You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
AS THE COMMUNITY reels from an unthinkable tragedy, throughout the day locals in Creeslough have been doing whatever they can to help each other out and support the ongoing emergency response.
Ten people – adults, teenagers, and a young girl aged just five – lost their lives following yesterday’s blast.
Dozens of emergency workers from across the county and futher afield worked through the night to recover the dead and injured.
The search and recovery effort at the devastated apartment block at the Applegreen service station has since been scaled back as there are no other people still unaccounted for.
Senior politicians, including the Taoiseach, have begun to arrive and are expected to attend a service this evening alongside grieving locals.
Speaking earlier, Micheál Martin said the government would do everything possible to help the community get through this “enormous trauma”.
Brian Lawless / PA Wire/PA Images
Brian Lawless / PA Wire/PA Images / PA Wire/PA Images
Around a kilometre from the site this evening – watching the scene before the Taoiseach’s arrival – you got a sense of the ‘Donegal spirit’ that locals say is needed now more than ever.
Men in hi-vis jackets patrolled the narrow routes that traffic has been diverted along, in order to allow the emergency services to carry out their tasks. The local volunteers raised a friendly hand as they directed the public and the media.
At the cordon, which is set back around 80 metres from the explosion, there was a sombre silence as locals try to get their heads around the scale of the tragedy.
Two of the victims were teenagers. Earlier this afternoon a handful of teenagers at the cordon wept as they were consoled by friends and family.
Shattered glass was scattered in the street in front of a house close to the explosion – its windows smashed by the impact of the blast.
Some of the emergency crew were clearing up the shards earlier today while the homeowners sat against the window ledge, in a state of shock.
Girls in their late teens handed out teas and coffees to the emergency services and members of the public along the cordon.
“Look at that, they’ve been doing that all day,” remarked a guard. “That’s the Donegal spirit.”
At a press conference in nearby Milford later on, Superintendent David Kelly said it was “a tragedy for our community”.
All the victims were from the locality, he confirmed. “Forgive me if I get a bit emotional,” he told reporters at one point, before explaining that while a probe was ongoing the blast was being treated as a tragic accident.
Back at Creeslough this evening emergency crews involved in the response trudged forlornly from the site of the wreckage to the nearby Coffee Pod.
Usually a hub for tourists staying in nearby glamping pods, it now serves as an impromptu hub for the emergency crews.
Related Reads
Gardaí believe that the cause of the Creeslough blast was a 'tragic accident'
Its owner leaves bottles of water on a table outside for the crew, and also comes out periodically with staff to hand out sandwiches and teas and coffees.
Father John Joe Duffy of the Diocese of Raphoe labelled the response to the tragedy as the “national spirit” – noting how crews came from over the border in Derry and Belfast yesterday to help late into the evening and overnight.
At the press conference in Milford, this all-island response was noted several times and emergency crews in the North were thanked for their assistance.
The latest Garda statement, issued just before 6pm tonight, confirmed that the search operation at the scene had now ended. Eight people remain in hospital as of this evening.
Post-mortems will take place in the coming days, and the community will have to observe multiple funerals as the week progresses.
Sinn Féin Donegal TD Pearse Doherty, who was also at the scene in Creeslough and was among those to greet the Taoiseach, said the close knit community had been turned “upside down”.
“The village here has less than 400 people. People know each other and know the people who are involved,” he told The Journal.
The explosion, he said, “not only ripped the heart out of this building, but ripped the heart out of this community”.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
6 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
@DK: The stats weren’t fake, he said that on Dec 31st, so his stats related to the end of December, when Delta was still dominant in hospitals. It’s now out of date.
@DK: or you could have a land yourself if they have been giving the correct numbers for those being treated for CoViD-19 and the numbers of Carriers of SARS-COV-2 but not being treated was much higher and being included in the daily case,numbers
@Joe_X: sorry, must correct myself: ….being included in the daily case numbers when they were found originally, and only as hospital cases if they developed covid.
@David Jordan: If you believe that I have some magic beans to sell you. No way its 25% – 30% of cases now either. If they’re admitting that you know the real amount is at least 35% – 40%.
@David Jordan: Hang on. It was only last week that we we’re told (I.e. reported in media) that people in hospital for other reasons but with covid was only 5%. Questions have been asked for clarity on this figure for ages, and anyone asking were called “Tin-foil hatters”. Now it’s 30%, it does cast some doubt on what is being reported in the media. Clarity, from a single source should actually be a legal requirement from official sources.
@Alan Wright: That percentage could have changed very quickly. We’ve seen how much more contagious Omicron is, so if it took hold in hospitals the number of people who caught it in hospital has probably rocketed in the last few weeks.
@Thomas O’ Donnell: ‘Could’ and ‘probably’ are the type of words we’ve been hearing from Government and NPHET as they appear fearful to actually collect and release real information. It is the information age we live in and they are more akin to the cloak & dagger tactics of the CIA or KGB. These figures have only been released because people have been pushing for this data for ages now.
@Alan Wright: “The data is fake I want real data” More data is given as the scenario progresses which is more amicable to your view. “This data is also fake I want real data”. Do you just want the data to match your pre-existing views or are you willing to change your views to match the data?
@David Jordan: the problem was his language wasn’t clear. He said asymptomatic non infectious, so people who had probably more or less recovered from covid but were still getting treatment even though they were no longer infectious. What everyone in the media thought he meant was that only 95% of people were admitted with covid and only 5% were incidental. His use of the word incidental was erroneous based on most people’s definition of the word.
