You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Here's why you haven't seen crime statistics for a while

The CSO says that it will not be releasing the details of crimes across the country without a “detailed examination” of the gardaí.

THE RELEASE OF detailed crime statistics has been delayed for the second time because of concerns over gardaí under-reporting crime.

The Garda Inspectorate report released in November revealed under-reporting of crime and discrepancies in detections.

The CSO says that it will not be releasing the details of crimes across the country without a “detailed examination” of the issues.

Already, two sets of statistics, covering the second half of 2014, have been delayed. One was to be published at the end of March and the other was due to be released in November.

In a statement released on their website this week, the CSO says that it is undertaking a review of the Inspectorate Report.

The CSO is therefore currently undertaking a comprehensive review of the findings of the Garda Inspectorate report to assess the extent to which the findings of the Inspectorate are reflected in the data made available to the CSO for the compilation of recorded crime statistics.
On completion of this analysis the CSO will decide whether to resume publication of recorded crime statistics. If publication is resumed, users will be provided with a comprehensive analysis of the quality of the data source used for statistical purposes and by extension the quality of the recorded crime statistics.

The CSO has agreed to chair an expert panel to examine the Inspectorate’s recommendations on crime statistics.

Justice Minister Frances Fitzgerald said this week in the Dáil that the gardaí have “established an Implementation Steering Group to focus on the implementation of the short, medium and long-term recommendations in the Report”.

She said that the publishing of the statistics was a matter for the CSO, but that “Garda authorities have put in place a number of immediate measures arising from the Inspectorate’s recommendations in relation to the recording of crime”.

Read: Woman punched in face and slashed with blade after refusing request for cigarette

Read: If you have cash stolen in a robbery, can you get it back?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

40 Comments
    Mute Keith Ellis
    Favourite Keith Ellis
    Apr 6th 2015, 1:48 PM

This country just has the same bull all the time. Talks about talks about talks, Steering Groups to implement the recommendations that came from the talks about the talks. Talks to agree the Terms of Reference just to make sure nobody is held accountable. Then just before the report is released, some Government body that was investigated, will talk court proceedings to stop the report. I’m sick of being mugged off in this Country, is anyone else?

Mute Emmet Kilbride
    Favourite Emmet Kilbride
    Apr 6th 2015, 4:29 PM

They had the chance to bring in a new commissioner but i suspect that the government knew the pile of shit that the gardai are sitting on and so promoted one of their own. So SO typical.

Everything would have been exposed if an outsider was the new commissioner…instead we now have more of the same cover ups. Even the GRA have objected to the way nothing has changed.

Transparency…….can you see through it yet?

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Apr 6th 2015, 5:14 PM

“The UK government is the most open and transparent in the world, according to a global rankings on the basis of public access to official data. Ireland and Greece at a 31 ranking are among the lowest in Europe with Hungary at 33 – the lowest of all European countries including Russia.”

http://www.finfacts.ie/irishfinancenews/article_1028768.shtml

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Apr 6th 2015, 1:40 PM

Well, in fairness to the Gardai, they have been extremely busy working for IW in the last few months.

Mute Shane Killion
    Favourite Shane Killion
    Apr 6th 2015, 1:41 PM

And there it is…….

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Apr 6th 2015, 1:43 PM

I saw in crumlin theg Sent 7 squad cars and 18 gardai to a protest of 15 where no clashes or incidents have happened.

Then they allocate 30 gardai to a protest of 80,000. (Shrugs shoulders*)

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen

The truth….

Mute Shane Killion
    Favourite Shane Killion
    Apr 6th 2015, 1:50 PM

Sure let’s bring the IRA into this while we’re here……

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM
    Apr 6th 2015, 1:56 PM

Making up more numbers Kevin

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Apr 6th 2015, 2:04 PM

What’s made up?

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Apr 6th 2015, 2:46 PM

Can the Garda,please include all crimes committed by their colleagues in these figures…oh wait when honest members “truth tellers” I like to call them they get harassed,bullied and intimidated,and let’s not forget the penalty points, and the brutality handed out to peaceful protesters,but of course I’m expecting far to much to imagine this Might! Ever happen.

Mute Kevin Lennon
    Favourite Kevin Lennon
    Apr 6th 2015, 8:14 PM

Stick with the ddi u d***. U didn’t get voted in last time and u wnt get voted in next time either

Mute Snorri Sturleson
    Favourite Snorri Sturleson
    Apr 6th 2015, 8:21 PM

Gardai are above crime as they are above the law. Isn’t that right Ian?

Mute Live Long
    Favourite Live Long
    Apr 6th 2015, 1:45 PM

Well they need the time to massage and juke the crime stats. Wouldnt want the sheep to realise their prey.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Apr 6th 2015, 1:46 PM

When the sheep realise they are prey they cease being sheep.

