You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Last night's Coldplay gig looked spectacular from the air

The English band played to over 80,000 fans in GAA headquarters.

BY NOW YOUR social media feeds contain at least a couple of videos or photos of last night’s Coldplay concert in Croke Park.

The English band played to over 80,000 fans in GAA headquarters and put on a spectacular display of pyrotechnics and colour.

PastedImage-92660 Atlas Project Atlas Project

Since 2012, the group have given fans “Xylobands”, an LED wristband that lights up in sync with whichever song is playing, which can make for some spectacular images.

None more so than from the Garda helicopter, which captured this photo of the stadium last night.

PastedImage-76997 An Garda Síochána An Garda Síochána

During the concert, a fan in a wheelchair was crowd-surfed towards a stage where lead singer Chris Martin invited him to perform.

U2 take to the Croke Park stage on 22 July.

Read: Coldplay brought a crowd-surfing Irish fan in a wheelchair on stage to perform with them in Croke Park

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

26 Comments
    Mute Martello Mulligan
    Favourite Martello Mulligan
    Oct 24th 2015, 9:12 PM

I met Enda cycling the Wild Atlantic Way during the summer. I’m not saying he’s the biggest a$$hole in Ireland but he didn’t have a saddle on his bike.

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Oct 24th 2015, 9:55 PM

I could have swore I saw him yesterday in blue overalls painting the railings of Glasnevin cemetery. He was obviously reaching out to the lads doing their community service.

Mute Linda Downey
    Favourite Linda Downey
    Oct 24th 2015, 10:02 PM

or reaching out to their voters as half of them are buried there

Mute John Joseph McDermott
    Favourite John Joseph McDermott
    Oct 24th 2015, 11:58 PM

A pity the rest of them are not there too.!

Oct 27th 2015, 3:58 AM

How did he pee then? lol.

Mute Eamonn coughlan
    Favourite Eamonn coughlan
    Oct 24th 2015, 9:24 PM

The man is a fantasist, he believes he’s doing a good job and the media lackeys suck it up.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Oct 24th 2015, 9:46 PM

*skinny*

Mute Pepper Brooks
    Favourite Pepper Brooks
    Oct 25th 2015, 1:34 AM

He’s comes across as a fairly decent bloke. I’ll be voting FG anyway and so will many people I know. he’s done an excellent job.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Oct 25th 2015, 6:10 AM

pepper, the bloke has thrown everyone who has a different story to him under the bus, he has alienated the gardai and public, he has split society between working and unemployed, country and rural, landlord tenant, public private deliberately for his own agenda’s, he cannot tell the truth on any subject, he spends his time in Europe putting “paddy” down in a vain effort to secure another nothing job. his CV is a joke 40 years in the dail and wins his seat and election by default, his tenure as head of gov will b e remembered as the most wasteful gov ever, regressive budgets and the largest homelessness problem since the famine.
    you and your buddies can vote for him and his ilk as you want, but some can see with their own eyes and you know it, hence the pr war funded by your sponsor and biggest beneficiary of the economic downtown. all paid for using the public purse

Mute kenobi :)
    Favourite kenobi :)
    Oct 24th 2015, 9:08 PM

And they tell him wonderful stories aswell.

Mute Sloop John G
    Favourite Sloop John G
    Oct 25th 2015, 1:41 AM

I wonder what Merkel said to him before she gave him the pat on the head. Perhaps it sounded something like this:- “we haff vays of making you stupid Irelanders do vot ve vant. you vill pay back all ze money our bondholders lost in your stupid banks as I vill not allow our superior German banks to go under. now do as I say”.

Mute Fheisty Fheisty
    Favourite Fheisty Fheisty
    Oct 25th 2015, 5:30 AM

Why don’t all the people who he spoke to.
    Come forward and speak to the media in front of live cameras.
    I loved to here there storey’s

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Oct 25th 2015, 8:52 AM

shook hands with the devil at our expense

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Oct 25th 2015, 8:53 AM

Hugh removed the last DEVIL comment. Censorship is the first step to Dictatorship.