@Anthony Guinnessy: will you if you are wrong? By asking that question, you went on the defensive very fast. If I was wrong, so be it. I’ll admit it. Don’t think I am though. If you think there are only 1055 people (using today’s figures) in hospital testing positive for SARS-COV-2, your a tad overly optimistic.
Hopefully this argument will once and for all be put to rest for both sides. We will see the true number of people in hospital carrying the virus SARS-COV-2 and how many being treated for CoViD-19.
@Joe_X: Yes. But has anyone the answer to the question about whether the 83 dates this week (RIP. This is a terrible time) were from omicron or delta? I apologise and plead ignorance here as we have omicron in our house. We’re miserable with it but it certainly doesn’t feel like something life threatening.
@Football in the Groin: yes, but the disagreement is in the terminology used. Today they reported 1055 in hospital with Covid. To me and others, that is 1055 in hospital being treated for Covid. After all, with the numbers of the last week, if people think that there are only 1055 people are in hospital carrying the virus, they are very optimistic. To more though, it could mean that 1054 people in hospital tested and found positive but not being treated, and only one being treated or anywhere in between the 2 stances, but that is downplaying the seriousness of the disease and that argument was being used to undermine the restrictions. But 1055 people being treated is a bit more serious than only 1 person being treated for the disease and 1054 in for a broken leg and carrying the virus.
@Joe_X: So much for wishful thinking. Already down along this comments thread there are already suggestions kf how those numbers will be be “massaged”. No matter what the truth is there will be those who prefer the conspiracy theories.
@Joe_X: Probably not so simple. Let’s say I go into a hospital with a heart complaint, no Covid. If I catch Covid in hospital and it makes my condition worse, am I in hospital with Covid or not?
@Football in the Groin: because if its not serious enough to put someone in hospital then they are unlikely to require icu beds and unlikely to die so it is a measure of how severe the virus is on the population. Giving out irrelevant information about someone having covid but in hospital for something else you may as well say how many had covid and live in a two story house. Its irrelevant apart from hospital management.
@Anthony Guinnessy: there is no such thing a irrelevent information. The more the better. Just a pity ye keep calling it scaremongering instead of seeing what it truly is: plain information.
@Football in the Groin: when someone is admitted …say with a broken leg… and after a routine swab COVID is confirmed … they are admitted with COVID, but presenting complaint is actually the leg, COVID isn’t causing illness for them.
However if another patient is hospitalised because of COVID symptoms that require treatment then they are admitted for COVID.
Big difference.
@kmobrien: given he was an extremely pro-FG Pfizer exec, I won’t be eagerly awaiting his return. There’s plenty of places to find the same data without any personal bias.
@Mo: If you had followed him at all you would know he wasn’t etremely pro FG. More of a Greens follower. His mistake was he came out against SF and the SF twitter bots ganged up on him.
@Joe_X: if they had worse figures they would be headlined long ago, have you been hiding under your bed for the whole project fear propaganda? You expect people to trust the numbers coming out won’t be couched in such a way to protect the cmo, government and hse even though we wouldn’t have this info were it not for it being pushed for internationally and being made available internationally.
We’re still waiting for a proper breakdown of those that died because of covid or with covid. And yes it does matter, these people that have passed away should not be used as pawns.
@Anthony Guinnessy: oh yes andy, you have gone on the defensive alright. Scared of the truth now I see, gone for the attack the commenter tack, instead of debating it. I was essential services, and like thousands others I never locked down. Now seeing as we do not see you before midnight Irish time any night, I’m guessing you are in foreign climes so we will forgive you that for not knowing what essential services is! What worse figures? If some one is in hospital for something else and tests positive for the virus, they are not a hospitalization for covid, which is what they report on. They get added to the daily figures. I know I’m bad at proof reading my comments for spelling, you need to read what you comment before you put it up.
@Cormac McCann: and using today’s figures as an example, if they come back and confirm 1055 people are being treated for covid, and another 1000 are in hospital for other reasons other than covid and tested positive for the virus, but not treated for it, will you accept it?
@Joe_X: what are you on about Joe? You do love to have the negative vibe going at every turn. I asked a simple question that day and was shot down for my asking. What you are asking me to accept now don’t make sense. The numbers are the numbers. I will accept the genuine numbers. Not massaged ones.
@john smith iv: In the week to 5 January 2022: “Given the 7-day cumulative incidence of 2,876 per 100,000, allowing for constraints on testing and undetected infections, the likely population prevalence of active SARS-CoV-2 infection is 5.7%- 9.6%; between 1 in 10 and 1 in 20 of the population are likely to be infected,” Holohan says.
Rates have increased since and seem to have almost peaked, so rates outside hospital could be 10 – 15% right now. We’re absolutely riddled, but I don’t think we’re 30%. So some cases must be hospital acquired. Look at the Positive Rate (%) Previous 7 Days tab:
“identified the need to get a “much more detailed understanding” of the hospitalisation data available. “
Well no s__t Sherlock… only a couple of years in, better late than never I suppose.
Sure what importance would the accuracy of data or the clarity of the ‘definitions’ of data, be to the modeling from data, the generation of data and following analysis and interpretation of data in any situation. .
In all systems, garbage in = garbage out.
All hail the data….. and those that have been asking the same question for a long time now.
Probably explains a lot of why nphet models had such wide variance to them. Models? More like lick your finger, stick it in the air and see what way the wind is blowing then make up some numbers wide enough that what happens will fall into one of the bands.
Sperm whale sighted near shore of Co Wexford spotted swimming towards sea after stranding fears
1 min ago
trump administration
White House confirms Defence Secretary accidentally texted journalist US plans to strike Yemen
Updated
18 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say