You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

RTÉ

Colin Farrell: 'My brother got plenty of beatings for being gay'

The Irish actor says he supports same sex marriage.

Updated 10.50pm

COLIN FARRELL HAS spoken out about how his brother was beaten up because he’s gay, and how he believes ‘it’s sad, disappointing and unfair’ that his brother had to leave Ireland to get married.

The Irish actor appeared on the first Claire Byrne Live show tonight to weigh in on the issue of same-sex marriage.

It comes after Health Minister Leo Varadkar spoke publicly about being gay yesterday morning. The Minister said he “wanted to be honest with people” ahead of the forthcoming same-sex marriage referendum.

Speaking about his brother Eamon, Farrell said he found out that he was gay when he was nine years old.

“I never thought of it in terms of any unnaturalness or any such thing and I’ve seen my brother go through a lot,” the actor explained. “I’ve seen him be at the tail-end of the whip of intolerance many times through his life and they are his battles and they are his wounds and they are his traumas but bearing witness to them at close quarters – of course caring for him as much as I do – had an effect on me.”

For his brother, being gay was nothing close to the “lifestyle choice” that some people speak about in this debate, Farrell said. Eamon came out to their mother at a young age and then suffered through a childhood and adolescence at tough Dublin schools.

I remember him coming home with blood on his shirt, and he got plenty of beatings and he got just called names continuously…so he had a very, very, very tough time, a lot of cruelty, like real, absolute shameful cruelty that was placed upon him…

Eamon married his partner, Stephen Mannion, in Canada. Farrell said, “To see them every day live their lives as a happily married couple is an amazing thing.

To think that they had to leave their own country to do that is sad and disappointing and just grossly unfair I feel.

The actor said he tries to understand the point of view of people who are against same-sex marriage but he can’t see how declaring love and faithfulness between two people can be a threat to others.

All we’ve known up until now is marriage between a man and a woman and guess what? There’s a hell of a lot of unsuccessful marriages between men and women. There’s a hell of a lot of children who have to experience day-to-day the arguments, the bickering, the domestic violence, between their parents.

“We’re talking about Irish society being the best version in any referendum, divorce, same sex marriage, being the best version of ourselves that we can be.

I carry Ireland with me everywhere I go, and I love my country deeply.
….This is my coming out of the closet as it were publicly and saying that I support this vote with every fibre of my being.

Farrell recorded the interview with Byrne via satellite link from Los Angeles.

First published 8am

Read: “It’s not something that defines me”: Health Minister Leo Varadkar on being gay>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

187 Comments
    Mute Lloyd Hetherington
    Favourite Lloyd Hetherington
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:18 AM

Everyone has a relative, friend, colleague or neighbour who is gay (whether they realise it or not). It’s nice when our straight relatives, friends, colleagues and neighbours stick up for us against the inequality.

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:03 PM

“Everyone has”?

I doubt it.

Mute Dave Hunter
    Favourite Dave Hunter
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:10 PM

You have no idea!!!!

Mute Kilian MacUmba
    Favourite Kilian MacUmba
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:29 PM

if its not your brother your uncle or cousin……. its you….Apparently, one in five people in the world are Chinese. And there are five people in my family, so it must be one of them. It’s either my mum or my dad, or maybe my older brother Colin, or maybe my younger brother Ho-Cha Chu. But I’m pretty sure it’s Colin.

Mute Shane McGettrick
    Favourite Shane McGettrick
    Jan 20th 2015, 1:10 AM

Somehow I reckon that geography has less on influence on sexuality than it does on ethnic origin…yknow, how all those Chinese people tend to be clustered in and around China.

Mute Michael Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Michael Fitzpatrick
    Jan 20th 2015, 6:07 AM

Good man Colin, sure the gays are finally allowed march in the NYC Saint Patrick’s Day Parade, not sure about the British though, according to this….
    http://heraldypress.com/gays-allowed-in-nyc-parade-but-brits-banned-2/

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Jan 20th 2015, 7:02 AM

I’m sure you have the intelligence to realise why that argument is invalid? I can tell you this much though – 100% of the people I know, know someone who is gay. 100% Killian!

Mute Con Manne
    Favourite Con Manne
    Jan 20th 2015, 7:50 AM

…or Smithfield.

Mute Thomas
    Favourite Thomas
    Jan 20th 2015, 8:30 AM

You’ve been watching Frankie Boyle

Mute Thomas
    Favourite Thomas
    Jan 20th 2015, 8:32 AM

@Kilian Macumba you’ve been watching too much Jimmy Carr

Mute E.m. Breathneach
    Favourite E.m. Breathneach
    Jan 19th 2015, 11:53 AM

Whats this “gay agenda” I hear so much about? The only agenda I have, as a gay person, is to one day marry my partner. That is all.

Mute Ariana
    Favourite Ariana
    Jan 19th 2015, 11:57 AM

I wish I knew, I feel like headquarters forgot to send it out to a lot of us.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 19th 2015, 12:02 PM

Gay Agenda:

Get up
    Put on a wash
    Eat breakfast
    Go to work
    Return from work
    Get equal
    Make dinner
    Watch Downton
    Do the dishes
    Call mammy
    Go to bed

Mute E.m. Breathneach
    Favourite E.m. Breathneach
    Jan 19th 2015, 12:08 PM

That sounds about right!! Us and our agendas, causing consternation!

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 19th 2015, 12:22 PM

I know! It’s low fat milk like, calm the fook down folks!!!

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Jan 19th 2015, 6:57 PM

The essential difference between people who happen to be gay and people who happen to be straight is just the matter of sexual orientation. We are otherwise the same.

I simply can’t fathom why anyone can find a reason to feel hostile to, phobic of or worried about the sexual preference of other people.