Oct 27th 2015, 3:58 AM
    Mute Malcolm Dollery
    Favourite Malcolm Dollery
    Oct 27th 2015, 8:30 PM

because they are not there a figment of his inagination,

Mute TommyJung
    Favourite TommyJung
    Oct 24th 2015, 9:17 PM

It’s the stupid facial expression that does my head in.
    The thumbs up like he’s just pulled a stroke on someone.
    The electorate in this instance.

Oct 24th 2015, 9:55 PM

The puppet with 5 masters and one leader as in Merkel… Who made that b….h the Queen of Europe?

Oct 25th 2015, 10:33 AM

Merkel sees herself as the new Fuhrer of the Fourth Reich. Enda thinks the sun shines out her bum!

Oct 25th 2015, 12:53 PM

She really does…

Oct 24th 2015, 9:51 PM

I am sick of this pro F.G. nonsense, the HSE is nearly destroyed thanks to this government, the German government did 7 out of the 8 budgets now and the ECB had to inspect our last one, then scandals and scare mongering, Reilly, carehome, horse meat covney, hogan trip to Dubai with secretary, property tax, shatter and breath test, Shatter’s book Laura, Shatter’s lump sum after removal, and on and on and on it goes… Giving extra money to bondholders after paying what they lost but didn’t because they were insured, a billion extra, Enda’s new chair / seat, it was falling from one scandal into another…
    Have people forgotten all those things like Shortall etc etc…

Oct 24th 2015, 9:51 PM

Momentum slavery, scambridge, water charges, USC, AUSTERITY, and on and on again…

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Oct 24th 2015, 10:25 PM

excellent post Michael Sands,great memories…..

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Oct 25th 2015, 12:33 AM

@Joachin. Great memories indeed. I often sit on a bench with Indah and we have a good laugh about them. We really yucked it up over the young mother ‘crying bitter tears ‘. Indah nearly piddled himself on that one. Not a dry knicker in the house! Of course, I don’t exist – does Indah, really?

Oct 25th 2015, 12:58 PM
    Oct 25th 2015, 12:59 PM

Rasher is that sarcasm on sarcasm?

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Oct 24th 2015, 9:49 PM

Apparently, people tell Enda their stories and it makes no difference to him or his polices….he just collects anecdotes for speeches with which he regales the upper crust with tales of the ‘little peeple’.

Oct 24th 2015, 9:53 PM
    Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan
    Oct 25th 2015, 1:00 AM

Kenny’s a racist, Google Enda Kenny N word joke

Mute Ciaran OHalloran
    Favourite Ciaran OHalloran
    Oct 24th 2015, 9:07 PM

WTF was that..

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Oct 24th 2015, 9:11 PM

honestly im starting to think the journal’s journalists are pis $ing themselves laughing at enda

Oct 24th 2015, 9:24 PM

Enda the idiot? Apparently he keeps meeting people but can not back up that claim,,,

Mute Karl Aisbitt
    Favourite Karl Aisbitt
    Oct 24th 2015, 9:22 PM

Let’s hope he knows the people in his local dole office !

Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan
    Oct 24th 2015, 11:56 PM

I should hope so, he’s the reason most of them are there.

Mute Mark Egan
    Favourite Mark Egan
    Oct 24th 2015, 9:01 PM

supposedly meets

Mute alan nolan
    Favourite alan nolan
    Oct 24th 2015, 9:11 PM

aesops fables

Mute Keith Boland
    Favourite Keith Boland
    Oct 24th 2015, 10:40 PM

Worried about Hugh think he loves Kenny he never stops bout him . Here’s a message Hugh tell Kenny I don’t believe him & that I don’t support liars .

Mute Alan Ryan
    Favourite Alan Ryan
    Oct 24th 2015, 10:10 PM

bullsiht. Enda=Clown.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Oct 24th 2015, 9:58 PM

the man needs help.

