You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Residents at The Collective Old Oak in London. Instagram/thecollective_living

'Student halls for grown-ups': How communal living spaces could change our idea of home

Node CEO Anil Khera says co-living is the antidote to Dublin’s ‘lazy’ developers.

The way we live is changing fast. Every fortnight in our new Future Focus series, supported by Volkswagen, we’ll look at how one aspect of everyday life could change in the coming years. This week: housing.

“WE WANT TO create a community where everybody is on a first name basis. A place where people genuinely know their neighbours.”

As CEO of Node, Canadian Anil Khera is the driving force behind Dublin’s first “co-living” building, a build-to-rent model based on a blueprint he’s already rolled out in London and New York.

Node Dublin is set for a March 2018 launch and will house up to 51 people in a mix of apartment sizes, all located in a renovated Georgian house just off Fitzwilliam Square. Two to three residents will live in each furnished apartment space with bedrooms, a kitchen, ensuite bathrooms, SMEG fridges and Sonos sound systems.

So far, so normal, but Khera says Node Dublin is about more than just a fancy apartment block. It’s a long-term living model that could be replicated all over the country.

“As with any disruptive new idea, the old guard will ask ‘what’s all this about?’ at first. But the resident demand so far proves to me that the co-living concept has huge potential in Ireland,” he tells TheJournal.ie by phone from Toronto.

Along with a dedicated concierge-type “curator” (in Dublin’s case, bubbly marketing grad Ava Kilmartin) on site to pair up housemates and organise building-wide brunches and hikes, there’ll also be shared resident lounges, a rooftop terrace and a building full of – hopefully – like-minded neighbours.

Nurturing a community

“I think we’ll be over-subscribed when we launch, but demand is not what matters. We’re looking for the right kinds of people to move in,” says Khera.

Node Dublin_CommonRoom A rendered image of one of Node Dublin's shared resident lounges. Node Node

And who exactly are those people? “Our customers are Generation Rent. They might not buy until a later stage in life,” says Khera.

“There’s a real creative entrepreneurial spirit among people in Dublin, and those global citizens are the ones Node targets. They’re young professionals, they travel, and on average they’re looking for accommodation for six months to two years.”

They’re also earning an above-average income, presumably. The starting price for a room at Node Dublin is estimated at €1,350 per month, the company’s business development manager Max Patter tells me after Khera’s call.

The co-living model has been well road-tested in other cities around the world – and it hasn’t gone unnoticed by Irish policy-makers.

During an address at the Irish Planning Institute in October 2017, Housing Minister Eoghan Murphy said Irish people needed to be freed from the “three-bedroom house” mindset, and cited London’s The Collective as one innovative example of communal rental living.

The Collective Old Oak, a 550-bedroom tower complex in London’s north-west suburbs features communal kitchens, a restaurant, dining rooms themed like English pubs and French bistros, workspaces, a laundrette, gym and cinema room.

collective3 One of The Collective Old Oak's outdoor terraces. Instagram / thecollective_living Instagram / thecollective_living / thecollective_living

As with Node, rooms at The Collective don’t come cheap. For a compact 10 sq m bedroom with an ensuite and kitchenette shared by your housemate, you’ll pay an all-inclusive monthly fee of between €1,184 and €1,357 depending on the length of your lease.

Despite the price – and the relatively remote location, overlooking a rail yard 30 minutes by tube from Oxford Circus – The Collective has plenty of happy residents.

‘People would ask if it was a cult’

Ruth Cooper-Dickson, a 39-year-old wellness consultant, was a full-time “Collectivist” from October 2016 to August 2017. On the morning we speak, she’s just checked out again after a two-day stay during a business trip to London.

“People would look at me strangely when I told them where I lived, asking if it was a cult or a commune,” she laughs. “Sometimes I described it to people as a hotel or student halls for adults, but I don’t think that does it justice.”

collective4 Ruth Cooper-Dickson, 39, spent close to a year living at The Collective Old Oak. Instagram / ruthiecoops Instagram / ruthiecoops / ruthiecoops

Following a divorce and an extended volunteering trip to South America in 2016, Ruth says “the prospect of being among a community of people, that social aspect” was The Collective’s big draw. “I’m very outgoing and I have a network of friends, but London can be isolating.”

For many, the thought of having to make small talk with near-strangers any time you want to watch TV or put on a load of laundry would be an instant deterrent, but Ruth says the experience was refreshing, not stifling.

“It’s not like there was someone banging on the bedroom door telling you to join in. There was an events board, there were people gathered in communal areas, you could have friends over for dinner, it was always very relaxed.”

New friends and free meals

Lauren Scott, 21, a recently qualified nurse from Louth, has been living at The Collective for close to three weeks. As part of a relocation package from Ireland with a London company, Lauren’s accommodation will be paid for until early April.