We are all sisters and brothers. We have no reason or justification to try make the lives of other people miserable or to be unkind to them.

Homosexual love and desire is as valid as heterosexual love and desire.

Mute Juninho
    Favourite Juninho
    Jan 19th 2015, 7:40 PM

Aha, I knew there was something odd about those gays. According to their agenda they neither poo nor shower!

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 19th 2015, 7:45 PM

Damnit! Rumbled. I’m so ashamed……and backed up

Mute David Hanlon
    Favourite David Hanlon
    Jan 19th 2015, 9:22 AM

He makes a valid point in raising the uncomfortable truth that despite the privilege of the family unit, as he anti-everything brigade term it, there are many “parents” who don’t deserve the title. But then I’m sure a gay couple in a stable loving relationship who put vast amounts of time and money into adoption or fertilisation treatments and therefore want children are a much greater danger to the institutions of family and marriage.

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Jan 19th 2015, 7:52 PM

I know two gay couples that had children together, one gay couple, one lesbian. Their kids have no issues in school but then again, they’re not in Ireland… Their in the Netherlands!

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Jan 19th 2015, 9:24 PM

Dont discriminate against your kids and become their first bully . #Same love

Mute Ten Major
    Favourite Ten Major
    Jan 19th 2015, 12:03 PM

I have no problem with what are being termed gay stories but I do have a problem with every newspaper’s front page page telling me it’s no big deal that Leo Varadkar is gay & he is very brave to come out. Lots of politicians are out, what in particular is so brave about LV doing it?
    He is paid & in the public eye as a Minister of Health not for being gay. This is one big publicity opportunity.
    On a more generous note it is good to see that public figures do feel comfortable to come out. One’s sexual nature should never be a source of shame.

Mute Red Torch Ginger
    Favourite Red Torch Ginger
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:24 PM

I couldn’t agree less with you. Lots of politicians are not out as you say. It is a big deal to stand up openly and declare your sexuality, when it’s not what considered to be the norm- being straight! I think the minister decided that his sexuality could have come out during the marriage equality campaign and become a ride issue. He has done it on his own terms and I wouldn’t say it was easy for him.
    Whether you agree with how he does his job as minister, and he had only been health minister for a very short time, his standing up will make a difference to all young gay people. We have very few gay role models and I think he is a positive one. He could even become Taoiseach in time. That’s an amazing thought.

Mute Silver Planet
    Favourite Silver Planet
    Jan 19th 2015, 10:01 PM

I don’t see how it’s courageous. Was there any chance of a negative reaction?

Mute Gary Walsh
    Favourite Gary Walsh
    Jan 20th 2015, 1:07 AM

Yes it could cost him votes too. Ireland is still a fairly conservative country.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Jan 20th 2015, 7:09 AM

Silver – there WILL be a negative reaction and he will see it in lots of little ways. It’s getting better but we aren’t at full acceptance yet. The likes of That Woman on the debate last night will continue to work for intolerance and division. Indeed – if you want to find an agenda I know just where to find one.

Mute Gary Gary
    Favourite Gary Gary
    Jan 19th 2015, 9:50 AM

Liberals are great and very tolerant.
    Just as long as you agree with everything they say

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 19th 2015, 10:10 AM

Better than being intolerant 100% of the time, eh Gary?

Mute David Hanlon
    Favourite David Hanlon
    Jan 19th 2015, 11:11 AM

Gary’s so tolerant he needs to post multiple comments on an article he doesn’t agree with…

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 19th 2015, 11:19 AM

Gary can’t get enough!

Mute John Turkey
    Favourite John Turkey
    Jan 19th 2015, 1:43 PM

True liberals are not pro-tolerance; they are anti-intolerance.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 19th 2015, 1:48 PM

And conservatives claim to be the most tolerant but are quite the opposite. Intolerant of others, intolerant of change and intolerant of anybody that doesn’t abide by their ways.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Jan 19th 2015, 6:59 PM

Gary, Gary, is back and it’s not just his name which is repetitious.

Gary, Gary, just remove the “r”.

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Jan 19th 2015, 9:26 PM

Really dedicated trolling there Gary. You’re very interested in gay rights for someone so against the idea

Mute Aisling Norris
    Favourite Aisling Norris
    Jan 19th 2015, 11:41 AM

Honestly I’d rather be gay. It seems like much more fun.

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    Jan 19th 2015, 7:00 PM

You’d always be in a festive mood. Wouldnt that be great.

Buuuut, if you are a person who has to announce (roar out) their sexual orientation to the whole pub within 2 mintues of entering it, that wouldnt be great.

Right, I’m off to run a bath and light that big yanky candle a spanish sailor once gave to me.

Mute John Whelan
    Favourite John Whelan
    Jan 20th 2015, 4:35 AM

And maybe even share the odd bill

Mute Cillian Quinn
    Favourite Cillian Quinn
    Jan 20th 2015, 1:38 AM

For all you Harry Potter Fans and Iona Institue cynics.

Does anyone else agree that Breda O’Brien is Irelands answer to Mrs.Umbridge? Pretends to be all nice but is actually a death eater with the heart of a dementor.

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:18 AM

Shit actor. Gay brother or not.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:25 AM

$30 million in the bank. Not so shit

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:54 AM

Money for shit.

Mute Ten Major
    Favourite Ten Major
    Jan 19th 2015, 11:48 AM

Sour grapes Amos

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Jan 19th 2015, 12:32 PM

Another product of a sick, twisted, Hollywood.

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson
    Jan 19th 2015, 7:10 PM

@E, he was a product of RTE.

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Jan 19th 2015, 7:46 PM

Until now I had yet to see a conversation between an egg and its multiple personalities.

Mute Eoin O'Connor
    Favourite Eoin O'Connor
    Jan 20th 2015, 2:08 PM

Sure he was good in the Martin McDonagh films.