Mute Jonathan O'Keeffe
    Favourite Jonathan O'Keeffe
    Oct 24th 2015, 10:13 PM

Have any of these fictional people ever come forward and said yes this did actually happen?

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Oct 24th 2015, 10:27 PM

not one….shy,modest folk.rightly so..big hands,homeless,no car etc.

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Oct 24th 2015, 10:52 PM

The people that Enda has met….

And yet he has learned nothing!!!!

I despair…..

I recall an old ballad

When the wrongs of green Eireann on earth is borne

And the hearts of the people with anguish is torn,

When deaths a relief and endurance a crime,

Then arise from your slumbers for that is your time…

I think it was based on the legend of Aileach

Mute James Halligan
    Favourite James Halligan
    Oct 24th 2015, 11:48 PM

What a man still spouting horseshit the school he left was very lucky ,but that the bollix ended in Dail Eireann what a total disaster for the rest of us.

Oct 24th 2015, 11:32 PM

The taoiseach talks a lot of bull that nobody believes!

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    Oct 25th 2015, 6:57 AM

Hugh left out the one where he claimed some random punter rang him on his personal mobile phone to thank him about his wages increasing after the last budget. Or did one of those tall tales seem so outlandish Hugh and the blueshirt brigade decided to let that one go, you know, since the idea of a random man acquiring his phone number and ringing the Taoiseach on his mobile out of the blue seem a bridge too far?

My personal favourite though was the one where he justified his €3,500 a day salary. Now THAT is quite the story. Google ‘Enda Kenny 3500′.

Mute Mark Bailey
    Favourite Mark Bailey
    Oct 24th 2015, 10:30 PM

More meaningless dribble from the journal

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Oct 25th 2015, 6:21 AM

“It is morally wrong, unjust and unfair to tax a persons home” – Enda Kenny, 1994.
    Now I understand circumstances change.
    But note the word morally.
    Does this point to a lack of morals in Enda?

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Oct 24th 2015, 11:07 PM

Really needs to speak too someone he is dillusional.

Mute Graham O'Brien
    Favourite Graham O'Brien
    Oct 24th 2015, 10:52 PM

Serious question here folks. I’ve been voting for almost 20 years now and I still don’t understand our system of transfers. My understanding is that if I don’t mark the box for a party’s candidate then they can’t get a transfer vote from me. I only ever mark the box in the priority that I would vote for them and I leave some empty. is this right?

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Oct 24th 2015, 11:15 PM

Correct

Mute Graham O'Brien
    Favourite Graham O'Brien
    Oct 24th 2015, 11:34 PM

Thanks Jarlaith. I was concerned my votes were going where I didn’t want them to. Unfortunately I’m one of those people that voted for Fine Gael and Labour in the last election so now I know my vote does count.

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Favourite Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Oct 25th 2015, 1:33 AM

Interview with the Vampire

Mute oreal
    Favourite oreal
    Oct 25th 2015, 6:16 AM

Enda says he walks to work, so how is he meeting the bus men and taxi drivers, meeting implies conversation…

Mute Declan Murtagh Sr.
    Favourite Declan Murtagh Sr.
    Oct 25th 2015, 8:30 AM

And they all lived happily ever after, the Enda

Mute Mr G
    Favourite Mr G
    Oct 25th 2015, 9:26 AM

You would know he was a primary school teacher. He still thinks he is telling stories to 6 year old kids and they believe him.

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Oct 25th 2015, 1:43 AM

at last the chickens are coming home to toost? who will lead the goverement inoto the next election Mabe one of the mystery guys on the bench if there are any ???,,????

Mute Timmay Timeo
    Favourite Timmay Timeo
    Oct 25th 2015, 8:50 AM

Oh please Seanachai Kenny, tell us the fairytale of the Great Uisce Eireann, how the princes tried to fool the plain folk and give their gold to dark Knights, how the water fell from the sky and turned into gold when the Ard Ri Kenny waved his magical stave, how the little people left their caves and discovered the power of the truth, how the evil Fianna Fein hid their bombs about their person and tried to destroy the kingdom. And then the King Kenny was gone and the Kingdom grieved, if only they’d listened to the great teacher.