Mute Gonzo Doyle
    Favourite Gonzo Doyle
    Apr 6th 2015, 1:52 PM

Glen you’re a complete pest on this forum.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Apr 6th 2015, 1:55 PM

2/8 commenters so far use a real name and picture, both you guys/girls/things need to get real (puntastic)

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Apr 6th 2015, 1:57 PM

What’s wrong gonzo
    Get it off your chest.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Apr 6th 2015, 2:01 PM

Seriously thought why do both of you hide your identity? what have you got to hide?

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Apr 6th 2015, 2:05 PM

Kevin
    What does it matter if people don’t use a picture of themselves as an avatar. Do you think that fake photos aren’t used?? Don’t ask silly questions.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Apr 6th 2015, 2:39 PM

Even accepting the irrelevancy of my question an answer would still be nice

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Apr 6th 2015, 3:18 PM

Kevin
    I can’t speak for others but as far as myself, I simply don’t want to use a pic.

Mute dorothy giselsson
    Favourite dorothy giselsson
    Apr 6th 2015, 2:05 PM

If people were shown to be valued through employment and a living wage crime rates would drop dramatically. Politicians should be paid a basic salary plus increments according to how they have benefitted Irish society, we could even democratically vote annually on how much we think each T.D. is worth on merit!

Mute Liam Ó Séaghdha
    Favourite Liam Ó Séaghdha

Take nothing away from the vast majority of the Gardaí who serve the country excellently. However the credibility of the force as a whole is in tatters now. It needs independent regulation and accountability. Very difficult of course with lack of funding and support but it’s time for drastic change.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Apr 6th 2015, 1:46 PM

It’s not very difficult for the government to waste money on various irrelevant inquiry’s and committees that get nothing done. Mick wallace has been calling for an independent authority since 2011, judging how callinan reacted to whistleblowers we badly need one

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Apr 6th 2015, 1:41 PM

I see Fianna Fail bringing back their “clamping on crime” and “reclaim our streets” soundbites. We are listening to the wrong people who have done sweet **** all for homelessness and drug addiction in their last 30 odd years in power.

We need to listen to the likes of Peter Mc Verry who has campaigned on this issue for 40 years. He has called for decriminalisation of all drugs, safe injection centres and the legalisation of cannabis.

These will reduce crime and lower the cost associated with a dependency.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Apr 6th 2015, 6:43 PM

Agreed, total hypocrisy, none greater in terms of hypocrisy than their opposition Minister for Justice Niall Collins. Promises and demands harsh sentences for criminals but writes letters to judges on behalf of drug dealers that he knows.
    That’s the calibre of person in Fianna Fail; utter hypocrites.

Mute CMac59
    Favourite CMac59
    Apr 6th 2015, 2:44 PM

All official figures in Ireland are tarted up to suit the inept and incompetent establishment. This and previous governments cannot run a corner shop, that takes skill and knowledge. They certainly cannot run a country which is why Ireland is in a mess and we will never get out of it. The crime figures are merely a sign of that cheating and manipulation of date that is officialdom in this banana republic.

Mute The whistler
    Favourite The whistler
    Apr 6th 2015, 2:27 PM

The garda inspectorate report makes for depressing reading. A litany of incompetence and nepotism

You start to realise that we’d be better off scrapping the gardai as a force and starting from scratch

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Apr 6th 2015, 2:44 PM

The Inspectorate has good reports but the leaders of the Gardai fail to put in place improvements. Even with a woman in charge the Gardai remain a good ole boy club.

Mute Gordon Lucas
    Favourite Gordon Lucas
    Apr 6th 2015, 2:20 PM

Best wait till after the General Election – just in case.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Apr 6th 2015, 2:42 PM

As with Irish water viability and the Callinan Enquiry which will more than likely get Enda the sack

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Apr 6th 2015, 2:33 PM

why not make it an offence to tell lies about official figures, problem solved

Mute lilolil
    Favourite lilolil
    Apr 6th 2015, 2:57 PM

Sure real crime isn’t being policed that’s why ….they’re too busy playing bodyguards!!!!

Mute ss
    Favourite ss
    Apr 6th 2015, 8:29 PM

Yes DOB as you say DOB! I say Shell remember the Christmas Club. Blue Shirt detail about turn ………
    Ireland a great little country to ………in

Mute ss
    Favourite ss
    Apr 6th 2015, 5:34 PM

The Gardai lying what a novel concept!

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Apr 6th 2015, 3:40 PM

“an implementation steering group “?? Right so, missus Fitzgerald, dat sounds grand. Jesu wept.

Mute r keane
    Favourite r keane
    Apr 6th 2015, 3:08 PM

Cut rural cops = increase in crime? But still need those votes

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Apr 6th 2015, 7:57 PM

Ireland is corrupt and wait and c the people will keep the corruption in power.the problem in Ireland is the people.we badly need change.

Mute pongodhall
    Favourite pongodhall
    Apr 9th 2015, 12:50 AM

They dare not show how bad it is.
    The loss of guards and closure of Garda stations has left so many places unprotected and people really are running wild.
    They are particularly targeting the elderly and disabled, no shame in them at all.
    Isolated rural so truly are living in fear and they know it.