Mute Gary Gary
    Favourite Gary Gary
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:39 AM

The Dark side ??
    I just don’t agree with gay marraigr

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:49 AM

Then don’t agree to marry someone gay. Simples.
    Leave everyone else alone.

Mute Seán Gallagher
    Favourite Seán Gallagher
    Jan 19th 2015, 9:12 AM

Gary,

Can you list the reasons to oppose it?

I ask because after all this time I haven’t seen a reasonable argument that hasn’t been debunked. Love to hear a good one.

See 48 more replies ▾
    Mute Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Favourite Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Jan 19th 2015, 9:19 AM

He never said he doesn’t support gay marriage, he said he doesn’t support gay marraigr. And honestly, does anyone support any type of marraigrs, gay or straight? Dreadful things, so they are.

Mute Pud
    Favourite Pud
    Jan 19th 2015, 9:47 AM

Sean , he disagrees with it , same as u disagree with him,
    Now can u list an argument for marriage that I can’t debunk???

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 19th 2015, 10:14 AM

Pud, our constitution states all people should be treated equally before the law. Try that one on for size….

Mute Pud
    Favourite Pud
    Jan 19th 2015, 11:38 AM

Ailbhe- I thought u want to change the Constitution !
    U can’t be preaching from it one minute & trying to change it the next .

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 19th 2015, 12:05 PM

You didn’t read what I wrote slowly. Let me explain. The constitution does not prohibit same sex couples from marrying. This is prohibited due to an interpretation by the supreme court. An interpretation that is in itself unconstitutional. In order to circumvent this judgement permanently a referendum is needed to change our constitution to CLEARLY allow same sex couples to marry.

Now, you alluded to debunking any case for SSM, the floor is yours.

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Jan 19th 2015, 12:39 PM

The majority of sex crimes against children are carried out by male offenders.

What would stop 2 male pedophiles posing as a gay couple so as to get married and have unchecked, unrestricted access to victims via adoption and surrogacy?

Serious question from a concerned Father.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 19th 2015, 12:43 PM

E, this is the FIFTH time I will say this to you.

Marriage WILL NOT aid pedophiles. Single men can adopt already.
    The majority of offenders are fathers, like yourself, or uncles, brothers or partners of the mother.

Your scaremongering is not working. I keep telling you this but you refuse to even acknowledge my posts. It is clear that you have no interests other than to spread lies and fear. Get a life E.

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Jan 19th 2015, 1:12 PM

Where exactly did you say that to me before Ailbhe?

You only normally cast dispersions about my sexuality and character when you reply to my comments.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 19th 2015, 1:17 PM

A thread yesterday on a poll. 4 times on that thread. You cast dispersions about gay people in every post.

Now, your scaremongering in debunked, go troll elsewhere. Your attacks are a disgrace.

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Jan 19th 2015, 1:19 PM

Sex offenders don’t exactly carry Sex Offender Id’s?
    Gays males don’t exactly carry Gay Id’s?
    Surrogacy and Adoptions agencies and other middlemen in 3rd world countries make million each year in fees.
    Seeing as the majority of sex crimes carried out are carried out by males.
    What protections are there in this for our Kids??
    Our governments have a history of bringing forward referendums that serve their own agendas.

Again a serious question from a concerned Father.

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Jan 19th 2015, 1:22 PM

Attacks Ailbhe?
    I’m afraid that you were the one casting personal dispersions about my sexuality and character when you replied to my comments yesterday.

For transparency here’s the link
    http://www.thejournal.ie/same-sex-marriage-poll-1888574-Jan2015/#comment-3344669

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 19th 2015, 1:27 PM

I did no such thing. You conflate homosexuality with paedophilia. A strawman argument. You have nothing more and your response is to cry victim where I have done nothing but explain to you how obsurd and unfounded your ‘worries’ are.

You repeatedly say ‘from a concerned father. I’m concerned for your children, should they be gay.

Now, care to make a decent argument or are you going to attack homosexuals, cry victim and keep liking your own comments?

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 19th 2015, 1:28 PM

By the way Pud, you have not debunked my point…..

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Jan 19th 2015, 1:38 PM

@ Ailbhe
    I have nothing against gay people.
    Please point out where I said that?
    I have many gay friends and relatives.
    I’ve lived in 2 of the gay capitals of the world for a number of years.
    I have worked with and for gays.
    I’ve employed gay people.
    I’ve asked relevant question to protect vulnerable children/infants.
    And I’ve been met with dispersions about my character and sexuality.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 19th 2015, 1:52 PM

No E, no you haven’t. Every time I debunk your ‘worries’ you digress and claim to be a victim. As I pointed out, most perpetrators are fathers, partners of mothers or the extended family of the victims.

You claim two men will marry to allow them to adopt victims. a) They can adopt without marriage and b) paedophiles get off on control, not sharing.

Now do you care to come up with a real argument or shall you continue to avoid the reality and digress to your manufactured victim status?

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Jan 19th 2015, 2:02 PM

I ask serious question and get replies of fluffy assumptions with no substance Ailbhe.

God bless our children.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 19th 2015, 2:13 PM

My responses are based on facts about paedophiles. You are assuming they will marry to get their hands on children.

You don’t even believe your own tripe. What a sad thing to do, to conflate paedophilia and SSM with NO basis.

I won’t waste any more time or energy debating with somebody that ignores reason and seeks only to scaremonger.

Spaghetti monster bless your offspring…..