“I’ve lived in house shares in Dublin where there might be tension over bills, or you’re living with people you’re seeing at work or college every day. This is different. You have plenty of personal space but you never really feel alone, either,” she says.

collective5 Daily events at The Collective Old Oak. Instagram / joanna_bucur Instagram / joanna_bucur / joanna_bucur

As a newcomer to London, Lauren’s been using her time at The Collective to put down social roots – and avail of the free-of-charge events, which she lists off with no lack of enthusiasm.

“Within a day or two here I’d met a really nice group of people: French, Italians, Swiss and English. There are free drinks every second Friday, free brunches on weekends, free juice mornings and yoga sessions.”

Here in Ireland, apartments already account for 12% of dwellings, but entrepreneurs like Khera say our real estate landscape is ready for a shake-up.

“It’s not that developers are resistant to our concept, we find they’re lazy,” he says.

“They’ve had an easy time because there’s a housing shortage. For years they’ve been building low-quality flats, flogging them off, and by the time repairs are needed five years later, they’ve sold the complex on to an investor abroad or to 20 different landlords.”

For companies like Node, happy customers are the true marker for a business model’s viability.

“Our future residents are the new generation defining Dublin’s future,” says Khera. “They don’t want to live with things the way they are are right now. That’s going to be a catalyst for change.”

This article was updated on February 13th to reflect a change in Node Dublin’s estimated pricing.

View 31 comments
31 Comments
    Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Oct 21st 2013, 7:52 PM

Something that bothered me about the last budget was Reilly and Co announcing free GP care to under 5′s, when in fact they haven’t come to any arrangement with GP’s on this yet – none.

What the hell kind of negotiating position does that leave the state, us, in when they sit down for talks?

None. Absolute hogwash. This is one of the reasons we need more business people in politics and not lifelong civil servants and TD’s. No business person would have dreamed of doing that.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:03 PM

Nor might a GP in his right mind…

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:08 PM

Very true Paul – they’ll be laughing all the way to the bank after that performance.

And perhaps you’d like to guess who was leading the negotiations for GP”s a few years back under similar circumstances, medical cards,when FF were in Government? You got it, Reilly.

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Oct 21st 2013, 9:02 PM

It’s a clear conflict of interest if there ever was one – but when did that stop an Irish politician.

Mute Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo
    Favourite Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo
    Oct 21st 2013, 7:49 PM

Hard to take FF seriously until they get rid of “old FF”.

By that I mean their leader.

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Oct 21st 2013, 7:53 PM

And that moustache tool from Limerick

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs
    Oct 21st 2013, 7:58 PM

Don’t forget Dev Óg!!!

Mute Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo
    Favourite Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:40 PM

Jasus…. still a few of those ol sods still around.

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Oct 21st 2013, 7:44 PM

Reilly’s going nowhere soon unfortunately.

Martin, or Minister for reports as he became known, was an unmitigated disaster in the Health brief. If memory serves me right Bertie gave him Martin health to cut the threat of Martin’s popularity down to size, and it worked too.

Martin certainly didn’t ask for the Health portfolio.

Mute Tiger Bayliss
    Favourite Tiger Bayliss
    Oct 21st 2013, 7:46 PM

Aye luck. Sure Martin was a great fella

Mute Gmurpi
    Favourite Gmurpi

Reilly ~ what a smug tool! Absolutely useless should be fired now! Blames everyone & everything for his failures. What a mouth piece he was when in opposition but when gets his chance what does he do?

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Oct 21st 2013, 7:56 PM

We all know he’s there cos he stopped Enda getting his pink slip

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Oct 21st 2013, 9:04 PM

Speaking of Enda where is wally hiding?

Oct 21st 2013, 9:14 PM

Heard Enda is roaming Ireland looking for debates.

Mute William O'Shea
    Favourite William O'Shea
    Oct 21st 2013, 9:20 PM

Lol

Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    Oct 21st 2013, 9:39 PM

Do we Leslie..? Or is that just an opinion as usual

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Oct 21st 2013, 9:43 PM

Hope he knocks on my door, I’ll bate him for free!!

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Oct 21st 2013, 9:51 PM

@ Declan – would you not ask Enda to adopt you?

Mute 'Bull' Mick Daly
    Favourite 'Bull' Mick Daly
    Oct 21st 2013, 7:57 PM

Im no Reilly Fan or FG fan but Reilly/Fr.Stack isn’t doing worse than previous health ministers.I will give Martin credit for the smoking ban.that was great and I smoked at the time.

Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:18 PM

Dirty feckers :-))

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Oct 21st 2013, 7:54 PM

Fed up with thst excuse of “they left the country in bits” you’ve had 2 and a half years pal, and nowts been done to rectify anything

Mute cormac flynn
    Favourite cormac flynn

Come on. It’s gonna take a lot longer than 2 and a half years to sort out the mess FF made of this place.

