec 9th 2015, 12:20 PM
    Dec 9th 2015, 12:37 PM

Don’t let fact blind your ignorance, Mr Warthog, on the other hand, warthogs aren’t exactly known for their intelligence.

http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/paris-attacks-british-muslims-condemn-isis-terrorism-through-newspaper-advert-1529388

Mute Warthog
    Favourite Warthog
    Dec 9th 2015, 1:19 PM

@Larissa – Looks like your knowledge on the Warthog compares admirably with your knowledge of the subject matter – “ignorant”!

Like others you are great at playing the “man” not the “ball”!

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Dec 9th 2015, 1:24 PM

And warthog Tricia failed to point out that the gathering of Muslims in her link is an annual Muslim parade they didn’t turn up because of Paris.

Mute Warthog
    Favourite Warthog
    Dec 9th 2015, 1:30 PM

@Tricia
    Hundreds Of Muslims Flooded London To Condemn Terrorism, The Media Ignored It – That’s the actual headline “Hundreds” so no wonder the Media ignored it when there are over 1,5 million Muslims alone living in London. In fact there are over 3 million Muslims living in the UK with roughly 2.8- 2.9 of them living in England. Poor turn out but I have to admit it’s a start. It has taken some time for this type of protest to occur but if you were to stick a few cartoons of The Prophet the Not-So-Merciful in the newspaper, you would have hundreds of thousands of Muslims out on the streets within 24 hours.

Mute Warthog
    Favourite Warthog
    Dec 9th 2015, 1:37 PM

@William – Of course not, as that would invalidate her argument. Also notice the she, Larissa or any of the other Fuzzy Wuzzies have not tackled the subject matter I mentioned in my post!

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Dec 9th 2015, 1:42 PM

Agree warthog,

“Sunday saw hundreds of people take to the streets of London to promote the positive message of Islam as a force for peace and unity, yet not one mainstream media outlet reported it.

The UK Arbaeen Procession is organised every year by the Husaini Islamic Trust UK and according to their website is the ‘largest annually organised Islamic event in Europe’.

So this is the largest organised Islamic event in Europe, and only a few hundred turned out?

As you stated if someone offended their precious prophet, Muslims would be organised in their Millions not in hundreds.

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Dec 9th 2015, 2:11 PM

Similar to the Muslim rally/parade in Dublin some months ago….30+ showed up,some simply to berate Irish society for its intolerance….

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Dec 9th 2015, 2:16 PM

If this is the largest organised event in Europe then it must have been a larger event than any demonstrations after the Prophet was offended. I don’t recall any demonstrations in Europe involving millions of muslims after the cartoons in the Danish or French papers/magazines.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Dec 9th 2015, 2:25 PM

Try Millions across the world Alan, need I name the many predominately Muslim countries that went berserk on the streets burning flags and effigies over a few cartoons?.

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Dec 9th 2015, 3:17 PM

You weren’t talking about across the world William, you specifically mentioned Europe and Warthog was talking about the UK. If you were talking about across the world you probably should have mentioned that and not Europe specifically.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Dec 9th 2015, 3:36 PM

No I was not Alan I was just pointing out what was on the article the claim of this been the biggest organised Islamic protest in Europe, when I mentioned the cartoons I didn’t specifically single out Europe if I did can you point it out for me please?.

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Dec 9th 2015, 4:33 PM

Maybe read back your own comments William. You only mentioned predominately muslim countries AFTER I pointed out we were talking about Europe and more specifically the UK.

Mute Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:04 PM

@Joachin Peiper……Your comment is fair and accurate but for the + sign after the 30. I was there and saw less.

Mute jamie dwyer
    Favourite jamie dwyer
    Dec 9th 2015, 1:00 PM
    Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    Dec 9th 2015, 12:52 PM

Oh yes this is powerful stuff!! even if he shouldn’t have been their in the first place, also he is a Soldier so he should expect death or injury.

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Dec 9th 2015, 1:08 PM

Probably shouldn’t have been there but that’s not his call. The army should be the non political servant of the state. He goes where he is told to by his commanding officers. Don’t agree that a soldier should expect death or injury – accept that it is a risk in their line of work but to expect it – no, I don’t agree with that.

Mute Joey Gee
    Favourite Joey Gee
    Dec 9th 2015, 12:21 PM

Much as I dislike people from abroad coming to my country and changing our values, the same applies in the middle to far east where this foreign army were sent to.
    If you have ever been young, walking down the main street in your home town and get detained, threatened and battered by one of these personnel, you will quickly have a lot more faith in someone who causes them damage.
    In essence, I have more trust in those indigenous soldiers in what has, for most of the last century as Iraq, to do what their fellow nationals want.
    No sympathy for foreign troops when they go where they’re not wanted, our troops do, and must continue to, only peace keeping roles on behalf of the United Nations.

Mute bebi bencomo
    Favourite bebi bencomo
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:59 AM

http://youtu.be/zEnWw_lH4tQ
    The Holy Quran Experiment

Mute Rowe
    Favourite Rowe
    Dec 9th 2015, 12:13 PM
    Mute jamie dwyer
    Favourite jamie dwyer
    Dec 9th 2015, 12:54 PM

Islam is NOT a Religion of Peace https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ZiJehMXBpQ

Mute Rowe
    Favourite Rowe
    Dec 9th 2015, 1:04 PM

@JamieD..some of the hysterical commentators on here spouting, Islamophobe, Bigot, Racist need to see that video.

Mute jamie dwyer
    Favourite jamie dwyer
    Dec 9th 2015, 1:57 PM

@Rowe,blinded by ignorance they are.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Dec 9th 2015, 1:57 PM

Can your right wing hysteria xenotrolls.

Mute Rowe
    Favourite Rowe
    Dec 9th 2015, 2:14 PM

Diarmuid the Islamic silverback has returned.

Mute John J Kelly
    Favourite John J Kelly
    Dec 9th 2015, 6:15 PM

interesting perspective, he is right, most Muslims are not violent, but the ideology does lean towards violence,

Mute Inis Stone
    Favourite Inis Stone
    Dec 10th 2015, 1:01 AM

ISIS = Israeli Secret Intelligence Service

Mute Sean O'Riordan
    Favourite Sean O'Riordan
    Dec 9th 2015, 8:00 PM

Well said…to generalise in any shape or form,be it race,religion or sex…is the utmost of ignorance…

Mute Anthony Byrne
    Favourite Anthony Byrne
    Dec 9th 2015, 7:26 PM

The venom and vitriol encapsulated in many of the comments here serves only to highlight the negative and destructive mindset that religion ( all religion ) contributes to the human condition. I have had it with religion. Been there, done that, learned the lesson, moved on. I am no longer Christian or Muslim, I am simply Human.