Mute Gareth Gleeson
    Favourite Gareth Gleeson
    Jan 19th 2015, 3:01 PM

That’s a really well thought out point E. I’m unsure of the comparative statistics, however I’m sure that pedophilia is not limited to men only. Isn’t it then possible that a man and woman who are both pedophiles could also pose as a genuine couple and adopt kids. By virtue of that fact and your argument, shouldn’t we then just scrap the institution of marriage altogether, and maybe adoption while we’re at it? Sure is that really any different to suggesting that because of recent Jihadist terror attacks that we should react by preventing any muslims from working in any jobs where they are exposed to the public, because by your reasoning they could be terrorists?!

Mute Jonathan Coleman
    Favourite Jonathan Coleman
    Jan 19th 2015, 6:58 PM

That’s an idiotic stance, like saying “I just don’t agree with gravity.” Either have a reason, or shut up.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Jan 19th 2015, 7:11 PM

In family paedophilia, the primary risk factor is a heterosexual male targeting a lone parent children and inveigling himself through marriage into gaining access to the children.

Paedophilia has noting to do with homosexuality.

The fostering and adoption processes for single male and males in same sex relationships are rigorous, intrusive and properly extensive.

I’m open to correction but I know of no case, ever, in which a homosexual couple were ever prosecuted for child sexual abuse. Sadly, we know of very many instances of straight married sexually abusing their own children and other children. I’m not aware of any calls so far to ban straight men from marriage and parenthood because of the risk of paedophilia.

There may be more justification for close examination of the motives of straight men who wish to marry into existing families of lone parents with children. I say this based on a risk assessment and risk management perspective.

“E” is either a person given to imbecilic statements or a troll. Indeed, he may actually be both.

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    Jan 19th 2015, 7:38 PM

Personally Jonathan, I have no problem with gravity, it’s gravity who disagrees with me. =(

Mute Honest Tom
    Favourite Honest Tom
    Jan 19th 2015, 7:48 PM

E. So what you’re saying is because of a very very remote and highly unrealistic possibility that two paedophiles get together and pose as a gay couple to get married and continue this charade long enough to adopt a baby so they can rape that child, then gay couples in the country should not be allowed marry. That’s crackers man. It’s a bit like saying we should ban the manufacturing of skipping ropes because there is a remote possibility that some physco could buy one and strangle someone with it.

Mute Geraldine Moore
    Favourite Geraldine Moore
    Jan 19th 2015, 7:49 PM

E.. What would stop a man and woman adopting and him abusing the kids?Gay means attracted to the same sex Not kids. Cop on. You’re actually embarrassing yourself on here

Mute Pud
    Favourite Pud
    Jan 19th 2015, 7:57 PM

Ailbhe,
    I read it quickly as I do with all ur posts,
    U say the constitution allows same sex marriage but u want to change the constitution ,
    Also read my previous post slowly ,
    I said I could debunk any argument for Marraige , not SSM , don’t twist my post to be argumentive !!

Mute David Donovan
    Favourite David Donovan
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:04 PM

Ive lost count of the times you’ve used this as an argument. It’s a warped and twisted suggestion and if you yourself have kids, i’d worry for them. What kind of mind comes up with ‘What would stop 2 male pedophiles posing as a gay couple so as to get married and have unchecked, unrestricted access to victims via adoption and surrogacy?’

thats just sick but if it is your only counter argument to marriage equality, keep at it. The ludicrous statements like these will win this for us.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan

I didn’t say the constitution allows for same sex marriage, now who’s twisting???

So you mean to say you responded to somebody talking about marriage equality but you weren’t refering to marriage equality. Ah you’re giving me a great laugh.

‘I can’t debunk it so I’ll pretend I never said I could’.

Smooth, really smooth….

Mute Colm O'Gorman
    Favourite Colm O'Gorman
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:24 PM

Important I think to answer that question respectfully. I will take as asked in a genuine way, based upon a concern that is genuinely felt.

First point I would make is to broaden the original question. What’s to prevent any man, intent upon abusing a child, from marrying in order to have children himself, or to access the existing children of his email partner?

Nothing especially. We can’t and won’t prevent those intent upon abusing children from having access to children by denying LGBT people access to civil marriage. Most particularly, we can prevent heterosexual men who abuse children, and the vast majority of men who abuse children identify as heterosexual, from abusing children by denying LGBT people access to civil marriage.

Secondly, it would be grossly disproportionate to deny all LGBT people equality on the basis of a perception that someone might exploit marriage to abuse children.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Jan 19th 2015, 9:11 PM

Colm, you are missing one negative in your comment above. Please look at the sentence which commences “More particularly”.

It is, of course your entitlement, to treat the question from E as entirely sincere and motivated by a deeply felt concern for children. You are entitled to do this despite the tone of the comments posted by E. Indeed, you are entitled to view the question as profound, insightful and enlightened only motivated by the best of concerns.

Mute Tony Stanley
    Favourite Tony Stanley
    Jan 20th 2015, 1:42 AM

Fred & Rose West, Ian Brady and Myra Hindley, Ian Huntley & Maxine Carr, Joseph and Rosemarie Frtizl (she so knew), paul Bernardo and Karla Homolka, Patsy and Jon Ramsey!!!

All STRAIGHT! All (well maybe not all proven) child killers or abusers!!!!!!!

STOP COMPARING GAY PEOPLE AND GAY MARRAIGE TO PEADOPHILIA. !!!!! We’re not abusers or freaks !

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Jan 20th 2015, 8:45 AM

I said what would stop 2 male sexual offenders POSING as a gay couple so as to get married and unrestricted access to victims.
    As a new father, am I not allowed to question this law/legislation without a bombardment of emotional presumptions and assumptions, and jibes about my sexuality and character.
    Whatever happened to the saying
    “There are no silly questions here”???

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 20th 2015, 8:47 AM

Your question has been answered. You have no need to worry. Happy now? Or are you just interested in creating a stir?

Mute JP Murdock
    Favourite JP Murdock
    Jan 20th 2015, 9:02 AM

@E, did Colm put your fears to rest, as he did answer your question at face value.