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:01 PM

Hi Leslie – I finally gave up the ghost and changed names. Our old friend was up to his old tricks again, and on another site too, so I’ve decided to not use my own full name anymore, other reasons too I’ll explain some other time. In the interests of transparency though, I said I’d let you know it’s me posting under my middle name instead.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:14 PM

And therein lies the country’s problem. The idea that FG, Labour or indeed anyone could solve the mess FF left behind in just over half a term is laughable.

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:20 PM

The health service has been problematic for decades. The question is whether Reilly is adding to the problems or reducing them. I’d say adding to the problems.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:24 PM

Howya niall. Fed up that it takes the journal so long too ban him when you report him. Use a personal pic like I did. He can copy that

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:27 PM

I agree Cormac. But Im fed up them using it as an excuse. Come out and say…ok its b*******, gonna take a bit to fix. But this excuse time and again. They say we are out of the woods. If that is the case, then use it to fix stuff then

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:30 PM

Well, it’s more my own nephew I’m avoiding. Loaned my computer to a family member and got it back with programs that look for passwords, keyloggers, he installed trojans, remote desktop software – you name it. Closed and changed all my accounts, even 24 hour banking pin numbers – the lot. Took me most of the week to o it. Learned a lesson.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:39 PM

Ouch

Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    Oct 21st 2013, 9:41 PM

Don’t actually think that is what he said in this situation. He meerly questioned the source of critcism which he is entitled to do… Mr Martin has little to know credibility so anything he says should be looked at in that context

Sim
    Mute Sim
    Favourite Sim
    Oct 22nd 2013, 4:00 AM

@cormac… I admire your optimism. Healthcare has been devastated since the 80s cutbacks, and never properly recovered during the Celtic tiger years. You’re probably right about the 2 and a half year thing, but something’s gotta give. Like steering a boat from a storm, the risk is when it’s broadside. Well, health in Ireland is broadside, and likely to sink unless somebody fixes it quickly.

Mute Alan Dunne
    Favourite Alan Dunne
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:00 PM

These tossers are full of crap, tit for tat every week, not one of them can articulate a good idea to get this country operating right ,if a bird had there brain it would fly backwards.

Mute Truth Patrol
    Favourite Truth Patrol
    Oct 21st 2013, 10:54 PM

Great profile pic Alan…

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:05 PM

Let me guess. … “It’s their fault”.
    The three words that fg/lab /ff use as cure all.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:28 PM

Its your fault mike…cos ye slag rogers so much :-)

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Oct 21st 2013, 9:25 PM

Haha.. and don’t forget “bitch” lol.

Mute Steve501
    Favourite Steve501
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:26 PM

It’s laughable to hear FF and Martin……it’s also getting annoying to hear FG harp back to blame the previous crowd. Come on lads grow up. Ye work for us the taxpayer not the other way around. Do yer fecking job and but the people of this country first.

Mute Jim Flavin
    Favourite Jim Flavin
    Oct 21st 2013, 9:39 PM

Ye work for us the taxpayer not the other way around.”
    You are joking – Right .

” Do yer fecking job and but the people of this country first.”

- they are doing their job – they are getting the German banks money back for them [ German banks ].
    No government on this planet put the people fitrst – except perhaps a few eg Cuba – and look what happened to them . Attacked by USA by sanction , bombs and chemical warfare .
    It is the governments job to keep the population in fear – and do what the people who put them in powers [ the Super Rich ] tell them to do .

Mute Aaron Gregory
    Favourite Aaron Gregory
    Oct 21st 2013, 7:43 PM

Eejit

Mute Sharon Obrien
    Favourite Sharon Obrien
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:44 PM

In any walk of life if you wont or cant do your job your out,some one give him a kick in the arse,,,

Mute Kate Ellen Egan
    Favourite Kate Ellen Egan
    Oct 21st 2013, 9:21 PM

Not true Sharon ,,some sectors cannot be sacked under any circumstances

Mute Dwickedchicken
    Favourite Dwickedchicken
    Oct 21st 2013, 9:57 PM

I make no apologies for saying it. But that man makes my blood boil.
    Just fcuk off ya wealthy fat pig.

Rob
    Mute Rob
    Favourite Rob

It’s all personal, they forget themselves.

Mute Eugene McDonough
    Favourite Eugene McDonough

Mr Reilly has not a clue – Martin is right and everybody knows it whether you like Martin or not he certainly was not as bad a health minister as Mr Reilly is – even his own boss appears worried about him – mr Reilly stick to the day job and go and take your medical card mess with you

Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    Oct 21st 2013, 10:29 PM

He was far worse in fact..

