You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Some of the presidential hopefuls in the race for the Office of President. Rollingnews.ie

Number of councils to vote on who they endorse for the presidential election

Presidential hopefuls must secure the support of four local authorities, or 20 TDs and senators to stand in the election.

IT IS A day in the presidential campaign with at least nine local authorities expected to vote on presidential endorsements today. 

Presidential hopefuls must secure the support of four local authorities, or 20 TDs and senators to stand in the election.

Candidates have been travelling the length and breadth of the country in the last number of weeks to make their pitch to local councillors about why they think they should be president. Each local authority can only endorse one candidate.

So far, businessman Gavin Duffy and mental health activist and senator Joan Freeman have secured the backing from one council. 

Councils in Wexford, Kilkenny, Leitrim, Fingal, Wicklow, Roscommon, Westmeath, Offaly and Galway city are due to vote to endorse candidates later today.

President Michael D Higgins has already said he intends to seek a second term in the Office of President.

Other presidential hopefuls include businessman Seán Gallagher, who came second in the race in 2011, as well as his fellow former Dragon Peter Casey, burlesque performer Sarah Louise Mulligan, former airline worker Patrick Feeney, journalist Gemma O’Doherty and artist Kevin Sharkey. 

The presidential election is due to be held on 26 October. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

29 Comments
    Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:17 PM

Donnelly IS trouble.

The man thinks it’s funny that projects he oversees costs the taxpayer six times more than initially anticipated.

Mute F1rYnpWc
    Favourite F1rYnpWc
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:48 PM

@Ross: as are FG, when they came to power there were 3000 people homeless, now there are 14,000 people homeless. Including 4000 children homeless alone. Vulture funds ownership of housing before family homeownership

Mute Tired Jim
    Favourite Tired Jim
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:49 PM

@F1rYnpWc: go off, ya windbag

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:52 PM

@Tired Jim: Ah he is only annoyed as he is out of a job next week

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    Nov 28th 2024, 7:03 PM

@Trump24: he is a millionaire

Mute Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterfo
    Favourite Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterfo
    Nov 28th 2024, 7:07 PM

@F1rYnpWc: And while the homeless figures for last month should have been published today. They managed to make sure they didn’t get published until after the election

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Nov 28th 2024, 9:01 PM

@Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterfo: im NO ffgg but the homeless numbers come out last friday every month at 2pm,i vote for everyone but FFGG get them OUT,,,

Mute Michael o Dwyer
    Favourite Michael o Dwyer
    Nov 29th 2024, 10:11 AM

@Tired Jim: now now jim people get reported for less than that. Calling a certain person a clown and I got reported. Remember that Jim??

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Nov 29th 2024, 10:54 AM

@Tired Jim: fk it I thought I had all of ye moldbags muted

Mute Liam23
    Favourite Liam23
    Nov 29th 2024, 12:50 PM

@F1rYnpWc: homeless figures have skyrocketed in Northern Ireland too under the shinners watch

Mute A M
    Favourite A M
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:47 PM

The dog has a greater chance of getting faster access to treatment than its human.

Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:39 PM

Is that the guy that said FF were the essence of corruption.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Nov 29th 2024, 12:13 AM

@Paul Power: Micheal Martin says Donnelly has “overseen transformative change”, that’s for sure Micheal, our Health service is at the point of collapse & when you enter Hospitals here, you may die from neglect, as many families have unfortunately found to their cost. Donnelly is a bandwagoner who jumped ship at every turn, just to get on the gravy train, he & Robert Watt’s legacy is that they have destroyed the Health Service, but paid themselves very handsomely. Anyone voting for this guy would have to be questioned on whether they are playing with the full deck.

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Nov 28th 2024, 7:00 PM

The good people of Wicklow voted for change and put him in the Dail then he done a sly one and jumped into bed with Fianna Fail
    dont give him the chance to fool us again!

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Nov 28th 2024, 7:27 PM

@Kevin O Brien: in 2020 he ran for FF in the general election and was voted in. So not fully correct

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 28th 2024, 7:37 PM

@Ger Whelan: yep, gone from Soc Dem, to independent, to FF!

Mute Sean Stevenson
    Favourite Sean Stevenson
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:17 PM

“A transformative minister for health” meanwhile our frontline staff are about to go on strike because of lack of staffing levels to the point of danger. Surely FF can’t believe their own lies at this stage. Voting in MM, who was in cabinet during the countries economic collapse, you’d seriously want to give your head a wobble voting FF. They blatantly and shamelessly lie and manipulate. FG aren’t much better, but by god FF is awful for their outright lies.

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Nov 28th 2024, 7:05 PM

@Sean Stevenson: I wonder will the nurses call off their strike when yeah are offered more middle management positions like the last time they striked.

Mute Ned 75
    Favourite Ned 75
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:38 PM

Hopefully !

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:40 PM

Donnelly and O’Brien. 100% wasters.