This is an issue which can seem very self evident to those with living with the fact of being gay. Or as with Colm who’s life work is child abuse. Therefor it can be hard for the above ppl to understand why you would ask the question.

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Jan 20th 2015, 9:02 AM

E
    Your children are at greatest risk from YOU.
    What are we all going to do to protect your children from a heterosexual man who possibly married and had children just so he could abuse them?
    Won’t anyone think of YOUR children?!

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Jan 20th 2015, 9:44 AM

Excuse me guys but am I not the one who decides if Colm has answered my concerns?

What do mean by that Jane?
    Please expand on your statement?

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Jan 20th 2015, 9:51 AM

E, I know you keep relying on this thread and demanding more affirmation because it strokes your ego. I’ll reply once and once only.
    Statistically speaking most paedophiles identify as heterosexual men. You claim to be a heterosexual man.
    Statistically speaking most children who are abused know their assailants. They are usually family members or family friends.
    Therefore, statistically speaking, your children are in more danger of abuse from you than they are from any strawman gay married couple.
    So, drop the indignation and the whataboutery and just face the facts.

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Jan 20th 2015, 10:06 AM

In the vast majority of surrogacies that facilitate a same sex couple having a child, an infant has to be taken away from it’s birth mum/dad forever.
    Regardless of laws, legislation here and in other jurisdictions,
    is that not a form of child abuse?

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Jan 20th 2015, 10:14 AM

Thanks for clarifying that Jane.
    Your initial statement seemed to be casting dispersions about my personal character and sexual orientation.

Is homosexuality not prevalent amongst criminals in prisons Jane?
    Serious question.

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Jan 20th 2015, 10:17 AM

@ Tony
    Jeffrey Dahmer?

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 20th 2015, 10:23 AM

E likes to conflate homosexuality with child abuse, paedophilia and adult rape. E seems to have a bit of an obsession with homosexuality and paedophilia. He asks a ridiculous question gets answered several times, refuses to listen and goes about offending millions.

E is an attentiin seeker and it’s pitiful. Hooe youre ok buddy!

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Jan 20th 2015, 10:53 AM

There you go again Ailbhe, casting your dispersions.
    God help the success of campaigners if they refuse to handle the difficult questions,
    is reduced to taking every word personally and throwing dirty personal jibes.

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Jan 20th 2015, 10:55 AM

Sorry typo
    “God help the success of campaigners who refuse to handle the difficult questions,
    and are reduced to taking every word personally and throwing dirty personal jibes”

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 20th 2015, 11:13 AM

So you’re giving out about people taking things personally and giving personal jibes? Do you see the hypocrisy in that?

People have answered your question perfectly. You have nothing to worry about. It is statistically more likely that a family member of yours will abuse your kids than two men will pretend to be gay and adopt them. Not a jibe, a statistically supported fact.

So don’t worry, k?

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Jan 20th 2015, 11:42 AM

“You have nothing to worry about. It is statistically more likely that a family member of yours will abuse your kids than two men will pretend to be gay and adopt them. Not a jibe, a statistically supported fact” ???
    Jeez with “Facts” like that, god help the campaign Luv.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 20th 2015, 12:06 PM

So you dispute then that most perpetrators of sex crimes on minors are relatives or partners of the mother?
    Or you think it is more likely that two men will agree to get married and go through the lengthy and grueling process that is adoption in order to gain access to victims?

Firstly, which is it and secondly, if you dispute this I assume you can back it up.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 20th 2015, 12:19 PM

Information from the Rape Crisis Centre Dublin:

‘Who sexually abuses children?

While the majority of abusers are men, both men and women sexually abuse children. In most cases, greater than 82% children are abused by somebody they know – a family member, baby-sitter, neighbour, authority figure. In about a quarter of cases, the abuser is him or herself a child or teenager.’

I have researched the prevalence of paedophiles abusing marital rights in countries where same sex marriage is legal in order to adopt their victims. I got zero results. Nothing. Nada. Tada.

Have you found anything?

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Jan 20th 2015, 12:21 PM

Colm O’Gorman was far too charitable to accept E as sincere and to take E’s derogatorily motivated questions at face value.

E just heaps insult on top of mischief and provocation.

One might have expected a feeble point or 2 to be made by E but, if you look as his points of challenge, there isn’t a single point of substance made by him.

It is not possible to have an honest debate with E because he is unwilling or incapable of engaging in honest debate.

E’s orientation may be straight but that’s the only quality about him which has that quality.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 20th 2015, 12:27 PM

Anthony, you sum him up better than I ever could! Kudos

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 20th 2015, 4:06 PM
    Mute Marie Feeney
    Favourite Marie Feeney
    Jan 20th 2015, 12:26 AM

Pretend you have a brother/sister, son/daughter who is gay – now wouldn’t you want them to have the same rights and privileges as you do – it doesn’t matter who they use to publicise, advertise or raise the profile of the topic or subject – it’s simple – live and let live

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Jan 19th 2015, 7:37 PM

Contraception was predicted to result in couples no longer having children, the legalisation of male homosexual activity as leading to a pandemic of homosexuality, divorce was to lead to the destruction of marriage and not the same old reactionaries and alarmists promote same sex marriage as undermining heterosexual (traditional) marriage and demeaning it.

Do the reactionaries and the fundamentalists ever get even slightly embarrassed that all of their gloomy prognostications are never realised?

It’s the same old alarmist guff trotted out in new clothes each time but getting older, more tired and more hackneyed each time.

If we take an example of what is colloquially called a “gay basher”, and I realise that I can’t use the word “homoph*obic”, would you think that such a person (a “gay basher”)would vote for or against same sex marriage in a Referendum on the subject?

As the holy man once said “By their company ye shall know them”.