Mute shay o'reilly
    Favourite shay o'reilly

Please Reilly , share this plan with us plebs, I for one can’t see what your plan is, other than a power grab away from people who should know how to manage the service

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:23 PM

both of them earn obscene amounts of money and all we get is mud slinging….disgusting!

Mute Jacqueline Mckenna
    Favourite Jacqueline Mckenna
    Oct 21st 2013, 7:52 PM

michael martin is well within his rights to challenge Reilly,,,,Reilly is no less inept than Reilly,,,,and at least martin didnt cripple the health system altogether with his cuts to the pensioners and terminally ill !!

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Oct 21st 2013, 7:56 PM

He just ruined it with the hare-brained scheme that’s the HSE.

Mute cormac flynn
    Favourite cormac flynn

Course not. He was throwing 100s of millions at it. That’s why Reilly has to take it out.

Mute Jacqueline Mckenna
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:01 PM

there should be no cut backs on a health care system, if it affects the genuine sick

Mute Jacqueline Mckenna
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:02 PM

and what has reilly done to either rectify it or make it better ?

Mute cormac flynn
    Favourite cormac flynn
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:03 PM

What fantasy word are you living in.

Mute Jacqueline Mckenna
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:31 PM

a different one to the one you appear to be

Sim
    Mute Sim
    Favourite Sim
    Oct 21st 2013, 9:50 PM

The HSE was Martin’s brainchild to try to tidy up the mess that was the health boards. Bring them all into one easily accountable executive was the plan. As usual, it was rushed, and what were pools of muddy water before, suddenly were now a muddier lake.
    No health minister since the inception of the state has ever taken on the administrative side of healthcare and done anything close to making it efficient or accountable.

Mute Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Malachy Quinn
    Oct 21st 2013, 10:18 PM

FG & FF – tweedle dum & tweedle dee.
    Why don’t they just join together !

Mute Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Malachy Quinn
    Oct 21st 2013, 10:19 PM

Well your gang in FF caused the problem whilst FG sustain it.

Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    Oct 21st 2013, 10:30 PM

All genuine?? All medical card holders are genuine are they?? I am delighted this is being looked at.. Too many cheats out there… Sick of the dependnacy culture in Ireland…

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs
    Oct 21st 2013, 11:00 PM

What about liars Declan,are you sick of them too ???

Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:17 PM

They’re both incapable and useless

Mute Eamonn O'Regan
    Favourite Eamonn O'Regan
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:18 PM

While Reilly’s stewardship of Health is far from optimal ( could anyone manage such a monstrosity ), Martin and his lame duck politicking ought to keep his trap shut. He’s from the shower of FF idiot-clowns that damn well destroyed the country and he himself spent god knows how much on ‘reports’ on this,that and the other with very little success during his own tenure as health minister. Suave, vapid waffle, with no substance to it.

Mute Janette Kelly
    Favourite Janette Kelly
    Oct 21st 2013, 9:23 PM

Can anyone give me an answer as to why in the name of God do all FG and Lab TDs revert back to the past and what FF done to this country? if they cant do the feckn job get out of government.pack of fools running our country.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Oct 21st 2013, 9:55 PM

They can hardly stand up in the Dail and announce they are incompetent and not up to the job so the next best thing is to use the blame it on the last shower excuse.

Mute Seamus Warren
    Favourite Seamus Warren
    Oct 21st 2013, 8:45 PM

Minster O’Reilly is no longer the main man of the Health, little Brendan Howlin is. He is pulling the strings. O’Reilly is the stooge because nobody wants the title of Minster of Angola

Mute cormac flynn
    Favourite cormac flynn
    Oct 21st 2013, 7:54 PM

Great reply. His back is to the wall here and he still came out fighting. The health portfolio is a poisoned chalice. He is not doing a great job but I do wish him the best of luck with it.

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers

How much do I love the phrase “the profundity of my rotundity”! He’s gone up in my estimation for that ;)

Mute Toby Parker
    Favourite Toby Parker
    Oct 21st 2013, 10:00 PM

As a tax payer and a voter I want Reilly gone.
    The other Gombeens in Govt make me laugh defending Reilly’s incompetence and corruption.
    But I suppose birds of a feather flock together.

Mute John Clarke
    Favourite John Clarke
    Oct 22nd 2013, 12:05 AM

I’m no fan of FF or Micheal Martin but I’m getting sick and tired of FF and Labour Ministers rolling out the aul “sure wasn’t it yer fault lads” line, every time they are challenged. It’s a strategy FG/LAB continually use to avoid answering the real questions on their own policies and the effect they have had and continue to have on the public.

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Oct 22nd 2013, 12:01 AM

FG rule book for answering opposition questions. a- blame last government
    b- if questions come from SF and not FF bring up the troubles.
    If in doubt refer back to part -a-

Mute Jazz O'Gorman
    Favourite Jazz O'Gorman
    Oct 21st 2013, 10:51 PM

Excellent.