Mute mammysdinners
    Favourite mammysdinners
    Oct 25th 2015, 10:00 AM

Enda lives around the corner from the dail, he has no understanding of commuting and I would say he hasn’t had to use public transport in his life. If meeting people gives him such s buzz why won’t he face the public in an open Q and A? Listen to the people and debate their points. Otherwise he’s just sprouting a load of tripe, which isn’t washing. 30% support seems about right – 3 out of ten are doing very nicely thank you, but wait until the other 70% of us have our say.

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Oct 25th 2015, 7:57 AM

In relation to story no.6 involving Enda’s encounter with the supporters of Richard Boyd-Barrett in Killiney, can the Dun Laoghaire deputy please clarify at next Dail sitting precisely what substances were inhaled by all under that tree?

Oct 25th 2015, 10:29 AM

Maybe when we kick this useless bastrd out he csn start writing fiction, hes very good at that!

Mute Ray Whitford
    Favourite Ray Whitford
    Oct 25th 2015, 4:05 AM

Snollygoster.

Mute Barton Hill
    Favourite Barton Hill
    Oct 25th 2015, 9:55 AM

These stories all serve to feed Kenny’s ego, and at the same time he expresses no genuine empathy for any of the people who feed him. Two typically sociopathic/narcissistic behaviour patterns, surprise, surprise.

Mute Ben Dunne
    Favourite Ben Dunne
    Oct 25th 2015, 1:33 PM

The man with two pints is my favourite,says it all that he thinks there is something wrong with you if you can afford two pints but are against water charges!He is obviously deluded and his bribery budget seems to have fallen a bit flat so I guess he’ll be off around Dublin inner city with a flask,blankets and a team of DOB owned press photographers to create some more of these fantasist,sorry,I mean FANTASTIC ,stories

Mute Yvonne Clarke
    Favourite Yvonne Clarke
    Oct 25th 2015, 5:53 PM

I hope to God he gets to meet me. I can guarantee the conversation will not be spoken of at fancy dinners.

Mute Ben Dunne
    Favourite Ben Dunne
    Oct 25th 2015, 7:45 PM

Yvonne, those meetings are highly choreographed.The likes of you and me would be ambushed by his gang of cheonies that are always nearby.There are many videos of people who try to speak out against him getting pushed,manhandled ,verbally abused ,jeered and treated like sh*t,free speech my elbow!

Mute Ciaran Houston
    Favourite Ciaran Houston
    Oct 25th 2015, 9:09 PM

What’s your point with this story, are you trying to humanise Kenny?, the worst bit is him chatting with a homeless person,several weeks later another HOMELESS person was found dead within spitting distance of Dail Eireann. Since then several more have died and nothing has been done. Kenny and FG couldn’t care less about the vulnerable people of Ireland. Time for some balanced reporting, this is another piece of Propaganda I’ve read from this website.

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Oct 25th 2015, 9:43 PM

Two things; imagine being homeless, down on your luck, perhaps cold and hungry and just when you thought things could not get any worse Enda comes and bores you for 20 minute . How unlucky can one person be and secondly, if Ends walks to work how does he meeting taxi and bus drivers?

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins
    Oct 25th 2015, 5:11 PM

Lets hope he meets a very good psychiatrist one of these days. And- no holds barred – tells Enda straight out that he’s a nutter.

Oct 25th 2015, 12:52 PM

Because that is all he knows lol.

Oct 27th 2015, 3:54 AM

Enda has become…
    Oh No, It’s Selwyn Froggitt!

Mute Fergus Doggett
    Favourite Fergus Doggett
    Oct 24th 2015, 10:30 PM

A complete and total idiot no one believes in what he is saying All about Enda the has been self promotion and no one else Hopefully he will lose his seat