Mute Chris Kubik
    Favourite Chris Kubik
    Jan 19th 2015, 7:43 PM

As long as people feel the urge to come out we as a society will never resolve this issue. It’s not about gay people standing up and coming out, celebrities and politicians don’t need to come out. The majority (straight people) have to stand up and fight for the rights of the minority (gay people).

Mute Hebridean princess
    Favourite Hebridean princess
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:43 AM

“There is too many of us that don’t parent their kid because it was a 5 min thing”…. insult to many families struggling and raising children. This comment shows what a scant regard SSM supported have for families in general. Colin,please ar least use the proper definition referring to children,not “kid”,very disrespectful.

Mute Seán Gallagher
    Favourite Seán Gallagher
    Jan 19th 2015, 9:14 AM

Lol.

Straight actor calls child ‘kid’, therefore marriage equality is bad.

Mute Ugly Truth
    Favourite Ugly Truth
    Jan 19th 2015, 9:28 AM

There’s way too many Dads out there who want to parent , not just pay the bills , but have little or no access because of the bias shown in family courts , on a side note the amount of children taken into State “care” has doubled in less than a decade , there’s lots of money circulating in the child protection industry …1billion Eu or thereabouts , and with the passing of the upcoming referendum a whole new customer base will have been realized , it’s a win -win situation for the cultural Marxists while the useful idiots don’t even know they’ve been played.

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Jan 19th 2015, 9:42 AM

I call my kid a kid. I myst be such a crap mother! (No comments from the cheap seats.)

Mute Zozzy Zozimus
    Favourite Zozzy Zozimus
    Jan 19th 2015, 11:20 AM

Every seat is a cheap seat here.

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Jan 20th 2015, 9:53 AM

You have a point, Zozzy.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Jan 19th 2015, 7:06 PM

Colin is so right some people shouldn’t have children i know he didn’t say that in so many words but thats what i understood, his brother and partner I’m sure would love to have children but people will think its not normal when these couples just want to be like everyone else

Mute Jason O Neill
    Favourite Jason O Neill
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:16 AM

I thought you could get same sex marraige in Ireland or is it you can have a ceremony but not be reckonised by the state

Mute Conor Buggy
    Favourite Conor Buggy
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:28 AM

Civil partnership is allowed but civil marriage is not. There are in excess of 150 differences legally between both. The referendum would essentially allow gay couples to have exactly the same civil status as married straight couples. Obviously without a religious ceremony of matrimony.

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Jan 20th 2015, 9:19 AM

Farrell the womaniser talks about parenting.
    Did he not father 2 children in 2 broken relationships.
    Now you’d hardly call that parenting, would you?

Mute David adams
    Favourite David adams
    Jan 19th 2015, 7:44 PM

I wonder was Colin’s brother beaten up in the estates of castleknock. The same estates where Colin had a hard upbringing in Dublin. Jesus If that was rough what must the flats where I lived been like. Colin Farrell is a knob

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang

David are you gay and were you “gay bashed” for no other reason that you were gay?

Mute David adams
    Favourite David adams
    Jan 19th 2015, 11:07 PM

There’s a dark corner with your name all over it. Muppet

Mute Matje Rees
    Favourite Matje Rees
    Jan 20th 2015, 2:31 AM

No Anthony, poor david was just “knobbashed” for being a ………………………

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Jan 20th 2015, 8:24 AM

David, now I know you for what you are.

Mute David adams
    Favourite David adams
    Jan 20th 2015, 8:43 AM

And I really know your type. A little person who sits behind a computer and wishes he could have done more with there miserable life.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 20th 2015, 8:46 AM

David, do you take pleasure in attacking complete strangers?

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Jan 20th 2015, 12:10 PM

David, that is not relevant to the topic under discussion. You are simply being personally abusive but that does not bother me.

The topic is about prejudice against gay people for no other reasons than the fact that they happen to be gay.

By all means, abuse me as a person for all you wish, but abuse me as a person and not because of my views of the topic under discussion.

Mute Paul Keane
    Favourite Paul Keane
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:32 PM

Journal, just what are you gonna do when this referendum is over? You’re presumably letting about 10 journalists go.

Mute Maurice Slater
    Favourite Maurice Slater
    Jan 19th 2015, 5:30 PM

the master of psychobabble . Too many parents around the world don’t parent their kids, because it was a five minute thing.and does that include yourself Colm, as for same sex marriage sure let it happen every body should be entailed to wed there partner.

Mute Trevor Weafer
    Favourite Trevor Weafer
    Jan 20th 2015, 6:24 AM

Hopefully when Ireland votes next year they’ll allow us all to marry if we so wish. It’s not too much to ask for really.

Jan 19th 2015, 5:54 PM

What on Earth has beatings got to do with gay marriage, the two are not the same. So when he was being beaten up by s…tes then he would have been too young to be married anyway. I think COLIN FARRELL has not made a film in a while and he needs the publicity, that is my opinion on this story. Agree with the masses and try to get sympathy, then people like you more, how many more times is he going to do this…

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:03 PM

Michael, the opposition to same sex marriage equality, for no other reason than the couple is gay, comes from the same mind set of those who violently assault and threaten gay people, for no other reason than that the victims happen to be gay.

Jan 20th 2015, 3:16 AM

Anthony, that is a sweeping statement that is not true at all, many people are opposed to it and yet they are kind people and they are opposed to gay marriage because they just disagree with the idea or the term. Does that make them evil or out at night waiting to attack gay people, no.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 20th 2015, 7:48 AM

But it does make them obtuse and cruel as they are denying somebody their rights simply because of their disagreement or prejudices.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Jan 20th 2015, 8:57 AM

Michael, it is not a sweeping statement; it is assertion of the self evident position.