Mute Brian Molloy
    Favourite Brian Molloy
    Nov 28th 2024, 7:03 PM

If ffg get back in to power, there’s a bigger mental health issue in the country than previous thought

Mute John Kenny
    Favourite John Kenny
    Nov 28th 2024, 7:05 PM

Egg head is gone Harris will struggle too

Mute Sean Hayes
    Favourite Sean Hayes
    Nov 28th 2024, 8:10 PM

@John Kenny: Harris will struggle? Are you mental? He will walk in. And most likely be Taoiseach

Mute Tired Jim
    Favourite Tired Jim
    Nov 28th 2024, 9:05 PM

@Sean Hayes: but BS gets more likes on here ;)

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Nov 28th 2024, 9:18 PM

@Sean Hayes: TROLL ALERT

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:30 PM

Trump/FG/FF Troll Alert….

Available options for muting.

The Doe Family aka Paul/Mick/Dave.
    Trump24 (obviously)
    Frank/Kevy
    The Jim Family aka Faded/Jaded/Tired

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:53 PM

@Michale Kane: Bye Bye SF Propaganda paid person you are getting fired tomorrow will miss u

Mute Philip Gallagher
    Favourite Philip Gallagher
    Nov 28th 2024, 7:06 PM

@Michale Kane: lol The Doe Family. They’re unbearable. All muted too

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Nov 28th 2024, 9:17 PM

@Michale Kane: the dole family there so thick they cant even spell there name,,,

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Nov 28th 2024, 7:09 PM

Donnelly is a vacuous windbag who has overseen huge costs and getting far less service under his watch.
    A spoofer.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Nov 28th 2024, 7:49 PM

I hope the good people of Wicklow show the way and get rid of Donnelly and Harris.

Mute Brian Molloy
    Favourite Brian Molloy
    Nov 28th 2024, 7:29 PM

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. ‘

Mute Minnie Mouse
    Favourite Minnie Mouse
    Nov 28th 2024, 10:07 PM

Mee Hole Martin says Donnelly has been a “ Transformative Minister for Health”. Mee Hole is completely right. Donnelly has transformed healthcare in this country from being just about functioning to collapsing.

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Nov 28th 2024, 10:09 PM

@Minnie Mouse: an objective analysis of data shows otherwise, eg more beds, more staff, reduced waiting times, more primary care centres, reduced charges etc

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Nov 28th 2024, 10:19 PM

@Johnny Wilson: new account/troll alert

Mute Michael o Dwyer
    Nov 29th 2024, 10:14 AM

@Johnny Wilson: ha seriously reduced waiting times? Me bollix

Mute Stephen Foster
    Favourite Stephen Foster
    Nov 28th 2024, 8:53 PM

I hope so. He is a snake.

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Nov 28th 2024, 9:12 PM

Donnelly is as useful as a hedgehog on a lilo. I mean he is absolutely the worst minister of health I have ever seen. Vote this clown out.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Nov 28th 2024, 11:23 PM

@Gerry Lamont: And he had some very tough competition!

Mute Maximilian Kolbe
    Favourite Maximilian Kolbe
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:20 PM

There are 19 million child brides in Pakistan.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:31 PM

@Maximilian Kolbe: Is Pakistan voting as well? Just wondering why you referenced that in this article that has nothing to do with child brides or Pakistan?

Mute Lance Taylor
    Favourite Lance Taylor
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:32 PM

@Maximilian Kolbe: There are 9 million bicycles in Beijing….

Mute Tired Jim
    Favourite Tired Jim
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:43 PM

@Maximilian Kolbe: no vote for SF tomorrow, protect our kids

Mute Maximilian Kolbe
    Favourite Maximilian Kolbe
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:47 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: there was never an article on child brides. We need to raise awareness these filthy values

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac

@Brian D’Arcy: we have the most expensive bike shed and a children’s hospital ain’t even finished yet

Mute Benny Colreavy
    Favourite Benny Colreavy
    Nov 28th 2024, 10:25 PM

@Maximilian Kolbe: Is this a variation on the “There are 21 million penguins in Antarctica, and if they invade Ireland each person will have to fight 3.18 penguins” thing?

Mute Colette Walsh
    Favourite Colette Walsh
    Nov 28th 2024, 7:52 PM

Neither Harris nor Donnelly deserve reelection but unfortunately they’ll both get back in.

Mute Tired Jim
    Favourite Tired Jim
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:27 PM

It would be a major blow and a sad loss for the country, should Stephen Donnelly lose his seat, he has excelled in his role as minister for health

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:33 PM

@Tired Jim: Absolutely, excelled in pushing public health services to become private. After all, the same individual called for City of London to be brought to Dublin because of Brexit.

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Nov 28th 2024, 7:31 PM

@Tired Jim: ah Jim , you’re obviously beyond tired. Conehead is an abject failure and full of nonsense talk. Nothing delivered but talk. Hes caused huge damage to this country on a financial and health basis.

Mute Billy Joe
    Favourite Billy Joe
    Nov 29th 2024, 3:19 AM

@Tired Jim: probably the most useless minister ever. Helen McEntee and O’Gorman right up there with him.