The mind set is the same because each, the person who uses threat, abuse and violence against a gay person and the person who seeks to deny marriage opportunity to a gay person, starts from a general prejudice against a gay person, not because of the gay person’s individual characteristics and qualities, but from a general negativity towards and unacknowledged prejudice against gay people.

Each has the same mind set but they each express that mind set differently.

One expresses the mind set by acts of savagery and brutality against gay people. The other vents their mind set by denying to gay people the same rights which are available to straight people and going to the trouble of expressing their opposition in energetic and passionate terms.

The discriminatory refusal to allow gay people the right to civil marriage derives from a general prejudice against gay people, influenced by religious, cultural and societal attitudes ingrained in Irish society for a long time but quickly being shaken free by the majority of people in Irish society.

Mute Dog Standard
    Favourite Dog Standard
    Jan 20th 2015, 10:46 AM

“I think COLIN FARRELL has not made a film in a while and he needs the publicity, that is my opinion on this story”

Eh, he’s just made 8 episodes of True Detective. That show was pretty popular.

Oh, and Solace is now in post production. He stars in that.

Oh, and The Lobster too is in post production. He was also in that.

So thats at least 12 hours of stuff he’s been in last year. Seems quite a lot for someone that hasn’t been in a film in a while.

Of course he’s been in at least one film every year since 2000.

Jan 20th 2015, 5:40 PM

But every democratic process could be seen as having a side that is being prejudice to someone, when does any act or law mean more than the majority of people who do or do not wish it. When an act or law goes against the majority of the wishes of the people and is brought in, is that not undemocratic. So when does any process or the will of the minority mean more than the will of the majority.
    My view is that there are civil partnerships and that the want for gay marriage is only a way to say that a traditional marriage between a man and a woman is the same as a gay marriage but it is not. I do feel that in the near future peoples so called rights will use laws and the court system to force religions and religious organisations to do things that are against their doctrine and if they don’t then they will be fined, imprisoned or banned.
    Already in the Netherlands and in Australia they are trying to use the excuses of homosexuality in order to excuse pedos as well as use the idea that a pedo has human rights and it is not their fault. I just think that this is very wrong and shocking as they tried a few Dutch Politicians in the E.U. to allow pedo porn for pedos due to it not being their fault that they are like that. I just fear that this huggy huggy liberal blurring of boundaries and what things are, will cause excuses for many things. I am not saying not to have it just that it shouldn’t be called marriage as it is words and language that can cause people to accept new things and ideas but it also allows Trojan ideas to come through the back door as well. If everything was named according to what it is rather than what people want it to be then it would be better, just calling things the same just to say the mighty “we” are the same is about proving to others that you are worth the same as they are as a person but to do this only means that “you” never felt the same to start of with and that is what cause the “it” to happen? Gay marriage is a statement to those who are in a heterosexual marriage that gay marriage is the same, to make gays say that we are equal to heteros now in everything and that is what it is about, a statement. In other parts of the world gay couples got married not out of love but as a statement to say look at us we are equal to all those who are married now. They seem to care more about proving that they are equal that what is at the core of marriage, a type of fundamentalist gay due to how people have treated them in the past I suppose?
    No way have I tried to confuse gay and pedo at all, they are totally different and no way the same but yet others try to use that excuse as they know nothing. But I fear those who are pedos will and that will be the next thing as it has already tried to happen…

Jan 20th 2015, 6:08 PM

Anthony, How many times have people used the excuse of we want our way and we will cry discrimination or hatred to get it. People prefer to be like everyone else and they will fool themselves into believing what they want to be true in order to think that they themselves are right and normally those who disagree with them are wrong. These people use what they believe to decide what then to believe by selecting what they agree with to prove themselves or others right that they agree with? The whole pro gay marriage debate is about wanting others acceptance and wanting others acceptance of being equal and the same but they are already equal and the same as people. It is their difference that makes them gay and because of this they fight to to bring in marriage as a way to say that they are equal and will use marriage as a way to rubber stamp this to everybody. But the fact is the union between a woman and a man is not the same as a gay couple, no one is saying not to be happy or not to be in a union, just that it is not the same and wanting it to be the same as a statement is wrong but many will try to use it as such. It has become a statement to prove that gays who marry are equal but no one ever said that they weren’t and what they are doing is fighting against what they think others think of them probably due from their past experiences. Gays have civil partnerships so why need marriage, will their next step be to take religions to court for discrimination and will this referendum be an excuse to open that legal door to force religious organisations to marry them then, I think it will.
    Look how the Christian-run bakery in County Antrim declined to make a cake supporting gay marriage because it was against the directors’ religious beliefs. Then they were put under pressure from the Equality Commission, which has decided to take them to court for declining to make what has become known as the ‘gay cake’. Those who wanted the cake choose to go to this bakery on purpose in my view and that is why they wanted the slogan support gay marriage wrote on the cake. I think this is more of the same and if passed then religious organisations / religions will be next in line using the law to target them?

Jan 20th 2015, 6:11 PM

So nothing good then?

Mute Thierry Ratt
    Favourite Thierry Ratt
    Jan 20th 2015, 12:53 AM

What will gay people have left to moan about if they are treated equally

Mute Tony Stanley
    Favourite Tony Stanley
    Jan 20th 2015, 1:47 AM

Dunno! The same cr@p you find to moan about perhaps????

Mute Isaac Smyth
    Favourite Isaac Smyth
    Jan 20th 2015, 7:52 AM

My brother got plenty of beatings growing up in a rough area. He’s straight.

Jan 19th 2015, 5:45 PM

Was it BDSM?

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Jan 20th 2015, 5:11 AM

They have this thing called Google now, sure it’s great altogether

Jan 20th 2015, 5:08 PM

Google is not great at all, I only use it to back up what I know but it is hopeless compared to what it use to be, you think the NSA have edited it for them…

Mute Larissa Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Nikolaus
    Jan 20th 2015, 7:49 PM

@Michael

Is the tinfoil hat comfortable? Got all the conspiracy theories that you need?