Mute Joanne Stokes
    Favourite Joanne Stokes
    Nov 30th 2024, 3:21 PM

@Tired Jim: that’s why theres long waiting lists, ppl on trollies, can’t get doc apps, scoliosis, cervical cancer and a hospital that’s taking and age to complete and costing tax payers billions!!!

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:16 PM

He will be elected no doubt

Mute Marvin Dollery
    Favourite Marvin Dollery
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:28 PM

@Trump24: He won’t. He’s as bad as O Gormless and Harris. People see right through these clowns.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:42 PM

@Marvin Dollery: so give us your wisdom Merv? Who will be elected in Wicklow, given you have ruled out both Donnelly and Harris? And always remember, just because you consider people to be clowns, doesn’t necessarily mean that others do too. My own guess is Harris, Whitmore, Brady & Donnelly. I fear Stephen Mathews will lose out

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:54 PM

@Marvin Dollery: He will be elected 100%

Nov 28th 2024, 7:11 PM

@Kevin Kerr: I’d say that’s pretty bang on Kevin

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 28th 2024, 7:49 PM

@The next small thing: unless Mathews can squeeze in ahead of Donnelly, or an outside bet the independent Cullen who is essentially FG

Nov 28th 2024, 8:40 PM

@Kevin Kerr: Cullen won’t get in, he’s FG but annoyed he didn’t get on the ticket, there’s normally at least 1 FF seat however behan will take a lot of FF first preferences and they’re not as popular as years ago. Like most constituencies it will be down to transfers and that could get Donnelly over the line.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 28th 2024, 9:44 PM

@The next small thing: yea, between Donnelly and Mathews for the final seat, with Donnelly the fave. Mathews might get transfer tho from Brady and Whitmore….

Mute Tired Jim
    Favourite Tired Jim
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:57 PM

One thing is clear, Journal is a shinner rag

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24

@Tired Jim: The kids that run it have proven themselves as SF puppets it’s actually embarrassing

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Nov 28th 2024, 7:04 PM

Oh yeah, allowing Trump/FFG trolls like you lot to make abusive vile nasty comments all day everyday for weeks is a clever ploy by The Journal to hide their pro SF bias.. lol..
    Ye getting desperate now lol.

Mute Tired Jim
    Favourite Tired Jim
    Nov 28th 2024, 7:04 PM

@Trump24: they’re not even pretending to be impartial, gonna be a lot of tears in Journal HQ after tomorrow

Mute Tired Jim
    Favourite Tired Jim
    Nov 28th 2024, 7:06 PM

@Michale Kane: pot, kettle

Mute Tired Jim
    Favourite Tired Jim
    Nov 28th 2024, 7:25 PM

All SF have to offer, is more waffle about that ridiculous border poll nonsense

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Nov 28th 2024, 9:11 PM

@Tired Jim: Vote Sinn Fein

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Nov 28th 2024, 10:10 PM

@Jb Walshe: no thanks, I want to keep my job hence the reason my family will be voting FG and FF

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Nov 28th 2024, 10:17 PM

@Johnny Wilson: you must work for ffg so Johnny

Mute John Ledwidge
    Favourite John Ledwidge
    Nov 28th 2024, 10:42 PM

In Wicklow I give my vote to Independent Joe Behan.

Mute D Farrell
    Favourite D Farrell
    Nov 28th 2024, 10:19 PM

Today in court, SF/IRA leaders were accused of abusing young children in the 80s, who had fled the North due to British persecution.

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Nov 28th 2024, 11:18 PM

@D Farrell: anyone can be accused of anything …..yawn

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Nov 29th 2024, 12:15 AM

@D Farrell: They shout down everyone on here, but they have a serious problem with paedophiles in their ranks.

Mute Maire Hicks
    Favourite Maire Hicks
    Nov 29th 2024, 2:56 AM

@D Farrell: deflection much ffs, what about the years of sexual, mental, emotional and physical abuse at the hands of the Catholic Church who were protected at all costs by fianna fail and fine gael? Or do you pretend that it never happened to justify keeping fffg in government? Let’s bury our heads in the sand for another 100 years if it was up to people with your attitude

Mute Michael o Dwyer
    Nov 29th 2024, 10:15 AM

@Dave G Doe: sure you can’t vote here anyway. Your on the other side of the border

Mute Ian McDonald
    Favourite Ian McDonald

And they’re off!. TheJournal poking a stick in the cage of the political experts here who would never put their own name on a ballot

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane

@Ian McDonald: Your opinion is a bit flawed as you think the Journal is pro SF… Unless you think the Trump/FFG troll making abusive vile nasty comments all day everyday for weeks is a clever ploy by The Journal to hide their bias.. lol.

Mute Joanne Stokes
    Favourite Joanne Stokes
    Nov 30th 2024, 3:12 PM

Bye bye leave yer seat and exit stage left and have the door slam behind you!!