Jan 20th 2015, 8:19 PM

I do not think NewScientist magazine, RT or the Irish Independent would print conspiracy theories… And yet many stories they have are ungoogleable…That was a joke about the NSA but after reading…
    http://rt.com/news/224287-snowden-iphone-security-concerns/
    Who knows lol.

Jan 20th 2015, 8:23 PM

Try to google a “magic eye oscillator” which was used to turn LW radio stations into a SW radio, it is no where to be found…

Mute jack hammer
    Favourite jack hammer
    Jan 20th 2015, 3:03 AM

Jesus da whole place is getting da gayness wat are we going to do at all wit our wee little country!!!

Mute Barry Walsh
    Favourite Barry Walsh
    Jan 20th 2015, 4:18 AM

Talk about jumping on the bandwagon!

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jan 20th 2015, 6:53 PM

Your ideas are intriguing to me and I wish to subscribe to your newsletter.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 20th 2015, 7:05 PM

Tell me there’s free samples!

Mute Chris Martin
    Favourite Chris Martin
    Jan 20th 2015, 2:14 PM

What could possibly be better than a child being raised in a loving home by his biological mother and father?

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 20th 2015, 2:36 PM

When the biological parents are not fit to parent or worse, are abusive, anything.

Mute Chris Martin
    Favourite Chris Martin
    Jan 20th 2015, 3:57 PM

Im talking about ideals here..a good marriage generally provides a happy home for a child. And when a child is raised in a loving home with his biological, married parents this is the absolute best environment for a child to be raised in. Anything else is second best. As a society we should always promote, encourage and educate on what works best.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 20th 2015, 4:09 PM

Again, all of that is your opinion. Not a statement of fact backed up by any research.

I disagree. Biological parents can be far from ideal and non-biological parents can be much better.

Mute Chris Martin
    Favourite Chris Martin
    Jan 20th 2015, 4:30 PM

A loving home with biological parents is better than a loving home with non biological parents….how could it not be?

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 20th 2015, 4:38 PM

In MANY situations. The parents are addicts. They are physically or mentally unwell to the point they cannot care for a child. They cannot afford to educate the child. Their beliefs lead to neglect of a child. The list is endless.

You claim that biological parents are better. Have you anything to back up that assertion or is it just your opinion?

Mute Chris Martin
    Favourite Chris Martin
    Jan 20th 2015, 6:37 PM

You could say all of the above for non biological parents too. Youre missing the point..ill say it again…the best place for a child is in a LOVING home with their biological parents..this is the best and most natural place for a child to be and this is what we should encourage. Can you suggest a better situation than a loving home with biological parents?

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 20th 2015, 7:07 PM

Again, all your opinion unless you have some evidence to substantiate your claim. I’m pretty sure your missing my point that this is just your opinion.

Mute Chris Martin
    Favourite Chris Martin
    Jan 20th 2015, 7:32 PM

Im open to suggestions and your opinion of what could be better than what ive put across so whenever you’re ready…………….

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 20th 2015, 8:00 PM

Ah so you will ignore when I ask you to substantiate your claim but exlect me to answer your questions? Double standards if ever I saw them.

I take from your lack of response that it is just your opinion. One that fails to be upheld

Mute Chris Martin
    Favourite Chris Martin
    Jan 20th 2015, 8:33 PM

Its upheld by the laws of nature, the same law that apparently validates homosexuality. Now will you answer my question?

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 20th 2015, 9:46 PM

No that doesn’t substantiate it at all. That’s just random waffle. So you have shown an inability to back up your point. It is just your opinion after all!

Mute Chris Martin
    Favourite Chris Martin
    Jan 20th 2015, 11:50 PM

“Its just random waffle” Thats just your opinion my friend. We promote homosexuality and same sex marriage “because its natural”. The biological family is natural and this is where a child should be unless he is at risk…is this not blantantly obvious? Are you saying biological connections dont matter?

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:15 AM

I’m not saying that, what I’m saying is that what youbstatebis your opinion and not fact. In failing to substantiate your claims you have proven it to be no more than your opinion.

Mute Chris Martin
    Favourite Chris Martin
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:38 AM

I dont need a report to tell me that whats natural is generally what works best..its the same premise that a gay person wanting to get married works from. If you can find a report that directly compares a child being raised in a loving home with their biological parents to a loving home with non biological parents then let me know. Id be very suprised if you found one as it doesnt suit the pro gay agenda thats so rampant at the moment. Any thoughts on that question yet?

Mute Noel Furlong
    Favourite Noel Furlong
    Jan 20th 2015, 2:32 AM

its very important in this debate, to distinguish between gays and sodomites, not all men who are gay engage in these acts.

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Jan 20th 2015, 9:54 AM

What earthly difference does it make what consenting adults do in the privacy of their own homes? Are you extending that bizarre statement to say that gay people who have anal sex shouldnt be allowed to marry, but those who only do oral should?

Mute Larissa Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Nikolaus
    Jan 20th 2015, 7:54 PM

in that case, should heterosexual couples who engage in anal sex file for divorce?

Mute Chris Martin
    Favourite Chris Martin
    Jan 20th 2015, 1:46 PM

2 men or 2 women can never be unified in the same way a man or woman can. A good marriage between a man and a woman is the best place to raise a family..it is the ideal. Why cant the goverment promote this instead of promoting same sex marriage which really brings nada to the table in our society.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 20th 2015, 1:53 PM

…….in your opinion. Many disagree. Studies support those that disagree with you.

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Jan 20th 2015, 10:37 AM

Shallow Hollywood Hath Speaketh!!!